ISSUE 6 / SEPTEMBER-OCTOBER 2011

Stylised Art

contents
SEP - OCT 2011

17 65

On the front Caricature Animals Could be on tv Famous faces

08
10 20 32 44 54

36 27 51

Andy’s Girls

ceiga.co.uk

S
ceiga.co.uk

REMAINS THE SAME.
tylised art is the topic of this issue, exploring the way different styles are used by artist to express their work. A quick google search of the word stylised lead to the definition; ‘depict or treat in a mannered and non-realistic style’. Non-realistic can be anything from making disproportionate human characters, with unrealistic but athletically pleasing features, or creating a human character with extremely grotesque features. Some artists experiment with adding style to their art by creating anthropomorphic animals or a new creature altogether.

- Coco Chanel

Whatever the style may be it is work exploring hence it’s existence and it’s place in this issue. I hope you enjoy this and do not hesitate to leave any form of feedback.

Richard Bray Editor

R.Bray

“ ONLY STYLE
FASHION FADES

Front
‘Blue’ by Paco Zamudio (exododw.com). Modelled and in 3D Studio Max, rendered with VRay.

On The

P

aco Zamudio has done an amazing job with this image. I really like the skin material and the sculpted hair, but what stands out to me the most are the eyes. Those big, blue, shiny, eyes, that’s probably why the title of this image is ‘Blue’.

This image was chosen to be on the font cover of this issue not just because of it’s ‘eye-catching’ qualities (no pun intended), but also because of it’s simplicity. The simple background, simple choice of clothing and simple colours. Once again amazing job by Paco, can’t wait to see what he’ll produce next.

ceiga.co.uk

Caricature

Scissors Beat Paper . .
Tomas Kral tomaskral.cz

3ds max, XSI, Zbrush

Abe Lincoln .
Stanko Stupar

stankovigorro.cgsociety.org/gallery

.

3ds max, Zbrush

Lord Watanabe . .
Frank Tzeng franktzeng.daportfolio.com

3ds max, Maya, Zbrush

Change their teachers! . .
Studio Notan notan.com.br Modo

Christoph Blocher . .
Fred Bastide texwelt.net/wordpress

3ds Max, Zbrush

Don Corleone .
Fabio Bautista

maxterwip.blogspot.com

.

3ds max, Zbrush

Ronaldo Fenômeno .
Bruno Hamzagic

cargocollective.com/brunohamzagic

.

3ds max, Zbrush

Pierce Brosnan Caricature . .
Guillaume Vialaneix guillaume-vialaneix.com 3ds max, Mudbox

Thom Yorke caricature . .
Andrew Hickinbottom andyh.cghub.com 3ds max

Fish
Dmitry Paukov

.

cgpauk.com

.

3ds max

Animals

Maggot . .
Tobi Stierli tobistierli.ch

Modo, Zbrush

Bruce
Borislav Kechashki

.

galero.cgsociety.org

.

3dsmax, Zbrush

Cliff View .
Julien Coffin

juliencoffin.blogspot.com

.

3ds max, ZBrush

FishePig .
Anatoliy Sidorov

sanat49.livejournal.com

.

Maya, zbrush

Kaba Kun . .
Roland Caron rolandcaron.com

Softimage, Mudbox

Mushroom Hunter . .
Carlson Woon carlsonwkk.cgsociety.org

Maya, zbrush

Carrots are finished.. . .
Riccardo Zema kidqube.com Lightwave 3D

A break from Bamboo . .
Jose Alves da Silva www.artofjose.com

3ds max, ZBrush

Tequila Tatu - an Armadillo’s Alcohol Addiction . .
Jose Alves da Silva www.artofjose.com 3ds max, ZBrush

The Boxing Kangaroo . .
Jose Alves da Silva www.artofjose.com

3ds max, ZBrush

Detective Ridley (Gameloft inc.) . .
Veronique Comeau verokomo.cgsociety.org 3ds max, Zbrush

Could be on tv

Ano and Pepper . .
Andrei Cristea www.undoz.com

3ds max, ZBrush

I am Captain America . .
Victor Hugo torugo.wordpress.com

3ds max, ZBrush

Little Boy . .
Pedro Conti pedroconti.com

3ds max, ZBrush

Red Hero .
Titouan Olive

digitalia3d.teria.fr

.

Maya, ZBrush

Young Tony Stark . .
Fabricio Campos flickr.com/photos/fabricioc

3ds max, ZBrush

Royal Portrait .
Carlson Woon

carlsonwkk.cgsociety.org/gallery

.

Maya, ZBrush

Black Wires .
Carlos Ortega Elizalde

zigrafus.com.mx

.

Maya, Mudbox

Cyclonic salmon hunter machine(Big catch bear) . .
Atsushi Mishima asahi-net.or.jp/~xg3a-msm/Uzume/Welcome.html CINEMA 4D

Plunder .
Jack zhang

jackzhang.cgsociety.org

.

XSI, Zbrush

Elegant Dancing . .
Xu Fei xufei.cgsociety.org Maya

Famous Faces

New Herbie in Pixar’s style
Fabio Bispo

.

creativechild.com.br

.

3ds max

Erik’s first.. oh, wait . .
Victor Hugo torugo.wordpress.com

3ds max, Zbrush

Freakazoid .
Alejandro Albarracin

alejit0.cgsociety.org/gallery

.

3ds max

M.Bison .
Donovan Keele

artbydon.wordpress.com

.

Maya, Zbrush

Mary Poppins . .
Daniel Cestari danielcestari.blogspot.com

3ds max, Zbrush

Here comes a new challenger! . .
Victor Hugo torugo.wordpress.com 3ds max, Zbrush

Wall-E .
Adrien Lambert

adrian.art.free.fr

.

