You are on page 1of 2

ATTACHMENT A

Course Topic & Schedule

TOPIC METHOD TENTATIVE


SCHEDULE
Introduction, Course Overview Class Discussion 15 Nov (Tue)
Part 1. AVIATION HIGHLIGHTS
Aviation History & Background Lecture 18 Nov (Fri)
Highlights of Philippine Aviation Lecture; Class Discussion 18 – 22 Nov (Fri
& Tue)
Prognosis: Age of Low-Cost Lecture; Class Discussion 22 Nov (Tue)
Carriers
Part 2. AIRLINE AEROPOLITICS
Philippine Regulatory Framework Lecture 6 Dec (Tue)
Air Traffic Rights Lecture 9 Dec (Tue)
Degree of Liberalization Lecture; Class Discussion 9 Dec (Fri)
Value of a National Flag Carrier Lecture; Class Discussion 9 Dec (Fri)
Role of Global Industry Lecture; Class Discussion 9 Dec (Fri)
Association
1. ICAO
2. IATA
3. AAPA
4. CAB
5. ATO
Part 3. AIR TRANSPORT INDUSTRY
COMPONENTS
Aircraft Manufacturers Lecture 10 Jan (Tue)
Airline Companies Lecture 10 Jan (Tue)
Airport Authorities Lecture 10 Jan (Tue)
Air Traffic Services Lecture 10 Jan (Tue)
Travel Agent, Tour Operators, Lecture 10 Jan (Tue)
Freight Agents
Air Travelers Lecture 10 Jan (Tue)
Part 4. AIRLINE ORGANIZATION &
FUNCTION
Introduction Lecture; Class Discussion 13 Jan (Fri)
Airline Administration Lecture; Class Discussion 13 Jan (Fri)
Commercial Airlines Lecture; Class Discussion 13 Jan (Fri)
Airline Finance Lecture; Class Discussion 13 Jan (Fri)
Free Day; Time for class also to No Class Session 17 Jan (Tue)
finalize arrangements for Speak
UP
MID-TERM EXAMINATION Mid-Term Examination 20 Jan (Fri)
TOPIC METHOD TENTATIVE
SCHEDULE
Part 5. AIRLINE ECONOMICS Parts: Parts:
Air Transport Industry
Aircraft Acquisition Technical Report 1 24 – 27 Jan (Tue
Aircraft Configuration & Fri)
Aircraft Utilization FGD (Group 3) 27 Jan (Fri)
Commonality Lecture; Summary 31 Jan (Tue)
Payload Range
Fuel & Oil
Outsourcing
Low-Cost Carriers
Impacts of Unforeseen Events
Part 6. AIRLINE MARKETING Parts: Parts:
Airline Market Place
Airline Marketing Balancing Act Technical Report 2 3 - 7 Feb (Fri &
Airline Marketing Management Tue)
Process FGD (Group 4) 7 Feb (Tue)
Airline Marketing Mix Lecture; Summary 10 Feb(Fri)
 Products & Services
 Pricing
 Pipeline
 Promotion
Future of Airline Marketing
Part 7. AIRLINE OPERATIONS
Reservations Parts: Parts:
 Itinerary Planning
 PNR Technical Report 3 14 – 17 Feb (Tue
 Airline Rules & Fri)
 CRS FGD (Group 1) 17 Feb (Fri)
Ticketing Lecture; Summary 21 – 24 Feb (Tue
 ABC & other airline & Fri)
manuals
 Airline Rules
 Manual & Automated
 Airfare Computation
Ground Handling Parts: Parts:
 Arrival
 Departure Technical Report 4 28 Feb – 3 Mar
Cargo (Tue & Fri)
 Handling FGD (Group 2) 3 Mar (Fri)
 Sales Lecture; Summary 7 Mar (Tue)
 Reservations
Other aspects of airline
operations
Part 8. The Future Outlook of Air Lecture; Class Discussion 7 Mar (Tue)
Travel
COURSE WRAP UP Lecture; Class Discussion 10 Mar (Fri)
SPEAK-UP: Managing Airlines in Guest Speaker 11 Mar (Sat)
Today’s Economy
SPEAK-UP: Airport Management Guest Speaker 11 Mar (Sat)
RESEARCH WEEK; Finalize speak-up No Class Session 14 – 17 Mar
arrangements
CLASS TRIP Field Trip TBA
FINAL EXAMINATION Final Examination 21 Mar (Tue)