3ds max

No -More -Wine! . .
Simon Blanc simonblanc.com Softimage

Humpty Dumptys Unbirthday . .
Iker Cortázar icb.cgsociety.org Maya, Mudbox

Lucy Vegas - Pool

Andy’s Girls
All of the images in this section were created by artist Andrew Hickinbottom (andyh.cghub.com) Modelled with 3D Studio Max.

Cathy Ray

Belle

Ooh la la!

1978

Vicky’s vengeance

Rebuild

Trixie

Yukiko

Suzie Kickin’ Back

TRON pinup

twitter.com/ceiga

ceiga.co.uk/blog

STUDIO LIST
Aardman www.aardman.com Absolute Post www.absolutepost.com Absolutely Cuckoo www.absolutelycuckoo.com Air CGI www.air-cgi.com AKQA www.akqa.com Animatic Media animaticmedia.com Annix Studios www.annix.com Artillery www.artillery.tv Atticus Digital www.atticusdigital.com Atticus Finch www.atticusfinch.tv Axis Animation www.axisanimation.com Barefoot VFX barefootvfx.com Base Black baseblack.com BE Animation beanimation.com Black Rock Studios www.disney.co.uk Blink Productions www.blinkprods.com Blitz Game Studios www.blitzgamesstudios.com Blue Bolt www.blue-bolt.com Blue Zoo www.blue-zoo.co.uk Brandt Animation www.brandtanim.co.uk Bravo Games bravogames.com BreakThru Films www.breakthrufilms.co.uk Burrows Nvisage www.burrows.info Busty Kelp www.bustykelp.com Cinesite www.cinesite.com Climax Group www.climaxgroup.com Codemasters www.facebook.com/codemasters Colonel Blimp www.colonelblimp.com Criterion Games blog.criteriongames.com Darkhorse VFX www.darkhorsefx.com Darkside Animation www.dsanim.com Dinamo Productions www.dinamo.co.uk Distant Future Animation Studios www.distantfuture.co.uk Double G Studios www.doublegstudios.com Double Negative www.dneg.com Drive CGI www.drivecgi.co.uk Eggbox Studios www.eggboxstudios.co.uk Envy www.envypost.co.uk

(UK only)

Eurocom www.eurocom.co.uk Fluid Pictures www.fluid-pictures.com Foundation CGI www.foundationcgi.com Framestore www.framestore.com Full Moon Studios fullmoongamestudios.com Gameloft www.gameloft.co.uk Glassworks www.glassworks.co.uk Glowfrog Studios glowfrog.com Golden Square www.goldensq.com Hot Knife Digital Media www.hotknife.co.uk ICube www.icube3d.co.uk Ignition Entertainment www.utvignition.com I love Dust www.ilovedust.com Image Metrics www.image-metrics.com Infinite Realitites www.ir-ltd.net Ink Digital www.inkdigital.co.uk Jagex www.jagex.com Jellyfish Pictures www.jellyfishpictures.co.uk Jump Design www.jumpdesign.co.uk

Kazoo Creative www.kazoo-creative.com Kettle Studios www.kettlestudio.co.uk Keframe Studios keyframestudios.co.uk Kuro Dragon www.kurodragon.com Lab 10 Studios www.lab10.com Lionhead Studios lionhead.com LipSync Post www.lipsyncpost.co.uk Locomotion locomotionpost.wordpress.com Lola www.lola-post.co.uk Loose Moose www.loosemoose.net Mainframe www.mainframe.co.uk Man Vs Machine www.manvsmachine.co.uk Masquerade Digital www.masquerade-digital.com Matinai www.matinai.com MDI Digital www.mdi-digital.com Method Studios www.methodstudios.com Molinare www.molinare.co.uk Motion Imaging wearemi.com Monumental Games www.monumentalgames.com MPC www.moving-picture.com Munky www.munky.uk.com

Neon www.neon.tv Neoscape www.neoscape.com Nexus Productions www.nexusproductions.com Ninja Theory www.ninjatheory.com Not to Scale www.nottoscale.tv NSC Creative www.nsccreative.com Nvisible nvizible.com OG International www.og-international.net Passion Pictures www.passion-pictures.com Peanut FX www.peanutfx.com Peerless www.peerless.co.uk Pitbull Studio www.pitbullstudio.co.uk Plowman Craven www.plowmancraven.co.uk Prime Focus www.primefocusworld.com Quay Studios www.quaystudios.com Qurios www.qurios.com Realtime UK www.realtimeuk.com Realise www.realisestudio.com Relentless Software www.relentless.co.uk Rockstar North www.rockstarnorth.com Realtime Technology www.realtime-technology.com

Rumble Studios www.rumblestudios.com Rushes www.rushes.co.uk Saddington Baynes www.saddingtonbaynes.com Slide slidelondon.com Smoke & Mirrors www.smoke-mirrors.com Speed Shape www.speedshape.com/ Studio AKA www.studioaka.co.uk Sumo Digital www.sumo-digital.com Superglue www.wearesuperglue.com Taylor James www.taylorjames.com Ten 24 www.ten24.info Territory Studio www.territorystudio.com The Creative Assembly creative-assembly.com The Foundry www.thefoundry.co.uk The Mill www.themill.com The Senate www.senatevfx.com The Works www.worksltd.co.uk Tigrex www.tigerx.co.uk TT Games www.ttgames.com We Are Seventeen www.weareseventeen.com Zoo zoovfx.com

Search for Ceiga on

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful