You are on page 1of 439

Village of Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin

Architectural and Historical Intensive Survey Report

By Jennifer L. Lehrke, AIA, LEED AP & Robert Short LJM Architects, Inc. 813 Riverfront Drive Sheboygan, Wisconsin 53081 Project Director Joseph R. DeRose, Survey & Registration Historian Wisconsin Historical Society Division of Historic Preservation Public History 816 State Street Madison, Wisconsin 53706 Sponsoring Agency Wisconsin Historical Society Division of Historic Preservation Public History 816 State Street Madison, Wisconsin 53706 2010-2011

Acknowledgments
This program receives Federal financial assistance for identification and protection of historic properties. Under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, as amended, the U.S. Department of the Interior prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, or disability or age in its federally assisted programs. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility as described above, or if you desire further information, please write to: Office of the Equal Opportunity, National Park Service, 1849 C Street NW, Washington, DC 20240. The activity that is the subject of this Intensive Survey Report has been financed entirely with Federal Funds from the National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior, and administered by the Wisconsin Historical Society. However, the contents and opinions do not necessarily reflect the views or policies of the Department of the Interior or the Wisconsin Historical Society. Nor does the mention of trade names or commercial products constitute endorsement or recommendation by the Department of the Interior or the Wisconsin Historical Society. The authors would like to thank the following persons or organizations for their assistance in completing this project:
Wisconsin Historical Society Jim Draeger, Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer Joseph R. DeRose, Survey & Registration Historian Village of Whitefish Bay Historic Preservation Commission Jefferson Aikin, Chairperson Kenneth Berg Tom Fehring Richard Foster, Trustee Julie Gilpin Thomas Kindschi Carol Krigbaum, Secretary

Abstract
This report documents an architectural and historical intensive survey of resources located within the boundaries of the Village of Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, as of 2010. A reconnaissance survey of this area was conducted by the principal and assistant investigators as the first part of the survey. After which, a research effort was conducted to ascertain the architectural and historical significance of the resources identified during the reconnaissance survey. The resulting products of the project were produced according to standards set by the Wisconsin Historical Societys Division of Historic Preservation and include the following: Intensive Survey Report The intensive survey report includes a summary of the research and a brief history of the community. It provides a historical context for the evaluation of historic resources and serves as a means for identifying significant properties, complexes, and districts eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places. It also contains recommendations for future survey and research needs, priorities for National Register listing, and strategies for historic preservation. Survey and District Maps Survey maps indicate all newly surveyed properties. District maps identify district boundaries and all properties in the potential districts. These maps are included in this intensive survey report. Electronic Documents The Wisconsin Historical Societys web site contains an electronic version of the inventory cards, called Wisconsin Historic Preservation Database (WHPD), for all inventoried properties. Also, an electronic copy of this report and digital photos are saved on compact disc and held at the Wisconsin Historical Society.

Table of Contents
Contents Page Acknowledgements..................................................................................................1 Abstract ....................................................................................................................2 Introduction..............................................................................................................5 Survey Methodology................................................................................................7 Historical Overview ...............................................................................................11 Government............................................................................................................13 Industry ..................................................................................................................23 Transportation ........................................................................................................27 Architecture............................................................................................................35 Education .............................................................................................................111 Social & Political Movements .............................................................................121 Religion................................................................................................................125 Commerce ............................................................................................................133 Planning & Landscape Architecture ....................................................................145 Recreation & Entertainment ................................................................................155 Notable People .....................................................................................................161 Bibliography ........................................................................................................181 Survey Results .....................................................................................................185 Recommendations................................................................................................325 Notes ....................................................................................................................329 Appendix..............................................................................................................343 Building Support for Local Historic Preservation Incentives for Historic Preservation Economic Benefits of Historic Preservation in Wisconsin Creating a Preservation Ethic in Your Community Planning a Local Historic Preservation Program Historic Preservation Ordinances and Commissions in Wisconsin How to Gain Commission Credibility Benefits of Local Historic Preservation Ordinances Certified Local Government Historic Preservation Tax Incentive for Income-Producing Historic Buildings Wisconsin Historic Homeowners Tax Credit Program Guidelines for Planning Historic Preservation Tax Credit Projects

Chapter 1 Chapter 2 Chapter 3 Chapter 4 Chapter 5 Chapter 6 Chapter 7 Chapter 8 Chapter 9 Chapter 10 Chapter 11 Chapter 12 Chapter 13 Chapter 14 Chapter 15 Chapter 16 Chapter 17 Chapter 18 Chapter 19

This page intentionally left blank.

1
Introduction
The Wisconsin Historical Society utilized a Historic Preservation grant-in-aid from the National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior to hire LJM Architects, Inc., an architectural and historic preservation consulting firm based in Sheboygan, Wisconsin, to conduct an intensive survey of architecturally and historically significant resources within the boundaries of the Village of Whitefish Bay. The major objective of the project was to identify structures and districts of architectural or historical significance that are potentially eligible for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places. The survey was executed during the period from October 2010 to June 2011 by Principal Investigators Jennifer L. Lehrke and Robert Short, with assistance by Katie Derksen and Karen Lindow, all of LJM Architects, Inc. and data entry by Tom Barg, Emily Caflisch, Erica Freding, Zachary Freding, and Briana VanDriest. It consisted of several major work elements: completing a reconnaissance survey; conducting research; evaluating resources, and preparing an intensive survey report. The boundaries of the survey were delineated as shown on the Survey Boundaries Map. The survey identified nearly 2,900 resources of architectural and historical interest as well as twelve potential historic districts and two potential complexes. Although the resources include a variety of public buildings such as schools, churches, and commercial buildings, the majority of the surveyed resources are single-family dwellings from the 1920s to the 1950s. The purpose of this survey report was not to write a definitive history of the Village of Whitefish Bay, but rather to provide an overview of the history of the Village and its buildings in relation to a series of themes or study units, to provide basic information on the resources that were identified during the reconnaissance survey, and can be used in future planning decisions and increasing public awareness of the history and architecture of the community. This architectural and historical intensive report and the associated work elements mentioned above are kept at the Historic Preservation Division of the Wisconsin Historical Society in Madison; and a copy of the report is kept at the Whitefish Bay Village Hall and Whitefish Bay Public Library.

2
Survey Methodology
Introduction The Architectural and Historical Intensive Survey was conducted in the Village of Whitefish Bay over a period of several months, beginning in October of 2010 and concluding in June of 2011. The architectural firm of LJM Architects, Inc. of Sheboygan, Wisconsin executed the survey. The principal investigator, Jennifer L. Lehrke, with assistant Robert Short, conducted the reconnaissance survey fieldwork and performed historical research. Jennifer L. Lehrke coauthored and edited the majority of the intensive survey report and generally oversaw the survey. Robert Short prepared the survey maps and co-authored the report, and Katie Derksen and Karen Lindow provided administrative support. Building permit research and data entry was performed by Tom Barg, Emily Caflisch, Erica Freding, Zachary Freding and Briana VanDriest. The Village of Whitefish Bay Architectural and Historical Survey consisted of four major work tasks: (1) reconnaissance survey, (2) architectural and historical research, (3) evaluation of significant resources for inclusion in the intensive survey report, and (4) preparation and presentation of the intensive survey report. Reconnaissance Survey In October and November 2010, a windshield survey of the Village of Whitefish Bay was conducted that resulted in the identification of nearly 2,900 sites of architectural and historical interest. During this time, a field survey form of each site was prepared which included the location, name, style, and other key pieces of information and a digital photograph was taken. The portions of the Village within the delineated boundary area as described in Chapter 1 were surveyed street-by-street and structure-by-structure for resources of architectural and historical significance. Approximately 60 previously surveyed properties were updated. Information contained in the Wisconsin Historic Preservation Database (WHPD), particularly the address, was confirmed and corrected if needed, and field observations were recorded if any alterations, additions, or demolition work had been done to the structure since last surveyed. A new digital photograph of each property was taken to be added to the WHPD. There were several sites that were previously surveyed that lacked initial integrity and we did not believe to be survey worthy. Therefore, we did not update those sites. In addition to updating the 60 previously surveyed sites, hundreds of new properties of interest were observed and documented. Information such as address, name, and architectural style were noted, and field observations were recorded which were later entered into the WHPD. A digital 7

photograph of each property was also taken for inclusion in the WHPD. In areas where a potential historic district was identified, all buildings within the potential district boundaries were observed and documented. In addition, all of the existing and newly surveyed properties were identified by photo code on maps which are included in the Survey Results Chapter. Architectural and Historical Research Architectural and historical research of the Village of Whitefish Bay was conducted by the principal and assistant investigators throughout the course of the project in an effort to provide a historical context to evaluate resources. Of great importance were items located at the Whitefish Bay Public Library including, but not limited to, their extensive collection of research on local history and buildings conducted by Mimi Bird. Secondary information was also found at the Village of Whitefish Bay Village Hall and The Wisconsin Historical Society. Summaries of Whitefish Bays history are included in this report and arranged in themes according to guidelines set forth by the Historic Preservation Division of the Wisconsin Historical Society. Areas of research include historic Indians, fur trade, government, settlement, industry, transportation, architecture, education, social and political movements, religion, art and literature, commerce, Planning & Landscape Architecture, Recreation & Entertainment, and notable people. Structures deemed eligible for listing in the National Register were evaluated based on their association with these themes. Evaluation of Significant Resources After the reconnaissance survey and research was completed, the data was analyzed to determine which individual properties and districts were potentially eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places. The evaluation of individual historic resources and districts were also reviewed with the Historic Preservation Division of the Wisconsin Historical Society prior to inclusion in this report. The evaluation was performed according to the National Registers Criteria for Evaluation and Criteria Considerations which are used to assist local, state, and federal agencies in evaluating nominations to the National Register of Historic Places. The Criteria for Evaluation and Criteria Considerations are described in several National Register publications as follows:
The quality of significance in American history, architecture, archeology, and culture is present in districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects that possess integrity of location, design, setting, materials, workmanship, feeling, and association, and: A. that are associated with events that have made a significant contribution to the broad patterns of our history; or B. that are associated with the lives of persons significant in our past; or C. that embody the distinctive characteristics of a type, period, or method of construction, or that represent the work of a master, or that possess high artistic values, or that represent a significant and distinguishable entity whose components may lack individual distinction; or D. that have yielded, or may be likely to yield, information important in prehistory or history. Ordinarily, cemeteries, birthplaces, or graves of historical figures, properties owned by religious institutions, or used for religious purposes, properties primarily commemorative in nature, and properties that have achieved significance within the past 50 years shall not be considered eligible for

the National Register. However, such properties will qualify if they are integral parts of districts that do meet the criteria or if they fall within the following categories: A. B. C. D. E. F. G. a religious property deriving primary significance from architectural or artistic distinction or historical importance; or a building or structure removed from its original location, but which is significant primarily for architectural value, or which is the surviving structure most importantly associated with a historic period or event; or a birthplace or grave of a historical figure of outstanding importance if there is no other appropriate site or building directly associated with his or her productive life; or a cemetery which derives its primary significance from graves of persons of transcendent importance, from age, from distinctive design features, or from association with historic events; or a reconstructed building when accurately executed in a suitable environment and presented in a dignified manner as part of a restoration master plan, and when no other building or structure with the same association has survived; or a property primarily commemorative in intent if design, age, tradition, or symbolic value has invested it with its own historical significance; or a property achieving significant within the past 50 years is it is of exceptional importance.

As noted above, a historic district is placed in the National Register of Historic Places in a manner similar to individual propertied; using essentially the same criteria. A historic district is comprised of resource; that is, building, structures, sites, or objects located in a geographically definable area. The historic district is united by historical factors and a sense of cohesive architectural integrity. District resources are individually classified as contributing or non-contributing. A. A contributing building, site, structure, or object adds to the historic architectural qualities, historic associations, or archeological values for which a property is significant because (a.) it was presented during the period of significance and possesses historic integrity reflecting its character at that time or is capable of yielding important information about the period, or (b.) it independently or individually meet the National Register criteria. A non-contributing building, site, structure, or object does not add to the historic architectural qualities, historic associations, or archeological values for which a property or district is significant because (a.) it was not present during the period of significance [less than 50 years old or moved to the site], (b.) due to alterations, disturbances, addition, or other changes, it no longer possesses historic integrity reflecting its character at that time or is incapable of yielding important information about the period, or (c.) it does not independently meet the National Register criteria.

B.

Preparation and Presentation of the Intensive Survey Report This survey report describes the project and survey methodology, gives an overview of the history of Whitefish Bay, summarizes the thematic research and survey results, and gives recommendations for the Village of Whitefish Bay. This report does not include a definitive history of the Village of Whitefish Bay. Rather, it provides a broad historical overview of many themes in one publication. It is intended to be a work in progress which can lead to future research and can be updated over time as new information is collected. Prior to issuance of the final survey report, the contents were reviewed by appointed members of the Village of Whitefish Bay Historic Preservation Commission, and staff at the Historic Preservation Division of the Wisconsin Historical Society. Copies of the final survey report were issued to the Historic Preservation Division of the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Village of Whitefish Bay, and the Whitefish Bay Public Library. 9

LJM Architects, the Village of Whitefish Bay Historic Preservation Commission, and the Historic Preservation Division of the Wisconsin Historical Society conducted two public information meetings regarding the survey. The first meeting was held on October 20, 2010, to introduce the survey team and the project process to the community. A second meeting, yet to be determined, will present the results of the project including the survey report, potential districts, and information in the National Register to the Village of Whitefish Bay and its Historic Preservation Commission.

10

3
Historical Overview
Pre-Settlement The northern portion of what is now Milwaukee County was once a wild area of prairie, swamps, and forest teeming with beavers, deer, and other wildlife. In 1674, the first European explorer, Pre Jacques Marquette sailed along the western coast of Lake Michigan and camped for two and a half days on the shores of Whitefish Bay. In the early nineteenth century, the Woodland and Sauk Indians who inhabited the region traded at Solomon Juneaus trading post in Milwaukee. Early immigration and settlement of southeastern Wisconsin came via Lake Michigan sailing vessels.1 Settlement The area was first organized as part of the former Town of Milwaukee. The first land purchase in the area occurred in 1835, when Joel Buttles of Columbus, Ohio, in Whitefish Bays first land purchase, bought 240 acres extending from Silver Spring Drive south to Hampton Road and from Lydell to Idlewild Avenues. At this time, the land in Southeastern Wisconsin was sold by the federal government at public auction in Green Bay at a cost of $1.25 per acre. Seven years later, A. Markert built the first homestead in Whitefish Bay on 37 acres near Fairmount and Lydell Avenues. The Swain Family, early settlers during the 1840s, cleared land and planted an apple orchard. As the city of Milwaukee grew, being incorporating in 1851, settlers moved further into the surrounding area. Whitefish Bays first settlers were farmers; several of whom became commercial fishermen and storekeepers overtime.2 Access to Milwaukee Countys North Shore area improved vastly by the Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western Railroad in 1871, the Lake Avenue Turnpike in 1872, and the Milwaukee & Whitefish Bay Railroad in 1886. While many of the residents remained farmers, some businessmen moved to the area, commuting to Milwaukee via these new modes of transportation. Real estate and railroad speculation started in 1887, causing a boom in land purchasing and subdividing. Whitefish Bays lakefront resorts and picnic grounds became popular retreats and vacation spots for Milwaukee residents with Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort, which opened in 1889, being the most famous. 3 Development The Village of Whitefish Bay incorporated in 1892 with a population of 312. 4 Soon after, the villages first school was constructed.5 Following incorporation, the village experienced its first building and real estate boom. Short lived, it ended with the financial panic of 1893. However, 11

the majority of the village was platted as residential subdivisions by this time. By 1900, the villages population was 512. Residential construction continued slowly throughout the following decade. The Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort remained popular and the most notable attraction in the village after buying out its competitors, Jefferson and Welcome Parks. 6 After the villages first wooden school was destroyed by fire, the villages second school was built, starting a tradition of brick construction of its school buildings.7 The Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort closed in 1914. 8 Beginning with a 1920 census of only 882 residents, Whitefish Bay saw rapid development and growth, ending the decade with 5,362 residents. Many businessmen and professionals from Milwaukee continued to build year-round homes and settle in the village. In response to this growth, two new elementary schools were built, as well as development of the commercial corridors along Henry Clay Street and Silver Spring Drive. 9 In response to the rapid growth, the village implemented zoning and architectural review programs to control the characteristics and qualities of the village. 10 Educational needs of its youth still being top priority, a high school was opened in the early-1930s. 11 Residential construction continued to boom through the Great Depression; the population of Whitefish Bay was 8,754 in 1938. 12 The villages population growth slowed during World War II, accommodating 9,651 in 1946. Another period of rapid development and growth occurred after the war, rivaling that of the 1920s. By 1950, the village grew to a population of 14,625. Increased development of commercial buildings along Silver Spring Drive continued after World War II as well.13 The first major apartment developments in the village began in the early 1950s, increasing the urban character of the village.14 By 1960, residential construction slowed as the village reached the point of being completely built-out. Whitefish Bay reached a peak population of 18,360 that decade. 15 Present Day In recent years, the village has continued to mature as one of Milwaukees upper-middle class suburbs. Multi-family housing projects have continued to slowly be developed near the villages commercial districts. Due to the zoning and architectural review programs that were enacted during the early twentieth century, the village maintains a high level of historic integrity and architectural character.

12

4
Government
Federal Government United States Military The First Light Battery of the United States National Guard, later to be known as Battery A, was organized in 1885 by sixty Milwaukeeans led by J. B. Oliver. Since 1890, they shared the Broadway Armory in Milwaukee with the Light Horse Squadron. 16 In 1907, Battery A purchased pavilions from both Jefferson and Welcome Parks and moved them to nineteen acres of land purchased south of Henry Clay Street. There, these buildings were remodeled into an armory. 17 Battery A moved to its new, non-extant facilities in Whitefish Bay in 1908. By 1928, plans were made for a new armory building. Thirteen of the original nineteen acres of land were sold to the village for $80,000 on which it built Whitefish Bay High School. The profit from selling this land helped finance the construction of a new brick Armory. The Whitefish Bay Armory is now non-extant and the grounds have become Armory Park. 18 Three men from the area that would eventually become the Village of Whitefish Bay fought for the Union during the United States Civil War. A group of 35 men from Whitefish Bay served in the First World War, led by Colonel P. C. Westphal. Only one of these men did not return at the wars end. 19 Hundreds of men and women from Whitefish Bay served during World War II, seven of which gave their lives defending their country. Soldiers from the Whitefish Bay Armory formed part of the U.S. Armys 32nd Division and were involved with the New Guinea campaign, among other activities. A wooden memorial honoring Whitefish Bay veterans was erected in Big Bay Park after the wars end. However, it deteriored and was removed; today a carved, wooden eagle from the memorial is mounted in the boardroom of the Whitefish Bay Village Hall. A new memorial was constructed in Armory Park in 2010.20 United States Postal Service Whitefish Bays first post office was established in 1874. It was operated by Lewis Scheife from 1892 to 1900 from his non-extant general store at the southwest corner of Silver Spring and Marlborough Drives. The location of this store was immediately northeast of the Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western Railroad tracks and depot, by which mail bags were delivered to the store 13

where customers walked to receive their mail. The postal service operated in this manner until approximately 1912 and at which time the concept of mail delivery became popular.21 By the 1940s, the United States Postal Service was operating in the village as a contract station. In 1943, the postal station was located at Emmerlings Ice Cream Parlor, 529 E. Silver Spring Drive. By 1945, a temporary structure, formerly used as a skating rink warming house at Klode Park, was moved to a village-owned lot on which has since been constructed Sendiks Fruit Market, from which to conduct postal services. In 1947, when the sites location was sold to Frank, Ignatius, Thomas, and Joseph Balistreri, future operators of Sendiks Fruit Market, the temporary post office was relocated multiple times: first to a vacant lot that is now a small public park east of the The Bay Liquor Shoppe Building at 342 E. Silver Spring Drive, a year later to the public parking lot south of 529 E. Silver Spring Drive, after a few months to what was then a lot at 434 E. Silver Spring Drive, and then in 1949 back to the vacant lot on Silver Spring Drive 22 Due to the villages rapid growth, a permanent Post Office Branch with increased service was desired by villages businesses and residents. In the early 1950s, bids were sought for a new post office building. A contract was awarded to Harry Forman to construct a brick and stone trimmed building to be leased by the United States Postal Service. This building, completed in 1952, was leased for 15 years by the post office and located on Silver Spring Drive. This station operated as a branch of the Milwaukee Post Office, with mail being processed at the downtown Milwaukee post office and delivered to this location early every morning.23 Whitefish Bay is currently served by the North Shore branch location of the Milwaukee Post Office at 5651 N Lydell Avenue in the City of Glendale.24 The building located at 527 & 529 E. Silver Spring Drive was not included in the survey as its additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of its original architecture. The Whitefish Bay Post Office, located at 103, 105 & 109 E. Silver Spring Drive; was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. State Government Wisconsin Governors Julius Peter Heil; born in 1874 in Duesmond-an-der-Mosel, Germany, immigrated to Wisconsin with his parents in 1881. The Heil Family settled in New Berlin, Wisconsin, where he attended school until the age of 12. 25 By the age of 14, he began working as a drill press operator for the Milwaukee Harvester Company. He later worked for the Falk Corporation of Milwaukee and traveled throughout South America installing street railway tracks. In 1901, Heil founded the Heil Rail Joint Welding Company, changing its name to Heil Company five years later. The Heil Company became a major manufacturer of dump-truck bodies, storage and transport tanks, road machinery, and residential heating units. Heil and his wife, Elizabeth, purchased the Mediterranean Revival style house located at 5240 N. Lake Drive, designed by architect Russell Barr Williamson, from its original owner shortly after its completion in 1926. They lived in this house in Whitefish Bay during Heils rise to political

14

prominence. 26 He was appointed to head the state advisory board for the National Recovery Administration by President Roosevelt in 1933. After winning the Republican gubernatorial nomination in 1938, Heil was elected Governor of the State of Wisconsin, defeating Progressive incumbent Philip F. LaFollette. During his two terms in office, 1939-1943, his administration sponsored the enactment of the State Employment Peace Act, reorganized the welfare and tax departments, created the Department of Securities, modernized the state's accounting system, and directed the liquidation of frozen assets of the Building and Loan Association. 27 As governor, he also consolidated several programs into the Department of Motor Vehicles, Department of Public Welfare, and the Division of Departmental Research. In 1940, Heil also served as an alternate delegate to Republican National Convention from Wisconsin in 1940 and was a member of the Freemasons.28 During Heil's second term, a State Guard was created to replace the National Guard, which had been called to active duty during World War II. 29 Governor Heil was defeated by Progressive opponent Orland S. Loomis in the gubernatorial election of 1942. At that time, he returned to his business interests and was chairman of the board of the Heil Company until his death in 1949. 30 The Carl Herzfeld House, located at 5240 N. Lake Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Wisconsin Delegates & National Committee Members William D. Doll served as a Wisconsin delegate to the Republican National Convention in 1940 and as an alternate to the 1944 convention. 31 Brad Courtney served as a Wisconsin delegate to the Republican National Convention in 2004 and 2008. 32 Patty Reiman served as a Wisconsin delegate to the Republican National Convention in 2008. 33 Local Government Milwaukee County Fred G. Isenring, a resident involved with the incorporation of the Village of Whitefish Bay, served as the first President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1892 to 1895, as well as, the Whitefish Bay representative to the Milawukee County Board. 34 Also in 1892, Isenrings house was constructed next to the village hall on Fleetwood Place. The house was eventually relocated to 920 & 922 E. Sylvan Avenue, where it stood until its demolition in 2009. During his term as Village President, Isenring remained active as a businessman in real estate, insurance, and real estate loans. He developed three subdivisions in Whitefish Bay around the turn of the twentieth century.35 Isenring was elected County Sheriff in 1896. He left office the following year, but failed to file financial reports for at least 18 months of his term. $20,000 from sheriff sales conducted by Isenring after his election was found to be unaccounted for in an investigation by the district attorney. Isenring was ordered to appear in court; but he did not. An order for his arrest was issued in December of 1899, but Isenring had disappeared by that time. His wife told authorities he went to Fond du Lac on business and never returned. It is suspected that Isenring

15

suffered greatly financially during the depression of 1898, having purchased the majority of his real estate during the boom earlier that decade. Further knowledge of Isenrings whereabouts was never uncovered. 36 William A. Klatte, an 1899 graduate from the University of Wisconsin Law School in Madison, helped create the position of Milwuakee County Clerk of Civil Court. He held that position for thirty years. After 1912, he and his wife Florence lived at 716 E. Day Avenue in Whitefish Bay.37 The Herbert Kinne House, located at 716 E. Day Avenue, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Judge Joseph A. Padway was born in 1891 in England and immigrated to Milwaukee in 1906. He graduated from Marquette University Law School in 1912 and become a prominent labor lawyer. He served as a State Senator in the 1925 session of the Legislature. From 1926 to 1932, he was a Milwaukee County Judge. During the mid-1920s, he served as general counsel for the Wisconsin State Federation of Labor and, the following decade, was appointed general counsel for the American Federation of Labor. He retained the later post until his death in 1947.38 Padway constructed a house on Lake Drive in Whitefish Bay in 1930; it was designed by architect Hugo V. Miller and constructed by Bentley Brothers Inc.39 The Judge Joseph A. & Lydia Padway House, located at 5312 N. Lake Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for the integrity of its Mediterranean Revival style architecture. Village of Whitefish Bay Early in its history, Milwaukee County consisted of two townships divided at what is now Greenfield Avenue. What is now Whitefish Bay was in the former Town of Milwaukee, south of Greenfield Avenue was the Town of Lake.40 The prime reason behind Whitefish Bays formation and incorporation as a village was the subject of education. By the 1890s, the areas closest school was located in the present City of Glendale east of the Union Cemetery between Lydell Avenue and Port Washington Road, a several mile walk for some of the settlements children.41 Attempts were made to change the Town of Milwaukee school districts existing boundaries to result in a closer school; however, these attempts were unsuccessful. As a result, these residents sought incorporation and the right to form their own school district. On June 7, 1892, the Village of Whitefish Bay was incorporated. Fred G. Isenring was elected the first Village President; William T. Consaul, A. Ehlers, I. Lefeber, Lewis Scheife, Ernst Timpel, and Dr. Thaddeus W. Williams were elected the first Village Trustees. The first village board meetings took place in a rented room at Lewis Scheifes grocery store and later in the Fleetwood School. For more information on Fleetwood School, refer to Chapter 8 Education. A building dedicated to serve as village hall was purchased from A. A. Pinet in October of 1902.42 Located at 908 E. Lexington Boulevard, it originally was used as a saloon, and had stood vacant for a period of time. After being moved to the north side of Fleetwood Place, just south of where the Fleetwood School stood, it was used as the Whitefish Bay Village Hall until 1921. At that time, it was relocated to 314 E. Beaumont Avenue by Lewis Scheife and converted into a private residence. 43

16

In 1922, a new one-story, brick village hall with attached tool garage designed by architect Martin Tullgren was constructed on a site located at 801 E. Lexington Boulevard. Soon after, the police department and jail moved into this building as well. Within six years additional space was required for the newly formed fire department and additional administrative offices. 200 feet of land west of the hall was purchased, and the building that had occupied it was demolished. 44 In 1931 a two-story Whitefish Bay Village Hall, early 1950s addition designed by architect Roy O. Papenthien (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehrring) was completed as well as a second floor addition onto the original one-story building. With these additions the village administration, police department, fire department, department of public works, inspection departments, and municipal court were all housed under the same roof. Living quarters for the firemen were added in 1936. A library opened in this buildings basement the following year. 45 By 1950, several of these departments had outgrown the facility resulting in the creation of a civic center plan for the redevelopment of the former railroad and street car right-of-way that ran east of Marlborough Drive. By 1955, a new fire station and library were constructed. For more information on the Whitefish Bay Public Library, refer to Chapter 8 Education. After a proposal to convert it into a community and senior center was deemed financially infeasible to make the building meet state and village building codes. In 1970, the old village hall was demolished, and the land sold as three residential lots.46 The present Whitefish Bay Village Hall and Police Department was constructed in 1970 by Peters Construction Company at the cost of almost $380,000. 47 The building also houses the emergency operating center for the North Shore Zone A Civil Defense.48 The Whitefish Bay Village Hall and Police Department, located at 5300 N. Marlborough Drive, was included in the survey but is not eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. During the late 1920s, the City of Milwaukee was making an effort to annex many of its surrounding suburban communities. The proposed annexation of Whitefish Bay was tied closely with the negotiations over water supply in 1927. The majority of Whitefish Bay residents at the time considered immediate annexation bad for the village, yet many were open to the idea of future annexation. The issue came to a climax with the next election, in which a two-to-one majority of anti-annexation candidates were elected. 49 To this day, the village remains incorporated covering an area of approximately 2.4 square miles and is governed by a village board of part-time trustees, a president elected for a 3 year term, and a full-time village manager.50

17

Whitefish Bay Village Presidents


1892 1895 1895 1896 1896 1900 1900 1903 1903 1905 1905 1906 1906 1908 1908 1911 1911 1912 1912 1913 1913 1914 1914 1918 1918 1922 Fred G. Isenring Dr. Thaddeus W. Williams James McGee Dr. Thaddeus W. Williams Conrad Cassel John D. Singles Alonzo Fowle A. J. Croffts W. D. Corrigan George Cassel W. H. Goodall Frank C. Klode A. J. Richter 1922 1923 1923 1924 1924 1934 1934 1937 1937 1945 1945 1951 1951 1954 1954 1966 1966 1984 1984 1989 1989 2002 2002 2011 2011 present Herman A. Uihlein Edward L. Tracy Frank C. Klode Harold W. Connell Grover F. Knoernschild Dr. Frank E. Drew Oliver A. Grootemaat Tom E. Hayes Henry F. Mixter F. Patrick Matthews James Gormley Kathleen Pritchard Julie Siegel

Police Department Prior to 1922, law enforcement in Whitefish Bay was provided by a Village Marshall. That year, a chief of police and several patrolmen were hired forming the Whitefish Bay Police Department. 51 The police department and a jail were housed in a non-extant building constructed by Charles Langschwager in 1898 on a triangular piece of land purchased for approximately $30 at Lancaster Avenue and Kimbark Place. In 1931, an addition to the village hall designed by architect Roy O. Papenthien was completed, creating a new home for the police and other departments. With these additions the village administration, library, police department, fire department, department of public works, inspection departments, and municipal court were all housed under the same roof. By 1950, several of these departments had outgrown the facility resulting in the creation of a civic center plan for the redevelopment of the former railroad and street car right of way that ran east of Marlborough Drive. By 1955, a new fire station and library were constructed. Today, the police department occupies space in the Whitefish Bay Village Hall and Police Department, constructed in 1970. 52 Whitefish Bays Police Department maintains a mutual aid agreement with departments of the neighboring North Shore communities. 53 The Whitefish Bay Village Hall and Police Department, located at 5300 N. Marlborough Drive, was included in the survey but is not eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Fire Department Whitefish Bay was protected by a volunteer fire department of approximately twenty five men until 1916, when the village contracted fire protection services from the City of Milwaukee. The citys nearest station was more than two miles south of the village limits. The first step towards establishing a full-time fire department was taken in 1923 with the purchase of public fire extinguishers. In the September of 1928, a single fire engine was

18

purchased and six full-time firemen were hired for the establishment of the Whitefish Bay Fire Department. 54 In 1931 an addition to the village hall designed by architect Roy O. Papenthien was completed, creating a home for the fire and other departments. With these additions the village administration, library, police department, fire department, department of public works, inspection departments, and municipal court were all housed under the same roof. Living quarters for the firemen were added in 1936. By 1950, several of these departments had outgrown the facility resulting in the creation of a civic center plan for the redevelopment of the former railroad and street car right-of-way that ran east of Marlborough Drive. In 1954, the extant fire station designed by architect George F. Spinti III was constructed by DeLyle G. Beyer at the intersection of Lexington Boulevard and Marlborough Drive. An addition was constructed onto the station in 1970 by Roberts Construction Company. 55 Whitefish Bays Fire Department maintains a reciprocal aid agreement with departments of the neighboring North Shore communities. 56 The Whitefish Bay Fire Department, located at 825 E. Lexington Boulevard, was included in the survey but is not eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Public Health Department By the mid-twentieth century, the village maintained its own Public Health Department, headed by a medical doctor who serves as the part-time health commissioner. The staff also consisted of a sanitary inspector, nurse supervisor, and nurses situated in each of the Whitefish Bay schools, both public and parochial. The school clinic service offered regular vision and hearing tests, vaccinations, tuberculin scratch tests, and tetanus booster shots. Health services were also offered on occasion to adult residents.57 Since that time, the Villages of Whitefish Bay and Shorewood share a combined Public Health Department. It is currenltly located in the Shorewood Public Library and has a mission to protect and promote the health of the communities, prevent disease, and preserve the environment from health hazards. 58 There are no historic resources associated with Whitefish Bays Public Health Department. Public Works The Village of Whitefish Bay has a Public Works Department that has jurisdiction over street maintenance and lighting, sanitation, garbage collection, forestry, and the care of parks, beaches, public buildings, and grounds. 59 No resources relating to the Whitefish Bay Public Works Department have been included in this survey. The earliest streets in what is now the Village of Whitefish Bay were all dirt roads. Streets began to be graded and paved with gravel supplied by Lewis Schreiber and William Pagels during the early 1890s. Also at this time, sidewalks slowly began to be added, with the first being on a stretch of Lake Drive from Silver Spring to the platform of the Milwaukee & Whitefish Bay Railroad near Henry Clay Street in 1892. The following year, Day Avenue from the bluff to Lake Drive was paved with cedar blocks by John Martin of Oshkosh at the cost of approximately $4,500. In 1893, Fred Isenring financed the grading and paving of Marlborough

19

Drive near the old Fleetwood School. That same year, Sylvan Avenue had its width reduced. In 1894, sidewalks were installed along Henry Clay Street from the lake to Marlborough Drive and Marlborough Drive between Silver Spring Drive and Henry Clay Street. These sidewalks were typically constructed of six foot lengths of 2 wooden planks. 60 The villages first street trees were planted in the early 1890s by developers along Day Avenue east of Lake Drive and along Glen and Lake Forest Avenues in the mid- to late-1890s. 61 After 1903, approximately 140 gas lamps had been utilized along village streets, fueled with gasoline contracted from Wellsbach Company. In 1913, voters chose to upgrade to electric street lamps. That year, the Milwaukee Electric Company installed 25 lights. By 1925, an ornamental lighting program was established. 62 In 1960, a twelve-year lighting project was planned; within four years all streets in the village were lit and replacement of the existing street lights began. 63 The Whitefish Bay Village Board approved that a park board be established in 1923 and enacted an ordinace requiring that all future street tress be white elms. The following year, 790 white elms were planted along village streets. Elms were utilized exclusively for the villages street trees through the 1940s.64 While several of the villages neighborhoods were constructed with mid-block alleys, many were vacated during the 1930s, with the land being acquired by neighboring property owners. 65 Alleys remain in limited portions of the village, most prominently in the proposed Lake Crest Residential Historic District. As of 1987, the village of Whitefish Bay maintains approximately 35 miles of roads, 70 miles of sidewalk, and 4 miles of alleys. 66 Whitefish Bay had a sanitary sewer system that emptied into Lake Michigan as early as 1894. 67 After an outbreak of typhoid due to well contamination on the Tweedy Land Company Property near Fleetwood School in 1898, sanitation became a major public issue. The villages first sewage disposal system was completed in 1917. 68 The outlet into Lake Michigan was abandoned when the village joined the Metropolitan Sewerage District in 1926. The Public Works Department remains responsible for maintaining the storm sewers which still dispose of surface storm water into Lake Michigan with outlets at Klode and Big Bay Parks in addition to the a Milwaukee River outlet. 69 Starting in 1914, the Village of Whitefish Bay contracted to purchase water from the City of Milwaukee and water mains were installed. At the end of 1927, a conference was held between the villages of Whitefish Bay and Shorewood and the City of Milwaukee concerning water. It was suggested that Whitefish Bay be served northward via Richards Street from the Milwaukee River to eliminate receiving twice metered water through Shorewood. This action required Whitefish Bay to annex a strip of land leading to the Milwaukee River, through Estabrook Park. After these actions took place, the City of Milwaukee tried leveraging its water supply to entice the annexation of Whitefish Bay and Shorewood into the city. This demand caused both villages to terminate their water contracts with the city and seek their own water system. In 1949, Whitefish Bay constructed a water tower that services the village alone. It is located at the north end of Lydell Avenue in what is today Water Tower Park. By 1963, Whitefish Bay, Fox Point,

20

and Glendale began operating a shared $6,000,000 water supply and treatment plant. In 1998, a new water tower was constructed by Stroo Construction of Menomonee Falls replacing the 1949 tower.70 In 1923, the village made a four-year contract with William C. Schultz for garbage removal and disposal into his gravel pit. The village purchased six acres of land on which to construct an incinerator in 1929. It was completed the following year for a total investment of $75,000. 71 A new incinerator was constructed in 1956, and at that time non-burnable refuse was disposed of in a dump located outside of Whitefish Bay at 52nd Street and Good Hope Road. 72 The Village of Whitefish Bay Incinerator, formerly located at the southeast corner of Fairmount and Lydell Avenues, has been demolished. List of Surveyed Historic Resources Mentioned in the Text
Address 314 E. Beaumont Avenue 1200 E. Fairmount Avenue 5240 N. Lake Drive 5312 N. Lake Drive 825 E. Lexington Boulevard 5300 N. Marlborough Drive 103, 105 & 109 E. Silver Spring Drive Historic Name Whitefish Bay High School Carl Herzfeld House Judge Joseph A. & Lydia Padway House Whitefish Bay Fire Department Whitefish Bay Village Hall & Police Dept. Whitefish Bay Post Office. Date c. 1893 1929 1924 1931 1954 1970 1952 Class Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

21

This page intentionally left blank.

22

5
Industry
Introduction While the Village of Whitefish Bay has grown almost exclusively into a residential suburb of Milwaukee, some early settlers of the area took advantage of the areas greatest resources, the waters of Lake Michigan and the stone bluffs along the Milwaukee River.73 Quarrying and Masonry Products In 1873, Joseph R. Berthelet, Sr., a Milwaukee manufacturer of cement sewer pipe, discovered that limestone along the Milwaukee River was a valuable raw material for the manufacture of natural hydraulic cement. Deposits of this variety of limestone were not common. The closest quarries to Milwaukee at that time were in Utica, Illinois, and Louisville, Kentucky. With his knowledge of the cement-making process, he; his brother, Henry Barthelet; his neighbor, George H. Paul; a neighbor and pharmacist C. H. Orton; and John Johnston of Mitchell Bank established the Milwaukee Cement Company in 1875 after the testing of the discovered samples. The partners each commenced individually to acquire land on the east bank of the Milwaukee River between the Capitol Drive and Port Washington Road bridges, to be turned over to the company for stock. Working capitol was secured through the sale of additional shares. Construction of the first kilns began in the spring of 1876 south of the Estabrook Park lagoon. The first shipment of cement was ready that fall. The plants initial capacity was 100 barrels per day, but grew to 2,000 barrels per day as additional kilns were constructed and demand increased. The Chicago & North Western Railway built a spur to the mills. The company established exclusive selling agencies in Chicago, Detroit, Saginaw, Minneapolis, St. Paul, Duluth, Omaha, Kansas City, and St. Joseph, Missouri. Henry Campbell, another member of the company, developed an improved kiln increasing capacity by incorporating a series of grates in the bottom of the kiln. Campbell was granted a patent on this device in December of 1897, Patent No. 591,897. Soonafter, all of the companys kilns were remodeled to Campbells specifications.74 At the height of the companys success, the rotary kiln was invented introducing Portland cement which could be produced at a lower cost and from various types of materials, causing a great decline in the demand for natural cement. The Milwaukee Cement Company, like many others, declined in its output of natural cement. During this time, the company began distributing Portland cement and, in 1907, secured the Newaygo brand. This added volume made it possible to continue the production of natural cement at its facilities along the Milwaukee River at a small scale until it ceased production in 1911. In the following years, two mills were leased for a short period of time for the manufacture of silica products. However, after fires in 1910 and 1914, the mills were wrecked and salvaged for scrap iron and brick. The companys 350 acres on both 23

banks of the Milwaukee River were sold, the east bank being purchased by Milwaukee County in 1916 to develop Estabrook Park, the first in the countys park system.75 Sometime after the turn of the century, an area that was quarried became filled with water, has since been partially filled in, and is now known as the Estabrook Park lagoon.76 No resources relating to the Milwaukee Cement Company are known to remain in Whitefish Bay. Fishing Industry By 1862, commercial fishing began in what is now Whitefish Bay. In that year, John Luck from Green Bay began pound net fishing on the Whitefish Bay of Lake Michigan. Pound nets are traps for catching fish that consist of a system of stacked nets forming a fence that leads fish from a point offshore into a rectangular enclosure, or pound, from which escape is impossible. A majority of fish caught were the lakes whitefish, for which the bay and village have been named. Shortly after the opening of the Lake Pound net fishing on Lake Michigan Avenue Turnpike in 1872, Luck opened a small (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehring) restaurant and tavern, where he presumably fed guests with his catch. It was located near the north end of the toll road, at Silver Spring and Lake Drives. This was a forerunner to the resort and tourism industry that Whitefish Bay became well known for. 77 Brothers, William Henry and Captain Theodore Consaul started pound net fishing commercially in Whitefish Bay by 1864. They eventually sold their business to their brother-in-law, Lewis Scheife, who supplied 300 to 600 pounds of fish weekly to the Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort.78 For more information on the Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort, refer to Chapter 13 Recreation & Entertainment. William Henry Consauls residence and his father William Consauls house, inherited by Lewis Schiefe during the late 1800s, are the only known extant resources related to the pound net fishing industry of Whitefish Bay. The William Henry & Ruth Consaul House, located at 5654 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. The William Consaul House, located at 716 E. Silver Spring Drive, was not included in the survey as alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of its original architecture. Miscellaneous Small Industries Richard Seyfert operated a soda works factory on the 5600 Block between Lydell and Bay Ridge Avenues, behind his Queen Anne style residence on Silver Spring Drive. The companys main customer was the Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort. In 1897, Seyfert sold the company and house to Conrad Cassel. The soda factory continued operating until 1916, after which the factory building was demolished. The Richard Seyfert House, located at 130 & 134 W. Silver Spring Drive, was eventually subdivided into commercial spaces and was demolished recently.79

24

List of Surveyed Historic Resources Mentioned in the Text


Address 5654 N. Santa Monica Boulevard Historic Name William Henry & Ruth Consaul House Date < 1890 Class Surveyed

25

This page intentionally left blank.

26

6
Transportation
Great Lakes Navigation Since the first visit to the area by Father Jacques Marquette in 1674, Lake Michigan was used as the primary means of transportation across Wisconsin. 80 As Whitefish Bay became settled, commercial fishing boats were the most common vessel to sail in the Whitefish Bay of Lake Michigan. However, by the 1880s, several boats would taxi summer crowds from downtown Milwaukee to lakefront resorts in Whitefish Bay. In 1886 these boats included the following: the Chequamegon, the Cyclone, the Imperial, the 89foot-long Skater, the 109-foot-long Bloomer Girl, and The Steam Boat Chequamegon the 123-foot-long Eagle. From 1888 to 1891, multiple (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehring) vessels charged 25 cents for a trip from downtown Milwaukee to Whitefish Bay. In 1902, the Bloomer Girl was re-christened the Silver Spray and sailed between Lincoln and Jackson Parks in Chicago, where it hit a reef off of 55th Street and capsized in 1914. Also in 1902, the Naomi of the Crosby line and the Pabst Companys steamer City of Grand Rapids continued chartering to Whitefish Bay, with live music being played on the Crosby lines runs.81 Great Lakes navigation between downtown Milwaukee and Whitefish Bay died down as other means of transportation became more prevalent. No historic resources relating to commercial fishing or these charter steamers remain. Rail Lines Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western Railroad The first railroad to come to Whitefish Bay was the Milwaukee, Lake Shore, and Western in 1874. The road, built south from Manitowoc, had planned to use the tracks on the west bank of Milwaukee River owned by the Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad for its right of way into the City of Milwaukee. However, arrangements had not been made to utilize this route until tracks had been laid as far south as the Dillman family farm nearby in the present Village of Bayside. The Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Westerns offer to utilize these tracks was turned down as officials of the Milwaukee & St. Paul could not see a benefit in aiding a competitor. A new route from the northern edge of Whitefish Bay into Milwaukee was needed, and Chief Engineer Louis Soulerin suggested heading the tracks towards the lake front and continue down the bluff near Milwaukees North Point to its terminal on the lake front downtown was conceived. This route was presented to the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad, also looking for a route into Milwaukee 27

from its Fond du Lac line, and an agreement was made to join the tracks at Lakeshore Junction, just south of Capitol Drive in Shorewood and run the shared tracks towards the downtown depot from there. 82 The tracks laid to that point were extended south along the western side of what would become Milwaukee Country Day Schools campus, veering southeast towards the intersection of Silver Spring Drive and Hollywood Avenue, continue southeast along Marlborough Drive from Birch to Fairmount Avenues, and south into Shorewood along present day Ardmore Avenue.83 In 1887, Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western purchased land in Whitefish Bay along Fairmount Avenue. As rumors spread that the company was going to develop car shops and freight yards at this location, real estate firms platted nearby the first subdivisions north of North Avenue.84 Land was transferred from Burke and Mann to the railroad for a Whitefish Bay depot in March of 1888, providing the station be built within the year. A covered platform was constructed on each side of the track just north of Lexington Boulevard by 1890.85 These actions set off a short lived boom resulting in the platting of most of what was to become the Village of Whitefish Bay, incorporated within a few years thereafter. Officials of the railroad became financially involved in some of these subdivisions, and the company began to run special service to encourage prospective homeowners to buy lots. As the boom faded, this service was cut. However, as the local resorts grew in popularity, service by the Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western was soon restored to Whitefish Bay. Special excursion trains ran to Whitefish Bay from Chicago, St. Louis, Cleveland, and other cities. 86 As the village grew, crossings were built to make street connections across the tracks. In 1892, crossings were installed at Marlborough Drive and Colfax Place. Two years later, one was added at Lake View Avenue. In 1895, crossings at Birch Avenue and Sylvan Avenue were finally added after years of requests by the Village. 87 In 1893, Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western was purchased by Chicago & Northwestern, becoming part of its Lake Shore Division. Service was continued from downtown to Whitefish Bay with one engine and a single car; a station was located immediately southeast of the intersection of Silver Spring Drive and Hollywood Avenue.88 In 1895, the railroad ceased its suburban service to Whitefish Bay and gave up its idea of developing the Fairmount Avenue property as a rail yard, later deciding on completely abandoning its line between Lakeshore Junction and Fox Point. It wasnt until 1927 that Chicago & Northwestern agreed to sell their tracks and land along this 4-mile stretch to the Villages of Whitefish Bay and Shorewood. 89 That year work started on removing the rails and ended in 1929. In Whitefish Bay, these lands were platted as portions of the Right Of Way Subdivision and the Assessors Plats (A.P.) numbered 241, 244, 245, 246, 247, and 249. The village sold most of this land for private development and retained lots along Marlborough Drive to become a village civic center. Parcels were developed into Richards School (Right Of Way Subdivision); Water Tower Park, Milwaukee Jewish Federations Karl Community Campus, and the 6000 to 6100 blocks of Shoreland Avenue (A.P. 241); United Methodist Church, Whitefish Bay Public Library, Whitefish Bay Village Hall and Police Department, and Whitefish Bay Fire Department, and Divinity-Divine Charity Lutheran Church (A.P. 244); the Bay Village and Bay Colony Apartments and Condominiums and the former Whitefish Bay Incinerator (A.P. 245); Cahill Square Park and the 700 to 1000 blocks of Fairmount Avenue (A.P. 146); the former Whitefish Bay Armory at what is now Armory Park,

28

Whitefish Bay High School, the 4900 blocks of Marlborough Drive and Idlewild Avenue, Holy Family Catholic Church and School, and Bay Shore Evangelical Lutheran Church (A.P. 247); and Cumberland School and the 4600 block of Ardmore Avenue (A.P. 249).90 No historic resources relating to the Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western Railroad remain. Road Networks Sauk Trail The earliest road through the area was a trail of the Sauk Indians. It began at Wisconsin Avenue in downtown Milwaukee, ran through Whitefish Bay along Cumberland Boulevard and Lake Drive, and continued through Saukville and Sheboygan to Green Bay. 91 This, and similar trails of both Indians and early white settlers, were marked with bent trees. A branch 8 to 10 feet above the ground would be tied down with a vine or strip of rawhide to the ground in position parallel to the trail; as the fastening rotted away, the tree would branch would remain in its position marking the trail and continue to grow straight up from that point. In 1974, an elm tree in Schoolhouse Park, thought to have been a marker tree along that trail, was diagnosed as mortally wounded by parasitic elm beetles and felled. Another elm was planted in its place to memorialize the history of the trail.92 Other than Cumberland Boulevard and Lake Drive, no historic resources relating to the Sauk Trail remain. Lake Avenue Turnpike Charlie Andrews, proprietor of the Newhall House in Milwaukee, formed the Lake Avenue Turnpike Company in 1869 after obtaining a state charter to operate a toll road. At the cost of $50,000, a road was constructed along the lakefront connecting what at that time was the City of Milwaukees northern border of North Avenue at what today is Lafayette Place to Silver Spring Drive in Whitefish Bay. It opened in the fall of 1872 with one toll gate at the southern end with a 5 cent charge. As Milwaukee grew north, the southern end of the road was donated to the city, progressively moving the toll gate northward to Bradford Avenue, then into Shorewood to a point north of Edgewood Avenue, and finally to Capitol Drive. The toll road served as the first incentive for development along the North Shore. Small businesses like Lake Avenue Turnpike John Lucks saloon, now non-extant, soon opened at the end of (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehring) the line in Whitefish Bay, predecessor to the great road houses, resorts, and picnic grounds that would later open along the lake from Milwaukee to Whitefish Bay. The last remaining portion of the toll road was sold to Milwaukee County for $15,000 in the summer of 1913, making the entire length of Lake Drive a public thoroughfare as exists today. 93 At the time of its operation as a toll road, the roadway was two lanes divided by a grass median. It was known as the Whitefish Bay Road, Lake Shore Avenue, and Lake Avenue. 94 Other than Lake Drive, no historic resources relating to the Lake Avenue Turnpike remain.

29

Whitefish Bay Public Streets The first streets in the Village of Whitefish Bay were all dirt roads. Streets began to be graded and paved with gravel supplied by Lewis Schreiber and William Pagels during the early 1890s. Also at this time, sidewalks slowly began to be added, with the first being on a stretch of what was called Lake Avenue along the bluff from Silver Spring to the platform of the Milwaukee & Whitefish Bay Railroad near Henry Clay Street in 1892. The following year, Day Avenue from the bluff to Lake Drive was paved with cedar blocks by John Martin of Oshkosh at the cost of approximately $4,500. In 1893, Fred Isenring financed the grading and paving of Marlborough Drive near the old Fleetwood School. That same year, Sylvan Avenue had its width reduced. In 1894, sidewalks were installed along Henry Clay Street from the lake to Marlborough Drive and Marlborough Drive between Silver Spring Drive and Henry Clay Street. These sidewalks were typically constructed of six foot lengths of 2 wooden planks. By 1908, a portion of Lake Drive was abandoned between Henry Clay Street and Fairmount Avenue due to erosion of the bluff. However, this stretch was reconstructed in 1937 and renamed Palisades Drive. 95 Mass Transportation Milwaukee & Whitefish Bay Railroad The Milwaukee & Whitefish Bay Railroad was founded by Guido Pfister, William H. Bradley, J. V. Dupre, and Val Blatz in 1886. Construction began the following year, and operations began in 1888. Tracks began in the City of Milwaukee at North and Farwell Avenues, and ran along a private right of way along Downer Avenue, continued north through Shorewood, and terminated at Henry Clay Street in Whitefish Bay near the non-extant Pabsts Whitefish Bay Resort. Land purchased from the Best Brewing Company in Welcome Park was used for the non-extant depot and platform. The stops listed in an 1891 time table were named North Avenue, Glenn Avenue, Park Place, Burleigh Street, Clarence Place, Menlo Park, Shooting Park, Pleasant Valley, Mineral Spring Crossing, Dahlmann, Oakland Avenue, Bradleys Glendale, Lake Woods, Fairmount, and Whitefish Bay. 96 The non-extant Fairmount depot was located near the intersection of Hampton Road and Woodburn Street. This rail service, nicknamed the Dummy Line, operated with a 12-ton locomotive on light gauge track pulling one enclosed car in winter and two open-air cars in summer. The line was used largely by vacationers traveling from Milwaukee to the picnic grounds and resorts along the river and lakefront in Shorewood and Whitefish Bay. A 20 minute schedule was maintained in active summer months; limited service was provided in winter.

The Dummy Line, late 1800s (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehring)

30

In 1893, the Milwaukee & Whitefish Bay Railroad was authorized to extend its service along Henry Clay Street from its end at Lake Drive west to the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad at Marlborough Drive, then north to Silver Spring Drive. At present time it is unknown if this extension was ever operated. The Dummy Line ceased operations after 10 years of service in 1898, after the Milwaukee Electric Railway & Light Companys Oakland Avenue streetcar line was extended to Silver Spring Drive. 97 No historic resources related to the Dummy Line remain. The Milwaukee Electric Railway & Light Company In the fall of 1897 the Milwaukee Electric Railway & Light Company, a forerunner to the current Wisconsin Energy Corporation, was authorized to construct an extension of its Oakland Avenue streetcar line to Whitefish Bay. The line began operating the following year following its route on Oakland Avenue in Shorewood to Hampton Road; north on Bartlett Avenue, west on Fairmount Avenue; north on Woodburn Street; west along Henry Clay Street; and then parallel to the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad tracks, in the same path of todays Marlborough Drive; until Silver Spring Drive. It was eventually extended north upon Lake Drive to Day Avenue. 98 In 1904, an extension was made north along Lake Drive to School Road and on to River Road in Fox Point. A stop at School Road was used by a large number of faculty members and students of the Milwaukee Country Day School, who gave the line the nickname the Yellow Streak. For a short period of time in 1925, the streetcar was temporarily discontinued for a trail of bus service; however, residents responded by voting in favor of streetcar service over buses. In March of 1931, streetcar service north of Silver Spring Drive was discontinued, being substituted by bus service to Dean Road in Fox Point. 99 No historic resources related to The Milwaukee Electric Railway & Light Company streetcar remain. Milwaukee County Transit System Presently, the Village of Whitefish Bay is served by buses of the Milwaukee County Transit System. Route 10 terminates at Bayshore Mall, adjacent to Lydell Avenue in the City of Glendale, travels along Silver Spring Drive to Santa Monica Boulevard and continues on south to Shorewood, eventually reaching downtown Milwaukee. Route 15, also terminating at Bayshore Mall, serves Silver Spring Drive west to Marlborough Drive, south to Hampton Road, east to Oakland Avenue, continuing south on Oakland through Shorewood, and eventually reaching to downtown Milwaukee.100 List of Surveyed Historic Resources Mentioned in the Text
Address Historic Name 4801, 4803, 4805, 4807, 4809, 4811, Anita Building Corporation Apartments 4813, 4815, 4817, 4819, 4821, 4823, 4825, 4827, 4829 & 4831 N. Anita Ave. 4833, 4835, 4837, 4839, 4841, 4843, Barbara Building Corporation Apartments 4845, 4847, 4849, 4851, 4853, 4855, 4857, 4859, 4861 & 4863 N. Anita Ave. Date 1952 1952 Class Surveyed Surveyed

31

4864, 4866, 4868, 4870, 4872, 4874, 4876, 4878, 4880, 4882, 4884, 4886, 4888, 4890, 4892 & 4894 N. Anita Ave. 4865, 4867, 4869, 4871, 4873, 4875, 4877, 4879, 4881, 4883, 4885, 4887, 4889, 4891, 4893 & 4895 N. Anita Ave. 4901, 4903, 4905, 4907, 4909, 4911, 4913, 4915, 4917, 4919, 4921, 4923, 4925, 4927, 4929 & 4931 N. Anita Ave. 4612 N. Ardmore Avenue 4624 N. Ardmore Avenue 4636 N. Ardmore Avenue 4648 N. Ardmore Avenue 4654 N. Ardmore Avenue 4660 N. Ardmore Avenue 4672 N. Ardmore Avenue 100, 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, 126, 128 & 130 E. Chateau Place 115, 117, 119, 121, 123, 125, 127, 129, 131, 133, 135, 137, 139, 141, 143 & 145 E. Chateau Place 132, 134, 136, 138, 140, 142, 144, 146, 148, 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160 & 162 E. Chateau Place 164, 166, 168, 170, 172, 174, 176, 178, 200, 202, 204, 206, 208, 210, 212 & 214 E. Chateau Place 216, 218, 220, 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, 232, 234, 236, 238, 240, 242, 244 & 246 E. Chateau Place 100, 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, 126, 128 & 130 W. Chateau Place 101, 103, 105, 107, 109, 111, 113, 115, 117, 119, 121, 123, 125, 127, 129 & 131 W. Chateau Place 101, 103, 105, 107, 117, 119, 121, 123, 125, 127, 129 & 131 E. Fairmount Ave. 109, 111, 113 & 115 E. Fairmount Ave. 133, 135, 137 & 139 E. Fairmount Ave. 141, 143, 145, 147, 157, 159, 161, 163, 165, 167, 169 & 171 E. Fairmount Ave. 149, 151, 153 & 155 E. Fairmount Ave. 173 E. Fairmount Avenue 175 E. Fairmount Avenue 177 E. Fairmount Avenue 179 E. Fairmount Avenue 181 E. Fairmount Avenue 183 E. Fairmount Avenue 185 E. Fairmount Avenue 187 E. Fairmount Avenue 189 E. Fairmount Avenue 191 E. Fairmount Avenue

Terese Building Corporation Apartments Catherine Building Corporation Apartments Diana Building Corporation Apartments Alvin L. Minkin House Ervin & Helen Z. Grossmann House Irv & Ann Silberman House Dr. David J. & Sarah Zubatsky House Albert M. & Ann Deshur House Simon C. Weisfeldt House Alexander & Dorothy J. Gregory House Georgia Building Corporation Apartments Shirley Building Corporation Apartments Helena Building Corporation Apartments Ivy Building Corporation Apartments Joyce Building Corporation Apartments Frances Building Corporation Apartments Elizabeth Building Corporation Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments

1952 1952 1952 1951 1951 1952 1953 1951 1950 1951 1950 1950 1950 1950 1950 1950 1950 1948 1948 1948 1948 1948 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

32

193 E. Fairmount Avenue 195 E. Fairmount Avenue 197 E. Fairmount Avenue 199 E. Fairmount Avenue 201 E. Fairmount Avenue 203 E. Fairmount Avenue 701 E. Fairmount Avenue 1200 E. Fairmount Avenue 1200 E. Hampton Road 4913 N. Idlewild Avenue 4919 N. Idlewild Avenue 4937 N. Idlewild Avenue 4943 N. Idlewild Avenue 4949 N. Idlewild Avenue 4965 N. Idlewild Avenue 4971 N. Idlewild Avenue 4975 N. Idlewild Avenue 825 E. Lexington Boulevard 4780 N. Marlborough Drive 5300 N. Marlborough Drive 4833, 4835, 4837, 4839, 4841, 4843, 4845, 4847, 4849, 4851, 4853, 4855, 4857, 4859, 4861 & 4863 N. Santa Monica Blvd. 4865, 4867, 4869, 4871, 4873, 4875, 4877, 4879, 4881, 4883, 4885, 4887, 4889, 4891, 4893 & 4895 N. Santa Monica Blvd. 4901, 4903, 4905, 4907, 4909, 4911, 4913, 4915, 4917, 4919, 4921, 4923, 4925, 4927, 4929 & 4931 N. Santa Monica Blvd. 4951, 4953, 4955, 4957, 4959 & 4961 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5812 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6255 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6401 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4932, 4934, 4936, 4938, 4940, 4942, 4944, 4946, 4949, 4950, 4952, 4954, 4956, 4958, 4960 & 4962 N. Shoreland Ave. 4864, 4866, 4868, 4870, 4872, 4874, 4876, 4878, 4880, 4882, 4884, 4886, 4888, 4890, 4892 & 4894 N. Shoreland Ave. 4865, 4867, 4869, 4871, 4873, 4875, 4877, 4879, 4881, 4883, 4885, 4887, 4889, 4891, 4893 & 4895 N. Shoreland Ave. 4900, 4902, 4904, 4906, 4908, 4910, 4912, 4914, 4916, 4918, 4920, 4922, 4924, 4926, 4928 & 4930 N. Shoreland Ave. 4901, 4903, 4905, 4907, 4909, 4911, 4913, 4915, 4917, 4919, 4921, 4923, 4925, 4927, 4929 & 4931 N. Shoreland Ave. 6035 N. Shoreland Avenue 6039 N. Shoreland Avenue 6045 N. Shoreland Avenue 6054 N. Shoreland Avenue

Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments S. D. Surlow House Whitefish Bay High School Bay Shore Evangelical Lutheran Church Elmer O. & Lora Bischoff House E. J. & Esther Greiger House Ralph & Marietta Neumeier House Leo C. & Catherine Janicki House Otto & Margaret Winske House Warren & Annabel Lancaster House William Scullet House Whitefish Bay Fire Department Humboldt School Whitefish Bay Village Hall & Police Dept. Margo Building Corporation Apartments Lisa Building Corporation Apartments Karen Building Corporation Apartments Monica Building Corporation Apartments Richards School Milwaukee Country Day Junior School Milwaukee Country Day Senior School Nina Building Corporation Apartments Olympia Building Corporation Apartments Urania Building Corporation Apartments Patricia Building Corporation Apartments Rita Building Corporation Apartments Theodore E. & Alice Patricia Fajen House James R. & Dorothy Voss House John & Helen Henderson House Salvatore & Dolores Gucciardi House

1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1929 1948 1929 1931 1946 1949 1947 1948 1930 1930 1954 1927 1970 1951 1951 1951 1949 1928 1931 1916 1952 1952 1952 1952 1952 1949 1950 1950 1948

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

33

4815 N. Wildwood Ave., 4810 N. Marlborough Drive 4825 N. Wildwood Avenue 4849 N. Wildwood Avenue

Holy Family Catholic Church & Rectory Holy Family Convent Holy Family Parish School

1969 1960 1950

Eligible Eligible Eligible

34

7
Architecture
Introduction Architecture in Wisconsin has mirrored the trends and fashions that were evident in the rest of the United States. Whitefish Bays historic architecture stock is no different. Beginning with the Greek Revival style, most major architectural styles of the nineteenth and twentieth century are seen in Whitefish Bay. This chapter includes a brief description of the major architectural styles evident in Whitefish Bay followed by examples of buildings of that particular style. A discussion of the prevalent building materials in Whitefish Bay is also included with several examples of buildings constructed of those materials. Lastly, a brief history of many of the architects, engineers, and contractors who worked in the area is included along with listings of buildings associated with those persons or firms. Architectural Styles Greek Revival The Greek Revival style is derived from historic Greek temples. It was one of the first recognized styles seen in Wisconsin, dating from 1840 to 1870. Because these buildings date so early in Wisconsins history, they were often wood framed as it was the only readily available material of the time. Its main elements include a formal and symmetrical arrangement of columns, which may be of the Doric, Ionic, or Corinthian order, that support a triangular shaped, low sloped pediment roof. The arrangement of the M. E. & Marion Newald House, 1928 fenestration is also regular and symmetrical. In some 1071 E. Circle Drive (Photo by LJM Architects) instances, Greek Revival style buildings have tall first floor windows topped by a pediment-shaped window head while the second floor windows are hidden into an enlarged frieze. The front entry door may be topped with a transom and flanked by sidelights. In simpler designs, the columns are translated into fluted pilaster corner boards and the gabled roofline has returned eaves.101 Although the Greek Revival buildings in Whitefish Bay tend to date from the later Period Revival era, examples of Greek Revival style buildings in Whitefish Bay include the following:

35

Address 6326 N. Berkley Boulevard 1071 E. Circle Drive 1530 E. Hampton Road 5521 N. Marlborough Drive

Historic Name Walter & Esther Leypoldt House M. E. & Marion Newald House George & Aline Schutt House

Date 1949 1928 1949 1931

Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Gothic Revival The Gothic Revival style was popular in Wisconsin from 1850 to 1880. In its masonry form, it is a religious style and a residential style in its wood form. As opposed to the Greek Revival, this style is more picturesque in its form and massing. Characteristics of the style include steeply sloped roofs with wall dormers, sometimes with an ornate and shapely chimney projecting well above the roofline. Its gables may be trimmed in curvilinear gingerbread bargeboards. Fenestration is often large and pointed with tracery and colored glass and topped with a window hood. Masonry buildings of this style may have buttresses, battlements, and towers.102

Christ Episcopal Church, 1941 5655 N. Lake Drive (Photo by LJM Architects)

Similar to Greek Revival, examples of Gothic Revival style buildings in Whitefish Bay tend to date from the period Revival era and include the following:
Address 5655 N. Lake Drive Historic Name Christ Episcopal Church Date 1941 Class Eligible

Second Empire The Second Empire style was named after the French Second Empire reign of Napoleon III between 1852 and 1870. The Second Empire style was popular in Wisconsin from 1870 to 1880. A prominent characteristic of the style is a mansard roof, usually curbed around the top of the visible slope. Typically, buildings of this style are tall, either two or three stories; symmetrical in form; boldly modeled; and can be elaborately ornamented with details such as quoins, cornices, and belt courses. Windows are typically arched and pedimented; those on the first floor are usually very tall.103

Raymond & Teresa Jaekels House, 1929 5960 N. Lake Drive (Photo by LJM Architects)

Examples of the Second Empire style in Whitefish Bay include the following:
Address 5960 N. Lake Drive Historic Name Raymond & Teresa Jaekels House Date 1929 Class Eligible

36

Queen Anne The Queen Anne style was popular in Wisconsin from 1880 to 1910. This style is highlighted by its asymmetrical plan and massing and lavish surface decoration. Architectural elements that lend to the varied massing include towers, turrets, tall chimneys, large wrap-around porches, bays, and other projecting elements. Steeply sloped roofs with multiple gables and hips are evident in this style. Wall surfaces tend to be adorned with wood clapboards, scalloped fish scale shingles, stone, brick, as well as other ornamental details. The fenestration on these types of buildings is often irregular and may include a border of colored glazing in the upper sash of a double hung window.104

L. L. Disbro House, circa 1892 524 E. Day Avenue (Photo by LJM Architects)

Examples of Queen Anne style structures in Whitefish Bay include the following:
Address 808 E. Beaumont Avenue 516 E. Day Avenue 524 E. Day Avenue 624 E. Day Avenue 716 E. Day Avenue 723 E. Day Avenue 840 E. Glen Avenue 400 E. Hampton Road 5569 N. Lake Drive 5700 N. Santa Monica Boulevard Historic Name John C. & Marie Backman House Robert McAllister House L. L. Disbro House Alonzo Fowle House Herbert Kinne House Frank W. Baltes House William Fritzke House Ludwig & Rosa Leu House James & Anna McGee House Fred & Louise Consaul House Date 1928 1923 c. 1892 c. 1892 c. 1892 c. 1893 c. 1895 c. 1886 c. 1893 c. 1893 Class Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Prairie The Prairie Style is influenced by the architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright and other architects in the Chicago based Prairie School, such as Whitefish Bay resident Russell Barr Williamson. It was popular in Wisconsin from 1895 to 1925 and is still used today. It is primarily a residential style which features a certain horizontal quality. This is evident in the low sloped roofs with wide soffits, horizontal banding of casement windows, and horizontal trim of accent materials in the faade. These buildings may be clad in brick with stone trim or stucco with dark wood trim. They have a large, low chimney or hearth which seemingly anchors the building to the ground.105

Russell Barr & Nola Mae Williamson House, 1921 524 E. Day Avenue (Photo by LJM Architects)

37

Whitefish Bay has several fine examples of Prairie style architecture, including the following:
Address 998 E. Circle Drive 5464 N. Danbury Road 1017 & 1019 E. Lexington Boulevard 4860 N. Oakland Avenue 5664 N. Shore Drive Historic Name Robert B. & Ivy E. Asquith House Meade F. Moore Duplex Russell Barr & Nola Mae Williamson House Clare H. Hall House Date 1923 c. 1920 1925 1921 c. 1921 Class Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible Eligible

American Craftsman The American Craftsman style, descending from the English Arts and Crafts movement in the nineteenth century, was popular in Wisconsin from 1900 to 1920. Typically in Wisconsin, American Craftsman style houses are two and one-half stories in height and constructed of brick, stucco, or stone with contrasting wood bands. The style is distinguishable by its characteristic quality construction and simple exterior and interior detailing such as broad gable or hipped roofs, one or two large front dormers, decorative brackets or rafters, prominent chimneys, and simple sashes. Glazed sun porches or open wood pergolas are not uncommon in addition to the styles hallmark open porch and heavy piers.106

Joseph Patza House, circa 1910 707 E. Fleetwood Place (Photo by LJM Architects)

Examples of American Craftsman style buildings in Whitefish Bay include the following:
Address 707 E. Fleetwood Place 4943 N. Larkin Street Historic Name Joseph Patza House Date c. 1910 1923 Class Eligible Surveyed

Bungalow From 1910 to 1940, the Bungalow style was popular in this state. Houses are classified in this style because of their plan, not because of their aesthetics. These buildings can appear in several variants. It can be one story or two stories. The roofs can be gabled or hipped and may have decorative, exposed rafter ends. If the house is one story, the roof is generally low sloped. If the house is two stories, the roof often starts above the first floor and is more steeply pitched to allow for the second floor. Features of Bungalow Style buildings include dominant fireplaces and chimney, exposed and exaggerated structural elements, and porches supported by massive piers. The exterior design is adaptable to

Bernard Klatt House, circa 1918 5425 N. Lake Drive (Photo by LJM Architects)

38

many different stylistic interpretations and can be seen with Colonial, Craftsman, Tudor, Japanese, and Spanish influences. Buildings of this style are clad in natural materials such as wood clapboards, shingles, brick, stone, stucco, or a combination thereof in order to achieve the desired stylistic interpretation.107 Examples of Bungalow Style buildings in Whitefish Bay include the following:
Address 844 E. Birch Avenue 895 E. Birch Avenue 4915 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5561 N. Diversey Boulevard 5221 N. Hollywood Avenue 5425 N. Lake Drive 4629 N. Marlborough Drive 4817 N. Oakland Avenue 5352 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5400 N. Santa Monica Boulevard Historic Name Roy Papenthien House William Klatte House Frank & Anna Hopp House Peter F. & Christene Hansen House William A. & Meta Priegnitz House Bernard Klatt House Elmer & Cora Merkel House John & Gertrude H. Blatz House Charles L. & Florence R. Knab House Date c. 1921 c. 1918 1926 1926 1928 c. 1918 1925 1924 1928 1928 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Period Revival Period Revival Styles were popular in Wisconsin from 1900 to 1940. As their name suggests, period revival styles are reminiscent of earlier styles. Due to coinciding era of popularity and period of development, a wealth of Period Revival Style buildings can be found in Whitefish Bay as described following: Colonial Revival The most prolific style in Whitefish Bay is the Colonial Revival style, as it became especially popular due to the restoration of Williamsburg, Virginia. It is most numerously exhibited in residential structures, typically two stories in height and faced with wood clapboards. The style is also characterized by gable roofs, dormers, simple columns and pilasters, denticulated cornices, and shutters. Most commonly rectangular in plan, later examples may assume an L-shaped form to accommodate a breezeway and garage. Due to the 1500 E. Henry Clay Street, 1939 styles simplicity and regularity, it lent itself well to (Photo by LJM Architects) standardization. Builders used a colonial sensibility for many houses in the early decades of the twentieth century.108 There are hundreds of Colonial Revival style homes in Whitefish Bay, including the following examples:

39

Address 4961 N. Ardmore Avenue 1074 E. Circle Drive 639 E. Day Avenue 2321 E. Glendale Avenue 1500 E. Henry Clay Street 5611, 5623 & 5629 N. Lake Drive 908 E. Lexington Boulevard 721 E. Silver Spring Drive 4684 N. Wilshire Road 4742 N. Wilshire Road

Historic Name Henry H. & Esther S. Weber House Dr. Harry R. & Katherine Foerster House Benjamin A. Keikhofer House Elbert S. & Margaret Hartwick House Whitefish Bay Pharmacy Building Edward & Elinor Wenzel House First Church of Christ Scientist

Date 1931 1925 1922 1940 1939 1950 1931 1950 1930 1930

Class Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible

Georgian Revival Because of their reference to early American Georgian architecture, some forms of the Colonial Revival style are more properly referred to as Georgian Revival. These tend to be structures larger in scale and more richly finished than typical Colonial Revival buildings. Characteristic of the Georgian Revival style are formal symmetrical facades, rectangular plans, hipped roofs, and classical embellishments including denticulated cornices, elliptical fanlights, sidelights flanking doorways, Palladian windows, broken pediments, and classical columns. The Georgian Revival style, with a prominent steeple, also became a popular style for Protestant churches in the early twentieth century.109

Dr. Leon H. & Thelma Guerin House, 1936 5867 N. Shore Drive (Photo by LJM Architects)

Whitefish Bay has several examples of Georgian Revival Style which include the following:
Address 1629 E. Blackthorne Place 861 E. Glen Avenue 6305 N. Lake Drive 6081 N. Lydell Avenue 4533 N. Murray Avenue 5867 N. Shore Drive Historic Name Arthur A. & Gertrude Santley House Chester J. & Estelle Grobben House Ralph A. & Lora Lunz House John C. & Amy W. Davis House Dr. Leon H. & Thelma Guerin House Date 1937 1926 1938 1939 1928 1936 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible

Regency For their reference to ancient Greek or Roman architecture, some forms of the Colonial Revival style are more properly referred to as Regency style. Twentieth century revivals of the Regency style emulate English architecture from the first thirty years of the 19th century. Classical in nature, Regency style is based on the philosophies of ancient Greek and Roman architecture. Typical Regency style houses are The Concrete Demonstration House, 1940 covered on the exterior with stucco or painted plaster and
4800 N. Cumberland Bouelvard (Photo by LJM Architects)

40

may boast fluted columns, pediments, and moulded cornices. The syle relies on simple proportions and classical lines rather than decorative embellishments. Balconies of delicate ironwork are common. Windows are generally tall, thin, and often round headed, particularily those on the ground floor. During the Regency period, curved bow windows became popular.110 Examples of Regency Style buildings in Whitefish Bay include the following:
Address 4800 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5327 N. Diversey Boulevard 4742 N. Sheffield Avenue 5626 N. Shore Drive 4634 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name The Concrete Demonstration House / Dar & Jeanne Vriesman House Henry & Helen Turrie House Charles O. & Doris D. Caspar House Dr. Harry B. & Ann Sadoff House Date 1940 1935 1936 1939 1949 Class Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible Surveyed

Dutch Colonial Revival The Dutch Colonial Revival style is less formal than the Colonial or Georgian Revival styles. Examples of the style are most easily identified by a gambrel roof, occasionally ending with deep, flared eaves. Clapboards, shingles, brick, and stone are materials commonly used in combination on the exteriors. The symmetry of the style is often offset by a small wing on either of the gable ends. The style was especially popular for small-scale residences in early twentieth Walter A. & Lillith S. Wadsworth House, 1927 century suburbs like Whitefish Bay. 111 4930 N. Woodburn Street Examples of Dutch Colonial Revival style buildings in Whitefish Bay include the following:
Address 815 E. Birch Avenue 977 E. Circle Drive 1715 E. Cumberland Boulevard 5040 N. Cumberland Boulevard 801 & 803 E. Glen Avenue 5826 N. Maitland Court 5835 N. Maitland Court 4746 N. Newhall Street 4765 N. Newhall Street 4930 N. Woodburn Street (Photo by LJM Architects)

Historic Name Fred & Gudrum Mitchell House Charles B. & Meredith H. Bennett House Vern K. & Mary L. Bynton House Martin & Caroline Safranek Duplex Clarence & Elizabeth Gollusch House A. Wade & Gertrude Leavens House Valentine & Anna Koller House Freeman H. & Doris G. Guerin House Walter A. & Lillith S. Wadsworth House

Date 1926 1922 1926 1926 1926 1926 1927 1927 1927 1927

Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Tudor Revival The second most prolific style in Whitefish Bay is the Tudor Revival. Elements of this style, drawing primarily upon English precedents of the sixteenth century, include masonry houses with the styles hallmark half timbering, generally on the second floor or gable ends, infilled

41

with stucco or brick. Much rarer in the rest of Wisconsin, Whitefish Bay boasts several large and more formal Elizabethan Revival brick homes with stone accents and detailing. Another variant of the style in Whitefish Bay are smaller brick homes with an asymmetrical, steeply pitched, gabled entry. In either case, these homes are asymmetrical, but balanced in composition, irregular in plan, and have steeply sloped gable roofs and decorative casement windows.112 From 1928 to 1930, the John D. Edwards Company Edward F. & Erna M. Pritzlaff House, 1925 advertised themselves builders of Studi-O-Homes. 4725 N. Wilshire Road These were modest-sized and affordably priced Tudor (Photo by LJM Architects) Revival Style homes that utilized details typical of more elaborate and expensive homes. Their distinguishing feature was a prominent, gabled living room that extended perpendicularly from the front of the house. Two stories in height, it typically was accompanied by a second story library overlooking the living room. The company planned to construct fifty Studi-O-Homes in the Milwaukee area; it is unknown if this goal was ever reached. Seventeen of Edwards Studi-O-Homes have been identified in Whitefish Bay. 113 Examples of Tudor Revival Style buildings in Whitefish Bay include the following:
Address 1093 E. Circle Drive 4773 N. Cramer Street 5200 N. Lake Drive 5220 N. Lake Drive 5375 N. Lake Drive 1124 E. Lexington Boulevard 4706 N. Wilshire Road 4716 N. Wilshire Road 4724 N. Wilshire Road 4725 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name John J. McCoy House Edward J. & Mary Cunningham House Benjamin & Anna Rosenberg House H. C. Wuesthoff House John E. Saxe House Herman & Anna Laabs House Whitney J. & Anna M. Eastman House E. A. & Anita Weschler House Edward Franz & Erna M. Pritzlaff House Date 1924 1931 1927 1924 1929 1930 1928 1929 1929 1925 Class Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible

Collegiate Gothic The Collegiate Gothic style, a sub-category of the Neo-Gothic Revival style, is generalized as the emulation of English medieval university buildings. This style was popularly applied to college campuses, high schools, and elementary school buildings throughout the early twentieth century. Typically, elementary and secondary schools exhibit a central entrance, battlements, finials, and other period ornament. Other characteristic Collegiate Gothic details include masonry construction, Gothic and Tudor arches, crenellated parapets, numerous steep and pinnacled gables, and heavily mullioned windows. 114 Whitefish Bay has a few fine examples of Collegiate Gothic Style buildings which include the following:
Whitefish Bay High School, 1929 4725 N. Wilshire Road (Photo by LJM Architects)

42

Address 1200 E. Fairmount Avenue 4780 N. Marlborough Drive 5812 N. Santa Monica Boulevard

Historic Name Whitefish Bay High School Humboldt School Richards School

Date 1929 1927 1928

Class Surveyed Eligible Eligible

Mediterranean Revival: The Mediterranean Revival style is relatively rare in Wisconsin. Homes in this style are often architect designed and constructed of brick with stone trim. They may feature straight or arched openings, columns, stone balconies and porch railings, and low sloped, red clay tile, hipped roofs. The Mediterranean Revival style is often planned around a courtyard and exhibits flat wall surfaces, broken by arcading, terra cotta, plaster, or tile ornamentation, sometimes drawing on Judge Joseph A. & Lydia Padway House, 1931 classical motifs. This style is often used for both 5312 N. Lake Drive residential and commercial buildings. 115 (Photo by LJM Architects) There are an unusually high number of well-preserved Mediterranean Revival style residences in Whitefish Bay including the following:
Address 1820 E. Hampton Road 4837 N. Lake Drive 4965 N. Lake Drive 5073 N. Lake Drive 5240 N. Lake Drive 5312 N. Lake Drive 5260 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5674 N. Shore Drive 734 E. Sylvan Avenue 4707 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name Julius H. & Emilie Gugler House George & Margaret Schueller House Richard D. & Agetha R. Harvey House Leonard L. & Laura H. Bowyer House Carl Herzfeld House Judge Joseph A. & Lydia Padway House B. F. Fisher House Dr. Dexter H. & Margaret Witte House Adolph H. & Grace R. Weber House Melvin W. & Marion Andres House Date 1924 1926 1929 1931 1924 1931 1929 1928 1928 1927 Class Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible

Spanish Colonial Revival: The Spanish Colonial Revival style is even rarer than the Mediterranean Revival style in Wisconsin. Spanish Colonial Revival style buildings generally appear less restrained than Mediterranean Revival yet are also characterized by red tile roofs, heavy brackets, and flat wall surfaces, typically plastered, broken by arcading, terra cotta, plaster, or tile ornamentation. They also feature straight or arched openings, wrought iron balconies and porch railings, and low sloped, red clay tile hipped and gable roofs. The style can have a rustic Herbert & Mildred Pritzlaff House, 1926 demeanor and include mission-style elements such as 2033 E. Glendale Avenue (Photo by LJM Architects) wooden vigas, iron grillwork, and shaped gables.116 43

Whitefish Bay has several examples of Spanish Colonial Revival Style buildings which include the following:
Address 823 E. Birch Avenue 827 E. Birch Avenue 1621 E. Blackthorne Place 2033 E. Glendale Avenue 5570 N. Lake Drive 5635 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5681 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5754 & 5758 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 160 E. Silver Spring Drive 501, 505, 507, 509, 511 & 513 E. Silver Spring Drive Historic Name Date 1922 1922 1928 1926 1924 1928 1950 1926 1954 1929 Class Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible

William H. & Johanna Pfeiffer House Herbert & Mildred Pritzlaff House Casa del Lago / Ella S. Frank House St. Monica Parochial School Anna Zuerner Duplex St. Monica Catholic Church Gotfredson Building

Monterrey: The Monterrey style is a more modern, simplified, and informal sub-set of Spanish Colonial Revival. It is characterized by a rectangular or L-shaped plan, flat masonry or stucco wall surfaces, and commonly Spanish Colonial Revival style elements such as heavy brackets and low sloped hipped roofs. The hallmark element of the Monterrey style is a covered second story balcony that runs along either three quarters of or the entire length of the main faade, seemingly supported by heavy brackets and commonly seen with heavily ornamental wrought iron columns and railings.

Stanley & Ruth Coerper House, 1950 4605 N. Lake Drive (Photo by LJM Architects)

There are an unusually high number of Monterrey Style residences in Whitefish Bay including the following:
Address 4611 N. Ardmore Avenue 5440 N. Berkley Boulevard 2011 E. Cumberland Boulevard 2310 E. Glendale Avenue 4514 N. Lake Drive 4605 N. Lake Drive 5966 N. Lake Drive 5065 N. Palisades Road 5655 N. Shore Drive 4618 N. Wildwood Avenue Historic Name Warren E. Goldman House Sidney & Jessie Goldmann House William & Ella Thompson House Harold E. & Esther Constant House Stanley & Ruth Coerper House Arthur J. & Margaret Butzen House Bert S. & Gretchen Gittins House Ramon L. & Sara Hill Spears House Date 1939 1941 1939 1947 1946 1950 1940 1942 1939 1940 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible Surveyed

44

French Provincial: The style of medieval French country houses became popular during the twentieth century for American suburban houses. Originated during the reign of Louis XIV in France during the mid-1600s, the French Provincial style is easily identifiable by wide, symmetrical layouts and and steep, hipped roofs. Due to their commonly large size, homes of this style are often composed of a central hall and two identical wings. Common are shuttered windows, second story windows that interrupt the cornice and rise above the eaves, and rectangular front doors in arched openings that act as an anchor to a symmetrical faade.117

Dr. EdwardsH. & Katherine Mensing House, 1927 5827 N. Shore Drive (Photo by LJM Architects)

Examples of French Provincial Style buildings in Whitefish Bay include the following:
Address 1109 E. Circle Drive 4715 N. Cramer Street 1825 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1630 E. Hampton Road 4850 N. Lake Drive 706 E. Lexington Boulevard 1110 E. Lexington Boulevard 6156 N. Lydell Avenue 5827 N. Shore Drive 4864 N. Woodburn Street Historic Name Victor & Jennie Reckmeyer House J. H. & Belle Berke House Roy W. & Viola A. Johnson House William Thomas & Gertrude M. Sullivan House Anthony & Pearl Sottile House Dr. Edwards H. & Katherine Mensing House Raymond C. & Kathleen Shank House Date 1923 1936 1940 1941 1941 1939 1925 1951 1927 1927 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible

Art Moderne The Art Moderne style was popular in Wisconsin from 1930 to 1945. It had smooth wall finishes, and was streamlined. It featured rounded corners, horizontal banding, circular elements, and little to no surface decoration. What decoration did exist was focused at doorways and windows and consisted of metal or structural glass panels or trim. Aluminum and stainless steel were widely used materials in this style for doors, windows, railings, and balusters.118 Art Moderne styled buildings in Whitefish Bay include the following:
Address 302, 304, 308, 312, 314, 316, 318, 322, 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring Dr. Historic Name Fox Bay Building Fox Bay Building, 1948 302-338 E. Silver Spring Drive (Photo by LJM Architects) Date 1948 Class Eligible

45

International Style The International Style was first defined by HenryRussell Hitchcock and Phillip Johnson in their 1932 publication, The International Style: Architecture Since 1922. They noted three principles of the style. The first is an emphasis on volume or space enclosed by thin planes instead of a suggestion of mass and solidity. Second was regularity, an underlying orderliness seen clearly before the outside surfaces are applied. The third principle was the avoidance of applied, surface decoration, instead depending on the intrinsic qualities John R. & Fannie Moore House, 1940 4773 N. Oakland Avenue of the materials, technical perfection, and proportions (Photo by LJM Architects) for aesthetic richness. Thus, International Style buildings do not imitate or recall past styles. Windows tend to be grouped in vertical or horizontal bands. Small scale residential examples of the style are small, cube-like structures, typically covered with glazed tile, stucco, brick, concrete block, or composition panels. If present, detailing is often of an Art Moderne influence.119 Although rare, Whitefish Bay has several fine examples of International Style architecture which include the following:
Address 4945 N. Bartlett Avenue 4617 N. Idlewild Avenue 4773 N. Oakland Avenue 5226 N. Santa Monica Boulevard Historic Name Stanley E. & Katherine B. Wilson House Robert B. & Mary Louise Ebert House John R. & Fannie Moore House Eric F. & Gertrude Hartert House Date 1937 1940 1940 1936 Class Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible

Ranch The Ranch style, which originated in California during the 1930s, reflects design for a more informal lifestyle. It became popular throughout the Uniteds States after World War II for single family suburban residences. It was used extensively in large and affordable suburban tract developments of the mid- to late twentieth century; however, such an application can not be found in Whitefish Bay. As with other contemporary styles, Ranch can be eclectic and may incorporate elements Dr. N. W. & Persephone Stathas House, 1962 of other historic styles. Some Ranch style homes 4629 N. Lake Drive echo the low profile of the Bungalow style; the wide, (Photo by LJM Architects) overhanging hip roofs of the Prairie style; and the minimalism and wrapped corner windows of the International Style. Ranch homes are typically single story or bi-level, often rambling with hipped or gabled roofs. They are generally rectangular, L-, or U-shaped in plan with horizontal and asymmetrical faades. Attached garages, sliding glass doors, and large picture windows are common features.120

46

Examples of Ranch style buildings in Whitefish Bay include the following:


Address 5075 N. Hollywood Avenue 4629 N. Lake Drive 4647 N. Lake Drive 6270 N. Lydell Avenue Historic Name Stuart L. & Rae Glassman House Dr. N. W. & Persephone Stathas House Lawrence & Florence Katz House Byron Speich House Date 1963 1962 1957 1951 Class Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed

Contemporary The term Contemporary is used to describe mid- and late-twentieth century buildings that cannot be ascribed to styles detailed previously in this chapter. Architectural historians and architects have identified names for many contemporary theories of architecture; however, buildings of these genres are now first reaching sufficient age to be evaluated for significance per National Register criterion.121 Examples of Contemporary style buildings in Whitefish 401-415 E. Silver Spring Drive (Photo by LJM Architects) Bay include the following:
Address 700 E. Henry Clay Street 909 E. Henry Clay Street 135 E. Lake View Avenue 5205 N. Lydell Avenue 6009 N. Shore Drive 120 E. Silver Spring Drive 401, 403, 409 & 415 E. Silver Spring Dr. 430 E. Silver Spring Drive 4815 & 4825 N. Wildwood Ave.; 4810 N. Marlborough Drive 4655 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name Sherlore Company Apartments Dominican Convent Lydell School Howard & Mary Tobin House Dominican High School Berkley Building Sterling Savings & Loan Association Building Holy Family Catholic Church & Rectory Fred C. & Virginia Doepke House Date 1954 1958 1960 1955 1939 1956 1961 1962 1969 1940 Class Eligible Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible Eligible Berkley Building, 1961

Construction Materials and Methods Wood Because of its abundance in the area, wood was the primary material for construction in the early days of Whitefish Bay. Wood continued to be used for residential construction in the form of studs, rafters, clapboards, shingles, and shakes. Many of Whitefish Bays older historic buildings were originally sided with wood clapboard. Following is a list of extant wood framed and sided buildings that retain their historic integrity:
Address 4915 N. Cumberland Boulevard Historic Name Krank & Anna Hopp House Date 1926 Class Surveyed

47

524 E. Day Avenue 601 E. Day Avenue 624 E. Day Avenue 716 E. Day Avenue 707 E. Fleetwood Place 400 E. Hampton Road 5915 N. Lake Drive 5700 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4684 N. Wilshire Road

L. L. Disbro House Frank E. & Ruth G. Baker House Alonzo Fowle House Herbert Kinne House Joseph Patza House Ludwig & Rosa Leu Hosue Reinhold & Anna Knop House Fred & Louise Consaul House

c. 1892 1928 c. 1892 c. 1892 c. 1910 c. 1886 c. 1893 c. 1893 1930

Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible

Half-Timber To coincide with the many terrific examples of Tudor Revival style buildings, Whitefish Bay has an unusually high number of buildings with extant half-timber exteriors. Variants on this construction method include infill materials of brick or stucco. Examples of historic buildings in Whitefish Bay exhibiting half-timber include the following:
Address 607 E. Belle Avenue 1093 E. Circle Drive 4773 N. Cramer Street 5200 N. Lake Drive 5220 N. Lake Drive 5290 N. Lake Drive 5375 N. Lake Drive 1100 E. Lexington Boulevard 4614 N. Murray Avenue 4724 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name S. Lacy & Edna Crolius House John J. McCoy House Edward J. & Mary Cunninham House Benjamin & Anna Rosenburg House H. C. Wuesthoff House Benjamin F. & Edna D. Saltzstein House John E. Saxe House Date 1928 1924 1931 1927 1924 1928 1929 1929 1930 1929 Class Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible

E. A. & Anita Weschler House

Stone Stone was a popular construction material in Whitefish Bay due to its fire resistive properties and aesthetic qualities. It was used in churches, schools, and high end houses. A wide variety of masonry construction techniques and stone types were used throughout Whitefish Bay. During the period of the large majority of Whitefishs development, limestone was considered one of the best materials for foundations and was also used extensively for window sills and other decorative trim on masonry buildings. On many high-quality residences in Whitefish Bay, limestone was used to cover partially or the entire faade. Limestone was quarried locally in the Milwaukee area. Brown, red, or tan colored sandstone was also commonly used in Whitefish Bay, almost exclusively, for trim and other carved ornaments. Marble and granite can be found less commonly on Whitefish Bay building exteriors, due to their higher cost and general rarity. Stone applications in Whitefish Bay employ a variety of different masonry patterns, including uncoursed fieldstone, uncoursed ledgerock, uncoursed roughly square, coursed ashlar, random coursed ashlar, and one-height patterns. While there are a few examples of more refined, smooth cut stone facades, the overwhelming majority of stone buildings in Whitefish Bay have rusticated stone facades, with rectangular or square building stones having a rough or rock face.

48

Examples of historic stone buildings in Whitefish Bay include the following:


Address Historic Name 4715 N. Cramer Street Victor & Jennie Reckmeyer House 1200 E. Fairmount Avenue Whitefish Bay High School 4965 N. Lake Drive Richard D. & Agetha R. Harvey House 5220 N. Lake Drive H. C. Wuesthoff House 5570 N. Lake Drive Casa del Lago / Ella S. Frank House 5655 N. Lake Drive Christ Episcopal Church 4833, 4835, 4837, 4839, 4841, 4843, 4845, 4847, 4849, 4851, 4853, 4855, 4857, 4859, Margo Building Corporation Apartments 4861 & 4863 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 302, 304, 308, 312, 314, 316, 318, 322, Fox Bay Building 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring Dr. 4706 N. Wilshire Road Herman & Anna Laabs House 4724 N. Wilshire Road E. A. & Anita Weschler House Date 1936 1929 1929 1924 1924 1941 1951 1948 1928 1929 Class Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible

Slate Due to the quality of the construction of the houses located in some areas of Whitefish Bay neighborhoods, high quality building materials are evident. Slate is one such material, used especially on roofs of Tudor Revival style houses. A large number of slate roofs remain and are well maintained. Examples of slate in historic buildings in Whitefish Bay include the following:
Address 1093 E. Circle Drive 4850 N. Lake Drive 5200 N. Lake Drive 5320 N. Lake Drive 5370 N. Lake Drive 5960 N. Lake Drive 4937 N. Larkin Street 4706 N. Wilshire Road 4724 N. Wilshire Road 4725 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name John J. McCoy House Roy W. & Viola A. Johnson House Benjamin & Anna Rosenberg House Harry & Ada LeVine House Harry J. Grant House Raymond & Teresa Jaekels House Walter & Lydia Schmeling House Herman & Anna Laabs House E. A. & Anita Weschler House Edward Franz & Erna M. Pritzlaff House Date 1924 1941 1927 1930 1923 1929 1926 1928 1929 1925 Class Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible

Concrete An experimental building material during the time of Whitefish Bays fast growth, concrete was rarely used as an exterior finish material. However, several examples exist in Whitefish Bay. Examples of concrete historic buildings in Whitefish Bay include the following:
Address 4800 N. Cumberland Boulevard 700 E. Henry Clay Street 909 E. Henry Clay Street Historic Name The Concrete Demonstration House / Dar & Jeanne Vriesman House Sherlore Company Apartments Date 1940 1954 1958 Class Eligible Eligible Surveyed

49

4617 N. Idlewild Avenue 120 E. Silver Spring Drive 135 E. Lake View Avenue 401, 403, 409, 415 E. Silver Spring Drive 4815 N. Wildwood Avenue & 4810 N. Marlborough Drive 4849 N. Wildwood Avenue 4825 N. Wildwood Avenue

Robert B. & Mary Louise Ebert House Dominican High School Dominican Convent Berkley Building Holy Family Catholic Church & Rectory Holy Family Parish School Holy Family Convent

1940 1956 1960 1961 1969 1950 1960

Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible

Brick Brick was a very popular material in Whitefish Bay. Due to fear of fire, it became widely used in commercial buildings as a replacement for earlier wood framed buildings. Its use was also prevalent on churches, schools, and as a veneer on wood-framed houses. Typical bonding techniques found in Whitefish Bay include common bond, herringbone, and basket weave patterns and colors range from cream, tan, and red to brown. Examples of historic brick buildings in Whitefish Bay include the following:
Address 1200 E. Fairmount Avenue 5073 N. Lake Drive 4773 N. Newhall Street 5462 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5827 N. Shore Drive 120 E. Silver Spring Drive 160 E. Silver Spring Drive 501, 505, 507, 509, 511, 513 E. Silver Spring Drive 4815 N. Wildwood Avenue & 4810 N. Marlborough Drive 4707 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name Whitefish Bay High School Leonard L. & Laura H. Bowyer House Emma F. Wahra House Harold S. & Janet Knowlton House Dr. Edward H. & Katherine Mensing House Dominican High School St. Monica Catholic Church Gotfredson Building Holy Family Catholic Church & Rectory Melvin W. & Marion Andres Hosue Date 1929 1931 1929 1926 1927 1956 1954 1929 1969 1927 Class Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible

Stucco Stucco was used commonly as an alternative exterior finish to brick veneer, clapboard, or wood shingles on many vernacular, period revival, bungalow, and international style residences. It was commonly coupled with half-timber on Tudor Revival style buildings. Examples of historic stucco buildings in Whitefish Bay include the following:
Address 823 E. Birch Avenue 827 E. Birch Avenue 980 E. Circle Drive 5375 N. Lake Drive 5425 N. Lake Drive 5925 N. Lake Drive 4773 N. Oakland Avenue Historic Name Date 1922 1922 1937 1929 c. 1918 1924 1940 Class Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible

David W. & Elinor Bloodgood House John E. Saxe House Bernard Klatt House Alfred R. & Adele Knop House John R. & Fannie Moore House

50

5754, 5758 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 421, 423, 425, 427 E. Silver Spring Drive 4724 N. Wilshire Road

Anna Zuerner Duplex Hannah Meredic Building E. A. & Anita Weschler Hosue

1926 1926 1929

Eligible Surveyed Eligible

Clay Tile To coincide with the many terrific examples of Mediterranean and Spanish influenced buildings, Whitefish Bay has an unusually high number of buildings with clay tile roofing and wall accents. Examples of historic buildings in Whitefish Bay exhibiting clay tile include the following:
Address 1621 E. Blackthorne Place 1620 E. Cumberland Boulevard 2033 E. Glendale Avenue 4965 N. Lake Drive 5240 N. Lake Drive 5290 N. Lake Drive 5266 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5754, 5758 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 160 E. Silver Spring Drive 501, 505, 507, 509, 511 & 513 E. Silver Spring Drive Historic Name William H. & Johanna Pfeiffer House William & Ida Temkin House Herbert & Mildred Pritzlaff House Richard D. & Agetha R. Harvey House Carl Herzfeld House Benjamin F. & Edna D. Saltzstein House Alice Oldenburg House Anna Zuerner Duplex St. Monica Catholic Church Gotfredson Building Date 1928 1929 1926 1929 1924 1928 1931 1945 1954 1929 Class Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible

Copper Due to the quality of construction of the houses located in some Whitefish Bay neighborhoods, high end building materials were used. Copper is one such material, used especially as an accent, trim on roofing, and in gutters and downspouts. A large number of buildings with copper features remain. Examples of historic buildings in Whitefish Bay exhibiting copper include the following:
Address 4819 N. Ardmore Avenue 1830 E. Hampton Road 5067 N. Lake Drive 5375 N. Lake Drive 1124 E. Lexington Boulevard 4530 N. Murray Avenue 4614 N. Murray Avenue 217, 219 & 227 E. Silver Spring Drive 721 E. Silver Spring Drive 4706 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name Roundy Memorial Baptist Church George H. & Susanne H. Salentine House Charles J. & Anna Keller Duplex John E. Saxe House Harry W. & Helen M. Bogner House Bay Colony Building First Church of Christ Scientist Herman & Anna Laabs House Date 1950 1927 1926 1929 1930 1927 1930 1946 1950 1928 Class Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible

Aluminum While aluminum siding is typically considered as a replacement siding which has an adverse effect on a buildings architectural integrity, this was not the case in Whitefish Bay. After World 51

War II, aluminum became popular to both builders and homeowners as a low-maintenance alternative to wood siding. Aluminum rapidly became the standard siding material for new construction, especially on small, cost-efficient Ranch and simplified Colonial Revival style residences built in Whitefish Bay from the 1950s onward. Examples of historic buildings demonstrating the early use of aluminum siding in Whitefish Bay include the following:
Address 5075 N. Berkley Boulevard 824 E. Chateau Place 2227 E. Glendale Avenue 5243 N. Kent Avenue 5511 N. Kent Avenue 5700 N. Kent Avenue 5233 N. Shoreland Avenue 700 E. Sylvan Avenue 4923 N. Woodruff Avenue 4947 N. Woodruff Avenue Historic Name George E. & Anne Meiroff House Dr. Frederick E. & Joy Hecker House Dr. Edward Harvey & Sally J. Tashkin House Norman G. & Elizabeth Franz House Edward Reid House John H. & Ruth Wynhoff House Fenton & Betty McHugh House Robert & Carol White House Harry & Georgia Stewart-Moore House Joe A. Lynn House Date 1945 1940 1946 1940 1946 1946 1946 1940 1940 1941 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Architects and Designers Alexander Hamilton Bauer Alexander Hamilton Bauer established the Milwaukee firm of Dick & Bauer, with partner Gustav A. Dick, in 1921. Dick & Bauer designed several elaborate movie theaters in Milwaukee, includeing the Oriental Theatre. During his career, Bauer served as the president of the AIA Wisconsin Chapter. In 1929, he designed his private residence on Circle Drive in Whitefish Bay, where he lived until 1949.122 Buildings associated with Alexander Hamilton Bauer in this survey include the following:
Address 988 E. Circle Drive 4811 N. Lake Drive Historic Name Alexander Hamilton & Emma Bauer House James J. McClymount House Date 1929 1930 Class Eligible Surveyed

Harry Bogner Harry Bogner was an architect practicing in the Milwaukee area who was well versed in the Contemporary style. A large number of the buildings that he designed in Whitefish Bay are located in the proposed Lake Woods & Ortonwood Triangle Residential Historic District. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Harry Bogner except for the related buildings listed below:
Address 4655 N. Wilshire Road 4725 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name Fred C. & Virginia Doepke House Edward Franz & Erna M. Pritzlaff House Date 1940 1925 Class Eligible Eligible

52

1122 E. Sylvan Avenue

George Levin Jr. House

1949

Surveyed

E. Brielmaier & Sons Little is known at the present time about the career of E. Brielmaier & Sons except for the related buildings listed below:
Address 160 E. Silver Spring Drive Historic Name St. Monica Catholic Church Date 1954 Class Eligible

Ferdinand J. Brimeyer Ferdinand J. Brimeyer was born in Slayton, Minnesota, in 1900. After serving in WWI, Brimeyer graduated from the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis with degrees in architecture and engineering. Initially after college, Brimeyer worked for J. C. Llewellyn Company in Chicago before moving to Milwaukee in 1927 to work at the architecture firm Kirchhoft & Rose. In 1938, he established Brimeyer, Grellinger & Rose with Alvin Grellinger and former employer, Francis Rose. The firm engaged primarily in the design of industrial and educational buildings, including work for the Joseph Schlitz Brewing Company, the main and medical libraries at Marquette University, and the bacteriology and hygiene laboratory buildings at the University of Wisconsin in Madison.123 Buildings associated with Ferdinand J. Brimeyer in this survey include the following:
Address 217, 219 & 227 E. Silver Spring Drive 5656 N. Shore Drive Historic Name Bay Colony Building Horace V. & Mercedes Ballam House Date 1946 1950 Class Eligible Surveyed

Jesse Claude Caraway Jesse Claude Caraway graduated with a Bachelors degree in Architecture from the University of Texas at Austin before becoming an apprentice of Frank Lloyd Wrights at Taliesen in Spring Green, Wisconsin.124 He met his wife, Frances Marie, at Taliesen where she grew up as the daughter of another fellow, Herbert Fritz.125 Through his seven-year Taliesen fellowship, Caraway helped construct Taliesen West in Scottsdale, Arizona, and was heavily influenced by Wrights architectural ideologies including low building profiles, natural local materials, unique geometries, and spatial layouts. Willis E. Gifford, a successful contractor who worked with Wright on multiple projects, commissioned Wright to design a new home in Whitefish Bay for his retirement in 1949. Wright delegated the project to Caraway, however, but made several visits to the building site to check on progress and make suggestions.126 Following his time with Wright, Caraway worked as an architect for the University of Illinois in Chicago. Upon retirement, he returned to Wisconsin, living there until his death in 1994.127 Buildings associated with Jesse Claude Caraway in this survey include the following:
Address 5961 N. Shore Drive Historic Name Willis E. & Hazel R. Gifford House Date 1950 Class Surveyed

53

Clas, Shepherd & Clas Alfred Charles Clas, the son of German immigrants, was born in Sauk City, Wisconsin, in 1859. After graduating from high school in 1875, Clas apprenticed under a Milwaukee architect and received instruction in the building trade. In 1879, Clas went to California and worked at Percey & Hamilton in San Francisco. From 1880 to 1882, Clas established a private practice in Stockton, California. He moved back to Milwaukee in 1883 to work for James O. Douglas and in 1890 began a partnership with George B. Ferry. The firm was known as Ferry & Clas Architects. In addition to the award winning designs of the Milwaukee Public Library, Milwaukee Tripoli Temple, and Wisconsin State Historical Library in Madison, the firm also designed a number of residences including the Frederick Pabst House. The firm was dissolved in 1912; at which time Alfred formed the firm Clas & Clas with his son Angelo Robert. By 1921, Angelo left to pursue a career in Chicago, and eventually Washington D.C. 128 Another son, Rubens Frederick Clas who was born in 1891, studied engineering at the University of Wisconsin in Madison from 1910 to 1912 before working for his father, In 1917, Rubens moved to Chicago where he worked for Lockwood, Greene & Company and Frank D. Chase. In 1921, Rubens returned to Milwaukee to form Clas, Shepherd & Clas with his father and John S. Shepherd. It was during this time that they designed several houses in Whitfish Bay. In 1931, Shepherd withdrew, and the firm was reorganized under the name Clas & Clas again. 129 Alfred retired to Fort Lauderdale, Florida, in 1939, returning to Wisconsin shortly before his death in 1942. Alfred Charles Class career would lead to extensive involvement with the local and state parks systems, City and County of Milwaukee planning commissions, commissions for the construction of the Wisconsin State Capitol and the Milwaukee County Courthouse, and chartering of the Wisconsin chapter of the American Institute of Architects. 130 Sometime after his fathers retirement, Rubens partnered with Arthur O. Reddemann to form Clas Reddemann Inc. The Forrest W. & Henrietta Trumpf House at 5505 N. Berkley Boulevard is attributed specifically to Rubens Frederick Clas during this time.131 The firm was active until 1952, at which time Rubens continued practicing architecture independently. The firm of Clas, Shepherd & Clas was well versed in the Tudor Revival style and a large number of the buildings the firm designed in Whitefish Bay are located in the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District. Buildings associated with Clas, Shepherd & Clas in this survey include the following:
Address 726 E. Beaumont Avenue 5505 N. Berkley Boulevard 953 E. Circle Drive 1052 E. Circle Drive 1056 E. Circle Drive 4707 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name Forrest W. & Henrietta Trumpf House Dr. Frederick J. & Juliarose Oswald House Date 1926 1950 1923 1923 1924 1927 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible

Melvin W. & Marion Andrews House

54

Ray C. Dieterich Ray C. Dieterich, born in 1893, studied architecture and engineering through the International Correspondence School. Dieterich apprenticed with multiple architecture firms, including Howard Russel from 1909 to 1913, Brust & Philip from 1913 to 1917, Schushardt & Judell from 1917 to 1919, and Armand Kotch from 1919 to 1921. Dieterich became a registered architect in Wisconsin in 1930. 132 As a designer, he was well versed in the Tudor Revival and Contemporary styles. A large number of the buildings that he designed in Whitefish Bay are located in the proposed Cumberland Forest & Palo Alto Residential Historic District. Buildings associated with Ray C. Dieterich in this survey include the following:
Address 4624 N. Ardmore Avenue 4636 N. Ardmore Avenue 4648 N. Ardmore Avenue 4730 N. Bartlett Avenue 1570 E. Blackthorne Place 1425 E. Courtland Place 4765 N. Cramer Street 1585 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1628 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1629 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1715 E. Cumberland Boulevard 4781 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4787 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4731 N. Lake Drive 4774 N Woodburn Street Historic Name Ervin & Helen Z. Grossmann House Irv & Ann Silberman House Dr. David J. & Sarah Zubatsky House Dr. H. C. & Margarette Reynolds House George J. & Irene Hoefs House Joe & Edith Gould House Dr. Leo M. & Gertrude Boxer House Joseph A. & Ella M. Weber House Clarence J. & Frances Grootemaat House Fred A. & Christine B. Harrison House Charles B. & Meredith H. Bennett House Thomas J. & Elizabeth M. Boehm House Walter G. Truettner House Dr. Sidney & Rae Boxer House Date 1951 1952 1953 1926 1927 1952 1952 1926 1929 1926 1926 1928 1928 1952 1930 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Raymond W. Dwyer Raymond W. Dwyer began his career as a draftsman for both Charles Tharinger and the firm Judell & Bogner before opening his own office around 1920. By 1932, Dwyer was advertising himself as a designer and builder under the name R. W. Dwyer, Inc., with relatives Lester Dwyer and John Dwyer. By 1950, Dwyer advertised himself solely as an architect. 133 As a designer, he was well versed in the Colonial and Tudor Revival styles. A large number of the buildings that he designed in Whitefish Bay are located in the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District. Buildings associated with Raymond W. Dwyer in this survey include the following:
Address 1621 E. Blackthorne Place 632 E. Carlisle Avenue 1038 E. Circle Drive 1044 E. Circle Drive 1064 E. Circle Drive 1074 E. Circle Drive Historic Name William H. & Johanna Pfeiffer House Archie H. Macdonald House Roger & Helen Clark House O. S. & Laura Baier House Reginald & Frances M. Kenny House Dr. Harry R. & Katherine Foerster House Date 1928 1924 1929 1926 1925 1925 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible

55

1081 E. Circle Drive 4633 N. Cramer Street 1562 E. Cumberland Boulevard 5101 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4531 N. Frederick Avenue 816 E. Glen Avenue 845 E. Glen Avenue 1811 E. Glendale Avenue 1500 E. Henry Clay Street 6049 N. Kent Avenue 4614 N. Lake Drive 4687 N. Lake Drive 4945 N. Lake Drive 4951 N. Lake Drive 5223 N. Lake Drive 5325 N. Lake Drive 5966 N. Lake Drive 6000 N. Lake Drive 6043 N. Lake Drive 857 E. Lake Forest Avenue 868 E. Lake Forest Avenue 4950 N. Larkin Street 1101 E. Lexington Boulevard 1113 E. Lexington Boulevard 1121 E. Lexington Boulevard 5851 N. Maitland Court 4524 N. Murray Avenue 4753 N. Newhall Street 4765 N. Newhall Street 4780 N. Oakland Avenue 5065 N. Palisades Road 5640 N. Shore Drive 5960 N. Shore Drive 4600 N. Wilshire Road

William H. Fromm House George & Margaret Landis House Elmer H. & Ruby B. Grootemaat House Paul G. & Marie L. Boemer House

Russell & Marie H. Thierbach House Walter A. Getzel & Leone Blattner House Andrew J. Hoetzl House Muriel Treis House Ernest J. Kaestner House Dr. Francis & Willabelle McMahon House Emil H. & Rose Koepke House Arthur J. & Margaret Butzen House Frederick E. & Anita Brenk House Frederick E. & Anita Brenk House Daniel Keating House L. Gerber House Guy R. & Della C. Radley House K. & Minette Dickens House Elmer M. & Delia B. Ross House Peter J. & Elizabeth Porth House Ralph H. & Myfanwy J. Cahill House Dr. Clayton F. & Freda M. Wemuth House Franklin B. & Emma B. Raab House Freeman H. & Doris G. Guerin House George & Margaret Schueler House Bert S. & Gretchen Gittins House George J. Jr. & Lucille M. Meyer House J. A. & Gertrude A. Keogh House

c. 1920 1925 1927 1930 1930 1930 1923 1946 1939 1928 1945 1936 1932 1929 1927 1926 1940 1937 1931 1935 1930 1936 1926 1925 1925 1927 1927 1926 1927 1945 1942 1939 1934 1937

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed

Ebling & Plunkett Herbert L. Ebling was born in Milwaukee in 1892. He apprenticed with the architecture firm Buemming & Guth from 1913 to 1914, studied fine arts at the Milwaukee State Teachers College between 1915 and 1917, and worked as a draftsman and field inspector for Eschweiler & Eschweiler between 1920 and 1930, and was a supervisor of construction with H. Smith & Son from 1930 to 1932 when he became a registered architect. 134 5251 N. Idlewild Avenue is attributed to Herbert L. Ebling. Henry P. Plunkett was born in Milwaukee in 1900. After studying at the University of Wisconsin from 1921 to 1923, he went to work as a draftsman at Eschweiler & Eschweiler in 1925, where it is assumed he met Ebling. In 1933, Plunkett and Ebling formed a partnership under the name of Ebling & Plunkett. 135

56

Buildings associated with Ebling & Plunkett in this survey include the following:
Address 5360 N. Hollywood Avenue 5251 N. Idlewild Avenue 302, 304, 308, 312, 314, 316, 318, 322, 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring Dr. Historic Name Almer & Leila T. Skretting House Leland & Sylvia Thorpe House Fox Bay Building Date 1937 1925 1948 Class Surveyed Surveyed Eligible

Eschweiler & Eschweiler Alexander Chadbourne Eschweiler, Sr., was born in 1865 in Boston, Massachusetts, where his parents emigrated to from Germany in 1852. The family later settled in Houghton, Michigan, and then to Milwaukee in 1882. He attended Marquette University for one year and graduated from Cornell University, where he studied architecture, in 1890. Before completing his degree, he was employed by James Douglas, Ferry & Clas, and Edward Townsend Mix. After graduation, Alexander worked for two years in the office of Henry C. Koch before establishing his own practice in 1892. The firm became known as Eschweiler & Eschweiler in 1923 after his three sons joined him in practice. Alexander designed several prominent buildings in Milwaukee, including Merrill, Holton, and Johnston Halls at the current University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic Church, and the Milwaukee Gas Light Company building. 136 Alexander Chadbourne Eschweiler, Jr., was born in Milwaukee in 1893. Alexander Jr. attended Marquette University for three years, before spending three years at and graduating from Cornell University with a Bachelors Degree in architecture in 1915, returning home to Milwaukee during summers to work in his fathers office as a draftsman. After graduation, Alexander Jr. worked for Whitney Company Builders in New York. He became a registered architect in Wisconsin in 1920, and with his brothers, joined his father in practice three years later under the name Eschweiler & Eschweiler. During World War II, Alexander Jr. served in the U.S. Engineering Corps. 137 Theodore L. Eschweiler was born in 1895 in Milwaukee. Like his father and brothers, he attended Marquette University and studied architecture at Cornell University, graduating in 1921. In 1923, Theodore, with his brothers, joined his father in practice. Theodore became a registered architect in Wisconsin in 1926. During World War II, Theodore served as a 2nd Lieutenant in the U.S. Engineering Corps. 138 Carl F. Eschweiler, in the family tradition, also attended Marquette University for a brief period before studying architecture at Cornell University, graduating in 1920. For six months, Carl worked in the architecture department at the U.S. Navy Great Lakes Training Camp and then three months in the New York City office of Bertram G. Gooduehn before joining his father and brothers at Eschweiler & Eschweiler in 1923. Carl became a Wisconsin registered architect in 1926. 139 The firm of Eschweiler & Eschweiler was active until 1972. 140 Buildings associated with Eschweiler & Eschweiler in this survey include the following:

57

Address 5427 N. Berkley Boulevard 6070 N. Berkley Boulevard 943 E. Circle Drive 708 E. Beaumont Avenue 5348 N. Shoreland Avenue

Historic Name Herbert M. & Thora Schroeder House Edward J. & Marion B. Brumder House Mildred K. Gates House Louis & Manila Best House Norbert W. & Lenore Hirschboeck House

Date 1937 1937 c. 1922 1925 1934

Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Verner H. Esser Verner H. Esser was born in 1890, the son of noted local architect Herman J. Esser. In 1916, he graduated from Cornell University. In 1917, Esser worked briefly for Sholes in New York, before being employed by the Submarine Boat Co. in New Jersey for two years, where he was registered as an architect in 1918. Between 1919 and 1920, Esser worked for five other New York firms. By the end of 1920, he returned to Milwaukee to work in the office of his father. 141 Buildings associated with Verner H. Esser in this survey include the following:
Address 4611 N. Ardmore Avenue 5254 N. Berkley Boulevard 987 E. Circle Drive 1569 E. Cumberland Boulevard 5075 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5409 N. Diversey Boulevard 5038 N. Woodburn Street Historic Name Warren E. Goldman House Sidney G. Larkin House Walter & Clara Schranck House Paul J. & Madeline D. Schwietering House Ray H. & Henrietta Fantl House Edward & Irma Losse House Dr. Matthew Presion House Date 1939 1941 1927 1938 1931 1928 1946 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

David L. Evans David L. Evans advertised himaself as a designer and builder in the 1948 Whitefish Bay Village Directory. 142 Many of his buildings in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial Revival style. Little else is known at the present time about the career of David L. Evans except for the following buildings which can be attributed to him:
Address 4855 N. Ardmore Avenue 6237 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5925 N. Berkley Boulevard 5937 N. Berkley Boulevard 6361 N. Berkley Boulevard 6364 N. Berkley Boulevard 6367 N. Berkley Boulevard 4941 N. Elkhart Avenue 5254 N. Hollywood Avenue 5561 N. Hollywood Avenue 5740 N. Kent Avenue 6139 N. Lake Drive 6151 N. Lake Drive 703 E. Lake View Avenue Historic Name Walter & Margaret Eckers House R. L. & Jane E. Paddock House William J. & Marion Janssen House David L. & Herta I. Evans House Dr. Wilson & Amy Weisel House David L. & Herta I. Evans House Dr. F. G. & Jeanne Gaenslen House Ray & Harriet Heyse House Eugene W. & Betty Hart House Walter & Gladys Weidler House Robert A. & Dorothy S. Hamilton House William E. & Jean Frankel House Louis & Celia Putterman House Robert H. & Jane R. O'Keef House Date 1947 1947 1947 1945 1946 1938 1946 1946 1946 1947 1946 1948 1947 1946 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

58

6075 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6101 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 301 E. School Road

Charles & Loretta Lurie House Russel L. & Marilyn Smith House Norman O. & Louise W. Sorensen House

1947 1947 1947

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Ernest Flagg Ernest Flagg, born in 1857, was educated at the cole des Beaux Arts in Paris. Practicing from New York, he is best known for designing the Singer Tower in New York. However, as cost of construction soared during the 1920s, Flagg developed a system by which to construct small residences affordable for the average American. Flaggs ideas were admired by Milwaukee buider, Arnold F. Meyer, who visited Flagg in New York and returned to construct houses with this system in Milwaukee. 25 are known to exist in Milwaukee County, 12 of which were constructed in Whitefish Bay.143 Characteristic of Flagg houses are dormers, to help avoid excessive appearance of height yet allow high amounts of daylight to the interior, as well as mosaic rubble exterior walls, with stones placed dry into forms with mortar squeezed into the joints after construction like a mosaic.144 The Whitefish Bay Flagg houses are mostly located within the proposed Lake Woods & Ortonwood Triangle Residential Historic District and the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District; all twelve are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Buildings associated with Ernest Flagg in this survey include the following:
Address 739 E. Beaumont Avenue 984 E. Circle Drive 4524 N. Cramer Street 4540 N. Cramer Street 4600 N. Cramer Street 5461 N. Danbury Road 1916 E. Glendale Avenue 829 E. Lake Forest Avenue 912 E. Lexington Boulevard 1016 E. Lexington Boulevard 1028 E. Lexington Boulevard 4601 N. Murray Avenue Historic Name Horace W. & Marion Hatch House Paul S. & Margaret E. Grant House Rufus E. & Lois Arndt House Harrison C. & Leah S. Hardie House George L. & Carol R. Anderson House Allen H. Barfield Duplex William & Meta Van Altena House John F. & Louise McEwen House Frank J. & Elvira Williams House Frederick Sperling House Halbert D. Jenkins House B. G. Van Devan House Date 1925 1925 1925 1925 1925 1924 1925 1925 1925 1924 1924 1924 Class Listed Listed Listed Listed Listed Listed Listed Listed Listed Listed Listed Listed

Armin C. Frank Armin C. Frank was a architect who resided in Whitefish Bay. In 1924, he designed a house for himself on Lake Drive and another less than a block away for his mother, Ella S. Frank. 145 Little else is known at the present time about the career of Armin C. Frank except for the related buildings listed below:
Address 5486 N. Lake Drive 5570 N. Lake Drive 4724 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name Armin C. Frank House Casa del Lago / Ella S. Frank House E. A & Anita Weschler House Date 1924 1924 1929 Class Surveyed Eligible Eligible

59

Hugo C. Haueser Little is known at the present time about the career of Hugo C. Haueser except for the related buildings listed below:
Address 4767 N. Lake Drive 721 E. Silver Spring Drive Historic Name Benjamin & Aimee Poss House First Church of Christ Scientist Date 1923 1950 Class Surveyed Eligible

Wesley L. Hess Wesley L. Hess was born in 1882 and studied architecture through the International Correspondence School. He became a registered architect in Wisconsin in 1921 and formed professional partnership with George A. Kemnitz. Hess & Kemnitz was active in Whitefish Bay through the 1930s. By 1929, the firm worked closely with the John D. Edwards Construction Company. Later, Hess helped establish the firm Riesch & Hess.146 As a designer, he was well versed in the Tudor Revival style. A large number of the buildings that he designed in Whitefish Bay are located in the proposed Lake Crest Residential Historic District. Buildings associated with Wesley L. Hess in this survey include the following:
Address 4765 N. Bartlett Drive 608 E. Carlisle Avenue 1614 E. Cumberland Boulevard 5220 N. Diversey Boulevard 5221 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5453 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5462 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5335 N. Shoreland Avenue 5701 N. Shoreland Avenue Historic Name Joseph B. & Rose Bachman House S. H. & Phyllis Rhue House Ray P. & Irene L. Hiller House Alfred A. & Lydia Schmitt House Werner J. & Beulah Trimborn House Halsey & Anna Rapp House Harold S. & Janet Knowlton House Stanley W. & Alice I. Grosskopf House Lewis P. & Bernadette Kiehm House Date 1937 1926 1927 1928 1928 1926 1926 1938 1928 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Hugo Irgemann Little is known at the present time about the career of Hugo Irgemann except for the related buildings listed below which can be attributed to him:
Address 5674 N. Shore Drive 1020 E. Sylvan Avenue Historic Name Dr. Dexter H. & Margaret Witte House George A. & Elsa Logemann House Date 1928 1926 Class Eligible Surveyed

Charles F. Keller Charles F. Keller formed an architecture firm with his son Clarence under the name Charles F. Keller & Son. The firm was active in Milwaukee during the 1920s and 1930s. 147 Little else is known at the present time about the career of Charles Keller except for the building listed below which is attributed to him: 60

Address 5073 N. Lake Drive

Historic Name Leonard L. & Laura H. Bowyer House

Date 1931

Class Eligible

Clarence R. Knuth Clarence R. Knuth was born in 1903. He was educated at the School of Engineering in Milwaukee and became a registered architect in Wisconsin in 1934. 148 Little else is known at the present time about the career of Clarence R. Knuth except for the related buildings listed below:
Address 515 E. Carlisle Avenue 5535 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6338 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5282 N. Shoreland Avenue 4639 N. Woodburn Street Historic Name Date 1939 1939 1936 1936 1937 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

John A. Yanggen House John A. & Pauline Pawlowski House Tom & Margaret Sendik House

Roland C. Kurtz One of the most prolific residential designers in Whitefish Bay, Roland C. Kurtz was an architect that had a business partnership with builder Forrest W. Trumpf. Kurtz & Trumpf advertised their partnership in the 1944-1948 Whitefish Bay Village Directories. 149 As a designer, he was well versed in the Colonial Revival style. A large number of the buildings that he designed in Whitefish Bay are located in the proposed Lake Crest Residential Historic District. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Roland C. Kurtz except for the related buildings listed below:
Address 4842 N. Ardmore Avenue 4938 N. Ardmore Avenue 4950 N. Ardmore Avenue 4961 N. Ardmore Avenue 5118 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6017 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6060 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6142 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6220 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 4834 N. Berkley Boulevard 4840 N. Berkley Boulevard 5227 N. Berkley Boulevard 5332 N. Berkley Boulevard 5454 N. Berkley Boulevard 6019 N. Berkley Boulevard 6150 N. Berkley Boulevard 6161 N. Berkley Boulevard 6326 N. Berkley Boulevard 6336 N. Berkley Boulevard Historic Name George B. & Mary Wightman House William H. & Florence Ross House Read E. & Thelma Widrig House Henry H. & Esther S. Weber House Douglas & Marcie Cooper House Edward A. & Shirley Miller House J. V. & Mabel Kramer House Thomas B. & Marcella B. Hurd House Edwin C. & Doris Hunkel House Don & Doris Loeffler House Col. F. & Wilma Cox House Sam Patti House M. H. Mortonson House Victor E. & Mary Henningsen House Verner & Margaret Carlson House Dr. Samuel E. & Rita J. Kohn House Walter & Esther Leypoldt House Dr. S. F. & Kathleen Morgan House Date 1940 1931 1931 1931 1944 1937 1941 1941 1937 1946 1946 1939 1941 1939 1938 1941 1940 1949 1940 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

61

900 E. Courtland Place 4743 N. Cramer Street 4875 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4965 N. Cumberland Boulevard 616 E. Day Avenue 4875 N. Diversey Boulevard 5311 N. Diversey Boulevard 5400 N. Diversey Boulevard 2211 E. Glendale Avenue 5359 N. Hollywood Avenue 5429 N. Hollywood Avenue 5549 N. Hollywood Avenue 5263 N. Idlewild Avenue 5427 N. Idlewild Avenue 5012 N. Kent Avenue 5767 N. Kent Avenue 5832 N. Kent Avenue 5870 N. Kent Avenue 6129 N. Kent Avenue 6167 N. Kent Avenue 501 E. Lexington Boulevard 927 E. Lexington Boulevard 6142 N. Lydell Avenue 4520 N. Murray Avenue 4622 N. Murray Avenue 5057 N. Palisades Road 5109 N. Palisades Road 5318 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5353 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5515 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5555 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5559 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4731 N. Sheffield Avenue 5655 N. Shore Drive 5724 N. Shoreland Avenue 115 W. Silver Spring Drive 4967 N. Wildwood Avenue 4975 N. Wildwood Avenue 4724 N. Woodburn Street 5019 N. Woodruff Avenue

Lyman K. & Nancy Shepard House William F. Jr. & Virginia Kachel House Dr. David V. & Dorothy Elconin House Erwin L. & Alma L. Giljohann House Edward R. & Silvia Droppers House J. W. Sidney & Esther Gallagher House Herbert & Mildred Korth House John S. & Jessie Wetzler House Fielding A. & Edna S. Utz House William F. & Violet Graebel House Wayne & Miriam Trumpf House Dr. Lamont R. & Lenore Schweiger House Agnes Hart House

Lon L. & Esther Grier House Oscar T. & Marie A. Roder House Dr. L. C. & Ruth Wilkinson House Philip & Rosalie Fina House Dr. Gilbert & Jeannette Mueller House M. E. & Hazel Maurer House Paul Frederick & Mable Lee Brand House Edwin M. & Lois V. Krause House Frank F. & Edithe Wolfgram House Dr. Frank E. & Irene Drew House John L. & Milida Defandorf House A. P. Melendy House John Douglas & Myrtle Edwards House William F. & Mable M. Schanz House Rice Powell Company Building Robert & Virginia Gallun House Meyer & Sylvia Palay House E. C. Trumpf House Henrietta S. Trumpf House

1945 1949 1936 1936 1951 1948 1941 1947 1950 1938 1941 1937 1952 1939 1946 1938 1939 1939 1941 1941 1940 1941 1942 1950 1951 1950 1940 1935 1936 1939 1940 1939 1940 1939 1936 1956 1947 1947 1936 1939

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Leenhouts & Guthrie Cornelius Leenhouts was born in Milwaukee in 1865, the son of Dutch immigrants. Cornelius was an apprentice and draftsman at several firms including H W. Parker, H. C. Koch, James Douglas, Edward Townsend Mix, and lastly Crane & Barkhausen, where he worked on the construction documents for the Agriculture and Transportation Buildings at the 1893 Columbian Exposition in Chicago. Cornelius started a partnership with Frank J. Voit in 1897, lasting until Voits death in 1899. In 1900, Cornelius started a partnership with Hugh Wilson Guthrie, who was born in Ayrshire, Scotland, in 1863. The two had previously worked together for Edward 62

Townsend Mix. The firm of Leenhouts & Guthrie became Leenhouts, Guthrie & Leenhouts with Cornelius son Williss inclusion in 1930. Cornelius remained active in the practice almost until his death in 1935. Guthrie continued with the practice until his own death in 1945. 150 Willis Cornelius Leenhouts was born in Milwaukee in 1902 and began apprenticing under his father at Leenhouts & Guthrie in 1922 or 1923. He worked briefly as a draftsman for Thomas S. Van Alyea in 1925. In 1930, Willis became a partner in his fathers firm, changing the name to Leenhouts, Guthrie & Leenhouts. After his fathers death in 1935, Willis worked in the office of Harry Bogner. There he met his wife, Lillian Scott. She was born in 1911 and had recently graduated from the University of Michigans school of architecture when she began working for Bogner in 1936. She was the first woman licensed as an architect in the State of Wisconsin. They married in 1943. During World War II, Willis was drafted into the Army. After his service ended, the couple worked for Fairchild Aircraft in Hagerstown, Maryland. By 1945, Willis and Lillian returned to Milwaukee and established a joint architectural practice. 4819 N. Ardmore Avenue, 601 E. Day Avenue, and 6009 N. Shore Drive are attributed to Willis Leenhouts. 5843 N. Maitland Court is attributed to Willis and Lillian Leenhouts. 151 As a designer, Willis Leenhouts was well versed in the Contemporary style. Sara Leenhouts, daughter of Cornelius and sister of Willis, began working at her fathers firm, Leenhouts & Guthrie, in 1919 where she worked until 1924. By 1926, she worked briefly as a draftsman for Thomas S. Van Alyea along with her brother Willis. She then returned to work at Leenhouts & Guthrie. 4780 N. Newhall Street is attributed to Sara Leenhouts. 152 Buildings associated with Leenhouts & Guthrie in this survey include the following:
Address 4819 N. Ardmore Avenue 4645 N. Cramer Street 601 E. Day Avenue 5843 N Maitland Court 4780 N. Newhall Street 5822 N. Shore Drive 6009 N. Shore Drive Historic Name Roundy Memorial Baptist Church Olaf T. Rove House Frank E. & Ruth G. Baker House Sidney Siesel House Albert P & Marcella Kohler House John & Tillie M. Geerlings House Howard & Mary Tobin House Date 1937 1927 1928 1950 1929 1927 1939 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible

Frank L. Ludwig Frank L. Ludwig was an architect practicing in the Milwaukee area who was well versed in the Spanish Colonial Revival style. A large number of the buildings that he designed in Whitefish Bay are located in the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Frank L. Ludwig except for the related buildings listed below which can be attributed to him:
Address 823 East Birch Avenue 827 East Birch Avenue Historic Name Date 1922 1922 Class Eligible Eligible

63

M. A. Melnik M. A. Melnik studied civil engineering for two full years at the University of Wisconsin, before attending the University of Illinois where he graduated with his Bachelors Degree in architecture in 1925. He worked as a draftsman until he became licensed as an architect in Wisconsin in 1932. Sometime after 1930, he established the building company Melnik Brothers with his brothers, Morris and Leo. 153 As a designer, M. A. Melnik was well versed in the Colonial Revival style. A large number of the buildings that he designed in Whitefish Bay are located in the proposed Cumberland Forest & Palo Alto Residential Historic District. Buildings associated with M. A. Melnik in this survey include the following:
Address 4862 N. Ardmore Avenue 1119 E. Courtland Place 1211 E. Courtland Place 1221 E. Courtland Place 5321 N. Kent Avenue 4652 N. Wildwood Avenue Historic Name David Malmon House J. Herbert & Alberta Stone House George E. Morse House P. Y. & Reene Tumy House Henry M. & Sylvia Kaufman House Ray Blumberg House Date 1939 1940 1940 1940 1940 1939 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Fred A. Mikkelson Fred A. Mikkelson was an architect practicing in the Milwaukee area who was well versed in the Colonial Revival style. A large number of the buildings that he designed in Whitefish Bay are located in the proposed Bay Ridge & Kent Avenues Residential Historic District. While he was the most prolific designer in Whitefish Bay, practicing between 1940 and 1950, little else is known at the present time about the his career except for the related buildings listed below which are attributed to him:
Address 4730 N. Ardmore Avenue 4766 N. Bartlett Drive 4783 N. Bartlett Drive 4796 N. Bartlett Drive 5271 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5544 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5627 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5834 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5845 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5866 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5923 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5924 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5928 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5929 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5940 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5955 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5956 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5969 N. Bay Ridge Avenue Historic Name A. H. & Ardis Christianson House Richard Jr. & Alma Flechsig House Louis A. & Kathryn Banks House John & Marietta Andrew House Thomas & Nancy Grede House Howard W. & Eleanor Hilgendorf House Don & Gae Gottschalk House Dr. Kenneth F. & Marcella Bergner House Warren & Kathryn Podolske House Dr. J. E. & Shirley Cahlamer House Allen & Peggy Hall House Harvey D. & Patricia S. Wilmeth House Richard J. & Dorothy Ballman House Joseph V. & Margaret Kelley House John F. & Mary Costigan House David B. & Jeanne Stearns House Jerome & Marjorie Donahue House Date 1947 1947 1947 1946 1946 1950 1948 1945 1947 1949 1946 1945 1949 1946 1947 1945 1947 1945 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

64

5973 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5977 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 600 E. Beaumont Avenue 5100 N. Berkley Boulevard 5131 N. Berkley Boulevard 5220 N. Berkley Boulevard 6226 N. Berkley Boulevard 701 E. Briarwood Place 500 E. Carlisle Avenue 818 E. Courtland Place 824 E. Courtland Place 830 E. Courtland Place 4745 N. Diversey Boulevard 4768 N. Diversey Boulevard 4906 N. Diversey Boulevard 5221 N. Diversey Boulevard 5235 N. Diversey Boulevard 4798 N. Elkhart Avenue 4870 N. Elkhart Avenue 4969 N. Elkhart Avenue 407 E. Hampton Road 433 E. Hampton Road 811 E. Hampton Road 4773 N. Hollywood Avenue 5321 N. Hollywood Avenue 5338 N. Hollywood Avenue 4965 N. Idlewild Avenue 5257 N. Idlewild Avenue 5001 N. Kent Avenue 5075 N. Kent Avenue 5115 N. Kent Avenue 5121 N. Kent Avenue 5161 N. Kent Avenue 5275 N. Kent Avenue 5307 N. Kent Avenue 5411 N. Kent Avenue 5919 N. Kent Avenue 5938 N. Kent Avenue 5944 N. Kent Avenue 5945 N. Kent Avenue 5973 N. Kent Avenue 5120 N. Lake Drive 329 E. Lake View Avenue 336 E. Lake View Avenue 749 E. Lake View Avenue 4620 N. Larkin Street 5036 N. Larkin Street 5050 N. Larkin Street 5656 N. Lydell Avenue 5827 N. Maitland Court

Bruce & Eleanor Hanson House Gordon & Jean Gile House Hampton & Ruth Randolph House William H. & Jean Hirst House Jacob & Eva Pasch House Clarence & Dagmar Sundermeyer House Harold E. & Mildred Pentler House Forrest J. & Margaret Trumpf House Dr. J. E. & Dolores Gruender House John G. & Patsy Quale House Ervin & Margaret Kehl House Van W. & Audrey Burris House Frank & Mary Eaton House Lawrence & Jeanne Pollin House Edwin & Florence Blech House William R. & Sylvia Duwe House Donald P. & Nancy Hoffmann House Monte F. & Patricia Huebsch House Donald & Mildred Hamilton House Henry A. & Helen Sipowiski House Orval & Beatrice Meister House Eugene & Ann Swaney House George J. & Shirley Becker House Gordon & Catherine Bogard House Martin G. & Lucille Wolfram House Charles F. & Evelyn Stein House Warren & Annabel Lancaster House Max M. & Anne Shapiro House Harry A. & Inge Schloper House John J. & Mary E. Page House Tom & Joy Shogren House John & Kathyrn Stamm House David J. & JoAnn Bailey House John & Ione Mangold House Charles L. & Rufina Harding House Gordon & Lorraine Wheeler House Donald P. & Jane Dornbrook House Williiam F. & Mary Tribe House Merrel R. & June Stockey House Willet S. & Mildred Maine House Gregory L. & Mary Ann Crane House August K. & Janet Mae Bergenthal House John M. & Helen M. Worthingham House Robert G. & Jean Atkinson House John P. & Mildred Lewis House George H. & Jane Zink House Lawrence F. & Lillian M. Schuetz House Robert S. & Betty Alice Cunningham House Micholson House

1950 1945 1941 1952 1949 1945 1947 1953 1951 1948 1947 1948 1946 1947 1950 1947 1948 1950 1946 1948 1952 1951 1951 1950 1950 1948 1948 1945 1949 1950 1950 1950 1950 1950 1950 1946 1953 1947 1947 1940 1958 1954 1949 1947 1950 1949 1950 1960 1950 1941

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

65

5136 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5579 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5007 N. Shoreland Avenue 5012 N. Shoreland Avenue 5020 N. Shoreland Avenue 5233 N. Shoreland Avenue 5427 N. Shoreland Avenue 5449 N. Shoreland Avenue 5528 N. Shoreland Avenue 5566 N. Shoreland Avenue 5757 N. Shoreland Avenue 5765 N. Shoreland Avenue 5775 N. Shoreland Avenue 6035 N. Shoreland Avenue 6039 N. Shoreland Avenue 6045 N. Shoreland Avenue 6054 N. Shoreland Avenue 933 E. Sylvan Avenue 1031 E. Sylvan Avenue 4933 N. Wildwood Avenue 4947 N. Wildwood Avenue 4639 N. Woodruff Avenue 4640 N. Woodruff Avenue 5007 N. Woodruff Avenue

Cornelius A. & Margaret J. Schedler House Ira & Adele Safer House Samuel & Ruth Klauser House Granville R. & Mary Gibson House Lloyd V. & Margaret Brovald House Fenton & Betty McHugh House Alfred H. & Sylvia Jacobson House Dr. George E. & Lee Ella Moore House Dr. Arnold N. & Jane Elconin House William E. & Marie Morris House O. R. & Margaret Hackley House Theodore E. & Alice Patricia Fajen House James R. & Dorothy Voss House John & Helen Henderson House Salvatore & Dolores Gucciardi House William H. & Helen Scroggins House J. Gordon & Harriet Stowers House Bert & Ruth Collier House Fred & Emmy Sanders House John H. & Betty B. Healy House Harry & Janet Altman House Donald & Polly Eaton House

1949 1951 1945 1947 1948 1946 1950 1947 1941 1957 1941 1940 1941 1949 1950 1950 1948 1952 1949 1950 1950 1948 1942 1955

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Hedwig Miller Hedwig Miller advertised himself as a designer and builder of Distinctive Homes at Modest Prices in the 1941 Whitefish Bay Village Directory. 154 Little is known at the present time about the career of Hedwig Miller except for the related buildings listed below:
Address 4869 N. Ardmore Avenue 5446 N. Berkley Boulevard 4781 N. Cramer Street 4789 N. Cramer Street 1825 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1925 E. Glendale Avenue 2227 E. Glendale Avenue 1531 E. Hampton Road 1630 E. Hampton Road 5042 N. Lake Drive 6100 N. Lake Drive 6129 N. Lake Drive Court 4791 N. Larkin Street 837 E. Sylvan Avenue 4745 N. Wilshire Road 4640 N. Woodburn Street Historic Name William E. De Makes House I. W. & Lucille Unger House Date 1941 1940 1931 1939 1940 1949 1946 1940 1941 1941 1945 1949 1941 1940 1949 1939 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

J. H. & Belle Berke House Carrie Gebhardt House Dr. Edward Harvey & Sally J. Tashkin House A. & Hedwig Bertram House

Dr. Ross & Mildred A. Weller House Julius & Beatrice Rubin House Herman M. & Marion Knoeller House Harry E. & Blanche Roth House Benjamin & Anna Rosenberg House

66

Hugo V. Miller Little is known at the present time about the career of Hugo V. Miller except for the related buildings listed below:
Address 5312 N. Lake Drive Historic Name Judge Joseph A. & Lydia Padway House Date 1931 Class Eligible

Roy C. Otto Little is known at the present time about the career of Roy C. Otto except for the related buildings listed below:
Address 926 E. Lexington Boulevard 4716 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name Oliver V. & Carrie Thatcher House Whitney J. & Anna M. Eastman House Date 1925 1929 Class Surveyed Eligible

McCutcheon Powell McCutcheon Powell was in a partnership with Albert E. Powell and Hector M. Powell under the name Powell Brothers. They advertised themselves as general contractors, certified builders of insulated homes, and realtors with an office located at 139 Silver Spring Drive in the 1929-1930 Whitefish Bay Village Directory.155 Little is known at the present time about the career of McCutcheon Powell except for the related buildings listed below:
Address 5800 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6121 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6129 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6141 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5525 N. Berkley Boulevard 6141 N. Berkley Boulevard 5320 N. Hollywood Avenue 5514 N. Hollywood Avenue Historic Name Date 1939 1930 1928 1938 1929 1939 1932 1927 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Benjamin J. & Marie Cihak House John D. & Jo Swift House L. Burton & Florence Jenson House A. M. & Bessie Baker House Frederick W. & Winifred Spooner House

Arthur C. Runzler Arthur C. Runzler was born in Wisconsin in 1890. He was practicing architecture in Milwaukee by 1923. By 1953, he moved to California where he practiced until his death in 1962. 156 Little else is known at the present time about the career of Arthur C. Runzler except for the related buildings listed below:
Address 5400 N. Berkley Boulevard Historic Name Albert & June W. Sielaff House Date 1935 Class Surveyed

67

6316 N. Berkley Boulevard 1001 E. Circle Drive 1005 E. Circle Drive 1009 E. Circle Drive 4607 N. Cramer Street 4625 N. Cramer Street 5530 N. Hollywood Avenue 820 E. Lake Forest Avenue 708 E. Lake View Avenue 321 E. Lexington Boulevard 1129 E. Lexington Boulevard 5635 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 1011 E. Sylvan Avenue

William W. & Eleanor Z. Wuesthoff House Rose Runzler House

Llyod L. & Jessie Cook House Robert L. & Ethel S. Boerner House Willis V. & Ann L. Daugherty House George S. & Mary Hulda Bones House Milton E. & Violet Buschmann House St. Monica Parochial School James A. & Genevieve Wright House

1938 1924 1924 1922 1924 1936 1936 1926 1926 1935 1923 1928 1937

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed

Fitzhugh Scott Jr. and Sr. Architects After an established career, Fitzhugh Schott Sr. opened a practice with his son Fitzhugh Scott Jr sometime during the 1930s and 1940s. A 1952 Whitefish Bay Village Directory lists their offices location at the Whitefish Bay Pharmacy Building. 157 5418 N. Lake Drive and the Milwaukee Country Day Junior School are attributed to Fitzhugh Scott Sr. The 1967 swimming pool, field house, and classroom addition to Whitefish Bay High School is attributed to Fitzhugh Scott Jr. Little else is known at the present time about the careers of Fitzhugh Scott Sr. or his son except for the related buildings listed below:
Address 1200 E. Fairmount Avneue 5418 N. Lake Drive 5611, 5623 & 5629 N. Lake Drive 6255 N. Santa Monica Boulevard Historic Name Whitefish Bay High School Edward J. Fellman House Whitefish Bay Pharmacy Building Milwaukee Country Day Junior School Date add. 1967 1924 1950 1931 Class Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed

George Schley & Sons George Schley Jr. established a practice with his sons Herbert A. and Perce G. Schley. The firm, George Schley & Sons, was active from the 1920s through the late 1950s. 4709 N. Cramer Street is attributed to George Schley. 4634 N. Cramer Street and 2309 E. Glendale Avenue are attributed to Perce G. Schley. 158 The firm of George Schley & Sons was well versed in the Colonial and Tudor Revival styles. A large number of the buildings the firm designed in Whitefish Bay are located in the proposed Lake Woods & Ortonwood Triangle Residential District and the proposed Wilshire Residential Historic District. Little else is known at the present time about the careers of George Schley or his sons except for the related buildings listed below:
Address 6128 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6270 N. Bay Ridge Avenue Historic Name Walter H. & Esther Hansen House M. H. & Janice A. Simpkins House Date 1935 1935 Class Surveyed Surveyed

68

5326 N. Berkley Boulevard 5346 N. Berkley Boulevard 5359 N. Berkley Boulevard 6060 N. Berkley Boulevard 6069 N. Berkley Boulevard 6122 N. Berkley Boulevard 1575 E. Blackthorne Place 963 E. Circle Drive 1093 E. Circle Drive 4634 N. Cramer Street 4709 N. Cramer Street 4720 N. Cramer Street 2011 E. Cumberland Boulevard 4704 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4762 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4776 N. Cumberland Boulevard 2012 E. Glendale Avenue 2101 E. Glendale Avenue 2111 E. Glendale Avenue 2221 E. Glendale Avenue 2309 E. Glendale Avenue 2310 E. Glendale Avenue 1800 E. Hampton Road 4515 N. Lake Drive 4661 N. Lake Drive 4827 N. Lake Drive 4853 N. Lake Drive 4875 N. Lake Drive 4885 N. Lake Drive 5233 N. Lake Drive 5319 N. Lake Drive 6024 N. Lake Drive 341 E. Lake View Avenue 106 E. Montclaire Avenue 4841 N. Oakland Avenue 5005 N. Palisades Road 5041 N. Palisades Road 5347 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 1142 E. Sylvan Avenue 4604 N. Wilshire Road 4608 N. Wilshire Road 4612 N. Wilshire Road 4622 N. Wilshire Road 4628 N. Wilshire Road 4634 N. Wilshire Road 4646 N. Wilshire Road 4676 N. Wilshire Road 4677 N. Wilshire Road 4732 N. Wilshire Road 4800 N. Woodburn Street

Franklin L. & Betty H. Orth House William & Florence E. Wanvig House A. F. & Mildred Vanselow House Lauren E. Meyers House Thomas A. & Catherine L. Rogers House Geoffrey G. & Edith Maclay House Laurence & Bertha Morrison House Nelson D. & Barbara Phelps House John J. McCoy House Milton & Nancy Bass House F. W. & Harriet Luening House

Frances Smith House Nathan & Pearl Berkowitz House Gordon J. & Viola A. Bell House Ferdinand & Amanda Schmidt House Edward H. & Frances Borgelt House Jack & Lillian La Kam House Harry A. & Anne Epstein House Perce G. & Natalie Schley House William & Ella Thompson House George E. & Meta Ballhorn House Carl W. & Erna Moebius House Ben & Florence Lewenauer House Chester & Mabel Moody House Dr. Lee A. & Elizabeth Wandell House W. M. & Ella Thompson House Bert C. & Mary Nelson House Raymond & Elaine Strauss House Frank C. Jr. & Dorothy Klode House Louise Taft House Joseph E. & Helen T. Koehler House Edwin H. & Gertrude E. Eckstein House Reuben & Ann R. Kritzik House Ralph B. & Ruth Abrams House F. R. & Nellie Kluwin House Donald D. & Nina L. Barnes House Dr. Emil & Rose Franklin House J. J. & Erna Zwicky House Dr. J. S. Ackerman House David & Teresa Kritzik House Fannie Grossman House Dr. Harry B. & Ann Sadoff House Harry A. & Fanny Watkins House Wyeth & Lillian C. Allen House Walter & Meta Hoffmann House Bernard V. & Amybelle M. Brady House Robert M. & Vivian Gill House

1935 1937 1935 1954 1935 1952 1928 1935 1924 1955 1927 1930 1939 1940 1950 1936 1927 1940 1949 1948 1940 1947 1927 1949 1952 1927 1925 1930 1937 1932 1954 1938 1932 1937 1937 1952 1938 1941 1936 1952 1950 1938 1948 1949 1949 1952 1949 1929 1936 1951

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

69

4967 N. Woodburn Street

Malcom E. & Florence J. Gregg House

1938

Surveyed

Spinti & Veenendaal George F. Spinti, Jr. became a registered architect in Wisconsin in 1928. He worked for Alexander Chadbourne Eschweiler for ten years, Scott & Mayer for one year, Thomas S. Van Alyea for five years, and briefly for the office of Brust & Philip. At some point in time, he established the firm Spinti & Veenendaal with W. H. Veenendaal. George Spinti, Jr., was also a member of Whitefish Bays first Architectural Review Committee in 1945. 159 Spintis son, George F. Spinti III advertised himself as an architect in the 1945 and 1958-59 Whitefish Bay Village Directories. 160 6068 N. Bay Ridge Avenue, 6203 N. Bay Ridge Avenue, 4715 N. Cramer Street, 1530 E. Hampton Road, 6121 N. Kent Avenue, 4514 N. Lake Drive, 4605 N. Lake Drive, 4720 N. Lake Drive, 4780 N. Lake Drive, 6241 N. Lake Drive, 6360 N. Lake Drive, 5025 N. Palisades Road, 6001 N. Shore Drive, and 4656 N. Wilshire Road are attributed to George F. Spinti, Jr.; 4749 N. Cramer Street is attributed to W. H. Veenendaal; and 4840 N. Lake Drive is attributed to Robert N. Spinti. Buildings associated with Spinti & Veenendaal in this survey include the following:
Address 6068 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6203 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 1551 E. Blackthorne Place 4715 N. Cramer Street 4739 N. Cramer Street 4749 N. Cramer Street 4795 N. Cramer Street 4524 N. Frederick Avenue 2321 E. Glendale Avenue 1530 E. Hampton Road 6048 N. Kent Avenue 6121 N. Kent Avenue 4514 N. Lake Drive 4605 N. Lake Drive 4720 N. Lake Drive 4780 N. Lake Drive 4840 N. Lake Drive 4850 N. Lake Drive 6006 N. Lake Drive 6241 N. Lake Drive 6360 N. Lake Drive 706 E. Lexington Boulevard 4779 N. Newhall Street 4849 N. Oakland Avenue 5025 N. Palisades Road 5165 N. Palisades Road 6001 N. Shore Drive 4656 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name George F. & Treva Spinti House Charles E. & Mabel Kaster House William R. & Elizabeth Miller House Victor & Jennie Reckmeyer House Dr. B Urdan House Dr. Michael W. & Louise Shutkin House Clarence & Beatrice Veit House Morris & Selma Fromkin House Elbert S. & Margaret Hartwick House George & Aline Schutt House L. Collis & Helen Dickson House Harold E. & Esther Constant House Stanley & Ruth Coerper House Miles & Leah Mandel House Walker & Mary Watkins House Arthur J. & Arline M. O'Conner House Roy W. & Viola A. Johnson House Philip & Beatrice Rubenstein House W. R. & Clara Tanner House Robert & Pauline Kohler House Ruth & Doris Morter House Robert J. & Martha Dempsey House Albert & Cora Voss House Howard E. & Emma L. Kaufman House G. H. & Margaret Hunkel House Date 1938 1936 1936 1936 1939 1936 1940 1941 1940 1949 1941 1950 1946 1950 1948 1946 1952 1941 1939 1953 1949 1939 1927 1941 1953 1940 1949 1953 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

70

Raymond O. Steffen Little is known at the present time about the career of Raymond O. Steffen except for the building listed below which is attributed to him:
Address 6156 N. Lydell Avenue Historic Name Anthony & Pearl Sottile House Date 1951 Class Eligible

Richard Thielff Little is known at the present time about the career of Richard Thielff except for the building listed below which can be attributed to him:
Address 5200 N. Lake Drive Historic Name Benjamin & Anna Rosenberg House Date 1927 Class Eligible

John Topzant John Topzant was born in Milwaukee in 1890 and completed his architectural education through correspondence school between 1909 and 1910. He worked as a draftsman for Fred Graf from 1908 to 1910 and 1912 to 1919; working for Henry J. Rotier in between. In 1919, Topzant established his own practice. 161 As a designer, he was well versed in the Revival styles. Buildings associated with John Topzant in this survey include the following:
Address 6364 N. Berkley Boulevard 1051 E. Circle Drive 1615 E. Cumberland Boulevard 5277 N. Hollywood Avenue 5541 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5830 N. Shore Drive 5834 N. Shore Drive 5842 N. Shore Drive 5846 N. Shore Drive 5848 N. Shore Drive 5850 & 5852 N. Shore Drive 4762 N Wilshire Road Historic Name David L. & Herta I. Evans House Phillip G. & Sarah Jacobson House Lawrence G. & Myrtle Richardson House Joseph O. & Irene Hosch House William G. & Laura L. James House William G. James House Erwin Stoekle House Edward J. & Alice Allee House Edward J. & Alice Allee House Frank A. & Lucille E. Pipkorn Duplex Markus & Rose Shapiro House Date 1938 1936 1929 1926 1926 1929 1929 1928 1927 1927 1928 1949 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Walter G. Truettner Walter G. Truettner advertised himself as a general contractor, designer, and builder with twenty years of experience in the 1929-1930 Whitefish Bay Village Directory and as an architect in the 1930-1931 Whitefish Bay Village Directory.162 His office was in Milwaukee. Little is known at the present time about the career of Walter G. Truettner except for the buildings listed below which are attributed to him:

71

Address 4798 N. Ardmore Avenue 4781 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4787 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4639 N. Morris Boulevard 4647 N. Morris Boulevard 4750 N. Woodburn Street 4760 N. Woodburn Street 4766 N. Woodburn Street 4774 N. Woodburn Street 4782 N. Woodburn Street 4790 N. Woodburn Street 4796 N. Woodburn Street 4801 N. Woodburn Street

Historic Name Walter G. Truettner House Thomas J. & Elizabeth M. Boehm House Walter G. Truettner House A. J. & Dorothy Goddard House

Dr. Floyd C. & Leoneze A. Wilson House Charles & Mildred Strauss House George E. & Sarah Stetner House

William J. & Lydia Schaus House

Date 1937 1928 1928 1937 1939 1936 1935 1935 1930 1935 1935 1936 1940

Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Charles W. Valentine Charles W. Valentine was born in Milwaukee in 1879, the son of a cabinetmaker. He began an apprenticeship at the firm of Ferry & Clas in 1897. He worked there as a draftsman until around 1909, when he began working independently from his home in Milwaukee. Valentine became a registered architect in Wisconsin in 1917. Between 1913 and 1935, Valentine moved his family frequently within Shorewood and Whitefish Bay. In 1936, he designed his home at 5537 N. Berkley Boulevard, where he worked from his home office until 1946. In his retirement, Valentine worked for Brust & Brust until his death in 1951. 163 As a designer, he was well versed in the Tudor Revival style. Buildings associated with Charles W. Valentine in this survey include the following:
Address 4627 N. Bartlett Avenue 5418 N. Berkley Boulevard 5504 N. Berkley Boulevard 5537 N. Berkley Boulevard 5549 N. Berkley Boulevard 5552 N. Berkley Boulevard 1560 E. Blackthorne Place 1604 E. Blackthorne Place 339 E. Carlisle Avenue 934 E. Circle Drive 4773 N. Cramer Street 4732 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5335 N. Hollywood Avenue 6030 N. Lake Drive 6036 N. Lake Drive 6050 N. Lake Drive 6361 N. Lake Drive 4729 N. Larkin Street 1002 E. Lexington Boulevard 1100 E. Lexington Boulevard Historic Name William C. & Meta Schmidt House John L. Fenney House Jack Y. & Seema Waxman House Charles W. & Eda Valentine House Fred J. & Clara L. Reik House Alfred G. & Lillian S. Schulenberg House Arthur J. & Beatrice Schinner House Charles W. & Edna M. Valentine House Herbert W. & Edna M. Hitchings House Edward J. & Mary Cunningham House Roy W. & Ruth Vondette House Dr. William & Catherine Dohearty House Date 1928 1938 1947 1935 1937 1937 1931 1929 1936 1924 1931 1928 1929 1924 1924 1930 1927 1928 1926 1929 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible

Howard T. & Anita Bluhm House A. W. & Margaret Lindstrom House Halbert D. & Florence Jenkins House

72

406 E. Montclaire Avenue 4645 N. Murray Avenue 4901 N. Oakland Avenue 5536 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5354 N. Shoreland Avenue 4955 N. Woodburn Street

Francis J. & Claire Hart House Hugh B. & Hattie J. Poppe House Alexander & Ruth Shmitt House Ewald B. & Almira Buscher House Niall R. & Lucille S. Schmidt House William B. Faude House

1936 1928 1948 1938 1937 1930

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Velguth & Papenthein Roy Oliver Papenthein was born in Illinois in 1891 and moved with his family to Milwaukee by 1907, when he began working there as a draftsman. In 1915, he began working for Alexander Chadbourne Eschweiler until his service in the army during World War I from 1918 through 1919. Papenthein worked in 1923 for Milwaukee architect, Hugo Haueser. In 1924, he established a partnership with Roland C. Velguth, who earned his Bachelors Degree in architecture from Cornell University in 1916. The partnership of Velguth & Papenthein lasted until Velguths death in 1928. Papenthein continued practicing independently until 1949, when he partnered in the formation of a construction company called Moe, Weiss & Papenthein. 836 E. Birch Avenue, 843 E. Birch Avenue, 1071 E. Circle Drive, 4723 N. Cramer Street, 4723 N. Cumberland Boulevard, 1200 E. Hampton Road, 200 E. Lexington Boulevard, 4773 N. Newhall Street, and 1019 E. Sylvan Avenue are specificaaly attributed to Roy Oliver Papenthein.164 As a designer, Roy Oliver Papenthein was well versed in the Revival styles. A large number of the buildings that he designed in Whitefish Bay are located in the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District. Buildings associated with Velguth & Papenthein in this survey include the following:
Address 836 E. Birch Avenue 843 E. Birch Avenue 1601 E. Blackthorne Place 968 E. Circle Drive 1071 E. Circle Drive 4723 N. Cramer Street 4723 N. Cumberland Boulevard 1824 E. Glendale Avenue 1200 E. Hampton Road 1830 E. Hampton Road 5220 N. Lake Drive 5290 N. Lake Drive 1056 E. Lexington Boulevard 200 E. Lexington Boulevard 4773 N. Newhall Street 1019 E. Sylvan Avenue Historic Name Roy O. & Hazel Papenthein House Louis J. & Blanche Larson House Gilbert R. & May A. Heyer House M. E. & Marion Newald House Augusta F. Heyer House Oscar & Winogene Kirchner House Bay Shore Evangelical Lutheran Church George H. & Susanne H. Salentine House H. C. Wuesthoff House Benjamin F. & Edna D. Saltzstein House Dr. Fellman House O. K. & Ceal Johnson House Emma F. Wahra House Walter A. & Norma Belau House Date 1927 1936 1927 1924 1928 1929 1924 1926 1948 1927 1924 1928 1924 1941 1929 1936 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Frederic Von Grossmann Frederic Von Grossmann was born in Milwaukee in 1904. He formed a four-year partnership with Donald Leon Grieb in 1946. 165

73

Little else is known at the present time about the career of Frederic Von Grossmann except for the related buildings listed below:
Address 6020 N. Berkley Boulevard 4800 N. Cumberland Boulevard 6100 N. Lake Drive Court Historic Name Harry J. & Stella Plous House The Concrete Demonstration House / Dar & Jeanne Vriesman House H. R. & Florence Buckman Date 1940 1940 1951 Class Surveyed Eligible Surveyed

Russell Barr Williamson Russell Barr Williamson was born in 1893 in Royal Center, Indiana. While initially intending to study forestry, he began at Kansas State Agricultural College in Manhattan, Kansas, and ended up graduating with a Bachelors Degree in architecture in 1914. Upon graduation, he began working in the Chicago office of Frank Lloyd Wright, where he became chief assistant within two years. By 1918, following his departure from Wright, Williamson established an architectural practice in Kansas City, MO, punctuated briefly that first year by a construction engineer position for the Pennsylvania Rail Road in Logansport, Indiana. In 1919, Williamson returned briefly to Kansas City before moving to Milwaukee that same year to work for Arthur L. Richardson. That same year, Williamson received his Wisconsin architectural registration. Soon after, he established his own Russell Barr Williamson independent practice in Milwaukee. In 1921, Williamson designed (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehring) his own residence located at 4860 N. Oakland Avenue in Whitefish Bay.166 During the early 1950s, he moved to Oostburg, Wisconsin, where he continued to practice until his death in 1964.167 A large number of the buildings he designed in Whitefish Bay are located in the proposed Lake Woods & Ortonwood Triangle Residential Historic District. Buildings associated with Russell Barr Williamson in this survey include the following:
Address 998 E. Circle Drive 4786 N. Cramer Street 5456 N. Danbury Road 5464 N. Danbury Road 1820 E. Hampton Road 4837 N. Lake Drive 4845 N. Lake Drive 4863 N. Lake Drive 4901 N. Lake Drive 5240 N. Lake Drive 1017 & 1019 E. Lexington Boulevard 4850 N. Oakland Avenue 4860 N. Oakland Avenue 5260 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5664 N. Shore Drive Historic Name Robert B. & Ivy E. Asquith House Norman & Natalie Soref House Thomas F. Regan House Julius H. & Emilie Gugler House George & Margaret Schueller House Frank S. & Jessie Boardman House Charles E. & Dorothy Inbusch House Richard Smith & Henrietta L. Davis House Carl Herzfeld House Lillie Ketchum Duplex Dr. Edward J. Schleif House Russell Barr & Nola Mae Williamson House B. F. Fischer House Clare H. Hall House Date 1923 1953 1925 c. 1920 1924 1926 1925 1925 1926 1924 1925 1920 1921 1929 c. 1921 Class Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Eligible

74

Contractors and Masons Jerre G. Allen Jerre G. Allen was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial Revival style. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Jerre G. Allen except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 6035 N. Berkley Boulevard 949 E. Circle Drive 4833 N. Cumberland Boulevard 717 E. Day Avenue 516 E. Lexington Boulevard 749 E. Lexington Avenue 761 E. Lexington Boulevard 5436 N. Lydell Avenue 5252 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5312 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5324 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 814 E. Sylvan Avenue Historic Name John E. & Margaret Cota House David V. & Judith Crowley House A. L. & Barbara Hentzen House Paul E. & Kathryn Frank House Dr. Theodore & Mary Mortonson House Dr. John & Kathleen Becker House Dr. Douglas & Marcella Klink House S. J. & Willie Fresch House William & Nancy Stotzer House Jerold & Carolyn Ross House Jerre & Carole Allen House Date 1967 1963 1966 1959 1962 1970 1970 1964 1961 1971 1959 1964 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

American Builders Service Little is known at the present time about American Builders Service except for the following building included in the survey:
Address 998 E. Circle Drive Historic Name Robert B. & Ivy E. Asquith House Date 1923 Class Eligible

Bentley Brothers Little is known at the present time about the career of the Bentley Brothers except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 613 E. Carlisle Avenue 5312 N. Lake Drive Historic Name Hugo J. & Rose B. Kroetz House Judge Joseph A. & Lydia Padway House Date 1925 1931 Class Surveyed Eligible

John T. Blake John T. Blake was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Revival styles and located in the proposed Bay Ridge & Kent Avenues Residential Historic District.

75

Little else is known at the present time about the career of John T. Blake except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5867 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5913 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 154 E. Belle Avenue 4766 N. Hollywood Avenue 5906 N. Kent Avenue 5912 N. Kent Avenue 5918 N. Kent Avenue 5922 N. Kent Avenue 5928 N. Kent Avenue 5976 N. Kent Avenue 4612 N. Oakland Avenue 5855 N. Shoreland Avenue 5901 N. Shoreland Avenue 5919 N. Shoreland Avenue 5929 N. Shoreland Avenue 5939 N. Shoreland Avenue 5955 N. Shoreland Avenue Historic Name Roger R. & Georgiana Taylor House Frank E. & Emma Daniels House A. E. & Elizabeth Powell House Milton & Vernetta Alexander House Mark & Helen Hooper House Ernest Wallis House James Fitzpatrick House Austin A. & Dorothy Peterson House Edwin Adams House Hector M. & Laures Powell House Dwight L. & Olga E. Van Auken House R. L. & Dolly Buening House John & Cora Casagrande House Marcus H. & Mildred E. Money House Glen & Mabel Trendel House Daniel E. & Marion Neja House Howard & Mildred W. Thwaits House Date 1936 1927 1926 1927 1926 1926 1926 1926 1926 1926 1928 1926 1926 1927 1926 1926 1926 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

August W. Boehnke Little is known at the present time about the career of August W. Boehnke except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 622 E. Carlisle Avenue 5401 N. Shoreland Avenue 4706 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name Roy J. & Mary D. Giddings House Frank & Martha Howell House Herman & Anna Laabs House Date 1926 1945 1928 Class Surveyed Surveyed Eligible

Dambach Brothers The Dambach Brothers were builders who were active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings they built in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial Revival style. Little else is known at the present time about the career of the Dambach Brothers except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 1605 E. Hampton Road 5301 N. Hollywood Avenue 4777 N. Lake Drive 4785 N. Lake Drive 5265 N. Lake Drive 5251 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5616 N. Shore Drive 880 E. Silver Spring Drive Historic Name Benjamin & Lillian LaKam House O. E. Lindemann House James B. & Louise Sullivan House Irving & Elsa M. Heller House Dr. Harold H. & Ruth Ottenstein House Raymond A. & Catherine Hintz House Ralph S. & Leona Roussy House I. & Fannie Klafter House Date 1953 1948 1948 1948 1953 1947 1947 1947 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

76

900 E. Silver Spring Drive 4660 N. Woodburn Street

Harold J. & Mary Colton House S. J. Grossman & Frances House

1947 1953

Surveyed Surveyed

Daum & Zingen Construction Daum & Zingen was a construction company that was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings they built in Whitefish Bay are of the Revival styles. Little else is known at the present time about Daum & Zingen Construction except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5457 N. Berkley Boulevard 5536 N. Diversey Boulevard 5515 N. Hollywood Avenue 5712 N. Kent Avenue 5850 N. Kent Avenue 5112 N. Lake Drive 748 E. Lexington Boulevard 5858 N. Maitland Court 847 E. Silver Spring Drive 4634 N. Wildwood Avenue 4611 N. Woodburn Street 4617 N. Woodburn Street 4666 N. Woodburn Street 4874 N. Woodburn Street Historic Name Bernard & E. Nius House Arthur L. & Ruby Redeen House C. C. & Minnie Raisbeck House John A. & Hazel Rozek House Date 1941 1931 1940 1933 1939 1942 1941 1930 1936 1941 1940 1940 1937 1938 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

B. B. & Pauline McKinstry House Theo O. & Martha F. Salzer House

John J. & Margaret Lown House Lester A. & Viola Damitz House Jack Allen & Eleanor Smith House

R. W. Droger Little is known at the present time about the career of R. W. Droger except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5200 N. Santa Monica Boulevad 5626 N. Shore Drive 5684 N. Shore Drive Historic Name Date 1947 1939 1925 Class Surveyed Eligible Surveyed

Henry S. & Margaret Wright House

George J. Dunn Little is known at the present time about the career of George J. Dunn except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5451 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5277 N. Berkley Boulevard 4530 N. Murray Avenue 4637 N. Murray Avenue 5862 N. Shore Drive 4725 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name George Paul & Teckla Dunn House Henry F. & Norma Ziese House Harry W. & Helen M. Bogner House Adolph & Margaret Lotter House Martin J. Brennan House Edward Franz & Erna M. Pritzlaff House Date 1937 1937 1927 1927 1929 1925 Class Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Eligible

77

Dwyer Brothers Dwyer Brothers Inc. was established sometime around 1932 by architect R. W. Dwyer and his relatives Lester T. and John R. Dwyer, under the name R. W. Dwyer, Inc., and later under the name Dwyer Brothers. The partnership lasted until around 1950. 168 Buildings associated with the Dwyer Brothers in this survey include the following:
Address 4875 N. Ardmore Avenue 4900 N. Ardmore Avenue 5443 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 1621 E. Blackthorne Place 632 E. Carlisle Avenue 1038 E. Circle Drive 1044 E. Circle Drive 1064 E. Circle Drive 1074 E. Circle Drive 1081 E. Circle Drive 4633 E. Cramer Street 1562 E. Cumberland Boulevard 5101 E. Cumberland Boulevard 4531 N. Frederick Avenue 816 E. Glen Avenue 845 E. Glen Avenue 1811 E. Glendale Avenue 824 E. Hampton Road 1500 E. Henry Clay Street 5327 N. Hollywood Avenue 6049 N. Kent Avenue 4614 N. Lake Drive 4687 N. Lake Drive 4945 N. Lake Drive 4951 N. Lake Drive 5223 N. Lake Drive 5325 N. Lake Drive 5966 N. Lake Drive 868 E. Lake Forest Avenue 622 E. Lake View Avenue 4950 N. Larkin Street 1101 E. Lexington Boulevard 1113 E. Lexington Boulevard 1121 E. Lexington Boulevard 5851 N. Maitland Court 4524 N. Murray Avenue 4604 N. Murray Avenue 4753 N. Newhall Street 4765 N. Newhall Street 5065 N. Palisades Rd 5960 N. Shore Drive Historic Name Harold E. Mayr House Raymond J. & Edna Czaja House Theodore & Lillian Ripple House William H. & Johanna Pfeiffer House Archie H. Macdonald House Roger & Helen Clark House O. S. & Laura Baier House Reginald & Frances M. Kenny House Dr. Harry R. & Katherine Foerster House William H. Fromm House George & Margaret Landis House Elmer H. & Ruby B. Grootemaat House Paul G. & Marie L. Boemer House Date 1941 1948 1941 1928 1924 1929 1926 1925 1925 c. 1920 1925 1927 1930 1929 1930 1923 1946 1946 1939 1928 1928 1945 1936 1932 1929 1927 1926 1940 1930 1928 1936 1926 1925 1925 1927 1927 1928 1926 1927 1942 1934 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible

Ray & Helen Hamilton House William G. & Louise Harmon House Russell & Marie H. Thierbach House Walter A. Getzel & Leone Blattner House Andrew J. Hoetzl House Muriel Treis House Ernest J. Kaestner House Dr. Francis & Willabelle McMahon House Emil H. & Rose Koepke House Arthur J. & Margaret Butzen House L. Gerber House A. C. & Goody C. Marggraff House Guy R. & Della C. Radley House K. & Minette Dickens House Elmer M. & Delia B. Ross House Peter J. & Elizabeth Porth House Ralph H. & Myfanwy J. Cahill House Dr. Clayton F. & Freda M. Wermuth House Fred O. & Viola Mueller House Franklin B. & Emma B. Raab House Freeman H. & Doris G. Guerin House Bert S. & Gretchen Gittins House George J. Jr. & Lucille M. Meyer House

78

Robert B. Ebert Little is known at the present time about the career of Robert B. Ebert except for the following building included in the survey:
Address 4617 N. Idlewild Avenue Historic Name Robert B. & Mary Louise Ebert House Date 1940 Class Eligible

John D. Edwards Company John Douglas Edwards was born in Spencer, Iowa, in 1893. In 1918, he came to Milwaukee to work in sales and promotions. In 1922, he briefly worked in the Securities Department of the Milwaukee Electric Railway & Light Company. Edwards established the John D. Edwards Company in 1925 with Charles H. Blackburn and Edward W. Strauss. By 1929, architects Wesley H. Hess and George A. Kemnitz were employed by the company. Several of Edwards houses surveyed in Whitefish Bay have been attributed to Hess designs; however, no houses known to be designed by Kemnitz were included in the survey. From 1928 to 1930, the John D. Edwards Company advertised themselves as building what they called Studi-O-Homes. These were modest-sized and affordably priced homes, in the Tudor Revival Style, that utilized details typical of more elaborate and expensive homes. The prominent feature of these homes was a prominent, gabled living room that extended perpendicularly from the front of the house. Two stories in height, it typically was accompanied by a second story library overlooking the living room. The company planned to construct fifty Studi-O-Homes in the Milwaukee area; however, it is unknown if this goal was ever reached. Seventeen of Edwards Studi-O-Homes have been identified in Whitefish Bay. The John D. Edwards Company boasts of having built over 1,000 houses in the Milwaukee Area. After 1943 and the death of Edwards, the company was reorganized under Johns son, Douglas Edwards. 169 A large number of the buildings Edwards built in Whitefish Bay are of the Tudor Revival style and located in the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District. Buildings associated with John Douglas Edwards in this survey include the following:
Address 5854 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5952 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5262 N. Berkley Boulevard 5263 N. Berkley Boulevard 5320 N. Berkley Boulevard 5933 N. Berkley Boulevard 5936 N. Berkley Boulevard 735 E. Briarwood Place 710 E. Carlisle Avenue 716 E. Carlisle Avenue 1086 E. Circle Drive 1614 E. Cumberland Boulevard 4903 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5015 N. Diversey Boulevard 5035 N. Diversey Boulevard Historic Name Floyd E. & Sally Nelson House Herbert A. & Rugh Beckmann House Archibald & Eleanore O'Connor House Harold C. & Marjorie P. Cheetham House Frank J. & Jane J. Kelley House Lillian Kellogg House Edward T. & Mary McIntyre House Gordon F. & Doris Daggett House Henry C. & Mattie Hettelsater House Leslie & Hilma Oldham House Edward John & Florence Hornbach House Ray P. & Irene L. Hiller House Celm & Fawn C. Kalvelage House Date 1938 1929 1928 1928 1928 1936 1931 1929 1928 1928 1928 1927 1928 1939 1939 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

79

5220 N. Diversey Boulevard 5234 N. Diversey Boulevard 5242 N. Diversey Boulevard 5518 N. Diversey Boulevard 5346 N. Hollywood Avenue 4796 N. Idlewild Avenue 5268 N. Idlewild Avenue 5838 N. Kent Avenue 5250 N. Kimbark Place 5688 N. Lake Drive 633 E. Lake View Avenue 4610 N. Morris Boulevard 5221 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5501 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6322 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4737 N. Sheffield Avenue 4751 N. Sheffield Avenue 5701 N. Shoreland Avenue 5708 N. Shoreland Avenue 1025 E. Sylvan Avenue 1032 E. Sylvan Avenue 4758 N. Woodruff Avenue 4760 N. Woodruff Avenue 4969 N. Woodruff Avenue 4975 N. Woodruff Avenue

Alfred A. & Lydia A. Schmitt House M. & Mildred P. Foster House LeRoy H. & Martha Brown House Paul C. & Jeanne D. Winner House R. A. & Marion Waterman House Edward J. & Ann E. Peters House Ralph L. & Grace D. Haskins House Dr. Bruno Warschauer House Reinhold C. & Irene Diekelman House Werner J.. & Beulah Trimborn House Chester A. & Esther M. Cook House Samuel D. & Mary Margaret McMicken House John Douglas & Myrtle Edwards House Elmer F. & Olga M. Abraham House Lewis P. & Bernadette Kiehm House R. L. & Margaret A. Osburn House Albert S. & Leah Ethridge House Carl & Gertrude Daun House Donald W. & Alice M. Garber House H.L. Malm House Herbert & Hilda Klemm House H. J. Halberstadt House

1928 1931 1926 1928 1928 1938 1930 1938 1928 1928 1928 1930 1928 1928 1938 1930 1931 1928 1938 1929 1928 1938 1938 1936 1935

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Nick Eisert Little is known at the present time about the career of Nick Eisert except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5843 N. Maitland Court 6009 N. Shore Drive Historic Name Sidney Siesel House Howard & Mary Tobin House Date 1950 1939 Class Surveyed Eligible

Edward J. Fleck Edward J. Fleck was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Tudor Revival style. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Edward J. Fleck except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5537 N. Diversey Boulevard 5041 N. Elkhart Avenue 5113 N. Elkhart Avenue 5006 N. Hollywood Avenue 5012 N. Hollywood Avenue Historic Name Walter A. & Lilith S. Wadsworth House Allen E. & Grace Olson House Lester W. & Pauline M. Thornton House William G. & Luella Stegemeyer House Date 1930 1929 1929 1931 1931 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

80

5024 N. Hollywood Avenue 5028 N. Hollywood Avenue 5032 N. Hollywood Avenue 5014 N. Idlewild Avenue 5020 N. Idlewild Avenue 5026 N. Idlewild Avenue 4626 N. Morris Boulevard 4630 N. Morris Boulevard

H. W. & Edna Hitchings House F. M. & Mildred Houshalter House Howard G. Grimm House

Leslie E. & Helen Scott House Forrest W. & Henrietta Trumpf House Herbert R. & Jean Nachtrab House

1932 1932 1932 1929 1929 1929 1929 1929

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Oscar G. Fromm & Sons Inc. Little is known at the present time about Oscar G. Fromm & Sons Inc. except for the following building included in the survey:
Address 2033 E. Glendale Avenue Historic Name Herbert & Mildred Pritzlaff House Date 1926 Class Eligible

Arthur H. Gauger Arthur H. Gauger was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial Revival style and located in the proposed Cumberland Forest & Palo Alto Residential Historic District and the proposed Lake Crest Residential Historic District. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Arthur H. Gauger except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4849 N. Ardmore Avenue 4861 N. Ardmore Avenue 5230 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5231 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6009 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 826 E. Birch Avenue 741 E. Briarwood Place 908 E. Courtland Place 914 E. Courtland Place 920 E. Courtland Place 926 E. Courtland Place 1012 E. Courtland Place 1413 E. Courtland Place 4717 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5262 N. Diversey Boulevard 5326 N. Diversey Boulevard 5524 N. Diversey Boulevard 5554 N. Diversey Boulevard 4865 N. Elkhart Avenue 1009 E. Hampton Road 1015 E. Hampton Road Historic Name Ivan & Lorraine Potter House Charles & Grace Baeurle House Eric & Helen Whitfield House Arthur H. & Lilian Gauger House R. J. & Florence Baker House Walter H. & Elizabeth John House Walter & Margaret Eckers House J. O. & Madeline Christian House Arthur W. & Lilian Gauger House Thomas J. Sr. & Violet C. Simon House Date 1941 1949 1940 1946 1947 1950 1950 1940 1938 1938 1939 1939 1929 1930 1947 1941 1941 1941 1938 1941 1941 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Clyde W. & Elizabeth W. Gallup House Joseph E. & Ouida Zwisler House Thomas B. & Patricia Trump House Walter C. & Lucille Monroe House Helen Toman House Dr. William E. & Elizabeth DeMakes House Frank Zygarlowski House Arthur H. & Lillian Gauger House

81

5332 N. Hollywood Avenue 5436 N. Hollywood Avenue 5537 N. Hollywood Avenue 5276 N. Kent Avenue 5501 N. Kent Avenue 4677 N. Lake Drive 881 E. Lake Forest Avenue 610 E. Lake View Avenue 4610 & 4612 N. Larkin Street 4626 N. Larkin Street 4630 N. Larkin Street 4633 N. Larkin Street 4651 N. Larkin Street 4764 N. Larkin Street 400 E. Lexington Boulevard 4653 N. Morris Boulevard 4658 N. Morris Boulevard 4659 N. Morris Boulevard 4663 N. Morris Boulevard 4664 N. Morris Boulevard 4671 N. Morris Boulevard 4675 N. Morris Boulevard 5406 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5434 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5737 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4736 N. Sheffield Avenue 4747 N. Sheffield Avenue 4772 N. Sheffield Avenue 4776 N. Sheffield Avenue 4816 N. Sheffield Avenue 5271 N. Shoreland Avenue 5353 N. Shoreland Avenue 5459 N. Shoreland Avenue 5522 N. Shoreland Avenue 5851 N. Shoreland Avenue 832 E. Sylvan Avenue 4685 N. Woodburn Street 4700 N. Woodburn Street 4710 N. Woodburn Street 4718 N. Woodburn Street 4730 N. Woodburn Street 4740 N. Woodburn Street 4817 N. Woodruff Avenue 4917 N. Woodruff Avenue

Frederick W. & Leola Hartmann House C. Albert & Esther Schaefer House William S. & Errica Schmidt House James L. & Henrietta Moore House Earl P. & Dorothy Kornely House Earl J. & Zelda McBradney House Arthur & Lottie Magidson House John Arlington & Lillian M. Potts Duplex Edward W. & Mabel Zinns House Karl & Emma Von Kass House William & Lillian Heym House Hugo & Matie Kraeutlein House George & Winifred Feldt House H. & Dorothy Mitchell House A. F. & Martha Daehn House Arthur H. & Lillian Gauger House Clarence A. Retzlaff House R. S. & Norma Gilfoy House W. J. & Marie J. Koehler House John Andrew & Agnes E. Smith House F. A. & Gertrude Luber House Dr. Howard J. & Dorothea Lee House Emile E. & Cecile Gyss House George Jr. & Jeanette Ballhorn House Monroe W. & Mildred M. Mund House

A. H. & Lillian Gauger House H. C. & Mae Gissel House Donald & Ethel C. Booth House Lewis A. Gordon House Joseph & Carol Mandel House H. A. & Lorraine M. Graf House Richard J. & Bernice M. Lawless House William F. & Violet Graebel House Ralph J. & Estelle Drought House Robert B. & Ethel A. Richards House Charlotte C. Pearson House Harold L. & Grace E. Smith House Walter J. & Alice S. Stahnke House Herman & Eleanor Kuehl House

1945 1949 1945 1940 1940 1952 1950 1951 1926 1928 1927 1927 1926 1942 1949 1929 1929 1929 1929 1928 1928 1928 1949 1949 1948 1939 1940 1939 1939 1940 1940 1940 1940 1940 1945 1948 1929 1929 1929 1929 1929 1929 1938 1941

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

G. M. Building Service Little is known at the present time about G. M. Building Service except for the following buildings included in the survey:

82

Address 5570 N. Lake Drive 5826 N. Lake Drive 739 E. Lake View Avenue 5053 N. Woodburn Street

Historic Name Casa del Lago / Ella S. Frank House E. Heath & Ruth Towne House A. Stumpf House

Date 1924 1923 1923 1924

Class Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Carl F. Golziow Carl F. Golziow was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial and Tudor Revival styles. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Carl F. Golziow except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5825 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5914 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5970 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 4754 N. Hollywood Avenue 5346 N. Kent Avenue 6003 N. Kent Avenue 5129 N. Kimbark Place 5040 N. Shoreland Avenue 5440 N. Shoreland Avenue 5527 N. Shoreland Avenue 5551 N. Shoreland Avenue 5569 N. Shoreland Avenue 5577 N. Shoreland Avenue 5578 N. Shoreland Avenue 4941 N. Woodruff Avenue Historic Name J. W. & Fae Richardson House Erwin C. & Esther Hemn House Ben & Adeline Gotthart House Carl F. & Charlotte A. Golziow House Charlotte Sullivan House Sidney & Shanah Stone House Paul & Rose Ann Just House Dr. George C. & Elsie H. Janke House Date 1938 1929 1935 1929 1941 1930 1949 1932 1935 1937 1938 1937 1935 1937 1941 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Wilbur H. & Alma S. Otten House William & Cynthia Wagner House Katherine Jones House Anthony & Rose Gentilli House

Joseph Grillhoesl Joseph Grillhoesel was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial Revival style. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Joseph Grillhoesl except for the folllowing buildings included in the survey:
Address 4619 N. Ardmore Avenue 4830 N. Ardmore Avenue 5951 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 727 E. Beaumont Avenue 6266 N. Berkley Boulevard 5555 N. Diversey Boulevard 900 E. Hampton Road 908 E Hampton Road 928 E. Hampton Road Historic Name C. Stroble House Willard E. & Mabel E. Miller House Sadie Olson House Mark F. & Florence Johnson House Edwin W. F. & Mary Jane Hanke House Charles R. & Florence Walker House Dr. Norval W. & Thyra McKittrick House Date 1940 1941 1937 1935 1938 1938 1939 1938 1942 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

83

5522 N. Kent Avenue 5730 N. Kent Avenue 4825 N. Sheffield Avenue 4845 N. Sheffield Avenue 5748 N. Shoreland Avenue 4618 N. Wildwood Avenue 4824 N. Woodruff Avenue 4844 N. Woodruff Avenue

Joseph M & Ann L. Mack House Herbert F. & Ada C. Massopust House Elmer J. & Ella Knopf House Clarence L. & Irene Komorek House Ramon L. & Sara Hill Spears House Ralph W. & Loretta L. Schiefelbein House

1937 1937 1937 1940 1935 1940 1937 1940

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Roy E. Haglund Roy E. Haglund advertised himself as a building contractor in the 1939 Whitefish Bay Village Directory.170 A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial Revival style. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Roy E. Haglund except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5956 N. Berkley Boulevard 6130 N. Berkley Boulevard 5236 N. Kent Avenue 6161 N. Kent Avenue 4957 N. Larkin Street 4804 N. Newhall Street 5243 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5232 N. Shoreland Avenue 5412 N. Shoreland Avenue 5418 N. Shoreland Avenue Historic Name Clarence D. & Viola Moll House Richard J. & Edith Porth House N. W. & Audrey Humbaugh House Roy & Frieda Haglund House John V. & Catherine Stevenson House Michael C. & Genevieve A. Frankard House Irvin J. & Harriette A. Ott House A. W. & Edna Voss House Date 1936 1939 1940 1941 1940 1940 1941 1940 1940 1938 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Karl F. Hauser Karl F. Hauser was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial Revival style. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Karl F. Hauser except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5318 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5242 N. Berkley Boulevard 412 E. Hampton Road 512, 518 & 524 E. Henry Clay Street 5230 N. Kent Avenue 6113 N. Lake Drive 5420 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5426 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5825 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5831 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6041 N. Santa Monica Boulevard Historic Name Arnold & Lillian Brandt House Clayton J. & Alice Kemp House Robert P. & Connie Nigbor House Whitefish Bay Manor Apartments Karl F. & Evelyn Hauser House Joe & Eileen Stother House Ben & Leah Jean Ulevich House Frank L. & Lillian Warsh House D. Coyne & Martha Callaghan House Roy F. & Leona Johnson House Ellsworth & Harriett Klein House Date 1947 1949 1951 1949 1946 1951 1947 1947 1947 1947 1948 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

84

5256 N. Shoreland Avenue 4901 N. Wildwood Avenue

Russell A. & Eleanor M. Pratt House

1946 1950

Surveyed Surveyed

Walter H. Hoffman Walter H. Hoffman was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Tudor Revival style and located in the proposed Fairmount & Highland View Residential Historic District. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Walter H. Hoffman except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4810 N. Bartlett Avenue 621 E. Beaumont Avenue 4908 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4914 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4930 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4940 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4944 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4952 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4958 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5421 N. Hollywood Avenue 5012 N. Larkin Street 1153 E. Sylvan Avenue Historic Name Herbert F. & Mildred F. Kaestner House Frank N. & Jessie Hansen House Frank J. & Mathilda Pelich House Paul C. & Helen Downey House Reinhold & Fanita Schemel House Stanley & Marion P. Evans House John A. & Harriet Eifert House Morgan P. & Magdalen H. White House Fred A. & Pauline Mollis House Herman J. & Mary Baerwald House Robert & Marie Greenwald House Ray F. & Helen Beerend House Date 1926 1925 1925 1926 1926 1925 1926 1927 1925 1926 1927 1926 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Charles K. Koeppen Little is known at the present time about the career of Charles K. Koeppen except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5860 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5352 N. Berkley Boulevard 523 E. Carlisle Avenue 5241 N. Diversey Boulevard 5347 N. Diversey Boulevard 5573 N. Hollywood Avenue 6120 N. Kent Avenue 5832 N. Lake Drive 5840 N. Lake Drive 1124 E. Lexington Boulevard 180 E. Montclaire Avenue 5518 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5524 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5546 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5554 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5572 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5053 N. Shoreland Avenue Historic Name Arthur M. & Emma Louise Evans House Edgar & Josephine H. Fuchs House Dr. F. J. & Margaret Zachman House Walter G. & Marjorie G. Muth House Wilson A. & Gertrude C. Dallmann House Minnie Jantzen House Lester H. & Grace Ness House Date 1927 1929 1947 1928 1937 1929 1945 1924 1930 1930 1948 1929 1928 1928 1928 1928 1934 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Robert & Marna Goelzer House Russell & Leda Stephens House Lillian Kraemer House Earl T. & Catherine Netzow House Robert H. & Stella Minor House Arthur & Esther Warshauer House Walter & Susan Majewsky House

85

5454 N. Shoreland Avenue 4626 N. Wildwood Avenue

Anton & Loretta Freihammer House Louis Manthey House

1937 1939

Surveyed Surveyed

Lanham & Son Inc. Lanham & Sons Inc. was a construction company in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings they built in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial and Tudor Revival styles. Little else is known at the present time about Lanham & Son Inc. except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4824 N. Ardmore Avenue 4868 N. Ardmore Avenue 6003 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6048 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 624 E. Beaumont Avenue 630 E. Beaumont Avenue 634 E. Beaumont Avenue 721 E. Beaumont Avenue 5353 N. Berkley Boulevard 5916 N. Berkley Boulevard 5943 N. Berkley Boulevard 6049 N. Berkley Boulevard 6052 N. Berkley Boulevard 6105 N. Berkley Boulevard 6111 N. Berkley Boulevard 6123 N. Berkley Boulevard 619 E. Birch Avenue 707 E. Briarwood Place 715 E. Briarwood Place 730 E. Carlisle Avenue 5666 N. Consaul Place 4907 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4922 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5061 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5475 N. Danbury Road 5510 N. Danbury Road 608 E. Day Avenue 5250 N. Diversey Boulevard 5232 N. Hollywood Avenue 4716 N. Idlewild Avenue 5270 N. Kent Avenue 5970 N. Kent Avenue 6041 N. Kent Avenue 802 E. Lake Forest Avenue 4753 N. Larkin Street 4905 N. Larkin Street 703 E. Lexington Boulevard 709 E. Lexington Boulevard Historic Name T. H. Gill House Julius Vetter House Russell G. & Evelyn Winnie House John D. & Lois C. Bird House E. A. & Eva Kops House Vernon G. & Audrey Brettman House Halfdan E. & Geneva Pedersen House Arthur J. & Agnes Whitcomb House James A. & Shirley Mathews House E. A. & Lula B. Ryan House Lawrence & Eloise Evans House Walter E. & Mary Hardtke House John G. & Florence Wollaeger House Roderick W. Jr. & Dorothy McKinnon House Date 1945 1930 1936 1935 1929 1928 1928 1939 1928 1937 1935 1935 1937 1935 1935 1939 1930 1930 1930 1930 1931 1929 1929 1931 1928 1927 1927 1931 1930 1940 1939 1930 1935 1926 1929 1927 1930 1931 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Dr. J. E. Habbe House Paul E. & Marguerite Friedrich House Jarry D. & Virginia A. Hughes House Mark J. & Margaret L. Bach House Herbert H. & Anna M. Frey House Frederic & Marie F. Sammond House Charles & Minnie Behm House Otto J. & Irene M. Hoff House Barbara K. Beck House Gordon Nelson Ellwood R. & Alice E. Outland House

Edward O. & Alice M. Laue House F. L. & Ruby Hillman House Carroll D. & Janice E. Meyer House George & Margaret Andrae House Morton R. & June Spence House

86

1007 E. Lexington Boulevard 6149 N. Lydell Avenue 5800 N. Maitland Court 405 E. Montclaire Avenue 4976 N. Newhall Street 4522, 4524 & 4526 N. Oakland Avenue 4773 N. Oakland Avenue 4785 N. Oakland Avenue 5158 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6216 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 407 E. School Road 4787 N. Sheffield Avenue 5731 N. Shore Drive 5100 N. Shoreland Avenue 5801 N. Shoreland Avenue 5968 N. Shoreland Avenue 5974 N. Shoreland Avenue 4742 N. Wilshire Road 4816 N. Woodburn Street 4943 N. Woodburn Street 4949 N. Woodburn Street 4961 N. Woodburn Street

Ernest R. & Orma Schlummer House C. E. & Anna Cormany House Charles Alvin & Ruth Jones House Herb C. & Myrtle Hirschbroeck House Dar & Jeanne Vriesman House Lanham & Son Co. Building John R. & Fannie Moore House Frank & Clara Prohaska House Albert J. & June M. Hohberg House Roodell & Margaret Jane Holger House Gerhard H. & Marjorie Kopmeier House Sam & Betty Marsack House John H. & Clarine Woida House A. R. & Letitia J. Hase House W. G. Jr. & Harriet S. Cavanaugh House

Earl & Irma Sedlmayer House Fred L. & Marion W. Good House Samuel & Fanny Zarne House

1929 1935 1927 1936 1941 1931 1940 1940 1939 1937 1941 1940 1929 1940 1936 1931 1937 1930 1930 1928 1928 1929

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Joe P. Linke Joe P. Linke was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial Revival style. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Joe P. Linke except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5237 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5075 N. Berkley Boulevard 801 E. Chateau Place 5567 N. Diversey Boulevard 630 E. Fairmount Avenue 1540 E. Fairmount Avenue 5226 N. Hollywood Avenue 5008 N. Idlewild Avenue 5461 N. Kent Avenue 5324 N. Shoreland Avenue Historic Name Ray & Beatrice Galineau House George E. & Anne Meiroff House Elmer & Olga Abraham House Henry W. & Loretta Bierman House Elroy & Alice Dohmeyer House Fred & Fannie Hirsch House Russell I. & Vesta Robinson House Roy E. & Louise E. Schultz House Hugo H. & Annette Butzke House Chester & Virginia Hochschild House Date 1949 1945 1945 1945 1945 1949 1945 1936 1936 1936 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Frank L. Ludwig Frank L. Ludwig was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. Buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Mediteranean and Spanish Colonial Revival styles.

87

Little else is known at the present time about the career of Frank L. Ludwig except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 633 E. Beaumont Avenue 823 E. Birch Avenue 827 E. Birch Avenue Historic Name Date 1923 1922 1922 Class Surveyed Eligible Eligible

Lupinski & Wolff Lupinski & Wolf was a construction company that was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings they built in Whitefish Bay are of the Tudor Revival style. Little else is known at the present time about Lupinski & Wolff except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4627 N. Ardmore Avenue 5340 N. Berkley Boulevard 5531 N. Berkley Boulevard 848 E. Birch Avenue 1020 E. Circle Drive 1094 E. Circle Drive 4757 N. Cramer Street 1901 E. Cumberland Boulevard 5525 N. Diversey Boulevard 5531 N. Diversey Boulevard 1200 E. Hampton Road 1810 E. Hampton Road 4837 N. Lake Drive 5655 N. Lake Drive 902 E. Lexington Boulevard 1048 E. Lexington Boulevard 4830 N. Oakland Avenue 4737 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name Frank Himmelstein House Fred J. & Elvina L. Collins House Gustav Frey House Judge Otto & Louise Breidenbach House Herbert Frank House Rich & Julia Hallstrom House Armin & Frieda Finger House Andrew R. & Irene W. Meyers House Edwind D. & Adele Hinton House Bay Shore Evangelical Lutheran Church George & Margaret Schueller House Christ Episcopal Church Addition Ray E. & Eleanore Rilling House Date 1939 1927 1927 1925 1923 1927 1929 1947 1930 1928 1948 1924 1926 1956 1925 1924 1923 1930 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Eligible Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Dr. R. W. Roethke House

Maynard & Picken Maynard & Picken was a construction company that was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings they built in Whitefish Bay are of the Tudor Revival style. Little else is known at the present time about Maynard & Picken except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4534 N. Cramer Street 1609 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1621 E. Cumberland Boulevard 5022 N. Cumberland Boulevard Historic Name T. D. & Dorothea G. Montgomery House Clair P. & Florence S. Nourse House Fred F. & Marie Hatcher House Dale M. & Esther C. Perrill House Date 1927 1929 1929 1928 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

88

5026 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5034 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5009 N. Lake Drive 5017 N. Lake Drive 5025 N. Lake Drive 5029 N. Lake Drive 5037 N. Lake Drive 5049 N. Lake Drive 5015 N. Larkin Street 5021 N. Larkin Street 5031 N. Larkin Street 5056 N. Larkin Street 5066 N. Larkin Street 5072 N. Larkin Street 616 E. Lexington Boulevard

Lawrence N. & Agnes Schmitt House O. N. & Apal Adams House Adam J. & Louise Berger House F. C. & Martha Lienemann House John W. & Gertrude F. E. Buss House John C. & Elsie Lillis House Frank & Cecelia Boehm House S. B. & Alpha Jacobson House Roland B. & Esther Remley House Raymond J. & Clara Hutchings House Herbert G. & Ruth Laev House Paul C. & Eleanor Neacy House Mrs. Fred W. Black House

1930 1931 1928 1927 1927 1927 1926 1926 1928 1928 1929 1930 1929 1929 1931

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Melnik Brothers Melnik Brothers was established sometime after 1930 by architect M. A. Melnik and his brothers, Morris and Leo Melnik.171 A large number of the buildings they built in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial Revival style and located in the proposed Cumberland Forest & Palo Alto Residential Historic District. Little else is known at the present time about the career of the Melnik Brothers except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4647 N. Ardmore Avenue 4659 N. Ardmore Avenue 4831 N. Ardmore Avenue 4837 N. Ardmore Avenue 4862 N. Ardmore Avenue 1101 E. Courtland Place 1107 E. Courtland Place 1111 E. Courtland Place 1119 E. Courtland Place 1200 E. Courtland Place 1211 E. Courtland Place 1212 E. Courtland Place 1218 E. Courtland Place 1221 E. Courtland Place 5231 N. Kent Avenue 4643 N. Wildwood Avenue 4652 N. Wildwood Avenue 4658 N. Wildwood Avenue Historic Name M. A. Melnik House Morris Melnik House Phillip J. & Monya Tolkan House Gene & Ruth Posner House David Malmon House Herbert A. & Myrtle L. Froemming House Henry Gottschalk House Charles C. & Gladys Bartlett House J. Herbert & Alberta Stone House George & Alice Coplin House George E. Morse House Irving M. & Minnie Coplin House Nathan P. & Miriam Breslauer House P. Y. & Reene Tumy House Henry M. & Sylvia Kaufman House Ray Blumberg House Leslie & Jean Reder House Date 1940 1940 1948 1948 1939 1941 1941 1941 1940 1941 1940 1941 1942 1940 1940 1941 1939 1941 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

89

Meredith Brothers Inc. Little is known at the present time about the career of the Meredith Brothers except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 302, 304, 308, 312, 314, 316, 318, 322, 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring Dr. 4849 N. Wildwood Avenue Historic Name Fox Bay Building Holy Family Parish School Date 1948 1950 Class Eligible Eligible

Harry Mewes Harry Mewes was born in Milwaukee in 1891. Before learning the construction trades, Mewes attended evening classes in business and drafting. Before starting his own company in 1919, he worked as a foreman for several local builders. Between 1929 and 1933, his company built a speculative development of 13 houses along Woodburn Street that he advertised as SuperValue. Mewes specialized in brick veneer residences, and during the height of his career he averaged building 40 to 50 houses across the Milwaukee area.172 A large number of the buildings Harry Mewes built in Whitefish Bay are of the Tudor Revival style and located in the proposed Cumberland Forest & Palo Alto Residential Historic District. Buildings associated with Harry Mewes in this survey include the following:
Address 5661 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 749 E. Beaumont Avenue 5006 N. Berkley Boulevard 5347 N. Berkley Boulevard 4733 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4741 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4745 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4751 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4759 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4765 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4853 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4854 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4860 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4863 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4906 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5255 N. Diversey Street 5579 N. Diversey Street 5561 N. Kent Avenue 4767 N. Larkin Street 4775 N. Larkin Street 4785 N. Larkin Street 4764 N. Newhall Street 5527 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5867 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 802 E. Sylvan Avenue Historic Name Lombardy House Herbert E. & Mary C. Mason House F. Spies House Victor F. & Mildred V. Braun House Fred K. & Hazel Breithaupt House Charles G. & Edna Bach House Dr. Bert E. & Winifred B. Hewitt House Albert J. & Marguirite Beckman House Louis M. & Ella M. Kornreich House August J. & Meta E. Weber House Arthur & Alby Snapper House Edward J. Meyer House Nelson B. Nelson House Mrs. H. G. Heubert House Leonard Gordon & Naomi Cramer House Arwin & Winifred Lisius House Herman O. & Elvina Giljohann House Theo J. & Bertha J. Buettner House Dr. Royal & Evelyn Lee House Arthur E. & Grace S. Giljohann House John C. & Anna Bluhm House Howard H. & Virginia H. Honaker House Otto T. & Emma Paulson House Date 1939 1928 1939 1930 1928 1929 1928 1928 1929 1928 1929 1929 1934 1932 1927 1939 1945 1945 1928 1928 1928 1928 1928 1945 1925 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

90

4701 N. Woodburn Street 4711 N. Woodburn Street 4721 N. Woodburn Street 4731 N. Woodburn Street 4737 N. Woodburn Street 4745 N. Woodburn Street 4751 N. Woodburn Street 4759 N. Woodburn Street 4765 N. Woodburn Street 4777 N. Woodburn Street 4783 N. Woodburn Street 4791 N. Woodburn Street 4797 N. Woodburn Street

Fred A. & Josephine Gebhardt House Irving S. & Louise P. Bilty House William J. & Ottlie Kunz House

Samuel C. & Sarah Kops House Joseph L. & Adela Columbo House Walter J. & Bertha J. Bauer House Richard & Mabel Baarth House Edwin C. & Erna Rockrohr House George L. Thomas House

1933 1932 1931 1930 1930 1930 1930 1929 1929 1929 1929 1929 1929

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Milwaukee Construction Corporation The Milwaukee Construction Corporation was a construction company that was active in the Milwaukee area. Many of the buildings they built in Whitefish Bay are of the Tudor Revival style and located in the proposed Cumberland Forest & Palo Alto Residential Historic District. Little else is known at the present time about Milwaukee Construction Corporation except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4725 N. Bartlett Avenue 840 E. Birch Avenue 5078 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4616 N. Larkin Street 4636 N. Larkin Street 4639 N. Larkin Street 4645 N. Larkin Street 4770 N. Larkin Street 4776 N. Larkin Street 4636 N. Murray Avenue 5723 N. Shore Drive Historic Name Barth & Florence Chudik House Bernhard & Ruth Seligman House Ralph A. & Iva A. Chamberlin House Samuel J. & Lydia Newton House E. C. & Irene Dallman House William Last House Walter L. & Mae Tank House Frank & Myrtle Dite House Henry & Alice Lillie House Arthur J. & Della G. Hamel House Byron & Dorothy Heinemann House Date 1928 1928 1928 1927 1927 1926 1926 1927 1927 1927 1928 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Michael Mravik Little is known at the present time about the career of Michael Mravik except for the following building included in the survey:
Address 4815 & 4825 N. Wildwood Ave.; 4810 N. Marlborough Drive Historic Name Holy Family Catholic Church & Rectory Date 1969 Class Eligible

Arthur A. Nickel Arthur A. Nickel was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Tudor Revival style.

91

Little else is known at the present time about the career of Arthur A. Nickel except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5912 N. Berkley Boulevard 5955 N. Berkley Boulevard 5332 N. Diversey Boulevard 5426 N. Diversey Boulevard 5075 N. Elkhart Avenue 5033 N. Idlewild Avenue 5039 N. Idlewild Avenue 5118 N. Idlewild Avenue 5124 N. Idlewild Avenue 5135 N. Idlewild Avenue 5724 N. Kent Avenue 5844 N. Kent Avenue 5026 N. Woodruff Avenue Historic Name John D. & Rosina Mazurette House Wesley B. & Edna B. Walker House Al J. & Esther Koch House A. J. Braun House Arthur A. & Bertha Nickel House Henry & Nyda Anderson House Mortimer J. & Eulane A. Thompson House Walter P. & Georgianna J. Hanley House Date 1931 1931 1929 1929 1926 1931 1930 1928 1928 1931 1930 1931 1928 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Albert R. & Catherine Tomson House Lewis E. & Grace A. Sawyer House

OConner & Zimmerman Inc. OConner & Zimmerman was a construction company that was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings they built in Whitefish Bay are of the Tudor Revival style and located in the proposed Lake Crest Residential Historic District. Little else is known at the present time about OConner & Zimmerman Inc. except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4947 N. Ardmore Avenue 5516 N. Berkley Boulevard 204 E. Birch Avenue 5305 N. Diversey Boulevard 5353 N. Diversey Boulevard 5359 N. Diversey Boulevard 5504 N. Diversey Boulevard 5505 N. Diversey Boulevard 5262 N. Hollywood Avenue 5749 N. Kent Avenue 5521 N. Marlborough Drive 5226 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5330 N. Shoreland Avenue 5424 N. Shoreland Avenue 5436 N. Shoreland Avenue Historic Name Harry Davis House W. M. & Viola H. Trost House Jerome J. & Cecelia Conway House Dr. G. H. & Alice Pugh House Irwin A. & Clara E. McIntyre House Ralph H. & Elenora Petersen House Frank A. & Anne Malloy House Mrs. Pauline Treis House W. Robert & Catherine Hileman House Mary Lauer House Eric F. & Gertrude Hartert House Joseph M. & Verona Wirth House Irvin J. & Harriett A. Ott House G. J. & Maryan Bergman House Date 1932 1935 1931 1933 1931 1931 1932 1932 1931 1931 1931 1936 1931 1931 1935 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Frank Oscars Frank Oscars was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Mediteranean Revival style and located in the proposed Lake Crest Residential Historic District. 92

Little else is known at the present time about the career of Frank Oscars except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 319 E. Birch Avenue 4965 N. Lake Drive 5260 N. Santa Monica Boulevard Historic Name Matthew & Bess Finkler House Richard D. & Agetha R. Harvey House B. F. Fisher House Date 1929 1929 1929 Class Surveyed Eligible Eligible

Powell Brothers The Powell Brothers, a partnership between Albert E. Powell, Hector M. Powell, and architect McCutcheon Powell, advertised themselves as general contractors, certified builders of insulated homes, and realtors with an office located at 139 Silver Spring Drive in the 1929-30 Whitefish Bay Village Directory.173 A large number of the buildings the Powell Brothers built in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial Revival style and located in the proposed Bay Ridge & Kent Avenues Residential Historic District. Little else is known at the present time about the career of the Powell Brothers except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5800 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5801 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6010 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6025 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6121 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6129 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6134 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6135 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6141 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6167 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6175 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6245 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5278 N. Berkley Boulevard 5327 N. Berkley Boulevard 5525 N. Berkley Boulevard 5964 N. Berkley Boulevard 6141 N. Berkley Boulevard 6144 N. Berkley Boulevard 6329 N. Berkley Boulevard 6360 N. Berkley Boulevard 207 E. Day Avenue 5530 N. Diversey Boulevard 1212 E. Henry Clay Street 1218 E. Henry Clay Street 5320 N. Hollywood Avenue 5415 N. Hollywood Avenue 5420 N. Hollywood Avenue 5550 N. Hollywood Avenue 5275 N. Idlewild Avenue Historic Name Arno C. & Mary E. Johnson House H. J. & Adelene Ramaker House Lester S. & Elizabeth Clemons House Benjamin J. & Marie Cihak House Roger E. & Doris Joys House Dr. Emmett F. & Janet J. Guy House John D. & Jo Swift House Paul A. & Ruby O. Parker House Arthur G. & Lillian E. Adams House Carl N. & Hildreth Iffert House Lawrence & Urn Funk House Max R. & Mildred H. Niederer House L. Burton & Florence Jenson House Throan T. & Margaret Bakke House Dr. Mark T. & Margaret T. Bach House McCutcheon & Margaret J.. Powell House Austin A. & Dorothy Petersen House A. W. & Ethel F. Vogt House Arthur & Margaret Coulthard House Herman & Martine Hoelzer House A. M. & Bessie Baker House F. Fletcher Mulkey House William H. & Florence Ten Haken House A. N. Thomas Robert H. & Nell Weaver House Date 1939 1936 1934 1935 1930 1928 1929 1934 1938 1929 1929 1937 1935 1935 1929 1938 1939 1940 1935 1939 1935 1931 1929 1928 1932 1931 1935 1931 1935 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

93

5333 N. Idlewild Avenue 5409 N. Idlewild Avenue 5831 N. Kent Avenue 5901 N. Kent Avenue 5960 N. Kent Avenue 5964 N. Kent Avenue 6015 N. Kent Avenue 6031 N. Kent Avenue 6055 N. Kent Avenue 6063 N. Kent Avenue 6068 N. Kent Avenue 6069 N. Kent Avenue 6074 N. Kent Avenue 6075 N. Kent Avenue 6103 N. Kent Avenue 6115 N. Kent Avenue 6141 N. Kent Avenue 6148 N. Kent Avenue 6154 N. Kent Avenue 6160 N. Kent Avenue 6166 N. Kent Avenue 6174 N. Kent Avenue 5835 N. Lake Drive 6301 N. Lake Drive 6305 N. Lake Drive 6325 N. Lake Drive 6375 N. Lake Drive 609 & 611 E. Lake View Avenue 4936 N. Newhall Street 4944 N. Newhall Street 5049 N. Palisades Road 331 E. School Road 4610 N. Sheffield Avenue 5601 N. Shore Drive 5238 N. Shoreland Avenue 5400 N. Shoreland Avenue 5745 N. Shoreland Avenue 5975 N. Shoreland Avenue 421, 423, 425 & 427 E. Silver Spring Dr. 517 E. Silver Spring Drive 1108 E. Sylvan Avenue 4903 N. Woodburn Street

Floyd & Zelma Larkin House Charles N. & Irma L. Christiansen House Walter R. & Genevieve Neilson House R. F. & Helen Jerome House Grover C. & Isabelle Filbach House Lawrence William & Anna M. Toelle House Lando F. & Florence M. Gran House Lawrence S. & Mildred M. Roberts House Nelson C. & Carol Hall House Edwin & Margaret Smalley House Lawrence G. & Gertrude Singer House H. F. & Eleanor Pugh House Arthur C. & Ruth Kuesel House Leo & Loretta K. Rice House M. R. & Mildred H. Niederer House Arnold C. & Adele M. Neilson House Max R. & Mildred Neiderer House Nelson C. & Carol Hall House Louis J. & Manila Best House Ralph A. & Lora Lunz House Dr. E. O. & Jassamine Gertenbach House A. C. & Adele Nielsen House A. Cirkle Duplex Henry G. & Margaret B. Kuether House Alix & Valaria Prinz House Victor V. & Aileen R. Dahl House Richard L. & Sarah Jones House Robert H. & Nell Weaver House

A. R. Sleet House Alfred & Barbara D. Perego House Hannah Meredic Building National Tea Company Building Huntington & Beatrice Patch House

1932 1936 1927 1928 1926 1928 1930 1938 1928 1928 1930 1928 1930 1929 1929 1928 1940 1941 1938 1938 1940 1939 1937 1939 1938 1940 1941 1927 1928 1928 1941 1941 1936 1941 1939 1940 1929 1927 1926 1932 1927 1930

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Leonard W. Rosnow Leonard W. Rosnow was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Tudor Revival style and located in the proposed Cumberland Forest & Palo Alto Residential Historic District.

94

Little else is known at the present time about the career of Leonard W. Rosnow except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5524 N. Berkley Boulevard 824 E. Chateau Place 1579 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1601 E. Cumberland Boulevard 4912 N. Elkhart Avenue 4919 N. Elkhart Avenue 4925 N. Elkhart Avenue 4930 N. Elkhart Avenue 4924 N. Idlewild Avenue 4928 N. Idlewild Avenue 4934 N. Idlewild Avenue 4737 N. Larkin Street 6069 N. Lydell Avenue 4677 N. Woodburn Street 4706 N. Woodburn Street 4923 N. Woodruff Avenue Historic Name Herman Jr. & Madeline Bardele House Dr. Frederick E. & Joy Hecker House William & Bernice Doll House Russell A. & Odessa Clark House Joseph E. & Ruth Sullivan House Date 1933 1940 1931 1931 1942 1938 1937 1941 1937 1936 1936 1932 1939 1931 1933 1940 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

John G. & Florence Wollager House Henry C. & Nyda Anderson House Carl H. & Merrill Schubert House Leonard M. & Esther M. Weeks House Henry W. & Ruth Brauch House Le Roy & Amanda Henze House David W. & Bernice Livingston House Harry & Georgia Stewart-Moore House

H. Schmitt & Son Inc. Little is known at the present time about H. Schmitt & Son Inc. except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5925 N. Lake Drive 5960 N. Lake Drive 4857 N. Oakland Avenue 430 E. Silver Spring Drive Historic Name Alfred R. & Adele Knop House Raymond & Teresa Jaekels House Sterling Savings & Loan Association Building Date 1924 1929 1923 1962 Class Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed

Scholtka Brothers Inc. Little is known at the present time about the career of the Scholtka Brothers except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4901 N. Ardmore Avenue 1567 E. Blackthorne Place 5561 N. Diversey Boulevard 330 E. Lake View Avenue 5342 N. Shoreland Avenue 941 E. Sylvan Avenue Historic Name Clynt A. & Ann Martin House Frank & Annette Chudik House Peter F. & Christene Hansen House Oliver A. & Alta Friedman House Barbara Goll House Harold & Amelia Levine House Date 1937 1929 1926 1926 1936 1940 Class Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Val M. Schramka Val M. Schramka advertised himself as a builder of stone and brick houses in the 1929-1932 Whitefish Bay Village Directories. 174 A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay 95

are of the Tudor Revival style and located in the proposed Lawndale Residential Historic District. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Val M. Schramka except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4967 N. Ardmore Avenue 5106 N. Ardmore Avenue 5152 N. Ardmore Avenue 5158 N. Ardmore Avenue 5265 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 720 E. Beaumont Avenue 521 E. Belle Avenue 607 E. Belle Avenue 721 E. Briarwood Place 729 E. Briarwood Place 301 E. Carlisle Avenue 353 E. Carlisle Avenue 524 E. Carlisle Avenue 601 E. Carlisle Avenue 701 E. Carlisle Avenue 4760 N. Diversey Boulevard 5026 N. Elkhart Avenue 132 W. Henry Clay Street 5352 N. Hollywood Avenue 5508 N. Hollywood Avenue 5127 N. Idlewild Avenue 5851 N. Lake Drive 638 E. Lake View Avenue 714 E. Lake View Avenue 717 E. Lake View Avenue 722 E. Lake View Avenue 725 E. Lake View Avenue 731 E. Lake View Avenue 4744 N. Larkin Street 409 E. Lexington Boulevard 419 E. Lexington Boulevard 507 E. Lexington Boulevard 521 E. Lexington Boulevard 5842 N. Maitland Court 5850 N. Maitland Court 4607 N. Murray Avenue 4627 N. Newhall Street 5333 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5715 N. Shore Drive 5819 N. Shore Drive 5827 N. Shore Drive 5835 N. Shore Drive 5841 N. Shore Drive Historic Name Dr. R. A. & Bessie Kaddatz House Harold S. & Catherine L. Leich House Thomas & Anna Lewis House Alvin & Ruth Neisser House William & Mae Hart House Nathan H. & Edith Eppstein House John N. & Helen Neusworth House S. Lacy & Edna Crolius House Emil C. & Loraine Weissinger House Joseph & Chloe Weber House Val M. & Anna Schramka House Walter S. & Kathryn W. Smith House Albert L. & Frieda Mayenshein House Richard E. & Alyx Boehck House Edward J. & Hazel Deguenther House Hubert F. & Laura Geimer House Ernest H. & Esther H. Berger House Val & Ana Schramka House James Arthur & Sarah C. Butler House Major M. L. & Alberta McCreary House Frenk C. & Marie Wrecza House Dr. McKinley W. & Agnes G. Jambor House F. F. & Edith Johnson House Ralph S. & Frances I. Walter House Dr. Edmund & Katherine Mensing House Kenton H. Jr. & Dorothy Clarke House Richard C. & Johanna Bateman House Leon C. & Ruth Schwab House Anton & Mathilde Arnosti House Rudloph & Dorothy Steller House Date 1936 1936 1932 1932 1940 1926 1928 1928 1926 1926 1945 1927 1926 1925 1928 1946 1926 1937 1927 1936 1931 1937 1926 1925 1926 1927 1926 1926 1933 1930 1929 1930 1930 1927 1927 1928 1939 1940 1928 1927 1927 1930 1927 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed

William D. & Helen R. Hobbins House Edwin Schmidt House J. M. & Ann K. Aldrich House Allen E. & Grace Olsen House Howard J. & Viviane Beck House Ignatz & Hilda Wetzel House Dr. Edwards H. & Katherine Mensing House Gerhard G. Fisher House George J. & Hilda Roska House

96

5851 N. Shore Drive 5859 N. Shore Drive 5049 N. Shoreland Avenue 5121 N. Shoreland Avenue 5243 N. Shoreland Avenue 5312 N. Shoreland Avenue 5512 N. Shoreland Avenue 5536 N. Shoreland Avenue 715 E. Sylvan Avenue 716 E. Sylvan Avenue 721 E. Sylvan Avenue 722 E. Sylvan Avenue 801 E. Sylvan Avenue 809 E. Sylvan Avenue 1012 E. Sylvan Avenue 4961 N. Woodruff Avenue

Carl H. & Johanna Landwehr House Julius E. & Adelaide J. Kranstover House Terese E. McNeel House Walter C. & Edna Kluge House Walter R. & Verna Hall House Ella Barnett House Joseph M. & Lorene Duero House Fred J. & Gertrude Seitz House Val & Anna Schramka House Arthur E. & Hildegarde Trost House Arthur W. & Anna M. Friend House Max G. Jr. & Gertrude Belau House Christian L. & Clara Schultz House Walter C. & Hilda Buenger House Eldred & Muriel Keays House Irving Jr. & Agnes B. Brown House

1927 1927 1934 1936 1936 1931 1936 1935 1926 1928 1926 1928 1929 1931 1929 1936

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Frances J. Schroedel Construction Company The Frances J. Schroedel Construction Company was advertised in the 1958-59 Whitefish Bay Village Directory.175 Before that time, the company constructed and managed a large apartment complex named Estabrook Homes just across village limits in Shorewood. During the 1940s, the company began purchasing property that was newly annexed into the village of Whitefish Bay on which to construct a multi-family residential development. Controversy surrounded the rezoning of this property from multi- to single-family residential; litigation ensued. In 1950, after winning an appeal to the Wisconsin Supreme Court, Schroedel was granted building permits to construct the Bay Village Apartments, which comprise a large portion of the proposed Village Residential Historic District. 176 Buildings associated with the Frances J. Schroedel Construction Company in this survey include:
Address 4801, 4803, 4805, 4807, 4809, 4811, 4813, 4815, 4817, 4819, 4821, 4823, 4825, 4827, 4829 & 4831 N. Anita Ave. 4833, 4835, 4837, 4839, 4841, 4843, 4845, 4847, 4849, 4851, 4853, 4855, 4857, 4859, 4861 & 4863 N. Anita Ave. 4864, 4866, 4868, 4870, 4872, 4874, 4876, 4878, 4880, 4882, 4884, 4886, 4888, 4890, 4892 & 4894 N. Anita Ave. 4865, 4867, 4869, 4871, 4873, 4875, 4877, 4879, 4881, 4883, 4885, 4887, 4889, 4891, 4893 & 4895 N. Anita Ave. 4901, 4903, 4905, 4907, 4909, 4911, 4913, 4915, 4917, 4919, 4921, 4923, 4925, 4927, 4929 & 4931 N. Anita Ave. 124 W. Belle Avenue 100, 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, 126, 128 & 130 E. Chateau Place Historic Name Anita Building Corporation Apartments Barbara Building Corporation Apartments Terese Building Corporation Apartments Catherine Building Corporation Apartments Diana Building Corporation Apartments Sylvester A. & Mae Yost House Georgia Building Corporation Apartments Date 1952 1952 1952 1952 1952 1937 1950 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

97

115, 117, 119, 121, 123, 125, 127, 129, 131, 133, 135, 137, 139, 141, 143 & 145 E. Chateau Place 132, 134, 136, 138, 140, 142, 144, 146, 148, 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160 & 162 E. Chateau Place 164, 166, 168, 170, 172, 174, 176, 178, 200, 202, 204, 206, 208, 210, 212 & 214 E. Chateau Place 216, 218, 220, 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, 232, 234, 236, 238, 240, 242, 244 & 246 E. Chateau Place 100, 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, 126, 128 & 130 W. Chateau Place 101, 103, 105, 107, 109, 111, 113, 115, 117, 119, 121, 123, 125, 127, 129 & 131 W. Chateau Place 818 E. Hampton Road 4833, 4835, 4837, 4839, 4841, 4843, 4845, 4847, 4849, 4851, 4853, 4855, 4857, 4859, 4861 & 4863 N. Santa Monica Blvd. 4865, 4867, 4869, 4871, 4873, 4875, 4877, 4879, 4881, 4883, 4885, 4887, 4889, 4891, 4893 & 4895 N. Santa Monica Blvd. 4901, 4903, 4905, 4907, 4909, 4911, 4913, 4915, 4917, 4919, 4921, 4923, 4925, 4927, 4929 & 4931 N. Santa Monica Blvd. 4930 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4951, 4953, 4955, 4957, 4959 & 4961 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5075 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4932, 4934, 4936, 4938, 4940, 4942, 4944, 4946, 4949, 4950, 4952, 4954, 4956, 4958, 4960 & 4962 N. Shoreland Ave. 4864, 4866, 4868, 4870, 4872, 4874, 4876, 4878, 4880, 4882, 4884, 4886, 4888, 4890, 4892 & 4894 N. Shoreland Ave. 4865, 4867, 4869, 4871, 4873, 4875, 4877, 4879, 4881, 4883, 4885, 4887, 4889, 4891, 4893 & 4895 N. Shoreland Ave. 4900, 4902, 4904, 4906, 4908, 4910, 4912, 4914, 4916, 4918, 4920, 4922, 4924, 4926, 4928 & 4930 N. Shoreland Ave. 4901, 4903, 4905, 4907, 4909, 4911, 4913, 4915, 4917, 4919, 4921, 4923, 4925, 4927, 4929 & 4931 N. Shoreland Ave.

Shirley Building Corporation Apartments Helena Building Corporation Apartments Ivy Building Corporation Apartments Joyce Building Corporation Apartments Frances Building Corporation Apartments Elizabeth Building Corporation Apartments Roy P. & Ina M. Schroedel House Margo Building Corporation Apartments Lisa Building Corporation Apartments Karen Building Corporation Apartments Randolph & Amy Pilling House Monica Building Corporation Apartments Robert F. Kruecke House Nina Building Corporation Apartments Olympia Building Corporation Apartments Urania Building Corporation Apartments Patricia Building Corporation Apartments Rita Building Corporation Apartments

1950 1950 1950 1950 1950 1950 1945 1951 1951 1951 1950 1949 1928 1952 1952 1952 1952 1952

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Emil C. Schroeder Little is known at the present time about the career of Emil C. Schroeder except for the following buildings included in the survey:

98

Address 5907 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 1620 E. Cumberland Boulevard 4701 N. Cumberland Boulevard

Historic Name Victor & Helen Lichtensteiger House William & Ida Temkin House Joseph M & Yetta G. Schutkin House

Date 1931 1929 1928

Class Surveyed Eligible Surveyed

Walter C. Schroeder The Walter C. Schroeder advertised himself as the designer and builder of custom residences in the 1958-1963 Whitefish Bay Village Directories. 177 A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial Revival style. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Walter C. Schroeder except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4930 N. Ardmore Avenue 5170 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5243 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5419 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5516 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6257 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 733 E. Beaumont Avenue 4751 N. Berkley Boulevard 5360 N. Berkley Boulevard 5451 N. Berkley Boulevard 6043 N. Berkley Boulevard 519 E. Birch Avenue 330 E. Carlisle Avenue 334 E. Carlisle Avenue 340 E. Carlisle Avenue 404 E. Carlisle Avenue 501 E. Chateau Place 900 E. Circle Drive 906 E. Circle Drive 912 E. Colfax Place 1030 E. Courtland Place 4939 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5109 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5566 N. Diversey Boulevard 5572 N. Diversey Boulevard 4864 N. Elkhart Avenue 858 E. Glen Avenue 2201 E. Glendale Avenue 5241 N. Hollywood Avenue 5409 N. Hollywood Avenue 5341 N. Idlewild Avenue 5237 N. Kent Avenue 5249 N. Kent Avenue 5264 N. Kent Avenue 5718 N. Kent Avenue Historic Name A. S. Morsell Jr. House Maurice J. & Eleanor Doherty House Don & Elaine Trindle House Richard & Marie Siegl House Gossen House J. H. & Marjorie McNeil House William F. & Anna C. Host House Harold & Hilda Mudge House Clarence A. & Dorothy E. Westring House Frank A. & Alice D. Mack House Oscar C. & Mary Gruender House Frank A. & Alice D. Mack House Rudolph H. & Evelyn Mayer House John G. & Sadie H. Freeman House Elizabeth G. Marshall House O. & Millen Cornish House Melvin W. & Ann Stehr House Mary Uihlein Cunningham House Dr. Eugene J. & Edythe Ackerman House Adelbert & Anne Rietz House Dr. Charles L. & Shirley Weisenthal House Date 1934 1942 1948 1941 1939 1931 1933 1938 1935 1940 1936 1938 1934 1936 1931 1935 1949 1948 1948 1945 1962 1930 1934 1941 1941 1936 1936 1941 1930 1930 1938 1948 1941 1941 1941 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Ervin & Ethel Preuss House B. F. & Clare Otto House Henry O. & Mary A. Walters House Edgar H. & Emma Wilson House Dr. David E. W. & Margaret Wenstrand House N. I. Hilton Joseph C. Van Ess House Earl G. & Hazel Lake House George P. & Joan Gross House

Phil K. Berger House

99

5756 N. Kent Avenue 5760 N. Kent Avenue 5761 N. Kent Avenue 5826 N. Kent Avenue 5948 N. Kent Avenue 4611 N. Lake Drive 5530 N. Lake Drive 5560 N. Lake Drive 5677 N. Lake Drive 205 E. Lancaster Avenue 133 W. Monrovia Avenue 4827 N. Newhall Street 5065 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5837 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6036 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4646 N. Sheffield Avenue 4714 N. Sheffield Avenue 4871 N. Sheffield Avenue 5057 N. Shoreland Avenue 5063 N. Shoreland Avenue 5069 N. Shoreland Avenue 5070 N. Shoreland Avenue 5415 N. Shoreland Avenue 5430 N. Shoreland Avenue 5019 N. Woodburn Street 5025 N. Woodburn Street 5026 N. Woodburn Street 5030 N. Woodburn Street 5031 N. Woodburn Street 5059 N. Woodburn Street 4742 N. Woodruff Avenue 4829 N. Woodruff Avenue 4850 N. Woodruff Avenue

G. C. & Bessie M. Maassen House Earl & Clara Anderson House James H. & Elizabeth Rank House W. Hackett Jr. & Bernice Emory House Edward H. & Frances Borgelt House Dr. J. T. & Mary Klein House Walter C. & Hedwig Schroeder House Paul M. & Florence R. Becker House George & Lois Wesler House Frank J. & Lucia M. Klinka House Howard W. & Buelah Kortsehl House Henry W. Jr. & Loretta Bierman House William J. & Rosemarie Harley House Roland A. & Lydia Rabe House Dr. Albert C. & Margaret M. Schmidt House John T. & Hattie C. Conrardy House Arnold F. & Nelda E. Wegener House Joseph J. & Ella E. Hoffman House Felix F. & Beata B. Altenbach House W. W. & Dorothy Higgins House Benjamin G. & Margaret Getz House R. Libke House William E. & Kathryn Simons House Frank J. Edwards House Frederick E. & Katherine Luedke House Holgar L. & Ellen Mitchell House Howard J. & Grace Pollock House Chester & Mary Jane Urmanski House

1938 1942 1939 1941 1936 1958 1957 1946 1950 1935 1948 1936 1931 1938 1937 1937 1936 1939 1931 1927 1929 1931 1938 1935 1939 1939 1941 1940 1939 1938 1937 1937 1936

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Selzer-Ornst Company Little is known at the present time about the Selzer-Ornst Company except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5611, 5623 & 5629 N. Lake Drive Historic Name Whitefish Bay Pharmacy Building Date 1950 Class Eligible

Paul Senn Paul Senn was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial Revival style. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Paul Senn except for the following buildings included in the survey:

100

Address 4800 N. Ardmore Avenue 5400 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6300 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6027 N. Berkley Boulevard 4829 N. Elkhart Avenue 4924 N. Elkhart Avenue 4816 N. Idlewild Avenue 4832 N. Idlewild Avenue 4842 N. Idlewild Avenue 4854 N. Idlewild Avenue 4864 N. Idlewild Avenue 5423 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6260 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6266 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6073 N. Shoreland Avenue 834 E. Silver Spring Drive

Historic Name Dr. Samuel J. & Ceciele Sweet House Herbert F. & Dorothy Jean Mitchell House Gardner & Mary Friedlander House Gerald & Sally Vought House Leonard L. & Mary Minash House C. Morgan & Irene Curtis House Albert S. & Mary McKaig House Earl F. & Gladys Dosch House Robert A. & Dorothy I. Praefke House George W. & Julie W. Chipley House Jerome & Ruth W. Belgard House Edwin O. & Hilda M. Martinson House Leland & Mildred Baum House W. R. & Bernice Conaton House Nicholas & Rose Gagliano House Lyle & Arlene Kamradt House

Date 1951 1946 1947 1951 1946 1941 1946 1946 1946 1946 1946 1948 1947 1947 1950 1947

Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Stanhope & Irish Little is known at the present time about Stanhope & Irish except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4722 N. Bartlett Avenue 5555 N. Berkley Boulevard 510 E. Birch Avenue 1614 E. Blackthorne Place 2023 E. Glendale Avenue 5670 N. Lake Drive 616 E. Lake View Avenue 711 E. Lake View Avenue 522 E. Lexington Boulevard 5818 N. Maitland Court 5859 N. Maitland Court 5775 N. Santa Monica Boulevard Historic Name Dr. John W. Truitt House G. & Marion Willoughby House Richard J. & Ruth E. Zivney House Fred W. & Catharine Raber House Otto H. & Edna Fiebing House Irwin C. & Elizabeth Wehmeyer House Roland J. & Norma Koehler House Dr. H. F. Wolters House Irvin & Pearl Oesterreich House W. Hall & Amy Wallace House Date 1931 1931 1930 1927 1929 1926 1930 1931 1931 1930 1929 1925 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Ray C. Sturm Ray C. Sturm was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Tudor Revival style. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Ray C. Sturm except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4968 N. Berkley Boulevard 5572 N. Berkley Boulevard 1101 E. Circle Drive Historic Name Ray C. Sturm House Clifford & Bessie Bremer House Arthur J. & Mary G. Roethe House Date 1940 1928 1927 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

101

4958 N. Diversey Boulevard 5106 N. Elkhart Avenue 5235 N. Hollywood Avenue 4819 N. Lake Drive 4733 N. Larkin Street 4641 N. Marlborough Drive 4655 N. Murray Avenue 4756 N. Newhall Street

Lorne R. & Helen R. Innes House Elmer L. & Ida Stein House Max W. & Rose B. Nohl House Harold R. & Gretchen B. Schneider House Bernard O. & Louise Kaiser House Clarence M. & Ruth W. Breslauer House Robert & Pauline Harpke House

1939 1929 1938 1927 1937 1928 1925 1927

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

R. A. Sullivan Little is known at the present time about the career of R. A. Sullivan except for the following building included in the survey:
Address 516 E. Day Avenue Historic Name Robert McAllister House Date 1923 Class Eligible

Dave Teinberg Little is known at the present time about the career of Dave Teinberg except for the following building included in the survey:
Address 5375 N. Lake Drive Historic Name John E. Saxe House Date 1929 Class Eligible

William F. Thalman William F. Thalman advertised himself as a builder and general contractor in the 1929-1935 Whitefish Bay Village Directories. 178 Many of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Tudor Revival style and located in the proposed Bay Ridge & Kent Avenues Residential Historic District and the proposed Fairmount & Highland View Residential Historic District. Little else is known at the present time about the career of William F. Thalman except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4818 N. Ardmore Avenue 4836 N. Ardmore Avenue 4915 N. Ardmore Avenue 4921 N. Ardmore Avenue 4953 N. Bartlett Avenue 5006 & 5008 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5012 & 5014 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5026 & 5028 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5027 & 5029 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5048 & 5050 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5701 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5709 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5714 N. Bay Ridge Avenue Historic Name Herbert & Suren Abraham House LeRoy & Dorothy S. Bond House T. B. & Mollie A. Inglis House Robert M. & Florence K. Wolpert House Herman E. & Delia Klein House Date 1945 1929 1934 1937 1941 1943 1943 1943 1943 1946 1926 1927 1928 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Edwin G. & Irma Clauss House William F. & Cresent Thalman House Lloyd & Viola Morrisette House

102

5715 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5720 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5721 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5724 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5729 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5730 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5735 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5736 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5741 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5742 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5745 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5750 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5751 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5757 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5760 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5763 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5766 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5769 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5807 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5812 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5813 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5819 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5838 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5964 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5976 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6028 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6029 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6035 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6040 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6041 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6049 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6054 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6055 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6061 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6069 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6075 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6156 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6250 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6256 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5341 N. Berkley Boulevard 5415 N. Berkley Boulevard 5435 N. Berkley Boulevard 5440 N. Berkley Boulevard 5509 N. Berkley Boulevard 6258 N. Berkley Boulevard 6300 N. Berkley Boulevard 6301 N. Berkley Boulevard 6311 N. Berkley Boulevard 511 E. Birch Avenue 1580 E. Blackthorne Place

G. H. & Margaret L. Hunkel House Arthur J. & Margaret Butzen House Erwin W. & Vida M. Kalt House Jacob & Dorothy Stein House Irwin J. & Amy Kohlwey House Charles & Lilyon Belik House Oscar B. & Irene Dahlberg House E. Arthur & Irene Travis House Clarence A. & Mildred Phillipson House Ernest & Hazel N. Prinz House W. F. & Dorothy Mahlstedt House Frank C. & Rose Sharkey House Clayton G. & Florence Mistele House Dr. Robert & Geraldine Phelan House John P. & Elsie C. Klinkert House Harry W. & Lola Ziemer House George & Agnes Buizeske House Lloyd T. & Hilda Roberton House Merritt H. & Marguerite G. McCoy House Thomas & Lillian Loignon House Martin & Flora T. Casey House Thomas F. & E. Josephine Disher House Ben B. & Adelline Gotthart House Chester S. & Marion E. Bigelow House Blanche E. Tufts House Dale J. & Ann Richards House Bernard H. & Erna Naulin House Dr. William T. & Elizabeth M. House

Walter C. & Ruby Junkerman House John J. & Margaret M. Major House Edward J. & Isabel Kirby House Lloyd F. & Jane Scott House F. Kenneth & Verna Hinton House Mrs. Max L. Thiermann House George W. & Adelline B. Webster House Joseph & Josephine & Riedy House James A. & Florence Cheverton House Sidney & Jessie Goldmann House Chauncey L. & Margaret Smith House Cecil & Peggy Williams House Alfred J. & Esther Koch House Erhard J. & Lois Buettner House Elwin A. & Florence S. Andrews House Joseph J. & Alice S. Donahue House Calvin A. & Margaret Koehring House

1927 1928 1927 1929 1926 1929 1926 1928 1926 1928 1926 1928 1926 1927 1929 1927 1928 1927 1926 1930 1926 1926 1929 1929 1931 1931 1931 1931 1940 1930 1930 1928 1930 1929 1930 1935 1929 1931 1931 1935 1929 1934 1941 1933 1937 1936 1936 1936 1935 1931

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

103

1613 E. Blackthorne Place 1629 E. Blackthorne Place 1061 E. Circle Drive 4614 N. Cramer Street 1703 E. Cumberland Boulevard 4768 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4929 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4971 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5003 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5009 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5015 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5019 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5025 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5033 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5041 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5049 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5327 N. Diversey Boulevard 5401 N. Diversey Boulevard 4515 N. Frederick Avenue 611, 617 & 623 E. Henry Clay Street 5744 N. Kent Avenue 5750 N. Kent Avenue 5800 N. Kent Avenue 5801 N. Kent Avenue 5837 N. Kent Avenue 5954 N. Kent Avenue 4959 N. Lake Drive 5036 N. Lake Drive 5050 N. Lake Drive 5068 N. Lake Drive 5104 N. Lake Drive 5630 N. Lake Drive 6120 N. Lake Drive Court 126 W. Lake View Avenue 617 E. Lexington Boulevard 1001 E. Lexington Boulevard 5750 N. Lydell Avenue 4750 N. Newhall Street 4823 N. Oakland Avenue 5155 N. Palisades Road 5521 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4742 N. Sheffield Avenue 4782 N. Sheffield Avenue 4753 N. Wilshire Road 4614 N. Woodburn Street 4620 N. Woodburn Street 4628 N. Woodburn Street 4634 N. Woodburn Street 4648 N. Woodburn Street 4654 N. Woodburn Street

Joseph & Ruth Pereles House Arthur A. & Gertrude Santley House Robert E. & Roberta S. Head House Samuel & Rose Rosenberg House Harry A. & Aurie J. Bendfelt House Clarence P. & Norma Schwister House Edward A. & Frances Segall House Gertrude Homp House Nat H. & Edith Eppstein House Carl & Norrine Lipman House

Martha Klein House Henry & Helen Turrie House C. Justus & Jane Scheibel House

B. F. & Eva C. Tellkamp House Ned W. & Cecile McNulty House Erwin C. & Elfrieda Brenner House Dr. H. E. Lando House George T. & Paula Parsons House Lloyd C. & Mildred J. Bergeson House Curt & Sally Williams House Dr. Timothy J. & Ethel Howard House

Dr. Edwin B. & Florence Gute House Arthur L. & Clara Ebert House Ralph W. & Elsie B. Lund House Denver W. & Lauretta Swanson House Andrew & Edel Peterson House Walter C. & Margaret Arndt House Dr. Anthony J. & Catherine Koch House Herman J. & Miriam Scholl House Charles O. & Doris D. Caspar House Dr. H. E. & Vera Lando House C. Herzberg House

George & Amanda Kraemer House Hans & Gertrude Turrian House

1933 1937 1964 1931 1929 1928 1934 1930 1931 1931 1931 1930 1930 1930 1930 1932 1935 1936 1966 1948 1935 1937 1929 1941 1929 1927 1965 1938 1938 1938 1938 1927 1950 1936 1936 1929 1927 1930 1936 1951 1930 1936 1930 1951 1940 1939 1939 1939 1938 1938

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

104

4674 N. Woodburn Street 4830 N. Woodburn Street 4929 N. Woodburn Street 4942 N. Woodburn Street 4950 N. Woodburn Street 4958 N. Woodburn Street 4964 N. Woodburn Street 4970 N. Woodburn Street

Dr. Donald C. & Mildred Ausman House Jay K. & E. Gladys Bond House Jerome C. & Julie Saltzstein House Dr. Benjamin Urdan House J. S. & Mary Cohn House Curtis & Elizabeth Marsell House Herbert & Suren Abraham House

1940 1930 1927 1931 1931 1931 1931 1945

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Forrest W. Trumpf Forrest W. Trumpf advertised himself as a builder having a partnership with architect Roland C. Kurtz. Kurtz & Trumpf advertised their partnership in the 1944-1948 Whitefish Bay Village Directories.179 A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial Revival style and located in the proposed Lake Crest Residential Historic District. Little else is known at the present time about the career of W. Trumpf except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4842 N. Ardmore Avenue 5118 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6017 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6060 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6142 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 4834 N. Berkley Boulevard 4840 N. Berkley Boulevard 5227 N. Berkley Boulevard 5332 N. Berkley Boulevard 5454 N. Berkley Boulevard 6326 N. Berkley Boulevard 900 E. Courtland Place 4743 N. Cramer Street 616 E. Day Avenue 4875 N. Diversey Boulevard 5311 N. Diversey Boulevard 5400 N. Diversey Boulevard 2211 E. Glendale Avenue 5359 N. Hollywood Avenue 5429 N. Hollywood Avenue 5549 N. Hollywood Avenue 5263 N. Idlewild Avenue 5427 N. Idlewild Avenue 5012 N. Kent Avenue 5767 N. Kent Avenue 5832 N. Kent Avenue 5870 N. Kent Avenue 6129 N. Kent Avenue 6167 N. Kent Avenue 501 E. Lexington Boulevard Historic Name George B. & Mary Wightman House Douglas & Marcie Cooper House Edward A. & Shirley Miller House J. V. & Mabel Kramer House Thomas B. & Marcella B. Hurd House Don & Doris Loeffler House Col. F. & Wilma Cox House Sam Patti House M. H. Mortonson House Walter & Esther Leypoldt House Lyman K. & Nancy Shepard House William F. Jr. & Virginia Kachel House Edward R. & Silvia Droppers House J. W. Sidney & Esther Gallagher House Herbert & Mildred Korth House John S. & Jessie Wetzler House Fielding A. & Edna S. Utz House William F. & Violet Graebel House Wayne & Miriam Trumpf House Dr. Lamont R. & Lenore Schweiger House Agnes Hart House Date 1940 1944 1937 1941 1941 1946 1946 1939 1941 1939 1949 1945 1949 1951 1948 1941 1947 1950 1938 1941 1937 1952 1939 1946 1938 1939 1939 1941 1941 1940 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Lon L. & Esther Grier House Oscar T. & Marie A. Roder House Dr. L. C. & Ruth Wilkinson House

105

927 E. Lexington Boulevard 6142 N. Lydell Avenue 4520 N. Murray Avenue 4622 N. Murray Avenue 5057 N. Palisades Road 5515 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5555 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5559 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4731 N. Sheffield Avenue 5724 N. Shoreland Avenue 4967 N. Wildwood Avenue 4975 N. Wildwood Avenue 4724 N. Woodburn Street 5019 N. Woodruff Avenue

Philip & Rosalie Fina House Dr. Gilbert & Jeannette Mueller House M. E. & Hazel Maurer House Paul Frederick & Mable Lee Brand House Edwin M. & Lois V. Krause House A. P. Melendy House John Douglas & Myrtle Edwards House William F. & Mable M. Schanz House Robert & Virginia Gallun House Meyer & Sylvia Palay House E. C. Trumpf House Henrietta S. Trumpf House

1941 1942 1950 1951 1950 1939 1940 1939 1940 1936 1947 1947 1936 1939

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

Rein A. Uecker Rein A. Uecker was a builder who was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Tudor Revival style. Little else is known at the present time about the career of Rein A. Uecker except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 988 E. Circle Drive 1600 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1712 E. Cumberland Boulevard Historic Name Alexander J. & Emma Bauer House Dr. J. A. Englander House Harry & Cora Gwaltney House Date 1929 1926 1931 Class Eligible Surveyed Surveyed

Allan G. Wallsworth Little is known at the present time about the career of Allan G. Wallsworth except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4733 N. Bartlett Avenue 734 E. Sylvan Avenue Historic Name Clinton M. & Inez Barr House Adolph H. & Grace R. Weber House Date 1928 1928 Class Surveyed Eligible

John F. Westphal Little is known at the present time about the career of John F. Westphal except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 1000 E. Circle Drive 1130 E. Lexington Boulevard 5834 N. Maitland Court 5773 N. Shore Drive 5262 N. Shoreland Avenue 4724 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name E. Chester & Rose S. Hilgemann House Allen M. & Dorothy Fritsch House M. W. & Cornelia Sheldon House Max R. & Emma Schade House F. W. Knoll House E. A. & Anita Weschler House Date 1925 1929 1928 1927 1940 1929 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible

106

Wisconsin Builders Inc. Wisconsin Builders Inc. was a construction company that was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of they buildings he built in Whitefish Bay are of the Contemporary style. Little else is known at the present time about Wisconsin Builders Inc. except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 4824 N. Bartlett Avenue 620 E. Beaumont Avenue 5122 N. Berkley Boulevard 1607 E. Blackthorne Place 5261 N. Diversey Boulevard 4836 N. Hollywood Avenue 5075 N. Hollywood Avenue 5543 N. Hollywood Avenue 4755 N. Lake Drive 6109 N. Lake Drive 4750 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5238 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5570 N. Shoreland Avenue 401, 403, 409 & 415 E. Silver Spring Dr. Historic Name Robert W. & Katherine M. Smith House Margaret Dondero House R. D. Trebilcox House Robert L. & Ruth Cunningham House Walter & Lilly Cooper House Delbert & Esther Mathieus House Stuart L. & Rae Glassman House Mrs. J. Fred Jensen House Dr. Lawrence W. & Charlotte Kaufman House Walter R. & Jean S. Lindemann House Goodman-Benson Funeral Home Arthur R. & Betty Derian House Laura Weber House Berkley Building Date 1953 1954 1963 1953 1929 1964 1963 1953 1958 1957 1960 1966 1958 1961 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible

Wynhoff & Brunner Wynhoff & Brunner was a construction company that was active in the Milwaukee area. A large number of the buildings they built in Whitefish Bay are of the Colonial Revival style and located in the proposed Bay Ridge & Kent Avenues Residential Historic District. Little else is known at the present time about Wynhoff & Brunner except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5118 N. Ardmore Avenue 5325 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5700 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6200 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6206 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6212 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5578 N. Berkley Boulevard 5905 N. Berkley Boulevard 5911 N. Berkley Boulevard 311 E. Birch Avenue 709 E. Carlisle Avenue 4752 N. Cumberland Boulevard 418 E. Day Avenue 5579 N. Hollywood Avenue 5700 N. Kent Avenue Historic Name Fred Voeglie House Harry H. & Ella Mayer House Vernon N. & Gladys Waldorf House Carl H. & Ruth Wamser House Dr. Kenneth G. & June Nicholson House Richard M. & June Miller House Neef & Clara Warren House Lester & Grace Arnow House Henry R. & Nancy Wallace House Alex S. & Selma Gonda House Sidney & Phyllis Slocum House Frank J. & Cora Zens House Frederick & Eleanor Thuemler House F. & Ann Berg House John H. & Ruth Wynhoff House Date 1949 1946 1951 1956 1956 1956 1945 1950 1950 1947 1947 1949 1950 1948 1946 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

107

6008 N. Kent Avenue 4681 N. Lake Drive 4739 N. Lake Drive 4747 N. Lake Drive 5683 N. Lake Drive 5689 N. Lake Drive 5701 N. Lake Drive 5775 N. Lake Drive 5823 N. Lake Drive 639 E. Lake View Avenue 4629 N. Morris Boulevard 5129 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5714 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5720 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5919 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5955 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6055 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5709 N. Shoreland Avenue 5715 N. Shoreland Avenue 5719 N. Shoreland Avenue 5725 N. Shoreland Avenue 4625 N. Woodburn Street 4808 N. Woodburn Street

Theodore H. & Rose C. Schostak House Fred & Jean Arko House Don & Gae Gottschalk House Dr. Joseph & Sally Himes O. F. & Mary Gerlach House Gordon & Dortha MacFarland House Ibrahim H. & Zee Kashou House Milo & Alice Miller House John C. & Elizabeth McDonald House Robert & Natalie Kritzik House Merton H. & Audrey Lewis House Dr. Sidney K. & Marajen Wynn House M. T. Jr. & Elaine Heller House Thomas A. D. & Marjorie Jones House Dr. Marshall & Jeanie Weber House Thomas & Anna Mascari House Dr. Leonard & Ann Gorenstein Edward C. & Helen L. Berg House Max A. & Goldie Katz House Eugene J. & Wilma Stern House John & Clare Brunner House Dr. S. G. Weisfeld House Dr. E. C. & Betty Meldman House

1950 1951 1951 1951 1948 1948 1953 1946 1949 1951 1953 1945 1951 1952 1950 1947 1951 1947 1947 1947 1947 1950 1951

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

George Zagel & Brothers Little is known at the present time about George Zagel & Brothers except for the following buildings included in the survey:
Address 5006 N. Larkin Street 5128 N. Hollywood Avenue 501, 505, 507, 509, 511 & 513 E. Silver Spring Drive Historic Name Robert B. & Marilyn Robbins House Frank & Emma Geiser House Gotfredson Building Date 1954 1936 1929 Class Surveyed Surveyed Eligible

Zaplewski Construction Company Little is known at the present time about Zaplewski Construction Company except for the following building included in the survey:
Address 6130 N. Lake Drive Court Historic Name Rita Jane Goldmann House Date 1931 Class Eligible

Zuerner Brothers Little is known at the present time about the career o the Zuerner Brothers except for the following buildings included in the survey:

108

Address 5430 N. Berkley Boulevard 908 E. Lexington Boulevard 5754 & 5758 N. Santa Monica Boulevard

Historic Name Dr. Wallace F. & Florence Huber Edward & Elinor Wenzel House Anna Zuerner Duplex

Date 1932 1931 1926

Class Surveyed Eligible Eligible

109

This page intentionally left blank.

110

8
Education
Introduction The primary reason behind Whitefish Bays formation and incorporation as a village was the subject of education. The areas first school was a log cabin erected in 1846 located on the present site of Shorewood High School. By the 1890s, the two-room Lyons School, also known as Lindwerm School, was Whitefish Bays closest school located in the present City of Glendale east of the Union Cemetery between Lydell Avenue and Port Washington Road, a several mile walk for some of the settlements children.180 Attempts at changing the then Town of Milwaukee school districts existing boundaries were unsuccessful, causing Whitefish Bay residents to seek incorporation during the summer of 1892. That November, the Whitefish Bay School District was created. Until completion of its first school building, classes were taught to fifty students in the Jefferson Park Pavilion during warm months and Lewis Schiefes store through the winter. From these beginnings, the public school district grew to include one primary school, two elementary schools, one middle school, and one high school. Additionally, several parochial and private schools were established within the village.181 Primary Education Cumberland Elementary School As the village of Whitefish Bay grew in the early twentieth century, the need for additional schools became eminent. Planning efficiently for the future, the school district hired professional consultants to complete a growth survey in the mid-1920s. Their findings projected the maximum population of the village to be 20,214. They estimated that to serve a projected maximum enrollment of 3,300 students, two more elementary schools would eventually be required in addition to the existing Henry Clay School. It had also been decided to continue housing the sixth through eighth grades in neighborhood elementary schools rather than constructing a single central middle school which would cause some students to have to walk longer distances or take public transportation. 182 In 1927, the first of these two new schools to be built was Humboldt School, constructed for approximately $187,000 on 11.5 acres on Humboldt Avenue purchased from the Praefke family farm. It served the southern portion of the village. Both Humboldt and Richards Schools were built using the same plan, constructed of concrete, and faced with brick and Bedford stone. Both schools were designed as three units: the original central unit with a wing on each side to be constructed as the need for more classrooms arose. In 1932 due to confusion with Humboldt School in Milwaukee, also on what was then Humboldt Avenue, the school changed its name to 111

Cumberland School, after the Cumberland Forest neighborhood in which the school is located. The name was chosen by a school-wide vote among four names submitted by students. The first wing added onto Cumberland School in 1938 was for six additional classrooms, new administrative offices, music rooms, a library, a basement cafeteria and kitchen, and a 150-seat theater. It was partially funded by the federal WPA program. Further additions were constructed to the school to accommodate the baby boomers in 1951 for eight classrooms and a new gymnasium and again in 1958 for a combination gymnasium and auditorium. In 1989, the school district reorganized, at which time Cumberland Schools sixth through eighth grades were moved to the new Whitefish Bay Middle School, located in the former Henry Clay School. Since this time, Cumberland School has served kindergarten through fifth grade. In 2010, construction began on a new cafeteria wing. 183 Humboldt School, located at 4780 N. Marlborough Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for the significance of its Collegiate Gothic style architecture, in spite of its several additions and alterations. Fleetwood School In August 1892, a triangular half-acre piece of land bounded by Birch Avenue, Marlborough Drive, Idlewild Avenue, and Fleetwood Place was donated to the village for a school by John E. Mann, Richard Burke, and the Tweedy Land Company. Soon after, Whitefish Bays first school was built by John Kohlmetz for $6,000. Mrs. H. K. Curtis was hired to teach fifty children. The two-story, wood frame building housed four classrooms on its first floor and an auditorium on the second. In 1912, a one story addition provided two more classrooms. Fleetwood School was completely destroyed by fire in 1918, and today the site has become Schoolhouse Park. 184 Henry Clay School After the burning of the Fleetwood School in 1918, classes were again held in the Jefferson Park Pavilion until a new school building was completed on 2.5 acres of land adjacent to Jefferson Park on E. Henry Clay Street, a more central location within the village. It was named Henry Clay School and contained eight classrooms and an auditorium. The original building was constructed of concrete, faced with brick and Bedford stone, and built in the center of Henry Clay School the lot to provide plentiful room for playground (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehring) space. In 1924, east and west wings were completed adding a dining hall, kitchen, and gymnasium. After Cumberland and Richards Schools were built, Henry Clay School served the central portion of the village for first through eighth grades. In 1950, 1951, and 1953, various renovations and additions to the building were completed, including a new cafeteria and gymnasium. By the 1980s, Henry Clay School was closed due to declining enrollment in the district. Cumberland and Richards Schools remained

112

the districts primary schools, while the Henry Clay building was used as a community center. The school district reorganized in 1989, at which time the former Henry Clay School became Whitefish Bay Middle School, housing the districts sixth through eighth grades. Henry Clay School, located at 1144 E. Henry Clay Street, was not included in the survey as its multiple additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of its original architecture. Holy Family Catholic School Holy Family Catholic Church and School was established in 1949. The Holy Family School building was completed by the Meredith Brothers in 1953. After which time, masses took place in its basement gymnasium-auditorium until the current church building was completed in 1969. In 1960, a convent was constructed adjacent to the school to house the sisters there. 185 Holy Family Parish School located at 4849 N. Wildwood Avenue, Holy Family Convent at 4825 N. Wildwood Avenue, and Holy Family Catholic Church and Rectory at 4815 N. Wildwood Avenue and 4810 N. Marlborough Drive were all included in the survey and found eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic for the significance of their Contemporary style architecture. Together these three buildings comprise the proposed Holy Family Complex. Lydell Elementary School In 1950, 7.2 acres of land were purchased for $21,900 by the Whitefish Bay School District in the adjacent City of Glendale. This land was once considered for the development of a new neighborhood park, which the Villages southwest side was considered to be lacking at the time. Initial proposals for a school at this site were rejected by voters in 1951. Three years later the land was annexed into the village, and Lydell School was built in 1955. The school served as an elementary school, housing kindergarten through third grade classes to alleviate enrollment strain at the villages other elementary schools. Until this point in time, all of Whitefish Bays schools had been constructed in a traditional and ornate Collegiate Gothic style. Lydell School was designed in a minimal, Contemporary style after the previous years school board decision to construct all new schools in a more economic and functional architecture. The brick L-shaped building houses 10 classrooms, a multi-purpose room, and administrative offices. During the early 1980s, plans to introduce fourth grade classes to Lydell School were dropped. Due to declining enrollment, the district reorganized, and Lydell School was closed in 1989. At this time, it came to house the community center that had been displaced from the former Henry Clay School, upon its reopening as the Whitefish Bay Middle School. 186 Lydell School, located at 5205 N. Lydell Avenue, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for the significance of its Contemporary style architecture.

113

Milwaukee Country Day School The Milwaukee Country Day School, a private school for boys, was an outgrowth of earlier schools in Milwaukee. In 1911, several fathers persuaded A. Gledden Santer to found a day school in Milwaukee. Located at Farwell and Ogden Avenues and named St. Bernards, it housed high school grades. Soon thereafter, an elementary school began on Brady Street, and in 1919, moved to the old Lakeside Hospital located on Prospect Avenue at Woodstock Place. In 1916, 24 acres of land were purchased for expansion in Whitefish Bay to follow the country day school model popular at that time. The purpose of which was to provide boys with the school life of a boarding school without separating them from the influences of home life, made possible by locating the school in the country on the outskirts of a city. Only the kindergarten at the Milwaukee Country Day School was co-ed, and each class was limited to less than 25 students. 187 The Senior School, housing grades eight through twelve, opened in Whitefish Bay for fall of 1917. It was constructed of brick in the Tudor Revival style at 6401 N. Santa Monica Boulevard. A gymnasium addition was constructed on the west side of the Senior School in 1919 for $50,000. $120,000 was spent on remodeling in 1935..188 Demand for accommodation of out-of-town students was finally met in 1926, when the school began renting a house on the 6 acre George P. Dravo estate at the northeast corner of Santa Monica Boulevard and School Road in adjacent Fox Point. Later purchasing the property, the two-story house on was remodeled into a dormitory to house fifteen students. Plans were made to construct a row of masters houses on the site as well. A home on Santa Monica Boulevard was purchased for the headmaster around 1943. However, the schools boarding program ended just before World War II when a student sleepwalked onto a terrace and plunged to his death. Not long after, the school sold the dormitory. 189 The Junior School, housing the kindergarten through grade seven, continued to be taught on Prospect Avenue until a new building was constructed on the Whitefish Bay campus in 1931 at 6255 N. Santa Monica Boulevard. It was constructed for $180,000 with major donations from Irving Seaman, Charles Wright, George P. Miller, and L. R. Smith. The Junior Schools brick and stone building was designed in the Tudor Revival style by architect Fitzhugh Scott; it was Ushaped, with a two-story center and one-story wings. Cloistered arches lined the inner courtyard through which the classrooms were individually accessed. Each classroom of the Junior School was uniquely finished with different species of wood, unique light fixtures, and individually designed fireplaces. In addition to classrooms, the Junior School also housed a library, auditorium, and dining hall. In 1933, funded by the sale of the Prospect Avenue Lakeside Hospital property, a $125,000 addition, also designed by Fitzhugh Scott, added 15 classrooms, a swimming pool, and a new library. 190 The Milwaukee Country Day Schools spacious grounds offered space for baseball and football fields, three tennis courts, and two hockey rinks. Originally, a small orchard was located north of the Junior School. During the summer of 1935, a wading pool, fireplace, and fountain were installed as a memorial on the grounds, donated by the parents of a former student. 191

114

As most of the schools students and faculty lived in the City of Milwaukees Lower East Side, the school relied heavily on the Lake Drive trolley line ending at School Road, which was nicknamed the Yellow Streak. For more information on the trolley line, refer to Chapter 6, Transportation.192 During the Great Depression, the opening up of enrollment to girls was considered but never implemented; negotiations had even begun for merger with the Lake School for Girls. A brief discussion of merger with the Downer Seminary occurred in1940, but was soon dropped. However, the Milwaukee Country Day School merged with the Milwaukee Downer Seminary and Milwaukee University School in 1964. The new schools female campus was located at the Milwaukee University Schools facilities at 2100 W. Fairy Chasm Road in Fox Point. Country Days remodeled campus went on to serve as the new University Day Schools male campus. In 1970, the former University Day Senior School building was renamed and reorganized as the University School of Milwaukees co-ed high school campus. Co-ed elementary and middle school grades were taught in Fox Point until all of the University Day Schools campuses were consolidated to Fox Point in 1985. Later that year, the University Day School properties on Santa Monica Boulevard were sold to the Milwaukee Jewish Federation for $2.7 million to become their Max and Anita Karl Community Campus. For more information on the Milwaukee Jewish Federation, refer to Chapter 10, Religion.193 The Milwaukee Country Day Junior School located at 6255 N. Santa Monica Boulevard and the Milwaukee Country Day Senior School located at 6401 N. Santa Monica Boulevard were both included in the survey. However, both are not eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as their multiple additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of their original Tudor Revival style architecture. Milwaukee Jewish Day School The Milwaukee Jewish Day School was founded in 1981. It serves kindergarten through the eighth grade. In 1987, the school relocated from 2419 E. Kenwood Boulevard in Milwaukee to the Karl Community Campus of the Milwaukee Jewish Federation, on the site of the former Milwaukee Country Day School on Santa Monica Boulevard in Whitefish Bay. At this time, the school was located in what had been renamed the Soref Building at 6255 N. Santa Monica Boulevard. After eighteen months, the school moved to its current building at 6401 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, renamed after Max and Mary Kohl who donated $1 million for the buildings renovation. Also presently located in the Kohl Education Building are the Milwaukee Association for Jewish Education and the Hillel Academy, another private elementary school. For more information on the Milwaukee Jewish Federation, refer to Chapter 10, Religion. 194 North Suburban Lutheran School In 1930, a combined church and school building was constructed for $30,000 at 116 W. Silver Spring Drive for what is now Our Savior Lutheran Church. This building, now non-extant, originally housed a single school room on the first floor, a chapel above on the second, and

115

recreation rooms in the basement. It opened for classes the fall of 1931, offering only the first and second grades; each year following, the subsequent grade was added until the eighth grade was reached. Sometime during the 1930s, the school was renamed the North Suburban Lutheran School as it began to enroll children from other nearby Lutheran congregations. In 1948, the school was consolidated with St. Johns Lutheran School in Glendale when the church relocated to Santa Monica Boulevard. For more information on Our Savior Lutheran Church refer to Chapter 10, Religion. 195 Richards Elementary School In 1928, Whitefish Bays third elementary school, Richards School, was constructed for approximately $242,000 on 5.5 acres of land. It served kindergarten through eighth grade students in the northern portion of the village. It was built using the same plan as Humboldt School, constructed of concrete, and faced with brick and Bedford stone. Both schools were designed as three units: the original central unit with a wing on each side to be constructed as the need for more classrooms arose. The construction of the first of these wings soon after the schools opening helped house the villages ninth grade students in 1930, as well as the tenth grade the following school year, during the transition away from attending Shorewood High School before the completion of Whitefish Bay High School in 1932. Additions were constructed to Richards School in 1951 for classrooms and again in 1958 for a combination gymnasium and auditorium. In 1989, the school district reorganized, at which time Richards Schools sixth through eighth grades were moved to the new Whitefish Bay Middle School, located in the former Henry Clay School. Richards School serves kindergarten through fifth grade to present day. In 2010, construction began on a new cafeteria wing. 196 Richards School, located at 5812 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for its Collegiate Gothic style architecture, in spite of its numerous additions and alterations. St. Monica Catholic School St. Monica School, designed by A. C. Runzler at the cost of $100,000, began construction in 1927. It opened for grades one through eight in the fall of 1928, and was staffed by lay teachers and Sisters of the order of Immaculate Heart of Mary from Monroe, Michigan. Two of its prominent architectural features are the octagonal library and chimney disguised as an Italian campanile. The parish used its basement as a sanctuary until 1939. In 1931, the first changes to the school building occurred in the addition of a 65-foot-tall belfry to house the churchs new collection of bells as well as an addition housing a new dining room, school offices, storage, and a first floor doctors clinic. The school received a classroom and gymnasium addition in 1950. Connected to the school, the St. Monica Convent was also completed that year to house the sisters who taught there. 197 St. Monica School located at 5635 N. Santa Monica Boulevard and the St. Monica Convent at 5681 N. Santa Monica Boulevard were both included in the survey and found eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic for the significance of their Mediterranean Revival style architecture. These buildings together with St. Monica Catholic Church at 160 E. Silver Spring

116

Drive, St. Monica Church Rectory also at 160 E. Silver Spring Drive, Dominican High School at 120 E. Silver Spring Drive, and the Dominican Convent at 135 E. Lake View Avenue comprise the proposed St. Monica Catholic Church and Dominican High School Complex. Secondary Education Dominican High School In 1952, St. Monica Catholic Church joined with St. Robert parish in Shorewood to found Dominican High School at 120 E. Silver Spring Drive. St. Monica donated the eight and a half acre site, as well as ten acres on Lydell Avenue for use as athletic fields. The three-story high school building was designed by Alvin Grellinger of Grellinger, Brimeyer, and Rose Architects, and was constructed of brick and concrete at the cost of $3,100,000. It opened for classes in the fall of 1956, with 27 classrooms, administrative offices, a cafeteria, library, 1,500-seat auditorium, and gymnasium. In 1960, a convent was constructed next door at 135 E. Lake View Avenue to house the sisters who taught at the high school. The sites original farmhouse, located at 134 E. Silver Spring Drive, was utilized as a rectory by the Dominican High School chaplains. It was demolished in 1982 for increased parking space for the high school.198 Dominican High School at 120 E. Silver Spring Drive and the Dominican Convent at 135 E. Lake View Avenue were both included in the survey and found eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic for the significance of their Contemporary style architecture. These buildings together with St. Monica Catholic Church at 160 E. Silver Spring Drive, St. Monica Church Rectory also at 160 E. Silver Spring Drive, St. Monica School at 5635 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, and the St. Monica Convent at 5681 N. Santa Monica Boulevard comprise the proposed St. Monica Catholic Church and Dominican High School Complex. Whitefish Bay High School Prior to 1927, the closest high school to Whitefish Bay was Milwaukees Riverside High School. After its opening in 1927, Whitefish Bay students attend Shorewood High School on Capital Drive. However, by 1930, Shorewood High School was so crowded that starting with the freshman class that year, students from outside of Shorewood were no longer accepted. Fortunately, Whitefish Bays school board had anticipated this and, in 1927, purchased 14 acres of the now non-extant Armorys grounds for $80,000 from the Wisconsin National Guard. The board pushed construction of Richards Elementary School so that it could house high school students while the high school itself was under construction. Richards School was home to the ninth grade in 1930, as well as the tenth grade the following school year. Whitefish Bay High School opened to reunite all four grades under one roof at 1200 E. Fairmount Avenue in the fall of 1932. The new high school served students from Fox Point and Town of Milwaukee who had also previously attended Shorewood High School as well as students from as far away as Thiensville. 199 The high schools original design was for a building consisting of five units, built overtime as expansion was required. The center unit and a west wing were the only portions of the original plan to be realized; it was designed by Herbert W. Tullgren and constructed of reinforced

117

concrete, steel, face brick, and Bedford stone by Pail Riesen at the cost of $432,000. At its opening the school contained 26 classrooms, laboratories, a library, cafeteria, gymnasium, school store, administrative offices, and a third-story auditorium. The buildings main architectural feature was a central entrance tower faced in carved stone; the spacious lobbys floor featured a green and black inlaid stone map of the world. The original grounds featured tennis courts facing Henry Clay Street, a track with bleachers, football and baseball fields, and a field house. 200 In 1948, the Memorial Gymnasium wing housing a new gymnasium; recreation rooms; handball courts; rifle range, swimming pool; locker rooms; and music, home economics, and study rooms was completed in dedication to graduates who served in World War II. A north classroom wing and 1,200-seat theater wing on the schools east side were designed by Grassold, Johnson & Associates and constructed by C. J. Schmidt in 1956. In 1967, construction by the Joseph P. Jansen Company started on a large wing designed by architect Fitzhugh Scott Jr. to the north side of the school that provided more classrooms, a new field house, and a new swimming pool. Renovations and additions to the Theater wing began in 2010. 201 Whitefish Bay High School, located at 1200 E. Fairmount Avenue, was included in the survey. However, it is not eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as its multiple additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of its original Collegiate Gothic style architecture. Post-Secondary Education While the purpose of the public and private high schools located in the village throughout Whitefish Bays history has been college and career preparation for its residents, there has never been a college or university located within the village limits. However, Whitefish Bay residents have access to multiple institutions of higher education within the greater Milwaukee area. The following are colleges and universities near Whitefish Bay:
Name Alverno College Art Institute of Wisconsin Cardinal Stritch University Concordia University-Wisconsin Marquette University Medical College of Wisconsin Milwaukee Area Technical College Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design Milwaukee School of Engineering Mount Mary College University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Wisconsin Lutheran College Wisconsin Lutheran Seminary Location 3400 S. 43rd Street, Milwaukee 320 E. Buffalo Street, Milwaukee 6801 N. Yates Road, Fox Point 12800 N. Lake Shore Drive, Mequon 1250 W. Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee 8701 Watertown Plank Road, Milwaukee 700 W. State Street, Milwaukee 273 E. Erie Street, Milwaukee 1025 N. Broadway Street, Milwaukee 2900 N. Menomonee River Parkway, Milwaukee 2200 E. Kenwood Boulevard, Milwaukee 8800 W. Bluemound Road, Milwaukee 11831 N. Seminary Drive, Mequon

118

Libraries Whitefish Bay Public Library Whitefish Bay established its first public library in 1937, originally located in the basement of the old village hall. The library was provided with its own building designed by George F. Spinti and constructed by W.H. Schroeder & Company, located at its current site along Marlborough Drive, in 1955. The new building was 8,000 square feet and had a 35,000 volume capacity; at that time the librarys collection contained 10,000 books. Consolidation with the Shorewood Public Library was considered in 1995; however, both libraries continue operating independently today. The next year, a renovation of the former armory, now non-extant, was proposed to house the expanding library; however, this concept was abandonned due to concerns of enivornmental contamination at the armory site. Instead, the village began a compain to raise $3 million in private funds to construct a new library building as the librarys collection contained to grow and counted over 55,000 items by 2001. By 2002, the old library was demolished and that year a new library designed by Uihlein Wilson Architects opened on the same site.202 Since the 1950s, the library has presented story times, book discussions, art displays, author panels, and other shows among other literary and educational services to the public. The library has cooperative arrangements with the City of Milwaukees and other North Shore suburban library systems.203 The Whitefish Bay Public Library, located at 5420 N. Marlborough Drive, was not included in this survey because it is too young to be considered an historic resource. List of Surveyed Historic Resources Mentioned in the Text
Address 1200 E. Fairmount Avenue 135 E. Lake View Avenue 5205 N. Lydell Avenue 4780 N. Marlborough Drive 5635 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5681 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5812 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6255 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6401 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 120 E. Silver Spring Drive 160 E. Silver Spring Drive 4815 N. Wildwood Ave.; 4810 N. Marlborough Drive 4825 N. Wildwood Avenue 4849 N. Wildwood Avenue Historic Name Whitefish Bay High School Dominican Convent Lydell School Humboldt School St. Monica School St. Monica Convent Richards School Milwaukee Country Day Junior School Milwaukee Country Day Senior School Dominican High School St. Monica Catholic Church Holy Family Catholic Church & Rectory Holy Family Convent Holy Family Parish School Date 1929 1960 1955 1927 1928 1950 1928 1931 1916 1956 1954 1959 1960 1950 Class Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible

119

This page intentionally left blank.

120

9
Social & Political Movements
Introduction Throughout Whitefish Bays history, local residents have been involved with multiple community, social, and political organizations. Several of these organizations grew to a size at which they could support constructing and maintaining their own meeting places; these buildings became prominent locations for community gatherings in the village.204 Womens Organizations League of Women Voters During the 1960s, a group named the League of Women Voters was active in Whitefish Bay.205 Since that time the group has been absorbed into the League of Women Voters of Milwaukee County, a nonpartisan political organization that encourages informed and active participation in government, which remains active to this day. The organization continues to provide unbiased, nonpartisan information about elections, the voting process, and key issues to voters and advocates for or against policies in the public interest based on their values of respect for individuals, diversity, and integrity.206 No further information is known about the Whitefish Bay Chapter at this time. No historic resources were found to be associated with this group. Whitefish Bay Womens Club The Whitefish Bay Womens Club was organized in 1917 and remains active to this day. In its first year, 25 members set a precedent for commitment to non-partisan political involvement by taking up womens suffrage. Locally, the club was instrumental in the establishment of the Whitefish Bay Fire Department, Whitefish Bay Public Library, and the Whitefish Bay School Districts kindergarten program. For more information on the fire department and local library, refer to Chapter 4 Government and Chapter 8 Education respectively. A clubhouse was constructed on Henry Clay Street sometime prior to 1964. Throughout its history the organization has also served social, volunteering, and philanthropic purposes. In addition to activity sessions such as bridge games, stitching circles, golf, crafts, book reviews, and luncheons, the group is active in community fundraising, providing scholarships, and supporting local charities such as Badger Girls State, Junior Achievement, and the Whitefish Bay Foundation. In 1995, the club was comprised of over 400 members making it the largest Womens Club in Wisconsin. 207 The Whitefish Bay Womens Club Clubhouse, located at 600 E. Henry Clay Street, was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. 121

Fraternal Organizations Freemasons By 1920, many Freemasons lived in Whitefish Bay and belonged to the Grand Lodge of Wisconsin in Milwaukee. Around that time, a lodge was proposed for Whitefish Bay and several meetings were held at the drugstore of Howard Thompson, one of the Whitefish Bay lodges founding members. The Silver Spring Lodge 337, Free and Accepted Masons, was officially chartered in 1926. The lodge gathered at the Whitefish Bay Community Church, located at 819 E. Silver Spring Drive. In 1942, the lodge rented the old Christ Episcopal Church located at the Silver Spring Masonic Lodge No. 337, 1964 southeast corner of Beaumont Avenue and Consaul Place, (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehring) which that church had been using as a fellowship hall after the current Christ Episcopal Church was completed across the street the prior year. The lodge purchased the old church by 1948. The old church was demolished in 1964, to make way for the current Silver Spring Masonic Lodge No. 337 which was constructed on the same site. 208 The Freemasons still meet in this location to this day. The Silver Spring Masonic Lodge No. 337, located 517 E. Beaumont Avenue, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for the significance of its Colonial Revival style architecture and its role in the villages social movements. Service and Social Groups Lions Club International The Whitefish Bay Lions Club was established in 1951. Originally chartered as the Bay Shore Lions Club, the name was changed in the 1960s as the Village of Whitefish Bay became the focus of the clubs activities. During the clubs first two decades, it partnered with the Whitefish Bay Police Department to promote and aid in bicycle registration. The club also sponsored and installed 60 individual American flags along Silver Spring Drive for the Fourth of July. In the fall of 1965, the club financed and installed the flag pole that still stands today at the intersection of Silver Spring Drive and Diversey Boulevard.209 Since that time, the Whitefish Bay Lions Club has been absorbed into the North Milwaukee Lions Club.210 No historic resources were found to be associated with this group. Kiwanis International The North Shore Kiwanis Club was chartered in 1950. Throughout its history, the service club has been comprised of members from Whitefish Bay, Shorewood, Fox Point, Bayside, River Hills, and Glendale.211 Today, the club meets at Hubbard Lodge, located at 3565 N Morris Boulevard in Shorewood. 212 No historic resources were found to be associated with this group.

122

North Shore Civic Association Blood Club During the 1960s, a group named the North Shore Civic Association Blood Club was active in Whitefish Bay.213 Little else is known about this group at the present time. No historic resources were found to be associated with this group. North Shore Garden Club During the 1960s, a group named the North Shore Garden Club was active in Whitefish Bay.214 Little else is known about this group at the present time. No historic resources were found to be associated with this group. Retired Mens Club During the 1960s, a group named the Retired Mens Club was active in Whitefish Bay.215 Little else is known about this group at the present time. No historic resources wer-e found to be associated with this group. Sertoma International The Whitefish Bay Cooperative Club, begun in 1942, became affiliated with Sertoma International by 1967. This organizations name was derived from the clubs slogan Service to Mankind and had a goal to preserve free enterprise and individual freedoms. 216 Today the international organization is dedicated to assisting people with hearing health issues and educating the public on issues surrounding hearing health. Since the late 1960s, the North Shore Sertoma Club has been absorbed by the Milwaukee Sertoma Club. 217 No historic resources were found to be associated with this group. Whitefish Bay Mens Club During the 1960s, a group named the Whitefish Bay Mens Club was active in the village.218 Little else is known about this group at the present time. No historic resources wer-e found to be associated with this group. Business, Trade, and Professional Associations Visiting Nurses Association During the 1960s, a group named the Whitefish Bay Auxilary of the Visiting Nurses Association was active in Whitefish Bay.219 Since that time, the group has been absorbed into the Visting Nurses Association of Wisconsin, a branch of Aurora Health Care, with its nearest location to Whitefish Bay being at 11333 W. National Avenue in Milwaukee. The non-profit organization, Wisconsins oldest and largest home care provider, continues to provide health care solutions enabling people to remain independent within their communities funded by direct donations and the United Way. 220 Little else is known about the Whitefish Bay Chapter at the present time. No historic resources were found to be associated with this group.

123

Whitefish Bay Chamber of Commerce By the 1960s, a local chamber of commerce was active in the Village of Whitefish Bay.221 Little else is known about this group at the present time. No historic resources were found to be associated with this group. Youth Organizations Boy Scouts of America During the summer of 1916, Stanley S. Tarrant was granted permission by the village board to found a Boy Scout troop in Whitefish Bay. The troop first met in the original, now non-extant village hall.222 By the 1960s, this group was part of the North Shore Community-North East District of the Boy Scouts of America.223 Today members in Whitefish Bay are within the Boy Scouts of America Milwaukee County Council, whose mission is to meet the spiritual, developmental, and social needs of young people by instilling lifetime values that enable them to achieve their full potential.224 No historic resources were found to be associated with this group. Girl Scouts of America Girls of the village have been involved with the Girl Scouts of America throughout Whitefish Bays history. By the 1960s, these participants were part of the North Shore Girl Scouts-East District.225 Today members in Whitefish Bay are within the Girl Scouts of Wisconsin Southeast Council whose mission is to build girls of courage, confidence, and character to make the world a better place. 226 No historic resources were found to be associated with this group. North Shore Junior Chamber of Commerce During the 1960s, a group named the North Shore Junior Chamber of Commerce was active in Whitefish Bay.227 Little else is known about this group at the present time. No historic resources were found to be associated with this group. List of Surveyed Historic Resources Mentioned in the Text
Address 517 E. Beaumont Avenue 600 E. Henry Clay Street 5655 N. Lake Drive Historic Name Silver Spring Masonic Lodge No. 337 Whitefish Bay Womens Club Clubhouse Christ Episcopal Church Date 1964 < 1964 1941 Class Eligible Surveyed Eligible

124

10
Religion
Introduction For a long time after its settlement, Whitefish Bay remained a rural community and consequently the early settlers had to worship at churches in the City of Milwaukee or in private homes. It was not until the early 1890s that several small groups of different Christian denominations formed and began meeting locally in Whitefish Bay. The first churches to organize in the village initially served residents of other neighboring, and then developing, areas including Shorewood, Fox Point, River Hills, and Mequon.228 Baptist Roundy Memorial Baptist Church In 1927, the need for another church in the growing village was recognized by the Milwaukee Council of Churches. In the early 1930s, a group began meeting in private homes. Land was purchased in 1931 at the corner of Hampton Road and Ardmore Avenue for $11,200 for a church site, and the small congregation became known as Ardmore Baptist Church. In September 1933, they held their first service at the nearby non-extant Whitefish Bay Armory. By 1936, the congregation incorporated and renamed as Roundy Memorial Baptist Church, named in tribute to Judson A. Roundy, founder of what is now Roundys Supermarkets, an active Baptist who bequested half of his estate to the Wisconsin State Baptist Convention to promote Baptist churches throughout Wisconsin. The congregations first pastor was Rev. Ernest Hasselblad. A two-story building was completed by Adam Schmitt and Sons, as designed by Willis Leenhouts, in 1938 for $20,000. A parsonage was built at 4789 N. Woodburn Avenue; and in 1951, a large addition was built to increase the sanctuarys capacity.229 Roundy Memorial Baptist Church, located at 4819 N. Ardmore Avenue, was included in the survey but is not eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as its addition and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of its original Gothic Revival style architecture. The Roundy Memorial Baptist Chruch Rectory, located at 4789 N. Woodburn Avenue, was not included in the survey as additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of its original architecture.

125

Catholic St. Monica Roman Catholic Church St. Monica Catholic Church was established by Archbishop Messmer, who appointed Rev. Peter Ernst Dietz as rector. The first mass was held in on Christmas Day of 1923 at the non-extant, old Village Hall on Lexington Boulevard. A permanent place of worship was desired by the small congregation with limited means. Within one year, Rev. Dietz purchased the 5.7 acre homestead of Leonard Fleming at the corner of Silver Spring Drive and Santa Monica Boulevard and the 10 acre farm of Bernard Geilfuss immediately to the west. Together, the properties contained two houses and a barn. At the cost of $5,500, the Geilfuss barn was converted into a chapel, with an old fireplace as an altar, the hayloft becoming the choir loft, and a chicken coop repurposed as a confessional. The hand-hewn beams were stained olive green, and the exterior finished with cream-colored stucco. Before construction, there was strong objection to a barn being converted into a church; but after, the chapel was regarded by many as one of the most charming and intimate places of worship in southeastern Wisconsin. It was dedicated on May 4, 1924, the Catholic feast day of St. Monica. This chapel was used for weekly services for the next four to five years until a new worship space was provided in the new school building. After which, it was still utilized as a chapel until its demolition in the late 1960s. 230 The parish of St. Monica had grand building aspirations from the outset. The original plans included a large church, convent, grade school, high school, gymnasium, hospital, and center for the study and creation of religious art. All were to be designed as one block of Mediterraneanstyled architecture, forming a central courtyard and connected by a colonnade. While a hospital association was formed around 1930, neither the hospital nor the art center were ever built. 231 The first unit of these plans completed was St. Monica School, designed by A. C. Runzler and located at 5635 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, at the cost of $100,000. Construction began in 1927, and it opened for classes in the fall of 1928 staffed by lay teachers and Sisters of the Order of Immaculate Heart of Mary from Monroe, Michigan. Two of its prominent architectural features are the octagonal library and chimney disguised as an Italian campanile. Originally, the parish used its basement St. Monica School as a sanctuary. In 1931, the first changes to the (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehring) school building occurred with the addition of a 65foot-tall belfry to house the churchs new collection of bells as well as an addition to house a new dining room, school offices, storage, and a first floor doctors clinic. The school received a classroom and gymnasium addition in 1950. Construction of the current St. Monica Church, located at 160 E. Silver Spring Drive and designed by E. Brielmaier & Sons Architects, started construction in 1938, but was not completed until 1955 due to the Great Depression and World War II. The current churchs

126

sanctuary has a capacity of almost 1,300. The basement, upon which the new church was completed, was used as a church in the interim. 232 The original Fleming house, now non-extant, had been moved from its original location on St. Monica Boulevard to a new location on Lake View Avenue where it was used as the schools convent. Connected to the school as a replacement, the extant St. Monica Convent was completed in 1950 and is located at 5681 N. Santa Monica Boulevard. A house was built at 5674 N. Santa Monica Boulevard in 1949 for the parishs maintenance engineer. 233 In 1952, St. Monica Parish joined with St. Robert parish in Shorewood to found Dominican High School, which was constructed at 120 E. Silver Spring Drive. St. Robert donated $200,000 for construction, while St. Monica donated the eight and one-half acre site as well as ten acres on Lydell Avenue for use as athletic fields. The original Geilfuss farmhouse was located at 134 E. Silver Spring Drive and was utilized as a rectory by the Dominican High School chaplains. It was demolished in 1982 for increased parking space for the high school. The new parish rectory, at 140 E. Silver Spring Drive, was completed in 1959. 234 St. Monica parish spurred the formation of two new congregations, contributing 375 parishioners to the formation of Holy Family Catholic Church in Whitefish Bay in 1949 and 475 parishioners to help form St. Eugene Catholic Church in Fox Point in 1957. 235 St. Monica Catholic Church at 160 E. Silver Spring Drive, St. Monica Church Rectory also at 160 E. Silver Spring Drive, St. Monica School located at 5635 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, St. Monica Convent at 5681 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, Dominican High School at 120 E. Silver Spring Drive, and the Dominican Convent at 135 E. Lake View Avenue were all included in the survey and found eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic for the significance of their Mediterranean Revival or Contemporary style architecture. Together these buildings comprise the proposed St. Monica Catholic Church and Dominican High School Complex. Holy Family Catholic Church Holy Family Catholic Church was formed in 1949 under the Rev. George H. Wollet, with a total combination of 600 families from those within the southern boundaries of St. Monicas congregation and northern boundaries of St. Roberts. Originally, masses were held in the lobby of Whitefish Bay High School with special ceremonies held at the original St. Monica chapel. The Holy Family School building was constructed by the Meredith Brothers in 1953. After which, masses took place in its basement gymnasium-auditorium until the current church and rectory building was built by Michael Mravik in 1969. In 1960, a convent was constructed adjacent to the school. 236 Holy Family Parish School located at 4849 N. Wildwood Avenue, Holy Family Convent at 4825 N. Wildwood Avenue, and Holy Family Catholic Church and Rectory at 4815 N. Wildwood Avenue and 4810 N. Marlborough Drive were all included in the survey and found eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic for the significance of their Contemporary style architecture. Together these three buildings comprise the proposed Holy Family Complex.

127

Church of Christ, Scientists First Church of Christ Scientist Meeting in private homes since November 1942, the first official Christian Scientist services were held in Whitefish Bay in 1943 in a rented storefront at 627 E. Henry Clay Street. Soon after, a second storefront was rented next door to accommodate Sunday school classes that were previously being held at Henry Clay School. In 1945, the congregation purchased land across the street which was soon determined to be insufficient in size. In 1947, the church sold this land on Henry Clay Street to the Whitefish Bay Womens Club for construction of its clubhouse and purchased a larger property at the corner of Silver Spring Drive and Danbury Road. Completed in 1951 as designed by architect Hugo C. Haueser, the first services in the current First ChurchChrist Scientist were held that December. The facility, located at 721 E. Silver Spring Drive, included a two-story education wing. The sanctuary was designed with opera-style seating instead of pews and seats 400. The churchs pipe organ, originally from the Uihlein House on Lake Drive, was donated by the Claudia Uihlein. A Christian Scientist Reading Room, which was originally located in the Henry Clay storefront church and then moved into the new church library, opened at the Fox Bay Theatre Building on Silver Spring Drive in January of 1967. 237 First Church-Christ Scientist, located at 721 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for the significance of its Colonial Revival style architecture. Episcopal St. Clement Episcopal Mission In 1894, a group of Episcopalians organized themselves and held their first church services in private homes throughout the village and at Jefferson Hall, a pavilion in the old Jefferson Park. The group soon became established as an official mission of the Episcopal Church and was named after St. Clement. By August of 1895, the mission raised the $1,800 needed to build a chapel on Silver Spring Drive. The chapel was completed later that fall and the congregation gathered there until 1902, when the small chapel was sold to the Missionary Society of the Methodist Church. However, the building was destroyed by fire in 1923. 238 Christ Episcopal Church It wasnt until 1931, that Episcopalians in Whitefish Bay organized another church. In that year, Christ Episcopal Church started as a mission and a small, non-extant chapel with capacity for 200 people was built by Val Schramka at the corner of Beaumont Avenue and Consaul Place, the current location of the Silver Spring Masonic Lodge No. 337. The original chapel was designed to function as the sanctuary and parish hall until a larger church could be constructed. In 1935, a rectory was built to the east of the church, but was moved to 4725 N. Oakland Avenue in 1978 to expand parking for Sendiks Fruit Market. Plans for a larger church complex began. Land

128

across from the chapel was purchased in 1940, and the current church building was constructed in 1941. The old chapel was retained and used as a parish hall. The local Masons began renting the old chapel for its meeting hall until they purchased it from the church by 1948; it was demolished for construction of their lodge in 1964. Refer to Chapter 9 Social and Political Movements for further information on the Masons. The initial expansion plans for the Christ Episcopal Church complex were carried out with the construction of a parish house completed in 1948; a classroom, sacristy, and office addition in 1952; and the enlargement of the sanctuary, new parish hall, and a Columbarium, a mausoleum for the ashes of those cremated, in 1956. 239 Christ Episcopal Church, located at 5655 N. Lake Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for the significance of its Gothic Revival style architecture. The Christ Episcopal Church Rectory, located at 4725 N. Oakland Avenue, was included in the survey but is not eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Lutheran Divinity Evangelical Lutheran Church What is now Divinity-Divine Charity Lutheran Church was formed in 1924 as a Pentecostal Evangelical Lutheran mission which soon incorporated as an official church congregation led by Rev. A. Baebenroth. Services were first held in the old Village Hall. In 1925, a wooden chapel was purchased for $500 from Luther Memorial Church in Shorewood and moved to three lots purchased by the church for $2,000 at the corner of Henry Clay Street and Elkhart Avenue. A parsonage was constructed next to the chapel in 1927. Building maintenance costs caused the congregation to dissolve in 1940 and join with Salem Evangelical Lutheran Church in Milwaukee.240 That year, the chapel was sold and moved to Waukesha, Wisconsin.241 However, services continued in Whitefish Bay at Henry Clay School. In 1941, property was purchased and the current church was constructed. Eventually, the congregation was renamed Divinity Lutheran Church and in 1965 merged with Divine Charity Lutheran Church in Milwaukee. 242 Divinity-Divine Charity Lutheran Church, located at 900 E. Henry Clay Street, and its original rectory at 5159 N. Elkhart Avenue were not included in the survey as their additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of their original architecture. Bay Shore Evangelical Lutheran Church Bay Shore Lutheran Church was organized as a mission in the fall of 1929, led by Rev. A. V. Baughman. Services took place in a non-extant simple, white, wood framed chapel, designed by Roy Papenthien and located originally at the southwest corner of Hampton Road and Marlborough Drive. After six years, the chapel was moved to the current site, remodeled, and enlarged. By late 1949, the extant structure was constructed by the Arthur C. Wolff Company at 1200 E. Hampton Road, and the chapel was moved just to the north. After being used for several years by Congregation Shalom, the chapel was demolished in 1967 to make room for educational facilities and additional parking.243

129

Bay Shore Lutheran Church, located at 1200 E. Hampton Road, was included in the survey and is eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for the significance of its Colonial Revival style architecture. Our Savior Lutheran Church In 1930, what is now Our Savior Lutheran Church was organized as a mission of the Wisconsin District of the Missouri Synod with only 5 members led by Rev. Erich M. Keller. A non-extant church and school building was constructed at 116 W. Silver Spring Drive. Designed and constructed by J. W. C. Bischoff for $15,000, this building originally housed a single school room on the first floor with a chapel above on the second. During the 1930s, the school became the North Suburban Lutheran School, then including children from other Lutheran congregations. The church was given its current name in 1933. Plans for a new church building were underway by 1946, when the church proposed building on the south side of Silver Spring Drive between Lydell and Bay Ridge Avenues. However, in 1948, the current church was designed by Hugo C. Haueser and built by Karl F. Hauser at 6021 N. Santa Monica Boulevard instead. That same year, the school was consolidated with St. Johns Lutheran School in Glendale. Our Savior Lutheran Church, located at 6021 N. Santa Monica Boulevard was not included in the survey as additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of its original architecture. Methodist United Methodist Church of Whitefish Bay Methodists were the first Christian group to hold a church service in Whitefish Bay. This gathering was held during June of 1892 at Jefferson Hall in Jefferson Park. However it wasnt until 1902, that the Missionary Society of the Methodist Church purchased the small chapel built by the St. Clement Episcopal Mission. It was renamed Atkins Memorial Church and was staffed by student pastors from Park Place, now Kenwood United Methodist Church in Milwaukee. However, the building was destroyed by fire in 1923. 244 The congregation, feeling that it was too small in number to rebuild a new church alone, reestablished itself as an interdenominational community church. By 1924, Methodist minister Rev. Albert F. Ruth organized a congregation of 50 people that included members of at least 13 different denominations, and a new chapel was completed the following year. However, the congregation continued to be served by Methodist ministers and renamed itself Community Methodist Church in 1942. Today, the congregation remains the villages oldest under the name United Methodist Church of Whitefish Bay. The 1925 church is part of the complex still used today at 819 E. Silver Spring Drive with additions in 1944, 1951, and 1961. 245 United Methodist Church, located at 819 E. Silver Spring Drive, was not included in the survey as additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of its original architecture.

130

Judaism Congregation Shalom Congregation Shalom was organized in 1951. The congregation met in the former Bay Shore Lutheran Chapel on Wildwood Avenue and was originally led by Rabbi Harry B. Pastor. Youth classes were held at both Cumberland School and Whitefish Bay High School. Having purchased a land to build on by 1953, the congregation soon moved to its own new facilities in neighboring Fox Point.246 Milwaukee Jewish Federation Following Milwaukees Jewish communitys general shift to its suburbs, the Harry & Rose Samson Family Jewish Community Center purchased the 28 acre University Day School Campus at 6255 and 6401 N. Santa Monica Boulevard in 1987. Refer to Chapter 8 Education for further information on the University Day School. The Jewish Communtiy Centers (JCC) forerunner began in 1894 as the Jewish Mission and was originally located at the Temple Emanu-El Bne Jeshurun at 10th and Cedar Streets in Milwaukee. By 1900, the Mission coalesced with the Jewish Women and the Sisterhood of Personal Service under the new name Milwaukee Jewish Settlement and rented several other locations in Milwaukees inner city. In 1911, the Settlement purchased the Abraham Lincoln House on 9th and Vine Streets in Milwaukee, where the group met until its move to the University High School on Milwaukee Street. In 1946, the group officially changed its name to the Jewish Community Center. 1955 marked the first move for the JCC away from Milwaukees inner city towards suburbs of Milwaukee with its purchase of a site on Lake Michigan at 1400 N. Prospect Avenue, where it was located until its move to Whitefish Bay in 1987. Since its earliest years the JCC has sought to provide social, educational, recreational, and cultural programs and activities including: sewing, cooking, English classes, music, and multiple social clubs. In 1998, an additional 73 acre site was purchased in Mequon for future expansion which resulted in the 2007 Hy & Richard Smith JCC Family Park. To this day, the facilities on Santa Monica Boulevard are still in active use, as multiple additions and renovations have enlarge what is now referred to as the JCCs Karl Campus.247 The Milwaukee Country Day Junior School located at 6255 N. Santa Monica Boulevard and the Milwaukee Country Day Senior School located at 6401 N. Santa Monica Boulevard were both included in the survey. Both are not eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as their multiple additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of their original Tudor Revival style architecture. List of Surveyed Historic Resources Mentioned in the Text
Address 4819 N. Ardmore Avenue 517 E. Beaumont Avenue 1200 E. Fairmount Avenue 1200 E. Hampton Road 1250 E. Hampton Road Historic Name Roundy Memorial Baptist Church Silver Spring Masonic Lodge No. 337 Whitefish Bay High School Bay Shore Evangelical Lutheran Church Roundy Memorial Baptist Church Date 1937 1964 1929 1948 1937 Class Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Eligible Surveyed

131

5270 N. Lake Drive 5655 N. Lake Drive 135 E. Lake View Avenue 4780 N. Marlborough Drive 4725 N. Oakland Avenue 5635 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5681 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6255 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6401 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 120 E. Silver Spring Drive 160 E. Silver Spring Drive 160 E. Silver Spring Drive 302, 304, 308, 312, 314, 316, 318, 322, 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring Dr. 721 E. Silver Spring Drive 4815 N. Wildwood Ave.; 4810 N. Marlborough Drive 4825 N. Wildwood Avenue 4849 N. Wildwood Avenue

Herman A. Uihlein House Christ Episcopal Church Dominican Convent Humboldt School Christ Episcopal Church Rectory St. Monica School St. Monica Convent Milwaukee Country Day Junior School Milwaukee Country Day Senior School Dominican High School St. Monica Rectory St. Monica Catholic Church Fox Bay Building First Church of Christ Scientist Holy Family Catholic Church & Rectory Holy Family Convent Holy Family Parish School

c. 1915 1941 1960 1927 1935 1927 1950 1931 1916 1956 1958 1954 1948 1950 1959 1960 1950

Listed Eligible Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible

132

11
Commerce
Introduction Since the village began to grow with residential development, several commercial districts took shape, primarily along Silver Spring Drive, Henry Clay Street, and Oakland Avenue. A wide variety of retail businesses, banks, professional offices, medical offices, and other businesses were located in along these corridors providing a wide range of goods and services to the villages residents. Many of these were businessmen and retailers from Milwaukee, locating new branches or relocating to be closer to their customers in the North Shore. Goods and Services Bakeries The Powell Building, at the southwest corner of Silver Spring Drive and Diversey Boulevard, was constructed in 1926 by H. M. Powell for Walter Drew. The two-story, Mediterranean Revival style building was originally comprised of three storefronts on Silver Spring Drive, four storefronts on Diversey Boulevard, and eight second-floor apartments. The building was the first home to the Whitefish Bay State Bank, the Silver Spring Food Market, and the Silver Spring Fruit Market. In 1932, William and Hannah Meredig bought the building to house their bakery, The Bay Home Bakery & Delicatessen. Throughout the buildings history, it has housed a wide variety of retail businesses. However since 1932, the bakery remains in operation at this same location making it the longest continually operating business in Whitefish Bay. The building was largely restored in the mid-1980s and renamed the Hannah Meredig Building. After William and Hannah Meredigs son Herberts death in 1985, the building and bakery business were sold to Daniel Katz. Later that year, Katz sold the bakery to Dany Olier.248 For more information on the Meredigs and their bakery, refer to Chapter 14 Notable People. The Powell Building, located at 421, 423, 425 & 427 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Grocery Stores In 1927, a two-storefront retail building was constructed on Santa Monica Boulevard. It originally housed Wagners Grocery. Soon L. C. Borgeson, the son-in-law of Mr. Wagner, took over operations of the store it became known as Borgesons Grocery and Driers Meats. The grocery store building served as such until it was purchased by Sol Bear in 1957, becoming the Bear Reliable Pharmacy. During this time the faade was altered, but it was largely restored in 1987 at which time it became a dentists office.249 The Wagners Grocery Building, located at 133

5962 & 5966 N. Santa Monica Boulevard was included in the survey; however, it is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Another grocery store, Piepers Food Shop, was also constructed in 1927 at the southeast corner of Henry Clay Street and Hollywood Avenue. Throughout its history, a wide variety of retail businesses have been located in the in the building.250 The Pieper Food Shop Building, located at 601 E. Henry Clay Street and 5168 & 5170 N. Hollywood Avenue, was included in the survey, but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. The Gotfredson Building located at 501, 505 & 507 E. Silver Spring Drive was owned by Roy Gotfredson and constructed in 1929. The following year an addition was constructed by George Zagel & Brothers for $20,000 at 509, 511 & 513 E. Silver Spring Drive. Six storefronts are located on the first level of the building with multiple apartments locate on the second story. Throughout its history a wide variety of retail businesses were located here, including the original location of Whitefish Bays Great Atlantic and Pacific Co. (A & P) chain grocery which shared a space with Differts Meats. In1948, the A & P grocery store moved across the street to the new Sendiks Fruit Market Building at 520 & 530 E. Silver Spring Drive. Also located in the building was Warren Isenrings appliance repair shop that grew into a full appliance and electronics store. The buildings storefronts were heavily altered in the past but were subject to a large restoration project sometime since 1990.251 The Gotfredson Building at 501, 505, 507, 509, 511 & 513 E. Silver Spring Drive was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for the significance of its Spanish Colonial Revival architecture. The Hopkins Richelieu Store Building was constructed in 1929 at what was the southwest corner of Henry Clay Street and Elkhart Avenue to house its namesake grocery store. Built by M. J. Roche, it was originally comprised of second floor apartments over a single storefront facing Henry Clay Street and two storefronts facing onto Elkhart Avenue. Throughout its history, a wide variety of retail businesses have been located in the building.252 The Hopkins Richelieu Store Building, located at 729 & 733 E. Henry Clay Street and 5167, 5169 & 5171 N. Elkhart Avenue, was included in the survey, but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. The National Tea Company, owned by H. M. Koosch, began in 1932 next door to the A & P in a building at 517 E. Silver Spring Drive constructed by the Powell Brothers. In 1949, the company constructed a new store down the street at 426 E. Silver Spring Drive. In 1961, the store moved to the former Bank of Whitefish Bay building at 325 E. Silver Spring Drive where it operated until 1970. Throughout the history of these buildings, they have housed a wide variety of retail businesses. The building located at 325 E. Silver Spring Drive has since been converted into an Aurora Clinic. 253 The National Tea Company Building, located at 517 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey; however, it is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. The buildings located at 426 E. Silver Spring Drive and 325 E. Silver Spring Drive; were not included in the survey as their additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of their original architecture.

134

In 1939, the Village Fruit Market opened on Silver Spring Drive. A new building was constructed for the store in 1946 by the Rice Powell Company. The market was operated by sisters Josephine Storniolo, Rose Accetta, and Ida Accetta. 254 The Village Fruit Market Building, located at 417 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places due to the significance of its Colonial Revival style architecture. During the 1930s, many grocery stores were open for business in Whitefish Bay. They were located primarily within the business districts of Henry Clay Street and Silver Spring Drive. In addition to the ones previously mentioned, these included the Village Store located at 5023 N. Hollywood Avenue, Nellie Jones at 809 E. Henry Clay Street, Service Grocery at 831 & 833 E. Henry Clay Street, the now non-extant Brands Meat Market at 342 E. Silver Spring Drive, the now non-extant Fricanos Fruit Market at 417 E. Silver Spring Drive, O. E. Krause at 625 E. Silver Spring Drive, and Klanns Novelties & Food at 705 E. Silver Spring Drive.255 The buildings located at 5023 N. Hollywood Avenue, 809 E. Henry Clay Street, 831 & 833 E. Henry Clay Street, 625 E. Silver Spring Drive, and 705 E. Silver Spring Drive were not included in the survey as their additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of their original architecture. Frank, Ignatius, Thomas, and Joseph Balistreri purchased a village owned lot in 1947 at the intersection of Silver Spring Drive and Consaul Place, which at that time was home to a temporary post office structure.256 There they constructed a building in which they opened Sendiks Fruit Market the following year. A second storefront was originally occupied by the A&P, after its move from the Gotfredson Building. Eventually, Sendiks expanded to occupy the entire building to which significant alterations have recently occurred. 257 The Sendiks Fruit Market Building, located at 500 E. Silver Spring Drive, was not included in the survey as additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of its original architecture. Pharmacies The Whitefish Bay Pharmacy was established by pharmacists M. Druschke and Mr. Thompson with business manager Allan J. Roberts in 1924. It was originally located in a non-extant twostory building on the 700 Block of Silver Spring Drive. After several years, Druschke and Thompson seperated to start their own individual drug stores. Roberts hired pharmacist Dan Fitzgerald, and the business continued to prosper. After World War II, Roberts daughter, Roberta Klotsche, took over management of the store and moved the store to a new location in 1950. The new building was designed by architect Fitzhugh Scott Jr. and was constructed by the Selzer-Ornst Company for a cost of $80,000. It featured the new technology of air conditioning and a four-sided clock tower atop the buildings roof. The pharmacy contained a soda fountain in its L-shaped quarters, one of the buildings three storefronts. By 1952, a portion of the buildings 2,500 square feet of second-floor office space was home to the buildings architect. Shortly before the new pharmacy building was constructed, Fitzgerald left after purchasing the former Otts Drugstore. Throughout its history, a wide variety of retail businesses and office have been located in the in the building.258 The Whitefish Bay Pharmacy Building, located at 5611, 5623 & 5629 N. Lake Drive was included in the survey and is individually eligible for

135

listing on the National Register of Historic Places for the significance of its Colonial Revival style architecture. Retail Businesses In 1931, the Lanham & Son Company constructed a Mediterranean style commercial building in which its office was located on Oakland Avenue. Throughout its history, a wide variety of retail businesses and offices have been located in the building. 259 The Lanham & Son Company Building, located at 4522, 4524 & 4526 N. Oakland Avenue, was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. The Bay Colony Building, a retail building with three storefronts, was constructed in 1946. It was designed by architect F. J. Brimeyer and was originally occupied by Fritzels, Packard Rellin, and Browning King. Throughout its history, a wide variety of retail businesses have been located in the building. 260 The Bay Colony Building located at 217, 219 & 227 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. The Raydon Variety Store opened in 1947 at the southeast corner of Silver Spring Drive and Hollywood Avenue. Owned by Harold Klan of the Hannahar Corporation, the building was constructed for $20,000. The store was named after Klanns children, Ray and Donna; while the Hannahar Corporation was named after his aunt, Hanna, and himself. In 1950, the company built a three-story building for $135,000 immediately east of the variety store. It originally had two storefronts on the ground level with eleven apartments and the Hannahar Corporation offices on the two stories above. By 1956, the Raydon Variety Store moved into the storefront of the new building. The space it vacated was converted into The Grand department store, its third location in the Milwaukee area. By the 1980s, the variety store was sold to the Winkies Variety Store chain, as it remains operated to this day. The space occupied by The Grand was since been converted into three separate storefronts.261 The Raydon Variety Store Building, located at 601, 615 & 621 E. Silver Spring Drive, and the Hannahar Corporation Building, located at 629 E. Silver Spring Drive, were included in the survey; however, both are not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as their alterations have diminished the significance of their original architecture. In 1948, Ben Marcus of the S & M Theater Company, now Marcus Theatres, proposed a $200,000 building to be located at the southwest corner of Silver Spring Drive and Kent Avenue. It was to house a single screen, 1,000-seat movie theater, six storefronts, and twenty two offices, in addition to offices for the theater company. The proposed building designed by architect Perry Crosier of Minneapolis, Minnesota, was of a Contemporary style with a glass and granite exterior. Tentatively named the Diane Theater, it was slated to be the first movie theater in Whitefish Bay. However, a steel shortage stopped construction of the building after its foundations had been installed. After several years, Marcus revised the plans to no longer include the movie theater and construction continued. The $85,000, brick building was completed in 1952 by the William Keierleber Construction Company. Fritzels occupied the first floor retail space selling womens apparel, and Marcus occupied a portion of the upper stories with their offices. A 50-car parking lot was constructed immediately west of the building,

136

complete with brick walls along the sidewalk and a parking attendant. In 1978, a two-story addition was constructed on a portion of the parking lot.262 The Marcus Theater Building, located at 127 & 133 E. Silver Spring Drive, and its addition at 111 & 121 E. Silver Spring Drive, were included in the survey; neither is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. In 1937, the Fox Amusement Corporation purchased land at the intersection of Silver Spring Drive and Santa Monica Boulevard for the purpose of building a movie theater. The Fox Bay Building was designed by architect Henry P. Plunkett of the firm Ebling, Plunkett & Keymar and constructed in 1948 by the Meredith Brothers. The Fox Bay Theater opened upon the buildings completion in 1951. For more information on the Fox Bay Theater, refer to Chapter 13 Recreation & Entertainment. A two-story structure of brick and stone, it originally consisted of the seven storefront bays, a movie theater, and second floor offices at 316, 318, 322, 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring Drive. The original retail tenants included Clarence Benz & Sons Sporting Goods, Bay Music, Schwanke-Kasten Company Jewelers, John E. Platz Photography, Louis Goodells children apparel, Heinemans Snack Bar, Franz Beauty Salon, Knapp Dance Studio, and Chester F. Hartungs carpets. A complimentary, two-story addition designed by the architectural firm Grassold-Johnson & Associates was constructed in 1955. It was comprised of five storefront bays and second floor office space at 302, 304, 308, 312 & 314 E. Silver Spring Drive. The property was originally managed by Ken Reed of The Trident Corporation. Daniel Katz purchased the property from Reed in 1986. Throughout its history a wide variety of retail businesses were located in the building. 263 The Fox Bay Building, located at 302, 304, 308, 312, 314, 316, 318, 322, 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places due to the significance of its Art Moderne style architecture. In 1951, a retail building to house Bermuda Sports Shop, Bay National Trunk, Peg Bradley, and Bay Interiors was constructed on Silver Spring Drive.264 Throughout the buildings history, a wide variety of retail businesses have been located there. The building, located at 205, 211 & 215 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places due to the significance of its Colonial Revival style architecture. The Rice Powell Company Building was constructed in 1956 by the Rice Powell Company to serve as their real estate office. The building was designed by architect Roland C. Kurtz. 265 Throughout the buildings history, a wide variety of tenants have occupied it. The Rice Powell Company Building, located at 115 W. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey, but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Also in 1956, Clarence and Sylvia Schallert constructed a new building in which to house their liquor store, an expansion of Clarence Schallerts existing career as a wholesale liquor salesman. The Schallerts were granted the first liquor license in the villages history to open their store. Throughout the buildings history a wide variety of retail businesses were located in it. 266 The Whitefish Bay Liquor Shoppe Building, located at 342 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places.

137

A two-story retail and office building started construction on Silver Spring Drive in 1956. It opened housing Deutschs Shoe Store in 1958. Throughout the buildings history a wide variety of retail businesses were located in it. 267 The Deutsch Shoe Store Building, located at 400, 404 & 408 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. The Berkley Building on Silver Spring Drive was constructed by Wisconsin Builders Inc. in 1961.268 Its original street level retail tenants included Bay National Trunk, Andres Furs, Customcraft by Allen, Demuirs Maternities, Capper-Wendland Professional Pharmacists, and Stock Brothers Mens Wear. Second level offices space was originally occupied by Herslof Opticians, Dr. Robert S. Anderson Podiatrist, Dr. John J. Brady Obstetrics & Gynecology, James K. Heller, Dr. Donald G. Ives Neurology-Psychiatry, Dr. Leander R. Jennings Orthodontist, Dr. W. J. Kemmet Dental Surgeon, Loewi & Company Investment Securities, Ryter Corporation, Dr. Neil Thompson Pediatrics, and Norman Nestlers branch of the Wisconsin National Life Insurance Company. 269 Throughout the buildings history, a wide variety of offices and retailers have been located there. The Berkley Building, located at 401, 403, 409 & 415 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for the significance of its Contemporary style architecture. Banks The Bank of Whitefish Bay was established in 1930 by A. M. Krech, Allan J. Roberts, Wynand G. Isenring, and Howard S. Swan. 270 It was first located at 427 E. Silver Spring Drive and was one of the first in Milwaukee County to be a member of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation at its beginning in 1934. When it opened, it was the only bank in the North Shore communities.271 In 1942, the bank built its first independent building down the street at 311 E. Silver Spring Drive. In 1957, the bank, since renamed Whitefish Bay State Bank, relocated to a new single-story building at 177 E. Silver Spring Drive designed by Donald L. Grieb to permit a future second story addition. It was constructed by Thomas Bentley & Son for approximately $200,000. In 1958, after moving to its new location, the building at 311 E. Silver Spring Drive was demolished to provide a parking lot for neighboring stores; the bank vault is said to still be located below the parking lot at the southeast corner of Silver Spring Drive and Santa Monica Boulevard. In 1966, the Whitefish Bay State Bank was sold to the Jacobus Company, a Milwaukee investment firm. By 1983, Heritage Bank came to occupy the building, the second story addition was added, and the buildings exterior was clad in brick. The building is now occupied by Marshall & Ilesly Bank 272 The Powell Building, located at 421, 423, 425 & 427 E. Silver Spring Drive, and the Whitefish Bay State Bank, located at 177 E. Silver Spring Drive, were included in the survey; neither is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as their additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of their original architecture. Sterling Savings and Loan Association constructed a new bank on Silver Spring Drive in 1962. It was constructed by H. Schmitt & Sons Construction Company. Today the building is occupied by Associated Bank.273 The Sterling Savings and Loan Association Building, located at 430 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey, but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places.

138

Medical Offices Dr. Clement H. Hickey, an orthodontia specialist, opened a dental office in a new building on Oakland Avenue in 1941. Dr. Hickeys personal residence was located nearby, constructed in 1927 by C. S. Winter & Son. 274 The Dr. Clement H. Hickey Dental Office, located at 4611 N. Oakland Avenue and the Dr. Clement H. & Frances A. Hickey House, located at 4854 N. Larkin Street, were both included in the survey; however, neither is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places Dr. Robert E.Wittig opened a dental office on Silver Spring Drive in 1949. The building, constructed by Siderits Construction Company for $30,000, was designed by architect Urban F. Peacock to include three medical offices, one of which he would occupy. Dr. Wittig initially hoped to attract a pediatrician and an obstetrician to share the facility. He moved his 14-year old practice from the Goldsmith Building in downtown Milwaukee to avoid downtown traffic and locate closer to many of his patients living in the North Shore. 275 The Dr. Robert E. Wittig Dental Office, located at 105 W. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey, but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Funeral Homes The Goodman-Benson Funeral Home was constructed in 1959 at the southeast corner of Santa Monica Boulevard and Hampton Road. By the early 1980s, the businesss name was changed to the Whitefish Bay Funeral Home. 276 The Goodman-Benson Funeral Home, located at 4750 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Information Services Publishing In 1891, Frank Putnam, who later worked in the securities division of the Milwaukee Electric Company, published a paper that circulated in Whitefish Bay.277 Little else is known about this publication at the present time. No historic resources in Whitefish Bay are known to be related to Frank Putnam or his publication. The Whitefish Bay Pioneer was a four-page, tabloid-sized paper circulated in Whitefish Bay around the time of its incorporation. The first issue was published on January 16, 1892, and was issued every Saturday by George A. Rogers.278 However, the Whitefish Bay Pioneer only printed three editions.279 The first editorial urged its readers to consider several timely topics: the partition of the Town of Milwaukee School District to provide closer and better school facilities; the necessity of incorporation as a village to better serve the community and provide public improvements such as a public sewer system, better streets, a lighting system; and a public water supply to secure a reduction of exorbitant fire insurance rates; and to encourage the promotion of Whitefish Bay as a residential suburb in light of recent improved access to the area from the City of Milwaukee.280 No historic resources in the village are known to be related to the Whitefish Bay Pioneer.

139

The Whitefish Bay Post was an early publication circulated around the village starting in 1897. A man named Gethers was one of the owners of this six-column, four-page newspaper. Local news and Whitefish Bay legal notices were carried on the first page followed by additional pages of advertising and syndicated news stories. 281 No historic resources in the village are known to be related to the Whitefish Bay Post. Alonzo Fowle, James McGee, Henry R. King, and another partner by the name of Lawton were printers in downtown Milwaukee during the late-1800s under the name King, Fowle, Lawton, and McGee Printing Company. McGee and King constructed large, twin homes on Lake Drive in Whitefish Bay. Fowle also constructed a home in the village.282 Later in their careers, Fowel, King, and another partner established the printing company of King Fowle & Cramer. This firm was a pioneer in the printing and engraving industries in Milwaukee. They installed the first halftone engraving plant and the first color photogravure plant in the city.283 The James & Anna McGee House, located at 5569 N. Lake Drive, was included in the survey despite its original tile faade being covered during the 1930s. However, at this time it is not believed to be individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. The Henry R. & Marian King House at 5559 N. Lake Drive was not included in the survey due to alterations which have too greatly diminished the houses architectural integrity. The Alonzo Fowle House, located at 624 E. Day Avenue, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for James & Anna McGee House the significance of its Queen Anne style architecture. (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehring) A weekly newspaper named the Shorewood Radio began circulating in the North Shore communities in October of 1923, published by Ernest G. Henkel. First published in magazine format, it was enlarged to tabloid size in 1926. Henkel formed a corporation in 1927 to finance a larger printing plant which he then located in Shorewood. At this time John Collier Hart, formerly of Hearst Papers, was hired to manage advertising, and Peter J. Enders, with 30 years experience, was hired for the printing and mechanical department. Henkel continued as the general supervision, as well as editorial and news staff. His wife, Ione Henkel, served as assistant editor and business manager. Circulation grew to include readers in Milwaukee County outside of Shorewood, Whitefish Bay, and Fox Point. Henkel sold the Shorewood Radio in 1929 to George Ruez and Floyd Ross. The paper was continued under their management as The Suburban Herald. Harvey Kitz later purchased the paper, moved the printing plant in Shorewood, and divided the paper into The Shorewood Herald and The Whitefish Bay Herald. 284 No historic resources in Whitefish Bay are known to be related to the Shorewood Radio or its subsequent publications.

140

Utilities Telephone The Wisconsin Telephone Company began serving Whitefish Bay at the beginning of the twentieth century. In 1910, telephone lines and poles were installed Lexington Boulevard and Lake View Avenue. The following year, service was installed on Danbury Road and Oakland Avenue as well as Chateau Place, Henry Clay Street, Marlborough Drive, and Santa Monica Boulevard. In the years that followed, lines were extended along many other village streets: along the alley between Birch and Lake Forest Avenues in 1913, on Woodruff Avenue in 1914, on Lake Drive in 1915, and along Hampton Road in 1916. Also in 1916, the Wisconsin Telephone Company began installing underground conduits along Oakland Avenue before being granted village permission the following year. By 1919, the village board discontinued approving telephone pole construction on all village streets, then requiring all future lines and poles to be constructed along alleys and rear lot lines or underground. With its construction in 1922, the old village hall, now non-extant, became Whitefish Bays first public building to receive telephone service. Until this time, telephone service was installed at the houses of the Village Marshall and several firemen for the duration of their terms. In 1926, the Wisconsin Telephone Company installed five police telephone stations throughout the village for emergency use. Until the 1930s, the only telephone exchange servicing any portion of the village was Milwaukees Edgewood exchange. During that decade, more telephone exchanges were added as Whitefish Bays population increased, including the Woodruff and Flagstone exchanges. By the fall of 1939, telephone service was provided to the entire village.285 There are no remaining historic resources related to telephone service in Whitefish Bay. Electricity The Milwaukee Electric Rail and Light Company, a forerunner to the current Wisconsin Energy Corporation, began providing electricity to customers in Whitefish Bay around the turn of the twentieth century. As its name suggests, the Milwaukee Electric Rail and Light Company operated an electric streetcar system in the Milwaukee area in addition to providing electricity. In the fall of 1897, an extension of the Oakland Avenue streetcar line to Whitefish Bay was authorized. Refer to Chapter 6 Transportation for more information on the Milwaukee Electric Rail and Light Company streetcar system. For its electrical service, pole locations were coordinated with those of the Wisconsin Telephone Company. In 1912, the Milwaukee Electric Rail and Light Company, also known at that time as the Milwaukee Light, Heat & Traction Company, was contracted to operate the electricity supply system to the village. By 1919, the village board discontinued electrical pole construction on village streets, requiring all future lines and poles to be constructed along alleys and rear lot lines or underground.286 There are no remaining historic resources related to electricity service in Whitefish Bay. Water Starting in 1914, the Village of Whitefish Bay contracted to purchase water from the City of Milwaukee, and water mains were installed. To this point, all water used by the village was supplied by private wells. At the end of 1927, a conference was held between the villages of

141

Whitefish Bay and Shorewood and the City of Milwaukee concerning water. It was suggested that Whitefish Bay be served northward via Richards Street from the Milwaukee River to eliminate receiving twice metered water through Shorewood. This action required Whitefish Bay to annex a strip of land leading to the Milwaukee River, through Estabrook Park. After these actions took place, the City of Milwaukee tried leveraging its water supply to entice the annexation of Whitefish Bay and Shorewood into the city. This demand caused both villages to terminate their water contracts with the city and seek their own water system. In 1949, Whitefish Bay constructed a water tower that serviced the village alone. It is located at the north end of Lydell Avenue in what is todayWater Tower Park. 287 In 1959, Whitefish Bay along with neighboring Fox Point and Glendale acted upon permission received in 1933 from the Public Service Commission to plan for their own water system. By the summer of 1963, service from the North Shore Water System began from its shared $3,800,000 water supply and treatment plant, located at 400 W. Bender Road in Glendale. Originally planned to be located in Fox Point, the raw water intake pipe, 33 feet below the waters surface, extends 4,000 feet into Lake Michigan from Whitefish Bays Klode Park in which a pumping station is located. The system has a 16 million gallon capacity. 288 In 1998, a new water tower was constructed by Stroo Construction of Menomonee Falls replacing the 1949 tower.289 The Whitefish Bay Water Tower was not included in the survey, as it is too young to be considered an historic resource. List of Surveyed Historic Resources Mentioned in the Text
Address 624 E. Day Avenue 601 E. Henry Clay Street; 5168 & 5170 N. Hollywood Avenue 729 & 733 E. Henry Clay Street & 5167, 5169 & 5171 N. Elkhart Avenue 5569 N. Lake Drive 5611, 5623 & 5629 N. Lake Drive 4854 N. Larkin Street 4522, 4524 & 4526 N. Oakland Avenue 4611 N. Oakland Avenue 4750 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5962 & 5966 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 111 & 121 E. Silver Spring Drive 127 & 133 E. Silver Spring Drive 177 E. Silver Spring Drive 205, 211 & 215 E. Silver Spring Drive 217, 219 & 227 E. Silver Spring Drive 302, 304, 308, 312, 314, 316, 318, 322, 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring Drive 342 E. Silver Spring Drive 400, 404 & 408 E. Silver Spring Drive 401, 403, 409 & 415 E. Silver Spring Dr. 417 E. Silver Spring Drive 421, 423, 425 & 427 E. Silver Spring Dr. 430 E. Silver Spring Drive 501, 505, 507, 509, 511 & 513 E. Silver Spring Drive Historic Name Alonzo Fowle House Peiper Food Shop Building Hopkin's Richelieu Store Building James & Anna McGee House Whitefish Bay Pharmacy Building Dr. Clement H. & Frances A. Hickey House Lanham & Son Co. Building Dr. Clement H. Hickey Dental Office Goodman-Bensman Funeral Home Wagner's Grocery Building Marcus Theater Building Addition Marcus Theater Building Whitefish Bay State Bank Bay Colony Building Fox Bay Building Whitefish Bay Liquor Shoppe Building Deutsch Shoe Store Building Berkley Building Village Fruit Market Building Powell Building Sterling Savings & Loan Association Building Gotfredson Building Date c. 1892 1938 1929 c. 1893 1950 1927 1931 1941 1960 1927 1978 1952 1957 1951 1946 1948 1955 1956 1961 1946 1926 1962 1929 Class Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible

142

517 E. Silver Spring Drive 601 E. Silver Spring Drive 629 E. Silver Spring Drive 105 W. Silver Spring Drive 115 W. Silver Spring Drive

National Tea Company Building Raydon Variety Store Building Hannahar Corporation Building Dr. Robert E. Wittig Dental Office Rice Powell Company Building

1932 1946 1950 1949 1956

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

143

This page intentionally left blank.

144

12
Planning & Landscape Architecture
Introduction Guided by a zoning code, strict building regulations, and a planning commission enacted before the majority of the village was developed, Whitefish Bay has been built as a cohesive collection of neighborhoods. These regulations encouraged the use of higher quality construction methods and building materials. The continuation of these regulations has resulted in a large number of well maintained historic resources. The villages parks and recreation spaces have been well planned by a village park board since 1923 and are located to serve all portions of the village, preserving public access to Lake Michigan and the Milwaukee River. Patterns of Community Development The Village of Whitefish Bay has had a zoning code in effect since 1922, the majority of the village being zoned for single-family residential development.290 In 1938, the village board passed an ordinance regulating building heights, requiring single-family houses to conform in height to existing houses within 70 feet from it.291 The following year, in 1939, a Plan Commission was established to advise village officials on planning in the areas of streets, sidewalks, street lighting, landscaping, traffic control, storm sewers, parking, and recreational facilities. 292 That same year, the village adopted a new zoning code, since amended, which is enforced by the village building inspector. Since 1969, the village has employed professional planning staff to advise village officials on land use and other urban planning issues.293 Following the construction of Whitefish Bays first apartment building at 1700 E. Chateau Place in 1923, village residents were largely opposed to additional multi-family residential development in the village. This was evidenced by the attitudes of both residents and the village governance at a village board meeting in the summer of 1930 at which Village President Frank Klode strongly stated his desire for the village to remain strictly single-family residential in character. 294 In 1934, a committee was formed to advertise the village as a residential area to promote strictly single-family residential development during and after the Great Depression.295 In the years that followed, the majority of apartments constructed occurred over commercial spaces in mixed-use buildings along Henry Clay Street and Silver Spring Drive. The establishment of a Plan Commission and major revision of the zoning code in 1939 were responses to a $1,000,000 apartment project proposed for the 4600 Block of Lake Drive that was not granted a rezoning and therefore never constructed. The debate over multi-family housing in the village came to a climax around the year 1950 over a $2,500,000 proposal by the Frances J. Schroedel Construction Company to construct 320 145

apartments. After the Village of Whitefish Bay annexed land southwest of Santa Monica Boulevard and Fairmount Avenue from the former Town of Milwaukee, this area was rezoned from permitting light industrial to areas of multi-family residential and commercial. The Schroedel Construction Company purchased this land during the 1940s, and at the end of that decade, sought permits to construct a large apartment development there. However by 1950, due to pressure from local residents and a desire to maintain the village as strictly single-family residences, the village board rezoned this tract to prohibit multi-family residential. Litigation ensued, ending with the Schroedel Company winning an appeal to the Wisconsin State Court and being granted the permits to construct the Bay Village Apartments. Since this time, additional apartment and condominium buildings have been constructed primarily near Henry Clay Street, Oakland Avenue, and Silver Spring Drive business districts. Sparked by the proposals for several multi-family residential buildings, a planned development ordinance was enacted in 1969 to preserve the residential character of the village.296 The Shorecliff Apartments, located at 1700 E. Chateau Place, were included in the survey and are individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. The Bay Village Apartments, located at 4801-4831 N. Anita Avenue, 4833-4863 N. Anita Avenue, 4864-4894 N. Anita Avenue, 4865-4895 N. Anita Avenue, 100-128 E. Chateau Place, 115-145 E. Chateau Place, 132-162 E. Chateau Place, 216246 E. Chateau Place, 100-130 W. Chateau Place, 101-131 W. Chateau Place, 4833-4863 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, 4865-4895 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, 4901-4931 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, 4951-4961 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, 4932-4962 N. Shoreland Avenue, 4864-4894 N. Shoreland Avenue, 4865-4895 N. Shoreland Avenue, 4900-4930 N. Shoreland Avenue, and 4901-4931 N. Shoreland Avenue were included in the survey. While they are not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places, all nineteen Bay Village Apartment buildings area eligible for listing as contributing Bay Village Apartments, looking southeast resources to the proposed Bay Village Residential (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehring) Historic District. In 1945, the Village of Whitefish Bay established an architectural review board, following the predident of Wauwatosas then 15-member architectural review board. The purpose of the fivemember committee, originally appointed by Village President Dr. Frank Drew, was primarily to see that all new houses coincide architecturally with neighboring buildings. Dr. Drew was quoted in a July 26, 1945 Whitefish Bay Herald article stating that no houses will be merely four walls and a roof. Residents of the village supported the review board as many were concerned with the benefit restriction for veterans to a maximum cost $8,000 for a new residence at $8,000 under the Servicemen's Readjustment Act of 1944. The following year, the village board passed an ordinance requiring all single-family houses to be a minimum of 17,500 cubic feet on 40-foot-wide village lots. Also in an effort to maintain architectural continuity in the villages residential neighborhoods, the village participated for a brief period of time during the mid-twentieth century in purchasing nonconforming buildings, razing them, and providing the land for redevelopment. This program was short lived due to its expense and the infrequency of non-conforming buildings coming up for sale.297

146

During the late 1960s, the commercial district along Silver Spring Drive developed at a larger scale than expected, resulting in heavy vehicular traffic along that street and surrounding residential streets. Off-street parking, lacking at the time, was developed in the area to minimize impact on and create a buffer to the surrounding residential neighborhoods.298 In recent years, additional streetscaping and traffic calming measures have been implemented along Silver Spring Drive. Street names were changed in the village during several phases. The first occurred around 1922. The second and largest group of changes took place during the late 1920s and early 1930s. The main goal of these changes was to eliminate the City of Milwaukee street names that continued north into the village. Many of these were replaced with names of places in California. 299 Also at this time, in earl 1931, house numbers changed to coordinate suburban addresses with those in the city of Milwaukee.300 The following table lists all street name changes during these periods; known dates of these changes are shown in parentheses.
Current Street Name Ardmore Avenue (1926) Bartlett Avenue Bay Ridge Avenue (1929) Beaumont Avenue (1926) Berkley Boulevard (1929) Briarwood Place (1926) Carlisle Avenue (1926) Chateau Place (1926) Circle Drive, northern portion (1926) Circle Drive, southern portion (1926) Colfax Place (1926) Consaul Place (1926) Courtland Place E. Cumberland Boulevard N. Cumberland Boulevard (1926) Devon Street Diversey Boulevard (1932) Elkhart Avenue (1932) Fleetwood Place (1926) Glen Avenue (1922) Henry Clay Street (1926) Hollywood Avenue Idlewild Avenue (1932) Kent Avenue (1932) Kimbark Place (1932) Lake Drive Lake Drive, north of Day Avenue Lake Drive Court Lancaster Avenue (1926) Lexington Boulevard, east of Marlborough Drive (1926) Lexington Boulevard, west of Marlborough Drive (1926) Former Street Name Bolton Street, Battery Place (1922) Bartlett Street 1st Street Lawndale Avenue Buffum Street Fernwood Place, Oakwood Place (1922) Woodland Avenue, California Avenue (1926) Luther Street Woodland Place, Wellington Circle (1922), Woodland Circle (1922) Fernwood Place, Wellington Circle (1922), Woodland Circle (1922) Pabst Avenue Thompson Avenue Cumberland Avenue Cumberland Avenue Bradley Place Brown Road Holton Street Fratney Street Woodland Place Connecticut Avenue Port Washington & Whitefish Bay Road, Washington Avenue (1919) Booth Street Pierce Street Division Street, Island Avenue Humboldt Avenue Whitefish Bay Road, Lake Avenue (1922) Whitcomb Avenue, Holton Street Shore Court Elizabeth Street Bellevue Boulevard Idlewild Place

147

Lydell Avenue (1929) Maitland Court Marlborough Drive, north of Colfax Place (1926) Marlborough Drive, south of Colfax Place (1926) Meadow Place (1926) Monrovia Avenue, east of Lake Drive Monrovia Avenue, west of Lake Drive Montclaire Avenue Morris Boulevard Santa Monica Boulevard (1932) School Road Sheffield Avenue (1932) Shore Drive, north of Day Avenue Shoreland Avenue (1928) Silver Spring Drive Sylvan Avenue (1926) Wildwood Avenue Wilshire Road Woodburn Street (1926) Woodruff Avenue (1932)

2nd Street Hollywood Avenue Pennsylvania Avenue Humboldt Avenue Barrett Place Pinewood Avenue Kaul Avenue Irma Avenue Ash Street Richards Street Birchwood Avenue, High Street Ashton Street, Weil Street Pierce Street Prairie Street, Hubbard Street Silver Spring Road Park Street Dousman Street Michigan Avenue, Whitcomb Avenue Highland Avenue Avoca Avenue, Bremen Street (1926), Avoca Avenue (1927)

Urban Parks and Planning Armory Park Armory Park, maintained by the Village of Whitefish Bay, is located on the site of the old Whitefish Bay Armory adjacent to Whitefish Bay High School. For more information on the old Whitefish Bay Armory, refer to Chapter 4 Government. After the old armory was demolished early after the turn of the twenty first century, its grounds were designated as a new park. In 2009, construction began in the new park on a memorial to honor local veterans.301 The Whitefish Bay Veterans Memorial was not included in the survey as it is too young to be considered an historic resource. Big Bay Park In 1924, I. J. Rosenberg purchased 1,600 feel of land fronting Lake Michigan on Lake Drive between present Henry Clay Street and Fairmount Avenue. The following year he formed the Highland Beach Company to develop an apartment hotel on this land. After hiring G. H. Gottschalk & Company of Chicago to construct a $2,000,000 hotel designed by Milwaukee architect Herman Bruns, the village changed the sites zoning to prohibit the construction of a hotel. Also that year, the village began condemnation proceedings to acquire the land for a new village park. Litigation ensued and ended with the disposal of the land at sheriffs auction. The land was purchased by a developer who platted the land west of Palisades Road for residential lots. In 1937, the 8.7 acres of land east of Palisades Road were sold to Milwaukee County to become a county park.302 After World War II, a wooden memorial was erected in the park honoring Whitefish Bay veterans. However, it suffered greatly from deteriorated and was eventually removed. Today, a carved wooden eagle from the memorial is mounted in the board

148

room of the Whitefish Bay Village Hall.303 Along the shoreline in the park, a wall and pier have been constructed to prevent erosion. To this day, the park continues to be maintained by the Milwaukee County Park System.304 Big Bay Park, located on the 5000 Block of Palisades Road, was included in the survey; but it is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Big Bay Park is eligible for listing as a contributing resource to the proposed Big Bay Park Historic District, which is comprised of the original Rosenberg parcel and adjacent Buckley Park. Buckley Park Located on the Lake Michigan bluff, 1 acre of land was acquired by the village for $35,000 to become Fairmount Park in 1931, after the village board identified a need for an additional park and beach facilities on the southern end of the village. As such, the parks original main feature was its swimming beach below the bluff which was accessed by a series of wooden steps.305 The park was renamed Buckley Park in 1933 in honor of Thomas F. Buckley, who served as village engineer and commissioner of public works from 1921 to 1933 and had an active role in the development of the park.306 From 1935 to 1950, concessions were sold from a small stand operated by high school students to support the high school band. Swimming was discontinued at the Buckley Beach sometime during the 1950s.307 In 1956, concrete revetment walls were constructed, replacing the original walls along the beach to prevent further erosion as well as protect the sewer outlet at Lake Michigan in the park.308 Today, Buckley Park is adjacent to Milwaukee Countys Big Bay Park. Buckley Park, located on the 4900 Block of Lake Drive, was included in the survey; but it is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Buckley Park is eligible for listing as a contributing resource to the proposed Big Bay Park Historic District. Cahill Square Park Citing a need for addition recreational areas within the growing community, land for Cahill Square Park was purchased by the village by in the mid-1950s. This was one of the last large plots of land that remained undeveloped in the village at the time. 309 The park was named in the honor of Ralph H. Cahill, who served as village commissioner of public works from 1935 to 1942.310 Six tennis courts and a seasonal ice skating rink were erected in 1956 for a cost of $35,800, the first improvements to the site. In 1957, a softball diamond was built and $100,000 was earmarked for a swimming pool, however this amenity was never realized.311 In 1966, the Cahill Square Park Shelter was constructed as designed by architect Thomas M. Slater; it was remodeled in 2007 by Titan Construction of New Berlin, Wisconsin.312 Today, the park continues to be maintained by the Village of Whitefish Bay. Its shelter is the only park facility within the village that can be reserved for private gatherings.313 The Cahill Square Park Shelter, located at 1001 E. Fairmount Avenue, was not included in the survey as it is too young to be considered an historic resource. Estabrook Park Estabrook Park was acquired by Milwaukee County in 1916. Portions of the park were left in their natural state, while other portions began being developed with park facilities soon after the

149

countys acquisition. What was formerly Humboldt Drive, now named Estabrook Parkway, meanders through the park connecting Hampton Road and Capitol Drive. During the early twentieth century, the park included a swimming beach complete with bathhouse along the river. A lagoon in the park, which straddles Whitefish Bays border, is the remnants of a stone quarry used by a cement mill formerly located on the land before it became the county park. For more information on the Milwaukee Cement Company, refer to Chapter 5 Industry. In 1938, the historic Benjamin Church House built in 1844 was saved from demolition in Milwaukee, moved to the park in Shorewood, and underwent restoration.314 The park is located within the boundaries of three local municipalities: the Village of Whitefish Bay, the Village of Shorewood, and the City of Milwaukee. At the end of 1927, a conference was held between these municipalities concerning water. It was suggested that Whitefish Bay continue purchasing its water from Milwaukee by way of Santa Monica Boulevard requiring Whitefish Bay to annex a portion of the park to provide access to the Milwaukee River for the construction of waste water outlets.315 For more information on public water service to Whitefish Bay, refer to Chapter 11 Commerce. Today, the 122-acre Estabrook Park is maintained by the Milwaukee County Park System and includes approximately 2 miles of river frontage on the Milwaukee Rivers east bank. Vehicular access to the park is not provided from within Whitefish Bay village limits. In the Whitefish Bay portion of the park, features include public parking, pedestrian access to the countys Oak Leaf Bike Trail, and sections of a disc golf course recently installed. Soccer fields, baseball diamonds, sand volleyball courts, an inline skate hockey rink, a dog exercise area, public access to the Milwaukee River, play fields, walking paths, several reservable and non-reservable picnic areas, and multiple stone restroom and service buildings are located elsewhere in the park.316 No historic resources within Estabrook Park were included in this survey as the only resources within the boundaries of Whitefish Bay are too young to be considered historic. Klode Park A 10.84-acre piece of land along the Lake Michigan bluff was acquired by the village in 1928 for $103,000. It was graded the following year to prevent erosion, with a drain system installed, and developed into Klode Park as designed by Frank J. Holtketter and Robert Baebenroth. The park, named after former Village President Frank C. Klode, is bisected near its center by Shore Drive. At the time of its opening, the parks swimming beach was staffed by a full-time lifeguard. In 1930, a warming house for a seasonal ice skating rink was constructed in the park; two tennis courts were also installed that year. The park building didnt receive electricity until 19 years later. Two off-street parking spaces were provided. Original plans for the park also included outdoor handball courts, a bandstand, horseshoe pits, and putting greens; however, none of these were ever developed. From 1935 to 1950, concessions were sold from a small stand operated by high school students to support the high school band. In 1944, the village constructed an additional portable warming house at Klode Park.317 The following year, it was moved to several sites along Silver Spring Drive and used as a temporary Post Office until 1952.318 In 1960, a new warming house and restroom building was constructed by the construction firm of Huehn & Campfield. In 1963, the North Shore Water System began constructing a pumping station in Klode Park in combination with a raw water intake pipe that extends 4,000 feet into Lake

150

Michigan from the Klode Beach at 33 feet below the waters surface. For more information on the North Shore Water System, refer to Chapter 11 Commerce.319 . Drains and terracing were constructed on the bluff to stabilization erosion.320 Through the 1960s, Klode Beach was staffed by lifeguards.321 Today, Klode Park continues to be maintained by the Village of Whitefish Bay and also features a playground, picnic areas, and a warming house and restroom building.322 The Klode Park Shelter, located at 5932 N. Lake Drive, and the North Shore Water System Pumping Station, located along the Lake Michigan bluff in Klode Park, were not included in the survey. Lydell Community Center & Park In 1950, 7.2 acres of land were purchased by the Whitefish Bay School District in the adjacent City of Glendale. This land was once considered for the development of a new neighborhood park, which the Villages southwest side was considered to be lacking at the time. Initial proposals for a school at this site were rejected by voters in 1951. Three years later the land was annexed into the village, and Lydell School was built in 1955. The school served as an elementary school until 1989. At this time, it came to house the Whitefish Bay Community Center and its playgrounds became a public park.323 For more information on the Lydell School and Whitefish Bay Community Center, refer to Chapter 8 Education. The Lydell Community Center and its accompanying park space continue to be maintained by the Village of Whitefish Bay.324 Lydell School, located at 5205 N. Lydell Avenue, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for the significance of its Contemporary style architecture. School House Park School House Park is located on a triangular block bounded by Marlborough Drive, Idlewild Avenue, and Fleetwood Place. It is the site of Whitefish Bays first school. For more information on the old Fleetwood School, refer to Chapter 8 Education. The park features a spacious lawn, formal garden, and fountain. Today, the park is utilized every year for a Halloween Festival. 325 No resources located in School House Park were included in the survey. Silver Spring Park Silver Spring Park, located on the Lake Michigan bluff, was originally part of Silver Spring Drives right of way. This narrow strip of land between the lake and present Lake Drive was abandoned to become a public park in 1912. Wooden stairs constructed that year descended from a naturally landscaped half acre park on top of the bluff to the sand beach below, the first location in the village of such stairs down the bluff to a beach. No lifeguards were stationed at this park.326 Today, Silver Spring Park continues to be maintained by the Village of Whitefish Bay. 327 No resources located in Silver Spring Park were included in the survey. Water Tower Park By the mid-1960s, 10 acres had been obtained by the village in the northwest corner of the village to develop as a park near the Whitefish Bay water tower constructed in 1949. For more information on the water tower in Whitefish Bay, refer to Chapter 11 Commerce. In 1998, the

151

existing restroom building received an addition constructed by Stroo Construction of Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin. Stroo also constructed a replacement water tower in the park that year. Today, Water Tower Park continues to be maintained by the Village of Whitefish Bay and features soccer fields, baseball diamonds, and a concession and restroom building.328 The Water Tower Park Shelter and the Whitefish Bay Water Tower, both located at 6400 N. Lydell Avenue, were not included in the survey as they are both too young to be considered historic resources. Park on the 300-400 Block of Silver Spring Drive A small park, maintained by the Village of Whitefish Bay, is located on the 300-400 Block of E. Silver Spring Drive. It is in the location of the former Brand Meat Market, formerly 342 E. Silver Spring Drive. The market closed in 1953 after 26 years of operation. The building was soon purchased by Clarence and Sylvia Schallert, who demolished it in 1956 after constructing a new building to house their liquor store immediately to the west of the markets original location. For more information on the Whitefish Bay Liquor Shoppe, refer to Chapter 11 Commerce. The lot of the demolished market building remained vacant for many years before being developed as a public park. Today, the small park provides pedestrian access from Silver Spring Drive to public parking lots on the north half of the block behind the Fox Bay Theater and other neighboring buildings. An antique clock was placed in the park in 1988 during a streetscape improvement and repair project along Silver Spring Drive.329 No resources located in the park on the 300-400 Block of Silver Spring Drive were included in the survey. List of Surveyed Historic Resources Mentioned in the Text
Address 4801, 4803, 4805, 4807, 4809, 4811, 4813, 4815, 4817, 4819, 4821, 4823, 4825, 4827, 4829 & 4831 N. Anita Avenue 4833, 4835, 4837, 4839, 4841, 4843, 4845, 4847, 4849, 4851, 4853, 4855, 4857, 4859, 4861 & 4863 N. Anita Avenue 4864, 4866, 4868, 4870, 4872, 4874, 4876, 4878, 4880, 4882, 4884, 4886, 4888, 4890, 4892 & 4894 N. Anita Avenue 4865, 4867, 4869, 4871, 4873, 4875, 4877, 4879, 4881, 4883, 4885, 4887, 4889, 4891, 4893 & 4895 N. Anita Avenue 4901, 4903, 4905, 4907, 4909, 4911, 4913, 4915, 4917, 4919, 4921, 4923, 4925, 4927, 4929 & 4931 N. Anita Avenue 100, 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, 126, 128 & 130 E. Chateau Place 115, 117, 119, 121, 123, 125, 127, 129, 131, 133, 135, 137, 139, 141, 143 & 145 E. Chateau Place 132, 134, 136, 138, 140, 142, 144, 146, 148, 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160 & 162 E. Chateau Place Historic Name Anita Building Corporation Apartments Barbara Building Corporation Apartments Terese Building Corporation Apartments Catherine Building Corporation Apartments Diana Building Corporation Apartments Georgia Building Corporation Apartments Shirley Building Corporation Apartments Helena Building Corporation Apartments Date 1952 1952 1952 1952 1952 1950 1950 1950 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed

152

164, 166, 168, 170, 172, 174, 176, 178, 200, 202, 204, 206, 208, 210, 212 & 214 E. Chateau Place 216, 218, 220, 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, 232, 234, 236, 238, 240, 242, 244 & 246 E. Chateau Place 1700 E. Chateau Place 100, 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, 126, 128 & 130 W. Chateau Place 101, 103, 105, 107, 109, 111, 113, 115, 117, 119, 121, 123, 125, 127, 129 & 131 W. Chateau Place 1200 E. Fairmount Avenue 4900 Block of Lake Drive 5205 N. Lydell Avenue 5000 Block of Palisades Road 4833, 4835, 4837, 4839, 4841, 4843, 4845, 4847, 4849, 4851, 4853, 4855, 4857, 4859, 4861 & 4863 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4865, 4867, 4869, 4871, 4873, 4875, 4877, 4879, 4881, 4883, 4885, 4887, 4889, 4891, 4893 & 4895 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4901, 4903, 4905, 4907, 4909, 4911, 4913, 4915, 4917, 4919, 4921, 4923, 4925, 4927, 4929 & 4931 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4951, 4953, 4955, 4957, 4959 & 4961 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4932, 4934, 4936, 4938, 4940, 4942, 4944, 4946, 4949, 4950, 4952, 4954, 4956, 4958, 4960 & 4962 N. Shoreland Ave. 4864, 4866, 4868, 4870, 4872, 4874, 4876, 4878, 4880, 4882, 4884, 4886, 4888, 4890, 4892 & 4894 N. Shoreland Ave. 4865, 4867, 4869, 4871, 4873, 4875, 4877, 4879, 4881, 4883, 4885, 4887, 4889, 4891, 4893 & 4895 N. Shoreland Ave. 4900, 4902, 4904, 4906, 4908, 4910, 4912, 4914, 4916, 4918, 4920, 4922, 4924, 4926, 4928 & 4930 N. Shoreland Ave. 4901, 4903, 4905, 4907, 4909, 4911, 4913, 4915, 4917, 4919, 4921, 4923, 4925, 4927, 4929 & 4931 N. Shoreland Ave. 302, 304, 308, 312, 314, 316, 318, 322, 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring Dr. 342 E. Silver Spring Drive

Ivy Building Corporation Apartments Joyce Building Corporation Apartments Shorecliff Apartments Frances Building Corporation Apartments Elizabeth Building Corporation Apartments Whitefish Bay High School Buckley Park Lydell School Big Bay Park Margo Building Corporation Apartments

1950 1950 1923 1950 1950 1929 1955

Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed

1951

Lisa Building Corporation Apartments

1951

Surveyed

Karen Building Corporation Apartments Monica Building Corporation Apartments Nina Building Corporation Apartments Olympia Building Corporation Apartments Urania Building Corporation Apartments Patricia Building Corporation Apartments Rita Building Corporation Apartments Fox Bay Building Whitefish Bay Liquor Shoppe Building

1951 1949 1952 1952 1952 1952 1952 1948 1955

Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed

153

This page intentionally left blank.

154

13
Recreation & Entertainment
Introduction Whitefish Bay was first and best known for its recreational opportunities during the late 1800s and through the turn of the twentieth century. Several resorts were located along Milwaukees north shore of Lake Michigan, including at one time up to three located in Whitefish Bay. These resorts and picnic grounds helped spur development in the village. Since then, other recreational and entertainment facilities have made Whitefish Bay a well-rounded community. Resorts Jefferson Park Jefferson Park was one of Whitefish Bays earliest picnic grounds, located on the north side of Henry Clay Street west of present-day Lake Drive. The grounds were approximately 170 feet by 275 feet in size.330 The main pavilion, located at Henry Clay Street and Kimbark Place, served as a music and dance hall until competitor Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort purchased Jefferson Park in 1891. After the parks closing, its pavilion served as a public gathering place. Prior to the construction of both Fleetwood and Henry Jefferson Park Pavilion Clay Schools, classes took place in the pavilion during (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehring) warm months.331 Also in the 1890s, separate groups of Episcopalians and Methodists held their church services in the pavilion prior to constructing their first church buildings.332 In 1907, the Jefferson Park pavilion was purchased by the National Guard, moved across Henry Clay Street and, together with the former Welcome Park pavilion, was remodeled into an armory.333 There are no resources related to the Jefferson Park remaining; however, the residences later constructed on this land have been included in the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District. For more information on the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District, refer to Chapter 16 Survey Results. Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort In 1877, Fred G. Isenring purchased eighteen acres of land, bounded by Lake Michigan to the east, Lake Drive to the west, and Henry Clay Street to the south, for $1,600. He sold to the Pabst Brewing Company for $20,000 eleven years later. The company, owned by Captain Frederick 155

Pabst, wanted to invest in a private park as an outlet for their product as well as advertise the Pabst name. The Pabst board of directors voted to build a restaurant and pavilion in Whitefish Bay in November of 1888. Promenades crisscrossed the bluff leading down the waters edge, small white tables lined the bluff, and a spacious pavilion overlooked grand lake views. The pavilion was comprised of four sections: two 70-foot wings off of a central, 48-foot diameter, circular bar and a south wing containing a parlor with a broad, white staircase leading to the second floor dining room. An octagonal bandstand stood north of the pavilion. More than 300 guests attended a grand opening event on June 25, 1889. Future Mayor of Milwaukee and Governor of Wisconsin, George W. Peck, was the events grand toastmaster and remarked, The north shore area of Milwaukee is indeed the original Garden of Eden. The resort opened to the public five days later.334

Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehring)

The resort became a well-known dining establishment, especially for its whitefish caught fresh and locally from Lake Michigan. Visitors came to the resort from Milwaukee in horse-drawn carriages, the first automobiles along the Lake Avenue Turnpike, the Milwaukee & Whitefish Bay Railroads Dummy Line, as well as on steamships that ferried customers from downtown Milwaukee to piers just outside the resorts entrance. Travelers from as far away as Chicago, St. Louis, and Cleveland road on the Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western Railroads special excursion service to Whitefish Bay to vacation at the Pabst Resort. At the resorts peak, up to ten thousand people visited each Sunday during the summer. Theodore Roosevelt once visited the famous resort.335 Under a lease with the Pabst Brewing Company, Fred G. Isenring managed the resort from its opening in 1889 until the time of his wifes death in 1894. During his tenure managing the resort, Isenring continued acting as a real estate agent in Whitefish Bay and served as the first village president.336 Periodically, Isenring planned elaborate spectacles in which a parachutist would drop from a hot air balloon into the lake. In 1889, Isenring purchased a private residence, called Fernwood Cottage; two years later, he sold it to the Pabst Brewing Company. This house was renamed the Edgewood Family Resort and used to house employees such as cooks, maids, bartenders, and waiters. It was demolished in 1915. While managing the resort, Isenring and his family lived in a house near the bandstand. At the end of Isenrings lease, this house was moved out of the park to the southwest corner of Lexington Boulevard and Lake Drive, where he later occupied it. It is no longer extant. 337

156

Konopka, a Russian immigrant who previously had lost money in South Dakota flax farming, assumed a decade long management position at age 65. Konopka was innovative and deeply involved in daily operations, even supervising the kitchen and wine cellar personally. Konopka brought several changes to the resort. He installed a 10-car Ferris wheel in 1895 and, for a short period of time around the year 1900, showed outdoor movies on a screen at the edge of the bluff projected from a hand cranked projector on the bar steps. A clever businessman, Konopka sold advertising space on the Ferris wheel cars canvas awnings. During his tenure, an attempt was made to change the name of the resort to The Bellevue; however, the public continued to refer to it as the Whitefish Bay Resort often omitting the Pabst name. A copy of the Whitefish Bay Pioneer from early 1895 carried an ad for The Bellevue, the Beautiful Summer Resort at Whitefish Bay. 338 Peter and Joseph Sturm, brothers from Milwaukee, managed the resort for two seasons starting in 1904 after Henry Konopkas retirement. The Sturm brothers had no past hotel management experience, only having previously operated a saloon. In 1906, they moved the resorts circular bar to the west wing thereby creating a larger space for entertainment in the main hall, which included Tyrolean zither players and Schuhplatter dancers. Under their management, a baseball diamond was installed and small concessionaires were allowed on the premises.339 In 1907, Richard Becker took over management after previously managing the Forest Keller at Pabst Brewery. 340 At one point during his management, the Ferris wheel was replaced with a carousel. Of interesting note, dancing was never permitted at the Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort. Due to the change in outing habits brought on by the growing ownership of personal automobiles, the Pabst board of directors voted on December 30, 1913 to close the resort. 341 After the resorts closing, there was discussion of the village or county purchasing the land for a park. However, the resort property was subdivided, platted, and sold as large, lakefront residential lots in 1914.342 There are no resources related to the Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort remaining; however, the residences later constructed on this land have been included in the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District. For more information on the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District, refer to Chapter 16 Survey Results. Welcome Park Welcome Park was a resort and picnic ground owned by Louis Saxe in the late 1800s located west of the intersection of Henry Clay Street and Lake Drive. The grounds were approximately 190 feet by 275 feet in size. Welcome Park was named such, as it was the location of the Welcome Park Pavilion (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehring) Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western Railroads Whitefish Bay depot starting in 1888. For more information on the railroad, refer to Chapter 6 Transportation.343 Starting in 1889, Saxe leased land in the park to August F. Nussbaumer and Adam Roth, who operated a saloon and restaurant there for five years, hosting music and dancing. Welcome Park was a competitor of the famous Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort, until the Pabst Brewing Company purchased Welcome Park from Jacob Stoll, Elizabeth Sutton,

157

and William J. Sutton in 1891.344 In 1907, the parks main pavilion was purchased by the National Guard, moved across Henry Clay Street and, together with the former Jefferson Park pavilion, was remodeled into an armory.345 There are no resources related to the Welcome Park remaining; however, the residences later constructed on this land have been included in the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District. For more information on the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District, refer to Chapter 16 Survey Results. Performing Arts and Motion Pictures Diane Theater In 1948, Ben Marcus of the S & M Theater Company, now Marcus Theatres, proposed a $200,000 building to be located at the southwest corner of Silver Spring Drive and Kent Avenue. It was to house a single screen, 1,000-seat movie theater, six storefronts, and twenty two offices, in addition to offices for the theater company to relocate to itself. The proposed building designed by architect Perry Crosier of Minneapolis, Minnesota, of a Contemporary style with a glass and granite exterior. Named the Diane Theater, it was slated to be the first movie theater in Whitefish Bay; however, a steel shortage stopped construction of the building that year after its foundations had been installed. After several years, Marcus revised the plans to no longer include the movie theater and construction continued. The new $85,000, brick building was completed in 1952 by the William Keierleber Construction Company. Fritzels occupied the first floor retail space selling womens apparel and Marcus occupied a portion of the upper stories with their offices. A 50-car parking lot was constructed immediately west of the building, complete with brick walls along the sidewalk and a parking attendant. In 1978, a two-story addition was constructed on the west side of the building.346 The Marcus Theater Building, located at 127 & 133 E. Silver Spring Drive, and its addition, located at 111 & 121 E. Silver Spring Drive, were both included in the survey; both are not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Fox Bay Theater The Fox Bay Building, designed by the architectural firm of Ebling, Plunkett & Keymar for Ken Reed of The Trident Corporation, began construction in 1948. The Fox Bay Theater opened upon the buildings completion in 1951. A two-story structure of brick and stone, it originally consisted of the storefronts at 316, 318, 322, 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring Drive. A complimentary, two-story addition, designed by the architectural firm Grassold-Johnson & Associates and comprising of 302, 304, 308, 312 & 314 E. Silver Spring Drive, was constructed in 1955.347 Daniel Katz purchased the Fox Bay Building and the theater in 1986. Katz continued to lease the theater to Reed until late in 1989 when he hired the Landmark Theater Corporation to continue its management. Landmark Theaters pulled out in 1991 due to declining ticket sales, a national trend for single-screen theaters such as the Fox Bay Theater. At that time, Katz converted it to a budget theater format in a last attempt to attract an increase in customers. However, this attempt was unsuccessful and the theater closed in September of 1992. Later that year, the national chain bookseller Barnes & Noble submitted a proposal to convert the theater space into a 17,000 square foot superstore. The proposal met heavy opposition from the community. A 3,000 signature petition was submitted to the village, leading to Barnes & Noble

158

to drop its plans.348 The theater underwent a complete renovation in 2000 and reopened that year as the independently operated Fox Bay Cinema Grill, the first dinner and a movie style theater in the Milwaukee area.349 The Fox Bay Building, located at 302, 304, 308, 312, 314, 316, 318, 322, 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring, was included in the survey and is eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places due to the significance of its Art Moderne style architecture. North Shore Childrens Theatre During the 1960s, a group named the North Shore Childrens Theatre was active in Whitefish Bay.350 Little else is known about this group at the present time. No historic resources were found to be associated with this group. The Bay Players The Bay Players began with their first performance in 1951 under the sponsorship of the Whitefish Bay Department of Recreation and Adult Education. As a community theater group, auditions are open to all members of the public who have completed high school. The group handles all aspects of stage production including set and costume design, publicity, make-up, and lighting and sound engineering. Early performances were held in the Henry Clay School gymnasium. Currently, all productions of the Bay Players are performed at the Whitefish Bay High School auditorium. 351 For more information on Henry Clay School and Whitefish Bay High School, refer to Chapter 8 Education. List of Surveyed Historic Resources Mentioned in the Text
Address 1200 E. Fairmount Avenue 111 & 121 E. Silver Spring Drive 127 & 133 E. Silver Spring Drive 302, 304, 308, 312, 314, 316, 318, 322, 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring Dr. Historic Name Whitefish Bay High School Marcus Theater Building Addition Marcus Theater Building Fox Bay Building Date 1929 1978 1952 1948 Class Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible

159

This page intentionally left blank.

160

14
Notable People
Introduction The list of notable people includes people who have helped to shape the Village of Whitefish Bay. These people range form entrepreneurs, industrialists, politicians, brewmeisters, craftsmen, and professionals. Most of these people can be connected with a historic event or building. Any historic resources associated with these persons are listed after their short biographies. More research may unearth additional resources. Melvin W. Andres Melvin W. Andres was the vice president and treasurer of the Andres Stone & Marble Company in Milwaukee. 352 He constructed his house, designed by architects Clas, Shepherd & Clas, in 1927. 353 The Melvin W. & Marion Andres House, located at 4707 N. Wilshire Road, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places due to the significance of its Mediterannean Revival style architecture. Frank E. Baker Frank E. Baker served from 1924 to 1946 as the president of the Wisconsin State Teachers College in Milwaukee, forerunner to the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Under his leadership, the college gained a national reputation for innovation and experimental programs in teacher education and was considered one of the top teacher training colleges in the United States. Baker held strict admission standards, limiting enrollment and maintaining excellence. 354 Bakers house, designed by architect Willis Leenhouts, was constructed on Day Avenue in Whitefish Bay in 1928. 355 The Frank E. & Ruth G. Baker House, located at 601 E. Day Avenue, was included in the survey and is eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as a contributing resource to the proposed Lawndale Residential Historic District. Edgar Baume Edgar Baume was a Milwaukee real estate developer who platted the Ortonwood Triangle Subdivision in 1921, which partially comprises the propsed Lake Woods & Ortonwood Triangle Residential Historic District.356

161

Miriam Mimi Bird Miriam Mimi Bird, was born Miriam Young in Milwaukee in 1933. The Young family moved to Whitefish Bay, where Mimi grew up and spent her adult life after marrying John D. Bird. Through an interest in family geneology, Mimi became active with the Whitefish Bay Historical Society in the early 1980s. She began researching the history of Whitefish Bay soon after, inventorying the villages oldest homes, studying the minutes of every village board meeting from 1892 to 1950, inverviewing long-time residents, and acquiring historic letters and documents. Eventually broadening the breadth of her subject area to include the entirety of the former Towns of Milwaukee and Granville, Bird became the undisputed expert on local history of the North Shore area. She produced a book on local history for the 100th Anniversary of Whitefish Bay in 1992. After her death in 2002, Mimis compiled research, including the 27volumeWhitefish Bay Historical Research Project, was gifted to local history libraries. It is available at the Whitefish Bay Public Library, the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Golda Meir Library, the Milwaukee County Historical Society, and the Milwaukee Central Librarys local history room.357 Balistreri Brothers In 1947, Frank, Ignatius, Thomas, and Joseph Balistreri purchased a village-owned lot which housed a temporary post office structure at the intersection of Silver Spring Drive and Consaul Place.358 There they constructed a retail building, designed by the architecture firm Grassold and Johnson, and opened Sendiks Fruit Market in 1948. In 1975, the store soon expanded to become a full-service grocer.359 Today more than a dozen Sendiks grocery stores are located throughout the Milwaukee area under multiple ownerships. The Sendiks Food Market Building, located at 500 E. Silver Spring Drive, was not included in the survey as its additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of its original architecture. George Bentley George Bentley established Bentleys Whitefish Bay Inn, a combination tavern, restaurant, and grocery store, around the year 1900 on Henry Clay Street across from the Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort. A barn was originally located behind the store to house visitors horses and wagons. In 1915, Bentley sold the business to John and Anna Pandl, who changed the name to Pandls Whitefish Bay Inn which is still operated as a restaurant by the Pandl family to this day. The barn was eventually demolished.360 The Bentleys Whitefish Bay Inn Building, located at 1319 E. Henry Clay Street, was not included in the survey as its additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of its original architecture. Conrad Cassel In 1897, Conrad Cassel purchased Richard Seyferts soda works factory and Queen Anne style residence on Silver Spring Drive. He continued operating the factory until 1916, after which the factory was demolished. Cassel also served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1903 to 1905. 361 The Richard Seyfert House, located at 130 & 134 W. Silver Spring Drive, was eventually subdivided into commercial spaces and was recently demolished.362

162

George Cassel George Cassel served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1912 to 1913. 363 Harold W. Connell Harold W. Connell hired the Hinkley Company to construct his house on Birch Avenue in Whitefish Bay in 1925. 364 He served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1934 to 1937.365 The Harold W. & Edna Connell House, located at 832 E. Birch Avenue, was included in the survey and is eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as a contributing resource to the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District. William Consaul William Consaul was born in 1796 near Schnectady, New York. He married Eliza Henry in 1816 and together they had eleven children, seven of which lived beyond infancy. Eliza died in 1837, after which William married Hannah M. Everts. The family spent a period of time near Toledo, Ohio before moving to Wisconsin 1847. 366 Most of his children moved with William to Milwaukee. According to the 1850 Census, he worked as a contractor. In 1853, Consaul became of of Whitefish Bays earliest settlers, purchasing and farming 30 acres of land that extended from Lake Michigan to Santa Monica Boulevard, between Silver Spring Drive and Lake View Avenue. At one time, Conaul also owned 15 acres of land north of Lake View Avenue. After Williams death in 1855, he was buried in the Town of Milwaukee cemetery, and his son, William Henry Consaul, inherited the family farm.367 The William Consaul House, located at 716 E. Silver Spring Drive, was not included in the survey as alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of its original architecture. William Henry Consaul William Henry Consaul, born in 1820, was the son of one of Whitefish Bays earliest settlers, William Consaul. William Henry was married to Ruth, an English immigrant. They inherited his fathers farm after his death in 1855. 368 In 1864, William Henry and his brother, Captain Theodore Consaul, began operating a pound net fishing company. They later sold the business to William Henrys son-in-law, Lewis Scheife.369 A bunkhouse constructed to house workers on the farm in the early 1870s was converted to a single-family residence for his son William T. and his wife to live in after their wedding. 370 William Henry Consaul died in 1889, three years after the death of his wife; both are buried in the Town of Milwaukee Cemetery. 371 The William Consaul House, located at 716 E. Silver Spring Drive, and the William H. & Ruth Consaul Farm Bunkhouse, located at 5668 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, were not included in the survey as alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of their original architecture. The William Henry & Ruth Consaul House, located at 5654 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places.

163

William T. Consaul William T. Consaul was the son of William Henry and Ruth Consaul. After marrying Catherine Patricia Carney in 1876, they lived in a converted bunkhouse on his parents farm. They did not have any children and lived there until the mid-1890s, when they constructed a house next door to his brother Frank Consauls home on Santa Monica Boulevard. 372 A citizen involved with the incorporation of the Village of Whitefish Bay, he was elected as one of the five original village trustees in 1892.373 Six years later, he and his brother-in-law, Lewis Scheife, opened a hardware store in a non-extant building located 436 & 438 E. Silver Spring Drive. The hardware store was sold to H. P. Wilke in 1920.374 The William H. & Ruth Consaul Farm Bunkhouse, located at 5668 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, was not included in the survey as alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of its original architecture. The William T. Consaul House, located at 5682 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, and the Frank & Louise Consaul House, located at 5700 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, were included in the survey; however, neither is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. W. D. Corrigan W. D. Corrigan served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1911 to 1912. 375 Craig Counsell Craig Counsell was born in South Bend, Indiana, in 1970. Eventually, his family moved to Whitefish Bay where Craig attended and played baseball at Whitefish Bay High School. He graduated with a bachelors degree in accounting from Notre Dame University, where he also played baseball. In 1995, Counsell was drafted into Major League Baseball for the Colorado Rockies. During his career to this point, he has also played for the Florida Marlins, Los Angeles Dodgers, and Arizona Diamondbacks. Counsell scored the winning run for the Marlins in Game 7 of the 1997 World Series. Since 2007, he has played for the Milwaukee Brewers and again resides in Whitefish Bay.376 Brad Courtney Brad Courtney served as a Wisconsin delegate to the Republican National Convention in 2004 and 2008. 377 A. J. Croffts A. J. Croffts served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1908 to 1911. 378 Also during the early twentieth century, Croffts owned and operated a saloon near his residence on Lexington Boulevard. 379 Rev. Peter Ernst Dietz Rev. Peter Ernst Dietz was appointed rector of St. Monica Catholic Church by Archbishop Messmer. He presided over the first Catholic mass in Whitefish Bay held on Christmas Day of

164

1923 at the non-extant Village Hall on Lexington Boulevard. As a permanent place of worship was desired by the small congregation with limited means, Rev. Dietz purchased two homesteads at the corner of Silver Spring Drive and Santa Monica Boulevard within one year. Rev. Dietz had the idea to convert a barn on the property into a chapel. He also assisted with its renovation work. Before construction, there was strong objection to a barn being converted into a church; but after, the chapel was regarded by many as one of the most charming and intimate places of worship in southeastern Wisconsin. The chapel was dedicated on May 4, 1924, the Catholic feast day of St. Monica, and was used for weekly services for the next four to five years until a new worship space was provided in a new school building. The converted barn was still utilized as a chapel until its demolition in the late 1960s. 380 Rev. Dietz had grand building aspirations for St. Monica parish from the outset. His original plans included a large church, convent, grade school, high school, gymnasium, hospital, and center for the study and creation of religious art. While a hospital association was formed around 1930, neither the hospital nor the art center was ever built. The church, school, convents, and high school from Rev. Dietzs original concept were all completed by 1956.381 St. Monica Catholic Church at 160 E. Silver Spring Drive, St. Monica Church Rectory also at 160 E. Silver Spring Drive, St. Monica School located at 5635 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, St. Monica Convent at 5681 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, Dominican High School at 120 E. Silver Spring Drive, and the Dominican Convent at 135 E. Lake View Avenue were all included in the survey and found eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic for the significance of their Mediterranean Revival or contemporary style architecture. Together these buildings comprise the proposed St. Monica Catholic Church and Dominican High School Complex. L. L. Disbro L. L. Disbro was president of the Acme Realty Company, which platted the Lawndale Subdivisions, comprising the proposed Lawndale Residential Historic District. He built his own residence in that district in 1892.382 The L. L. Disbro House, located at 524 E. Day Avenue, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for the significance of its Queen Anne style architecture. William D. Doll William D. Doll served as a Wisconsin delegate to the Republican National Convention in 1940 and as an alternate to the 1944 convention.383 He hired Leonard W. Rosnow to construct his home on Cumberland Boulevard in Whitefish Bay in 1931.384 The William D. & Bernice Doll House, located at 1579 E. Cumberland Boulevard, was included in the survey and is eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as a contributing resource to the proposed Cumberland Forest & Palo Alto Residential Historic District. Dr. Frank E. Drew Dr. Frank E. Drew served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1945 to 1951.385 During his term, he established the villages architectural review board and appointed its first members.386 Dr. Drew constructed his house, designed by architect Roland C. Kurtz, in 1931.387 The Dr. Frank E. & Irene Drew House, located at 5318 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, was

165

included in the survey and is eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as a contributing resource to the proposed Lake Crest Residential Historic District. Whitney J. Eastman Chester Moody was the president of the William O. Goodrich Company in Milwaukee, a branch of the Archer-Daniels-Midland Company of which he was also a large stockholder.388 He constructed his house, designed by Roy C. Otto, in 1929.389 The Whitney J. & Anna M. Eastman House, located at 4716 N. Wilshire Road, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places due to the significance of its Tudor Revival style architecture. A. Ehlers A citizen involved with the incorporation of the Village of Whitefish Bay, A. Ehlers was elected as one of the five original village trustees in 1892.390 Alonzo Fowle Alonzo Fowle, along with partners James McGee, Henry R. King, and a Mr. Lawton, was a printer in downtown Milwaukee during the late-1800s under the name King, Fowle, Lawton, and McGee Printing Company. 391 Fowle, president of the Whitefish Bay Association, was heavily involved with early development in the village along Day Avenue, in the proposed Lawndale Residential Historic District.392 He built his own residence on Day Avenue in Whitefish Bay in 1892. Fowle also served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1906 to 1908. 393 The Alonzo Fowle House, located at 624 E. Day Avenue, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for the significance and integrity of its Queen Anne style architecture. C. Robert Gether C. Robert Gether was secretary of the Acme Realty Company, which platted the Lawndale Subdivisions, comprising the proposed Lawndale Residential Historic District.394 He built his own residence in that district in 1892 and was instrumental in obtaining a service extension of the Milwaukee & Whitefish Bay Railroad to Day Avenue.395 The C. Robert Gether House, located at 726 E. Day Avenue, was included in the survey and is eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as a contributing resource to the proposed Lawndale Residential Historic District. W. H. Goodall W. H. Goodall constructed his house on Day Avenue in Whitefish Bay around 1896.396 He served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1913 to 1914.397 The W. H. Goodall House, located at 415 E. Day Avenue, was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places.

166

James Gormley James Gormley served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1989 to 2002.398 Harry J. Grant Harry J. Grant was the president of the Milwaukee Journal. He constructed his residence on Lake Drive in 1923.399 The Harry J. Grant House, located at 5370 N. Lake Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places due to the significance of its Tudor Revival style architecture. Oliver A. Grootemaat Oliver A. Grootemaat served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1951 to 1954.400 Tom E. Hayes Tom E. Hayes served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1954 to 1966.401 Julius Peter Heil Julius Peter Heil, born in 1874 in Duesmond-an-der-Mosel, Germany, immigrated to Wisconsin with his parents in 1881. The Heil Family settled in New Berlin, Wisconsin, where Julius attended school until the age of 12.402 By the age of 14, he began working as a drill press operator for the Milwaukee Harvester Company. He later worked for the Falk Corporation of Milwaukee and traveled throughout South America installing street railway tracks. In 1901, Heil founded the Heil Rail Joint Welding Company, changing its name to Heil Company five years later. The Heil Company became a major manufacturer of dump-truck bodies, storage and transport tanks, road machinery, and residential heating units.403 Heil and his wife, Elizabeth, purchased the Mediterranean Revival style house of Carl Herzfeld, designed by architect Russell Barr Williamson, in 1926. They lived in this house until 1938.404 Heil was appointed to head the state advisory board for the National Recovery Administration by President Roosevelt in 1933. After winning the Republican gubernatorial nomination in 1938, Heil was elected Governor of the State of Wisconsin, defeating Progressive incumbent Philip F. La Follette. During his two terms in office, 1939-1943, his administration sponsored the enactment of the State Employment Peace Act, reorganized the welfare and tax departments, created the Department of Securities, modernized the state's accounting system, and directed the liquidation of frozen assets of the Building and Loan Association.405 As governor, he also consolidated several programs into the Department of Motor Vehicles, Department of Public Welfare, and the Division of Departmental Research. Heil also served as an alternate delegate to Republican National Convention from Wisconsin in 1940 and was a member of the Freemasons.406 During Heil's second term, a State Guard was created to replace the National Guard, which had been called to active duty during World War II.407 Governor Heil was defeated by Progressive opponent Orland S. Loomis in the gubernatorial election of 1942. At that time, he returned to his business interests and was chairman of the board of the Heil Company until his death in 1949.408 The Carl Herzfeld House,

167

located at 5240 N. Lake Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Carl Herzfeld At the turn of the twentieth century, Carl Herzfeld and partner Richard Phillipson were hosiery and undergarment retailers in Milwaukee. In 1902, the Herzfeld-Phillipson Company leased the hosiery department in Julius Simon's department store in downtown Milwaukee. By 1903, Herzfeld began leasing several additional departments from Simon. Herzfeld and Nathan Stone, another department lessee, bought Simon out in 1906. Herzfeld acted as the companys president for many years; the store becoming what we know today as Boston Store. In 1924, Herzfeld constructed his personal residence in Whitefish Bay.409 The Carl Herzfeld House, located at 5240 N. Lake Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Fred G. Isenring Fred G. Isenring was the son of early Whitefish Bay settler, Galus Isenring, who purchased land from William Consaul in 1860. Freds childhood home, the Galus Isenring House, located at 808 E. Lake View Avenue, was included in the survey and is eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as a contributing resource to the proposed Lawndale Residential Historic District. In 1877, Fred G. Isenring purchased eighteen acres of land, bounded by Lake Michigan to the east, Lake Drive to the west, and Henry Clay Street to the south, for $1,600 which he sold to the Pabst Brewing Company for $20,000 eleven years later on which to construct the Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort. Under a lease with the brewing Fred G. Isenring company, Fred G. Isenring managed the rResort from its opening in (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehring) 1889 until the time of his wifes death in 1894.410 While managing the resort, Isenring and his family lived in a house near the bandstand. When Isenring was replaced as manager by Henry Konopka, this non-extant house was moved out of the park to the southwest corner of what are now Lexington Boulevard and Lake Drive.411 For more information on the Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort, refer to Chapter 13 Parks & Recreation. A citizen involved with the incorporation of the Village of Whitefish Bay, Isenring served as the first President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1892 to 1895, as well as, the Whitefish Bay representative to the Milawukee County Board.412 Also in 1892, Isenrings house was constructed next to the village hall on Fleetwood Place. The house was later relocated to 920 & 922 E. Sylvan Avenue, where it stood until its demolition in 2009. During his term as Village President, Isenring remained active as a businessman in real estate, insurance, and real estate loans. He developed three subdivisions in Whitefish Bay around the turn of the twentieth century.413 Isenring was elected County Sheriff in 1896. He left office the following year, but failed to file financial reports for at least 18 months of his term. $20,000 from sheriff sales conducted by Isenring during his time in office was found to be unaccounted for in an investigation by the district attorney. Isenring was ordered to appear in court; but he did not. An

168

order for his arrest was issued in December of 1899, but Isenring had disappeared by that time. His second wife told authorities he went to Fond du Lac on business and never returned. It is suspected that Isenring suffered greatly financially in the depression of 1898, having purchased the majority of his real estate during the boom earlier that decade. Further knowledge of Isenrings whereabouts was never uncovered.414 Wynand G. Isenring Wynand G. Isenring, son of Fred G. Isenring, served as Village of Whitefish Bay Treasurer, starting around 1917, until his death in 1941. He constructed a house on Henry Clay Street around 1920.415 Wynand G. Isenring founded the Bank of Whitefish Bay in 1930 with partners Allan J. Roberts, A. M. Krech, and Howard S. Swan.416 Isenring served as one of the banks first vice presidents.417 The bank was one of the first in Milwaukee County to be a member of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation at its beginning in 1934. When it opened, it was the only bank in Milwaukees North Shore communities.418 The Wynand G. Isenring House, located at 1009 E. Henry Clay Street, was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Warren Isenring Warren Isenring, son of Wynand G. Isenring, graduated from Marquette University with a degree in engineering and was a prominent business owner in Whitefish Bay. He began his business as a repair store on Silver Spring Drive, servicing appliances and lights. Soon he began selling merchandise requested by customers. Beginning with light bulbs, irons, and mixers; the store grew to sell larger items such as televisions and kitchen appliances as well. By 1939, the store expanded in a new location at 505 E. Silver Spring Drive. During World War II, Isenrings wife took over operations of the store while Warren worked as an engineer at a defense plant in Milwaukee during the day and repared appliances for the store at night. In 1949, the store expanded into a neighboring storefront space to allow for a larger show room.419 The Gotfredson Building, located at 501, 505, 507, 509, 511 & 513 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Kristen Johnston Actress Kristen Johnston, best known for portraying the role of Sally Solomon from 1996 to 2001 on the NBC TV series 3rd Rock from the Sun among other theatrical roles, grew up on Wilshire Road in Whitefish Bay.420 The Whitney J. & Anna M. Eastman House, located at 4716 N. Wilshire Road, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places due to the significance of its Tudor Revival style architecture. Daniel Katz Daniel Katz operates a commercial property management company that owns many properties throughout the Milwaukee metropolitan area. Katz Properties was the second largest taxpayer in the village by the mid-1990s. Katz purchased the Fox Bay Building and the Fox Bay Theater in

169

1986. At first, the theater was leased to its original owner, Ken Reed, until late in 1989 when the Landmark Theater Corporation was hired to manage it. Landmark Theaters pulled out in 1991 due to declining ticket sales, a national trend for single-screen theaters such as the Fox Bay Theater. At that time, Katz converted it to a budget theater format in an attempt to increase attendance. However, this attempt was unsuccessful, and the theater closed in 1992. During the 1990s, the offices of Katz Properties were located in the Fox Bay Building. In 1995, Katz purchased the Powell Building and The Bay Home Bakery & Delicatessen from the estate of Herald Meredig. Opened by the Meredig family in 1932 and nicknamed Bay Bakery, it is the longest operating business in Whitefish Bay. Soon after his purchase, Katz sold the bakery to Dany Olier of Brookfield.421 The Fox Bay Building, located at 302, 304, 308, 312, 314, 316, 318, 322, 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places due to the significance of its Art Moderne style architecture. The Powell Building, located at 421, 423, 425 & 427 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Henry R. King Henry R. King was born in Troy, New York, around 1855. He married Marian Juneau, the granddaughter of Milwaukee founding father Solomon Juneau. In 1878, King along with John M. W. Pratt and Charles W. Norris originated the idea for an athletic club in the city. He was a charter member of the Milwaukee Athletic Club the following year. He was also a former member of Milwaukees Light Horse Squadron of the Wisconsin National Guard. During the 1880s, King was employed by the newspaper Republican News. King, with partners Alonzo Fowle, James McGee, and a Mr. Lawton, was a printer in downtown Milwaukee during the late1800s under the name King, Fowle, Lawton, and McGee Printing Company. 422 King and McGee, who was married to Marian Juneaus sister Anna, built large, twin homes next to each other on Lake Drive which were constructed by Wilhelm Fritzke.423 Later in his career, King and Fowle established another printing company in Milwaukee by the name of King Fowle & Cramer. This firm was a pioneer in the printing and engraving industries in Milwaukee. They installed the first halftone engraving plant and the first color photogravure plant in the city. After his wifes death in 1921, King divided his estate amongst his heirs and took a new start on life. After that point, he moved to the City of Milwaukee and began an armature winding plant as well as an automobile lamp manufacturer. King passed away in 1930.424 The Henry R. & Marian King House at 5559 N. Lake Drive was not included in the survey due to alterations which have too greatly diminished the houses architectural integrity. William A. Klatte William A. Klatte, an 1899 graduate from the University of Wisconsin Law School in Madison, helped create the position of Milwuakee County Clerk of Civil Court. He held that position for thirty years. After 1912, he and his wife Florence lived at 716 E. Day Avenue in Whitefish Bay.425 The Herbert Kinne House, located at 716 E. Day Avenue, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places.

170

Addie L. Kleist Addie L. Kleist, was the first female candidate for Village Trustee in 1925. After receiving a large number of votes, Kleist donated a painting entitled Scramble for a Coin to be hung in Village Hall. The original painting became a part of the Layton Art Gallery Collection, which has since merged with the Milwaukee Art Museum.426 Frank C. Klode Frank C. Klode served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1914 to 1918 and additional terms from 1924 to 1934. 427 During his terms as president, Klode held a vocal and active stance against apartment development in the village.428 In 1928, Klode resigned and was succeeded by Village Trustee Gould Van Derzee in order for the village to be permitted to purchase land from him for $103,000 on which to build a park; the park was named in his honor. After the transaction took place, Van Derzee resigned and Klode was readministered his Presidents oath of office. 429 Grover F. Knoernschild

Frank C. Klode (Photo courtesy of Tom Fehring)

Grover F. Knoernschild served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1937 to 1945.430 A. M. Krech A. M. Krech founded the Bank of Whitefish Bay in 1930 with partners Allan J. Roberts, Wynand G. Isenring, and Howard S. Swan. Krech served as the banks first president.431 The bank was one of the first in Milwaukee County to be a member of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation at its beginning in 1934. When it opened, it was the only bank in Milwaukees North Shore communities.432 I. Lefeber A resident involved with the incorporation of the Village of Whitefish Bay, I. Lefeber was elected as one of the five original village trustees in 1892.433 John Luck John Luck, an early settler of Whitefish Bay, was the first commercial fisherman in the area. He was the first to pound net fish on the Whitefish Bay of Lake Michigan in 1862 and opened one of the areas first businesses, a restaurant and tavern, located on Lexington Boulevard by 1872.434 F. Patrick Matthews F. Patrick Matthews served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1984 to 1989.435

171

James J. McClymount James J. McClymount was the principal of McClymount Marble Manufacturers & Contractors in Milwaukee. He constructed his house, designed by architect Alexander Hamilton Bauer, on Lake Drive in 1930.436 The James J. McClymount House, located at 4811 N. Lake Drive, was included in the survey and is eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as a contributing resource to the proposed Lake Woods and Ortonwood Triangle Residential Historic District. James McGee James McGee along with partners Alonzo Fowle, James McGee, and a Mr. Lawton were printers in downtown Milwaukee during the late-1800s under the name King, Fowle, Lawton, and McGee Printing Company. McGee was married to Anna Juneau, granddaughter of Milwaukees founding father, Solomon Juneau. Around 1893, McGee and King, who was married to Anna Juneaus sister Marian, built large, twin homes next to each other on Lake Drive which were constructed by Wilhelm Fritzke.437 From 1896 to 1900, McGee served as the Village President of Whitefish Bay. 438 The James & Anna McGee House, located at 5569 N. Lake Drive, was included in the survey despite its original tile faade being covered during the 1930s. However, at this time it is not believed to be individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. William and Hannah Meredig William and Hannah Meredig immigrated to the Milwaukee area from Rhineland, Germany. William was a fourth-generation baker and the youngest master baker in Rhineland. The couple purchased the Powell Building in 1932 and opened a bakery that year under the name The Bay Home Bakery & Delicatessen. The bakery specialized in wheat and rye breads, doughnuts, pies, cookies, pastries, and cakes. Deliveries were made throughout the village and to Fox Point and River Hills. After Williams death in 1945, Hannah continued operating the bakery on her own. She eventually remarried and went by the name Hannah Meredig Remus. In around 1980, she turned the bakerys operation over to her son, Herbert. She remained involved with the business and worked on a regular basis until her death in 1985. 439 The Powell Building, located at 421, 423, 425 & 427 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Herbert Meredig The son of William and Hannah Meredig, Herbert took over the management of the familys bakery, The Bay Home Bakery & Delicatessen, in 1985. Following his death ten years later, the Powell Building and the bakery business, which was thr longest operating business in Whitefish Bay, were sold. Both building and bakery were purchased by commercial property owner Daniel Katz. 440 The Powell Building, located at 421, 423, 425 & 427 E. Silver Spring Drive, was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places.

172

George J. Meyer, Jr. George J. Meyer, Jr. was the general manager of the George J. Meyer Manufacturing Company of Milwaukee, which was founded by his father to manufacture bottle cleaning equipment for breweries. He constructed his home, designed by Raymond W. Dwyer, on Shore Drive in 1934. From 1935 to 1985, the Meyer familys display of fireworks attracted hundreds of people to neighboring Klode Park on the 4th of July.441 The George J. Jr. & Lucille M. Meyer House, located at 5960 N. Shore Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places due to the significance of its Tudor Revival style architecture. Henry F. Mixter Henry F. Mixter served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1966 to 1984, the longest serving President in village history.442 Chester Moody Chester Moody was the president and treasurer of the Kozy Komfort Shoe Manufacturing Company in Milwaukee. He constructed his house, designed by architects George Schley & Sons, on Lake Drive in 1927.443 The Chester & Mabel Moody House, located at 4827 N. Lake Drive, was included in the survey and is eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as a contributing resource to the proposed Lake Woods and Ortonwood Triangle Residential Historic District. Captain Frederick Pabst The Pabst Brewing Company, owned by Captain Frederick Pabst, wanted to invest in a private park as an outlet for their product as well as to advertise the Pabst name. The Pabst board of directors voted to build a restaurant and pavilion in Whitefish Bay in November of 1888, the same year it purchased eighteen acres of land, bounded by Lake Michigan, Lake Drive and Henry Clay Street, for $20,000 from Fred G. Isenring. The resort became a well-known dining establishment, especially for its whitefish caught fresh locally from Lake Michigan. The Pabst board of directors voted on December 30, 1913 to close the resort. After the resorts closing, there was discussion of the village or county purchasing the land for a park. However, the resort property was platted and sold as large, lakefront residential lots in 1914.444 There are no resources related to the Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort remaining; however, the residences later constructed on this land have been included in the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District. For more information on the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District, refer to Chapter 18 Survey Results. Judge Joseph A. Padway Judge Joseph A. Padway was born in 1891 in England and immigrated to Milwaukee in 1906. He graduated from Marquette University Law School in 1912 and became a prominent labor lawyer. He served as a state senator in the 1925 session of the Legislature. From 1926 to 1932,

173

he was the a Milwaukee County judge.445 Padway constructed his house on Lake Drive in 1930; it was designed by architect Hugo V. Miller and constructed by Bentley Brothers Inc.446 During his career as county judge, Judge Padway became general counsel for the Wisconsin State Federation of Labor and was also appointed general counsel for the American Federation of Labor. He retained the later post until his death in 1947.447 The Judge Joseph A. & Lydia Padway House, located at 5312 N. Lake Drive, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for the integrity of its Mediterranean Revival style architecture. John and Anna Pandl In 1915, John and Anna Pandl purchased Bentleys Whitefish Bay Inn from George Bentley with the intentions of converting it into a full-service restaurant. The name of their new enterprise became Pandls Whitefish Bay Inn. The buildings porch was enclosed to become the main dining room. The Pandls constructed their home next to the restaurant in 1925. Anna continued managing the restaurant with the help of their two sons, George and Jack, after Johns death in 1932. Later, George left to establish his own restaurant nearby in Bayside leaving Jack to manage the restaurant with Anna supervising kitchen operations. Major remodeling in the late 1960s, changed the buildings exterior dramatically with the installation of wooden panels and half-timbers. Today, Pandls Whitefish Bay Inn is believed to be one of the oldest restaurants in Milwaukee County to still be operating in its original location.448 The Bentleys Whitefish Bay Inn Building, located at 1319 E. Henry Clay Street, was not included in the survey as its additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the integrity of its original architecture. The John and Anna Pandl House, located at 1305 E. Henry Clay Street, was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Kathleen Pritchard Kathleen Pritchard served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 2002 to 2011.449 Edward Franz Pritzlaff Edward Franz Pritzlaff, born in 1895, graduated from the University of Wisconsin in Madison in 1919 before becoming a buyer for his familys hardware business in Milwaukee. He eventually became the president of the John Pritzlaff Hardware Company. He hired George J. Dunn to construct his home, designed by Harry Bogner, on Wilshire Road in 1925.450 The Edward Franz & Erna M. Pritzlaff House, located at 4725 N. Wilshire Road, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places due to the significance of its Tudor Revival style architecture. Patty Reiman Patty Reiman served as a Wisconsin delegate to the Republican National Convention in 2008. 451

174

A. J. Richter A. J. Richter served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1918 to 1922. 452 Allan J. Roberts Allan J. Roberts founded the Bank of Whitefish Bay in 1930 with partners A. M. Krech, Wynand G. Isenring, and Howard S. Swan.453 Roberts served as one of the banks first vice presidents.454 The bank was one of the first in Milwaukee County to be a member of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation at its beginning in 1934. When it opened, it was the only bank in Milwaukees North Shore communities.455 Judson A. Roundy Judson A. Roundy, founder of Roundys Supermarkets, was an active Baptist and bequeathed half of his estate to the Wisconsin State Baptist Convention to promote Baptist churches throughout Wisconsin. These funds helped establish and build Roundy Memorial Baptist Church, named in his memory.456 Roundy Memorial Baptist Church, located at 4819 N. Ardmore Avenue, was included in the survey but is not eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as its addition and alterations have too greatly diminished the significance of its original Gothic Revival style architecture. A. Gledden Santer In 1911, several fathers persuaded A. Gledden Santer to found a private day school for boys in Milwaukee; it was originally named St. Bernards. Soon, after being in multiple locations, the school became known as the Milwaukee Country Day School and 24 acres of land were purchased for expansion in Whitefish Bay by 1916.457 The Milwaukee Country Day Junior School located at 6255 N. Santa Monica Boulevard and the Milwaukee Country Day Senior School located at 6401 N. Santa Monica Boulevard were both included in the survey. However, both are not eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as their multiple additions and alterations have too greatly diminished the significance of their original Tudor Revival style architecture. Lewis Scheife Lewis Scheife, born in Whitefish Bay, was married to Mary Joe Consaul, daughter of William Henry Consaul, in 1884. 458 After purchasing a pound-net fishing company from his father-inlaw, William H. Consaul, and his wifes uncle, Captain Theodore Consaul, Scheife supplied 300 to 600 pounds of fish weekly to the Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort.459 A resident involved with the incorporation of the Village of Whitefish Bay, he was elected as one of the five original village trustees in 1892.460 Scheife also served as Whitefish Bay postmaster from 1892 to 1900, which he operated from his non-extant general store at the southwest corner of Silver Spring and Marlborough Drives which opened that same year. The Scheife family lived in six rooms above the store, until it was sold to John D. Singles in 1898. At that time, Lewis Scheife and William Henry Consaul opened a hardware store in a non-extant two-story building at 436 & 438 E.

175

Silver Spring Drive. The Scheife family moved to this building as well. The hardware store was sold to H. P. Wilke in 1920. 461 Also that year, Scheife and his wife acquired her parents former home on Santa Monica Boulevard. 462 The William Henry & Ruth Consaul House, located at 5654 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, was included in the survey but is not individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Richard Seyfert Richard Seyfert owned and operated a soda works factory behind his Queen Anne style residence on Silver Spring Drive. The companys main customer was the Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort. In 1897, Seyfert sold the company and house to Conrad Cassel. The soda factory continued operating until 1916, after which the factory building was demolished. The Richard Seyfert House, located at 130 & 134 W. Silver Spring Drive, was eventually subdivided into commercial spaces and was recently demolished.463 Julie Siegel Julie Siegel currently serves as the President of the Village of Whitefish Bay, elected in 2011.464 John D. Singles John D. Singles was a citizen involved with the incorporation of the Village of Whitefish Bay. In 1898, he purchased the general store established by Lewis Scheife, it was destroyed by fire in 1914. 465 He also served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1905 to 1906. 466 Festus Stone Festus Stone, with partner Richard Thomas, operated a real estate firm in Milwaukee. Stone & Thomas was an active player in the Whitefish Bay real estate boom of the early 1890s, platting multiple subdivisions in the village. These include the three Idlewild Subdivisions comprising the proposed Idlewild Residential Historic District and partially comprising the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District, as well as the Fairmount Heights Subdivision partially comprising the proposed Fairmount & Highland View Residential Historic District.467 Howard S. Swan Howard S. Swan founded the Bank of Whitefish Bay in 1930 with partners Allan J. Roberts, A. M. Krech, and Wynand G. Isenring.468 The bank was one of the first in Milwaukee County to be a member of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation at its beginning in 1934. When it opened, it was the only bank in Milwaukees North Shore communities.469 Richard Thomas Richard Thomas, with partner Festus Stone, operated a real estate firm in Milwaukee. Stone & Thomas was an active player in the Whitefish Bay real estate boom of the early 1890s, platting multiple subdivisions in the village. These include the three Idlewild Subdivisions comprising

176

the proposed Idlewild Residential Historic District and partially comprising the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District, as well as the Fairmount Heights Subdivision partially comprising the proposed Fairmount & Highland View Residential Historic District.470 Ernst Timpel A citizen involved with the incorporation of the Village of Whitefish Bay, Ernst Timpel was elected as one of the five original village trustees in 1892.471 E. Ray Tompkins E. Ray Tompkins was the builder of Whitefish Bays first apartment building, Shorecliff Apartments, in 1923. Tompkins began construction before receiving a building permit from the village, consequently suffering legal action by the village and spurring anti-apartment sentiments in the village. Later Tompkins became notorious for murdering his wife by beheading her in the apartment building. 472 The Shorecliff Apartments, located at 1700 E. Chateau Place, and the Shorecliff Apartments Carriage House, located at 1712 E. Chateau Place, were both included in the survey and are both individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. Edward L. Tracy Edward L. Tracy served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1923 to 1924. 473 Herman A. Uihlein Herman A. Uihlein, son of Schlitz Brewing Company Director Henry Uihlein, was president of the Lavine Gear Company in Milwaukee. In 1917, he constructed a house on Lake Drive. It was the first house to be constructed on the former grounds of the former Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort.474 He also served as President of the Village of Whitefish Bay from 1922 to 1923.475 In 1950, Hermans wife Claudia Uihlein donated a pipe organ from the Uihlein Familys home to be used in the new First Church of Christ Scientist, located at 721 E. Silver Spring Drive.476 The Herman A. & Claudia Uihlein House, located at 5270 N. Lake Drive, was included in the survey and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983. For more information on the Uihlein Family and the Herman A. & Claudia Uihlein House, refer to the National Register Nomination. E. A. Weschler E. A. Weschler was president of the malting firm Daniel D. Weschler and Sons. He built his home, designed by architect Armin C. Frank, on Wilshire Road in Whitefish Bay in 1929.477 The E. A. & Anita Weschler House, located at 4724 N. Wilshire Road, was included in the survey and is individually eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places due to the significance of its Tudor Revival style architecture.

177

Dr. Thaddeus W. Williams A citizen involved with the incorporation of the Village of Whitefish Bay, Dr. Thaddeus W. Williams was elected as one of the five original village trustees in 1892.478 He went on to serve as Village President from 1895 to 1896 and again from 1900 to 1903. 479 Dr. Williams constructed his home on Fleetwood Place around the year 1893, which he named The Pines.480 He moved it to Sylvan Avenue in 1901.481 The Dr. Thaddeus W. & Alice J. Williams House, located at 942 E. Sylvan Avenue, was included in the survey and is eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places as a contributing resource to the proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District. List of Surveyed Historic Resources Mentioned in the Text
Address 4819 N. Ardmore Avenue 832 E. Birch Avenue 1700 E. Chateau Place 1712 E. Chateau Place 1579 E. Cumberland Boulevard 415 E. Day Avenue 524 E. Day Avenue 601 E. Day Avenue 624 E. Day Avenue 716 E. Day Avenue 726 E. Day Avenue 1009 E. Henry Clay Street 1305 E. Henry Clay Street 4811 N. Lake Drive 5240 N. Lake Drive 5270 N. Lake Drive 5312 N. Lake Drive 5370 N. Lake Drive 5569 N. Lake Drive 135 E. Lake View Avenue 808 E. Lake View Avenue 5318 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5635 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5654 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5681 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5682 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5700 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6255 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6401 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5960 N. Shore Drive 120 E. Silver Spring Drive 160 E. Silver Spring Drive 160 E. Silver Spring Drive 302, 304, 308, 312, 314, 316, 318, 322, 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring Dr. Historic Name Roundy Memorial Baptist Church Harold & Edna Connell House Shorecliff Apartments Shorecliff Apartments Carriage House William & Bernice Doll House W. H. Goodall House L. L. Disbro House Frank E. & Ruth G. Baker House Alonzo Fowle House Herbert Kinne House C. Robert Gether House Wynand G. Isenring House John & Anna Pandl House James J. McClymount House Carl Herzfeld House Herman A. & Claudia Uihlein House Judge Joseph A. & Lydia Padway House Harry J. Grant House James & Anna McGee House Dominican Convent Galus Isenring House Dr. Frank & Irene Drew House St. Monica School William Henry Consaul House St. Monica Convent William T. Consaul House Fred & Louise Consaul House Milwaukee Country Day Junior School Milwaukee Country Day Senior School George J. Jr. & Lucille M. Meyer House Dominican High School St. Monica Rectory St. Monica Catholic Church Fox Bay Building Date 1937 1925 1923 1923 1931 c. 1896 c. 1892 1928 c. 1892 c. 1892 c. 1892 c. 1920 1926 1930 1924 c. 1915 1931 1923 1893 1960 c. 1870 1935 1927 < 1890 1950 c. 1895 c. 1893 1931 1916 1934 1956 1958 1954 1948 Class Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Eligible Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Listed Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Eligible Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible

178

421, 423, 425 & 427 E. Silver Spring Drive Powell Building 501, 505, 507, 509, 511 & 513 E. Silver Gotfredson Building Spring Drive 721 E. Silver Spring Drive First Church of Christ Scientist The Pines / Dr. Thaddeus W. & Alice J. 942 E. Sylvan Avenue Williams House 4707 N. Wilshire Road Melvin W. & Marion Andres House 4716 N. Wilshire Road Whitney J. & Anna M. Eastman House 4724 N. Wilshire Road E. A. & Anita Weschler House 4725 N. Wilshire Road Edward Franz & Erna M. Pritzlaff House

1926 1929 1950 c. 1893 1927 1929 1929 1925

Surveyed Eligible Eligible Surveyed Eligible Eligible Eligible Eligible

179

This page intentionally left blank.

180

15
Bibliography
American Architects Directory. New York: R. R. Bowker Company, 1962. Architect Files. On file at the Wisconsin Historical Society, Division of Historic Preservation & Public History, Madison, Wisconsin. Athletic Club Founder Dies. Milwaukee Journal September 18, 1930. Aurora Visiting Nurses Association of Wisconsin website. <http://www.aurorahealthcare.org> Benefits of Local Historic Preservation Ordinances. Preservation Information. Madison, Wisconsin: Wisconsin Historical Society. Buenker, John D. The History of Wisconsin, Volume IV: The Progressive Era, 1893-1914. Madison: State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1998. Blumenson, John J. G. Identifying American Architecture: A Pictorial Guide to Styles and Terms, 1600-1945. Second Ed. New York: W. W. Norton & Company, 1981. Buckley, Kevin. Whitefish Bay Village President Profile: Kathleen Pritchard. Whitefish Bay Now. February 5, 1998. <http://www.whitefishbaynow.com> Building Support for Local Historic Preservation. Preservation Information. Madison, Wisconsin: Wisconsin Historical Society. Craig Counsell. Wikipedia website. <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Counsell> Certified Local Government Historic Preservation Program in Wisconsin. Preservation Information. Madison, Wisconsin: Wisconsin Historical Society. Creating a Preservation Ethic in Your Community. Preservation Information. Madison, Wisconsin: Wisconsin Historical Society. Current, Richard N. The History of Wisconsin, Volume II: The Civil War Era, 1848-1873. Madison: State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1976. Dictionary of Wisconsin History. Wisconsin Historical Society website. <http://www.wisconsinhistory.org> Economic Benefits of Historic Preservation in Wisconsin. Preservation Information. Madison: Wisconsin Historical Society. Fehring, Thomas H. Images of America: Whitefish Bay. Charleston, South Carolina: Arcadia Publishing, 2010. Fehring, Thomas H. The Vaulted Tudors of John Edwards Co.: The Studi-O-Homes. Application for listing on the Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: Whitefish Bay Historic Preservation Commission, 2009. Fehring, Thomas H. Whitefish Bay Homes of the Consaul Families. Application for listing on the Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: Whitefish Bay Historic Preservation Commission, 2007. Flagg, Ernest, 1857-1947. Small Houses, Their Economic Design and Construction. New York: C. Scribners Sons, 1922. Foley, Mary Mix. The American House. New York: Harper & Row, 1980. 181

Fox Bay Cinema Grill website. <http://www.foxbaycinemagrill.com> Garfield, Leonard T. and Thomas P. Wolfe. The Herman Uihlein House. National Register of Historic Places Inventory-Nomination Form. Washington, DC: National Park Service, United States Deparatment of the Interior, May 1983. Girl Scouts of Wisconsin Southeast Council website. <http://www.gswise.org> Glad, Paul W. The History of Wisconsin, Volume V: War, a New Era, and Depression, 19141940. Madison: State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1976. Greene, Howard and William T. Berthelet. The Milwaukee Cement Company. Wisconsin Magazine of History September 1949. Guidelines for Planning Historic Preservation Tax Credit Projects. Wisconsin Preservation Information. Madison: State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1997. Harry & Rose Samson Family Jewish Community Center website. <http://www.jccmilwaukee.org> Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. On file at the Whitefish Bay Public Library, Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin. Herzog, Lewis W. Paths to the North Shore Suburbs. On file at the Whitefish Bay Public Library, Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin. Herzog, Lewis. Problems that Puzzle an Historical Sleuth. On file at the Whitefish Bay Public Library, Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin. Historic Preservation Ordinances and Commissions in Wisconsin. Preservation Information. Madison, Wisconsin: Wisconsin Historical Society. Historic Preservation Tax Incentives for Income-Producing Historic Buildings. Wisconsin Preservation Information. Madison: State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1998. How to Gain Commission Credibility. Preservation Information. Madison, Wisconsin: Wisconsin Historical Society. Incentives for Historic Preservation. Preservation Information. Madison: Wisconsin Historical Society. Kiwanis International website. <http://www.kiwanis.org> League of Women Voters of Milwaukee County website. <http://www.lwvmilwaukee.org> Lions Clubs International website. <http://www.lionsclubs.org> McAlester, Virginia and Lee McAlester. A Field Guide to American Houses. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1984. McDonald, Paula. Cherished. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: Cumberland PTA, 1978. Mertens, Maureen Dietzel. Storied Whitefish Bay Mansion For Sale. Milwaukee Journal Sentinel January 18, 1996. Milwaukee City Directories. On file at the Milwaukee Public Library, Milwaukee, Wisconsin: Various dates between 1915 and 1960. Milwaukee County Council of the Boy Scouts of America website. <http://www.milwaukeeboyscouts.org> Milwaukee County Parks website. <http://www.countyparks.com> Milwaukee County Transit System website. <http://www.ridemcts.com> National Governors Association website. <http://www.nga.org> Nesbit, Robert C. The History of Wisconsin, Volume III: Urbanization and Industrialization, 1873-1893. Madison: State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1985. Nesbit, Robert C. Wisconsin, A History, Second Ed. Madison: The University of Wisconsin Press, 1989.

182

Obituary: Frances Marie F. Caraway. Wisconsin State Journal January 21, 2009. Palmer, Virginia. Ernest Flagg Stone Masonry Houses of Milwaukee County. National Register of Historic Places Inventory-Nomination Form. Washington, DC: National Park Service, United States Deparatment of the Interior, September 1985. Perrin, Richard W.E. The Architecture of Wisconsin. Madison: The State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1967. Plankinton Block/Julius Simon, Dry Goods, 331 W. Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Record #41857. Wisconsin Historical Society, Architecture and History Inventory website. <http://www.wisconsinhistory.org/ahi> Planning a Local Historic Preservation Program. Preservation Information. Madison, Wisconsin: Wisconsin Historical Society. The Political Graveyard website. < http://www.politicalgraveyard.com> Rambadt, Donald C. Sequent Land Use in Wisconsins First Suburb. The Wisconsin Geographer. Milwaukee, Wisconsin: Wisconsin Geographical Society, 1991. Ranch Style Architecture of the Twentieth Century. Antique Home website. <http://www.antiquehome.org> Regency Architecture. Britain Express website. <http://www.britainexpress.com> Rifkind, Carole. A Field Guide to American Architecture. New York: New American Library, 1980. Rumage, Jeff. Q&A: Village President Julie Siegel. Whitefish Bay Patch website. May 7, 2011. <http://www.whitefishbaypatch.com> Sertoma International website. <http://www.sertoma.org> Shafranski, Nancy. Pabsts Whitefish Bay Resort. 1974. Silvers, Amy Rabideau. Case of the Missing Ex-Sheriff. Milwaukee Journal Sentinel September 17, 1983. Smith, Alice E. The History of Wisconsin, Volume I: From Exploration to Statehood. Madison: State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1973. A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: League of Women Voters of Whitefish Bay, 1964. Thompson, William F. The History of Wisconsin, Volume VI: Continuity and Change. Madison: State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1988. United States Postal Service website. <http://www.usps.com> Village of Whitefish Bay Building Building Permit Records. On file at Village of Whitefish Bay Village Hall, Whitefish, Wisconsin. Village of Whitefish Bay Subdivision Plat Maps. On file at Village of Whitefish Bay Village Hall, Whitefish, Wisconsin. Village of Whitefish Bay website. <http://www.wfbvillage.org> Weirick, David. W. E. Gifford Residence. Application for Listing on the Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: Village of Whitefish Bay Historic Preservation Commission, December 2009. Whiffen, Marcus. American Architecture Since 1780: A Guide to the Styles. Cambridge: The M.I.T. Press, 1992. Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: Village of Whitefish Bay Historic Preservation Commission, June 2011. Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volumes 2-3, 6, 9-14, 18, 21, and 24-27. Mimi Bird Collection, Whitefish Bay: Whitefish Bay Public Library

183

Whitefish Bay Official Report 1956. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: Village of Whitefish Bay Village Board, 1956. Whitefish Bay Official Report 1957. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: Village of Whitefish Bay Village Board, 1957. Whitefish Bay Then and Now. Milwaukee, Wisconsin: League of Women Voters of the North Shore of Milwaukee County Wisconsin, 1970. Whitefish Bay Village Directories. On file at the Whitefish Bay Public Library, Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin. Various dates between 1915 and 1960. Wisconsin Historic Preservation Tax Credits. Wisconsin Preservation Information. Madison: State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1992. Wyatt, Barbara, ed. Cultural Resource Management in Wisconsin: Volume 2, A Manual For Historic Properties. Madison, Wisconsin: Historic Preservation Division State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1986.

184

16
Survey Results
Introduction The survey conducted on the historical aspects of the Village of Whitefish Bay shows a genuine abundance of valuable historic properties within the survey boundary due to the villages history of architectural regulation. A number of properties surveyed were identified as potentially eligible for the National Register of Historic Places or were included in the proposed districts. The examples found in the village suggest a community rich with history and some respect for the history of the resources that are available to them. The principal investigators surveyed 2,861 structures of architectural or historical interest. Of these, 107 are individually eligible for the National Register of Historic Places for architectural and/or historical significance. (See Chapter 2, Survey Methodology, for in-depth list of National Register criteria) There are also 12 districts and 2 complexes identified. Of the districts proposed, 11 are primarily single-family residential and 1 is multi-family residential. Both of the complexes are religious and educational. Through the course of the survey, several types of information were gathered and organized. From this information, the following documents were created: survey maps of the entire Village of Whitefish Bay survey area, a database of buildings surveyed, photos of every surveyed building, 12 district and 2 complex survey maps, and this report. This architectural and historical intensive report and the associated work elements mentioned above are kept at the Historic Preservation Division of the Wisconsin Historical Society in Madison and a copy of the report is kept at the Whitefish Bay Village Hall and the Whitefish Bay Public Library. This chapter contains the following results of the survey: lists of individual properties already listed in and potentially eligible for the National Register of Historic Places, list of all properties and additional information on the proposed districts, and a listing of all properties surveyed in Whitefish Bay. The district surveys include a list of all properties included within the boundaries and if the properties are contributing or not to the district. The lists that are given of the potentially eligible properties are not permanent. Properties might change, fall into disrepair, become gutted by fire, come under renovation, demolition, or rehabilitation. Properties may fall from the list as others become potential for the list. Further research on buildings may uncover additional properties that went uncovered during the course of this survey and should be added to the potentially eligible lists.

185

Properties Currently Listed in the National Register of Historic Places


Address 739 E. Beaumont Avenue 984 E. Circle Drive 4524 N. Cramer Street 4540 N. Cramer Street 4600 N. Cramer Street 5461 N. Danbury Road 1916 E. Glendale Avenue 5270 N. Lake Drive 829 E. Lake Forest Avenue 912 E. Lexington Boulevard 1016 E. Lexington Boulevard 1028 E. Lexington Boulevard 4601 N. Murray Avenue Historic Name Horace W. & Marion Hatch House Paul S. & Margaret E. Grant House Rufus E. & Lois Arndt House Harrison C. & Leah S. Hardie House George L. & Carol R. Anderson House Allen Barfield Duplex William & Meta Van Altena House Herman A. Uihlein House John F. & Louise McEwen House Frank J. & Elvira Williams House Frederick Sperling House Halbert D. Jenkins House B. G. Van Devan House Date 1925 1925 1925 1925 1925 1924 1925 c. 1915 1925 1925 1924 1924 1924

Properties Individually Eligible for Listing in the National Register of Historic Places
Address 6110 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 517 E. Beaumont Avenue 823 E. Birch Avenue 827 E. Birch Avenue 1700 E. Chateau Place 1712 E. Chateau Place 968 E. Circle Drive 988 E. Circle Drive 998 E. Circle Drive 1013 E. Circle Drive 1074 E. Circle Drive 1093 E. Circle Drive 4773 N. Cramer Street 1620 E. Cumberland Boulevard 4800 E. Cumberland Boulevard 5464 N. Danbury Road 516 E. Day Avenue 524 E. Day Avenue 624 E. Day Avenue 639 E. Day Avenue 716 E. Day Avenue 723 E. Day Avenue 752 E. Day Avenue 5327 N. Diversey Boulevard 5561 N. Diversey Boulevard 707 E. Fleetwood Place 840 E. Glen Avenue 2033 E. Glendale Avenue 2321 E. Glendale Avenue 1200 E. Hampton Road Historic Name Silver Spring Masonic Lodge No. 337 Date 1930 1964 1922 1922 1923 1923 1924 1929 1923 1925 1925 1924 1931 1929 1941 c. 1920 1923 c. 1892 c. 1892 1922 c. 1892 c. 1893 < 1895 1935 1926 c. 1910 c. 1895 1926 1940 1948

Shorecliff Apartments Shorecliff Apartments Carriage House Alexander J. & Erra Bauer House Arthur G. & Elizabeth Gross House Dr. Harry R. & Katherine Foerster House Edward J. & Mary Cunningham House William & Ida Temkin House Dar & Jeanne Vriesman House Robert McAllister House L. L. Disbro House Alonzo Fowle House Benjamin A. Keikhofer House Herbert Kinne House Frank W. Baltes House James R. Gregg House Henry & Helen Turrie House Peter F. & Christene Hansen House Joseph Patza House William Fritzke House Herbert & Mildred Pritzlaff House Elbert S. & Margaret Hartwick House Bay Shore Evangelical Lutheran Church

186

1830 E. Hampton Road 700 E. Henry Clay Street 1500 E. Henry Clay Street 4617 N. Idlewild Avenue 4514 N. Lake Drive 4605 N. Lake Drive 4629 N. Lake Drive 4837 N. Lake Drive 4850 N. Lake Drive 4965 N. Lake Drive 5073 N. Lake Drive 5200 N. Lake Drive 5220 N. Lake Drive 5240 N. Lake Drive 5290 N. Lake Drive 5312 N. Lake Drive 5320 N. Lake Drive 5370 N. Lake Drive 5375 N. Lake Drive 5425 N. Lake Drive 5570 N. Lake Drive 5611, 5623 & 5629 N. Lake Drive 5655 N. Lake Drive 5960 N. Lake Drive 5966 N. Lake Drive 6130 N. Lake Drive Court 135 E. Lake View Avenue 706 E. Lexington Boulevard 908 E. Lexington Boulevard 1100 E. Lexington Boulevard 1124 E. Lexington Boulevard 5205 N. Lydell Avenue 6156 N. Lydell Avenue 4780 N. Marlborough Drive 4530 N. Murray Avenue 4604 N. Murray Avenue 4773 N. Oakland Avenue 4860 N. Oakland Avenue 5226 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5260 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5635 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5681 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5754 & 5758 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5812 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5626 N. Shore Drive 5655 N. Shore Drive 5664 N. Shore Drive 5674 N. Shore Drive 5731 N. Shore Drive 5770 N. Shore Drive

George H. & Susanne H. Salentine House

Robert B. & Mary Louise Ebert House Harold E. & Esther Constant House Stanley & Ruth Coerper House Dr. N. W. & Persephone Stathas House George & Margaret Schueller House Roy W. & Viola A. Johnson House Richard D. & Agetha R. Harvey House Leonard L. & Laura H. Bowyer House Benjamin & Anna Rosenberg House

Benjamin F. & Edna D. Saltzstein House Judge Joseph A. & Lydia Padway House Harry & Ada LeVine House Harry J. Grant House John E. Saxe House Bernard Klatt House Casa del Lago / Ella S. Frank House Whitefish Bay Pharmacy Building Raymond & Teresa Jaekels House Arthur J. & Margaret Butzen House Rita Jane Goldmann House Dominican Convent Edward & Elinor Wenzel House

Lydell School Anthony & Pearl Sottile House Humboldt School Harry W. & Helen M. Bogner House Fred O. & Viola Mueller House John R. & Fannie Moore House Russell Barr & Nola Mae Williamson House Eric F. & Gertrude Hartert House B. F. Fisher House St. Monica School St. Monica Convent Anna Zuerner Duplex Richards School

Clare H. Hall House Dr. Dexter H. & Margaret Witte House Gerhard H. & Marjorie Kopmeier House F. H. Miller House

1927 1954 1939 1940 1946 1950 1962 1926 1941 1929 1931 1927 1924 1924 1928 1931 1930 1923 1929 c. 1918 1924 1950 1941 1929 1940 1931 1960 1939 1931 1929 1930 1955 1951 1927 1927 1928 1940 1921 1936 1929 1928 1950 1926 1928 1939 1939 c. 1921 1928 1929 c. 1921

187

5776 N. Shore Drive 5827 N. Shore Drive 5867 N. Shore Drive 5960 N. Shore Drive 6009 N. Shore Drive 120 E. Silver Spring Drive 160 E. Silver Spring Drive 205, 211 & 215 E. Silver Spring Drive 217, 219 & 227 E. Silver Spring Drive 302, 304, 308, 312, 314, 316, 318, 322, 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring Dr. 401, 403, 409 & 415 E. Silver Spring Dr. 501, 505, 507, 509, 511 & 513 E. Silver Spring Drive 721 E. Silver Spring Drive 734 E. Sylvan Avenue 4815 & 4825 N. Wildwood Ave.; 4810 N. Marlborough Drive 4825 N. Wildwood Avenue 4849 N. Wildwood Avenue 4655 N. Wilshire Road 4684 N. Wilshire Road 4706 N. Wilshire Road 4707 N. Wilshire Road 4716 N. Wilshire Road 4724 N. Wilshire Road 4725 N. Wilshire Road 4742 N. Wilshire Road 4864 N. Woodburn Street

Arthur & Arline O'Conner House Dr. Edwards H. & Katherine Mensing House Dr. Leon H. & Mrs. Thelma Guerin House George Jr. & Lucille M. Meyer House Howard & Mary Tobin House Dominican High School St. Monica Catholic Church Bay Colony Building Fox Bay Building Berkley Building Gotfredson Building First Church of Christ Scientist Adolph H. & Grace R. Weber House Holy Family Catholic Church & Rectory Holy Family Convent Holy Family Parish School Fred C. & Virginia Doepke House Herman & Anna Laabs House Melvin W. & Marion Andres House Whitney J. & Anna M. Eastman House E. A. & Anita Weschler House Edward Franz & Erna M. Pritzlaff House Raymond C. & Kathleen Shank House

c. 1921 1927 1936 1934 1939 1956 1954 1951 1946 1948 1961 1929 1950 1928 1969 1960 1950 1940 1930 1928 1927 1929 1929 1925 1930 1927

188

Proposed Bay Ridge & Kent Avenues Residential Historic District Narrative Description The Bay Ridge & Kent Avenues Residential Historic District is a well-defined neighborhood of 330 buildings situated in the northwest portion of the Village of Whitefish Bay and has boundaries roughly delineated along Bay Ridge and Kent Avenues from Devon Street on the north to Lake View Avenue on the south and along Shoreland Avenue from Belle Avenue on the north to Lake View Avenue on the south. The area of both small and modestly sized homes was developed beginning in the early-1920s and was filled in over the next four decades. Representative of the prevailing architectural styles of their time, Colonial Revival and Tudor Revival style residences are prominent within the district. The district is comprised of the entirety of Santa Monica Commons Subdivision, Thelens Subdivision No.1, and Thierfelders Subdivision; the majority of the North Shore Park Subdivision, Silver Spring Forest Subdivision, Silver Spring Forest Addition Subdivision, and F. G. Isenrings Land Company Subdivision; and portions of the Bay Shore Downs Subdivision and Assessors Plat #241. These subdivisions were platted primarily during the early twentieth century, with North Shore Park being platted in 1924; Santa Monica Commons in 1925; Bay Shore Downs, Silver Spring Forest, and Thelens Subdivision in 1926; and Thierfelders Subdivision in 1930.482 The original sale of lots in many of these subdivisions included provisions for solely single family residential use, minimum front set back, and minimum cost for houses constructed. In Thelens Subdivision, restrictions also included the prohibition of sale to colored persons for twenty five years. 483 Statement of Significance The Bay Ridge & Kent Avenues Residential Historic District was identified for its concentration of single- and multi-family dwellings constructed between approximately 1923 and 1958, having local significance under National Register Criterion C for Architecture. Utilizing the Wisconsin Historical Societys Cultural Resource Management in Wisconsin, additional research centered on evaluating the resources within the district utilizing the Period Revival styles subsections of the Architecture study unit of the aforementioned text. Individually, the contributing resources include fine representative examples of several of the most popular styles applied to residential architecture in Wisconsin during the period of significance. The district is comprised of 328 contributing resources and 2 non-contributing resources. Boundary Description The district consists of the legal parcels associated with the 328 contributing and 2 noncontributing properties within the district and may be defined by this general description: Beginning on the north curb line of Lake View Avenue that corresponds to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 5700 N. Shoreland Avenue, continue west along south property line of said lot to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 5701 N. Bay Ridge Avenue, then turn 90 degrees and continue south to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 5661 N. Bay

189

Ridge Avenue, then turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of said lot to the southwest corner of said lot, then turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 6257 N. Bay Ridge Avenue, then turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 6256 N. Bay Ridge Avenue, then turn 90 degrees and continue north along the east curb line of Bay Ridge Avenue to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 6300 N. Bay Ridge Avenue, then turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northeast corner of said lot, then turn 90 degrees and continue south to the southeast corner of said lot, then turn 90 degrees and continue west to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 6270 N. Bay Ridge Avenue, then turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said lot to a point on the south curb line of Devon Street corresponding to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 6200 N. Bay Ridge Avenue, then turn 90 degrees and continue east along the south curb line of Devon Street to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 6174 N. Kent Avenue, then turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said lot to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 181 E. Belle Avenue, then turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 201 E Belle Avenue, then turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said lot to the southeast corner of the lot associated 5700 N. Shoreland Avenue. The boundary for the Bay Ridge & Kent Avenues Residential Historic District is clearly delineated on the accompanying district map. The boundary encloses the area of 61 acres. Boundary Justification The boundaries of the Bay Ridge & Kent Avenues Residential Historic District enclose all the areas historically associated with the districts resources. While adjacent areas are residential in nature, they do not maintain the historic integrity of the residences contained within the district boundaries. The result is a cohesive district with as few non-contributing properties as possible. Building Inventory The following inventory lists every building in the proposed district and includes the address of the property; the historic name; the date or circa date of construction; and the resources contributing (C), non-contributing (NC), or previously listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) class.
Address 5661 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5665 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5671 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5675 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5681 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5687 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5700 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5701 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5706 & 5708 N. Bay Ridge Avenue Historic Name Lombardy House Elmer J. & Luella C. Waldschmidt House Moxie & Isabelle George House Dr. Everett J. & Margaret Tomb House Harry P. & Linda Goeritz House B. W. & Lucille H. Heald House Vernon N. & Gladys Waldorf House Edwin G. & Irma Clauss House James P. & Catherine Rice Duplex Date 1939 1935 1928 1928 1928 1938 1951 1926 1927 Class C C C C C C C C C

190

5709 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5714 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5715 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5720 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5721 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5724 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5729 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5730 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5735 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5736 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5741 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5742 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5745 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5750 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5751 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5756 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5757 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5760 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5763 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5766 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5769 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5774 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5775 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5800 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5801 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5806 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5807 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5812 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5813 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5818 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5819 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5822 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5825 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5828 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5829 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5834 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5835 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5838 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5839 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5842 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5845 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5848 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5849 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5854 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5855 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5860 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5861 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5866 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5867 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5901 N. Bay Ridge Avenue

William F. & Cresent Thalman House Lloyd & Viola Morrisette House G. H. & Margaret L. Hunkel House Arthur J. & Margaret Butzen House Erwin W. & Vida M. Kalt House Jacob & Dorothy Stein House Irwin J. & Amy Kohlwey House Charles & Lilyon Belik House Oscar B. & Irene Dahlberg House E. Arthur & Irene Travis House Clarence A. & Mildred Phillipson House Ernest & Hazel N. Prinz House W. F. & Dorothy Mahlstedt House Frank C. & Rose Sharkey House Clayton G. & Florence Mistele House Hugo F. & Margaret Hoesterman House Dr. Robert & Geraldine Phelan House John P. & Elsie C. Klinkert House Harry W. & Lola Ziemer House George & Agnes Buizeske House Lloyd T. & Hilda Roberton House James & Jean Ramin House Peter Mallory House Arno C. & Mary E. Johnson House Ernest W. & Norma Harthun House Merritt H. & Marguerite G. McCoy House Thomas & Lillian Loignon House Sherman & Lorraine Emorey House Martin & Flora T. Casey House Andrew A. & Clara Hein House J. W. & Fae Richardson House Thomas A. & Helen Nigbor House Frank J. & Viola Bernoski House Don & Gae Gottschalk House Joseph P. & Gertrude O. Godar House Thomas F. & E. Josephine Disher House Rheinhold & Clara Mohr House Milton & Josephine Meissner House Dr. Kenneth F. & Marcella Bergner House Eugen J. & Cleo Collett House John H. Wilson House Floyd E. & Sally Nelson House Edward A. & Gertrude Kuester House Arthur M. & Emma Louise Evans House Fred Schaefer House Warren & Kathryn Podolske House Roger R. & Georgiana Taylor House Robert A. & Julia A. Morton House

1927 1928 1927 1928 1927 1929 1926 1929 1926 1928 1926 1928 1926 1928 1926 1936 1927 1929 1927 1928 1927 1947 1936 1939 1936 1926 1926 1930 1926 1934 1926 1929 1938 1929 1929 1945 1927 1929 1929 1928 1947 1927 1937 1938 1937 1927 1927 1949 1936 1936

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

191

5906 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5907 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5913 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5914 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5917 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5918 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5923 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5924 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5928 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5929 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5934 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5935 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5939 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5940 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5945 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5946 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5951 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5952 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5955 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5956 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5960 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5961 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5964 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5969 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5970 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5973 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5976 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5977 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6003 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6009 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6010 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6016 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6017 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6020 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6025 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6028 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6029 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6034 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6035 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6040 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6041 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6048 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6049 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6054 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6055 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6060 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6061 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6068 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6069 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6075 N. Bay Ridge Avenue

Edwin A. & Martha R. Jones House Dr. Carl B. & Edna Case House Frank E. & Emma Daniels House Erwin C. & Esther Hemn House Erwin C. & Esther Hemn House Ralph F. & Helen Jerome House Dr. J. E. & Shirley Cahlamer House Allen & Peggy Hall House Harvey D. & Patricia S. Wilmeth House Richard J. & Dorothy Ballman House Conrad & Gertrude Bauer House Jack P. & Liliane O'Neill House Hugo J. & Katherine E. Koenen House Joseph V. & Margaret Kelley House Sheldon W. & Irene M. Kuhns House Fred A. & Jeanne Muth House Willard E. & Mabel E. Miller House Herbert A. & Rugh Beckmann House John F. & Mary Costigan House David B. & Jeanne Stearns House John J. & Margaret C. Lown House Paul C. & June L. Priebe House Ben B. & Adelline Gotthart House Jerome & Marjorie Donahue House Ben & Adelline Gotthart House Bruce & Eleanor Hanson House Chester S. & Marion E. Bigelow House Gordon & Jean Gile House Russell G. & Evelyn Winnie House R. J. & Florence Baker House H. J. & Adelene Ramaker House Merritt G. & Esther Mitchell House Edward A. & Shirley Miller House Percy G. & Josephine A. Gibson House Lester S. & Elizabeth Clemons House Blanche E. Tufts House Dale J. & Ann Richards House Lester W. & Florence U. Hessler House Bernard H. & Erna Naulin House Dr. William T. & Elizabeth M. House John D. & Lois C. Bird House Walter C. & Ruby Junkerman House J. V. & Mabel Kramer House John J. & Margaret M. Major House George F. & Treva Spinti House Edward J. & Isabel Kirby House

1927 1935 1927 1929 1927 1927 1946 1945 1949 1946 1927 1927 1927 1947 1926 1942 1937 1929 1945 1947 1938 1938 1929 1945 1935 1950 1931 1945 1936 1947 1934 1931 1937 1929 1935 1931 1931 1935 1931 1940 1930 1935 1930 1928 1930 1941 1929 1938 1930 1935

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

192

6100 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6103 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6110 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6115 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6118 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6121 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6128 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6129 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6134 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6135 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6141 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6142 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6149 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6150 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6155 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6156 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6160 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6161 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6166 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6167 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6175 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6200 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6203 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6206 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6211 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6212 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6220 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6228 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6229 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6236 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6237 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6244 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6245 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6250 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6251 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6256 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6257 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6264 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6270 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6300 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 110 E. Belle Avenue 154 E. Belle Avenue 181 E. Belle Avenue 201 E. Belle Avenue 129 E. Day Avenue 207 E. Day Avenue 523 E. Day Avenue 601 E. Day Avenue 607 E. Day Avenue 621 E. Day Avenue

Fay B. & Marcella P. Morgan House

Brian & Kaare Lotz House Walter H. & Esther Hansen House Benjamin J. & Marie Cihak House Roger E. & Doris Joys House Dr. Emmett F. & Janet J. Guy House John D. & Jo Swift House Thomas B. & Marcella B. Hurd House Herbert N. & Hilda Pasteur House Paul & Dorothy Hoff House Arthur E. & Anita Liebert House Lloyd F. & Jane Scott House A. L. & Merle M. Skolnik House Edgar H. & Georgia Neyman House Dr. Henry J. & Lucille Halberstadt House Paul A. & Ruby O. Parker House Arthur G. & Lillian E. Adams House Carl H. & Ruth Wamser House Charles E. & Mabel Kaster House Dr. Kenneth G. & June Nicholson House Richard M. & June Miller House Edwin C. & Doris Hunkel House Nick Georgiady House Kenneth & Genevieve Frank House J. M. & Kathryn Lunney House R. L. & Jane E. Paddock House Ward & Ellen Dunphy House Carl N. & Hildreth Iffert House F. Kenneth & Verna Hinton House Karl & Susan Ekman House Mrs. Max L. Thiermann House J. H. & Marjorie McNeil House Urban R. & Lorraine Wittig House M. H. & Janice A. Simpkins House Gardner & Mary Friedlander House Otto J. & Lenore Koch House Albert E. & Elizabeth Powell House Frank F. & Margaret T. Banting House J. A. & Evelyn F. Duvall House Charles A. & Helena M. La Prairie House Austin A. & Dorothy Petersen House Frank E. & Ruth G. Baker House Edgar G. & Lucy L. Plautz House Mary H. Richardson House

1935 1930 1930 1950 2002 1930 1935 1928 1929 1934 1938 1941 1936 1929 1934 1929 1947 1929 1941 1929 1929 1956 1936 1956 1937 1956 1937 1948 1945 1938 1947 1940 1937 1931 1982 1931 1931 1934 1935 1947 1935 1926 1940 < 1949 1927 1935 1923 1928 1936 1923

C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

193

101 E. Devon Street 5700 N. Kent Avenue 5701 N. Kent Avenue 5706 N. Kent Avenue 5707 N. Kent Avenue 5712 N. Kent Avenue 5713 N. Kent Avenue 5718 N. Kent Avenue 5719 N. Kent Avenue 5724 N. Kent Avenue 5725 N. Kent Avenue 5730 N. Kent Avenue 5733 N. Kent Avenue 5736 N. Kent Avenue 5737 N. Kent Avenue 5740 N. Kent Avenue 5743 N. Kent Avenue 5744 N. Kent Avenue 5749 N. Kent Avenue 5750 N. Kent Avenue 5755 N. Kent Avenue 5756 N. Kent Avenue 5760 N. Kent Avenue 5761 N. Kent Avenue 5766 N. Kent Avenue 5767 N. Kent Avenue 5774 N. Kent Avenue 5800 N. Kent Avenue 5801 N. Kent Avenue 5806 N. Kent Avenue 5809 N. Kent Avenue 5814 N. Kent Avenue 5815 N. Kent Avenue 5820 N. Kent Avenue 5823 N. Kent Avenue 5826 N. Kent Avenue 5831 N. Kent Avenue 5832 N. Kent Avenue 5837 N. Kent Avenue 5838 N. Kent Avenue 5843 N. Kent Avenue 5844 N. Kent Avenue 5849 N. Kent Avenue 5850 N. Kent Avenue 5854 N. Kent Avenue 5855 N. Kent Avenue 5860 N. Kent Avenue 5861 N. Kent Avenue 5867 N. Kent Avenue 5870 N. Kent Avenue

Arthur J. & Helen Mueller House John H. & Ruth Wynhoff House C. L. Mulrine House John C. & Nancy Sublett House Ralph C. & Margaret Clark House John A. & Hazel Rozek House James & Catherine Van Altena House Phil K. Berger House Graham H. & Madeline Hamrick House Edward D. & Bernice F. Wysocki House Herbert F. & Ada C. Massopust House Stafford & Elizabeth Siekert House Martin J. & Ruth C. Seibert House John D. & Anna Kelly House Robert A. & Dorothy S. Hamilton House B. F. & Eva C. Tellkamp House Mary Lauer House Ned W. & Cecile McNulty House G. C. & Bessie M. Maassen House Earl & Clara Anderson House Phillip Jr. & Naomi Fox House Agnes Hart House B. Peter & Ruth Herzog House Erwin C. & Elfrieda Brenner House Dr. H. E. Lando House Barney & Elsie Fuller House Herbert H. & Florence Wilke House Danie G. & Agnes Sheehan House F. C. & Alice H. McCutcheon House William H. & & Ida Atwood House James H. & Elizabeth Rank House Walter R. & Genevieve Neilson House George T. & Paula Parsons House Edward J. & Ann E. Peters House Albert R. & Catherine Tomson House

Herbert R. & Jeanette Burgemeister House George H. & Edith A. Fredericks House George F. Jr. & Gladys Richards House Paul W. & Eva W. McGehee House Charles P. & Marie F. Huntington House

1940 1946 1938 1936 1941 1933 1928 1941 1931 1930 1927 1937 1928 1936 1928 1946 1939 1935 1931 1937 1938 1938 1942 1939 1940 1938 1931 1929 1941 1940 1941 1929 1929 1927 1930 1941 1927 1939 1929 1938 1930 1931 1930 1939 1941 1926 1927 1926 1926 1939

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

194

5901 N. Kent Avenue 5906 N. Kent Avenue 5907 N. Kent Avenue 5912 N. Kent Avenue 5913 N. Kent Avenue 5918 N. Kent Avenue 5919 N. Kent Avenue 5922 N. Kent Avenue 5923 N. Kent Avenue 5928 N. Kent Avenue 5929 N. Kent Avenue 5934N. Kent Avenue 5935 N. Kent Avenue 5938 N. Kent Avenue 5939 N. Kent Avenue 5944 N. Kent Avenue 5945 N. Kent Avenue 5948 N. Kent Avenue 5951 N. Kent Avenue 5954 N. Kent Avenue 5955 N. Kent Avenue 5960 N. Kent Avenue 5961 N. Kent Avenue 5964 N. Kent Avenue 5969 N. Kent Avenue 5970 N. Kent Avenue 5973 N. Kent Avenue 5976 N. Kent Avenue 5977 N. Kent Avenue 6000 N. Kent Avenue 6003 N. Kent Avenue 6008 N. Kent Avenue 6009 N. Kent Avenue 6014 N. Kent Avenue 6015 N. Kent Avenue 6020 N. Kent Avenue 6021 N. Kent Avenue 6028 N. Kent Avenue 6031 N. Kent Avenue 6034 N. Kent Avenue 6040 N. Kent Avenue 6041 N. Kent Avenue 6048 N. Kent Avenue 6049 N. Kent Avenue 6054 N. Kent Avenue 6055 N. Kent Avenue 6060 N. Kent Avenue 6063 N. Kent Avenue 6068 N. Kent Avenue 6069 N. Kent Avenue

R. F. & Helen Jerome House Mark & Helen Hooper House Albert G. & Gertrude Schneider House Ernest Wallis House Percy D. & Wilma I. Ashford House James Fitzpatrick House Donald P. & Jane Dornbrook House Austin A. & Dorothy Peterson House Kenneth L. & Norma Head House Edwin Adams House Waldemar & Sophia Prohl House Rev. Robert L. & Doris M. Stubbs House Earl M. & Gwendolyn Plettner House Williiam F. & Mary Tribe House Arno Otto & Ethel G. Neefe House Merrel R. & June Stockey House Willet S. & Mildred Maine House W. Hackett Jr. & Bernice Emory House William T. & Anna Raun House Lloyd C. & Mildred J. Bergeson House Arthur & Norma Conery House Grover C. & Isabelle Filbach House Willard & Rose MacDonald House Lawrence William & Anna M. Toelle House V. H. & Eleanor Van Koert House Gregory L. & Mary Ann Crane House Hector M. & Laures Powell House Harry Jackson & Doll Collins House

Theodore H. & Rose C. Schostak House Victor J. & Christine Kraus House Richard L. & Agnita Ferguson House Andrew & Margaret Wajer House Fred F. & Louise Stuckert House Lando F. & Florence M. Gran House Robert R. & Jane Anderson House Horace E. & Ruth Clark House Edward O. & Alice M. Laue House Russell & Marie H. Thierbach House Wesley F. & Florence Martin House Lawrence S. & Mildred M. Roberts House James H. & Marvel Wheeler House Nelson C. & Carol Hall House Edwin & Margaret Smalley House

1928 1926 1926 1926 1926 1926 1953 1926 1926 1926 1927 1931 1928 1947 1926 1947 1940 1936 1926 1927 1926 1926 1926 1928 1931 1930 1958 1926 1941 1947 1930 1950 1940 1931 1930 1940 1933 1930 1938 1938 1936 1935 1941 1928 1935 1928 1940 1928 1930 1928

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

195

6074 N. Kent Avenue 6075 N. Kent Avenue 6100 N. Kent Avenue 6103 N. Kent Avenue 6110 N. Kent Avenue 6115 N. Kent Avenue 6120 N. Kent Avenue 6121 N. Kent Avenue 6128 N. Kent Avenue 6129 N. Kent Avenue 6134 N. Kent Avenue 6135 N. Kent Avenue 6140 N. Kent Avenue 6141 N. Kent Avenue 6148 N. Kent Avenue 6149 N. Kent Avenue 6154 N. Kent Avenue 6155 N. Kent Avenue 6160 N. Kent Avenue 6161 N. Kent Avenue 6166 N. Kent Avenue 6167 N. Kent Avenue 6174 N. Kent Avenue 6175 N. Kent Avenue 106 E. Montclaire Avenue 5700 N. Shoreland Avenue 5701 N. Shoreland Avenue 5708 N. Shoreland Avenue 5709 N. Shoreland Avenue 5714 N. Shoreland Avenue 5715 N. Shoreland Avenue 5718 N. Shoreland Avenue 5719 N. Shoreland Avenue 5724 N. Shoreland Avenue 5725 N. Shoreland Avenue 5731 N. Shoreland Avenue 5732 N. Shoreland Avenue 5737 N. Shoreland Avenue 5740 N. Shoreland Avenue 5745 N. Shoreland Avenue 5748 N. Shoreland Avenue 5751 N. Shoreland Avenue 5754 N. Shoreland Avenue 5757 N. Shoreland Avenue 5760 N. Shoreland Avenue 5765 N. Shoreland Avenue 5768 N. Shoreland Avenue 5769 N. Shoreland Avenue 5775 N. Shoreland Avenue 5800 N. Shoreland Avenue

Lawrence G. & Gertrude Singer House S. W. & Josephine Riegle House H. F. & Eleanor Pugh House Paul & Lauretta Bartfield House Arthur C. & Ruth Kuesel House Lester H. & Grace Ness House L. Collis & Helen Dickson House Gordon & Gloria Grossman House Lon L. & Esther Grier House Morey & Dorothy Bensman House C. W. & Alma D. Faude House Corvin & Alma Faude House Leo & Loretta K. Rice House M. R. & Mildred H. Niederer House Charles J. & Martha R. Krueger House Arnold C. & Adele M. Neilson House Pauline Krahl House Max R. & Mildred Neiderer House Nelson C. & Carol Hall House Oscar T. & Marie A. Roder House Herbert & Ada Massopust House Joseph E. & Helen T. Koehler House Joseph & Margaret Komoroski House Lewis P. & Bernadette Kiehm House R. L. & Margaret A. Osburn House Edward C. & Helen L. Berg House Clayton & Audrey Miller House Max A. & Goldie Katz House Herbert G. & Margaret M. Sullivan House Eugene J. & Wilma Stern House William F. & Mable M. Schanz House John & Clare Brunner House Norbert C. & Helen M. Baldus House Byron C. & Irene Sanders House Walter H. & Lydia Martini House S. A. & Martha Steen House A. R. Sleet House Clarence L. & Irene Komorek House Norbert & Empie Ellenbecker House Ferdinand Parsons House William E. & Marie Morris House Jack & Dora Spinelli House O. R. & Margaret Hackley House William A. & Alma Bellin House

Dr. Martin K. & Pearl Rosenbaum House

1930 1929 1945 1929 1947 1928 1945 1950 1952 1941 1952 1936 1952 1940 1941 1938 1938 1940 1938 1941 1940 1941 1939 1942 1937 1942 1928 1938 1947 1951 1947 1929 1947 1936 1947 1936 1936 1931 1928 1929 1935 1952 1926 1941 1951 1940 1927 1940 1941 1947

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

196

5801 N. Shoreland Avenue 5808 N. Shoreland Avenue 5809 N. Shoreland Avenue 5814 N. Shoreland Avenue 5815 N. Shoreland Avenue 5822 N. Shoreland Avenue 5823 N. Shoreland Avenue 5828 N. Shoreland Avenue 5829 N. Shoreland Avenue 5834 N. Shoreland Avenue 5835 N. Shoreland Avenue 5840 N. Shoreland Avenue 5841 N. Shoreland Avenue 5844 N. Shoreland Avenue 5845 N. Shoreland Avenue 5850 N. Shoreland Avenue 5851 N. Shoreland Avenue 5855 N. Shoreland Avenue 5856 N. Shoreland Avenue 5861 N. Shoreland Avenue 5862 N. Shoreland Avenue

John H. & Clarine Woida House Clark Elmer & Elgin Iva Miller House Harvey H. & Genevieve Sverdin House Otto & Anna Penske House Lawrence F. & Gladys B. Campbell House Leslie F. & Lucy G. Williams House Harry & Cora Gwaltney House O. L. & Lucille Waller House W. D. & Edith M. Farnum House George F. & Katherine M. Krause House Earl W. & Lucille Cornelius House James & Elizabeth Tate House Gerald J. & Mabel Murphey House Henry & Mary E. Foscato House Joseph & Carol Mandel House R. L. & Dolly Buening House Jacob M. & Mary Ott House Winkler House

1936 1927 1948 <1924 1928 1927 1935 1928 1927 1928 1928 1929 1955 1929 1941 1927 1945 1926 1927 1930 1941

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

197

This page intentionally left blank.

198

Proposed Bay Village Residential Historic District Narrative Description The Bay Village Residential Historic District is a well-defined cluster of 42 buildings situated in the southeast portion of the Village of Whitefish Bay and has boundaries roughly delineated along Santa Monica Boulevard and Shoreland Avenue from Fairmount Avenue on the north to Hampton Road on the south; Chateau Place and Fairmount Avenue from Lydell Avenue to Santa Monica Boulevard, and the entirety of Anita Avenue. The area of both small and large multifamily residential buildings was developed in a short period of time around 1950. Colonial Revival style and vernacular side gabled buildings are found in the district. The district is comprised of the entirety of Richtons Subdivision and the majority of Assessors Plat #245, platted in 1928 and 1939 respectively.484 The majority of the district is a multi-family residential development developed Frances J. Schroedel and constructed by the Frances J. Schroedel Construction Company by the name of Bay Village Apartments. The remainder of the district is comprised of the Bay Lawn Apartments developed in 1948. 485 During the 1940s, Schroedel began purchasing property in the district including the Richton Subdivision and neighboring land which had been recently annexed into the village of Whitefish Bay and rezoned from light industrial to multi-family residential in 1941. Schroedel was initially rejected a building permit to construct the extant apartment buildings in 1950; he responded with legal action against the village. Pending legal action, the village held an advisory referendum on the rezoning of Schroedels land to single-family residential. Its results favored the rezoning by 311 to 234 votes; the property was rezoned. The initial litigation ruled in favor of Schroedel; the village appealed to the Wisconsin Supreme Court. However, the initial ruling was upheld, the zoning was returned to multi-family residential, and Schroedel was granted building permits to construct the Bay Village Apartments.486 Statement of Significance The Bay Village Residential Historic District was identified for its heavy concentration of multifamily dwellings constructed between 1948 and 1952, having local significance under National Register Criterion C for Architecture. Utilizing the Wisconsin Historical Societys Cultural Resource Management in Wisconsin, additional research centered on evaluating the resources within the district utilizing the Period Revival and Vernacular styles subsections of the Architecture study unit of the aforementioned text. The district is comprised of 42 contributing resources and no non-contributing resources. Boundary Description The district consists of the legal parcels associated with the 42 contributing properties within the district and may be defined by this general description: Beginning on the north curb line of Hampton Road that corresponds to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 4801 N. Anita Avenue, continue west along the south property line of said

199

lot to the southwest corner of said lot, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue northwest along the southwest property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 101 W. Chateau Place, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of the lot associated with100 W. Chateau Place, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northeast corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of the lot associated with 109 E. Fairmount Avenue to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 101 E. Fairmount Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 203 E. Fairmount Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said lot to a point associated with the northwest corner of the lot associated with 4951 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northeast corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said lot to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 4833 N. Santa Monica Boulevard, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 4832 N. Shoreland Avenue, turn approximately 90 degrees and continue south along the west curb line of N. Anita Avenue to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 4801 N. Anita Avenue. The boundary for the Bay Village Residential Historic District is clearly delineated on the accompanying district map. The boundary encloses the area of 27 acres. Boundary Justification The boundaries of the Bay Village Residential Historic District enclose all the areas historically associated with the districts multi-family residential resources. Adjacent areas are single-family residential in nature, and they do not constitute the same setting contained within the district boundaries. The result is a cohesive district with no non-contributing properties. Building Inventory The following inventory lists every building in the proposed district and includes the address of the property; the historic name; the date or circa date of construction; and the resources contributing (C), non-contributing (NC), or previously listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) class.
Address 4801, 4803, 4805, 4807, 4809, 4811, 4813, 4815, 4817, 4819, 4821, 4823, 4825, 4827, 4829 & 4831 N. Anita Avenue 4833, 4835, 4837, 4839, 4841, 4843, 4845, 4847, 4849, 4851, 4853, 4855, 4857, 4859, 4861 & 4863 N. Anita Avenue 4864, 4866, 4868, 4870, 4872, 4874, 4876, 4878, 4880, 4882, 4884, 4886, 4888, 4890, 4892 & 4894 N. Anita Avenue 4865, 4867, 4869, 4871, 4873, 4875, 4877, 4879, 4881, 4883, 4885, 4887, 4889, 4891, 4893 & 4895 N. Anita Avenue 4901, 4903, 4905, 4907, 4909, 4911, 4913, Historic Name Anita Building Corporation Apartments Barbara Building Corporation Apartments Terese Building Corporation Apartments Catherine Building Corporation Apartments Diana Building Corporation Apartments Date 1952 1952 1952 1952 1952 Class C C C C C

200

4915, 4917, 4919, 4921, 4923, 4925, 4927, 4929 & 4931 N. Anita Avenue 100, 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, 126, 128 & 130 E. Chateau Place 115, 117, 119, 121, 123, 125, 127, 129, 131, 133, 135, 137, 139, 141, 143 & 145 E. Chateau Place 132, 134, 136, 138, 140, 142, 144, 146, 148, 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160 & 162 E. Chateau Place 164, 166, 168, 170, 172, 174, 176, 178, 200, 202, 204, 206, 208, 210, 212 & 214 E. Chateau Place 216, 218, 220, 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, 232, 234, 236, 238, 240, 242, 244 & 246 E. Chateau Place 100, 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, 126, 128 & 130 W. Chateau Place 101, 103, 105, 107, 109, 111, 113, 115, 117, 119, 121, 123, 125, 127, 129 & 131 W. Chateau Place 101, 103, 105, 107, 117, 119, 121, 123, 125, 127, 129 & 131 E. Fairmount Avenue 109, 111, 113 & 115 E. Fairmount Avenue 133, 135, 137 & 139 E. Fairmount Avenue 141, 143, 145, 147, 157, 159, 161, 163, 165, 167, 169 & 171 E. Fairmount Avenue 149, 151, 153 & 155 E. Fairmount Avenue 173 E. Fairmount Avenue 175 E. Fairmount Avenue 177 E. Fairmount Avenue 179 E. Fairmount Avenue 181 E. Fairmount Avenue 183 E. Fairmount Avenue 185 E. Fairmount Avenue 187 E. Fairmount Avenue 189 E. Fairmount Avenue 191 E. Fairmount Avenue 193 E. Fairmount Avenue 195 E. Fairmount Avenue 197 E. Fairmount Avenue 199 E. Fairmount Avenue 201 E. Fairmount Avenue 203 E. Fairmount Avenue 4833, 4835, 4837, 4839, 4841, 4843, 4845, 4847, 4849, 4851, 4853, 4855, 4857, 4859, 4861 & 4863 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4865, 4867, 4869, 4871, 4873, 4875, 4877, 4879, 4881, 4883, 4885, 4887, 4889, 4891, 4893 & 4895 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4901, 4903, 4905, 4907, 4909, 4911, 4913, 4915, 4917, 4919, 4921, 4923, 4925, 4927,

Georgia Building Corporation Apartments Shirley Building Corporation Apartments Helena Building Corporation Apartments Ivy Building Corporation Apartments Joyce Building Corporation Apartments Frances Building Corporation Apartments Elizabeth Building Corporation Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Margo Building Corporation Apartments Lisa Building Corporation Apartments Karen Building Corporation Apartments

1950 1950 1950 1950 1950 1950 1950 1948 1948 1948 1948 1948 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1951 1951 1951

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

201

4929 & 4931 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4951, 4953, 4955, 4957, 4959 & 4961 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4932, 4934, 4936, 4938, 4940, 4942, 4944, 4946, 4949, 4950, 4952, 4954, 4956, 4958, 4960 & 4962 N. Shoreland Avenue 4864, 4866, 4868, 4870, 4872, 4874, 4876, 4878, 4880, 4882, 4884, 4886, 4888, 4890, 4892 & 4894 N. Shoreland Avenue 4865, 4867, 4869, 4871, 4873, 4875, 4877, 4879, 4881, 4883, 4885, 4887, 4889, 4891, 4893 & 4895 N. Shoreland Avenue 4900, 4902, 4904, 4906, 4908, 4910, 4912, 4914, 4916, 4918, 4920, 4922, 4924, 4926, 4928 & 4930 N. Shoreland Avenue 4901, 4903, 4905, 4907, 4909, 4911, 4913, 4915, 4917, 4919, 4921, 4923, 4925, 4927, 4929 & 4931 N. Shoreland Avenue

Monica Building Corporation Apartments Nina Building Corporation Apartments Olympia Building Corporation Apartments Urania Building Corporation Apartments Patricia Building Corporation Apartments Rita Building Corporation Apartments

1949 1952 1952 1952 1952 1952

C C C C C C

202

Proposed Big Bay Park Historic District Narrative Description The Big Bay Park Historic District is a well-defined cluster of 36 buildings and 2 sites situated in the northwest portion of the Village of Whitefish Bay and has boundaries roughly delineated along Lake Drive and Palisades Road from Henry Clay Street to the north and Fairmount Avenue to the south. The area of both modestly sized and large homes began in 1938 but was substantially developed over the following two decades. Representative of the prevailing architectural styles of their time, Colonial Revival, Monterrey, and Contemporary style residences are prominent within the district. The district is comprised of the entirety of the Big Bay Park Subdivision, platted in 1937, along with two parks. An agreement between the village and the districts developer, Nakima Realty Company, required that all houses constructed in the subdivision cost a minimum of $12,500.487 Statement of Significance The Big Bay Park Historic District was identified for its concentration of single-family dwellings constructed between 1938 and 1957, having local significance under National Register Criterion C for Architecture. Utilizing the Wisconsin Historical Societys Cultural Resource Management in Wisconsin, additional research centered on evaluating the resources within the district utilizing the Period Revival styles subsections of the Architecture study unit of the aforementioned text. The district is comprised of 37 contributing resources and no non-contributing resources. Individually, the contributing resources include fine representative examples of several of the most popular styles applied to residential architecture in Wisconsin during the period of significance. Boundary Description The district consists of the legal parcels associated with the 37 contributing and 0 noncontributing properties and 2 parks within the district and may be defined by this general description: Beginning on the north curb line of Fairmount Avenue that corresponds to the northwest corner of the lot associated with Buckley Park, continue west along the south property line of the lot associated with 5001 N. Palisades Road to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 5000 N. Lake Drive, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue northwest along the west property line of said lot to the west corner of the lot associated with 5148 N. Lake Drive, turn 45 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to a point on the north curbline of Henry Clay Street that is associated with the northwest corner of the lot associated with 5158 N. Lake Drive, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of the lot associated with 1500 E. Henry Clay Street to the southwest corner of said lot, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue northeast along the northwest property line of said lot to the west shore of Lake Michigan at the north corner of said lot, turn approximately 90 degrees and continue southeast along the lakeshore to the southeast corner of the lot associated with Buckley Park,

203

turn 90 degrees and continue southwest along the south property line of said lot to the south corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue northwest along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of said lot. The boundary for the Big Bay Park Historic District is clearly delineated on the accompanying district map. The boundary encloses the area of 7 acres. Boundary Justification The boundaries of the Big Bay Park Historic District enclose all the areas historically associated with the districts resources. While adjacent areas are residential in nature, they do not maintain the historic integrity of the residences contained within the district boundaries. The result is a cohesive district with as few non-contributing properties as possible. Building Inventory The following inventory lists every building and site in the proposed district and includes the address of the property; the historic name; the date or circa date of construction; and the resources contributing (C), non-contributing (NC), or previously listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) class.
Address 1500 E. Henry Clay Street 4900 Block of N. Lake Drive 5000 N. Lake Drve 5008 N. Lake Drve 5016 N. Lake Drve 5022 N. Lake Drve 5028 N. Lake Drve 5036 N. Lake Drve 5042 N. Lake Drve 5050 N. Lake Drve 5058 N. Lake Drve 5068 N. Lake Drve 5072 N. Lake Drve 5104 N. Lake Drve 5112 N. Lake Drve 5120 N. Lake Drve 5128 N. Lake Drve 5148 N. Lake Drve 5158 N. Lake Drve 5000 Block of N. Palisades Road 5001 N. Palisades Road 5005 N. Palisades Road 5011 N. Palisades Road 5017 N. Palisades Road 5025 N. Palisades Road 5033 N. Palisades Road 5041 N. Palisades Road Historic Name Buckley Park 1955 1954 1938 1955 1955 1938 1941 1938 1954 1938 1940 1938 1942 1954 1941 1952 1941 1957 1952 1950 1949 1953 1951 1938 Date 1939 Status C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

Dr. Timothy J. & Ethel Howard House

Dr. Jack C. & Rachel B. Wilets House Nathan & Birdie Sondel House

August K. & Janet Mae Bergenthal House Ralph J. & Dorothy Koss House

Big Bay Park Ken & Ruth Cook House Reuben & Ann R. Kritzik House Edward E. & Alma Margis House Fred & Ruth Krueger House Robert J. & Martha Dempsey House Dr. Leo R. & Ruth Weinshel House Ralph B. & Ruth Abrams House

204

5049 N. Palisades Road 5057 N. Palisades Road 5065 N. Palisades Road 5101 N. Palisades Road 5109 N. Palisades Road 5117 N. Palisades Road 5125 N. Palisades Road 5133 N. Palisades Road 5145 N. Palisades Road 5155 N. Palisades Road 5165 N. Palisades Road

Victor V. & Aileen R. Dahl House Edwin M. & Lois V. Krause House Bert S. & Gretchen Gittins House George & Lenore DeVine House Frank F. & Edithe Wolfgram House Kurt & Rosalind Schnellbacher House Walter H. Bendfelt House Thomas John & Eleanore C. Pringle House May Miller House Herman J. & Miriam Scholl House Albert & Cora Voss House

1941 1950 1942 1940 1940 1953 1938 1948 1951 1951 1940

C C C C C C C C C C C

205

This page intentionally left blank.

206

Proposed Cumberland Forest & Palo Alto Residential Historic District Narrative Description The Cumberland Forest & Palo Alto Residential Historic District is a well-defined neighborhood of 296 buildings situated in the southern portion of the Village of Whitefish Bay and has boundaries roughly delineated along Woodburn Street, Morris Boulevard, Cumberland Boulevard, Larkin Street, Newhall Avenue, Bartlett Avenue, and Bartlett Drive from Hampton Road on the north to the Village limits on the south and along Marlborough Drive, Wildwood Avenue, and Ardmore Avenue from Courtland Place on the north to the Village limits on the south. Development of the area of both small and modestly sized homes began in the early1920s and was filled in over the next four decades. Representative of the prevailing architectural styles of their time, Colonial Revival, Tudor Revival, Mediterranean Revival, and Bungalow style residences are prominent within the district. The district is comprised of the entirety of the Palo Alto Addition Subdivision; the majority of the Cumberland Forest Subdivision, Glendale Investment Association Subdivision No. 1, and Glendale Investment Association Subdivision No. 2; and portions of the Assessors Plat #249. The first of these subdivisions were platted in the 1890s. However, the majority of the district was platted in the early twentieth century. Glendale Investment Association Subdivision No. 1 was platted in 1890, Glendale Investment Association Subdivision No. 2 in 1891, Cumberland Forest by 1925, Palo Alto Addition in 1930, and Assessors Plat #249 in 1939.488 The original sale of lots in many of these subdivisions included provisions for solely single-family residential use, minimum front set back, and minimum cost for houses constructed. In Palo Alto Addition, requirements were also set for necessary approval by the developer, Glenn Realty Company, to erect any fences, walls, and structure, as well as, a special assessment for front yard landscaping with trees and shrubs. In Cumberland Forest, the moving of existing buildings onto land in the subdivision was prohibited.489 Statement of Significance The Cumberland Forest & Palo Alto Residential Historic District was identified for its concentration of single- and multi-family dwellings constructed between approximately 1923 and 1957, having local significance under National Register Criterion C for Architecture. Utilizing the Wisconsin Historical Societys Cultural Resource Management in Wisconsin, additional research centered on evaluating the resources within the district utilizing the Period Revival styles subsections of the Architecture study unit of the aforementioned text. Individually, the contributing resources include fine representative examples of several of the most popular styles applied to residential architecture in Wisconsin during the period of significance. The district is comprised of 294 contributing resources and 2 non-contributing resources. Boundary Description The district consists of the legal parcels associated with the 294 contributing and 2 noncontributing properties within the district and may be defined by this general description:

207

Beginning on the west curb line of Oakland Avenue that corresponds to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 1729 E. Cumberland Boulevard, continue west along the south property line of said lot to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 4632 N. Bartlett Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said lot to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 4610 N. Bartlett Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 2610 N. Marlborough Drive, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of the lot associated with1100 E. Courtland Place, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north lot line of said lot to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 1242 E. Courtland Place, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said lot to a point on the west curb line of Ardmore Avenue corresponding to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 1301 E. Courtland Place, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to a point on the south curb line of Courtland Place associated with the southwest corner of the lot associated with 4701 N. Woodburn Street, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 4797 N. Woodburn Street, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 1727 E. Hampton Road, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said lot to the southeast corner of the the lot associated with 1729 E. Cumberland Boulevard. The boundary for the Cumberland Forest & Palo Alto Residential Historic District is clearly delineated on the accompanying district map. The boundary encloses the area of 64 acres. Boundary Justification The boundaries of the Cumberland Forest & Palo Alto Residential Historic District enclose all the areas historically associated with the districts resources. While adjacent areas are residential in nature, they do not maintain the historic integrity of the residences contained within the district boundaries. The result is a cohesive district with as few non-contributing properties as possible. Building Inventory The following inventory lists every building in the proposed district and includes the address of the property; the historic name; the date or circa date of construction; and the resources contributing (C), non-contributing (NC), or previously listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) class.
Address 4611 N. Ardmore Avenue 4612 N. Ardmore Avenue 4619 N. Ardmore Avenue 4624 N. Ardmore Avenue 4627 N. Ardmore Avenue 4635 N. Ardmore Avenue 4636 N. Ardmore Avenue 4641 N. Ardmore Avenue Historic Name Warren E. Goldman House Alvin L. Minkin House Joseph Grillhoese House Ervin & Helen Z. Grossmann House Frank Himmelstein House Leon G. Grieb House Irv & Ann Silberman House Walter E. & Evelyn Hass House Date 1939 1951 1940 1951 1939 1936 1952 1937 Class C C C C C C C C

208

4647 N. Ardmore Avenue 4648 N. Ardmore Avenue 4651 N. Ardmore Avenue 4654 N. Ardmore Avenue 4659 N. Ardmore Avenue 4660 N. Ardmore Avenue 4665 N. Ardmore Avenue 4672 N. Ardmore Avenue 4610 N. Bartlett Avenue 4611 N. Bartlett Avenue 4616 N. Bartlett Avenue 4617 N. Bartlett Avenue 4620 N. Bartlett Avenue 4621 N. Bartlett Avenue 4626 N. Bartlett Avenue 4627 N. Bartlett Avenue 4632 N. Bartlett Avenue 4633 N. Bartlett Avenue 4712 N. Bartlett Avenue 4718 N. Bartlett Avenue 4722 N. Bartlett Avenue 4725 N. Bartlett Avenue 4730 N. Bartlett Avenue 4731 N. Bartlett Avenue 4733 N. Bartlett Avenue 4740 N. Bartlett Avenue 4735 N. Bartlett Drive 4753 N. Bartlett Drive 4759 N. Bartlett Drive 4765 N. Bartlett Drive 4766 N. Bartlett Drive 4771 N. Bartlett Drive 4777 N. Bartlett Drive 4780 N. Bartlett Drive 4783 N. Bartlett Drive 4789 N. Bartlett Drive 4796 N. Bartlett Drive 1551 E. Blackthorne Place 1559 E. Blackthorne Place 1560 E. Blackthorne Place 1566 E. Blackthorne Place 1567 E. Blackthorne Place 1570 E. Blackthorne Place 1575 E. Blackthorne Place 1576 E. Blackthorne Place 1580 E. Blackthorne Place 1581 E. Blackthorne Place 1601 E. Blackthorne Place 1604 E. Blackthorne Place 1607 E. Blackthorne Place

M. A. Melnik House Dr. David J. & Sarah Zubatsky House Frank J. & Mary T. Marasco House Albert M. & Ann Deshur House M. Melnik House Simon C. Weisfeldt House Dr. B. L. & Mollie Fabric House Alexander & Dorothy J. Gregory House Joseph & Exilda Hussa House Frances J. & Adele C. Herbes House George W. & Gladys M. House John F. & Josephine Mehr House David Dohmeyer House Emil Farchmin House William C. & Meta Schmidt House Elinore H. Edwards House Fred C. & Gertrude L. Adler House Dr. Ben L. & Judy Chapman Dr. John W. Truitt House Barth & Florence Chudik House Dr. H. C. & Margarette Reynolds House William & Theresa Berssenbrugge House Clinton M. & Inez Barr House August L. & Clara Klein House Adolph & Estella Nydegger House Gustave Poppert House Jacob J. & Emma Poppert House Joseph B. & Rose Bachman House Catherine Beyer House Charles A. & Dorothy Cadwell House Richard Jr. & Alma Flechsig House Jerry & Edith Polland House Louis A. & Kathryn Banks House William R. & Elizabeth Miller House Arthur J. & Beatrice Schinner House John & Abbie Humphrey House Frank & Annette Chudik House George J. & Irene Hoefs House Laurence & Bertha Morrison House William & Mary Wondrauska House Calvin A. & Margaret Koehring House Ray P. & Irene L. Hiller House Gilbert R. & May A. Heyer House Charles W. & Edna M. Valentine House Robert L. & Ruth Cunningham House

1940 1953 1940 1951 1940 1950 1940 1951 1951 < 1922 1927 1928 1928 1926 1930 1928 1923 < 1922 1933 1951 1931 1928 1926 1927 1928 1932 1928 1931 1952 1937 1947 1927 1930 1947 1947 1953 1946 1936 1939 1931 1928 1929 1927 1928 1928 1931 1931 1927 1929 1953

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

209

1608 E. Blackthorne Place 1613 E. Blackthorne Place 1614 E. Blackthorne Place 1621 E. Blackthorne Place 1629 E. Blackthorne Place 1100 E. Courtland Place 1101 E. Courtland Place 1106 E. Courtland Place 1107 E. Courtland Place 1111 E. Courtland Place 1112 E. Courtland Place 1118 E. Courtland Place 1119 E. Courtland Place 1124 E. Courtland Place 1200 E. Courtland Place 1206 E. Courtland Place 1211 E. Courtland Place 1212 E. Courtland Place 1218 E. Courtland Place 1221 E. Courtland Place 1224 E. Courtland Place 1230 E. Courtland Place 1231 E. Courtland Place 1236 E. Courtland Place 1242 E. Courtland Place 1301 E. Courtland Place 1413 E. Courtland Place 1419 E. Courtland Place 1425 E. Courtland Place 1550 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1551 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1555 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1562 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1569 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1570 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1578 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1579 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1584 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1585 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1600 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1601 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1608 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1609 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1614 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1615 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1620 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1621 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1628 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1629 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1700 E. Cumberland Boulevard

J. Charles & Teckla C. Staff House Joseph & Ruth Pereles House Richard J. & Ruth E. Zivney House William H. & Johanna Pfeiffer House Arthur A. & Gertrude Santley House Joseph H. & Blanche L. Swerdloff House Herbert A. & Myrtle L. Froemming House Ben M. & Jen Wexler House Henry Gottschalk House Charles C. & Gladys Bartlett House Harry J. & Florence Grinstein House Joseph & Cecelia Yampol House J. Herbert & Alberta Stone House Stanley & Dorothy Olyniec House George & Alice Coplin House Jack C. & Rhea Silbermann House George E. Morse House Irving M. & Minnie Coplin House Nathan P. & Miriam Breslauer House P. Y. & Reene Tumy House Samuel & Faythe Schuminsky House Donald R. Jr. & Barbara Lynch House W. E. & Grace Richter House Monroe S. & Betty Slavick House Al & Claire Willis House Jerome D. & Jane Hirsch House Clyde W. & Elizabeth W. Gallup House E. B. & Edith Garrison House Joe & Edith Gould House Lawrence R. & Martha P. Riesen House Leslie G. & Ruth Keller House Clarence J. & Evelyn K. Busch House Elmer H. & Ruby B. Grootemaat House Paul J. & Madeline D. Schwietering House Curt A. & Florence B. Claus House Louis & Emma Ramsthal House William & Bernice Doll House Herman O. & Elvina Giljohann House Joseph A. & Ella M. Weber House Dr. J. A. Englander House Russell A. & Odessa Clark House Rich P. & Marion Tinkham House Clair P. & Florence S. Nourse House Ray P. & Irene L. Hiller House Phillip G. & Sarah Jacobson House William & Ida Temkin House Fred F. & Marie Hatcher House Clarence J. & Frances Grootemaat House Fred A. & Christine B. Harrison House Arthur G. & Marie Koch House

1928 1933 1927 1928 1937 1941 1941 1949 1941 1941 1946 1957 1940 1941 1941 1941 1940 1941 1942 1940 1949 1950 1941 1948 1951 1950 1929 1954 1952 1927 1931 1928 1927 1938 1929 1929 1931 1931 1926 1926 1931 1928 1929 1927 1929 1929 1929 1929 1926 1929

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

210

1703 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1712 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1715 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1722 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1723 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1728 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1729 E. Cumberland Boulevard 4701 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4704 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4707 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4713 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4716 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4717 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4723 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4732 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4733 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4740 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4741 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4745 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4746 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4751 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4752 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4759 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4762 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4765 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4768 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4773 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4776 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4777 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4781 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4782 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4787 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4790 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4797 N. Cumberland Boulevard 1505 E. Hampton Road 1531 E. Hampton Road 1605 E. Hampton Road 1631 E. Hampton Road 1727 E. Hampton Road 4610 & 4612 N. Larkin Street 4611 N. Larkin Street 4616 N. Larkin Street 4617 N. Larkin Street 4620 N. Larkin Street 4621 N. Larkin Street 4626 N. Larkin Street 4627 N. Larkin Street 4630 N. Larkin Street 4633 N. Larkin Street 4636 N. Larkin Street

Harry A. & Aurie J. Bendfelt House Harry & Cora Gwaltney House Charles B. & Meredith H. Bennett House Irving & Adrienne Zwern House David P. & Bess Becker House Robert E. & Ann Pereles House Joseph M & Yetta G. Schutkin House Frances Smith House Carl W. & Anna T. Faas House Henry G. & Elma C. Barelman House Lewis F. & Minnie F. Schoenwetter House

Roy W. & Ruth Vondette House Victor F. & Mildred V. Braun House Otto & Minnie L. Schwann House Fred K. & Hazel Breithaupt House Charles G. & Edna Bach House Henry F. & Hattie Gehring House Dr. Bert E. & Winifred B. Hewitt House Frank J. & Cora Zens House Albert J. & Marguirite Beckman House Nathan & Pearl Berkowitz House Louis M. & Ella M. Kornreich House Clarence P. & Norma Schwister House Gordon J. & Viola A. Bell House Samuel L. & Lillian Schefrin House Thomas J. & Elizabeth M. Boehm House Charles I. & Isabelle R. Foster House Walter G. Truettner House Le Roy L. & Thea LaBudde House H. & Rose Forman House A. & Hedwig Bertram House Benjamin & Lillian LaKam House Gilbert C. & Lois Gettelman House John Arlington & Lillian M. Potts Duplex Samuel J. & Lydia Newton House Edward H. & Stella Bullock House John P. & Mildred Lewis House Ray C. & Lillian C. Weber House Edward W. & Mabel Zinns House James & Amanda Kupperian House Karl & Emma Von Kass House William & Lillian Heym House E. C. & Irene Dallman House

1929 1931 1926 1952 1937 1952 1955 1928 1940 1928 1929 1928 1930 1924 1928 1928 1928 1929 1928 1931 1928 1949 1929 1950 1928 1928 1930 1936 1938 1928 1928 1928 1928 1947 1947 1940 1953 1949 1939 1926 1930 1927 1927 1949 1927 1928 1929 1927 1927 1927

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

211

4639 N. Larkin Street 4645 N. Larkin Street 4651 N. Larkin Street 4721 N. Larkin Street 4729 N. Larkin Street 4733 N. Larkin Street 4737 N. Larkin Street 4744 N. Larkin Street 4747 N. Larkin Street 4750 N. Larkin Street 4753 N. Larkin Street 4758 N. Larkin Street 4759 N. Larkin Street 4764 N. Larkin Street 4767 N. Larkin Street 4770 N. Larkin Street 4775 N. Larkin Street 4776 N. Larkin Street 4779 N. Larkin Street 4784 N. Larkin Street 4785 N. Larkin Street 4790 N. Larkin Street 4791 N. Larkin Street 4796 N. Larkin Street 4610 N. Marlborough Drive 4618 N. Marlborough Drive 4634 N. Marlborough Drive 4610 N. Morris Boulevard 4613 N. Morris Boulevard 4614 N. Morris Boulevard 4617 N. Morris Boulevard 4620 N. Morris Boulevard 4623 N. Morris Boulevard 4626 N. Morris Boulevard 4629 N. Morris Boulevard 4630 N. Morris Boulevard 4633 N. Morris Boulevard 4636 N. Morris Boulevard 4639 N. Morris Boulevard 4642 N. Morris Boulevard 4647 N. Morris Boulevard 4650 N. Morris Boulevard 4653 N. Morris Boulevard 4658 N. Morris Boulevard 4659 N. Morris Boulevard 4663 N. Morris Boulevard 4664 N. Morris Boulevard 4671 N. Morris Boulevard 4675 N. Morris Boulevard 4610 N. Newhall Street

William Last House Walter L. & Mae Tank House Hugo & Matie Kraeutlein House A. W. & Margaret Lindstrom House Harold R. & Gretchen B. Schneider House Henry W. & Ruth Brauch House Anton & Mathilde Arnosti House Frank R. Sr. & Dora Wilke House Carl & Emma Haash House Carroll D. & Janice E. Meyer House Harry C. & Louise Stock House Dean R. & Beatrice Williams House George & Winifred Feldt House Herman O. & Elvina Giljohann House Frank & Myrtle Dite House Theo J. & Bertha J. Buettner House Henry & Alice Lillie House Edward Herman Hardtke Jr. House E. R. Eisner House Dr. Royal & Evelyn Lee House Fred Jr. & Margaret S. Leypoldt House Herman M. & Marion Knoeller House Paul W. & Marion Ryan House Kenneth L. & Lota M. Levings House Myron J. & Eileen Coplan House

Charles L. & Irma L. Hoover House Herman & Helen Ploetz House John G. & Lela Hove House Forrest W. & Henrietta Trumpf House Merton H. & Audrey Lewis House Herbert R. & Jean Nachtrab House Michael & Jean Galazan House A. J. & Dorothy Goddard House Dr. Herbert & Lorraine Apfelberg House Fred & Ella Goodman House A. F. & Martha Daehn House Arthur J. & Lillian Gauger House Clarence A. Retzlaff House R. S. & Norma Gilfoy House W. J. & Marie J. Koehler House John Andrew & Agnes E. Smith House F. A. & Gertrude Luber House Peter & Jovan Stanka House

1926 1926 1926 1930 1928 1937 1932 1933 1927 1927 1929 1927 1928 1942 1928 1927 1928 1927 1927 1935 1928 1931 1941 1949 1951 1956 1950 1930 1923 1937 1925 1929 1925 1929 1953 1929 1923 1950 1937 1950 1939 1941 1929 1929 1929 1929 1928 1928 1928 1928

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

212

4611 N. Newhall Street 4614 N. Newhall Street 4615 N. Newhall Street 4620 N. Newhall Street 4621 N. Newhall Street 4624 N. Newhall Street 4627 N. Newhall Street 4628 N. Newhall Street 4631 N. Newhall Street 4746 N. Newhall Street 4750 N. Newhall Street 4753 N. Newhall Street 4756 N. Newhall Street 4759 N. Newhall Street 4764 N. Newhall Street 4765 N. Newhall Street 4768 N. Newhall Street 4773 N. Newhall Street 4779 N. Newhall Street 4780 N. Newhall Street 4787 N. Newhall Street 4788 N. Newhall Street 4797 N. Newhall Street 4719 N. Oakland Avenue 4725 N. Oakland Avenue 4731 N. Oakland Avenue 4773 N. Oakland Avenue 4785 N. Oakland Avenue 4610 N. Wildwood Avenue 4611 N. Wildwood Avenue 4618 N. Wildwood Avenue 4619 N. Wildwood Avenue 4626 N. Wildwood Avenue 4627 N. Wildwood Avenue 4634 N. Wildwood Avenue 4635 N. Wildwood Avenue 4640 N. Wildwood Avenue 4643 N. Wildwood Avenue 4646 N. Wildwood Avenue 4652 N. Wildwood Avenue 4658 N. Wildwood Avenue 4611 N. Woodburn Street 4614 N. Woodburn Street 4617 N. Woodburn Street 4620 N. Woodburn Street 4625 N. Woodburn Street 4628 N. Woodburn Street 4633 N. Woodburn Street 4634 N. Woodburn Street 4639 N. Woodburn Street

A. & Helen Schatner House

Milton K. & Pearl G. Sanders House Arthur Lehman House Charles J. Jr. & Bernice V. Stumpf House Valentine & Anna Koller House Franklin B. & Emma B. Raab House Robert & Pauline Harpke House John W. Hiller House Arthur E. & Grace S. Giljohann House Freeman H. & Doris G. Guerin House Emma F. Wahra House Robert & Pauline Kohler House Albert P & Marcella Kohler House Charles A. Jr. & Clotilde Guttenkunst House Rosa Schmidt House Robert & Rosalie Rellin House Lawrence G. & Louise Theurer House Christ Episcopal Church Rectory George E. & Edith R. Inghram House John R. & Fannie Moore House Frank & Clara Prohaska House Roy C. Pretzel House Lloyd R. Mueller House Ramon L. & Sara Hill Spears House Louis, Manthey House Alfred H. & Edna Zastrow House N. D. Helland House Morris R. & Rose Segal House J. Lubar House Ray Blumberg house Leslie & Jean Reder House C. Herzberg House John J. & Margaret Lown House Dr. S. G. Weisfeld House K. Wiener House Tom & Margaret Sendik House

1925 1930 1930 < 1922 1927 1928 1939 1928 < 1922 1927 1930 1926 1927 1930 1928 1927 1930 1929 1927 1929 1929 1929 1965 1927 1935 1950 1940 1940 1939 1939 1940 1939 1939 1940 1941 1939 1940 1941 1939 1939 1941 1940 1940 1940 1939 1950 1939 1941 1939 1937

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C NC C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

213

4640 N. Woodburn Street 4645 N. Woodburn Street 4648 N. Woodburn Street 4654 N. Woodburn Street 4657 N. Woodburn Street 4660 N. Woodburn Street 4665 N. Woodburn Street 4666 N. Woodburn Street 4671 N. Woodburn Street 4674 N. Woodburn Street 4677 N. Woodburn Street 4685 N. Woodburn Street 4700 N. Woodburn Street 4701 N. Woodburn Street 4706 N. Woodburn Street 4710 N. Woodburn Street 4711 N. Woodburn Street 4718 N. Woodburn Street 4721 N. Woodburn Street 4724 N. Woodburn Street 4730 N. Woodburn Street 4731 N. Woodburn Street 4737 N. Woodburn Street 4740 N. Woodburn Street 4745 N. Woodburn Street 4750 N. Woodburn Street 4751 N. Woodburn Street 4759 N. Woodburn Street 4760 N. Woodburn Street 4765 N. Woodburn Street 4766 N. Woodburn Street 4774 N. Woodburn Street 4777 N. Woodburn Street 4782 N. Woodburn Street 4783 N. Woodburn Street 4790 N. Woodburn Street 4791 N. Woodburn Street 4796 N. Woodburn Street

Rose Tumanic House George & Amanda Kraemer House Hans & Gertrude Turrian House William C. & Antionia Mett House S. J. Grossman & Frances House Frank W. & Myrtle Eastwood House Lester A. & Viola Damitz House Dr. Donald C. & Mildred Ausman House Le Roy & Amanda Henze House Richard J. & Bernice M. Lawless House William F. & Violet Graebel House Fred A. & Josephine Gebhardt House David W. & Bernice Livingston House Ralph J. & Estelle Drought House Irving S. & Louise P. Bilty House Robert B. & Ethel A. Richards House William J. & Ottlie Kunz House E. C. Trumpf House Charlotte C. Pearson House

Harold L. & Grace E. Smith House

Samuel C. & Sarah Kops House Dr. Floyd C. & Leoneze A. Wilson House Joseph L. & Adela Columbo House Charles & Mildred Strauss House Walter J. & Bertha J. Bauer House George E. & Sarah Stetner House Richard & Mabel Baarth House Edwin C. & Erna Rockrohr House

1939 1936 1938 1938 1936 1953 1936 1937 1936 1940 1931 1929 1929 1933 1933 1929 1932 1929 1931 1936 1929 1930 1930 1929 1930 1936 1930 1929 1935 1929 1935 1930 1929 1935 1929 1935 1929 1936

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

214

Proposed Fairmount & Highland View Residential Historic District Narrative Description The Fairmount & Highland View Residential Historic District is a well-defined neighborhood of 202 buildings situated in the southeast portion of the Village of Whitefish Bay and has boundaries roughly delineated along Cumberland Boulevard, Larkin Street, and Lake Drive from Henry Clay Street on the north to Fairmount Avenue on the south and along Ardmore Avenue, Woodburn Street, and Cumberland Boulevard from Fairmount Avenue on the north to Hampton Road on the south. The area of both small and modestly sized homes began developing in the late 1800s, was substantially developed by approximately 1920, and filled in over the next four decades. Representative of the prevailing architectural styles of their time, Colonial Revival, Tudor Revival, Mediterranean Revival, and Contemporary style residences are prominent within the district. The district is comprised of the entirety of the Continuation of Highland View Subdivision; the majority of Stone & Thomas Subdivision No. 1 - Fairmount Heights; and portions of Fairmount Park Subdivision and Highland View Subdivision. The first of these subdivisions were platted in the 1890s, with the remaining platted in the following decades. In 1892, the Highland Land Company purchased the 50-acre I. H. Lowry farm and platted the land as Highland View. Fairmount Heights was also platted that year, and Fairmount Park in 1926.490 Statement of Significance The Fairmount & Highland View Residential Historic District was identified for its concentration of single- and multi-family dwellings constructed between approximately 1919 and 1961, having local significance under National Register Criterion C for Architecture. Utilizing the Wisconsin Historical Societys Cultural Resource Management in Wisconsin, additional research centered on evaluating the resources within the district utilizing the Period Revival styles subsections of the Architecture study unit of the aforementioned text. Individually, the contributing resources include fine representative examples of several of the most popular styles applied to residential architecture in Wisconsin during the period of significance. The district is comprised of 208 contributing resources and 4 non-contributing resources. Boundary Description The district consists of the legal parcels associated with the 202 contributing and 4 noncontributing properties within the district and may be defined by this general description: Beginning on the north curb line of Hampton Road at the southeast corner of the lot associated with 4800 N. Cumberland Boulevard continue west along the south property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 4800 N. Ardmore Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 4824 N. Ardmore Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of the lot associated with 4831 N. Ardmore Avenue to the southwest corner of said

215

lot, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 4975 N. Ardmore Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 1401 E. Fairmount Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of the lot associated with 5003 N. Cumberland Boulevard to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 5157 N. Lake Drive, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northeast corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said lot to a point on the west curbline of Lake Drive corresponding to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 5129 N. Lake Drive, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue southeast along the northeast property line of said lot to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 5009 N. Lake Drive, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue west along the south property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 1540 E. Fairmount Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of the lot associated with 1540 E. Fairmount Avenue to the southeast corner of the lot associate with 4820 N. Cumberland Boulevard, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of said lot to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 4800 N. Cumberland Boulevard, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said lot to the southeast corner of said lot. The boundary for the Fairmount & Highland View Residential Historic District is clearly delineated on the accompanying district map. The boundary encloses the area of 41 acres. Boundary Justification The boundaries of the Fairmount & Highland View Residential Historic District enclose all the areas historically associated with the districts resources. While adjacent areas are residential in nature, they do not maintain the historic integrity of the residences contained within the district boundaries. The result is a cohesive district with as few non-contributing properties as possible. Building Inventory The following inventory lists every building in the proposed district and includes the address of the property; the historic name; the date or circa date of construction; and the resources contributing (C), non-contributing (NC), or previously listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) class.
Address 4800 N. Ardmore Avenue 4810 N. Ardmore Avenue 4818 N. Ardmore Avenue 4824 N. Ardmore Avenue 4830 N. Ardmore Avenue 4831 N. Ardmore Avenue 4836 N. Ardmore Avenue 4837 N. Ardmore Avenue 4842 N. Ardmore Avenue 4843 N. Ardmore Avenue 4848 N. Ardmore Avenue 4849 N. Ardmore Avenue Historic Name Dr. Samuel J. & Ceciele Sweet House John M. & Janet Durham House Herbert & Suren Abraham House T. H. Gill House C. Stroble House Phillip J. & Monya Tolkan House LeRoy & Dorothy S. Bond House Gene & Ruth Posner House George B. & Mary Wightman House Theodore Zafis House Charles Rubinstein House Ivan & Lorraine Potter House Date 1951 1956 1945 1945 1941 1948 1929 1948 1940 1941 1941 1941 Class C C C C C C C C C C C C

216

4855 N. Ardmore Avenue 4856 N. Ardmore Avenue 4861 N. Ardmore Avenue 4862 N. Ardmore Avenue 4868 N. Ardmore Avenue 4869 N. Ardmore Avenue 4875 N. Ardmore Avenue 4900 N. Ardmore Avenue 4901 N. Ardmore Avenue 4908 N. Ardmore Avenue 4909 N. Ardmore Avenue 4914 N. Ardmore Avenue 4915 N. Ardmore Avenue 4921 N. Ardmore Avenue 4922 N. Ardmore Avenue 4927 N. Ardmore Avenue 4930 N. Ardmore Avenue 4933 N. Ardmore Avenue 4938 N. Ardmore Avenue 4941 N. Ardmore Avenue 4944 N. Ardmore Avenue 4947 N. Ardmore Avenue 4950 N. Ardmore Avenue 4953 N. Ardmore Avenue 4956 N. Ardmore Avenue 4960 N. Ardmore Avenue 4961 N. Ardmore Avenue 4967 N. Ardmore Avenue 4968 N. Ardmore Avenue 4975 N. Ardmore Avenue 4976 N. Ardmore Avenue 1301 E. Chateau Place 1351 E. Chateau Place 4800 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4811 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4819 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4820 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4825 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4826 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4832 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4833 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4838 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4839 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4844 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4845 & 4847 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4848 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4853 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4854 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4859 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4860 N. Cumberland Boulevard

Walter & Margaret Eckers House Norman & Rosalyn Nadler House Charles & Grace Baeurle House David Malmon House Julius Vetter House William E. De Makes House Harold E. Mayr House Raymond J. & Edna Czaja House Clynt A. & Ann Martin House Harry & Jessie Goldberg House Raymond Scribner House W. J. & Edna Dobbratz House T. B. & Mollie A. Inglis House Robert M. & Florence K. Wolpert House Walter Lange House Harry M. & Martha Hankin House A. S. Morsell Jr. House Leonard & Anna Gucciardi House William H. & Florence Ross House Arthur A. & Eva C. Jacquin House Louis B. & Esther E. Hellberg House Harry Davis House Read E. & Thelma Widrig House S. H. Dickinson House Edward & Lola Behling House Dr. Robert E. & Fern McDonald House Henry H. & Esther S. Weber House Dr. R. A. & Bessie Kaddatz House Harold I. & Bernice Stewart House Louis Fine House Wyatt W. Jr. & Marilyn Dawson House Isadore I. & Maye G. Skerball House Dr. John L. Jr. & Ethel Callahan House The Concrete Demonstration House / Dar & Jeanne Vriesman House Robert H. & Rita Lorenz House J. Louis Wolff House Ira S. & Louise W. Lorenz House William R. & Josephine M. Sassmann House John Kohlmetz House A. L. & Barbara Hentzen House Herbert T. Pegge House Roy S. Strickler House Sydney M. & Helen F. Greve House Benjamin M. Weis Company Duplex Arthur K. & Lydia E. Schwartzbeck House August J. & Meta E. Weber House Arthur & Alby Snapper House Raymond J. & Mercedes Weik House Edward J. Meyer House

1947 1951 1949 1939 1930 1941 1941 1948 1937 1937 1935 1937 1934 1937 1940 1935 1934 1931 1931 1928 1937 1932 1931 1932 1935 1935 1931 1936 1936 1950 1959 1941 1936 1940 1953 c. 1920 1924 1938 1934 < 1890 1966 c. 1919 c. 1909 1927 1926 1928 1929 1929 1929 1934

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C

217

4863 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4866 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4869 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4872 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4875 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4903 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4906 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4907 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4908 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4914 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4915 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4921 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4922 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4926 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4929 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4930 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4939 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4940 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4943 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4944 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4952 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4953 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4958 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4959 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4964 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4965 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4971 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5000 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5003 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5008 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5009 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5014 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5015 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5019 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5022 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5025 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5026 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5033 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5034 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5040 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5041 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5049 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5055 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5061 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5067 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5075 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5078 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5101 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5109 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5117 N. Cumberland Boulevard

Nelson B. Nelson House William J. & Margaret Bayer House John & Harriet Patterson House William F. & Faye Matras House Dr. David V. & Dorothy Elconin House Celm & Fawn C. Kalvelage House Mrs. H. G. Heubert House Jarry D. & Virginia A. Hughes House Frank J. & Mathilda Pelich House Paul C. & Helen Downey House Frank & Anna Hopp House Mark J. & Margaret L. Bach House William P. & Orphie Mead House Edward A. & Frances Segall House Reinhold & Fanita Schemel House Stanley & Marion P. Evans House John A. & Harriet Eifert House Morgan P. & Magdalen H. White House Harry C. & Pearl Larson House Fred A. & Pauline Mollis House Paul P. & Frances M. Stothart House Oscar P. & Veronica Dunker House Erwin L. & Alma L. Giljohann House Joseph F. & Marjorie Adams House Gertrude Homp House Robert & Evangeline Rendenbach House Nat H. & Edith Eppstein House Arthur H. & Nancy T. Ely House Carl & Norrine Lipman House Dale M. & Esther C. Perrill House

Lawrence N. & Agnes Schmitt House Vern K. & Mary L. Bynton House Martha Klein House Ralph A. & Marion Uihlein House Herbert H. & Anna M. Frey House William A. & Irene Ouweneel House Ray H. & Henrietta Fantl House Ralph A. & Iva A. Chamberlin House

1932 1936 1929 1936 1936 1928 1927 1929 1925 1926 1926 1924 1929 1926 1934 1926 1930 1925 1924 1926 1927 1928 1925 1927 1928 1936 1930 1931 1931 1931 1931 1927 1931 1930 1928 1930 1930 1930 1931 1926 1930 1932 1929 1931 1949 1931 1928 1930 1934 1926

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

218

5125 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5131 & 5133 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5137 & 5139 N. Cumberland Boulevard 1401 E. Fairmount Avenue 1501 E. Fairmount Avenue 1540 E. Fairmount Avenue 1426 E. Hampton Road 5009 N. Lake Drive 5017 N. Lake Drive 5025 N. Lake Drive 5029 N. Lake Drive 5037 N. Lake Drive 5043 N. Lake Drive 5049 N. Lake Drive 5053 N. Lake Drive 5059 & 5061 N. Lake Drive 5067 N. Lake Drive 5073 N. Lake Drive 5079 N. Lake Drive 5101 N. Lake Drive 5105 N. Lake Drive 5109 & 5111 N. Lake Drive 5117 N. Lake Drive 5123 N. Lake Drive 5151 & 5153 N. Lake Drive 5157 & 5159 N. Lake Drive 5000 N. Larkin Street 5006 N. Larkin Street 5009 N. Larkin Street 5012 N. Larkin Street 5015 N. Larkin Street 5018 N. Larkin Street 5021 N. Larkin Street 5024 N. Larkin Street 5030 N. Larkin Street 5031 N. Larkin Street 5036 N. Larkin Street 5042 N. Larkin Street 5050 N. Larkin Street 5056 N. Larkin Street 5062 N. Larkin Street 5066 N. Larkin Street 5072 N. Larkin Street 4797 N. Woodburn Street 4800 N. Woodburn Street 4801 N. Woodburn Street 4808 N. Woodburn Street 4809 N. Woodburn Street 4816 N. Woodburn Street 4819 N. Woodburn Street

Jack J. & Carrie F. Horwitz House Clarence H. & Lorene Mueller Duplex Fred & Helen Deutsche Duplex Howard & Sandra Karsh House Alfred A. & Gertrude Lienemann House Fred & Fannie Hirsch House Hirsh J. & Jacqueline Kravit House O. N. & Apal Adams House Adam J. & Louise Berger House F. C. & Martha Lienemann House John W. & Gertrude F. E. Buss House John C. & Elsie Lillis House Herbert & Sylvia Usow House Frank & Cecelia Boehm House Clarence F. & Elsie Kipp House George S. & Charlotte Wolcott Duplex Charles J. & Anna Keller Duplex Leonard L. & Laura H. Bowyer House Joseph I. & Lillie Montwid House Harold M & Vera Baum House Richard & Mary Jaragoske House Sophia Mischler Duplex John A. & Lucile Gilroy House Arthur C. & Helen G. Runzler House

Gustav & Elizabeth Krueger House Robert B. & Marilyn Robbins House Albert E. & Johanna C. Severson House Robert & Marie Greenwald House S. B. & Alpha Jacobson House Dr. Martin & Pearl F. Rosenbaum House Roland B. & Esther Remley House Julius & Lilly Lewinski House Adolph & Edith P. Rieloff House Raymond J. & Clara Hutchings House George H. & Jane Zink House Herbert B. & Gene Cohen House Lawrence F. & Lillian M. Schuetz House Melvin E. & Bertha Goldberger House Herbert G. & Ruth Laev House Paul C. & Eleanor Neacy House George L. Thomas House Robert M. & Vivian Gill House William J. & Lydia Schaus House Dr. E. C. & Betty Meldman House John Clauder House Arthur J. & Clara A. Podawiltz House

1936 1926 1926 1968 1961 1949 1954 1928 1927 1927 1927 1926 1970 1926 1928 1927 1926 1931 1927 1928 1975 1927 1956 1928 1924 1930 1926 1954 1928 1927 1928 1956 1928 1927 1927 1929 1950 1952 1960 1930 1928 1929 1929 1929 1951 1940 1951 1940 1930 1927

C C C NC C C C C C C C C NC C C C C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

219

4824 N. Woodburn Street 4825 N. Woodburn Street 4830 N. Woodburn Street 4831 N. Woodburn Street 4836 N. Woodburn Street 4837 N. Woodburn Street 4842 N. Woodburn Street 4843 N. Woodburn Street 4848 N. Woodburn Street 4851 N. Woodburn Street 4856 N. Woodburn Street 4857 N. Woodburn Street 4863 N. Woodburn Street 4864 N. Woodburn Street 4868 N. Woodburn Street 4869 N. Woodburn Street 4874 N. Woodburn Street 4902 N. Woodburn Street 4903 N. Woodburn Street 4907 N. Woodburn Street 4908 N. Woodburn Street 4914 N. Woodburn Street 4915 N. Woodburn Street 4920 N. Woodburn Street 4923 N. Woodburn Street 4929 N. Woodburn Street 4930 N. Woodburn Street 4936 N. Woodburn Street 4937 N. Woodburn Street 4942 N. Woodburn Street 4943 N. Woodburn Street 4949 N. Woodburn Street 4950 N. Woodburn Street 4955 N. Woodburn Street 4958 N. Woodburn Street 4961 N. Woodburn Street 4964 N. Woodburn Street 4967 N. Woodburn Street 4970 N. Woodburn Street 4975 N. Woodburn Street

Wallace F. & Loraine C. Lanham House Hugh A. & Dorothy A. Sinclair House Walter & Adele Bieck House Irwin & Rose Weil House Richard F. & Jane L. Hoffmann House Clarence W. & Leona Smith House Oscar R. & Hilda Truettner House Alexander F. & Florence North House Jesse W. & Ada H. Johnson House Alvin A. & Bernice Gerlach House Louis E. & Lydia M. Bertane House Ralph B. & Miriam B. Ritter House Raymond C. & Kathleen Shank House Raymond W. & Dorothy D. Duff House Harry A. & Ilse I. Brown House Jack Allen & Eleanor Smith House

Frank E. & Mabel E. Dion House Fred C. & Hazel Christiansen House Louis J. Miller House Robert A. & Louise Curran House Dr. J. S. Walkley House Fillmore A. & Marion P. Frederick House Jay K. & E. Gladys Bond House Walter A. & Lillith S. Wadsworth House William F. & Olive H. Ragan House Clarence E. & Belle Long House Jerome C. & Julie Saltzstein House Earl & Irma Sedlmayer House Fred L. & Marion W. Good House Dr. Benjamin Urdan House William B. Faude House J. S. & Mary Cohn House Samuel & Fanny Zarne House Curtis & Elizabeth Marsell House Malcom E. & Florence J. Gregg House Walter H. & Gladys Hoffman House

1929 1927 1930 1926 1927 1926 1931 1927 1929 1928 1947 1929 1927 1927 1929 1926 1938 1930 1930 1928 1931 1929 1929 1929 1927 1927 1927 1928 1926 1931 1928 1928 1931 1930 1931 1929 1931 1938 1931 1959

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

220

Proposed Idlewild Residential Historic District Narrative Description The Idlewild Residential Historic District is a well-defined cluster of 62 buildings situated in the center of the Village of Whitefish Bay and has boundaries roughly delineated along Fleetwood Place, Briarwood Place, Lexington Boulevard, and Sylvan Avenue from Idlewild Avenue on the west to Marlborough Drive on the east. While development of the area began around 1890, it was not substantially developed with both small and modestly sized homes until after 1920. Representative of the prevailing architectural styles of their time, Colonial Revival, Tudor Revival, Bungalow, and Contemporary style residences are prominent within the district. The district is comprised of the majority of the Stone and Thomas Subdivisions Idlewild No. 1 and No. 3.491 Stone & Thomas, a Milwaukee real estate firm, acquired the 9 acres to plat Idlewild No. 1 in 1887 in speculation to sell residential lots to workers of the rail yard rumored to be constructed in Whitefish Bay by the Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western Railroad. Idlewild No. 3 was platted in 1890.492 The original sale of lots Idlewild No. 3 included provisions for solely single-family residential use, a minimum front set back, and minimum cost for houses constructed.493 Statement of Significance The Idlewild Residential Historic District was identified for its concentration of single-family dwellings constructed between approximately 1892 and 1956, having local significance under National Register Criterion C for Architecture. The district is comprised of 58 contributing resources and 4 non-contributing resources. Utilizing the Wisconsin Historical Societys Cultural Resource Management in Wisconsin, additional research centered on evaluating the resources within the district utilizing the Period Revival styles subsections of the Architecture study unit of the aforementioned text. Individually, the contributing resources include fine representative examples of several of the most popular styles applied to residential architecture in Wisconsin during the period of significance. Boundary Description The district consists of the legal parcels associated with the 58 contributing and 4 noncontributing properties within the district and may be defined by this general description: Beginning on the south curbline of Fleetwood Place at the northeast corner of the lot associated with 715 E. Fleetwood Place, continue southeast along the east property line of said lot to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 5225 N. Marlborough Drive, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 5220 N. Idlewild Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 707 E. Fleetwood Place, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 715 E. Fleetwood Place.

221

The boundary for the Idlewild Residential Historic District is clearly delineated on the accompanying district map. The boundary encloses the area of 14 acres. Boundary Justification The boundaries of the Idlewild Residential Historic District enclose all the areas historically associated with the districts resources. While adjacent areas are residential in nature, they do not maintain the historic integrity of the residences contained within the district boundaries. The result is a cohesive district with as few non-contributing properties as possible. Building Inventory The following inventory lists every building in the proposed district and includes the address of the property; the historic name; the date or circa date of construction; and the resources contributing (C), non-contributing (NC), or previously listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) class.
Address 700 E. Briarwood Place 701 E. Briarwood Place 707 E. Briarwood Place 710 E. Briarwood Place 715 E. Briarwood Place 720 E. Briarwood Place 721 E. Briarwood Place 728 E. Briarwood Place 729 E. Briarwood Place 735 E. Briarwood Place 736 E. Briarwood Place 741 E. Briarwood Place 707 E. Fleetwood Place 715 E. Fleetwood Place 5220 N. Idlewild Avenue 5260 N. Idlewild Avenue 5268 N. Idlewild Avenue 703 E. Lexington Boulevard 706 E. Lexington Boulevard 709 E. Lexington Boulevard 712 E. Lexington Boulevard 717 E. Lexington Boulevard 720 E. Lexington Boulevard 723 E. Lexington Boulevard 728 E. Lexington Boulevard 729 E. Lexington Boulevard 734 E. Lexington Boulevard 735 E. Lexington Boulevard 740 E. Lexington Boulevard 743 E. Lexington Boulevard 748 E. Lexington Boulevard Historic Name Joseph E. & Josephine Langlois House Forrest J. & Margaret Trumpf House Israel & Zoa Lefebvre House P. R. Stenz House Emil C. & Loraine Weissinger House Ada L. Grider House Joseph & Chloe Weber House Gordon F. & Doris Daggett House John P. Jr. & Helen Koehler House Walter & Margaret Eckers House Joseph Patza House Lewis & Neva Herzog House Walter F. & Geralda Renzel House William F. & Agnes S. Noll House Date c. 1892 1953 1930 c. 1892 1930 c. 1920 1926 1935 1926 1929 1936 1950 c. 1910 1940 1926 1940 1930 1930 1939 1931 1933 1926 1924 1926 1936 1923 1925 1936 1929 1937 1941 Class C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

Morton R. & June Spence House Edward H. & Agnes Stadler House Stewart E. Farley House Aloysius & Gertrude Ott House Galen P. & Pearl A. Kirscher House Edmund C. & Alberta Kratsch House John P. & Alice White House Clarence A. & Anna M. Runte House Howard O. & Alice M. Stein House B. B. & Pauline McKinstry House

222

749 E. Lexington Boulevard 755 E. Lexington Boulevard 756 E. Lexington Boulevard 761 E. Lexington Boulevard 5225 N. Marlborough Drive 5315 N. Marlborough Drive 700 E. Sylvan Avenue 701 E. Sylvan Avenue 709 E. Sylvan Avenue 712 E. Sylvan Avenue 715 E. Sylvan Avenue 716 E. Sylvan Avenue 721 E. Sylvan Avenue 722 E. Sylvan Avenue 729 E. Sylvan Avenue 730 E. Sylvan Avenue 734 E. Sylvan Avenue 735 E. Sylvan Avenue 741 E. Sylvan Avenue 742 E. Sylvan Avenue 801 E. Sylvan Avenue 802 E. Sylvan Avenue 809 E. Sylvan Avenue 814 E. Sylvan Avenue 817 E. Sylvan Avenue 820 E. Sylvan Avenue 823 E. Sylvan Avenue 826 E. Sylvan Avenue 829 E. Sylvan Avenue 832 E. Sylvan Avenue 837 E. Sylvan Avenue

Dr. John & Kathleen Becker House Dr. Rudolph & Ann Scrimenti House Arnold & Marion Hansen House Dr. Douglas & Marcella Klink House Dr. Leonard H. & Adele Morris House Robert & Carol White House Johnson M. & Blanche Nimlos House Richard & Ruth Lob House Edward M. & Anna Wagner House Val & Anna Schramka House Arthur E. & Hildegarde Trost House Arthur W. & Anna M. Friend House Max G. Jr. & Gertrude Belau House Walter H. & Anna Curtis House Arthur Z. & Lily Eberhardt House Adolph H. & Grace R. Weber House Frank G. & Emma Holbrook House Oscar J. & Helen Goelzer House Richard J. & Bertha Conell House Christian L. & Clara Schultz House Otto T. & Emma Paulson House Walter C. & Hilda Buenger House Jerre & Carole Allen House Harry E. & Blanche C. Roth House Michael J. Jr. & Eleanor K. Dunn House J. A. & Martha Bittner House Julius R. & Meta Hass House Roy L. & Florence King House H. A. & Lorraine M. Graf House Harry E. & Blanche Roth House

1970 1970 1952 1970 1941 1956 1940 1925 1925 1925 1926 1928 1926 1928 1926 1929 1928 1926 1928 1929 1929 1925 1931 1964 1928 1926 1929 1925 1951 1948 1940

NC NC C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C NC C C C C C C C

223

This page intentionally left blank.

224

Proposed Lake Crest Residential Historic District Narrative Description The Lake Crest Residential Historic District is a well-defined neighborhood of 397 buildings situated in the center of the Village of Whitefish Bay and has boundaries roughly delineated along Shoreland Avenue, Santa Monica Boulevard, Berkley Boulevard, Diversey Boulevard, Hollywood Avenue, and Idlewild Avenue from Silver Spring Drive to the north to Henry Clay Street to the South. The area of modestly sized homes began in 1926 and was developed and filled in over the next four decades. Representative of the prevailing architectural styles of their time, Colonial Revival and Tudor Revival style residences are prominent within the district. The topography of the area is relatively flat. The neighborhood has wide streets with parallel parking on both sides and concrete curbs and gutters; additionally, there is a grass median down the center of Santa Monica Boulevard separating the opposing driving lanes. The sidewalks are set apart from the streets curbs by a grass terrace with large mature trees lining the streets. At the intersections of Santa Monica Boulevard, Berkley Boulevard, Diversey Boulevard, Hollywood Avenue, and Idlewild Avenue on both Birch Avenue and Lexington Boulevard, the sidewalks are curved. The residences in the district generally respect a uniform setback from the street, with exception those at these rounded corners which form a curve. The small lots are typical of urban practice, conforming to the standard conventions of the plats block and lot configurations, with exception of those located at said curved corners. They are generally narrow, deep, and rectilinear in shape. Detached garages are located along alleys on all but one of the blocks within the district. These alleys mimic the curved corners behind the residences. On the block at which an alley is not provided, the detached garages are located to the rear of the lot and are accessed via long, narrow driveways. The district is comprised of the majority of Lake Crest Subdivision and Lake Crest Addition Subdivision; and portions of the Silver Spring Highlands Subdivision. These subdivisions were platted primarily during the late-1920s.494 The Lake Crest Development Company purchased the former Krych farm from John Mann and Richard Burke and platted Lake Crest in 1925. The original sale of lots in some of these subdivisions included provisions for solely single-family and dual-family residential use, minimum front set back, and minimum cost for houses constructed.495 Statement of Significance The Lake Crest Residential Historic District was identified for its concentration of single- and multi-family dwellings constructed between 1926 and 1962, having local significance under both National Register Criterion C for Architecture and National Register Criterion A for Community Planning and Development. The district is comprised of 392 contributing resources and 5 noncontributing resources. Utilizing the Wisconsin Historical Societys Cultural Resource Management in Wisconsin, additional research centered on evaluating the resources within the district utilizing the Period Revival styles subsections of the Architecture study unit of the aforementioned text. Individually, the contributing resources include fine representative

225

examples of several of the most popular styles applied to residential architecture in Wisconsin during the period of significance. Boundary Description The district consists of the legal parcels associated with the 392 contributing and 5 noncontributing properties within the district and may be defined by this general description: Beginning on the west curb line of Idlewild Avenue that corresponds to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 5421 N. Idlewild Avenue, continue west along south property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 5220 N. Shoreland Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 5578 N. Shoreland Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 5579 N. Hollywood Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said property to a point on the west curbline of Hollywood Avenue corresponding to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 5550 N. Hollywood Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northeast corner of said lot, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue southeast along the east property line of said lot to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 626 E. Birch Avenue, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said lot to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 5421 N. Idlewild Avenue. The boundary for the Lake Crest Residential Historic District is clearly delineated on the accompanying district map. The boundary encloses the area of 82 acres. Boundary Justification The boundaries of the Lake Crest Residential Historic District enclose all the areas historically associated with the districts resources. While adjacent areas are residential in nature, they do not maintain the historic integrity of the residences contained within the district boundaries nor do they refelcet the unique plat of this neighborhood. The result is a cohesive district with only a few non-contributing properties. Building Inventory The following inventory lists every building in the proposed district and includes the address of the property; the historic name; the date or circa date of construction; and the resources contributing (C), non-contributing (NC), or previously listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) class.
Address 5220 N. Berkley Boulevard 5221 N. Berkley Boulevard 5227 N. Berkley Boulevard 5228 N. Berkley Boulevard 5234 N. Berkley Boulevard Historic Name Clarence & Dagmar Sundermeyer House David A. Jr. & Francine Lazovik House Sam Patti House Edgar A. & Ethel Schroeder House Lydia Wollaeger House Date 1945 1976 1939 1928 1936 Class C NC C C C

226

5235 N. Berkley Boulevard 5241 N. Berkley Boulevard 5242 N. Berkley Boulevard 5247 N. Berkley Boulevard 5248 N. Berkley Boulevard 5254 N. Berkley Boulevard 5255 N. Berkley Boulevard 5262 N. Berkley Boulevard 5263 N. Berkley Boulevard 5277 N. Berkley Boulevard 5278 N. Berkley Boulevard 5320 N. Berkley Boulevard 5321 N. Berkley Boulevard 5326 N. Berkley Boulevard 5327 N. Berkley Boulevard 5332 N. Berkley Boulevard 5335 N. Berkley Boulevard 5340 N. Berkley Boulevard 5341 N. Berkley Boulevard 5346 N. Berkley Boulevard 5347 N. Berkley Boulevard 5352 N. Berkley Boulevard 5353 N. Berkley Boulevard 5359 N. Berkley Boulevard 5360 N. Berkley Boulevard 5400 N. Berkley Boulevard 5409 N. Berkley Boulevard 5410 N. Berkley Boulevard 5415 N. Berkley Boulevard 5418 N. Berkley Boulevard 5421 N. Berkley Boulevard 5427 N. Berkley Boulevard 5430 N. Berkley Boulevard 5435 N. Berkley Boulevard 5440 N. Berkley Boulevard 5443 N. Berkley Boulevard 5446 N. Berkley Boulevard 5451 N. Berkley Boulevard 5454 N. Berkley Boulevard 5457 N. Berkley Boulevard 5504 N. Berkley Boulevard 5505 N. Berkley Boulevard 5509 N. Berkley Boulevard 5510 N. Berkley Boulevard 5516 N. Berkley Boulevard 5517 N. Berkley Boulevard 5524 N. Berkley Boulevard 5525 N. Berkley Boulevard 5530 N. Berkley Boulevard 5531 N. Berkley Boulevard

Anthony J. & Cecelia M. Finke House Harold C. & Pearl A Byrne House Clayton J. & Alice Kemp House William B. & Thelma Kilb House Alvin & Anna Bilda House Sidney G. Larkin House Verner C. & Mary Starner House Archibald & Eleanore O'Connor House Harold C. & Marjorie P. Cheetham House Henry F. & Norma Ziese House Lawrence & Urn Funk House Frank J. & Jane J. Kelley House R. S. & Miriam Underhill House Franklin L. & Betty H. Orth House Max R. & Mildred H. Niederer House

Fred J. & Elvina L. Collins House George W. & Adelline B. Webster House William & Florence E. Wanvig House Edgar & Josephine H. Fuchs House Arthur J. & Agnes Whitcomb House A. F. & Mildred Vanselow House Clarence A. & Dorothy E. Westring House Albert & June W. Sielaff House Ishmaal & Freda Bratt House Verne F. & Ethel C. Hobbs House Joseph & Josephine & Riedy House John L. Fenney House Harvey Earl & Ida Hutton House Herbert M & Thora Schroeder House Dr. Wallace F. & Florence Huber James A. & Florence Cheverton House Sidney & Jessie Goldmann House Edward D. & Hazel Mishelow House I. W. & Lucille Unger House Frank A. & Alice D. Mack House M. H. Mortonson House Bernard & E. Nius House Jack Y. & Seema Waxman House Dr. Frederick J. & Juliarose Oswald House Chauncey L. & Margaret Smith House Lester & Margo Goldschmidt House W. M. & Viola H. Trost House Henry & Loretta Bierman House Herman Jr. & Madeline Bardele House L. Burton & Florence Jenson House John A. & Dorothy Frisch House Gustav Frey House

1937 1936 1949 1937 1947 1941 1936 1928 1928 1937 1935 1928 1941 1935 1935 1941 1930 1927 1935 1937 1930 1929 1928 1935 1935 1935 1935 1940 1929 1938 1928 1937 1932 1934 1941 1935 1940 1940 1939 1941 1947 1950 1933 1950 1935 1953 1933 1929 1928 1927

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

227

5536 N. Berkley Boulevard 5537 N. Berkley Boulevard 5542 N. Berkley Boulevard 5543 N. Berkley Boulevard 5546 N. Berkley Boulevard 5549 N. Berkley Boulevard 5552 N. Berkley Boulevard 5555 N. Berkley Boulevard 5558 N. Berkley Boulevard 5561 N. Berkley Boulevard 5566 N. Berkley Boulevard 5567 N. Berkley Boulevard 5572 N. Berkley Boulevard 5573 N. Berkley Boulevard 5578 N. Berkley Boulevard 5579 N. Berkley Boulevard 204 E. Birch Avenue 310 E. Birch Avenue 311 E. Birch Avenue 319 E. Birch Avenue 320 E. Birch Avenue 412 E. Birch Avenue 415 E. Birch Avenue 420 E. Birch Avenue 501 E. Birch Avenue 510 E. Birch Avenue 511 E. Birch Avenue 516 E. Birch Avenue 519 E. Birch Avenue 610 E. Birch Avenue 611 E. Birch Avenue 618 E. Birch Avenue 619 E. Birch Avenue 626 E. Birch Avenue 627 E. Birch Avenue 5220 N. Diversey Boulevard 5221 N. Diversey Boulevard 5228 N. Diversey Boulevard 5229 N. Diversey Boulevard 5234 N. Diversey Boulevard 5235 N. Diversey Boulevard 5241 N. Diversey Boulevard 5242 N. Diversey Boulevard 5249 N. Diversey Boulevard 5250 N. Diversey Boulevard 5255 N. Diversey Boulevard 5256 N. Diversey Boulevard 5261 N. Diversey Boulevard 5262 N. Diversey Boulevard 5267 N. Diversey Boulevard

I. F. & Adela Herbes House Charles W. & Eda Valentine House Charles G. & Grace S. Post House Herman & Clara Roth House Frank C. & Marie A. Haupt House Fred J. & Clara L. Reik House Alfred G. & Lillian S. Schulenberg House G. & Marion Willoughby House Lester W. & Alice E. Olson House Walter A. & Myrtle Kasper House Walter Schaller House James S. & Dora Oakley House Clifford & Bessie Bremer House Walter E. Andrews House Neef & Clara Warren House Robert F. & Audrey Sondel House Jerome J. & Cecelia Conway House Caroline Nickel House Alex S. & Selma Gonda House Matthew & Bess Finkler House Emil C. & Margaret E. Olsen House Dr. J. P. & Olga Justin House Howard J. & Caroline M. Martin House Joseph J. & Alice S. Donahue House Frank A. & Alice D. Mack House Louis L. & Bertha Besden House Howard M. & Loraine G. Schudson House

Lewis C. & Helene Wiederhold House Arthur C. & Margaret L. Otto House Alfred A. & Lydia A. Schmitt House William R. & Sylvia Duwe House Charles G. & Lena M. Matthias House Henry W. & Ruth Schultz House Donald P. & Nancy Hoffmann House Walter G. & Marjorie G. Muth House M. & Mildred P. Foster House David R. & Lillian Lepper House Barbara K. Beck House Mortimer J. & Eulane Thompson House Walter & Lilly Cooper House Joseph E. & Ouida Zwisler House Allen S. & Phyllis Zien House

1941 1935 1938 1928 1929 1937 1937 1931 1936 1929 1939 1948 1928 1939 1945 1948 1931 1945 1947 1929 1930 1942 1932 1932 1927 1930 1935 1939 1938 1929 1945 1929 1930 1941 1948 1928 1947 1935 1931 1931 1948 1928 1926 1927 1931 1939 1938 1929 1947 1950

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

228

5304 N. Diversey Boulevard 5305 N. Diversey Boulevard 5311 N. Diversey Boulevard 5312 N. Diversey Boulevard 5320 N. Diversey Boulevard 5321 N. Diversey Boulevard 5326 N. Diversey Boulevard 5327 N. Diversey Boulevard 5332 N. Diversey Boulevard 5335 N. Diversey Boulevard 5340 N. Diversey Boulevard 5341 N. Diversey Boulevard 5346 N. Diversey Boulevard 5347 N. Diversey Boulevard 5352 N. Diversey Boulevard 5353 N. Diversey Boulevard 5359 N. Diversey Boulevard 5360 N. Diversey Boulevard 5400 N. Diversey Boulevard 5401 N. Diversey Boulevard 5408 N. Diversey Boulevard 5409 N. Diversey Boulevard 5414 N. Diversey Boulevard 5415 N. Diversey Boulevard 5420 N. Diversey Boulevard 5423 N. Diversey Boulevard 5426 N. Diversey Boulevard 5431 N. Diversey Boulevard 5432 N. Diversey Boulevard 5435 N. Diversey Boulevard 5449 N. Diversey Boulevard 5504 N. Diversey Boulevard 5505 N. Diversey Boulevard 5518 N. Diversey Boulevard 5519 N. Diversey Boulevard 5524 N. Diversey Boulevard 5525 N. Diversey Boulevard 5530 N. Diversey Boulevard 5531 N. Diversey Boulevard 5536 N. Diversey Boulevard 5537 N. Diversey Boulevard 5542 N. Diversey Boulevard 5543 N. Diversey Boulevard 5548 N. Diversey Boulevard 5549 N. Diversey Boulevard 5554 N. Diversey Boulevard 5555 N. Diversey Boulevard 5560 N. Diversey Boulevard 5561 N. Diversey Boulevard 5566 N. Diversey Boulevard

H. & Elaine Bachman House Dr. G. H. & Alice Pugh House Herbert & Mildred Korth House Willard R. & Dorothy Hansen House John B. & Florence M. O'Brien House Thomas B. & Patricia Trump House Henry & Helen Turrie House Al J. & Esther Koch House Anton N. & Helen Johnson House J. R. & Gladys Shannon House Wilson A. & Gertrude C. Dallmann House Charles H. & Margaret Rose House Irwin A. & Clara E. McIntyre House Ralph H. & Elenora Petersen House Emil J. & Theresa Nelson House John S. & Jessie Wetzler House C. Justus & Jane Scheibel House Harold J. & Fern Clark Schaper House Edward & Irma Losse House Clarence W. & Edna E. Genske House Richard & Olga Johnson House Dr. Fred A. & Josephine Kretlow House Elmer J. & Alice Radmer House A. J. Braun House John G. & Irene H. Strachota House A. C. Adams House Osbert S. & Elizabeth Burke House Dr. Elmer C. & Gretchen M. Pinter House Frank A. & Anne Malloy House Mrs. Pauline Treis House LeRoy H. & Martha Brown House James L. & Imelda Crowley House Walter C. & Lucille Monroe House A. W. & Ethel F. Vogt House Edwind D. & Adele Hinton House Arthur L. & Ruby Redeen House Francis P. & Florence Reilly House K. E. & Lulu May Major House Marshall & Eleanor Bautz House Helen Toman House Edwin W. F. & Mary Jane Hanke House Anthony J. Jr. & Ruth Gahn House Peter F. & Christene Hansen House Ervin & Ethel Preuss House

1950 1933 1941 1930 1935 1928 1941 1935 1929 1930 1928 1927 1930 1937 1935 1931 1931 1932 1947 1936 1928 1928 1940 1947 1940 1947 1929 1936 1932 1931 1937 1932 1932 1928 1929 1941 1930 1931 1928 1931 1930 1931 1930 1931 1935 1941 1938 1951 1926 1941

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

229

5567 N. Diversey Boulevard 5572 N. Diversey Boulevard 5573 N. Diversey Boulevard 5578 N. Diversey Boulevard 5579 N. Diversey Boulevard 5220 N. Hollywood Avenue 5221 N. Hollywood Avenue 5226 N. Hollywood Avenue 5227 N. Hollywood Avenue 5232 N. Hollywood Avenue 5235 N. Hollywood Avenue 5240 N. Hollywood Avenue 5241 N. Hollywood Avenue 5247 N. Hollywood Avenue 5248 N. Hollywood Avenue 5254 N. Hollywood Avenue 5255 N. Hollywood Avenue 5261 N. Hollywood Avenue 5262 N. Hollywood Avenue 5277 N. Hollywood Avenue 5300 N. Hollywood Avenue 5301 N. Hollywood Avenue 5320 N. Hollywood Avenue 5321 N. Hollywood Avenue 5326 N. Hollywood Avenue 5327 N. Hollywood Avenue 5332 N. Hollywood Avenue 5335 N. Hollywood Avenue 5338 N. Hollywood Avenue 5341 N. Hollywood Avenue 5346 N. Hollywood Avenue 5347 N. Hollywood Avenue 5352 N. Hollywood Avenue 5353 N. Hollywood Avenue 5359 N. Hollywood Avenue 5360 N. Hollywood Avenue 5400 N. Hollywood Avenue 5401 N. Hollywood Avenue 5406 N. Hollywood Avenue 5409 N. Hollywood Avenue 5412 N. Hollywood Avenue 5415 N. Hollywood Avenue 5420 N. Hollywood Avenue 5421 N. Hollywood Avenue 5428 N. Hollywood Avenue 5429 N. Hollywood Avenue 5436 N. Hollywood Avenue 5437 N. Hollywood Avenue 5442 N. Hollywood Avenue 5445 N. Hollywood Avenue

Henry W. & Loretta Bierman House B. F. & Clare Otto House Rodney & Arlene Tutsch House James E. & Myrna Keene House Leonard Gordon & Naomi Cramer House D. W. Kissinger House William A. & Meta Priegnitz House Russell I. & Vesta Robinson House Walter J. & Adeline Rohn House Gordon Nelson House Elmer L. & Ida Stein House Jack & Alma P. Kremerer House N. I. Hilton House Charles Jackman House Joseph D. & Helen J. Berg House Eugene W. & Betty Hart House John A. & Edith M. Forrer House Glen Grover & Dorothy M. Holt House W. Robert & Catherine Hileman House Lawrence G. & Myrtle Richardson House William A. & Mary M. Nevin House O. E. Lindemann House A. M. & Bessie Baker House Martin G. Lucille Wolfram House Louis C. & Amelia Ehlhardt House William G. & Louise Harmon House Frederick W. & Leola Hartmann House Dr. William & Catherine Dohearty House Charles F. & Evelyn Stein House H. D. & Viola Wirth House Paul C. & Jeanne D. Winner House Charles E. Bertschy House James Arthur & Sarah C. Butler House Albert J. & Marie Kolaski House Fielding A. & Edna S. Utz House Almer & Leila T. Skretting House Rev. Paul E. & Ruth Bishop House Harold W. & Gladys M. Landwehr House Frank & Jeanne Culloden House Joseph C. Van Ess House Leon & Elizabeth Alberty House F. Fletcher Mulkey House William H. & Florence Ten Haken House Herman J. & Mary Baerwald House Jerome V. & Gertrude Howard House William F. & Violet Graebel House C. Albert & Esther Schaefer House Arthur C. & Alice Southcott House Paulene Krahl House Helen Gersch House

1945 1941 1949 1973 1945 1941 1928 1945 1929 1930 1938 1929 1930 1931 1928 1946 1929 1929 1931 1926 1948 1948 1932 1950 1928 1928 1945 1929 1948 1933 1928 1930 1927 1927 1938 1937 1931 1929 1941 1930 1927 1931 1935 1926 1946 1941 1949 1928 1941 1930

C C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

230

5448 N. Hollywood Avenue 5451 N. Hollywood Avenue 5508 N. Hollywood Avenue 5511 N. Hollywood Avenue 5514 N. Hollywood Avenue 5515 N. Hollywood Avenue 5519 N. Hollywood Avenue 5520 N. Hollywood Avenue 5525 N. Hollywood Avenue 5530 N. Hollywood Avenue 5531 N. Hollywood Avenue 5536 N. Hollywood Avenue 5537 N. Hollywood Avenue 5543 N. Hollywood Avenue 5549 N. Hollywood Avenue 5550 N. Hollywood Avenue 5555 N. Hollywood Avenue 5561 N. Hollywood Avenue 5567 N. Hollywood Avenue 5573 N. Hollywood Avenue 5579 N. Hollywood Avenue 5221 N. Idlewild Avenue 5227 N. Idlewild Avenue 5235 N. Idlewild Avenue 5241 N. Idlewild Avenue 5251 N. Idlewild Avenue 5257 N. Idlewild Avenue 5263 N. Idlewild Avenue 5269 N. Idlewild Avenue 5275 N. Idlewild Avenue 5311 N. Idlewild Avenue 5319 N. Idlewild Avenue 5327 N. Idlewild Avenue 5333 N. Idlewild Avenue 5341 N. Idlewild Avenue 5347 N. Idlewild Avenue 5353 N. Idlewild Avenue 5359 N. Idlewild Avenue 5401 N. Idlewild Avenue 5409 N. Idlewild Avenue 5415 N. Idlewild Avenue 5421 N. Idlewild Avenue 5427 N. Idlewild Avenue 5435 N. Idlewild Avenue 200 E. Lexington Boulevard 231 E. Lexington Boulevard 315 E. Lexington Boulevard 318 E. Lexington Boulevard 321 E. Lexington Boulevard 324 E. Lexington Boulevard

Jack & Brondell Schuminsky House S. H. & Alice Eckstein House Major M. L. & Alberta McCreary House Bernard & Olga Erdmann House Frederick W. & Winifred Spooner House C. C. & Minnie Raisbeck House Raymond P. & Lila Harris House Charles F. & Edith Donahue House Howard & Marie Moebius House Robert L. & Ethel S. Boerner House Walter A. & Margaret A. Butler House Vessie Boyd House William S. & Errica Schmidt House Mrs. J. Fred Jensen House A. N. Thomas House Carl Struwe House Walter & Gladys Weidler House L. Albert & Margaret Meyer House Minnie Jantzen House F. & Ann Berg House Alvin F. Clemens Sr. House H. R. & Dorathea Tavs House Henry D. & Ruth W. Allen House Leland & Sylvia Thorpe House Max M. & Anne Shapiro House Wayne & Miriam Trumpf House Walter E. & Hortense A. Peters House Robert H. & Nell Weaver House Dr. A. C. & Betty S. Cohn House Francis J. & Tekla Wissing House Floyd & Zelma Larkin House Earl G. & Hazel Lake House J. Laurenza Hinkens House K. G. & Rosetta Williams House Milton H. & Doris Rusch House Charles N. & Irma L. Christiansen House Rudolph F. & Geraline A. Forrer House Richardson E. & Winifred V. Browne House

O. K. & Ceal Johnson House John & Estelle Dobrushken House Martin & Lucille Scheeler House William & Lois Herndier House Milton E. & Violet Buschmann House

1947 1940 1936 1926 1927 1940 1948 1937 1948 1936 1935 1935 1945 1953 1937 1931 1928 1947 1929 1929 1948 1928 1929 1926 1926 1926 1945 1952 1937 1935 1950 1930 1970 1932 1938 1940 1950 1940 1931 1936 1928 1940 1939 1929 1941 1948 1950 1949 1935 1930

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

231

330 & 332 E. Lexington Boulevard 400 E. Lexington Boulevard 408 E. Lexington Boulevard 409 E. Lexington Boulevard 416 E. Lexington Boulevard 419 E. Lexington Boulevard 423 E. Lexington Boulevard 501 E. Lexington Boulevard 507 E. Lexington Boulevard 515 E. Lexington Boulevard 516 E. Lexington Boulevard 521 E. Lexington Boulevard 522 E. Lexington Boulevard 601 E. Lexington Boulevard 608 E. Lexington Boulevard 609 E. Lexington Boulevard 616 E. Lexington Boulevard 617 E. Lexington Boulevard 622 E. Lexington Boulevard 5521 Marlborough Drive 5220 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5221 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5226 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5229 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5237 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5238 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5240 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5243 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5246 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5251 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5252 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5259 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5260 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5265 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5266 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5271 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5274 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5303 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5304 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5311 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5312 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5317 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5318 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5324 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5325 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5332 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5333 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5339 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5340 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5346 N. Santa Monica Boulevard

Burt & Minnie Wulff Duplex H. & Dorothy Mitchell House

Rudloph & Dorothy Steller House Dr. L. C. & Ruth Wilkinson House Paul H. & Majorie Muenzberg House Dr. Theodore & Mary Mortonson House Roland J. & Norma Koehler House Edwin H. & Amanda L. Wenzel House Herbert R. & Irene B. Adams House Maurice H. & Ruth B. Cohen House Mrs. Fred W. Black House Denver W. & Lauretta Swanson House

Rexford S. & Mary Watson House Werner J. & Beulah Trimborn House Eric F. & Gertrude Hartert House Monroe & Edythe Morse House W. P. & Sylvia Speaker House Arthur R. & Betty Der Derian House John V. & Catherine Stevenson House Albert Jr. & Anita Topzant House Raymond A. & Catherine Hintz House William & Nancy Stotzer House John & Lyle Schmid House B. F. Fisher House August & Mary Cianciolo House Alice Oldenburg House Dr. Leonard L. & Ruth Gramm House John C. & Gertrude Stuesser House Frances Jackson House Harris K. & Estelle Evans House Thomas P. & Mayland Hunt House Jerold & Carolyn Ross House William R & Ann Jassoy House Dr. Frank E. & Irene Drew House R. A. & Bernadine Grimmer House Marion T. & Jane M. Fritz House Allen E. & Grace Olsen House Pauline Krahl House Edward J. & Cordelia L. Zeiler House Frank Tillman House

1926 1949 1931 1930 1941 1929 1930 1940 1930 1937 1962 1930 1931 1926 1941 1932 1931 1936 1930 1931 1949 1928 1936 1928 1941 1966 1939 1941 1929 1947 1961 1947 1929 1948 1931 1948 1929 1931 1949 1950 1971 1950 1935 1959 1937 1935 1940 1936 1938 1929

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C

232

5347 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5352 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5353 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5400 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5401 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5406 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5409 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5414 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5415 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5420 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5423 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5426 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5431 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5434 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5437 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5440 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5445 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5453 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5459 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5462 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5500 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5501 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5509 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5515 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5518 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5521 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5524 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5527 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5530 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5535 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5536 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5541 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5542 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5546 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5547 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5554 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5555 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5559 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5560 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5564 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5565 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5572 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5573 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5578 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5579 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5220 N. Shoreland Avenue 5226 N. Shoreland Avenue 5232 N. Shoreland Avenue 5238 N. Shoreland Avenue 5244 N. Shoreland Avenue

F. R. & Nellie Kluwin House John & Gertrude H. Blatz House John L. & Milida Defandorf House Charles L. & Florence R. Knab House Bernard A. & Frances M. Weideman House Dr. Howard J. & Dorothea Lee House R. A. & Arloene Wernecke House Roland A. & Virginia Darnieder House Arnold & Florence Brumm House Ben & Leah Jean Ulevich House Edwin O. & Hilda M. Martinson House Frank L. & Lillian Warsh House Fred C. & Mercedes Wienke House Emile E. & Cecile Gyss House Llyod & Florence Pitner House Max R. & Ruth G. Hoffman House Halsey & Anna Rapp House Frank A. & Alma Seifert House Harold S. & Janet Knowlton House M. P. & Beatrice Frank House Chester A. & Esther M. Cook House Norbert & Celia Gehl House Russell & Leda Stephens House Lillian Kraemer House John C. & Anna Bluhm House

Ewald B. & Almira Buscher House Joseph O. & Irene Hosch House Paul & Stella Braun House Earl T. & Catherine Netzow House Joseph A. & Ruby C. Wolf House Robert H. & Stella Minor House A. P. Melendy House Paul F. & Myrtle Netzow House W. W. & Margaret Belson House William A. & Anne Kornemann House Arthur & Esther Warshauer House Arthur J. & Margaret Goetsch House Ira & Adele Safer House Gilbert A. & Louise Lofye House Karl & Elizabeth E. Gimmler House Michael C. & Genevieve A. Frankard House

1941 1928 1936 1928 1938 1949 1935 1950 1948 1947 1948 1947 1949 1949 1929 1928 1928 1926 1928 1926 1947 1928 1945 1939 1929 1930 1928 1928 1935 1939 1938 1926 1932 1928 1936 1928 1940 1939 1931 1935 1926 1928 1928 1930 1951 1938 1936 1940 1939 1937

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

233

5250 N. Shoreland Avenue 5256 N. Shoreland Avenue 5262 N. Shoreland Avenue 5268 N. Shoreland Avenue 5274 N. Shoreland Avenue 5282 N. Shoreland Avenue 5308 N. Shoreland Avenue 5312 N. Shoreland Avenue 5318 N. Shoreland Avenue 5324 N. Shoreland Avenue 5330 N. Shoreland Avenue 5336 N. Shoreland Avenue 5342 N. Shoreland Avenue 5348 N. Shoreland Avenue 5354 N. Shoreland Avenue 5400 N. Shoreland Avenue 5406 N. Shoreland Avenue 5412 N. Shoreland Avenue 5418 N. Shoreland Avenue 5424 N. Shoreland Avenue 5430 N. Shoreland Avenue 5436 N. Shoreland Avenue 5440 N. Shoreland Avenue 5446 N. Shoreland Avenue 5454 N. Shoreland Avenue 5462 N. Shoreland Avenue 5506 N. Shoreland Avenue 5512 N. Shoreland Avenue 5516 N. Shoreland Avenue 5522 N. Shoreland Avenue 5528 N. Shoreland Avenue 5532 N. Shoreland Avenue 5536 N. Shoreland Avenue 5540 N. Shoreland Avenue 5546 N. Shoreland Avenue 5550 N. Shoreland Avenue 5554 N. Shoreland Avenue 5558 N. Shoreland Avenue 5566 N. Shoreland Avenue 5570 N. Shoreland Avenue 5574 N. Shoreland Avenue 5578 N. Shoreland Avenue

I. W. & Doris Schoeninger House Russell A. & Eleanor M. Pratt House F. W. Knoll House George & Florence G. Masek House Dr. Carl A. & Emma Rohrbach House John A. & Pauline Pawlowski House Harold C. Gerbath House Ella Barnett House Paul J. & Illa Beck House Chester & Virginia Hochschild House Joseph M. & Verona Wirth House Barbara Goll House Norbert W. & Lenore Hirschboeck House Niall R. & Lucille S. Schmidt House A. Gram & Gertrude Woodford House Irvin J. & Harriette A. Ott House A. W. & Edna Voss House Irvin J. & Harriett A. Ott House Benjamin G. & Margaret Getz House G. J. & Maryan Bergman House Dr. George C. & Elsie H. Janke House Joe N. & Marcella Lebow House Anton & Loretta Freihammer House Walter J. & Vera McGuire House A. E. & Eleanor Stensby House Joseph M. & Lorene Duero House

Charles J. Maier House Fred J. & Gertrude Seitz House Alfred H. & Gertrude Noll House Charles A. & Alma Pagnucco House Theo P. & Jean Otjen House Edwin N. & Gertrude Nelsen House Hans R. & Clara Gundersen House Dr. Arnold N. & Jane Elconin House Laura Weber House M. T. & Emma Fenisyn House Katherine Jones House

1936 1946 1940 1940 1937 1936 1935 1931 1935 1936 1931 1930 1936 1934 1937 1940 1940 1940 1938 1931 1935 1935 1935 1935 1937 1936 1938 1936 1932 1940 1941 1936 1935 1931 1937 1938 1938 1928 1957 1958 1940 1937

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

234

Proposed Lake Heights Residential Historic District Narrative Description The Lake Heights Residential Historic District is a well-defined cluster of 11 buildings situated in the northeast portion of the Village of Whitefish Bay and has boundaries roughly delineated along Monrovia Avenue from Lake Drive to the west and Lake Michigan to the east and Lake Drive Court. The area of large homes began in 1930 and was developed and filled in over the next three decades. Representative of the prevailing architectural styles of their time, Tudor Revival and Contemporary style residences are prominent within the district. The district is comprised of the majority of the Lake Heights Subdivision, platted in 1927. The original sale of lots in this subdivision included provisions for solely single-family residential use, minimum front set back, and minimum cost for houses construction as well as requiring houses be constructed of brick or stone masonry.496 Statement of Significance The Lake Heights Residential Historic District was identified for its concentration of singlefamily dwellings constructed between 1930 and 1958, having local significance under National Register Criterion C for Architecture. Utilizing the Wisconsin Historical Societys Cultural Resource Management in Wisconsin, additional research centered on evaluating the resources within the district utilizing the Period Revival styles subsections of the Architecture study unit of the aforementioned text. Individually, the contributing resources include fine representative examples of several of the most popular styles applied to residential architecture in Wisconsin during the period of significance. The district is comprised of 11 contributing resources with no non-contributing resources. Boundary Description The district consists of the legal parcels associated with the 11 contributing and 0 noncontributing properties within the district and may be defined by this general description: Beginning on the east curb line of Lake Drive that corresponds to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 6050 N. Lake Drive, continue north along west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 6100 N. Lake Drive, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northeast corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the east property line of the lot associated with 6115 N. Lake Drive Court to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 6129 N. Lake Drive Court, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to west shore of Lake Michigan at the northeast corner of the lot associated with 6130 N. Lake Drive Court, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the lakeshore to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 6052 N. Lake Drive Court, turn approximately 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 6050 N. Lake Drive.

235

The boundary for the Lake Heights Residential Historic District is clearly delineated on the accompanying district map. The boundary encloses the area of 9 acres. Boundary Justification The boundaries of the Lake Heights Residential Historic District enclose all the areas historically associated with the districts resources. While adjacent areas are residential in nature, they do not maintain the historic integrity of the residences contained within the district boundaries. The result is a cohesive district with as few non-contributing properties as possible. Building Inventory The following inventory lists every building in the proposed district and includes the address of the property; the historic name; the date or circa date of construction; and the resources contributing (C), non-contributing (NC), or previously listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) class.
Address 6050 N. Lake Drive 6100 N. Lake Drive 6052 N. Lake Drive Court 6100 N. Lake Drive Court 6101 N. Lake Drive Court 6110 N. Lake Drive Court 6115 N. Lake Drive Court 6120 N. Lake Drive Court 6129 N. Lake Drive Court 6130 N. Lake Drive Court 511 E. Monrovia Avenue Historic Name Dr. Ross & Mildred A. Weller House Dr. Abram Levine House H. R. & Florence Buckman John U. & Lyle Schmid House Joseph & Vera Zilber House Louis & Sadie Radin House Arthur L. & Clara Ebert House Julius & Beatrice Rubin House Rita Jane Goldmann House Edward E. & Lillian Kaminsky House Date 1930 1945 1957 1951 1948 1954 1949 1950 1949 1931 1958 Class C C C C C C C C C C C

236

Proposed Lake Woods & Ortonwood Triangle Residential Historic District Narrative Description The Lake Woods & Ortonwood Triangle Residential Historic District is a well-defined neighborhood of 162 buildings situated in the southeast portion of the Village of Whitefish Bay and has boundaries roughly delineated along Lake Drive from Fairmount Avenue to the north and Cumberland Boulevard to the south; Oakland Avenue from Lake Drive to the north and Hampton Road to the south; Cramer Street and Murray Avenue from Hampton Road to the north and the village limits to the south; Wilshire Road from Cramer Street to the north and Cumberland Boulevard to the south; and Frederick Avenue from Glendale Avenue to the north and the village limits to the south. The area of both modestly sized and large homes began in the 1890s and was substantially developed starting in 1920 and filled in over the next four decades. Representative of the prevailing architectural styles of their time, Colonial Revival, Tudor Revival, Mediterranean Revival, and Contemporary style residences are prominent within the district. Statement of Significance The Lake Woods & Ortonwood Triangle Residential Historic District is a well-defined neighborhood of 162 buildings situated in the southeast portion of the Village of Whitefish Bay and has boundaries roughly delineated along Lake Drive from Fairmount Avenue to the north and Cumberland Boulevard to the south; Oakland Avenue from Lake Drive to the north and Hampton Road to the south; Cramer Street and Murray Avenue from Hampton Road to the north and the village limits to the south; Wilshire Road from Cramer Street to the north and Cumberland Boulevard to the south; and Frederick Avenue from Glendale Avenue to the north and the village limits to the south. The area of both modestly sized and large homes began in the 1890s and was substantially developed starting in 1920 and filled in over the next four decades. Representative of the prevailing architectural styles of their time, Colonial Revival, Tudor Revival, Mediterranean Revival, and Contemporary style residences are prominent within the district. The district is comprised of the entirety of the Ortonwood Triangle Subdivision; the majority of Reinhold, Matthieson & Reinharts Lake Woods Subdivision, Lake Woods Subdivision No. 2, Lake Woods Subdivision No. 3, and Lake Woods Subdivision No. 4; and portions of Whitefish Bay Heights Subdivision and Assessors Plat #250. The first of these subdivisions were platted in the early 1890s with the remainder of the district platted in the early twentieth century. Lake Woods was platted in 1890, Whitefish Bay Heights platted by A. F. Nussbaumer by 1893, Ortonwood Triangle by Edgar Baume in 1921, and Lake Woods No. 3 and No.4, both resubdivisions of Lake Woods, in 1928. Assessors Plat #250, platted 1939, is the re-subdivision of Reinhold, Matthieson & Reinharts Lake Woods Park Subdivision, platted in 1893 and vacated in 1895.497 The original sale of lots in the Lake Woods Subdivisions included provisions prohibiting commercial uses for twenty years, requiring a minimum front set back, and establishing the minimum cost for houses constructed. Additionally, buildings constructed in Lake Woods No. 4 were required to be two-stories tall and for residential use only.498

237

Boundary Description The district consists of the legal parcels associated with the 6 previously listed, 157 contributing, and 5 non-contributing properties within the district and may be defined by this general description: Beginning on the west curb line of Frederick Avenue that corresponds to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 4515 N. Frederick Avenue, continue west along south property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 4513 N. Cramer Street, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to a point on the north curbline of Hampton Road corresponding to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 4789 N. Cramer Street, turn 90 degrees and continue along the south property line of the lot associated with 1810 E. Hampton Road to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 1728 E. Hampton Road, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associatd with 4929 N. Lake Drive, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue northwest along the west property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 4965 N. Lake Drive, turn approximately 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot the the northwest corner of the lot associate with 4973 N. Lake Drive, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue southeast along the west curbline of Lake Drive to the east corner of the lot associated with 4677 N. Lake Drive, turn 90 degrees and continue southwest along the southeast property line of said lot the the south corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue southeast along the northeast property line of the lot associated with 4666 N. Wilshire Road to the east corner of the lot associated with 4656 N. Wilshire Road, turn 90 degrees and continue southwest along the southeast property line of said lot to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 2034 E. Glendale Avenue, turn approximately 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said lot to a point on the south curb line of Glendale Avenue corresponding to the southeast corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the south curb line of Glendale Avenue to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 2101 E. Glendale Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property lines of said lot to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 4524 N. Frederick Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of said lot to a point on the west curb line of Frederick Avenue corresponding to the southwest corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of 4515 N. Frederick Avenue to the southeast corner of said lot. The boundary for the Lake Woods & Ortonwood Triangle Residential Historic District is clearly delineated on the accompanying district map. The boundary encloses the area of 49 acres. Boundary Justification The boundaries of the Lake Woods & Ortonwood Triangle Residential Historic District enclose all the areas historically associated with the districts resources. While adjacent areas are residential in nature, they do not maintain the historic integrity of the residences contained within the district boundaries. The result is a cohesive district with as few non-contributing properties as possible.

238

Building Inventory The following inventory lists every building in the proposed district and includes the address of the property; the historic name; the date or circa date of construction; and the resources contributing (C), non-contributing (NC), or previously listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) class.
Address 4512 N. Cramer Street 4513 N. Cramer Street 4520 N. Cramer Street 4521 N. Cramer Street 4524 N. Cramer Street 4525 N. Cramer Street 4529 N. Cramer Street 4530 N. Cramer Street 4534 N. Cramer Street 4535 N. Cramer Street 4540 N. Cramer Street 4541 N. Cramer Street 4600 N. Cramer Street 4606 N. Cramer Street 4607 N. Cramer Street 4613 N. Cramer Street 4614 N. Cramer Street 4619 N. Cramer Street 4625 N. Cramer Street 4626 N. Cramer Street 4633 N. Cramer Street 4634 N. Cramer Street 4645 N. Cramer Street 4709 N. Cramer Street 4715 N. Cramer Street 4720 N. Cramer Street 4723 N. Cramer Street 4730 N. Cramer Street 4731 N. Cramer Street 4739 N. Cramer Street 4743 N. Cramer Street 4749 N. Cramer Street 4757 N. Cramer Street 4765 N. Cramer Street 4773 N. Cramer Street 4778 N. Cramer Street 4781 N. Cramer Street 4786 N. Cramer Street 4789 N. Cramer Street 4792 N. Cramer Street 4795 N. Cramer Street 1820 E. Cumberland Boulevard Historic Name Henry L. & Eleanor L. Arnold House Charles S. & Carol Middleman House Aleda Nickel House Rufus E. & Lois Arndt House Frank F. & Lydia Callath House M. Clark & Edythe Wakefield House Jennings & Pearl A. Murphy House T. D. & Dorothea G. Montgomery House Edwin I. & Rose Goodman House Harrison C. & Leah S. Hardie House Norbert & Martha G. Klein House George L. & Carol R. Anderson House Richard S. & Julia Caldwell House Date 1948 1924 1928 1932 1925 1928 1951 1928 1927 1947 1925 1926 1925 1928 1924 1983 1931 1925 1936 1939 1925 1955 1927 1927 1936 1930 1929 1947 1948 1939 1949 1936 1929 1952 1931 1950 1931 1953 1939 1941 1940 1952 Class C C C C NRHP C C C C C NRHP C NRHP C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

Samuel & Rose Rosenberg House Harry E. & Ann S. Stanz House Llyod L. & Jessie Cook House George & Margaret Landis House Milton & Nancy Bass House Olaf T. Rove House F. W. & Harriet Luening House Victor & Jennie Reckmeyer House Augusta F. Heyer House Carl & Florence Mahnke House Maurice & Nell Weinstein House Dr. B Urdan House William F. Jr. & Virginia Kachel House Dr. Michael W. & Louise Shutkin House Armin & Frieda Finger House Dr. Leo M. & Gertrude Boxer House Edward J. & Mary Cunningham House R. Walter & Janice Gross House Norman & Natalie Soref House LeRoy & Stella Segall House Clarence & Beatrice Veit House Alfred A. & Gertrude Lienemann House

239

1825 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1901 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1908 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1924 E. Cumberland Boulevard 2011 E. Cumberland Boulevard 2055 E. Cumberland Boulevard 4515 N. Frederick Avenue 4517 N. Frederick Avenue 4524 N. Frederick Avenue 4525 N. Frederick Avenue 4530 N. Frederick Avenue 4531 N. Frederick Avenue 1824 E. Glendale Avenue 1915 E. Glendale Avenue 1916 E. Glendale Avenue 1925 E. Glendale Avenue 2012 E. Glendale Avenue 2015 E. Glendale Avenue 2020 E. Glendale Avenue 2023 E. Glendale Avenue 2033 E. Glendale Avenue 2034 E. Glendale Avenue 2101 E. Glendale Avenue 1728 E. Hampton Road 1800 E. Hampton Road 1810 E. Hampton Road 1820 E. Hampton Road 1830 E. Hampton Road 1951 E. Hampton Road 4677 N. Lake Drive 4681 N. Lake Drive 4687 N. Lake Drive 4701 N. Lake Drive 4711 N. Lake Drive 4731 N. Lake Drive 4739 N. Lake Drive 4747 N. Lake Drive 4755 N. Lake Drive 4767 N. Lake Drive 4777 N. Lake Drive 4785 N. Lake Drive 4811 N. Lake Drive 4819 N. Lake Drive 4827 N. Lake Drive 4837 N. Lake Drive 4845 N. Lake Drive 4853 N. Lake Drive 4863 N. Lake Drive 4875 N. Lake Drive 4885 N. Lake Drive

J. H. & Belle Berke House Andrew R. & Irene W. Meyers House John E. & Gertrude E. Schroeder House

Irving C. & Arline Buntman House August John & Martha Kaestner House Morris & Selma Fromkin House C. T. & Emily Kern House Paul G. & Marie L. Boemer House Oscar & Winogene Kirchner House Bertram A. & Hetwig Miller House William & Meta Van Altena House Carrie Gebhardt House Ferdinand & Amanda Schmidt House Jeanne Dubort House Fred W. & Catharine Raber House Herbert & Mildred Pritzlaff House Carl A. & Rose F. Houlton House Edward H. & Frances Borgelt House Gustave Jr. & Elizabeth Kletsch House George E. & Meta Ballhorn House Julius H. & Emilie Gugler House George H. & Susanne H. Salentine House Morris J. & Esta Okrent House Earl J. & Zelda McBradney House Fred & Jean Arko House Andrew J. Hoetzl House Dr. Earle J. & Fern Rotter House Dr. M. J.& Esther Ansfield House Dr. Sidney & Rae Boxer House Don & Gae Gottschalk House Dr. Joseph & Sally Himes House Dr. Lawrence & Charlotte Kaufman House Benjamin & Aimee Poss House James & B. Louise Sullivan House Irving & Elsa M. Heller House James J. McClymount House Max W. & Rose B. Nohl House Chester & Mabel Moody House George & Margaret Schueller House Frank S. & Jessie Boardman House Dr. Lee A. & Elizabeth Wandell House Charles E. & Dorothy Inbusch House W. M. & Ella Thompson House

1940 1947 1928 1930 1939 1951 1966 1925 1941 1924 1937 1929 1926 1937 1925 1949 1927 1931 1923 1929 1926 1937 1940 1925 1927 1924 1924 1927 1951 1952 1951 1936 1952 1950 1952 1951 1951 1958 1923 1948 1948 1930 1927 1927 1926 1925 1925 1925 1930 1937

C C C C C C NC C C C C C C C NRHP C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C

240

4901 N. Lake Drive 4929 N. Lake Drive 4945 N. Lake Drive 4951 N. Lake Drive 4955 N. Lake Drive 4959 N. Lake Drive 4965 N. Lake Drive 4973 N. Lake Drive 4513 N. Murray Avenue 4514 N. Murray Avenue 4517 N. Murray Avenue 4520 N. Murray Avenue 4523 N. Murray Avenue 4524 N. Murray Avenue 4529 N. Murray Avenue 4530 N. Murray Avenue 4533 N. Murray Avenue 4601 N. Murray Avenue 4604 N. Murray Avenue 4607 N. Murray Avenue 4614 N. Murray Avenue 4615 N. Murray Avenue 4621 N. Murray Avenue 4622 N. Murray Avenue 4628 & 4630 N. Murray Avenue 4629 N. Murray Avenue 4636 N. Murray Avenue 4637 N. Murray Avenue 4645 N. Murray Avenue 4655 N. Murray Avenue 4811 N. Oakland Avenue 4817 N. Oakland Avenue 4820 N. Oakland Avenue 4823 N. Oakland Avenue 4829 & 4831 N. Oakland Avenue 4830 N. Oakland Avenue 4835 & 4837 N. Oakland Avenue 4840 N. Oakland Avenue 4841 N. Oakland Avenue 4849 N. Oakland Avenue 4850 N. Oakland Avenue 4857 N. Oakland Avenue 4860 N. Oakland Avenue 4870 N. Oakland Avenue 4873 N. Oakland Avenue 4901 N. Oakland Avenue 4915 & 4917 N. Oakland Avenue 4925 N. Oakland Avenue 4655 N. Wilshire Road 4656 N. Wilshire Road

Richard Smith & Henrietta L. Davis House John F. & Muril Pyle House Muriel Treis House Ernest J. Kaestner House George S. & Charlotte Wolcott House Curt & Sally Williams House Richard D. & Agetha R. Harvey House Frank L. & Nelliw M. White House Frank W. & Lauretta M. Ladky House Robe & Gertrude Bird House H. D. & Elsie Werwath House M. E. & Hazel Maurer House Raymond L. & Ruth T. Maas House Dr. Clayton F. & Freda M. Wermuth House Harry W. & Helen M. Bogner House John C. & Amy W. Davis House B. G. Van Devan House Fred O. & Viola Mueller House J. M. & Ann K. Aldrich House

Irving Leonard & Elsie M. Heller House Paul Frederick & Mable Lee Brand House John W. & Beslu Koch Duplex Dr. William K. & Peggy Hoffman House Arthur J. & Della G. Hamel House Adolph & Margaret Lotter House Hugh B. & Hattie J. Poppe House Clarence M. & Ruth W. Breslauer House Louis L. & Jewel K. Fichaux House

Dr. Anthony J. & Catherine Koch House Peter & Sophia Mischler Duplex John N. & Elizabeth Meyer Duplex Ernest E. & Myrtle A. Beauvais House Edwin H. & Gertrude E. Eckstein House Ruth & Doris Morter House Dr. Edward J. Schleif House Russell Barr & Nola Mae Williamson House William & Olive M. Gundlach House Herman C. Beverung House Alexander & Ruth Shmitt House Bert & Mary Keenan Duplex Fred C. & Virginia Doepke House G. H. & Margaret Hunkel House

1926 1932 1932 1929 1929 1965 1929 1928 1927 1927 1928 1950 1929 1927 1924 1927 1928 1924 1928 1928 1930 1924 1927 1951 1927 1959 1927 1927 1928 1925 1925 1924 1930 1936 1925 1923 1925 1936 1937 1941 1920 1923 1921 1928 c. 1895 1948 1927 1924 1940 1953

C C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C NRHP C C C C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

241

4666 N. Wilshire Road 4667 N. Wilshire Road 4676 N. Wilshire Road 4677 N. Wilshire Road 4684 N. Wilshire Road 4685 N. Wilshire Road 4706 N. Wilshire Road 4707 N. Wilshire Road 4716 N. Wilshire Road 4724 N. Wilshire Road 4725 N. Wilshire Road 4732 N. Wilshire Road 4737 N. Wilshire Road 4742 N. Wilshire Road 4745 N. Wilshire Road 4748 N. Wilshire Road 4753 N. Wilshire Road 4756 N. Wilshire Road 4762 N. Wilshire Road 4770 N. Wilshire Road

George G. & Charlotte Schneider House Albert F. & Elizabeth W. Gallun House Wyeth & Lillian C. Allen House Walter & Meta Hoffmann House Erna Schweitzer House Herman & Anna Laabs House Melvin W. & Marion Andres House Whitney J. & Anna M. Eastman House E. A. & Anita Weschler House Edward Franz & Erna M. Pritzlaff House Bernard V. & Amybelle M. Brady House Dr. R. W. Roethke House Benjamin & Anna Rosenberg House Dr. H. E. & Vera Lando House Ben J. & Norma Kraft House Markus & Rose Shapiro House Mayer & Sally Hiken House

1952 1937 1949 1929 1930 1954 1928 1927 1929 1929 1925 1936 1930 1930 1949 1923 1951 1949 1949 1948

C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

242

Proposed Lawndale Residential Historic District Narrative Description The Lawndale Residential Historic District is a well-defined neighborhood of 176 buildings situated in the center of the Village of Whitefish Bay and has boundaries roughly delineated along Day, Carlisle, Lake View, and Beaumont Avenues from Lake Drive on the west to Shore Drive on the east and Shore Drive from Day Avenue on the north to Silver Spring Drive on the south. The area of both small and modestly sized homes began in the early-1890s and was developed and filled in over the next six decades. Representative of the prevailing architectural styles of their time, Colonial Revival, Tudor Revival, Queen Anne, Dutch Colonial, and Contemporary style residences are prominent within the district. The district is comprised of the majority of the Lawndale Subdivision, Continuation of Lawndale Subdivision, and North Lawndale Subdivision. The district was primarily platted in the late nineteenth century by Acme Realty Company, with Lawndale being platted in 1888 and its continuation in 1891; North Lawndale was platted soon thereafter.499 To spur interest in the development, Acme Realty Company officers constructed houses of their own in the district in 1892, including the companys president, L. L. Disbro, and secretary, C. Robert Gether. A portion of Lake Drive, along the bluff north of Silver Spring Drive, was vacated in 1895 with that portion of Lawndale being re-subdivided.500 Statement of Significance The Lawndale Residential Historic District was identified for its concentration of single- and multi-family dwellings constructed between approximately 1892 and 1951, having local significance under National Register Criterion C for Architecture. Utilizing the Wisconsin Historical Societys Cultural Resource Management in Wisconsin, additional research centered on evaluating the resources within the district utilizing the Period Revival styles subsections of the Architecture study unit of the aforementioned text. Individually, the contributing resources include fine representative examples of several of the most popular styles applied to residential architecture in Wisconsin during the period of significance. The district is comprised of 1 building previously listed on the National Register of Historic Places, 169 contributing resources, and 6 non-contributing resources. Boundary Description The district consists of the legal parcels associated with the 1 previously listed, 169 contributing, and 6 non-contributing properties within the district and may be defined by this general description: Beginning on the south curb line of Belle Avenue that corresponds to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 5866 N. Lake Drive, continue east along north property line of said lot to the west shore of Lake Michigan at the northeast corner of the lot associated with 5866 N. Shore Drive, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue southeast along the lakeshore to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 5626 N. Shore Drive, turn approximately 45 degrees and

243

continue west along the south property line of said lot to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 5616 N. Shore Drive, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said lot to the southeast corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of said lot to a point on the west curb line of Shore Drive that corresponds to the southwest corner of said lot, turn approximately 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of the lot associated with 5601 N. Shore Drive to the southeast corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of said lot to the southwest corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of the lot associated with 5625 N. Shore Drive to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 5630 N. Lake Drive, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue northwest along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 600 E. Beaumont Avenue, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northeast corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of the lot associated with 606 E. Beaumont Avenue to the northwest corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of the lot associated with 615 E. Lake View Avenue to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 5688 N. Lake Drive, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of said lot, continue north along the west property line of the lot associated with 604 E. Lake View Avenue to the northwest corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of the lot associated with 523 E. Carlisle Avenue to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 515 E. Carlisle Avenue, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 507 E. Day Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to a point on the south curb line of Day Avenue corresponding to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 506 E. Day Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 5827 N. Maitland Court, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 5866 N. Lake Drive, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of said lot to the southwest corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue north on the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of said lot. The boundary for the Lawndale Residential Historic District is clearly delineated on the accompanying district map. The boundary encloses the area of 56 acres. Boundary Justification The boundaries of the Lawndale Residential Historic District enclose all the areas historically associated with the districts resources. While adjacent areas are residential in nature, they do not maintain the historic integrity of the residences contained within the district boundaries. The result is a cohesive district with as few non-contributing properties as possible.

244

Building Inventory The following inventory lists every building in the proposed district and includes the address of the property; the historic name; the date or circa date of construction; and the resources contributing (C), non-contributing (NC), or previously listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) class.
Address 600 E. Beaumont Avenue 606 E. Beaumont Avenue 614 E. Beaumont Avenue 615 E. Beaumont Avenue 620 E. Beaumont Avenue 621 E. Beaumont Avenue 624 E. Beaumont Avenue 629 E. Beaumont Avenue 630 E. Beaumont Avenue 633 E. Beaumont Avenue 634 E. Beaumont Avenue 701 E. Beaumont Avenue 702 E. Beaumont Avenue 707 E. Beaumont Avenue 708 E. Beaumont Avenue 714 E. Beaumont Avenue 715 E. Beaumont Avenue 720 E. Beaumont Avenue 721 E. Beaumont Avenue 726 E. Beaumont Avenue 727 E. Beaumont Avenue 733 E. Beaumont Avenue 734 E. Beaumont Avenue 739 E. Beaumont Avenue 740 E. Beaumont Avenue 745 E. Beaumont Avenue 746 E. Beaumont Avenue 749 E. Beaumont Avenue 805 E. Beaumont Avenue 808 E. Beaumont Avenue 813 E. Beaumont Avenue 819 E. Beaumont Avenue 521 E. Belle Avenue 607 E. Belle Avenue 500 E. Carlisle Avenue 510 E. Carlisle Avenue 515 E. Carlisle Avenue 516 E. Carlisle Avenue 523 E. Carlisle Avenue 524 E. Carlisle Avenue 530 E. Carlisle Avenue 531 E. Carlisle Avenue Historic Name Hampton & Ruth Randolph House Lee E. & Anna Steiner House Howard F. & Julia Haupt House John E. & Katherine B. Schuster House Margaret Dondero House Frank N. & Jessie Hansen House E. A. & Eva Kops House Joseph & Victoria Kaczmarksi House Vernon G. & Audrey Brettman House Emil Matqushek House Halfdan E. & Geneva Pedersen House John J. & Elaine H. Lynch House Richard G. & Virginia Wells House Louis & Manila Best House Charles E. & Pauline Johnson House Nathan H. & Edith Eppstein House Forrest W. & Henrietta Trumpf House Sadie Olson House William F. & Anna C. Host House George W. & Ann Kappes House Horace W. & Marion Hatch House Edward W. & Jesse Moore House John S. & Alma C. Shepherd House Herbert E. & Mary C. Mason House Ray F. & Catherine Kieft House John C. & Marie Backman House McNeil House J. C. & Ilse Tills House John N. & Helen Neusworth House S. Lacy & Edna Crolius House Dr. J. E. & Dolores Gruender House Oscar L. & Grace Nielson House Gerald W. & Ruth E. Bingen House Dr. F. J. & Margaret Zachman House Albert L. & Frieda Mayenshein House Charles P. Huntington House Margaret S. Kenney House Date 1941 1937 1926 1928 1954 1925 1929 1926 1928 1923 1928 1946 < 1922 1946 1925 1925 1938 1926 1939 1926 1935 1933 1925 1925 c. 1912 1931 1928 1928 1929 1928 c. 1904 1935 1928 1928 1951 1926 1939 1926 1947 1926 1924 1926 Status C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C NRHP C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

245

600 E. Carlisle Avenue 601 E. Carlisle Avenue 608 E. Carlisle Avenue 613 E. Carlisle Avenue 616 E. Carlisle Avenue 621 E. Carlisle Avenue 622 E. Carlisle Avenue 627 E. Carlisle Avenue 632 E. Carlisle Avenue 633 E. Carlisle Avenue 637 E. Carlisle Avenue 640 E. Carlisle Avenue 701 E. Carlisle Avenue 704 E. Carlisle Avenue 709 E. Carlisle Avenue 710 E. Carlisle Avenue 716 E. Carlisle Avenue 717 E. Carlisle Avenue 721 E. Carlisle Avenue 722 E. Carlisle Avenue 730 E. Carlisle Avenue 506 E. Day Avenue 507 E. Day Avenue 513 E. Day Avenue 516 E. Day Avenue 524 E. Day Avenue 531 E. Day Avenue 608 E. Day Avenue 615 E. Day Avenue 616 E. Day Avenue 624 E. Day Avenue 629 E. Day Avenue 639 E. Day Avenue 700 E. Day Avenue 708 E. Day Avenue 711 E. Day Avenue 716 E. Day Avenue 717 E. Day Avenue 723 E. Day Avenue 726 E. Day Avenue 732 E. Day Avenue 738 E. Day Avenue 740 E. Day Avenue 746 E. Day Avenue 752 E. Day Avenue 5630 N. Lake Drive 5688 N. Lake Drive 5724 N. Lake Drive 5866 N. Lake Drive 604 E. Lake View Avenue

Herman P. & Viola Hoffman House Richard E. & Alyx Boehck House S. H. & Phyllis Rhue House Hugo J. & Rose B. Kroetz House Walter J. & Gladys K. Hoffman House Harold Baumgarten House Roy J. & Mary D. Giddings House Edwin & Dora Liepert House Archie H. Macdonald House Edward P. Altemeier House Gary & Carol Gottschalk House Herbert L. & Irene Schultz House Edward J. & Hazel Deguenther House J. E. & Phyllis Ellsworth House Sidney & Phyllis Slocum House Henry C. & Mattie Hettelsater House Leslie & Hilma Oldham House Edward J. & Cornelia A. Froncek House John T. & Genevieve Kenny House David A. & Louise Inez Fox House Dr. J. E. Habbe House Emma F. Barlow House

Robert McAllister House L. L. Disbro House Clarence & Cora Powers House Otto J. & Irene M. Hoff House A. Cressy Morrison House Edward R. & Silvia Droppers House Alonzo Fowle House Woernecke House Benjamin A. Keikhofer House Maria Gether House H. K. & Alice Curtis House Miner R. & Margaret Rosman House Herbert Kinne House Paul E. & Kathryn Frank House Frank W. Baltes House C. Robert Gether House H. Stanley & Anna Geddes House Glendale Realty Company Cottage Robert A. Viall House James J. Perkins House James R. Gregg House Dr. Edwin B. & Florence Gute House Dr. Bruno Warschauer House Frank & Lucy Droessel House Hugh Gregg House

1925 1925 1926 1925 1928 1924 1926 1925 1924 1930 1994 1928 1928 1927 1947 1928 1928 1929 1926 1928 1930 c. 1896 c. 1921 c. 1922 1923 c. 1892 c. 1893 1927 c. 1897 1951 c. 1892 c. 1916 1922 1924 c. 1892 1926 c. 1892 1959 c. 1893 c. 1892 1925 c. 1890 c. 1922 c. 1896 < 1895 1927 1928 1925 1942 < 1900

C C C C C C C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C

246

609 & 611 E. Lake View Avenue 610 E. Lake View Avenue 615 E. Lake View Avenue 616 E. Lake View Avenue 621 E. Lake View Avenue 622 E. Lake View Avenue 632 E. Lake View Avenue 633 E. Lake View Avenue 638 E. Lake View Avenue 639 E. Lake View Avenue 642 E. Lake View Avenue 645 E. Lake View Avenue 649 E. Lake View Avenue 700 E. Lake View Avenue 703 E. Lake View Avenue 708 E. Lake View Avenue 711 E. Lake View Avenue 714 E. Lake View Avenue 717 E. Lake View Avenue 722 E. Lake View Avenue 725 E. Lake View Avenue 731 E. Lake View Avenue 734 E. Lake View Avenue 739 E. Lake View Avenue 745 E. Lake View Avenue 749 E. Lake View Avenue 801 E. Lake View Avenue 808 E. Lake View Avenue 5800 N. Maitland Court 5818 N. Maitland Court 5826 N. Maitland Court 5827 N. Maitland Court 5834 N. Maitland Court 5835 N. Maitland Court 5842 N. Maitland Court 5843 N. Maitland Court 5850 N. Maitland Court 5851 N. Maitland Court 5858 N. Maitland Court 5859 N. Maitland Court 5601 N. Shore Drive 5616 N. Shore Drive 5625 N. Shore Drive 5626 N. Shore Drive 5635 N. Shore Drive 5640 N. Shore Drive 5646 N. Shore Drive 5650 N. Shore Drive 5655 N. Shore Drive 5656 N. Shore Drive

Arthur & Lottie Magidson House Charles H. & Gertrude Frensz House Dr. Henry P. & Rosina Hoehl House A. C. & Goody C. Marggraff House Phelps & Martha A. Wyman House Reinhold C. & Irene Diekelman House F. F. & Edith Johnson House Robert & Natalie Kritzik House Paul & Mary Jo Launer House Walter A. & Maxine M. Ziegler House Charles E. & Vern Kasten House Robert H. & Jane R. O'Keef House George S. & Mary Hulda Bones House Irwin C. & Elizabeth Wehmeyer House Ralph S. & Frances I. Walter House Dr. Edmund & Katherine Mensing House Kenton H. Jr. & Dorothy Clarke House Richard C. & Johanna Bateman House Leon C. & Ruth Schwab House Phillip & Lillian P. Kurman House E. Heath & Ruth Towne House

Galus Isenring House Charles Alvin & Ruth Jones House Dr. H. F. Wolters House Clarence & Elizabeth Gollusch House Micholson House M. W. & Cornelia Sheldon House A. Wade & Gertrude Leavens House William D. & Helen R. Hobbins House Irwin & Barbara Rice House Edwin Schmidt House Ralph H. & Myfanwy J. Cahill House Irvin & Pearl Oesterreich House Robert H. & Nell Weaver House Ralph S. & Leona Roussy House A. Addison & Martha Wakeford House Gerald B. & Genevieve C. Athey House Joel & Susan Lee House

Horace V. & Mercedes Ballam House

1927 1951 1936 1930 1928 1928 1929 1928 1926 1951 2006 1927 1926 c. 1915 1946 1926 1931 1925 1926 1927 1926 1926 1950 1923 c. 1918 1950 c. 1910 c. 1870 1927 1930 1926 1941 1928 1927 1927 1950 1927 1927 1930 1929 1941 1947 1936 1939 1937 1939 1973 1939 1939 1950

C C C C C C C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C NC C C C

247

5664 N. Shore Drive 5674 N. Shore Drive 5684 N. Shore Drive 5685 N. Shore Drive 5715 N. Shore Drive 5722 N. Shore Drive 5723 N. Shore Drive 5731 N. Shore Drive 5738 N. Shore Drive 5754 N. Shore Drive 5761 N. Shore Drive 5762 N. Shore Drive 5770 N. Shore Drive 5773 N. Shore Drive 5776 N. Shore Drive 5818 N. Shore Drive 5819 N. Shore Drive 5822 N. Shore Drive 5827 N. Shore Drive 5830 N. Shore Drive 5834 N. Shore Drive 5835 N. Shore Drive 5836 N. Shore Drive 5838 N. Shore Drive 5841 N. Shore Drive 5842 N. Shore Drive 5846 N. Shore Drive 5848 N. Shore Drive 5850 & 5852 N. Shore Drive 5851 N. Shore Drive 5859 N. Shore Drive 5862 N. Shore Drive 5866 N. Shore Drive 5867 N. Shore Drive

Clare H. Hall House Dr. Dexter H. & Margaret Witte House Henry S. & Margaret Wright House Howard J. & Viviane Beck House William G. & Elizabeth Pierce House Byron & Dorothy Heinemann House House Gerhard H. & Marjorie Kopmeier House W. Hackett Jr. & Bernice Emory House John G. Patterson House Petrofff & Margaret Slaby House Paul Stover House F. H. Miller House Max R. & Emma Schade House Arthur & Arline O'Conner House William G. & Louise G. Martin House Ignatz & Hilda Wetzel House John & Tillie M. Geerlings House Dr. Edwards H. & Katherine Mensing House William G. & Laura L. James House William G. James House Gerhard G. Fisher House

George J. & Hilda Roska House Erwin Stoekle House Edward J. & Alice Allee House Edward J. & Alice Allee House Frank A. & Lucille E. Pipkorn Duplex Carl H. & Johanna Landwehr House Julius E. & Adelaide J. Kranstover House Martin J. Brennan House N. H. Jack Dengel House Dr. Leon H. & Mrs. Thelma Guerin House

c. 1921 1928 1925 1949 1928 1971 1928 1929 1949 1930 1948 1930 c. 1921 1927 c. 1921 1927 1927 1927 1927 1929 1929 1930 1930 1930 1927 1928 1927 1927 1928 1927 1927 1929 1932 1936

C C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

248

Proposed Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District Narrative Description The Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District is a well-defined neighborhood of 186 buildings situated in the center of the Village of Whitefish Bay and has boundaries roughly delineated along Lake Drive from Lake Forest Avenue to the north and Henry Clay Street to the south; Birch Avenue, Lexington Boulevard, and Sylvan Avenue from Marlborough Drive to the west and Lake Drive to the east; Danbury Road from Glen Avenue to the north and Birch Avenue to the south; and Circle Drive. The area of small, modestly sized, and large homes began in the 1890s and was substantially developed starting in approximately 1905 and filled in over the next five decades. Representative of the prevailing architectural styles of their time, Colonial Revival, Tudor Revival, Mediterranean Revival, Dutch Colonial, and Contemporary style residences are prominent within the district. The district is comprised of the majority of the Stone and Thomas Subdivision Idlewild No. 2, Pabst Whitefish Bay Subdivision, Continuation of Pabst Whitefish Bay Subdivision, and Second Continuation of Pabst Whitefish Bay Subdivision; and portions of the Lake Forest Park Subdivision and Stone and Thomas Subdivision - Idlewild No. 3. The earliest of these subdivisions were platted at the end of the nineteenth century in response to the success and popularity of the Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort. The remainder of the district is comprised of the resort grounds and surrounding land after the closure of the resort in 1914.501 Stone & Thomas, a Milwaukee real estate firm, platted Idlewild No. 2 as a continuation of its earlier Idlewild subdivision. While the firms first subdivision was developed as speculative housing for workers of a rail yard rumored to be constructed in Whitefish Bay by the Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western Railroad, Idlewild No 2.was designed to attract the development of high quality residences along two grand Boulevards terminating at the new Pabst Whitefish Bay Resort. Idlewild No. 3 was platted two years later, in 1890.502 Richard Burke and John E. Mann of the Tweedy Land Company platted Lake Forest Park north of the resort in 1892. The Pabst Brewing Company platted the Pabst Whitefish Bay Subdivision in 1916 on its former resort grounds. In 1918, the districts Sylvan Avenue was reduced from boulevard- to average-width; Lexington Boulevard remains to this day as originally constructed. Also in 1918, the Continuation of Pabst Whitefish Bay was platted followed by its second continuation the following year. 503 The original sale of lots in most of these subdivisions included provisions for solely single-family residential use, minimum front set back, and minimum cost for houses constructed. The Pabst Whitefish Bay subdivisions also expressly prohibit the keeping of cows, pigs, chickens, ducks, and poultry on their lots.504 Statement of Significance The Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District was identified for its concentration of single- and multi-family dwellings constructed between approximately 1905 and 1956, having local significance under National Register Criterion C for Architecture. Utilizing the Wisconsin Historical Societys Cultural Resource Management in Wisconsin, additional research centered on evaluating the resources within the district utilizing the Period Revival styles subsections of

249

the Architecture study unit of the aforementioned text. The district is comprised of 6 buildings previously listed on the National Register of Historic Places, 169 contributing resources, and 11 non-contributing resources. Individually, the contributing resources include fine representative examples of several of the most popular styles applied to residential architecture in Wisconsin during the period of significance. Boundary Description The district consists of the legal parcels associated with the 6 previously listed, 169 contributing, and 11 non-contributing properties within the district and may be defined by this general description: Beginning on the north curb line of Henry Clay Street that corresponds to the south corner of the lot associated with 5200 N. Lake Drive, continue west along south property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 1212 E. Henry Clay Street, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to a point on the north curb line of Sylvan Avenue that corresponds to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 1153 E. Sylvan Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of the lot associated with 5253 N. Lake Drive to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 1032 E. Sylvan Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of the lot associated with 1031 E. Sylvan Avenue to the southeast corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 1003 E. Sylvan Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to a point on the north curb line of Sylvan Avenue that correspondes to the northwest corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of the lot associated with 942 E. Sylvan Avenue to the southwest corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of the lot associated with 935 E. Lexington Boulevard to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 911 E. Lexington Boulevard, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue northwest along the west property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associated with 5509 N. Danbury Road, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 5525 N. Danbury Road, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 801 E. Glen Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said lot to a point on the south curbline of Lake Forest Avenue corresponding to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 802 E. Lake Forest Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of the lot associated with 809 E. Lake Forest Avenue to the northeast corner of said lot, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue southeast along the east property line of said lot to the northwest corner of the lot associated with 820 E. Birch Avenue, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue east along the north property line of said lot to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 856 E. Birch Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue south along the east property line of said lot to a point on the south curb line of Birch Avenue corresponding to the southeast corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue east along the north property line of the lot associated with 863 E. Birch Avenue to a point on the east curbline of Lake Drive corresponding to the northeast corner of the lot associated with 5425 N. Lake Drive, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue northwest

250

along the west property line of the lot associated with 5436 N. Lake Drive to the west corner of the lot associated with 5486 N. Lake Drive, turn 90 degrees and continue northeast along the north property line of said lot to the west shore of Lake Michigan at the north corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue southeast along the lakeshore to the east corner of the lot associated with 5200 N. Lake Drive, turn 90 degrees and continue southwest to the south corner of said lot. The boundary for the Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District is clearly delineated on the accompanying district map. The boundary encloses the area of 74 acres. Boundary Justification The boundaries of the Pabst Whitefish Bay Residential Historic District enclose all the areas historically associated with the districts resources. While adjacent areas are residential in nature, they do not maintain the historic integrity of the residences contained within the district boundaries. The result is a cohesive district with as few non-contributing properties as possible. Building Inventory The following inventory lists every building in the proposed district and includes the address of the property; the historic name; the date or circa date of construction; and the resources contributing (C), non-contributing (NC), or previously listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) class.
Address 805 E. Birch Avenue 809 E. Birch Avenue 814 E. Birch Avenue 815 E. Birch Avenue 817 E. Birch Avenue 820 E. Birch Avenue 823 E. Birch Avenue 826 E. Birch Avenue 827 E. Birch Avenue 832 E. Birch Avenue 833 E. Birch Avenue 836 E. Birch Avenue 840 E. Birch Avenue 843 E. Birch Avenue 844 E. Birch Avenue 848 E. Birch Avenue 849 E. Birch Avenue 855 E. Birch Avenue 856 E. Birch Avenue 863 E. Birch Avenue 869 E. Birch Avenue 875 E. Birch Avenue 881 E. Birch Avenue 889 E. Birch Avenue 895 E. Birch Avenue Historic Name Thomas Russell & Ella G. Westover House William & Mamie Fernholz House Fred & Gudrum Mitchell House Otto & Irene Grigg House Walter H. & Elizabeth John House Harold W. & Edna Connell House Roy O. & Hazel Papenthien House Bernhard & Ruth Seligman House Louis J. & Blanche Larson House Roy Papenthien House Judge Otto & Louise Breidenbach House Ralph Moody House Russell & Barbara Phillips House John & Joan Conroy House Bonoshaw House William Klatte House Date 1928 < 1922 1926 1926 < 1922 1926 1922 1950 1922 1925 1930 1927 1928 1936 c. 1921 1925 1922 1922 1923 1975 1922 1976 c. 1907 c. 1912 c. 1918 Status C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C NC C NC C C C

251

900 E. Circle Drive 901 E. Circle Drive 906 E. Circle Drive 911 E. Circle Drive 916 E. Circle Drive 921 E. Circle Drive 926 E. Circle Drive 933 E. Circle Drive 934 E. Circle Drive 940 E. Circle Drive 943 E. Circle Drive 949 E. Circle Drive 950 E. Circle Drive 953 E. Circle Drive 958 E. Circle Drive 959 E. Circle Drive 963 E. Circle Drive 968 E. Circle Drive 976 E. Circle Drive 977 E. Circle Drive 980 E. Circle Drive 984 E. Circle Drive 987 E. Circle Drive 988 E. Circle Drive 992 E. Circle Drive 996 E. Circle Drive 998 E. Circle Drive 1000 E. Circle Drive 1001 E. Circle Drive 1005 E. Circle Drive 1009 E. Circle Drive 1013 E. Circle Drive 1017 E. Circle Drive 1020 E. Circle Drive 1021 E. Circle Drive 1025 E. Circle Drive 1030 E. Circle Drive 1031 E. Circle Drive 1038 E. Circle Drive 1041 E. Circle Drive 1044 E. Circle Drive 1051 E. Circle Drive 1052 E. Circle Drive 1056 E. Circle Drive 1061 E. Circle Drive 1064 E. Circle Drive 1071 E. Circle Drive 1074 E. Circle Drive 1081 E. Circle Drive 1086 E. Circle Drive

Mary Uihlein Cunningham House Samuel J. & Ruth Weis House Dr. Eugene J. & Edythe Ackerman House J. M. & Myrtle S. Ettenheim House M. B. & Sadie Ettenheim House

Keith & Dee Miller House Mildred K. Gates House David V. & Judith Crowley House Dr. Jerome A. & Kathleen Mahalick House Thomas & Henrietta Lang House Henry & Viola Blommer House Nelson D. & Barbara Phelps House William R. & Louise Hughes House David W. & Elinor Bloodgood House Paul S. & Margaret E. Grant House Walter & Clara Schranck House Alexander J. & Erra Bauer House

E. Chester & Rose S. Hilgemann House Rose Runzler House

Arthur G. & Elizabeth Gross House Herbert Frank House Stanley & Dorothy Polacheck House Albert J. & Itene L. Schutte House H. & Bee Deinlein House Robert S. Archer House Roger & Helen Clark House Arthur F. & Vivian F. Bues House O. S. & Laura Baier House

Robert E. & Roberta S. Head House Reginald & Frances M. Kenny House M. E. & Marion Newald House Dr. Harry R. & Katherine Foerster House William H. Fromm House Edward John & Florence Hornbach House

1948 1929 1948 1923 1926 1923 1926 c. 1910 1924 1977 c. 1922 1963 1977 1923 1925 1928 1935 1924 1924 1922 1937 1925 1927 1929 < 1922 c. 1919 1923 1925 1924 1924 1922 1925 1923 1923 1928 1928 1928 1928 1929 1925 1926 1936 1923 1924 1964 1925 1928 1925 c. 1920 1928

C C C C C C C C C NC C NC NC C C C C C C C C NRHP C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C NC C C C C C

252

1092 E. Circle Drive 1093 E. Circle Drive 1094 E. Circle Drive 1096 E. Circle Drive 1100 E. Circle Drive 1101 E. Circle Drive 1109 E. Circle Drive 5456 N. Danbury Road 5461 N. Danbury Road 5464 N. Danbury Road 5469 N. Danbury Road 5475 N. Danbury Road 5481 N. Danbury Road 5489 N. Danbury Road 5501 N. Danbury Road 5509 N. Danbury Road 5510 N. Danbury Road 5515 N. Danbury Road 5525 N. Danbury Road 801 & 803 E. Glen Avenue 1212 E. Henry Clay Street 1218 E. Henry Clay Street 5250 N. Kimbark Place 5271 N. Kimbark Place 5200 N. Lake Drive 5201 N. Lake Drive 5211 N. Lake Drive 5220 N. Lake Drive 5223 N. Lake Drive 5233 N. Lake Drive 5240 N. Lake Drive 5253 N. Lake Drive 5265 N. Lake Drive 5270 N. Lake Drive 5275 N. Lake Drive 5289 N. Lake Drive 5290 N. Lake Drive 5300 N. Lake Drive 5305 N. Lake Drive 5312 N. Lake Drive 5319 N. Lake Drive 5320 N. Lake Drive 5325 N. Lake Drive 5350 N. Lake Drive 5353 N. Lake Drive 5365 N. Lake Drive 5370 N. Lake Drive 5375 N. Lake Drive 5400 N. Lake Drive 5418 N. Lake Drive

Mary Chapman House Rich & Julia Hallstrom House Dr. James R. & Helen Gland House Arthur J. & Mary G. Roethe House Nora I. Meahan House Allen Barfield Duplex George & Anna Wells House Frederic & Marie F. Sammond House A. P. & Marguerite H. Bertschy House Ernest C. & Amy F. Wilson House Ray C. Crab House Henry & Betty Keleske House Charles & Minnie Behm House Vincent A. & Mary Pacholski House Lee Green House Martin & Caroline Safranek Duplex Arthur & Margaret Coulthard House Herman & Martine Hoelzer House Ralph L. & Grace D. Haskins House George C. & Anne Kahn Duplex Benjamin & Anna Rosenberg House Robert & Blanche Zien House Henry J. & Gertrude B. Held House Dr. Francis & Willabelle McMahon House Bert C. & Mary Nelson House Otto & Helen Beck House Dr. Harold H. & Ruth Ottenstein House Herman A. Uihlein House Bertram B. & Merle H. Goodman House Davis H. & Libby Lazarus House Benjamin F. & Edna D. Saltzstein House Roy E. & Marie McCullough House August C. & Emily Tews House Judge Joseph A. & Lydia Padway House Raymond & Elaine Strauss House Harry & Ada LeVine House Emil H. & Rose Koepke House Charles E. & Queen Stone House Arthur A. & Esther M. Gross House Harry J. Grant House John E. Saxe House W. B. Robertson House Edward J. Fellman House

1927 1924 1927 1972 < 1922 1927 1923 1925 1924 c. 1920 1927 1928 1926 1926 c. 1910 1976 1927 1926 1930 1926 1929 1928 1928 1926 1927 1955 1927 1924 1927 1932 1924 1953 1953 c. 1915 1953 1931 1928 1956 1931 1931 1954 1930 1926 1953 c. 1919 1929 1923 1929 c. 1920 1924

C C C NC C C C C NRHP C C C C C C NC C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C NRHP C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

253

5425 N. Lake Drive 5436 N. Lake Drive 5460 N. Lake Drive 5474 N. Lake Drive 5486 N. Lake Drive 802 E. Lake Forest Avenue 809 E. Lake Forest Avenue 902 E. Lexington Boulevard 908 E. Lexington Boulevard 911 & 913 E. Lexington Boulevard 912 E. Lexington Boulevard 915 E. Lexington Boulevard 918 E. Lexington Boulevard 919 & 921 E. Lexington Boulevard 926 E. Lexington Boulevard 927 E. Lexington Boulevard 935 E. Lexington Boulevard 941 E. Lexington Boulevard 1001 E. Lexington Boulevard 1002 E. Lexington Boulevard 1007 E. Lexington Boulevard 1008 E. Lexington Boulevard 1013 E. Lexington Boulevard 1016 E. Lexington Boulevard 1017 & 1019 E. Lexington Boulevard 1023 E. Lexington Boulevard 1028 E. Lexington Boulevard 1031 E. Lexington Boulevard 1036 E. Lexington Boulevard 1042 E. Lexington Boulevard 1048 E. Lexington Boulevard 1056 E. Lexington Boulevard 1100 E. Lexington Boulevard 1101 E. Lexington Boulevard 1109 E. Lexington Boulevard 1110 E. Lexington Boulevard 1113 E. Lexington Boulevard 1118 E. Lexington Boulevard 1121 E. Lexington Boulevard 1124 E. Lexington Boulevard 1129 E. Lexington Boulevard 1130 E. Lexington Boulevard 1135 E. Lexington Boulevard 942 E. Sylvan Avenue 1003 E. Sylvan Avenue 1006 E. Sylvan Avenue 1011 E. Sylvan Avenue 1012 E. Sylvan Avenue 1019 E. Sylvan Avenue 1020 E. Sylvan Avenue

Bernard Klatt House

John Kleist House F. L. & Ruby Hillman House Ray E. & Eleanore Rilling House Edward & Elinor Wenzel House Henry & Viola Jung Duplex Frank J. & Elvira Williams House Herbert E. & Vera Gross House Gaston J. & Virginia Engel House William Staffeld Duplex Oliver V. & Carrie Thatcher House Philip & Rosalie Fina House George & Hilda Jaeneke House Andrew & Edel Peterson House Halbert D. & Florence Jenkins House Ernest R. & Orma Schlummer House Dr. Richard A. & Bonnie Berk House Mathew H. & Lavina Pahle House Frederick Sperling House Meade F. Moore Duplex Herbert G. & Margaret H. Horneffer House Halbert D. Jenkins House Isenring House M. J. & Madge P. Carpenter House

K. & Minette Dickens House Owen J. & Jane P. Williams House William Thomas & Gertrude Sullivan House Elmer M. & Delia B. Ross House L. J. & Esther Merske House Peter J. & Elizabeth Porth House

Allen M. & Dorothy Fritsch House Dr. J. T. & Mary Klein House The Pines / Dr. Thaddeus W. & Alice J. Williams House Emmanuel Scheinfeld House Dale & Kathleen Wilson House James A. & Genevieve Wright House Eldred & Muriel Keays House Walter A. & Norma Belau House George A. & Elsa Logemann House

c. 1918 2002 c. 1909 c. 1920 1924 1926 c. 1909 1925 1931 1926 1925 1955 1925 c. 1910 1925 1941 1924 1924 1929 1926 1929 1964 1926 1924 1925 1925 1924 c. 1921 c. 1905 1925 1924 1924 1929 1926 1925 1925 1925 1928 1925 1930 1923 1929 1929 c. 1893 1939 1926 1937 1929 1936 1926

C NC C C C C C C C C NRHP C C C C C C C C C C NC C NRHP C C NRHP C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

254

1025 E. Sylvan Avenue 1026 E. Sylvan Avenue 1031 E. Sylvan Avenue 1032 E. Sylvan Avenue 1108 E. Sylvan Avenue 1116 E. Sylvan Avenue 1122 E. Sylvan Avenue 1128 E. Sylvan Avenue 1134 E. Sylvan Avenue 1142 E. Sylvan Avenue 1153 E. Sylvan Avenue

Albert S. & Leah Ethridge House J. Gordon & Harriet Stowers House Carl & Gertrude Daun House Huntington & Beatrice Patch House J. E. & Evelyn Radomski House George Levin Jr. House R. C. & Harriet Robertson House David & Dorothy K. Resnick House Donald D. & Nina L. Barnes House Ray F. & Helen Beerend House

1929 1979 1949 1928 1927 1926 1949 1926 1937 1936 1926

C NC C C C C C C C C C

255

This page intentionally left blank.

256

Proposed Wilshire Residential Historic District Narrative Description The Wilshire Residential Historic District is a well-defined cluster of 35 buildings situated in the southeast portion of the Village of Whitefish Bay and has boundaries roughly delineated along Lake Drive and Wilshire Road from Cumberland Boulevard to the north and the village limits to the south and Glendale Avenue from Frederick Avenue to the west and Lake Drive to the east. The area of both modestly sized and large homes began in 1937 and was developed and filled in over the next three decades. Representative of the prevailing architectural styles of their time, Colonial Revival, Monterrey, Ranch, and Contemporary style residences are prominent within the district. The district is comprised of the majority of the Wilshire Subdivision and portions of Reinhold, Matthieson & Reinharts Lake Woods Subdivision No. 2, both platted in 1927.505 The original sale of lots in both of these subdivisions included provisions for solely single-family residential use, minimum front set back, and minimum cost for houses constructed. Additionally, buildings constructed in Wilshire were required to be two-stories tall.506 Statement of Significance The Wilshire Residential Historic District was identified for its concentration of single-family dwellings constructed between 1937 and 1962, having local significance under National Register Criterion C for Architecture. Utilizing the Wisconsin Historical Societys Cultural Resource Management in Wisconsin, additional research centered on evaluating the resources within the district utilizing the Period Revival styles subsections of the Architecture study unit of the aforementioned text. The district is comprised of 35 contributing resources and no noncontributing resources. Individually, the contributing resources include fine representative examples of several of the most popular styles applied to residential architecture in Wisconsin during the period of significance. Boundary Description The district consists of the legal parcels associated with the 35 contributing and 0 noncontributing properties within the district and may be defined by this general description: Beginning on the west curb line of Lake Drive that corresponds to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 4515 N. Lake Drive, continue west along south property line of said lot to the southwest corner of the lot associate with 2121 E. Glendale Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue north along the west property line of said lot to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 2111 E. Glendale Avenue, turn 90 degrees and continue west to the southwest corner of said lot, turn 90 degrees and continue north to the northwest corner of said lot, continue north along the west property line of the lot associated with 4617 N. Wilshire Road to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 4635 N. Wilshire Road, turn 90 degrees and continue west along the south property line of said lot to the west corner of the lot associated with 4645 N. Wilshire Road, turn approximately 45 degrees and continue northeast along the northwest property line of said lot to

257

the north corner of the lot associated with 4661 N. Lake Drive, turn approximately 90 degrees and continue southeast along the northeast property line of said lot to the southeast corner of the lot associated with 4515 N. Lake Drive. The boundary for the Wilshire Residential Historic District is clearly delineated on the accompanying district map. The boundary encloses the area of 12 acres. Boundary Justification The boundaries of the Wilshire Residential Historic District enclose all the areas historically associated with the districts resources. While adjacent areas are residential in nature, they do not maintain the historic integrity of the residences contained within the district boundaries. The result is a cohesive district with as few non-contributing properties as possible. Building Inventory The following inventory lists every building in the proposed district and includes the address of the property; the historic name; the date or circa date of construction; and the resources contributing (C), non-contributing (NC), or previously listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) class.
Address 2111 E. Glendale Avenue 2121 E. Glendale Avenue 2201 E. Glendale Avenue 2207 E. Glendale Avenue 2211 E. Glendale Avenue 2215 E. Glendale Avenue 2221 E. Glendale Avenue 2227 E. Glendale Avenue 2300 E. Glendale Avenue 2301 E. Glendale Avenue 2309 E. Glendale Avenue 2310 E. Glendale Avenue 2321 E. Glendale Avenue 4515 N. Lake Drive 4605 N. Lake Drive 4611 N. Lake Drive 4621 N. Lake Drive 4629 N. Lake Drive 4635 N. Lake Drive 4641 N. Lake Drive 4647 N. Lake Drive 4653 N. Lake Drive 4661 N. Lake Drive 4600 N. Wilshire Road 4604 N. Wilshire Road 4608 N. Wilshire Road 4612 N. Wilshire Road Historic Name Jack & Lillian La Kam House James B. & Lucille Croke House Dr. David & Margaret Wenstrand House Kenneth R. & Carolyn Snyder House Jack H. & Anne Kamins House Harry A. & Anne Epstein House Dr. Edward Harvey & Sally Tashkin House James R. & Claire Dougherty House Dr. Joel E. Fannie Taxman House Perce G. & Natalie Schley House William & Ella Thompson House Elbert S. & Margaret Hartwick House Carl W. & Erna Moebius House Stanley & Ruth Coerper House Edward H. & Frances Borgelt House Dr. Bert B. & Evelyn Schoenkerman House Dr. N. W. & Persephone Stathas House Dr. Lamont & Lenore Schweiger House Genevieve Jeske House Lawrence & Florence Katz House Henry A. & Florence Bartling House Ben & Florence Lewenauer House J. A. & Gertrude A. Keogh House Dr. Emil & Rose Franklin House J. J. & Erna Zwicky House Dr. J. S. Ackerman House Date 1949 1949 1941 1946 1950 1951 1948 1946 1940 1954 1940 1947 1940 1949 1950 1958 1951 1962 1952 1949 1957 1955 1952 1937 1952 1950 1938 Status C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C

258

4616 N. Wilshire Road 4617 N. Wilshire Road 4622 N. Wilshire Road 4628 N. Wilshire Road 4634 N. Wilshire Road 4635 N. Wilshire Road 4645 N. Wilshire Road 4646 N. Wilshire Road

Dr. Louis A. Bernhard House Sol. & Esther Blankstein House David & Teresa Kritzik House Fannie Grossman House Dr. Harry B. & Ann Sadoff House Julius & Esther Goodman House George F. & Janet Kasten House Harry A. & Fanny Watkins House

1941 1950 1948 1949 1949 1950 1937 1952

C C C C C C C C

259

This page intentionally left blank.

260

Proposed Holy Family Catholic Church Historic Complex Narrative Description The Holy Family Catholic Church Complex is a well-defined cluster of 3 buildings situated in the southern portion of the Village of Whitefish Bay on a single block bounded by Hampton Road, Marlborough Drive, Chateau Place, and Wildwood Avenue. Representative of the prevailing architectural styles of their time, Modern style buildings are prominent within the complex. In 1927 the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad agreed to sell their tracks and land in Whitefish Bay. That year, work started on removing the rails and was completed ended in 1929.507 The proposed Holy Family Catholic Church Historic Complex is located on a portion of this land, platted as Assessors Plat #247 in 1939.508 For more information on the history and development of Holy Family Catholic Church and School, refer to Chapter 9 Education and Chapter 9 Religion. Statement of Significance The Holy Family Catholic Church Complex was identified for its concentration of religious and educational buildings constructed between 1950 and 1969, having local significance under National Register Criterion C for Architecture. Utilizing the Wisconsin Historical Societys Cultural Resource Management in Wisconsin, additional research centered on evaluating the resources within the complex utilizing the Architecture study unit of the aforementioned text. The complex is comprised of 3 contributing resources and no non-contributing resources. Individually, the contributing resources include fine representative examples one of the most popular styles applied to religious and educational architecture in Wisconsin during the period of significance. Boundary Description The complex consists of the legal parcel associated with the 3 contributing and 0 noncontributing buildings within the complex and may be defined as the lot associated with 4815 N. Wildwood Avenue. The boundary for the complex is clearly delineated on the accompanying complex map. The boundary encloses the area of 4 acres. Boundary Justification The boundaries of the Holy Family Catholic Church Complex enclose all the areas historically associated with the complexs resources. Adjacent areas are residential in nature and are, therefore, a completely different setting. Building Inventory The following inventory lists every building in the proposed district and includes the address of the property; the historic name; the date or circa date of construction; and the resources

261

contributing (C), non-contributing (NC), or previously listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) class.
Address 4815 N. Wildwood Ave.; 4810 N. Marlborough Drive 4829 N. Wildwood Avenue 4849 N. Wildwood Avenue Historic Name Holy Family Catholic Church & Rectory Holy Family Convent Holy Family Parish School Date 1969 1960 1950 Status C C C

262

Proposed St. Monica Catholic Church & Dominican High School Complex Narrative Description The St. Monica Catholic Church & Dominican High School Complex is a well-defined cluster of 8 buildings situated in the center of the Village of Whitefish Bay on a single, oversized block bounded by Silver Spring Drive, Bay Ridge Avenue, Lake View Avenue, and Santa Monica Boulevard. Representative of the prevailing architectural styles of their time, Spanish Colonial and Modern style buildings are prominent within the complex. Statement of Significance The St. Monica Catholic Church & Dominican High School Complex is a well-defined cluster of 8 buildings situated in the center of the Village of Whitefish Bay on a single, oversized block bounded by Silver Spring Drive, Bay Ridge Avenue, Lake View Avenue, and Santa Monica Boulevard. Representative of the prevailing architectural styles of their time, Spanish Colonial and Modern style buildings are prominent within the complex. For more information on the history and development of St. Monica Catholic Church and School and Dominican High School, refer to Chapter 9 Education and Chapter 9 Religion. Boundary Description The complex consists of the legal parcels associated with the 6 contributing and 2 noncontributing buildings within the complex and may be defined as the lots associated with 120 E. Silver Spring Drive and 160 E. Silver Spring Drive. The boundary for the complex is clearly delineated on the accompanying complex map. The boundary encloses the area of 15 acres. Boundary Justification The boundaries of the St. Monica Catholic Church & Dominican High School Complex enclose all the areas historically associated with the complexs resources. Adjacent areas have an entirely different feel due to their residential use. Building Inventory The following inventory lists every building in the proposed district and includes the address of the property; the historic name; the date or circa date of construction; and the resources contributing (C), non-contributing (NC), or previously listed in the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) class.
Address 135 E. Lake View Avenue 5635 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5681 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5681 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 120 E. Silver Spring Drive 160 E. Silver Spring Drive Historic Name Dominican Convent St. Monica School St. Monica Convent St. Monica Convent Garage Dominican High School St. Monica Rectory Date 1960 1928 1950 1956 1958 Status C C C NC C C

263

160 E. Silver Spring Drive 160 E. Silver Spring Drive

St. Monica Catholic Church St. Monica Catholic Church Garage

1954

C NC

264

Properties Identified in this Survey


Address 4801, 4803, 4805, 4807, 4809, 4811, 4813, 4815, 4817, 4819, 4821, 4823, 4825, 4827, 4829 & 4831 N. Anita Avenue 4833, 4835, 4837, 4839, 4841, 4843, 4845, 4847, 4849, 4851, 4853, 4855, 4857, 4859, 4861 & 4863 N. Anita Avenue 4864, 4866, 4868, 4870, 4872, 4874, 4876, 4878, 4880, 4882, 4884, 4886, 4888, 4890, 4892 & 4894 N. Anita Avenue 4865, 4867, 4869, 4871, 4873, 4875, 4877, 4879, 4881, 4883, 4885, 4887, 4889, 4891, 4893 & 4895 N. Anita Avenue 4901, 4903, 4905, 4907, 4909, 4911, 4913, 4915, 4917, 4919, 4921, 4923, 4925, 4927, 4929 & 4931 N. Anita Avenue 4611 N. Ardmore Avenue 4612 N. Ardmore Avenue 4619 N. Ardmore Avenue 4624 N. Ardmore Avenue 4627 N. Ardmore Avenue 4635 N. Ardmore Avenue 4636 N. Ardmore Avenue 4641 N. Ardmore Avenue 4647 N. Ardmore Avenue 4648 N. Ardmore Avenue 4651 N. Ardmore Avenue 4654 N. Ardmore Avenue 4659 N. Ardmore Avenue 4660 N. Ardmore Avenue 4665 N. Ardmore Avenue 4672 N. Ardmore Avenue 4730 N. Ardmore Avenue 4798 N. Ardmore Avenue 4800 N. Ardmore Avenue 4810 N. Ardmore Avenue 4818 N. Ardmore Avenue 4819 N. Ardmore Avenue 4824 N. Ardmore Avenue 4830 N. Ardmore Avenue 4831 N. Ardmore Avenue 4836 N. Ardmore Avenue 4837 N. Ardmore Avenue 4842 N. Ardmore Avenue 4843 N. Ardmore Avenue 4848 N. Ardmore Avenue 4849 N. Ardmore Avenue 4855 N. Ardmore Avenue 4856 N. Ardmore Avenue 4861 N. Ardmore Avenue Historic Name Anita Building Corporation Apartments Barbara Building Corporation Apartments Terese Building Corporation Apartments Catherine Building Corporation Apartments Diana Building Corporation Apartments Warren E. Goldman House Alvin L. Minkin House Joseph Grillhoese House Ervin & Helen Z. Grossmann House Frank Himmelstein House Leon G. Grieb House Irv & Ann Silberman House Walter E. & Evelyn Hass House M. A. Melnik House Dr. David J. & Sarah Zubatsky House Frank J. & Mary T. Marasco House Albert M. & Ann Deshur House M. Melnik House Simon C. Weisfeldt House Dr. B. L. & Mollie Fabric House Alexander & Dorothy J. Gregory House A. H. & Ardis Christianson House Walter G. Truettner House Dr. Samuel J. & Ceciele Sweet House John M. & Janet Durham House Herbert & Suren Abraham House Roundy Memorial Baptist Church T. H. Gill House C. Stroble House Phillip J. & Monya Tolkan House LeRoy & Dorothy S. Bond House Gene & Ruth Posner House George B. & Mary Wightman House Theodore Zafis House Charles Rubinstein House Ivan & Lorraine Potter House Walter & Margaret Eckers House Norman & Rosalyn Nadler House Charles & Grace Baeurle House Date 1952 1952 1952 1952 1952 1939 1951 1940 1951 1939 1936 1952 1937 1940 1953 1940 1951 1940 1950 1940 1951 1947 1937 1951 1956 1945 1937 1945 1941 1948 1929 1948 1940 1941 1941 1941 1947 1951 1949

265

4862 N. Ardmore Avenue 4868 N. Ardmore Avenue 4869 N. Ardmore Avenue 4875 N. Ardmore Avenue 4900 N. Ardmore Avenue 4901 N. Ardmore Avenue 4908 N. Ardmore Avenue 4909 N. Ardmore Avenue 4914 N. Ardmore Avenue 4915 N. Ardmore Avenue 4921 N. Ardmore Avenue 4922 N. Ardmore Avenue 4927 N. Ardmore Avenue 4930 N. Ardmore Avenue 4933 N. Ardmore Avenue 4938 N. Ardmore Avenue 4941 N. Ardmore Avenue 4944 N. Ardmore Avenue 4947 N. Ardmore Avenue 4950 N. Ardmore Avenue 4953 N. Ardmore Avenue 4956 N. Ardmore Avenue 4960 N. Ardmore Avenue 4961 N. Ardmore Avenue 4967 N. Ardmore Avenue 4968 N. Ardmore Avenue 4975 N. Ardmore Avenue 4976 N. Ardmore Avenue 5106 N. Ardmore Avenue 5118 N. Ardmore Avenue 5124 N. Ardmore Avenue 5152 N. Ardmore Avenue 5158 N. Ardmore Avenue 4610 N. Bartlett Avenue 4611 N. Bartlett Avenue 4616 N. Bartlett Avenue 4617 N. Bartlett Avenue 4620 N. Bartlett Avenue 4621 N. Bartlett Avenue 4626 N. Bartlett Avenue 4627 N. Bartlett Avenue 4632 N. Bartlett Avenue 4633 N. Bartlett Avenue 4712 N. Bartlett Avenue 4718 N. Bartlett Avenue 4722 N. Bartlett Avenue 4725 N. Bartlett Avenue 4730 N. Bartlett Avenue 4731 N. Bartlett Avenue 4733 N. Bartlett Avenue

David Malmon House Julius Vetter House William E. De Makes House Harold E. Mayr House Raymond J. & Edna Czaja House Clynt A. & Ann Martin House Harry & Jessie Goldberg House Raymond Scribner House W. J. & Edna Dobbratz House T. B. & Mollie A. Inglis House Robert M. & Florence K. Wolpert House Walter Lange House Harry M. & Martha Hankin House A. S. Morsell Jr. House Leonard & Anna Gucciardi House William H. & Florence Ross House Arthur A. & Eva C. Jacquin House Louis B. & Esther E. Hellberg House Harry Davis House Read E. & Thelma Widrig House S. H. Dickinson House Edward & Lola Behling House Dr. Robert E. & Fern McDonald House Henry H. & Esther S. Weber House Dr. R. A. & Bessie Kaddatz House Harold I. & Bernice Stewart House Louis Fine House Wyatt W. Jr. & Marilyn Dawson House Harold S. & Catherine L. Leich House Fred Voeglie House John Halloran House Thomas & Anna Lewis House Alvin & Ruth Neisser House Joseph & Exilda Hussa House Frances J. & Adele C. Herbes House George W. & Gladys M. House John F. & Josephine Mehr House David Dohmeyer House Emil Farchmin House William C. & Meta Schmidt House Elinore H. Edwards House Fred C. & Gertrude L. Adler House Dr. Ben L. & Judy Chapman Dr. John W. Truitt House Barth & Florence Chudik House Dr. H. C. & Margarette Reynolds House William & Theresa Berssenbrugge House Clinton M. & Inez Barr House

1939 1930 1941 1941 1948 1937 1937 1935 1937 1934 1937 1940 1935 1934 1931 1931 1928 1937 1932 1931 1932 1935 1935 1931 1936 1936 1950 1959 1936 1949 1966 1932 1932 1951 < 1922 1927 1928 1928 1926 1930 1928 1923 < 1922 1933 1951 1931 1928 1926 1927 1928

266

4740 N. Bartlett Avenue 4810 N. Bartlett Avenue 4811 N. Bartlett Avenue 4816 N. Bartlett Avenue 4824 N. Bartlett Avenue 4830 N. Bartlett Avenue 4831 N. Bartlett Avenue 4842 N. Bartlett Avenue 4850 N. Bartlett Avenue 4856 N. Bartlett Avenue 4859 N. Bartlett Avenue 4865 N. Bartlett Avenue 4869 N. Bartlett Avenue 4870 N. Bartlett Avenue 4905 N. Bartlett Avenue 4929 N. Bartlett Avenue 4937 N. Bartlett Avenue 4945 N. Bartlett Avenue 4953 N. Bartlett Avenue 4735 N. Bartlett Drive 4753 N. Bartlett Drive 4759 N. Bartlett Drive 4765 N. Bartlett Drive 4766 N. Bartlett Drive 4771 N. Bartlett Drive 4777 N. Bartlett Drive 4780 N. Bartlett Drive 4783 N. Bartlett Drive 4789 N. Bartlett Drive 4796 N. Bartlett Drive 5006 & 5008 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5012 & 5014 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5026 & 5028 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5027 & 5029 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5048 & 5050 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5054 & 5056 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5061 & 5063 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5062 & 5064 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5068 & 5070 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5075 & 5079 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5118 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5170 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5220 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5225 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5226 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5230 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5231 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5237 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5243 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5265 N. Bay Ridge Avenue

August L. & Clara Klein House Herbert F. & Mildred F. Kaestner House William H. Volkmann House Robert W. & Katherine M. Smith House Ralph H. & Elenor W. Burke House Fred Kemp House

James H. & Eve Zucker House Elmer & Marielle Ott House Robert H. & Viola R. Blum House Harriet Schiffer House Alfred & Minnie J. Selke House Caroline Pfeifer House Hugo J. & Alma C. Jung House Stanley E. & Katherine B. Wilson House Herman E. & Delia Klein House Adolph & Estella Nydegger House Gustave Poffert House Jacob J. & Emma Poppert House Joseph B. & Rose Bachman House Catherine Beyer House Charles A. & Dorothy Cadwell House Richard Jr. & Alma Flechsig House Jerry & Edith Polland House Louis A. & Kathryn Banks House

Douglas & Marcie Cooper House Maurice J. & Eleanor Doherty House Allerton & Margaret Manning House Alvin J. & Emily Wolter House Eric & Helen Whitfield House Arthur H. & Lilian Gauger House Ray & Beatrice Galineau House Don & Elaine Trindle House William & Mae Hart House

1932 1926 1946 < 1922 1953 1936 1926 1923 < 1922 1967 1951 1926 1927 < 1922 1928 1937 1927 1937 1941 1928 1931 1952 1937 1947 1927 1930 1947 1947 1953 1946 1943 1943 1943 1943 1946 1946 1946 1946 1946 1946 1944 1942 1937 1932 1936 1940 1946 1949 1948 1940

267

5271 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5318 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5325 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5400 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5411 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5419 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5427 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5443 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5451 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5511 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5516 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5522 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5526 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5527 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5533 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5537 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5541 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5544 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5551 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5578 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5627 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5661 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5665 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5671 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5675 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5681 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5687 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5700 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5701 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5706 & 5708 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5709 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5714 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5715 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5720 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5721 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5724 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5729 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5730 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5735 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5736 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5741 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5742 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5745 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5750 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5751 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5756 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5757 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5760 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5763 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5766 N. Bay Ridge Avenue

John & Marietta Andrew House Arnold & Lillian Brandt House Harry H. & Ella Mayer House Herbert F. & Dorothy Jean Mitchell House Charles A. & Genevieve House House Richard & Marie Siegl House Edwin M. & Lorraine Pacholski House Theodore & Lillian Ripple House George Paul & Teckla Dunn House David & Beverly Saewert House Gossen House Walter Radke House Milo C. & Dorothy E. Huckbody House John P. Jr. & Dorothy A. Forst House Dr. Harry F. & Patricia Peck House Thomas & Nancy Grede House Julius & Marian Senzer House Joseph & Katherine Kahn House Howard W. & Eleanor Hilgendorf House Lombardy House Elmer J. & Luella C. Waldschmidt House Moxie & Isabelle George House Dr. Everett J. & Margaret Tomb House Harry P. & Linda Goeritz House B. W. & Lucille H. Heald House Vernon N. & Gladys Waldorf House Edwin G. & Irma Clauss House James P. & Catherine Rice Duplex William F. & Cresent Thalman House Lloyd & Viola Morrisette House G. H. & Margaret L. Hunkel House Arthur J. & Margaret Butzen House Erwin W. & Vida M. Kalt House Jacob & Dorothy Stein House Irwin J. & Amy Kohlwey House Charles & Lilyon Belik House Oscar B. & Irene Dahlberg House E. Arthur & Irene Travis House Clarence A. & Mildred Phillipson House Ernest & Hazel N. Prinz House W. F. & Dorothy Mahlstedt House Frank C. & Rose Sharkey House Clayton G. & Florence Mistele House Hugo F. & Margaret Hoesterman House Dr. Robert & Geraldine Phelan House John P. & Elsie C. Klinkert House Harry W. & Lola Ziemer House George & Agnes Buizeske House

1946 1947 1946 1946 1946 1941 1945 1941 1937 1948 1939 1939 1939 1939 1936 1935 1937 1950 1946 1949 1948 1939 1935 1928 1928 1928 1938 1951 1926 1927 1927 1928 1927 1928 1927 1929 1926 1929 1926 1928 1926 1928 1926 1928 1926 1936 1927 1929 1927 1928

268

5769 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5774 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5775 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5800 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5801 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5806 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5807 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5812 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5813 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5818 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5819 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5822 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5825 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5828 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5829 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5834 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5835 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5838 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5839 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5842 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5845 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5848 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5849 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5854 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5855 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5860 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5861 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5866 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5867 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5901 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5906 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5907 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5913 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5914 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5917 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5918 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5923 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5924 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5928 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5929 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5934 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5935 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5939 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5940 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5945 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5946 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5951 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5952 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5955 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5956 N. Bay Ridge Avenue

Lloyd T. & Hilda Roberton House James & Jean Ramin House Peter Mallory House Arno C. & Mary E. Johnson House Ernest W. & Norma Harthun House Merritt H. & Marguerite G. McCoy House Thomas & Lillian Loignon House Sherman & Lorraine Emorey House Martin & Flora T. Casey House Andrew A. & Clara Hein House J. W. & Fae Richardson House Thomas A. & Helen Nigbor House Frank J. & Viola Bernoski House Don & Gae Gottschalk House Joseph P. & Gertrude O. Godar House Thomas F. & E. Josephine Disher House Rheinhold & Clara Mohr House Milton & Josephine Meissner House Dr. Kenneth F. & Marcella Bergner House Eugen J. & Cleo Collett House John H. Wilson House Floyd E. & Sally Nelson House Edward A. & Gertrude Kuester House Arthur M. & Emma Louise Evans House Fred Schaefer House Warren & Kathryn Podolske House Roger R. & Georgiana Taylor House Robert A. & Julia A. Morton House Edwin A. & Martha R. Jones House Dr. Carl B. & Edna Case House Frank E. & Emma Daniels House Erwin C. & Esther Hemn House Erwin C. & Esther Hemn House Ralph F. & Helen Jerome House Dr. J. E. & Shirley Cahlamer House Allen & Peggy Hall House Harvey D. & Patricia S. Wilmeth House Richard J. & Dorothy Ballman House Conrad & Gertrude Bauer House Jack P. & Liliane O'Neill House Hugo J. & Katherine E. Koenen House Joseph V. & Margaret Kelley House Sheldon W. & Irene M. Kuhns House Fred A. & Jeanne Muth House Willard E. & Mabel E. Miller House Herbert A. & Rugh Beckmann House John F. & Mary Costigan House David B. & Jeanne Stearns House

1927 1947 1936 1939 1936 1926 1926 1930 1926 1934 1926 1929 1938 1929 1929 1945 1927 1929 1929 1928 1947 1927 1937 1938 1937 1927 1927 1949 1936 1936 1927 1935 1927 1929 1927 1927 1946 1945 1949 1946 1927 1927 1927 1947 1926 1942 1937 1929 1945 1947

269

5960 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5961 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5964 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5969 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5970 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5973 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5976 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 5977 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6003 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6009 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6010 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6016 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6017 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6020 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6025 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6028 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6029 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6034 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6035 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6040 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6041 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6048 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6049 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6054 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6055 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6060 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6061 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6068 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6069 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6075 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6100 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6103 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6110 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6115 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6118 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6121 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6128 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6129 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6134 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6135 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6141 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6142 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6149 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6150 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6155 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6156 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6160 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6161 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6166 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6167 N. Bay Ridge Avenue

John J. & Margaret C. Lown House Paul C. & June L. Priebe House Ben B. & Adelline Gotthart House Jerome & Marjorie Donahue House Ben & Adelline Gotthart House Bruce & Eleanor Hanson House Chester S. & Marion E. Bigelow House Gordon & Jean Gile House Russell G. & Evelyn Winnie House R. J. & Florence Baker House H. J. & Adelene Ramaker House Merritt G. & Esther Mitchell House Edward A. & Shirley Miller House Percy G. & Josephine A. Gibson House Lester S. & Elizabeth Clemons House Blanche E. Tufts House Dale J. & Ann Richards House Lester W. & Florence U. Hessler House Bernard H. & Erna Naulin House Dr. William T. & Elizabeth M. House John D. & Lois C. Bird House Walter C. & Ruby Junkerman House J. V. & Mabel Kramer House John J. & Margaret M. Major House George F. & Treva Spinti House Edward J. & Isabel Kirby House Fay B. & Marcella P. Morgan House

Brian & Kaare Lotz House Walter H. & Esther Hansen House Benjamin J. & Marie Cihak House Roger E. & Doris Joys House Dr. Emmett F. & Janet J. Guy House John D. & Jo Swift House Thomas B. & Marcella B. Hurd House Herbert N. & Hilda Pasteur House Paul & Dorothy Hoff House Arthur E. & Anita Liebert House Lloyd F. & Jane Scott House A. L. & Merle M. Skolnik House Edgar H. & Georgia Neyman House Dr. Henry J. & Lucille Halberstadt House Paul A. & Ruby O. Parker House

1938 1938 1929 1945 1935 1950 1931 1945 1936 1947 1934 1931 1937 1929 1935 1931 1931 1935 1931 1940 1930 1935 1930 1928 1930 1941 1929 1938 1930 1935 1935 1930 1930 1950 2002 1930 1935 1928 1929 1934 1938 1941 1936 1929 1934 1929 1947 1929 1941 1929

270

6175 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6200 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6203 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6206 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6211 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6212 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6220 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6228 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6229 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6236 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6237 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6244 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6245 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6250 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6251 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6256 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6257 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6264 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6270 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 6300 N. Bay Ridge Avenue 314 E. Beaumont Avenue 338 E. Beaumont Avenue 510 E. Beaumont Avenue 517 E. Beaumont Avenue 600 E. Beaumont Avenue 606 E. Beaumont Avenue 614 E. Beaumont Avenue 615 E. Beaumont Avenue 620 E. Beaumont Avenue 621 E. Beaumont Avenue 624 E. Beaumont Avenue 629 E. Beaumont Avenue 630 E. Beaumont Avenue 633 E. Beaumont Avenue 634 E. Beaumont Avenue 701 E. Beaumont Avenue 702 E. Beaumont Avenue 707 E. Beaumont Avenue 708 E. Beaumont Avenue 714 E. Beaumont Avenue 715 E. Beaumont Avenue 720 E. Beaumont Avenue 721 E. Beaumont Avenue 726 E. Beaumont Avenue 727 E. Beaumont Avenue 733 E. Beaumont Avenue 734 E. Beaumont Avenue 739 E. Beaumont Avenue 740 E. Beaumont Avenue 745 E. Beaumont Avenue

Arthur G. & Lillian E. Adams House Carl H. & Ruth Wamser House Charles E. & Mabel Kaster House Dr. Kenneth G. & June Nicholson House Richard M. & June Miller House Edwin C. & Doris Hunkel House Nick Georgiady House Kenneth & Genevieve Frank House J. M. & Kathryn Lunney House R. L. & Jane E. Paddock House Ward & Ellen Dunphy House Carl N. & Hildreth Iffert House F. Kenneth & Verna Hinton House Karl & Susan Ekman House Mrs. Max L. Thiermann House J. H. & Marjorie McNeil House Urban R. & Lorraine Wittig House M. H. & Janice A. Simpkins House Gardner & Mary Friedlander House Charles A. Downs House Fred A. & Patricia Lange House Silver Spring Masonic Lodge No. 337 Hampton & Ruth Randolph House Lee E. & Anna Steiner House Howard F. & Julia Haupt House John E. & Katherine B. Schuster House Margaret Dondero House Frank N. & Jessie Hansen House E. A. & Eva Kops House Joseph & Victoria Kaczmarksi House Vernon G. & Audrey Brettman House Emil Matqushek House Halfdan E. & Geneva Pedersen House John J. & Elaine H. Lynch House Richard G. & Virginia Wells House Louis & Manila Best House Charles E. & Pauline Johnson House Nathan H. & Edith Eppstein House Forrest W. & Henrietta Trumpf House Sadie Olson House William F. & Anna C. Host House George W. & Ann Kappes House Horace W. & Marion Hatch House Edward W. & Jesse Moore House

1929 1956 1936 1956 1937 1956 1937 1948 1945 1938 1947 1940 1937 1931 1982 1931 1931 1934 1935 1947 c. 1893 1927 1940 1964 1941 1937 1926 1928 1954 1925 1929 1926 1928 1923 1928 1946 < 1922 1946 1925 1925 1938 1926 1939 1926 1935 1933 1925 1925 c. 1912 1931

271

746 E. Beaumont Avenue 749 E. Beaumont Avenue 805 E. Beaumont Avenue 808 E. Beaumont Avenue 813 E. Beaumont Avenue 819 E. Beaumont Avenue 110 E. Belle Avenue 154 E. Belle Avenue 181 E. Belle Avenue 201 E. Belle Avenue 330 E. Belle Avenue 521 E. Belle Avenue 607 E. Belle Avenue 116 W. Belle Avenue 124 W. Belle Avenue 130 W. Belle Avenue 4706 N. Berkley Boulevard 4720 N. Berkley Boulevard 4751 N. Berkley Boulevard 4759 N. Berkley Boulevard 4801 N. Berkley Boulevard 4833 N. Berkley Boulevard 4834 N. Berkley Boulevard 4839 N. Berkley Boulevard 4840 N. Berkley Boulevard 4845 N. Berkley Boulevard 4857 N. Berkley Boulevard 4968 N. Berkley Boulevard 5006 N. Berkley Boulevard 5020 N. Berkley Boulevard 5035 N. Berkley Boulevard 5040 N. Berkley Boulevard 5059 N. Berkley Boulevard 5060 N. Berkley Boulevard 5074 N. Berkley Boulevard 5075 N. Berkley Boulevard 5100 N. Berkley Boulevard 5107 N. Berkley Boulevard 5115 N. Berkley Boulevard 5116 N. Berkley Boulevard 5122 N. Berkley Boulevard 5130 N. Berkley Boulevard 5131 N. Berkley Boulevard 5137 N. Berkley Boulevard 5143 N. Berkley Boulevard 5165, 5167, 5169 & 5171 N. Berkley Blvd.; 323 E. Henry Clay Street 5166 N. Berkley Boulevard 5200, 5204, 5208 & 5212 N. Berkley Blvd. 5220 N. Berkley Boulevard 5221 N. Berkley Boulevard

John S. & Alma C. Shepherd House Herbert E. & Mary C. Mason House Ray F. & Catherine Kieft House John C. & Marie Backman House McNeil House J. C. & Ilse Tills House Otto J. & Lenore Koch House A. E. & Elizabeth Powell House Frank F. & Margaret T. Banting House J. A. & Evelyn F. Duvall House Benjamin L. & Mildred Elbaum House John N. & Helen Neusworth House S. Lacy & Edna Crolius House Walter J. & Leona A. Wagner House Sylvester A. & Mae Yost House Anthony P. & Josephine A. Heil House George & Henrietta Neu House John H. & Norma B. Schoen House Harold & Hilda Mudge House Ralph E. & Beryl H. Smith House Leonard & Ruth Waltemath House Michael F. & Dolores Evans House Don & Doris Loeffler House Charles R. & Dorothy Hyink House Col. F. & Wilma Cox House Ben & Harriet Oestereich House William R. & Cecilia Wiese House Ray C. Sturm House F. Spies House Walter M. Peters House John W. & Elsie Mueller House Walter M. Peters House Fred & Emma Martens House Walter M. Peters House Walter M. Peters House George E. & Anne Meiroff House William H. & Jean Hirst House William C. & H. Doering House Charles W. & Josephine Tomcheck House Arthur A. & Ursula Riebe House R. D. Trebilcox House Ross O. & Eleanor Hughes House Jacob & Eva Pasch House Wilhelm Luedtke House Helmuth Luedtke House

1928 1928 1929 1928 c. 1904 1935 1935 1926 1940 < 1949 1948 1928 1928 1935 1937 1937 1948 1929 1938 1929 1945 1949 1946 1945 1946 1945 1936 1940 1939 1931 1927 1931 1927 1931 1932 1945 1952 1931 1937 1950 1963 1938 1949 1929 1930 1950 1942 1947 1945 1976

Shoreline Construction Apartment Clarence & Dagmar Sundermeyer House David A. Jr. & Francine Lazovik House

272

5227 N. Berkley Boulevard 5228 N. Berkley Boulevard 5234 N. Berkley Boulevard 5235 N. Berkley Boulevard 5241 N. Berkley Boulevard 5242 N. Berkley Boulevard 5247 N. Berkley Boulevard 5248 N. Berkley Boulevard 5254 N. Berkley Boulevard 5255 N. Berkley Boulevard 5262 N. Berkley Boulevard 5263 N. Berkley Boulevard 5277 N. Berkley Boulevard 5278 N. Berkley Boulevard 5320 N. Berkley Boulevard 5321 N. Berkley Boulevard 5326 N. Berkley Boulevard 5327 N. Berkley Boulevard 5332 N. Berkley Boulevard 5335 N. Berkley Boulevard 5340 N. Berkley Boulevard 5341 N. Berkley Boulevard 5346 N. Berkley Boulevard 5347 N. Berkley Boulevard 5352 N. Berkley Boulevard 5353 N. Berkley Boulevard 5359 N. Berkley Boulevard 5360 N. Berkley Boulevard 5400 N. Berkley Boulevard 5409 N. Berkley Boulevard 5410 N. Berkley Boulevard 5415 N. Berkley Boulevard 5418 N. Berkley Boulevard 5421 N. Berkley Boulevard 5427 N. Berkley Boulevard 5430 N. Berkley Boulevard 5435 N. Berkley Boulevard 5440 N. Berkley Boulevard 5443 N. Berkley Boulevard 5446 N. Berkley Boulevard 5451 N. Berkley Boulevard 5454 N. Berkley Boulevard 5457 N. Berkley Boulevard 5504 N. Berkley Boulevard 5505 N. Berkley Boulevard 5509 N. Berkley Boulevard 5510 N. Berkley Boulevard 5516 N. Berkley Boulevard 5517 N. Berkley Boulevard 5524 N. Berkley Boulevard

Sam Patti House Edgar A. & Ethel Schroeder House Lydia Wollaeger House Anthony J. & Cecelia M. Finke House Harold C. & Pearl A Byrne House Clayton J. & Alice Kemp House William B. & Thelma Kilb House Alvin & Anna Bilda House Sidney G. Larkin House Verner C. & Mary Starner House Archibald & Eleanore O'Connor House Harold C. & Marjorie P. Cheetham House Henry F. & Norma Ziese House Lawrence & Urn Funk House Frank J. & Jane J. Kelley House R. S. & Miriam Underhill House Franklin L. & Betty H. Orth House Max R. & Mildred H. Niederer House

Fred J. & Elvina L. Collins House George W. & Adelline B. Webster House William & Florence E. Wanvig House Edgar & Josephine H. Fuchs House Arthur J. & Agnes Whitcomb House A. F. & Mildred Vanselow House Clarence A. & Dorothy E. Westring House Albert & June W. Sielaff House Ishmaal & Freda Bratt House Verne F. & Ethel C. Hobbs House Joseph & Josephine & Riedy House John L. Fenney House Harvey Earl & Ida Hutton House Herbert M & Thora Schroeder House Dr. Wallace F. & Florence Huber James A. & Florence Cheverton House Sidney & Jessie Goldmann House Edward D. & Hazel Mishelow House I. W. & Lucille Unger House Frank A. & Alice D. Mack House M. H. Mortonson House Bernard & E. Nius House Jack Y. & Seema Waxman House Dr. Frederick J. & Juliarose Oswald House Chauncey L. & Margaret Smith House Lester & Margo Goldschmidt House W. M. & Viola H. Trost House Henry & Loretta Bierman House Herman Jr. & Madeline Bardele House

1939 1928 1936 1937 1936 1949 1937 1947 1941 1936 1928 1928 1937 1935 1928 1941 1935 1935 1941 1930 1927 1935 1937 1930 1929 1928 1935 1935 1935 1935 1940 1929 1938 1928 1937 1932 1934 1941 1935 1940 1940 1939 1941 1947 1950 1933 1950 1935 1953 1933

273

5525 N. Berkley Boulevard 5530 N. Berkley Boulevard 5531 N. Berkley Boulevard 5536 N. Berkley Boulevard 5537 N. Berkley Boulevard 5542 N. Berkley Boulevard 5543 N. Berkley Boulevard 5546 N. Berkley Boulevard 5549 N. Berkley Boulevard 5552 N. Berkley Boulevard 5555 N. Berkley Boulevard 5558 N. Berkley Boulevard 5561 N. Berkley Boulevard 5566 N. Berkley Boulevard 5567 N. Berkley Boulevard 5572 N. Berkley Boulevard 5573 N. Berkley Boulevard 5578 N. Berkley Boulevard 5579 N. Berkley Boulevard 5905 N. Berkley Boulevard 5911 N. Berkley Boulevard 5912 N. Berkley Boulevard 5916 N. Berkley Boulevard 5919 N. Berkley Boulevard 5922 N. Berkley Boulevard 5925 N. Berkley Boulevard 5933 N. Berkley Boulevard 5936 N. Berkley Boulevard 5937 N. Berkley Boulevard 5942 N. Berkley Boulevard 5943 N. Berkley Boulevard 5955 N. Berkley Boulevard 5956 N. Berkley Boulevard 5964 N. Berkley Boulevard 5967 N. Berkley Boulevard 6011 N. Berkley Boulevard 6012 N. Berkley Boulevard 6019 N. Berkley Boulevard 6020 N. Berkley Boulevard 6026 N. Berkley Boulevard 6027 N. Berkley Boulevard 6035 N. Berkley Boulevard 6043 N. Berkley Boulevard 6049 N. Berkley Boulevard 6052 N. Berkley Boulevard 6060 N. Berkley Boulevard 6069 N. Berkley Boulevard 6070 N. Berkley Boulevard 6104 N. Berkley Boulevard 6105 N. Berkley Boulevard

L. Burton & Florence Jenson House John A. & Dorothy Frisch House Gustav Frey House I. F. & Adela Herbes House Charles W. & Eda Valentine House Charles G. & Grace S. Post House Herman & Clara Roth House Frank C. & Marie A. Haupt House Fred J. & Clara L. Reik House Alfred G. & Lillian S. Schulenberg House G. & Marion Willoughby House Lester W. & Alice E. Olson House Walter A. & Myrtle Kasper House Walter Schaller House James S. & Dora Oakley House Clifford & Bessie Bremer House Walter E. Andrews House Neef & Clara Warren House Robert F. & Audrey Sondel House Lester & Grace Arnow House Henry R. & Nancy Wallace House John D. & Rosina Mazurette House James A. & Shirley Mathews House Sal N. & Gladys Serio House George M. & Helen G. Buffet House William J. & Marion Janssen House Lillian Kellogg House Edward T. & Mary McIntyre House David L. & Herta I. Evans House Stuart R. & Eleanor S. Breitwish House E. A. & Lula B. Ryan House Wesley B. & Edna B. Walker House Clarence D. & Viola Moll House Throan T. & Margaret Bakke House Frederick & Anna Grams Hosue Lawrence N. & Evelyn Yolles House Lewis & Helen J. Wargin House Victor E. & Mary Henningsen House Harry J. & Stella Plous House Gerald Toffin House Gerald & Sally Vought House John E. & Margaret Cota House Oscar C. & Mary Gruender House Lawrence & Eloise Evans House Walter E. & Mary Hardtke House Lauren E. Meyers House Thomas A. & Catherine L. Rogers House Edward J. & Marion B. Brumder House John C. & harriett Cleaver House John G. & Florence Wollaeger House

1929 1928 1927 1941 1935 1938 1928 1929 1937 1937 1931 1936 1929 1939 1948 1928 1939 1945 1948 1950 1950 1931 1937 1941 1937 1947 1936 1931 1945 1937 1935 1931 1936 1938 c.1870 1942 1938 1938 1940 1939 1951 1967 1936 1935 1937 1954 1935 1937 1937 1935

274

6111 N. Berkley Boulevard 6116 N. Berkley Boulevard 6122 N. Berkley Boulevard 6123 N. Berkley Boulevard 6130 N. Berkley Boulevard 6135 N. Berkley Boulevard 6141 N. Berkley Boulevard 6144 N. Berkley Boulevard 6150 N. Berkley Boulevard 6151 N. Berkley Boulevard 6158 N. Berkley Boulevard 6161 N. Berkley Boulevard 6175 N. Berkley Boulevard 6226 N. Berkley Boulevard 6242 N. Berkley Boulevard 6258 N. Berkley Boulevard 6266 N. Berkley Boulevard 6300 N. Berkley Boulevard 6301 N. Berkley Boulevard 6310 N. Berkley Boulevard 6311 N. Berkley Boulevard 6316 N. Berkley Boulevard 6323 N. Berkley Boulevard 6326 N. Berkley Boulevard 6329 N. Berkley Boulevard 6335 N. Berkley Boulevard 6336 N. Berkley Boulevard 6343 N. Berkley Boulevard 6353 N. Berkley Boulevard 6360 N. Berkley Boulevard 6361 N. Berkley Boulevard 6364 N. Berkley Boulevard 6367 N. Berkley Boulevard 101 E. Birch Avenue 204 E. Birch Avenue 310 E. Birch Avenue 311 E. Birch Avenue 319 E. Birch Avenue 320 E. Birch Avenue 412 E. Birch Avenue 415 E. Birch Avenue 420 E. Birch Avenue 501 E. Birch Avenue 510 E. Birch Avenue 511 E. Birch Avenue 516 E. Birch Avenue 519 E. Birch Avenue 610 E. Birch Avenue 611 E. Birch Avenue 618 E. Birch Avenue

Roderick W. Jr. & Dorothy McKinnon House Martin J. & Gertrude Price House Geoffrey G. & Edith Maclay House

Dr. Mark T. & Margaret T. Bach House Verner & Margaret Carlson House Alvin & MinLita Zelonky House Norbert J. & Celia Gehl House Dr. Samuel E. & Rita J. Kohn House Harold E. & Mildred Pentler House Dr. Robert H. & Frances S. Feldt House Cecil & Peggy Williams House Mark F. & Florence Johnson House Alfred J. & Esther Koch House Erhard J. & Lois Buettner House Dr. Valorus F. & Charlotte P. Lang House Elwin A. & Florence S. Andrews House William W. & Eleanor Z. Wuesthoff House Walter & Esther Leypoldt House McCutcheon & Margaret J. Powell House Ann H. Meilahn House Dr. S. F. & Kathleen Morgan House Ernst & Doris C. Extrell House Dr. Ralph D. & Elizabeth F. Bergen House Dr. Wilson & Amy Weisel House David L. & Herta I. Evans House Dr. F. G. & Jeanne Gaenslen House Nicholas & Bernice Georgiady House Jerome J. & Cecelia Conway House Caroline Nickel House Alex S. & Selma Gonda House Matthew & Bess Finkler House Emil C. & Margaret E. Olsen House Dr. J. P. & Olga Justin House Howard J. & Caroline M. Martin House Joseph J. & Alice S. Donahue House Frank A. & Alice D. Mack House Louis L. & Bertha Besden House Howard M. & Loraine G. Schudson House

1935 1946 1952 1939 1939 1939 1939 1940 1941 1948 1942 1940 1950 1947 1938 1937 1938 1936 1936 1936 1936 1938 1939 1949 1935 1931 1940 1931 1938 1939 1946 1938 1946 1948 1931 1945 1947 1929 1930 1942 1932 1932 1927 1930 1935 1939 1938 1929 1945 1929

275

619 E. Birch Avenue 626 E. Birch Avenue 627 E. Birch Avenue 805 E. Birch Avenue 809 E. Birch Avenue 814 E. Birch Avenue 815 E. Birch Avenue 817 E. Birch Avenue 820 E. Birch Avenue 823 E. Birch Avenue 826 E. Birch Avenue 827 E. Birch Avenue 832 E. Birch Avenue 833 E. Birch Avenue 836 E. Birch Avenue 840 E. Birch Avenue 843 E. Birch Avenue 844 E. Birch Avenue 848 E. Birch Avenue 849 E. Birch Avenue 855 E. Birch Avenue 856 E. Birch Avenue 863 E. Birch Avenue 869 E. Birch Avenue 875 E. Birch Avenue 881 E. Birch Avenue 889 E. Birch Avenue 895 E. Birch Avenue 127 W. Birch Avenue 130 W. Birch Avenue 1551 E. Blackthorne Place 1559 E. Blackthorne Place 1560 E. Blackthorne Place 1566 E. Blackthorne Place 1567 E. Blackthorne Place 1570 E. Blackthorne Place 1575 E. Blackthorne Place 1576 E. Blackthorne Place 1580 E. Blackthorne Place 1581 E. Blackthorne Place 1601 E. Blackthorne Place 1604 E. Blackthorne Place 1607 E. Blackthorne Place 1608 E. Blackthorne Place 1613 E. Blackthorne Place 1614 E. Blackthorne Place 1621 E. Blackthorne Place 1629 E. Blackthorne Place 700 E. Briarwood Place 701 E. Briarwood Place

Lewis C. & Helene Wiederhold House Arthur C. & Margaret L. Otto House Thomas Russell & Ella G. Westover House William & Mamie Fernholz House Fred & Gudrum Mitchell House Otto & Irene Grigg House Walter H. & Elizabeth John House Harold W. & Edna Connell House Roy O. & Hazel Papenthien House Bernhard & Ruth Seligman House Louis J. & Blanche Larson House Roy Papenthien House Judge Otto & Louise Breidenbach House Ralph Moody House Russell & Barbara Phillips House John & Joan Conroy House Bonoshaw House William Klatte House Dr. Clifford & Marion Groff House Dr. James A. & Ruth R. Logan House William R. & Elizabeth Miller House Arthur J. & Beatrice Schinner House John & Abbie Humphrey House Frank & Annette Chudik House George J. & Irene Hoefs House Laurence & Bertha Morrison House William & Mary Wondrauska House Calvin A. & Margaret Koehring House Ray P. & Irene L. Hiller House Gilbert R. & May A. Heyer House Charles W. & Edna M. Valentine House Robert L. & Ruth Cunningham House J. Charles & Teckla C. Staff House Joseph & Ruth Pereles House Richard J. & Ruth E. Zivney House William H. & Johanna Pfeiffer House Arthur A. & Gertrude Santley House Joseph E. & Josephine Langlois House Forrest J. & Margaret Trumpf House

1930 1941 1948 1928 < 1922 1926 1926 < 1922 1926 1922 1950 1922 1925 1930 1927 1928 1936 c. 1921 1925 1922 1922 1923 1975 1922 1976 c. 1907 c. 1912 c. 1918 1936 1936 1936 1939 1931 1928 1929 1927 1928 1928 1931 1931 1927 1929 1953 1928 1933 1927 1928 1937 c. 1892 1953

276

707 E. Briarwood Place 710 E. Briarwood Place 715 E. Briarwood Place 720 E. Briarwood Place 721 E. Briarwood Place 728 E. Briarwood Place 729 E. Briarwood Place 735 E. Briarwood Place 736 E. Briarwood Place 741 E. Briarwood Place 301 E. Carlisle Avenue 327 E. Carlisle Avenue 330 E. Carlisle Avenue 333 E. Carlisle Avenue 334 E. Carlisle Avenue 339 E. Carlisle Avenue 340 E. Carlisle Avenue 347 E. Carlisle Avenue 348 E. Carlisle Avenue 353 E. Carlisle Avenue 404 E. Carlisle Avenue 500 E. Carlisle Avenue 510 E. Carlisle Avenue 515 E. Carlisle Avenue 516 E. Carlisle Avenue 523 E. Carlisle Avenue 524 E. Carlisle Avenue 530 E. Carlisle Avenue 531 E. Carlisle Avenue 600 E. Carlisle Avenue 601 E. Carlisle Avenue 608 E. Carlisle Avenue 613 E. Carlisle Avenue 616 E. Carlisle Avenue 621 E. Carlisle Avenue 622 E. Carlisle Avenue 627 E. Carlisle Avenue 632 E. Carlisle Avenue 633 E. Carlisle Avenue 637 E. Carlisle Avenue 640 E. Carlisle Avenue 701 E. Carlisle Avenue 704 E. Carlisle Avenue 709 E. Carlisle Avenue 710 E. Carlisle Avenue 716 E. Carlisle Avenue 717 E. Carlisle Avenue 721 E. Carlisle Avenue 722 E. Carlisle Avenue 730 E. Carlisle Avenue

Israel & Zoa Lefebvre House P. R. Stenz House Emil C. & Loraine Weissinger House Ada L. Grider House Joseph & Chloe Weber House Gordon F. & Doris Daggett House John P. Jr. & Helen Koehler House Walter & Margaret Eckers House Val & Anna Schramka House W. K. & Sophia C. Van Pelt House Rudolph H. & Evelyn Mayer House Arthur R. & Mayme A. Boese House John G. & Sadie H. Freeman House Herbert W. & Edna M. Hitchings House Elizabeth G. Marshall House John P. & Margaret J. Bruecker House W. P. & Elizabeth Mueller House Walter S. & Kathryn W. Smith House O. & Millen Cornish House Dr. J. E. & Dolores Gruender House Oscar L. & Grace Nielson House Gerald W. & Ruth E. Bingen House Dr. F. J. & Margaret Zachman House Albert L. & Frieda Mayenshein House Charles P. Huntington House Margaret S. Kenney House Herman P. & Viola Hoffman House Richard E. & Alyx Boehck House S. H. & Phyllis Rhue House Hugo J. & Rose B. Kroetz House Walter J. & Gladys K. Hoffman House Harold Baumgarten House Roy J. & Mary D. Giddings House Edwin & Dora Liepert House Archie H. Macdonald House Edward P. Altemeier House Gary & Carol Gottschalk House Herbert L. & Irene Schultz House Edward J. & Hazel Deguenther House J. E. & Phyllis Ellsworth House Sidney & Phyllis Slocum House Henry C. & Mattie Hettelsater House Leslie & Hilma Oldham House Edward J. & Cornelia A. Froncek House John T. & Genevieve Kenny House David A. & Louise Inez Fox House Dr. J. E. Habbe House

1930 c. 1892 1930 c. 1920 1926 1935 1926 1929 1936 1950 1945 1931 1934 1928 1936 1936 1931 1927 1935 1927 1935 1951 1926 1939 1926 1947 1926 1924 1926 1925 1925 1926 1925 1928 1924 1926 1925 1924 1930 1994 1928 1928 1927 1947 1928 1928 1929 1926 1928 1930

277

100, 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, 126, 128 & 130 E. Chateau Place 115, 117, 119, 121, 123, 125, 127, 129, 131, 133, 135, 137, 139, 141, 143 & 145 E. Chateau Place 132, 134, 136, 138, 140, 142, 144, 146, 148, 150, 152, 154, 156, 158, 160 & 162 E. Chateau Place 164, 166, 168, 170, 172, 174, 176, 178, 200, 202, 204, 206, 208, 210, 212 & 214 E. Chateau Place 216, 218, 220, 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, 232, 234, 236, 238, 240, 242, 244 & 246 E. Chateau Place 501 E. Chateau Place 730 E. Chateau Place 801 E. Chateau Place 824 E. Chateau Place 1301 E. Chateau Place 1351 E. Chateau Place 1604 E. Chateau Place 1700 E. Chateau Place 1712 E. Chateau Place 100, 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, 120, 122, 124, 126, 128 & 130 W. Chateau Place 101, 103, 105, 107, 109, 111, 113, 115, 117, 119, 121, 123, 125, 127, 129 & 131 W. Chateau Place 900 E. Circle Drive 901 E. Circle Drive 906 E. Circle Drive 911 E. Circle Drive 916 E. Circle Drive 921 E. Circle Drive 926 E. Circle Drive 933 E. Circle Drive 934 E. Circle Drive 940 E. Circle Drive 943 E. Circle Drive 949 E. Circle Drive 950 E. Circle Drive 953 E. Circle Drive 958 E. Circle Drive 959 E. Circle Drive 963 E. Circle Drive 968 E. Circle Drive 976 E. Circle Drive 977 E. Circle Drive 980 E. Circle Drive 984 E. Circle Drive

Georgia Building Corporation Apartments Shirley Building Corporation Apartments Helena Building Corporation Apartments Ivy Building Corporation Apartments Joyce Building Corporation Apartments Melvin W. & Ann Stehr House Henry G. & Ruth Bender House Elmer & Olga Abraham House Dr. Frederick E. & Joy Hecker House Isadore I. & Maye G. Skerball House Dr. John L. Jr. & Ethel Callahan House Dr. Chester C. & Loretta Scharfenberg House Shorecliff Apartments Shorecliff Apartments Carriage House Frances Building Corporation Apartments Elizabeth Building Corporation Apartments Mary Uihlein Cunningham House Samuel J. & Ruth Weis House Dr. Eugene J. & Edythe Ackerman House J. M. & Myrtle S. Ettenheim House M. B. & Sadie Ettenheim House

1950 1950 1950 1950 1950 1949 1940 1945 1940 1941 1936 1929 1923 1923 1950 1950 1948 1929 1948 1923 1926 1923 1926 c. 1910 1924 1977 c. 1922 1963 1977 1923 1925 1928 1935 1924 1924 1922 1937 1925

Keith & Dee Miller House Mildred K. Gates House David V. & Judith Crowley House Dr. Jerome A. & Kathleen Mahalick House Thomas & Henrietta Lang House Henry & Viola Blommer House Nelson D. & Barbara Phelps House William R. & Louise Hughes House David W. & Elinor Bloodgood House Paul S. & Margaret E. Grant House

278

987 E. Circle Drive 988 E. Circle Drive 992 E. Circle Drive 996 E. Circle Drive 998 E. Circle Drive 1000 E. Circle Drive 1001 E. Circle Drive 1005 E. Circle Drive 1009 E. Circle Drive 1013 E. Circle Drive 1017 E. Circle Drive 1020 E. Circle Drive 1021 E. Circle Drive 1025 E. Circle Drive 1030 E. Circle Drive 1031 E. Circle Drive 1038 E. Circle Drive 1041 E. Circle Drive 1044 E. Circle Drive 1051 E. Circle Drive 1052 E. Circle Drive 1056 E. Circle Drive 1061 E. Circle Drive 1064 E. Circle Drive 1071 E. Circle Drive 1074 E. Circle Drive 1081 E. Circle Drive 1086 E. Circle Drive 1092 E. Circle Drive 1093 E. Circle Drive 1094 E. Circle Drive 1096 E. Circle Drive 1100 E. Circle Drive 1101 E. Circle Drive 1109 E. Circle Drive 912 E. Colfax Place 934 E. Colfax Place 1018 E. Colfax Place 5666 N. Consaul Place 5677 N. Consaul Place 818 E. Courtland Place 824 E. Courtland Place 830 E. Courtland Place 900 E. Courtland Place 908 E. Courtland Place 914 E. Courtland Place 920 E. Courtland Place 926 E. Courtland Place 1012 E. Courtland Place 1030 E. Courtland Place

Walter & Clara Schranck House Alexander J. & Erra Bauer House

E. Chester & Rose S. Hilgemann House Rose Runzler House

Arthur G. & Elizabeth Gross House Herbert Frank House Stanley & Dorothy Polacheck House Albert J. & Itene L. Schutte House H. & Bee Deinlein House Robert S. Archer House Roger & Helen Clark House Arthur F. & Vivian F. Bues House O. S. & Laura Baier House

Robert E. & Roberta S. Head House Reginald & Frances M. Kenny House M. E. & Marion Newald House Dr. Harry R. & Katherine Foerster House William H. Fromm House Edward John & Florence Hornbach House Mary Chapman House Rich & Julia Hallstrom House Dr. James R. & Helen Gland House Arthur J. & Mary G. Roethe House Adelbert & Anne Rietz House Ray G. & Audrey M. Jansen House Wayne & Susan Painter House Paul E. & Marguerite Friedrich House Gustav & Phyllis Sokol House John G. & Patsy Quale House Ervin & Margaret Kehl House Van W. & Audrey Burris House Lyman K. & Nancy Shepard House J. O. & Madeline Christian House Arthur W. & Lilian Gauger House Thomas J. Sr. & Violet C. Simon House

Dr. Charles L. & Shirley Weisenthal House

1927 1929 < 1922 c. 1919 1923 1925 1924 1924 1922 1925 1923 1923 1928 1928 1928 1928 1929 1925 1926 1936 1923 1924 1964 1925 1928 1925 c. 1920 1928 1927 1924 1927 1972 < 1922 1927 1923 1945 1941 1963 1931 1931 1948 1947 1948 1945 1940 1938 1938 1939 1939 1962

279

1100 E. Courtland Place 1101 E. Courtland Place 1106 E. Courtland Place 1107 E. Courtland Place 1111 E. Courtland Place 1112 E. Courtland Place 1118 E. Courtland Place 1119 E. Courtland Place 1124 E. Courtland Place 1200 E. Courtland Place 1206 E. Courtland Place 1211 E. Courtland Place 1212 E. Courtland Place 1218 E. Courtland Place 1221 E. Courtland Place 1224 E. Courtland Place 1230 E. Courtland Place 1231 E. Courtland Place 1236 E. Courtland Place 1242 E. Courtland Place 1301 E. Courtland Place 1413 E. Courtland Place 1419 E. Courtland Place 1425 E. Courtland Place 4512 N. Cramer Street 4513 N. Cramer Street 4520 N. Cramer Street 4521 N. Cramer Street 4524 N. Cramer Street 4525 N. Cramer Street 4529 N. Cramer Street 4530 N. Cramer Street 4534 N. Cramer Street 4535 N. Cramer Street 4540 N. Cramer Street 4541 N. Cramer Street 4600 N. Cramer Street 4606 N. Cramer Street 4607 N. Cramer Street 4613 N. Cramer Street 4614 N. Cramer Street 4619 N. Cramer Street 4625 N. Cramer Street 4626 N. Cramer Street 4633 N. Cramer Street 4634 N. Cramer Street 4645 N. Cramer Street 4709 N. Cramer Street 4715 N. Cramer Street 4720 N. Cramer Street

Joseph H. & Blanche L. Swerdloff House Herbert A. & Myrtle L. Froemming House Ben M. & Jen Wexler House Henry Gottschalk House Charles C. & Gladys Bartlett House Harry J. & Florence Grinstein House Joseph & Cecelia Yampol House J. Herbert & Alberta Stone House Stanley & Dorothy Olyniec House George & Alice Coplin House Jack C. & Rhea Silbermann House George E. Morse House Irving M. & Minnie Coplin House Nathan P. & Miriam Breslauer House P. Y. & Reene Tumy House Samuel & Faythe Schuminsky House Donald R. Jr. & Barbara Lynch House W. E. & Grace Richter House Monroe S. & Betty Slavick House Al & Claire Willis House Jerome D. & Jane Hirsch House Clyde W. & Elizabeth W. Gallup House E. B. & Edith Garrison House Joe & Edith Gould House Henry L. & Eleanor L. Arnold House Charles S. & Carol Middleman House Aleda Nickel House Rufus E. & Lois Arndt House Frank F. & Lydia Callath House M. Clark & Edythe Wakefield House Jennings & Pearl A. Murphy House T. D. & Dorothea G. Montgomery House Edwin I. & Rose Goodman House Harrison C. & Leah S. Hardie House Norbert & Martha G. Klein House George L. & Carol R. Anderson House Richard S. & Julia Caldwell House

Samuel & Rose Rosenberg House Harry E. & Ann S. Stanz House Llyod L. & Jessie Cook House George & Margaret Landis House Milton & Nancy Bass House Olaf T. Rove House F. W. & Harriet Luening House Victor & Jennie Reckmeyer House

1941 1941 1949 1941 1941 1946 1957 1940 1941 1941 1941 1940 1941 1942 1940 1949 1950 1941 1948 1951 1950 1929 1954 1952 1948 1924 1928 1932 1925 1928 1951 1928 1927 1947 1925 1926 1925 1928 1924 1983 1931 1925 1936 1939 1925 1955 1927 1927 1936 1930

280

4723 N. Cramer Street 4730 N. Cramer Street 4731 N. Cramer Street 4739 N. Cramer Street 4743 N. Cramer Street 4749 N. Cramer Street 4757 N. Cramer Street 4765 N. Cramer Street 4773 N. Cramer Street 4778 N. Cramer Street 4781 N. Cramer Street 4786 N. Cramer Street 4789 N. Cramer Street 4792 N. Cramer Street 4795 N. Cramer Street 1550 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1551 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1555 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1562 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1569 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1570 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1578 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1579 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1584 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1585 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1600 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1601 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1608 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1609 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1614 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1615 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1620 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1621 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1628 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1629 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1700 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1703 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1712 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1715 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1722 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1723 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1728 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1729 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1820 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1825 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1901 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1908 E. Cumberland Boulevard 1924 E. Cumberland Boulevard 2011 E. Cumberland Boulevard 2055 E. Cumberland Boulevard

Augusta F. Heyer House Carl & Florence Mahnke House Maurice & Nell Weinstein House Dr. B Urdan House William F. Jr. & Virginia Kachel House Dr. Michael W. & Louise Shutkin House Armin & Frieda Finger House Dr. Leo M. & Gertrude Boxer House Edward J. & Mary Cunningham House R. Walter & Janice Gross House Norman & Natalie Soref House LeRoy & Stella Segall House Clarence & Beatrice Veit House Lawrence R. & Martha P. Riesen House Leslie G. & Ruth Keller House Clarence J. & Evelyn K. Busch House Elmer H. & Ruby B. Grootemaat House Paul J. & Madeline D. Schwietering House Curt A. & Florence B. Claus House Louis & Emma Ramsthal House William & Bernice Doll House Herman O. & Elvina Giljohann House Joseph A. & Ella M. Weber House Dr. J. A. Englander House Russell A. & Odessa Clark House Rich P. & Marion Tinkham House Clair P. & Florence S. Nourse House Ray P. & Irene L. Hiller House Phillip G. & Sarah Jacobson House William & Ida Temkin House Fred F. & Marie Hatcher House Clarence J. & Frances Grootemaat House Fred A. & Christine B. Harrison House Arthur G. & Marie Koch House Harry A. & Aurie J. Bendfelt House Harry & Cora Gwaltney House Charles B. & Meredith H. Bennett House Irving & Adrienne Zwern House David P. & Bess Becker House Robert E. & Ann Pereles House Alfred A. & Gertrude Lienemann House J. H. & Belle Berke House Andrew R. & Irene W. Meyers House John E. & Gertrude E. Schroeder House

Irving C. & Arline Buntman House

1929 1947 1948 1939 1949 1936 1929 1952 1931 1950 1931 1953 1939 1941 1940 1927 1931 1928 1927 1938 1929 1929 1931 1931 1926 1926 1931 1928 1929 1927 1929 1929 1929 1929 1926 1929 1929 1931 1926 1952 1937 1952 1955 1952 1940 1947 1928 1930 1939 1951

281

4701 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4704 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4707 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4713 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4716 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4717 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4723 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4732 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4733 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4740 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4741 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4745 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4746 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4751 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4752 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4759 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4762 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4765 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4768 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4773 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4776 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4777 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4781 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4782 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4787 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4790 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4797 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4800 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4811 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4819 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4820 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4825 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4826 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4832 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4833 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4838 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4839 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4844 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4845 & 4847 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4848 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4853 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4854 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4859 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4860 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4863 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4866 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4869 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4872 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4875 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4903 N. Cumberland Boulevard

Joseph M & Yetta G. Schutkin House Frances Smith House Carl W. & Anna T. Faas House Henry G. & Elma C. Barelman House Lewis F. & Minnie F. Schoenwetter House

Roy W. & Ruth Vondette House Victor F. & Mildred V. Braun House Otto & Minnie L. Schwann House Fred K. & Hazel Breithaupt House Charles G. & Edna Bach House Henry F. & Hattie Gehring House Dr. Bert E. & Winifred B. Hewitt House Frank J. & Cora Zens House Albert J. & Marguirite Beckman House Nathan & Pearl Berkowitz House Louis M. & Ella M. Kornreich House Clarence P. & Norma Schwister House Gordon J. & Viola A. Bell House Samuel L. & Lillian Schefrin House Thomas J. & Elizabeth M. Boehm House Charles I. & Isabelle R. Foster House Walter G. Truettner House Le Roy L. & Thea LaBudde House H. & Rose Forman House The Concrete Demonstration House / Dar & Jeanne Vriesman House Robert H. & Rita Lorenz House J. Louis Wolff House Ira S. & Louise W. Lorenz House William R. & Josephine M. Sassmann House John Kohlmetz House A. L. & Barbara Hentzen House Herbert T. Pegge House Roy S. Strickler House Sydney M. & Helen F. Greve House Benjamin M. Weis Company Duplex Arthur K. & Lydia E. Schwartzbeck House August J. & Meta E. Weber House Arthur & Alby Snapper House Raymond J. & Mercedes Weik House Edward J. Meyer House Nelson B. Nelson House William J. & Margaret Bayer House John & Harriet Patterson House William F. & Faye Matras House Dr. David V. & Dorothy Elconin House Celm & Fawn C. Kalvelage House

1928 1940 1928 1929 1928 1930 1924 1928 1928 1928 1929 1928 1931 1928 1949 1929 1950 1928 1928 1930 1936 1938 1928 1928 1928 1928 1947 1940 1953 c. 1920 1924 1938 1934 < 1890 1966 c. 1919 c. 1909 1927 1926 1928 1929 1929 1929 1934 1932 1936 1929 1936 1936 1928

282

4906 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4907 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4908 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4914 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4915 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4921 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4922 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4926 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4929 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4930 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4939 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4940 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4943 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4944 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4952 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4953 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4958 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4959 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4964 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4965 N. Cumberland Boulevard 4971 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5000 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5003 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5008 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5009 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5014 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5015 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5019 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5022 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5025 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5026 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5033 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5034 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5040 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5041 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5049 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5055 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5061 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5067 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5075 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5078 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5101 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5109 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5117 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5125 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5131 & 5133 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5137 & 5139 N. Cumberland Boulevard 5456 N. Danbury Road 5461 N. Danbury Road 5464 N. Danbury Road

Mrs. H. G. Heubert House Jarry D. & Virginia A. Hughes House Frank J. & Mathilda Pelich House Paul C. & Helen Downey House Frank & Anna Hopp House Mark J. & Margaret L. Bach House William P. & Orphie Mead House Edward A. & Frances Segall House Reinhold & Fanita Schemel House Stanley & Marion P. Evans House John A. & Harriet Eifert House Morgan P. & Magdalen H. White House Harry C. & Pearl Larson House Fred A. & Pauline Mollis House Paul P. & Frances M. Stothart House Oscar P. & Veronica Dunker House Erwin L. & Alma L. Giljohann House Joseph F. & Marjorie Adams House Gertrude Homp House Robert & Evangeline Rendenbach House Nat H. & Edith Eppstein House Arthur H. & Nancy T. Ely House Carl & Norrine Lipman House Dale M. & Esther C. Perrill House

Lawrence N. & Agnes Schmitt House Vern K. & Mary L. Bynton House Martha Klein House Ralph A. & Marion Uihlein House Herbert H. & Anna M. Frey House William A. & Irene Ouweneel House Ray H. & Henrietta Fantl House Ralph A. & Iva A. Chamberlin House

Jack J. & Carrie F. Horwitz House Clarence H. & Lorene Mueller Duplex Fred & Helen Deutsche Duplex Nora I. Meahan House Allen Barfield Duplex

1927 1929 1925 1926 1926 1924 1929 1926 1934 1926 1930 1925 1924 1926 1927 1928 1925 1927 1928 1936 1930 1931 1931 1931 1931 1927 1931 1930 1928 1930 1930 1930 1931 1926 1930 1932 1929 1931 1949 1931 1928 1930 1934 1926 1936 1926 1926 1925 1924 c. 1920

283

5469 N. Danbury Road 5475 N. Danbury Road 5481 N. Danbury Road 5489 N. Danbury Road 5501 N. Danbury Road 5509 N. Danbury Road 5510 N. Danbury Road 5515 N. Danbury Road 5525 N. Danbury Road 129 E. Day Avenue 207 E. Day Avenue 333 E. Day Avenue 415 E. Day Avenue 418 E. Day Avenue 506 E. Day Avenue 507 E. Day Avenue 513 E. Day Avenue 516 E. Day Avenue 523 E. Day Avenue 524 E. Day Avenue 531 E. Day Avenue 601 E. Day Avenue 607 E. Day Avenue 608 E. Day Avenue 615 E. Day Avenue 616 E. Day Avenue 621 E. Day Avenue 624 E. Day Avenue 629 E. Day Avenue 639 E. Day Avenue 700 E. Day Avenue 708 E. Day Avenue 711 E. Day Avenue 716 E. Day Avenue 717 E. Day Avenue 723 E. Day Avenue 726 E. Day Avenue 732 E. Day Avenue 738 E. Day Avenue 740 E. Day Avenue 746 E. Day Avenue 752 E. Day Avenue 101 E. Devon Street 4718 N. Diversey Boulevard 4744 N. Diversey Boulevard 4745 N. Diversey Boulevard 4760 N. Diversey Boulevard 4764 N. Diversey Boulevard 4765 N. Diversey Boulevard 4768 N. Diversey Boulevard

George & Anna Wells House Frederic & Marie F. Sammond House A. P. & Marguerite H. Bertschy House Ernest C. & Amy F. Wilson House Ray C. Crab House Henry & Betty Keleske House Charles & Minnie Behm House Vincent A. & Mary Pacholski House Lee Green House Charles A. & Helena M. La Prairie House Austin A. & Dorothy Petersen House Caroline Merz House W. H. Goodall House Frederick & Eleanor Thuemler House Emma F. Barlow House

Robert McAllister House L. L. Disbro House Clarence & Cora Powers House Frank E. & Ruth G. Baker House Edgar G. & Lucy L. Plautz House Otto J. & Irene M. Hoff House A. Cressy Morrison House Edward R. & Silvia Droppers House Mary H. Richardson House Alonzo Fowle House Woernecke House Benjamin A. Keikhofer House Maria Gether House H. K. & Alice Curtis House Miner R. & Margaret Rosman House Herbert Kinne House Paul E. & Kathryn Frank House Frank W. Baltes House C. Robert Gether House H. Stanley & Anna Geddes House Glendale Realty Company Cottage Robert A. Viall House James J. Perkins House James R. Gregg House Arthur J. & Helen Mueller House Charles D. & Polly Rankins House William J. & Emma O'Connor House Frank & Mary Eaton House Hubert F. & Laura Geimer House Harold & Marguerite Heiting House Elmer B. & Hellen Jenkins House Lawrence & Jeanne Pollin House

1927 1928 1926 1926 c. 1910 1976 1927 1926 1930 1927 1935 1930 c. 1896 1950 c. 1896 c. 1921 c. 1922 1923 1923 c. 1892 c. 1893 1928 1936 1927 c. 1897 1951 1923 c. 1892 c. 1916 1922 1924 c. 1892 1926 c. 1892 1959 c. 1893 c. 1892 1925 c. 1890 c. 1922 c. 1896 < 1895 1940 1936 1940 1946 1946 1950 1931 1947

284

4875 N. Diversey Boulevard 4906 N. Diversey Boulevard 4942 N. Diversey Boulevard 4954 N. Diversey Boulevard 4955 N. Diversey Boulevard 4958 N. Diversey Boulevard 5015 N. Diversey Boulevard 5032 N. Diversey Boulevard 5035 N. Diversey Boulevard 5038 N. Diversey Boulevard 5053 N. Diversey Boulevard 5059 N. Diversey Boulevard 5113 N. Diversey Boulevard 5121 N. Diversey Boulevard 5131 N. Diversey Boulevard 5156 N. Diversey Boulevard 5220 N. Diversey Boulevard 5221 N. Diversey Boulevard 5228 N. Diversey Boulevard 5229 N. Diversey Boulevard 5234 N. Diversey Boulevard 5235 N. Diversey Boulevard 5241 N. Diversey Boulevard 5242 N. Diversey Boulevard 5249 N. Diversey Boulevard 5250 N. Diversey Boulevard 5255 N. Diversey Boulevard 5256 N. Diversey Boulevard 5261 N. Diversey Boulevard 5262 N. Diversey Boulevard 5267 N. Diversey Boulevard 5304 N. Diversey Boulevard 5305 N. Diversey Boulevard 5311 N. Diversey Boulevard 5312 N. Diversey Boulevard 5320 N. Diversey Boulevard 5321 N. Diversey Boulevard 5326 N. Diversey Boulevard 5327 N. Diversey Boulevard 5332 N. Diversey Boulevard 5335 N. Diversey Boulevard 5340 N. Diversey Boulevard 5341 N. Diversey Boulevard 5346 N. Diversey Boulevard 5347 N. Diversey Boulevard 5352 N. Diversey Boulevard 5353 N. Diversey Boulevard 5359 N. Diversey Boulevard 5360 N. Diversey Boulevard 5400 N. Diversey Boulevard

J. W. Sidney & Esther Gallagher House Edwin & Florence Blech House Chester & Ruth Birch House Joe T. & Ethel Scoufis House William & Viola B. Kessler House

Louis & Agnes Zaunfauchs House Raymond N. & Alice M. Hawkins House Dr. Norval & Thyra McKittrick House Alfred & Edna Hennei House

Harry E. & Edith Dzemske House Alfred A. & Lydia A. Schmitt House William R. & Sylvia Duwe House Charles G. & Lena M. Matthias House Henry W. & Ruth Schultz House Donald P. & Nancy Hoffmann House Walter G. & Marjorie G. Muth House M. & Mildred P. Foster House David R. & Lillian Lepper House Barbara K. Beck House Mortimer J. & Eulane Thompson House Walter & Lilly Cooper House Joseph E. & Ouida Zwisler House Allen S. & Phyllis Zien House H. & Elaine Bachman House Dr. G. H. & Alice Pugh House Herbert & Mildred Korth House Willard R. & Dorothy Hansen House John B. & Florence M. O'Brien House Thomas B. & Patricia Trump House Henry & Helen Turrie House Al J. & Esther Koch House Anton N. & Helen Johnson House J. R. & Gladys Shannon House Wilson A. & Gertrude C. Dallmann House Charles H. & Margaret Rose House Irwin A. & Clara E. McIntyre House Ralph H. & Elenora Petersen House Emil J. & Theresa Nelson House John S. & Jessie Wetzler House

1948 1950 1950 1928 1930 1939 1939 1928 1939 1927 1938 1938 1926 1931 1930 1931 1928 1947 1935 1931 1931 1948 1928 1926 1927 1931 1939 1938 1929 1947 1950 1950 1933 1941 1930 1935 1928 1941 1935 1929 1930 1928 1927 1930 1937 1935 1931 1931 1932 1947

285

5401 N. Diversey Boulevard 5408 N. Diversey Boulevard 5409 N. Diversey Boulevard 5414 N. Diversey Boulevard 5415 N. Diversey Boulevard 5420 N. Diversey Boulevard 5423 N. Diversey Boulevard 5426 N. Diversey Boulevard 5431 N. Diversey Boulevard 5432 N. Diversey Boulevard 5435 N. Diversey Boulevard 5449 N. Diversey Boulevard 5504 N. Diversey Boulevard 5505 N. Diversey Boulevard 5518 N. Diversey Boulevard 5519 N. Diversey Boulevard 5524 N. Diversey Boulevard 5525 N. Diversey Boulevard 5530 N. Diversey Boulevard 5531 N. Diversey Boulevard 5536 N. Diversey Boulevard 5537 N. Diversey Boulevard 5542 N. Diversey Boulevard 5543 N. Diversey Boulevard 5548 N. Diversey Boulevard 5549 N. Diversey Boulevard 5554 N. Diversey Boulevard 5555 N. Diversey Boulevard 5560 N. Diversey Boulevard 5561 N. Diversey Boulevard 5566 N. Diversey Boulevard 5567 N. Diversey Boulevard 5572 N. Diversey Boulevard 5573 N. Diversey Boulevard 5578 N. Diversey Boulevard 5579 N. Diversey Boulevard 4741 N. Elkhart Avenue 4798 N. Elkhart Avenue 4829 N. Elkhart Avenue 4848 N. Elkhart Avenue 4864 N. Elkhart Avenue 4865 N. Elkhart Avenue 4870 N. Elkhart Avenue 4907 N. Elkhart Avenue 4912 N. Elkhart Avenue 4913 N. Elkhart Avenue 4919 N. Elkhart Avenue 4924 N. Elkhart Avenue 4925 N. Elkhart Avenue 4930 N. Elkhart Avenue

C. Justus & Jane Scheibel House Harold J. & Fern Clark Schaper House Edward & Irma Losse House Clarence W. & Edna E. Genske House Richard & Olga Johnson House Dr. Fred A. & Josephine Kretlow House Elmer J. & Alice Radmer House A. J. Braun House John G. & Irene H. Strachota House A. C. Adams House Osbert S. & Elizabeth Burke House Dr. Elmer C. & Gretchen M. Pinter House Frank A. & Anne Malloy House Mrs. Pauline Treis House LeRoy H. & Martha Brown House James L. & Imelda Crowley House Walter C. & Lucille Monroe House A. W. & Ethel F. Vogt House Edwind D. & Adele Hinton House Arthur L. & Ruby Redeen House Francis P. & Florence Reilly House K. E. & Lulu May Major House Marshall & Eleanor Bautz House Helen Toman House Edwin W. F. & Mary Jane Hanke House Anthony J. Jr. & Ruth Gahn House Peter F. & Christene Hansen House Ervin & Ethel Preuss House Henry W. & Loretta Bierman House B. F. & Clare Otto House Rodney & Arlene Tutsch House James E. & Myrna Keene House Leonard Gordon & Naomi Cramer House Monte F. & Patricia Huebsch House Leonard L. & Mary Minash House Edward Leopold House Henry O. & Mary A. Walters House Dr. William E. & Elizabeth DeMakes House Donald & Mildred Hamilton House E. R. & Clara A. Beyatt House Joseph E. & Ruth Sullivan House Charles H. & Dorothy E. Galin House C. Morgan & Irene Curtis House John G. & Florence Wollager House

1936 1928 1928 1940 1947 1940 1947 1929 1936 1932 1931 1937 1932 1932 1928 1929 1941 1930 1931 1928 1931 1930 1931 1930 1931 1935 1941 1938 1951 1926 1941 1945 1941 1949 1973 1945 1939 1950 1946 1936 1936 1938 1946 1940 1942 1938 1938 1941 1937 1941

286

4941 N. Elkhart Avenue 4948 N. Elkhart Avenue 4954 N. Elkhart Avenue 4968 N. Elkhart Avenue 4969 N. Elkhart Avenue 5013 N. Elkhart Avenue 5026 N. Elkhart Avenue 5036 N. Elkhart Avenue 5041 N. Elkhart Avenue 5048 N. Elkhart Avenue 5075 N. Elkhart Avenue 5100 N. Elkhart Avenue 5106 N. Elkhart Avenue 5109 N. Elkhart Avenue 5112 N. Elkhart Avenue 5113 N. Elkhart Avenue 5123 N. Elkhart Avenue 5126 N. Elkhart Avenue 5130 N. Elkhart Avenue 5134 N. Elkhart Avenue 5141 N. Elkhart Avenue 5167, 5169 & 5171 N. Elkhart Avenue; 729 & 733 E. Henry Clay Street 101, 103, 105, 107, 117, 119, 121, 123, 125, 127, 129 & 131 E. Fairmount Avenue 109, 111, 113 & 115 E. Fairmount Avenue 133, 135, 137 & 139 E. Fairmount Avenue 141, 143, 145, 147, 157, 159, 161, 163, 165, 167, 169 & 171 E. Fairmount Avenue 149, 151, 153 & 155 E. Fairmount Avenue 173 E. Fairmount Avenue 175 E. Fairmount Avenue 177 E. Fairmount Avenue 179 E. Fairmount Avenue 181 E. Fairmount Avenue 183 E. Fairmount Avenue 185 E. Fairmount Avenue 187 E. Fairmount Avenue 189 E. Fairmount Avenue 191 E. Fairmount Avenue 193 E. Fairmount Avenue 195 E. Fairmount Avenue 197 E. Fairmount Avenue 199 E. Fairmount Avenue 201 E. Fairmount Avenue 203 E. Fairmount Avenue 630 E. Fairmount Avenue 701 E. Fairmount Avenue 1200 E. Fairmount Avenue 1401 E. Fairmount Avenue 1501 E. Fairmount Avenue

Ray & Harriet Heyse House Orville & Carolyn D. Gesell House Rex M. & Dorothy E. Christensen House Ray T. & Dorothy E. Christenson House Henry A. & Helen Sipowiski House Nicolas & Marie Adams House Ernest H. & Esther H. Berger House Edwin & Katherine Kuhn House Walter A. & Lilith S. Wadsworth House Harry E. & Mae M. Albrecht House Arthur A. & Bertha Nickel House George L. & Verona E. Gavin House Lorne R. & Helen R. Innes House Albert & Margaret Freeman House Eric W. & Josephine A. Ramey House Allen E. & Grace Olson House Victor & Catherine Beyer House Alfred C. & Dorothy Schardt House Melvin & Lula Reynolds House Charles Sturm House Hopkins Richelieu Store Building Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Bay Lawn Apartments Elroy & Alice Dohmeyer House S. D. Surlow House Whitefish Bay High School Howard & Sandra Karsh House Alfred A. & Gertrude Lienemann House

1946 1941 1941 1940 1948 1927 1926 1927 1929 1929 1926 1929 1929 1926 1928 1929 1925 1925 1925 1938 c. 1903 1929 1948 1948 1948 1948 1948 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1949 1945 1949 1929 1968 1961

287

1540 E. Fairmount Avenue 1555 E. Fairmount Avenue 707 E. Fleetwood Place 715 E. Fleetwood Place 4515 N. Frederick Avenue 4517 N. Frederick Avenue 4524 N. Frederick Avenue 4525 N. Frederick Avenue 4530 N. Frederick Avenue 4531 N. Frederick Avenue 800 E. Glen Avenue 801 & 803 E. Glen Avenue 806 E. Glen Avenue 815 E. Glen Avenue 816 E. Glen Avenue 825 E. Glen Avenue 828 E. Glen Avenue 829 E. Glen Avenue 839 E. Glen Avenue 840 E. Glen Avenue 845 E. Glen Avenue 858 E. Glen Avenue 861 E. Glen Avenue 1811 E. Glendale Avenue 1821 E. Glendale Avenue 1824 E. Glendale Avenue 1915 E. Glendale Avenue 1916 E. Glendale Avenue 1925 E. Glendale Avenue 2012 E. Glendale Avenue 2015 E. Glendale Avenue 2020 E. Glendale Avenue 2023 E. Glendale Avenue 2033 E. Glendale Avenue 2034 E. Glendale Avenue 2101 E. Glendale Avenue 2111 E. Glendale Avenue 2121 E. Glendale Avenue 2201 E. Glendale Avenue 2207 E. Glendale Avenue 2211 E. Glendale Avenue 2215 E. Glendale Avenue 2221 E. Glendale Avenue 2227 E. Glendale Avenue 2300 E. Glendale Avenue 2301 E. Glendale Avenue 2309 E. Glendale Avenue 2310 E. Glendale Avenue 2321 E. Glendale Avenue 317 E. Hampton Road

Fred & Fannie Hirsch House Bols House Joseph Patza House Lewis & Neva Herzog House August John & Martha Kaestner House Morris & Selma Fromkin House C. T. & Emily Kern House Paul G. & Marie L. Boemer House B. F. & Eva Tellkamp House Martin & Caroline Safranek Duplex John N. & Marcia Brushingham House

Hoeffner House

William Fritzke House Edgar H. & Emma Wilson House Chester J. & Estelle Grobben House Lawrence M. & Loraine D. Billerbeck House Oscar & Winogene Kirchner House Bertram A. & Hetwig Miller House William & Meta Van Altena House Carrie Gebhardt House Ferdinand & Amanda Schmidt House Jeanne Dubort House Fred W. & Catharine Raber House Herbert & Mildred Pritzlaff House Carl A. & Rose F. Houlton House Edward H. & Frances Borgelt House Jack & Lillian La Kam House James B. & Lucille Croke House Dr. David & Margaret Wenstrand House Kenneth R. & Carolyn Snyder House Jack H. & Anne Kamins House Harry A. & Anne Epstein House Dr. Edward Harvey & Sally J. Tashkin House James R. & Claire Dougherty House Dr. Joel E. Fannie Taxman House Perce G. & Natalie Schley House William & Ella Thompson House Elbert S. & Margaret Hartwick House

1949 c. 1909 c. 1910 1940 1966 1925 1941 1924 1937 1929 1940 1926 1928 1924 1930 1923 c. 1900 1923 < 1922 c. 1895 1923 1936 1926 1946 1927 1926 1937 1925 1949 1927 1931 1923 1929 1926 1937 1940 1949 1949 1941 1946 1950 1951 1948 1946 1940 1954 1940 1947 1940 1945

288

400 E. Hampton Road 406 E. Hampton Road 407 E. Hampton Road 412 E. Hampton Road 433 E. Hampton Road 506 E. Hampton Road 525 E. Hampton Road 601 E. Hampton Road 624 E. Hampton Road 700 E. Hampton Road 811 E. Hampton Road 818 E. Hampton Road 824 E. Hampton Road 900 E. Hampton Road 908 E. Hampton Road 923 E. Hampton Road 928 E. Hampton Road 1000 E. Hampton Road 1009 E. Hampton Road 1015 E. Hampton Road 1035 E. Hampton Road 1200 E. Hampton Road 1426 E. Hampton Road 1505 E. Hampton Road 1520 E. Hampton Road 1530 E. Hampton Road 1531 E. Hampton Road 1550 E. Hampton Road 1562 E. Hampton Road 1605 E. Hampton Road 1630 E. Hampton Road 1631 E. Hampton Road 1727 E. Hampton Road 1728 E. Hampton Road 1800 E. Hampton Road 1810 E. Hampton Road 1820 E. Hampton Road 1830 E. Hampton Road 1951 E. Hampton Road 115 E. Henry Clay Street 208 E. Henry Clay Street 226 E. Henry Clay Street 318 E. Henry Clay Street 323 E. Henry Clay Street; 5165, 5167, 5169 & 5171 N. Berkley Boulevard 401 E. Henry Clay Street 412, 418 & 424 E. Henry Clay Street 512, 518 & 524 E. Henry Clay Street 600 E. Henry Clay Street 601 E. Henry Clay Street; 5168 & 5170 N. Hollywood Avenue

Ludwig & Rosa Leu House Lawrence & Adelaide Mohr House Orval & Beatrice Meister House Robert P. & Connie Nigbor House Eugene & Ann Swaney House Kenneth & Ellyn Stuhmer House Frank & May Oed House August & Hattie Schroeder House Eugene & June Kraus House Joseph & Frances Spitz House George J. & Shirley Becker House Roy P. & Ina M. Schroedel House Ray & Helen Hamilton House Charles R. & Florence Walker House Gerald D. & Sally Vought House Dr. Norval W. & Thyra McKittrick House Frank Zygarlowski House Arthur H. & Lillian Gauger House Nathan & Ida Jacobs House Bay Shore Evangelical Lutheran Church Hirsh J. & Jacqueline Kravit House Edward A. & Ada E. Robinson House George & Aline Schutt House A. & Hedwig Bertram House Louis & Emma Reuter House Alma Ament House Benjamin & Lillian LaKam House Gilbert C. & Lois Gettelman House Gustave Jr. & Elizabeth Kletsch House George E. & Meta Ballhorn House Julius H. & Emilie Gugler House George H. & Susanne H. Salentine House Morris J. & Esta Okrent House Robert B. & Virginia Williams House Orrin & Christine Friedel House

c. 1886 1932 1952 1951 1951 1940 1936 1948 1947 1950 1951 1945 1946 1939 1938 1947 1942 1930 1941 1941 1948 1948 1954 1947 1928 1949 1940 1926 1926 1953 1941 1949 1939 1925 1927 1924 1924 1927 1951 1944 1932 1947 1947 1950 1942 1949 1949 < 1964 1927

Whitefish Bay Womens Club Clubhouse Peiper Food Shop Building

289

611, 617 & 623 E. Henry Clay Street 700 E. Henry Clay Street 712 E. Henry Clay Street 718, 726 & 734 E. Henry Clay Street 725 E. Henry Clay Street 729 & 733 E. Henry Clay Street; 5167, 5169 & 5171 N. Elkhart Avenue 820, 826 & 834 E. Henry Clay Street 840 E. Henry Clay Street 909 E. Henry Clay Street 919 & 929 E. Henry Clay Street; 5165 N. Marlborough Drive 1009 E. Henry Clay Street 1013 & 1015 E. Henry Clay Street 1212 E. Henry Clay Street 1218 E. Henry Clay Street 1305 E. Henry Clay Street 1400 E. Henry Clay Street 1500 E. Henry Clay Street 132 W. Henry Clay Street 4711 N. Hollywood Avenue 4715 N. Hollywood Avenue 4743 N. Hollywood Avenue 4754 N. Hollywood Avenue 4766 N. Hollywood Avenue 4773 N. Hollywood Avenue 4784 N. Hollywood Avenue 4826 N. Hollywood Avenue 4836 N. Hollywood Avenue 4864 N. Hollywood Avenue 4875 N. Hollywood Avenue 4900 N. Hollywood Avenue 4912 N. Hollywood Avenue 4918 N. Hollywood Avenue 4922 N. Hollywood Avenue 4936 N. Hollywood Avenue 4954 N. Hollywood Avenue 4955 N. Hollywood Avenue 4964 N. Hollywood Avenue 4975 N. Hollywood Avenue 5000 N. Hollywood Avenue 5006 N. Hollywood Avenue 5012 N. Hollywood Avenue 5018 N. Hollywood Avenue 5024 N. Hollywood Avenue 5028 N. Hollywood Avenue 5032 N. Hollywood Avenue 5051 & 5053 N. Hollywood Avenue 5075 N. Hollywood Avenue 5106 N. Hollywood Avenue 5116 N. Hollywood Avenue

1948 1954 1923 1949 1942 Hopkins Richelieu Store Building 1929 1949 1942 1958 1948 Wynand G. Isenring House J. H. & Mathilda Dedrich Duplex Arthur & Margaret Coulthard House Herman & Martine Hoelzer House John & Anna Pandl House Clara Bohnenberger House Val & Ana Schramka House Bernard C. & Virginia Brown House Joseph & Shirley Morris House Carl F. & Charlotte A. Golziow House Milton & Vernetta Alexander House Gordon & Catherine Bogard House Dwight L. & Pauline G. Dennis House Frank & Josephine Ribar House Delbert & Esther Mathieus House Truman & Hazel Aldrich House Walter A. & Myrtle Kasper House Albert W. & Gladys Gandt House William E. & Claire Flint House Walter A. & Edna Schwantes House Paul J. & Eva Evans House Arthur & Mary Gerth House G. & Ida Adelman House Ray & Dorothy Lutz House Charles & Mary Fleck House Lester W. & Pauline M. Thornton House William G. & Luella Stegemeyer House Norman & Audrey Stoltmann House H. W. & Edna Hitchings House F. M. & Mildred Houshalter House Howard G. Grimm House Joseph Griesemer Duplex Stuart L. & Rae Glassman House Lester A. & Erna Hoogester House Casimer & Esther Olszewski House c. 1920 1926 1929 1928 1926 1950 1939 1937 1950 1953 1939 1929 1927 1950 1929 1949 1964 1947 1926 c. 1920 1926 1938 1924 1926 1940 1928 1937 1936 1931 1931 1931 1952 1932 1932 1932 1925 1963 1938 1936

Sherlore Apartments

290

5124 N. Hollywood Avenue 5128 N. Hollywood Avenue 5136 N. Hollywood Avenue 5159 N. Hollywood Avenue 5168 & 5170 N. Hollywood Avenue; 601 E. Henry Clay Street 5169 N. Hollywood Avenue 5201 N. Hollywood Avenue 5220 N. Hollywood Avenue 5221 N. Hollywood Avenue 5226 N. Hollywood Avenue 5227 N. Hollywood Avenue 5232 N. Hollywood Avenue 5235 N. Hollywood Avenue 5240 N. Hollywood Avenue 5241 N. Hollywood Avenue 5247 N. Hollywood Avenue 5248 N. Hollywood Avenue 5254 N. Hollywood Avenue 5255 N. Hollywood Avenue 5261 N. Hollywood Avenue 5262 N. Hollywood Avenue 5277 N. Hollywood Avenue 5300 N. Hollywood Avenue 5301 N. Hollywood Avenue 5320 N. Hollywood Avenue 5321 N. Hollywood Avenue 5326 N. Hollywood Avenue 5327 N. Hollywood Avenue 5332 N. Hollywood Avenue 5335 N. Hollywood Avenue 5338 N. Hollywood Avenue 5341 N. Hollywood Avenue 5346 N. Hollywood Avenue 5347 N. Hollywood Avenue 5352 N. Hollywood Avenue 5353 N. Hollywood Avenue 5359 N. Hollywood Avenue 5360 N. Hollywood Avenue 5400 N. Hollywood Avenue 5401 N. Hollywood Avenue 5406 N. Hollywood Avenue 5409 N. Hollywood Avenue 5412 N. Hollywood Avenue 5415 N. Hollywood Avenue 5420 N. Hollywood Avenue 5421 N. Hollywood Avenue 5428 N. Hollywood Avenue 5429 N. Hollywood Avenue 5436 N. Hollywood Avenue 5437 N. Hollywood Avenue

Emil H. & Eleanore Hoefs House Frank & Emma Geiser House Anton & Ila Salsemeyer House H. F. & Verna Illing House Peiper Food Shop Building

1935 1936 1929 1925 1927 1951 1943 1941 1928 1945 1929 1930 1938 1929 1930 1931 1928 1946 1929 1929 1931 1926 1948 1948 1932 1950 1928 1928 1945 1929 1948 1933 1928 1930 1927 1927 1938 1937 1931 1929 1941 1930 1927 1931 1935 1926 1946 1941 1949 1928

D. W. Kissinger House William A. & Meta Priegnitz House Russell I. & Vesta Robinson House Walter J. & Adeline Rohn House Gordon Nelson House Elmer L. & Ida Stein House Jack & Alma P. Kremerer House N. I. Hilton House Charles Jackman House Joseph D. & Helen J. Berg House Eugene W. & Betty Hart House John A. & Edith M. Forrer House Glen Grover & Dorothy M. Holt House W. Robert & Catherine Hileman House Lawrence G. & Myrtle Richardson House William A. & Mary M. Nevin House O. E. Lindemann House A. M. & Bessie Baker House Martin G. Lucille Wolfram House Louis C. & Amelia Ehlhardt House William G. & Louise Harmon House Frederick W. & Leola Hartmann House Dr. William & Catherine Dohearty House Charles F. & Evelyn Stein House H. D. & Viola Wirth House Paul C. & Jeanne D. Winner House Charles E. Bertschy House James Arthur & Sarah C. Butler House Albert J. & Marie Kolaski House Fielding A. & Edna S. Utz House Almer & Leila T. Skretting House Rev. Paul E. & Ruth Bishop House Harold W. & Gladys M. Landwehr House Frank & Jeanne Culloden House Joseph C. Van Ess House Leon & Elizabeth Alberty House F. Fletcher Mulkey House William H. & Florence Ten Haken House Herman J. & Mary Baerwald House Jerome V. & Gertrude Howard House William F. & Violet Graebel House C. Albert & Esther Schaefer House Arthur C. & Alice Southcott House

291

5442 N. Hollywood Avenue 5445 N. Hollywood Avenue 5448 N. Hollywood Avenue 5451 N. Hollywood Avenue 5508 N. Hollywood Avenue 5511 N. Hollywood Avenue 5514 N. Hollywood Avenue 5515 N. Hollywood Avenue 5519 N. Hollywood Avenue 5520 N. Hollywood Avenue 5525 N. Hollywood Avenue 5530 N. Hollywood Avenue 5531 N. Hollywood Avenue 5536 N. Hollywood Avenue 5537 N. Hollywood Avenue 5543 N. Hollywood Avenue 5549 N. Hollywood Avenue 5550 N. Hollywood Avenue 5555 N. Hollywood Avenue 5561 N. Hollywood Avenue 5567 N. Hollywood Avenue 5573 N. Hollywood Avenue 5579 N. Hollywood Avenue 4610 N. Idlewild Avenue 4617 N. Idlewild Avenue 4635 N. Idlewild Avenue 4715 N. Idlewild Avenue 4716 N. Idlewild Avenue 4747 N. Idlewild Avenue 4777 N. Idlewild Avenue 4786 N. Idlewild Avenue 4796 N. Idlewild Avenue 4816 N. Idlewild Avenue 4832 N. Idlewild Avenue 4842 N. Idlewild Avenue 4854 N. Idlewild Avenue 4864 N. Idlewild Avenue 4913 N. Idlewild Avenue 4919 N. Idlewild Avenue 4924 N. Idlewild Avenue 4928 N. Idlewild Avenue 4934 N. Idlewild Avenue 4937 N. Idlewild Avenue 4943 N. Idlewild Avenue 4949 N. Idlewild Avenue 4965 N. Idlewild Avenue 4971 N. Idlewild Avenue 4975 N. Idlewild Avenue 5000 N. Idlewild Avenue 5007 N. Idlewild Avenue

Paulene Krahl House Helen Gersch House Jack & Brondell Schuminsky House S. H. & Alice Eckstein House Major M. L. & Alberta McCreary House Bernard & Olga Erdmann House Frederick W. & Winifred Spooner House C. C. & Minnie Raisbeck House Raymond P. & Lila Harris House Charles F. & Edith Donahue House Howard & Marie Moebius House Robert L. & Ethel S. Boerner House Walter A. & Margaret A. Butler House Vessie Boyd House William S. & Errica Schmidt House Mrs. J. Fred Jensen House A. N. Thomas House Carl Struwe House Walter & Gladys Weidler House L. Albert & Margaret Meyer House Minnie Jantzen House F. & Ann Berg House Richard S. & Delia Kotas House Robert B. & Mary Louise Ebert House Eldon H. & Eileen Roesler House Walter W. & Norma Weiler House Ellwood R. & Alice E. Outland House Kermit A. & Vivian M. Seefeld House William A. & Ethel A. Schmidt House R. A. & Marion Waterman House Albert S. & Mary McKaig House Earl F. & Gladys Dosch House Robert A. & Dorothy I. Praefke House George W. & Julie W. Chipley House Jerome & Ruth W. Belgard House Elmer O. & Lora Bischoff House E. J. & Esther Greiger House Henry C. & Nyda Anderson House Carl H. & Merrill Schubert House Leonard M. & Esther M. Weeks House Ralph & Marietta Neumeier House Leo C. & Catherine Janicki House Otto & Margaret Winske House Warren & Annabel Lancaster House William Scullet House Richard A. & Charlotte Worth House Johann Bauch House

1941 1930 1947 1940 1936 1926 1927 1940 1948 1937 1948 1936 1935 1935 1945 1953 1937 1931 1928 1947 1929 1929 1948 1940 1940 1940 1940 1940 1941 1940 1939 1938 1946 1946 1946 1946 1946 1929 1931 1937 1936 1936 1946 1949 1947 1948 1930 1930 1937 c. 1865

292

5008 N. Idlewild Avenue 5011 N. Idlewild Avenue 5014 N. Idlewild Avenue 5020 N. Idlewild Avenue 5026 N. Idlewild Avenue 5033 N. Idlewild Avenue 5036 N. Idlewild Avenue 5039 N. Idlewild Avenue 5054 N. Idlewild Avenue 5065 N. Idlewild Avenue 5112 N. Idlewild Avenue 5117 N. Idlewild Avenue 5118 N. Idlewild Avenue 5123 N. Idlewild Avenue 5124 N. Idlewild Avenue 5127 N. Idlewild Avenue 5132 N. Idlewild Avenue 5135 N. Idlewild Avenue 5170 N. Idlewild Avenue 5220 N. Idlewild Avenue 5221 N. Idlewild Avenue 5227 N. Idlewild Avenue 5235 N. Idlewild Avenue 5241 N. Idlewild Avenue 5251 N. Idlewild Avenue 5257 N. Idlewild Avenue 5260 N. Idlewild Avenue 5263 N. Idlewild Avenue 5268 N. Idlewild Avenue 5269 N. Idlewild Avenue 5275 N. Idlewild Avenue 5311 N. Idlewild Avenue 5319 N. Idlewild Avenue 5327 N. Idlewild Avenue 5333 N. Idlewild Avenue 5341 N. Idlewild Avenue 5347 N. Idlewild Avenue 5353 N. Idlewild Avenue 5359 N. Idlewild Avenue 5401 N. Idlewild Avenue 5409 N. Idlewild Avenue 5415 N. Idlewild Avenue 5421 N. Idlewild Avenue 5427 N. Idlewild Avenue 5435 N. Idlewild Avenue 5001 N. Kent Avenue 5011 N. Kent Avenue 5012 N. Kent Avenue 5036 N. Kent Avenue 5064 N. Kent Avenue

Roy E. & Louise E. Schultz House Melvin J. & Augusta Immekus House

Leslie E. & Helen Scott House Henry & Nyda Anderson House

Franklin A. & Jeanne M. Schmidt House George J. & Norma Duske House Christian Lick House Mortimer J. & Eulane A. Thompson House John A. & Irene Meyers House Walter P. & Georgianna J. Hanley House Frenk C. & Marie Wrecza House Rudolph & Dora Rappold House

Walter F. & Geralda Renzel House Alvin F. Clemens Sr. House H. R. & Dorathea Tavs House Henry D. & Ruth W. Allen House Leland & Sylvia Thorpe House Max M. & Anne Shapiro House William F. & Agnes S. Noll House Wayne & Miriam Trumpf House Walter E. & Hortense A. Peters House Robert H. & Nell Weaver House Dr. A. C. & Betty S. Cohn House Francis J. & Tekla Wissing House Floyd & Zelma Larkin House Earl G. & Hazel Lake House J. Laurenza Hinkens House K. G. & Rosetta Williams House Milton H. & Doris Rusch House Charles N. & Irma L. Christiansen House Rudolph F. & Geraline A. Forrer House Richardson E. & Winifred V. Browne House

Harry A. & Inge Schloper House Melvin J. & Augusta Immekus House Dr. Lamont R. & Lenore Schweiger House Ray W. & Dorothy Schumacher House Carl L. & Frieda Indermurhle House

1936 1936 1929 1929 1929 1931 1939 1930 1946 1928 1930 1934 1928 1931 1928 1931 1926 1931 1931 1926 1928 1929 1926 1926 1926 1945 1940 1952 1930 1937 1935 1950 1930 1970 1932 1938 1940 1950 1940 1931 1936 1928 1940 1939 1929 1949 1947 1946 1950 1937

293

5075 N. Kent Avenue 5115 N. Kent Avenue 5121 N. Kent Avenue 5161 N. Kent Avenue 5168 N. Kent Avenue 5176 N. Kent Avenue 5230 N. Kent Avenue 5231 N. Kent Avenue 5236 N. Kent Avenue 5237 N. Kent Avenue 5243 N. Kent Avenue 5249 N. Kent Avenue 5258 N. Kent Avenue 5264 N. Kent Avenue 5265 N. Kent Avenue 5270 N. Kent Avenue 5275 N. Kent Avenue 5276 N. Kent Avenue 5307 N. Kent Avenue 5312 N. Kent Avenue 5328 N. Kent Avenue 5346 N. Kent Avenue 5352 N. Kent Avenue 5358 N. Kent Avenue 5411 N. Kent Avenue 5417 N. Kent Avenue 5426 N. Kent Avenue 5441 N. Kent Avenue 5442 N. Kent Avenue 5446 N. Kent Avenue 5452 N. Kent Avenue 5455 N. Kent Avenue 5461 N. Kent Avenue 5501 N. Kent Avenue 5506 N. Kent Avenue 5511 N. Kent Avenue 5522 N. Kent Avenue 5530 N. Kent Avenue 5531 N. Kent Avenue 5558 N. Kent Avenue 5561 N. Kent Avenue 5564 N. Kent Avenue 5565 N. Kent Avenue 5573 N. Kent Avenue 5700 N. Kent Avenue 5701 N. Kent Avenue 5706 N. Kent Avenue 5707 N. Kent Avenue 5712 N. Kent Avenue 5713 N. Kent Avenue

John J. & Mary E. Page House Tom & Joy Shogren House John & Kathyrn Stamm House David J. & JoAnn Bailey House William C. & Grace Bradt House William F. & Martha Schneider House Karl F. & Evelyn Hauser House Henry M. & Sylvia Kaufman House Richard J. & Edith Porth House George P. & Joan Gross House Norman G. & Elizabeth Franz House S. H. Horwitz House H. O. & Elsie Doege House John & Ione Mangold House James L. & Henrietta Moore House Charles L. & Rufina Harding House John W. & Nora Schaum House Charlotte Sullivan House Robert J. & Frances Kesselhon House John H. & Marjorie G. McNeil House Gordon & Lorraine Wheeler House Hugo Schmieder House Walther & Elizabeth Richter House Gene & Ruth Posner House William E. & Jean Frankel House Helen Berghoefer House Harry & Tillie Goetsch House Faythe Kircoh House Hugo H. & Annette Butzke House Earl P. & Dorothy Kornely House Walter & Lucille Borgnis House Edward Reid House Joseph M & Ann L. Mack House Julius H. & Sarah Callner House Roger C. & Marie A. Simons House William Huenerbein House Arwin & Winifred Lisius House Andrew J. Jr. & Ora Ellen Luck House LeRoy C. & Eunice Schmidt House John H. & Ruth Wynhoff House C. L. Mulrine House John C. & Nancy Sublett House Ralph C. & Margaret Clark House John A. & Hazel Rozek House James & Catherine Van Altena House

1950 1950 1950 1950 1937 1937 1946 1940 1940 1948 1940 1941 1940 1941 1941 1939 1950 1940 1950 1937 1939 1941 1936 1929 1946 1936 1940 1938 1948 1936 1935 1939 1936 1940 1937 1946 1937 1948 1946 1939 1945 1938 1938 1938 1946 1938 1936 1941 1933 1928

294

5718 N. Kent Avenue 5719 N. Kent Avenue 5724 N. Kent Avenue 5725 N. Kent Avenue 5730 N. Kent Avenue 5733 N. Kent Avenue 5736 N. Kent Avenue 5737 N. Kent Avenue 5740 N. Kent Avenue 5743 N. Kent Avenue 5744 N. Kent Avenue 5749 N. Kent Avenue 5750 N. Kent Avenue 5755 N. Kent Avenue 5756 N. Kent Avenue 5760 N. Kent Avenue 5761 N. Kent Avenue 5766 N. Kent Avenue 5767 N. Kent Avenue 5774 N. Kent Avenue 5800 N. Kent Avenue 5801 N. Kent Avenue 5806 N. Kent Avenue 5809 N. Kent Avenue 5814 N. Kent Avenue 5815 N. Kent Avenue 5820 N. Kent Avenue 5823 N. Kent Avenue 5826 N. Kent Avenue 5831 N. Kent Avenue 5832 N. Kent Avenue 5837 N. Kent Avenue 5838 N. Kent Avenue 5843 N. Kent Avenue 5844 N. Kent Avenue 5849 N. Kent Avenue 5850 N. Kent Avenue 5854 N. Kent Avenue 5855 N. Kent Avenue 5860 N. Kent Avenue 5861 N. Kent Avenue 5867 N. Kent Avenue 5870 N. Kent Avenue 5901 N. Kent Avenue 5906 N. Kent Avenue 5907 N. Kent Avenue 5912 N. Kent Avenue 5913 N. Kent Avenue 5918 N. Kent Avenue 5919 N. Kent Avenue

Phil K. Berger House Graham H. & Madeline Hamrick House Edward D. & Bernice F. Wysocki House Herbert F. & Ada C. Massopust House Stafford & Elizabeth Siekert House Martin J. & Ruth C. Seibert House John D. & Anna Kelly House Robert A. & Dorothy S. Hamilton House B. F. & Eva C. Tellkamp House Mary Lauer House Ned W. & Cecile McNulty House G. C. & Bessie M. Maassen House Earl & Clara Anderson House Phillip Jr. & Naomi Fox House Agnes Hart House B. Peter & Ruth Herzog House Erwin C. & Elfrieda Brenner House Dr. H. E. Lando House Barney & Elsie Fuller House Herbert H. & Florence Wilke House Danie G. & Agnes Sheehan House F. C. & Alice H. McCutcheon House William H. & & Ida Atwood House James H. & Elizabeth Rank House Walter R. & Genevieve Neilson House George T. & Paula Parsons House Edward J. & Ann E. Peters House Albert R. & Catherine Tomson House

Herbert R. & Jeanette Burgemeister House George H. & Edith A. Fredericks House George F. Jr. & Gladys Richards House Paul W. & Eva W. McGehee House Charles P. & Marie F. Huntington House R. F. & Helen Jerome House Mark & Helen Hooper House Albert G. & Gertrude Schneider House Ernest Wallis House Percy D. & Wilma I. Ashford House James Fitzpatrick House Donald P. & Jane Dornbrook House

1941 1931 1930 1927 1937 1928 1936 1928 1946 1939 1935 1931 1937 1938 1938 1942 1939 1940 1938 1931 1929 1941 1940 1941 1929 1929 1927 1930 1941 1927 1939 1929 1938 1930 1931 1930 1939 1941 1926 1927 1926 1926 1939 1928 1926 1926 1926 1926 1926 1953

295

5922 N. Kent Avenue 5923 N. Kent Avenue 5928 N. Kent Avenue 5929 N. Kent Avenue 5934N. Kent Avenue 5935 N. Kent Avenue 5938 N. Kent Avenue 5939 N. Kent Avenue 5944 N. Kent Avenue 5945 N. Kent Avenue 5948 N. Kent Avenue 5951 N. Kent Avenue 5954 N. Kent Avenue 5955 N. Kent Avenue 5960 N. Kent Avenue 5961 N. Kent Avenue 5964 N. Kent Avenue 5969 N. Kent Avenue 5970 N. Kent Avenue 5973 N. Kent Avenue 5976 N. Kent Avenue 5977 N. Kent Avenue 6000 N. Kent Avenue 6003 N. Kent Avenue 6008 N. Kent Avenue 6009 N. Kent Avenue 6014 N. Kent Avenue 6015 N. Kent Avenue 6020 N. Kent Avenue 6021 N. Kent Avenue 6028 N. Kent Avenue 6031 N. Kent Avenue 6034 N. Kent Avenue 6040 N. Kent Avenue 6041 N. Kent Avenue 6048 N. Kent Avenue 6049 N. Kent Avenue 6054 N. Kent Avenue 6055 N. Kent Avenue 6060 N. Kent Avenue 6063 N. Kent Avenue 6068 N. Kent Avenue 6069 N. Kent Avenue 6074 N. Kent Avenue 6075 N. Kent Avenue 6100 N. Kent Avenue 6103 N. Kent Avenue 6110 N. Kent Avenue 6115 N. Kent Avenue 6120 N. Kent Avenue

Austin A. & Dorothy Peterson House Kenneth L. & Norma Head House Edwin Adams House Waldemar & Sophia Prohl House Rev. Robert L. & Doris M. Stubbs House Earl M. & Gwendolyn Plettner House Williiam F. & Mary Tribe House Arno Otto & Ethel G. Neefe House Merrel R. & June Stockey House Willet S. & Mildred Maine House W. Hackett Jr. & Bernice Emory House William T. & Anna Raun House Lloyd C. & Mildred J. Bergeson House Arthur & Norma Conery House Grover C. & Isabelle Filbach House Willard & Rose MacDonald House Lawrence William & Anna M. Toelle House V. H. & Eleanor Van Koert House Gregory L. & Mary Ann Crane House Hector M. & Laures Powell House Harry Jackson & Doll Collins House

Theodore H. & Rose C. Schostak House Victor J. & Christine Kraus House Richard L. & Agnita Ferguson House Andrew & Margaret Wajer House Fred F. & Louise Stuckert House Lando F. & Florence M. Gran House Robert R. & Jane Anderson House Horace E. & Ruth Clark House Edward O. & Alice M. Laue House Russell & Marie H. Thierbach House Wesley F. & Florence Martin House Lawrence S. & Mildred M. Roberts House James H. & Marvel Wheeler House Nelson C. & Carol Hall House Edwin & Margaret Smalley House Lawrence G. & Gertrude Singer House S. W. & Josephine Riegle House H. F. & Eleanor Pugh House Paul & Lauretta Bartfield House Arthur C. & Ruth Kuesel House Lester H. & Grace Ness House

1926 1926 1926 1927 1931 1928 1947 1926 1947 1940 1936 1926 1927 1926 1926 1926 1928 1931 1930 1958 1926 1941 1947 1930 1950 1940 1931 1930 1940 1933 1930 1938 1938 1936 1935 1941 1928 1935 1928 1940 1928 1930 1928 1930 1929 1945 1929 1947 1928 1945

296

6121 N. Kent Avenue 6128 N. Kent Avenue 6129 N. Kent Avenue 6134 N. Kent Avenue 6135 N. Kent Avenue 6140 N. Kent Avenue 6141 N. Kent Avenue 6148 N. Kent Avenue 6149 N. Kent Avenue 6154 N. Kent Avenue 6155 N. Kent Avenue 6160 N. Kent Avenue 6161 N. Kent Avenue 6166 N. Kent Avenue 6167 N. Kent Avenue 6174 N. Kent Avenue 6175 N. Kent Avenue 5119 N. Kimbark Place 5129 N. Kimbark Place 5165 N. Kimbark Place 5250 N. Kimbark Place 5271 N. Kimbark Place 4514 N. Lake Drive 4515 N. Lake Drive 4520 N. Lake Drive 4600 N. Lake Drive 4605 N. Lake Drive 4611 N. Lake Drive 4614 N. Lake Drive 4621 N. Lake Drive 4629 N. Lake Drive 4632 N. Lake Drive 4635 N. Lake Drive 4640 N. Lake Drive 4641 N. Lake Drive 4647 N. Lake Drive 4653 N. Lake Drive 4661 N. Lake Drive 4677 N. Lake Drive 4681 N. Lake Drive 4687 N. Lake Drive 4701 N. Lake Drive 4711 N. Lake Drive 4720 N. Lake Drive 4730 N. Lake Drive 4731 N. Lake Drive 4739 N. Lake Drive 4744 N. Lake Drive 4747 N. Lake Drive 4755 N. Lake Drive

L. Collis & Helen Dickson House Gordon & Gloria Grossman House Lon L. & Esther Grier House Morey & Dorothy Bensman House C. W. & Alma D. Faude House Corvin & Alma Faude House Leo & Loretta K. Rice House M. R. & Mildred H. Niederer House Charles J. & Martha R. Krueger House Arnold C. & Adele M. Neilson House Pauline Krahl House Max R. & Mildred Neiderer House Nelson C. & Carol Hall House Oscar T. & Marie A. Roder House Herbert & Ada Massopust House Martin Jr. & Edythe Puckert House Sidney & Shanah Stone House Arthur & Selma Rockow House Ralph L. & Grace D. Haskins House George C. & Anne Kahn Duplex Harold E. & Esther Constant House Carl W. & Erna Moebius House Fred & Evelyn Gardner House Samuel Ettinger House Stanley & Ruth Coerper House Edward H. & Frances Borgelt House Walter A. Getzel & Leone Blattner House Dr. Bert B. & Evelyn Schoenkerman House Dr. N. W. & Persephone Stathas House Dr. Paul & Anne Natvig House Dr. Lamont & Lenore Schweiger House Herman & Blanch U. Reel House Genevieve Jeske House Lawrence & Florence Katz House Henry A. & Florence Bartling House Ben & Florence Lewenauer House Earl J. & Zelda McBradney House Fred & Jean Arko House Andrew J. Hoetzl House Dr. Earle J. & Fern Rotter House Dr. M. J.& Esther Ansfield House Miles & Leah Mandel House Walter F. & Marguerite Jahr House Dr. Sidney & Rae Boxer House Don & Gae Gottschalk House Dr. Jay S. & Fannie Goodman House Dr. Joseph & Sally Himes House Dr. Lawrence & Charlotte Kaufman House

1950 1952 1941 1952 1936 1952 1940 1941 1938 1938 1940 1938 1941 1940 1941 1939 1942 1937 1949 1935 1928 1926 1946 1949 1954 1954 1950 1958 1945 1951 1962 1964 1952 1928 1949 1957 1955 1952 1952 1951 1936 1952 1950 1948 1940 1952 1951 1947 1951 1958

297

4762 N. Lake Drive 4767 N. Lake Drive 4777 N. Lake Drive 4780 N. Lake Drive 4785 N. Lake Drive 4794 N. Lake Drive 4811 N. Lake Drive 4819 N. Lake Drive 4827 N. Lake Drive 4837 N. Lake Drive 4840 N. Lake Drive 4845 N. Lake Drive 4850 N. Lake Drive 4853 N. Lake Drive 4863 N. Lake Drive 4875 N. Lake Drive 4885 N. Lake Drive 4901 N. Lake Drive 4910 N. Lake Drive 4920 N. Lake Drive 4929 N. Lake Drive 4930 N. Lake Drive 4940 N. Lake Drive 4945 N. Lake Drive 4951 N. Lake Drive 4955 N. Lake Drive 4959 N. Lake Drive 4965 N. Lake Drive 4973 N. Lake Drive 5009 N. Lake Drive 5017 N. Lake Drive 5025 N. Lake Drive 5029 N. Lake Drive 5036 N. Lake Drive 5037 N. Lake Drive 5042 N. Lake Drive 5043 N. Lake Drive 5049 N. Lake Drive 5050 N. Lake Drive 5053 N. Lake Drive 5058 N. Lake Drive 5059 & 5061 N. Lake Drive 5067 N. Lake Drive 5068 N. Lake Drive 5072 N. Lake Drive 5073 N. Lake Drive 5079 N. Lake Drive 5101 N. Lake Drive 5104 N. Lake Drive 5105 N. Lake Drive

Frederick A. & Dorothy E. Rankl House Benjamin & Aimee Poss House James & B. Louise Sullivan House Walker & Mary Watkins House Irving & Elsa M. Heller House Evan P. & Marion C. Helfaer House James J. McClymount House Max W. & Rose B. Nohl House Chester & Mabel Moody House George & Margaret Schueller House Arthur J. & Arline M. O'Conner House Frank S. & Jessie Boardman House Roy W. & Viola A. Johnson House Dr. Lee A. & Elizabeth Wandell House Charles E. & Dorothy Inbusch House W. M. & Ella Thompson House Richard Smith & Henrietta L. Davis House Fredericks House John F. & Muril Pyle House G. L. & Catherine Dodge House Muriel Treis House Ernest J. Kaestner House George S. & Charlotte Wolcott House Curt & Sally Williams House Richard D. & Agetha R. Harvey House Frank L. & Nelliw M. White House O. N. & Apal Adams House Adam J. & Louise Berger House F. C. & Martha Lienemann House John W. & Gertrude F. E. Buss House Dr. Timothy J. & Ethel Howard House John C. & Elsie Lillis House Herbert & Sylvia Usow House Frank & Cecelia Boehm House Clarence F. & Elsie Kipp House Dr. Jack C. & Rachel B. Wilets House George S. & Charlotte Wolcott Duplex Charles J. & Anna Keller Duplex Nathan & Birdie Sondel House Leonard L. & Laura H. Bowyer House Joseph I. & Lillie Montwid House Harold M & Vera Baum House Richard & Mary Jaragoske House

1945 1923 1948 1946 1948 1955 1930 1927 1927 1926 1952 1925 1941 1925 1925 1930 1937 1926 1923 c. 1922 1932 1941 1939 1932 1929 1929 1965 1929 1928 1928 1927 1927 1927 1938 1926 1941 1970 1926 1938 1928 1954 1927 1926 1938 1940 1931 1927 1928 1938 1975

298

5109 & 5111 N. Lake Drive 5112 N. Lake Drive 5117 N. Lake Drive 5120 N. Lake Drive 5123 N. Lake Drive 5128 N. Lake Drive 5151 & 5153 N. Lake Drive 5157 & 5159 N. Lake Drive 5200 N. Lake Drive 5201 N. Lake Drive 5211 N. Lake Drive 5220 N. Lake Drive 5223 N. Lake Drive 5233 N. Lake Drive 5240 N. Lake Drive 5253 N. Lake Drive 5265 N. Lake Drive 5270 N. Lake Drive 5275 N. Lake Drive 5289 N. Lake Drive 5290 N. Lake Drive 5300 N. Lake Drive 5305 N. Lake Drive 5312 N. Lake Drive 5319 N. Lake Drive 5320 N. Lake Drive 5325 N. Lake Drive 5350 N. Lake Drive 5353 N. Lake Drive 5365 N. Lake Drive 5370 N. Lake Drive 5375 N. Lake Drive 5400 N. Lake Drive 5418 N. Lake Drive 5425 N. Lake Drive 5436 N. Lake Drive 5460 N. Lake Drive 5474 N. Lake Drive 5486 N. Lake Drive 5501 N. Lake Drive 5519 N. Lake Drive 5530 N. Lake Drive 5560 N. Lake Drive 5569 N. Lake Drive 5570 N. Lake Drive 5583 N. Lake Drive 5611, 5623 & 5629 N. Lake Drive 5630 N. Lake Drive 5655 N. Lake Drive 5670 N. Lake Drive

Sophia Mischler Duplex John A. & Lucile Gilroy House August K. & Janet Mae Bergenthal House Arthur C. & Helen G. Runzler House Ralph J. & Dorothy Koss House

Benjamin & Anna Rosenberg House Robert & Blanche Zien House Henry J. & Gertrude B. Held House Dr. Francis & Willabelle McMahon House Bert C. & Mary Nelson House Otto & Helen Beck House Dr. Harold H. & Ruth Ottenstein House Herman A. Uihlein House Bertram B. & Merle H. Goodman House Davis H. & Libby Lazarus House Benjamin F. & Edna D. Saltzstein House Roy E. & Marie McCullough House August C. & Emily Tews House Judge Joseph A. & Lydia Padway House Raymond & Elaine Strauss House Harry & Ada LeVine House Emil H. & Rose Koepke House Charles E. & Queen Stone House Arthur A. & Esther M. Gross House Harry J. Grant House John E. Saxe House W. B. Robertson House Edward J. Fellman House Bernard Klatt House

John Kleist House J. H. & Sara Mendelson House Alfred & Charolette Daniels House Dr. J. T. & Mary Klein House Walter C. & Hedwig Schroeder House James & Anna McGee House Casa del Lago / Ella S. Frank House Herbert & Erma Dernehl House Whitefish Bay Pharmacy Building Dr. Edwin B. & Florence Gute House Otto H. & Edna Fiebing House

1927 1942 1956 1954 1928 1941 1924 1930 1927 1955 1927 1924 1927 1932 1924 1953 1953 c. 1915 1953 1931 1928 1956 1931 1931 1954 1930 1926 1953 c. 1919 1929 1923 1929 c. 1920 1924 c. 1918 2002 c. 1909 c. 1920 1924 1951 1925 1957 1946 c. 1893 1924 c. 1920 1950 1927 1941 1926

299

5677 N. Lake Drive 5683 N. Lake Drive 5688 N. Lake Drive 5689 N. Lake Drive 5701 N. Lake Drive 5715 N. Lake Drive 5724 N. Lake Drive 5751 N. Lake Drive 5775 N. Lake Drive 5823 N. Lake Drive 5826 N. Lake Drive 5832 N. Lake Drive 5835 N. Lake Drive 5840 N. Lake Drive 5847 N. Lake Drive 5851 N. Lake Drive 5863 N. Lake Drive 5866 N. Lake Drive 5869 N. Lake Drive 5909 N. Lake Drive 5915 N. Lake Drive 5925 N. Lake Drive 5937 N. Lake Drive 5943 N. Lake Drive 5955 N. Lake Drive 5960 N. Lake Drive 5966 N. Lake Drive 6000 N. Lake Drive 6001 N. Lake Drive 6006 N. Lake Drive 6011 N. Lake Drive 6012 N. Lake Drive 6021 N. Lake Drive 6024 N. Lake Drive 6030 N. Lake Drive 6031 N. Lake Drive 6036 N. Lake Drive 6043 N. Lake Drive 6044 N. Lake Drive 6050 N. Lake Drive 6100 N. Lake Drive 6109 N. Lake Drive 6113 N. Lake Drive 6139 N. Lake Drive 6151 N. Lake Drive 6209 N. Lake Drive 6241 N. Lake Drive 6301 N. Lake Drive 6305 N. Lake Drive 6311 N. Lake Drive

Paul M. & Florence R. Becker House O. F. & Mary Gerlach House Dr. Bruno Warschauer House Gordon & Dortha MacFarland House Ibrahim H. & Zee Kashou House George C. & Elva Sullivan House Frank & Lucy Droessel House Reinhold & Clara Boehm House Milo & Alice Miller House John C. & Elizabeth McDonald House

Louis J. & Manila Best House

Dr. McKinley W. & Agnes G. Jambor House R. T. & Dorothy Rademacher House

Ernest & Elsa Jensen House Reinhold Knop House Alfred R. & Adele Knop House Sam & Lillian Grant House Hyman Katz House Ferdinand George & Louisa C. Grams House Raymond & Teresa Jaekels House Arthur J. & Margaret Butzen House Fred E. & Anita Brenk House David & Verne Berk House L. Berkowitz House Dr. Samuel S. & Anne W. Blankstein House Dr. Irving & Pearl Muskat House Frank C. Jr. & Dorothy Klode House Julius & Eve Dann House Frederick E. & Anita J. Brenk House Paul M. & Elizabeth Barnes House Dr. Ross & Mildred A. Weller House Walter R. & Jean S. Lindemann House Joe & Eileen Stother House William E. & Jean Frankel House Louis & Celia Putterman House Henry H. & Mildred Brown House Philip & Beatrice Rubenstein House Ralph A. & Lora Lunz House Dr. Norbert J. & Grace Wegmann House

1950 1948 1928 1948 1953 1928 1925 1945 1946 1949 1923 1924 1937 1930 1922 1937 1928 1942 1939 c. 1920 c. 1893 1924 1945 1941 c. 1912 1929 1940 1937 1951 1939 1948 1955 1950 1938 1924 1950 1924 1931 1953 1930 1945 1957 1951 1948 1947 1948 1953 1939 1938 1938

300

6325 N. Lake Drive 6335 N. Lake Drive 6340 N. Lake Drive 6350 N. Lake Drive 6360 N. Lake Drive 6361 N. Lake Drive 6370 N. Lake Drive 6375 N. Lake Drive 6052 N. Lake Drive Court 6100 N. Lake Drive Court 6101 N. Lake Drive Court 6110 N. Lake Drive Court 6115 N. Lake Drive Court 6120 N. Lake Drive Court 6129 N. Lake Drive Court 6130 N. Lake Drive Court 802 E. Lake Forest Avenue 809 E. Lake Forest Avenue 816 E. Lake Forest Avenue 820 E. Lake Forest Avenue 824 E. Lake Forest Avenue 829 E. Lake Forest Avenue 851 E. Lake Forest Avenue 857 E. Lake Forest Avenue 862 E. Lake Forest Avenue 868 E. Lake Forest Avenue 881 E. Lake Forest Avenue 611 E. Lake Hill Court 135 E. Lake View Avenue 329 E. Lake View Avenue 330 E. Lake View Avenue 336 E. Lake View Avenue 341 E. Lake View Avenue 346 E. Lake View Avenue 604 E. Lake View Avenue 609 & 611 E. Lake View Avenue 610 E. Lake View Avenue 615 E. Lake View Avenue 616 E. Lake View Avenue 621 E. Lake View Avenue 622 E. Lake View Avenue 632 E. Lake View Avenue 633 E. Lake View Avenue 638 E. Lake View Avenue 639 E. Lake View Avenue 642 E. Lake View Avenue 645 E. Lake View Avenue 649 E. Lake View Avenue 700 E. Lake View Avenue 703 E. Lake View Avenue

Dr. E. O. & Jassamine Gertenbach House Walter W. & Myrtle Schlichting House Charles W. & Margaret M. Moeller House Robert W. & Donna Hoag House W. R. & Clara Tanner House Howard T. & Anita Bluhm House Dr. Chester C. & Belle Schneider House A. C. & Adele Nielsen House Dr. Abram Levine House H. R. & Florence Buckman House John U. & Lyle Schmid House Joseph & Vera Zilber House Louis & Sadie Radin House Arthur L. & Clara Ebert House Julius & Beatrice Rubin House Rita Jane Goldmann House F. L. & Ruby Hillman House

Willis V. & Ann L. Daugherty House Clifford & Helen Morehouse House John F. & Louise McEwen House Walker Russell House Daniel Keating House L. Gerber House

Dominican Convent John M. & Helen M. Worthingham House Oliver A. & Alta Friedman House Robert G. & Jean Atkinson House Louise Taft House Hugh Gregg House Arthur & Lottie Magidson House Charles H. & Gertrude Frensz House Dr. Henry P. & Rosina Hoehl House A. C. & Goody C. Marggraff House Phelps & Martha A. Wyman House Reinhold C. & Irene Diekelman House F. F. & Edith Johnson House Robert & Natalie Kritzik House Paul & Mary Jo Launer House Walter A. & Maxine M. Ziegler House Charles E. & Vern Kasten House Robert H. & Jane R. O'Keef House

1940 1937 1940 1948 1949 1927 1949 1941 1957 1951 1948 1954 1949 1950 1949 1931 1926 c. 1909 < 1922 1926 1926 1925 c. 1922 1935 c. 1921 1930 1950 1925 1960 1949 1926 1947 1932 c. 1911 < 1900 1927 1951 1936 1930 1928 1928 1929 1928 1926 1951 2006 1927 1926 c. 1915 1946

301

708 E. Lake View Avenue 711 E. Lake View Avenue 714 E. Lake View Avenue 717 E. Lake View Avenue 722 E. Lake View Avenue 725 E. Lake View Avenue 731 E. Lake View Avenue 734 E. Lake View Avenue 739 E. Lake View Avenue 745 E. Lake View Avenue 749 E. Lake View Avenue 801 E. Lake View Avenue 808 E. Lake View Avenue 120 W. Lake View Avenue 126 W. Lake View Avenue 132 W. Lake View Avenue 205 E. Lancaster Avenue 909 E. Lancaster Avenue 1017 E. Lancaster Avenue 4610 & 4612 N. Larkin Street 4611 N. Larkin Street 4616 N. Larkin Street 4617 N. Larkin Street 4620 N. Larkin Street 4621 N. Larkin Street 4626 N. Larkin Street 4627 N. Larkin Street 4630 N. Larkin Street 4633 N. Larkin Street 4636 N. Larkin Street 4639 N. Larkin Street 4645 N. Larkin Street 4651 N. Larkin Street 4721 N. Larkin Street 4729 N. Larkin Street 4733 N. Larkin Street 4737 N. Larkin Street 4744 N. Larkin Street 4747 N. Larkin Street 4750 N. Larkin Street 4753 N. Larkin Street 4758 N. Larkin Street 4759 N. Larkin Street 4764 N. Larkin Street 4767 N. Larkin Street 4770 N. Larkin Street 4775 N. Larkin Street 4776 N. Larkin Street 4779 N. Larkin Street 4784 N. Larkin Street

George S. & Mary Hulda Bones House Irwin C. & Elizabeth Wehmeyer House Ralph S. & Frances I. Walter House Dr. Edmund & Katherine Mensing House Kenton H. Jr. & Dorothy Clarke House Richard C. & Johanna Bateman House Leon C. & Ruth Schwab House Phillip & Lillian P. Kurman House E. Heath & Ruth Towne House

Galus Isenring House Ralph W. & Elsie B. Lund House Dorrance & Ellen Noonan House Julius & Helen Lowin House Phillip Sohns House John Arlington & Lillian M. Potts Duplex Samuel J. & Lydia Newton House Edward H. & Stella Bullock House John P. & Mildred Lewis House Ray C. & Lillian C. Weber House Edward W. & Mabel Zinns House James & Amanda Kupperian House Karl & Emma Von Kass House William & Lillian Heym House E. C. & Irene Dallman House William Last House Walter L. & Mae Tank House Hugo & Matie Kraeutlein House A. W. & Margaret Lindstrom House Harold R. & Gretchen B. Schneider House Henry W. & Ruth Brauch House Anton & Mathilde Arnosti House Frank R. Sr. & Dora Wilke House Carl & Emma Haash House Carroll D. & Janice E. Meyer House Harry C. & Louise Stock House Dean R. & Beatrice Williams House George & Winifred Feldt House Herman O. & Elvina Giljohann House Frank & Myrtle Dite House Theo J. & Bertha J. Buettner House Henry & Alice Lillie House Edward Herman Hardtke Jr. House E. R. Eisner House

1926 1931 1925 1926 1927 1926 1926 1950 1923 c. 1918 1950 c. 1910 c. 1870 1931 1936 1952 1935 1942 < 1910 1926 1930 1927 1927 1949 1927 1928 1929 1927 1927 1927 1926 1926 1926 1930 1928 1937 1932 1933 1927 1927 1929 1927 1928 1942 1928 1927 1928 1927 1927 1935

302

4785 N. Larkin Street 4790 N. Larkin Street 4791 N. Larkin Street 4796 N. Larkin Street 4834 N. Larkin Street 4837 N. Larkin Street 4843 & 4845 N. Larkin Street 4854 N. Larkin Street 4857 N. Larkin Street 4858 N. Larkin Street 4872 N. Larkin Street 4902 N. Larkin Street 4905 N. Larkin Street 4908 N. Larkin Street 4911 N. Larkin Street 4915 N. Larkin Street 4927 N. Larkin Street 4937 N. Larkin Street 4943 N. Larkin Street 4944 N. Larkin Street 4950 N. Larkin Street 4957 N. Larkin Street 4964 N. Larkin Street 4965 N. Larkin Street 4973 N. Larkin Street 5000 N. Larkin Street 5006 N. Larkin Street 5009 N. Larkin Street 5012 N. Larkin Street 5015 N. Larkin Street 5018 N. Larkin Street 5021 N. Larkin Street 5024 N. Larkin Street 5030 N. Larkin Street 5031 N. Larkin Street 5036 N. Larkin Street 5042 N. Larkin Street 5050 N. Larkin Street 5056 N. Larkin Street 5062 N. Larkin Street 5066 N. Larkin Street 5072 N. Larkin Street 200 E. Lexington Boulevard 231 E. Lexington Boulevard 315 E. Lexington Boulevard 318 E. Lexington Boulevard 321 E. Lexington Boulevard 324 E. Lexington Boulevard 330 & 332 E. Lexington Boulevard 400 E. Lexington Boulevard

Dr. Royal & Evelyn Lee House Fred Jr. & Margaret S. Leypoldt House Herman M. & Marion Knoeller House Franklin Lowe House John Abbott House Otto Leitner Duplex Dr. Clement H. & Frances A. Hickey House Glen A. & Loretta Wilson House John R. & Helen M. Doman House Dr. Robert P. & Marie Bergwall House William A. & Helen H. Titus House George & Margaret Andrae House Glen A. & Louise Wilson House Otto & Louise Voeks House Paul A. & Clara B. Hoffman House Helmer & Lillian Sorensen House Walter & Lydia Schmeling House J. E. & Lila Williams House Guy R. & Della C. Radley House N. W. & Audrey Humbaugh House John Jo Dolan House Dr. Paul P. & Margareth H. Goodman House Ehret House Gustav & Elizabeth Krueger House Robert B. & Marilyn Robbins House Albert E. & Johanna C. Severson House Robert & Marie Greenwald House S. B. & Alpha Jacobson House Dr. Martin & Pearl F. Rosenbaum House Roland B. & Esther Remley House Julius & Lilly Lewinski House Adolph & Edith P. Rieloff House Raymond J. & Clara Hutchings House George H. & Jane Zink House Herbert B. & Gene Cohen House Lawrence F. & Lillian M. Schuetz House Melvin E. & Bertha Goldberger House Herbert G. & Ruth Laev House Paul C. & Eleanor Neacy House O. K. & Ceal Johnson House John & Estelle Dobrushken House Martin & Lucille Scheeler House William & Lois Herndier House Milton E. & Violet Buschmann House Burt & Minnie Wulff Duplex H. & Dorothy Mitchell House

1928 1931 1941 1949 1929 c. 1919 1922 1927 1929 1929 1925 1929 1927 1925 1926 1925 1926 1926 1923 1927 1936 1940 1927 1946 c. 1910 1926 1954 1928 1927 1928 1956 1928 1927 1927 1929 1950 1952 1960 1930 1928 1929 1929 1941 1948 1950 1949 1935 1930 1926 1949

303

408 E. Lexington Boulevard 409 E. Lexington Boulevard 416 E. Lexington Boulevard 419 E. Lexington Boulevard 423 E. Lexington Boulevard 501 E. Lexington Boulevard 507 E. Lexington Boulevard 515 E. Lexington Boulevard 516 E. Lexington Boulevard 521 E. Lexington Boulevard 522 E. Lexington Boulevard 601 E. Lexington Boulevard 608 E. Lexington Boulevard 609 E. Lexington Boulevard 616 E. Lexington Boulevard 617 E. Lexington Boulevard 622 E. Lexington Boulevard 703 E. Lexington Boulevard 706 E. Lexington Boulevard 709 E. Lexington Boulevard 712 E. Lexington Boulevard 717 E. Lexington Boulevard 720 E. Lexington Boulevard 723 E. Lexington Boulevard 728 E. Lexington Boulevard 729 E. Lexington Boulevard 734 E. Lexington Boulevard 735 E. Lexington Boulevard 740 E. Lexington Boulevard 743 E. Lexington Boulevard 748 E. Lexington Boulevard 749 E. Lexington Boulevard 755 E. Lexington Boulevard 756 E. Lexington Boulevard 761 E. Lexington Boulevard 825 E. Lexington Boulevard 902 E. Lexington Boulevard 908 E. Lexington Boulevard 911 & 913 E. Lexington Boulevard 912 E. Lexington Boulevard 915 E. Lexington Boulevard 918 E. Lexington Boulevard 919 & 921 E. Lexington Boulevard 926 E. Lexington Boulevard 927 E. Lexington Boulevard 935 E. Lexington Boulevard 941 E. Lexington Boulevard 1001 E. Lexington Boulevard 1002 E. Lexington Boulevard 1007 E. Lexington Boulevard

Rudloph & Dorothy Steller House Dr. L. C. & Ruth Wilkinson House Paul H. & Majorie Muenzberg House Dr. Theodore & Mary Mortonson House Roland J. & Norma Koehler House Edwin H. & Amanda L. Wenzel House Herbert R. & Irene B. Adams House Maurice H. & Ruth B. Cohen House Mrs. Fred W. Black House Denver W. & Lauretta Swanson House

Morton R. & June Spence House Edward H. & Agnes Stadler House Stewart E. Farley House Aloysius & Gertrude Ott House Galen P. & Pearl A. Kirscher House Edmund C. & Alberta Kratsch House John P. & Alice White House Clarence A. & Anna M. Runte House Howard O. & Alice M. Stein House B. B. & Pauline McKinstry House Dr. John & Kathleen Becker House Dr. Rudolph & Ann Scrimenti House Arnold & Marion Hansen House Dr. Douglas & Marcella Klink House Whitefish Bay Fire Department Ray E. & Eleanore Rilling House Edward & Elinor Wenzel House Henry & Viola Jung Duplex Frank J. & Elvira Williams House Herbert E. & Vera Gross House Gaston J. & Virginia Engel House William Staffeld Duplex Oliver V. & Carrie Thatcher House Philip & Rosalie Fina House George & Hilda Jaeneke House Andrew & Edel Peterson House Halbert D. & Florence Jenkins House Ernest R. & Orma Schlummer House

1931 1930 1941 1929 1930 1940 1930 1937 1962 1930 1931 1926 1941 1932 1931 1936 1930 1930 1939 1931 1933 1926 1924 1926 1936 1923 1925 1936 1929 1937 1941 1970 1970 1952 1970 1954 1925 1931 1926 1925 1955 1925 c. 1910 1925 1941 1924 1924 1929 1926 1929

304

1008 E. Lexington Boulevard 1013 E. Lexington Boulevard 1016 E. Lexington Boulevard 1017 & 1019 E. Lexington Boulevard 1023 E. Lexington Boulevard 1028 E. Lexington Boulevard 1031 E. Lexington Boulevard 1036 E. Lexington Boulevard 1042 E. Lexington Boulevard 1048 E. Lexington Boulevard 1056 E. Lexington Boulevard 1100 E. Lexington Boulevard 1101 E. Lexington Boulevard 1109 E. Lexington Boulevard 1110 E. Lexington Boulevard 1113 E. Lexington Boulevard 1118 E. Lexington Boulevard 1121 E. Lexington Boulevard 1124 E. Lexington Boulevard 1129 E. Lexington Boulevard 1130 E. Lexington Boulevard 1135 E. Lexington Boulevard 5016 N. Lydell Avenue 5205 N. Lydell Avenue 5256 N. Lydell Avenue 5306 N. Lydell Avenue 5436 N. Lydell Avenue 5444 N. Lydell Avenue 5450 N. Lydell Avenue 5506 N. Lydell Avenue 5512 N. Lydell Avenue 5516 N. Lydell Avenue 5522 N. Lydell Avenue 5532 N. Lydell Avenue 5560 N. Lydell Avenue 5563 N. Lydell Avenue 5571 N. Lydell Avenue 5584 N. Lydell Avenue; 125 & 131 W. Silver Spring Drive 5656 N. Lydell Avenue 5750 N. Lydell Avenue 5940 N. Lydell Avenue 5946 N. Lydell Avenue 6015 N. Lydell Avenue 6045 N. Lydell Avenue 6054 N. Lydell Avenue 6057 N. Lydell Avenue 6060 N. Lydell Avenue 6069 N. Lydell Avenue 6075 N. Lydell Avenue 6081 N. Lydell Avenue

Dr. Richard A. & Bonnie Berk House Mathew H. & Lavina Pahle House Frederick Sperling House Meade F. Moore Duplex Herbert G. & Margaret H. Horneffer House Halbert D. Jenkins House Isenring House M. J. & Madge P. Carpenter House

K. & Minette Dickens House Owen J. & Jane P. Williams House William Thomas & Gertrude Sullivan House Elmer M. & Delia B. Ross House L. J. & Esther Merske House Peter J. & Elizabeth Porth House

Allen M. & Dorothy Fritsch House Dr. J. T. & Mary Klein House Edward & Mary Van Beckum House Lydell School Lawrrence P. & Lucille Blum House Eulalia Croll House S. J. & Willie Fresch House George E. Jr. & Ivy Mae Page House William Jr. & Roberta Vought House Alfred C. & Gertrude R. Geilfuss House David & Evelyn Banner House V. R. & Margaret Carlson House Harrison R. & Cecelia L. Cooper House Dr. Harold A. & Stella Coyle House Charles Lambert & Marjorie Smith House

1964 1926 1924 1925 1925 1924 c. 1921 c. 1905 1925 1924 1924 1929 1926 1925 1925 1925 1928 1925 1930 1923 1929 1929 1952 1955 1950 1949 1964 1937 1936 1936 1935 1936 1928 1928 1928 c. 1920 c. 1921 1949 1950 1927 1953 1952 1950 1950 1946 1951 1940 1939 1940 1939

Bay Manor Apartments Robert S. & Betty Alice Cunningham House Walter C. & Margaret Arndt House Theron C. & Dorothy Robinson House Walter & Marge Swiger House

John & Elizabeth Steinman House M. D. & Esther Leno House Ethan E. & Clara Minshall House Anthony Poker House

305

6101 N. Lydell Avenue 6133 N. Lydell Avenue 6141 N. Lydell Avenue 6142 N. Lydell Avenue 6149 N. Lydell Avenue 6156 N. Lydell Avenue 6270 N. Lydell Avenue 5800 N. Maitland Court 5818 N. Maitland Court 5826 N. Maitland Court 5827 N. Maitland Court 5834 N. Maitland Court 5835 N. Maitland Court 5842 N. Maitland Court 5843 N. Maitland Court 5850 N. Maitland Court 5851 N. Maitland Court 5858 N. Maitland Court 5859 N. Maitland Court 4610 N. Marlborough Drive 4618 N. Marlborough Drive 4626 N. Marlborough Drive 4629 N. Marlborough Drive 4634 N. Marlborough Drive 4635 N. Marlborough Drive 4641 N. Marlborough Drive 4647 N. Marlborough Drive 4711 N. Marlborough Drive 4715 N. Marlborough Drive 4755 N. Marlborough Drive 4777 N. Marlborough Drive 4780 N. Marlborough Drive 4810 N. Marlborough Drive; 4815 N. Wildwood Avenue 5165 N. Marlborough Drive; 919 & 929 E. Henry Clay Street 5225 N. Marlborough Drive 5300 N. Marlborough Drive 5315 N. Marlborough Drive 5521 N. Marlborough Drive 1019 E. Meadow Place 511 E. Monrovia Avenue 133 W. Monrovia Avenue 106 E. Montclaire Avenue 180 E. Montclaire Avenue 405 E. Montclaire Avenue 406 E. Montclaire Avenue 4610 N. Morris Boulevard 4613 N. Morris Boulevard 4614 N. Morris Boulevard 4617 N. Morris Boulevard

A. J. & Irene L. Schutte House Richard & Hollis Sankovitz House Dr. Gilbert & Jeannette Mueller House C. E. & Anna Cormany House Anthony & Pearl Sottile House Byron Speich House Charles Alvin & Ruth Jones House Dr. H. F. Wolters House Clarence & Elizabeth Gollusch House Micholson House M. W. & Cornelia Sheldon House A. Wade & Gertrude Leavens House William D. & Helen R. Hobbins House Irwin & Barbara Rice House Edwin Schmidt House Ralph H. & Myfanwy J. Cahill House Irvin & Pearl Oesterreich House Paul W. & Marion Ryan House Kenneth L. & Lota M. Levings House Elored M. & Lillian A. Moehrke House Elmer & Cora Merkel House Myron J. & Eileen Coplan House Cyril & Harriett Gantzer House Bernard O. & Louise Kaiser House Henry & Gladys Roller House John & Susan Elizter House Frank & Anna Nedelko House Spencer & Winifred Ramsey House Elmer & Alice Radmer House Humboldt School Holy Family Catholic Church & Rectory

1937 1986 1939 1942 1935 1951 1951 1927 1930 1926 1941 1928 1927 1927 1950 1927 1927 1930 1929 1951 1956 1937 1925 1950 1939 1928 1932 1925 1925 1948 1937 1927 1969 1948

Whitefish Bay Village Hall & Police Dept. Dr. Leonard H. & Adele Morris House Joseph & Josephine Kasal House Edward E. & Lillian Kaminsky House George & Lois Wesler House Joseph E. & Helen T. Koehler House Robert & Marna Goelzer House Herb C. & Myrtle Hirschbroeck House Francis J. & Claire Hart House

Charles L. & Irma L. Hoover House

1941 1970 1956 1931 1927 1958 1948 1937 1948 1936 1936 1930 1923 1937 1925

306

4620 N. Morris Boulevard 4623 N. Morris Boulevard 4626 N. Morris Boulevard 4629 N. Morris Boulevard 4630 N. Morris Boulevard 4633 N. Morris Boulevard 4636 N. Morris Boulevard 4639 N. Morris Boulevard 4642 N. Morris Boulevard 4647 N. Morris Boulevard 4650 N. Morris Boulevard 4653 N. Morris Boulevard 4658 N. Morris Boulevard 4659 N. Morris Boulevard 4663 N. Morris Boulevard 4664 N. Morris Boulevard 4671 N. Morris Boulevard 4675 N. Morris Boulevard 4513 N. Murray Avenue 4514 N. Murray Avenue 4517 N. Murray Avenue 4520 N. Murray Avenue 4523 N. Murray Avenue 4524 N. Murray Avenue 4529 N. Murray Avenue 4530 N. Murray Avenue 4533 N. Murray Avenue 4601 N. Murray Avenue 4604 N. Murray Avenue 4607 N. Murray Avenue 4614 N. Murray Avenue 4615 N. Murray Avenue 4621 N. Murray Avenue 4622 N. Murray Avenue 4628 & 4630 N. Murray Avenue 4629 N. Murray Avenue 4636 N. Murray Avenue 4637 N. Murray Avenue 4645 N. Murray Avenue 4655 N. Murray Avenue 4610 N. Newhall Street 4611 N. Newhall Street 4614 N. Newhall Street 4615 N. Newhall Street 4620 N. Newhall Street 4621 N. Newhall Street 4624 N. Newhall Street 4627 N. Newhall Street 4628 N. Newhall Street 4631 N. Newhall Street

Herman & Helen Ploetz House John G. & Lela Hove House Forrest W. & Henrietta Trumpf House Merton H. & Audrey Lewis House Herbert R. & Jean Nachtrab House Michael & Jean Galazan House A. J. & Dorothy Goddard House Dr. Herbert & Lorraine Apfelberg House Fred & Ella Goodman House A. F. & Martha Daehn House Arthur J. & Lillian Gauger House Clarence A. Retzlaff House R. S. & Norma Gilfoy House W. J. & Marie J. Koehler House John Andrew & Agnes E. Smith House F. A. & Gertrude Luber House Frank W. & Lauretta M. Ladky House Robe & Gertrude Bird House H. D. & Elsie Werwath House M. E. & Hazel Maurer House Raymond L. & Ruth T. Maas House Dr. Clayton F. & Freda M. Wermuth House Harry W. & Helen M. Bogner House John C. & Amy W. Davis House B. G. Van Devan House Fred O. & Viola Mueller House J. M. & Ann K. Aldrich House

Irving Leonard & Elsie M. Heller House Paul Frederick & Mable Lee Brand House John W. & Beslu Koch Duplex Dr. William K. & Peggy Hoffman House Arthur J. & Della G. Hamel House Adolph & Margaret Lotter House Hugh B. & Hattie J. Poppe House Clarence M. & Ruth W. Breslauer House Peter & Jovan Stanka House A. & Helen Schatner House

Milton K. & Pearl G. Sanders House Arthur Lehman House Charles J. Jr. & Bernice V. Stumpf House

1929 1925 1929 1953 1929 1923 1950 1937 1950 1939 1941 1929 1929 1929 1929 1928 1928 1928 1927 1927 1928 1950 1929 1927 1924 1927 1928 1924 1928 1928 1930 1924 1927 1951 1927 1959 1927 1927 1928 1925 1928 1925 1930 1930 < 1922 1927 1928 1939 1928 < 1922

307

4746 N. Newhall Street 4750 N. Newhall Street 4753 N. Newhall Street 4756 N. Newhall Street 4759 N. Newhall Street 4764 N. Newhall Street 4765 N. Newhall Street 4768 N. Newhall Street 4773 N. Newhall Street 4779 N. Newhall Street 4780 N. Newhall Street 4787 N. Newhall Street 4788 N. Newhall Street 4797 N. Newhall Street 4804 N. Newhall Street 4816 N. Newhall Street 4827 N. Newhall Street 4832 N. Newhall Street 4838 N. Newhall Street 4845 N. Newhall Street 4849 N. Newhall Street 4859 N. Newhall Street 4907 N. Newhall Street 4933 N. Newhall Street 4936 N. Newhall Street 4944 N. Newhall Street 4963 N. Newhall Street 4973 N. Newhall Street 4522, 4524 & 4526 N. Oakland Avenue 4611 N. Oakland Avenue 4612 N. Oakland Avenue 4708 N. Oakland Avenue 4716 N. Oakland Avenue 4719 N. Oakland Avenue 4725 N. Oakland Avenue 4731 N. Oakland Avenue 4770 N. Oakland Avenue 4773 N. Oakland Avenue 4780 N. Oakland Avenue 4785 N. Oakland Avenue 4811 N. Oakland Avenue 4817 N. Oakland Avenue 4820 N. Oakland Avenue 4823 N. Oakland Avenue 4829 & 4831 N. Oakland Avenue 4830 N. Oakland Avenue 4835 & 4837 N. Oakland Avenue 4840 N. Oakland Avenue 4841 N. Oakland Avenue 4849 N. Oakland Avenue

Valentine & Anna Koller House Franklin B. & Emma B. Raab House Robert & Pauline Harpke House John W. Hiller House Arthur E. & Grace S. Giljohann House Freeman H. & Doris G. Guerin House Emma F. Wahra House Robert & Pauline Kohler House Albert P & Marcella Kohler House Charles A. Jr. & Clotilde Guttenkunst House Rosa Schmidt House Robert & Rosalie Rellin House Roy & Frieda Haglund House Frank J. & Lucia M. Klinka House Jacob J. & Anna Zoller House Thomas J. & Rose Marie Sullivan House Charles S. & Carol W. Mittelman House George D. Sullivan House Edward & Inga Trussell House Hugo A. & Amalia Gruenwald House Henry G. & Margaret B. Kuether House Alix & Valaria Prinz House Paul & Augusta Will House Dar & Jeanne Vriesman House Lanham & Son Co. Building Dr. Clement H. Hickey Dental Office Dwight L. & Olga E. Van Auken House Mangus & Marie Thorgersen House Norman & Leona Knauer House Lawrence G. & Louise Theurer House Christ Episcopal Church Rectory George E. & Edith R. Inghram House Richard F. & Ruth H. Salomon House John R. & Fannie Moore House George & Margaret Schueler House Frank & Clara Prohaska House Louis L. & Jewel K. Fichaux House

Dr. Anthony J. & Catherine Koch House Peter & Sophia Mischler Duplex John N. & Elizabeth Meyer Duplex Ernest E. & Myrtle A. Beauvais House Edwin H. & Gertrude E. Eckstein House Ruth & Doris Morter House

1927 1930 1926 1927 1930 1928 1927 1930 1929 1927 1929 1929 1929 1965 1940 1939 1936 1929 1962 1936 c. 1921 1925 1939 1936 1928 1928 1927 1941 1931 1941 1928 1925 1955 1927 1935 1950 1952 1940 1945 1940 1925 1924 1930 1936 1925 1923 1925 1936 1937 1941

308

4850 N. Oakland Avenue 4857 N. Oakland Avenue 4860 N. Oakland Avenue 4870 N. Oakland Avenue 4873 N. Oakland Avenue 4901 N. Oakland Avenue 4915 & 4917 N. Oakland Avenue 4925 N. Oakland Avenue 5001 N. Palisades Road 5005 N. Palisades Road 5011 N. Palisades Road 5017 N. Palisades Road 5025 N. Palisades Road 5033 N. Palisades Road 5041 N. Palisades Road 5049 N. Palisades Road 5057 N. Palisades Road 5065 N. Palisades Road 5101 N. Palisades Road 5109 N. Palisades Road 5117 N. Palisades Road 5125 N. Palisades Road 5133 N. Palisades Road 5145 N. Palisades Road 5155 N. Palisades Road 5165 N. Palisades Road 4750 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4833, 4835, 4837, 4839, 4841, 4843, 4845, 4847, 4849, 4851, 4853, 4855, 4857, 4859, 4861 & 4863 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4865, 4867, 4869, 4871, 4873, 4875, 4877, 4879, 4881, 4883, 4885, 4887, 4889, 4891, 4893 & 4895 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4901, 4903, 4905, 4907, 4909, 4911, 4913, 4915, 4917, 4919, 4921, 4923, 4925, 4927, 4929 & 4931 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4930 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 4951, 4953, 4955, 4957, 4959 & 4961 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5000 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5006 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5007 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5012 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5051 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5065 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5070 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5075 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5101 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5106 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5116 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5129 N. Santa Monica Boulevard

Dr. Edward J. Schleif House Russell Barr & Nola Mae Williamson House William & Olive M. Gundlach House Herman C. Beverung House Alexander & Ruth Shmitt House Bert & Mary Keenan Duplex Ken & Ruth Cook House Reuben & Ann R. Kritzik House Edward E. & Alma Margis House Fred & Ruth Krueger House Robert J. & Martha Dempsey House Dr. Leo R. & Ruth Weinshel House Ralph B. & Ruth Abrams House Victor V. & Aileen R. Dahl House Edwin M. & Lois V. Krause House Bert S. & Gretchen Gittins House George & Lenore DeVine House Frank F. & Edithe Wolfgram House Kurt & Rosalind Schnellbacher House Walter H. Bendfelt House Thomas John & Eleanore C. Pringle House May Miller House Herman J. & Miriam Scholl House Albert & Cora Voss House Goodman-Bensman Funeral Home Margo Building Corporation Apartments Lisa Building Corporation Apartments Karen Building Corporation Apartments Randolph & Amy Pilling House Monica Building Corporation Apartments Henry C. & Augusta C. Ische House Oscar J. Sr. & Helen Goelzer House Homer Potter House Howard W. & Buelah Kortsehl House Robert M. & Vera B. Hubler House Robert F. Kruecke House Dr. Lynn J. & Rose M. Walker House Andrew & Rigmoe Keiding House Dr. Sidney K. & Marajen Wynn House

1920 1923 1921 1928 c. 1895 1948 1927 1924 1957 1952 1950 1949 1953 1951 1938 1941 1950 1942 1940 1940 1953 1938 1948 1951 1951 1940 1960 1951 1951 1951 1950 1949 1937 1937 1936 1937 c. 1915 1931 1937 1928 1929 c. 1905 1925 1945

309

5136 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5149 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5152 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5158 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5171 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5200 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5211 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5220 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5221 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5226 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5229 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5237 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5238 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5240 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5243 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5246 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5251 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5252 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5259 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5260 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5265 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5266 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5271 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5274 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5303 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5304 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5311 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5312 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5317 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5318 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5324 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5325 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5332 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5333 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5339 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5340 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5346 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5347 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5352 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5353 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5400 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5401 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5406 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5409 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5414 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5415 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5420 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5423 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5426 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5431 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5434 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5437 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5440 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5445 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5453 N. Santa Monica Boulevard

Cornelius A. & Margaret J. Schedler House Sheridan E. & Margaret O'Rourke House Burtram & Katherine Lutz House

Rexford S. & Mary Watson House Werner J.. & Beulah Trimborn House Eric F. & Gertrude Hartert House Monroe & Edythe Morse House W. P. & Sylvia Speaker House Arthur R. & Betty Der Derian House John V. & Catherine Stevenson House Albert Jr. & Anita Topzant House Raymond A. & Catherine Hintz House William & Nancy Stotzer House John & Lyle Schmid House B. F. Fisher House August & Mary Cianciolo House Alice Oldenburg House Dr. Leonard L. & Ruth Gramm House John C. & Gertrude Stuesser House Frances Jackson House Harris K. & Estelle Evans House Thomas P. & Mayland Hunt House Jerold & Carolyn Ross House William R & Ann Jassoy House Dr. Frank E. & Irene Drew House R. A. & Bernadine Grimmer House Marion T. & Jane M. Fritz House Allen E. & Grace Olsen House Pauline Krahl House Edward J. & Cordelia L. Zeiler House Frank Tillman House F. R. & Nellie Kluwin House John & Gertrude H. Blatz House John L. & Milida Defandorf House Charles L. & Florence R. Knab House Bernard A. & Frances M. Weideman House Dr. Howard J. & Dorothea Lee House R. A. & Arloene Wernecke House Roland A. & Virginia Darnieder House Arnold & Florence Brumm House Ben & Leah Jean Ulevich House Edwin O. & Hilda M. Martinson House Frank L. & Lillian Warsh House Fred C. & Mercedes Wienke House Emile E. & Cecile Gyss House Llyod & Florence Pitner House Max R. & Ruth G. Hoffman House Halsey & Anna Rapp House

1949 1931 1928 1939 1950 1947 1947 1949 1928 1936 1928 1941 1966 1939 1941 1929 1947 1961 1947 1929 1948 1931 1948 1929 1931 1949 1950 1971 1950 1935 1959 1937 1935 1940 1936 1938 1929 1941 1928 1936 1928 1938 1949 1935 1950 1948 1947 1948 1947 1949 1949 1929 1928 1928 1926

310

5459 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5462 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5500 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5501 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5509 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5515 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5518 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5521 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5524 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5527 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5530 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5535 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5536 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5541 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5542 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5546 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5547 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5554 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5555 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5559 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5560 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5564 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5565 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5572 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5573 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5578 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5579 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5635 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5654 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5681 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5681 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5682 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5700 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5714 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5715 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5720 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5723 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5737 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5747 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5750 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5754 & 5758 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5755 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5769 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5775 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5809 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5812 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5815 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5825 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5831 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5837 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5867 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5907 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5918 N. Santa Monica Boulevard

Frank A. & Alma Seifert House Harold S. & Janet Knowlton House M. P. & Beatrice Frank House Chester A. & Esther M. Cook House Norbert & Celia Gehl House Russell & Leda Stephens House Lillian Kraemer House John C. & Anna Bluhm House Ewald B. & Almira Buscher House Joseph O. & Irene Hosch House Paul & Stella Braun House Earl T. & Catherine Netzow House Joseph A. & Ruby C. Wolf House Robert H. & Stella Minor House A. P. Melendy House Paul F. & Myrtle Netzow House W. W. & Margaret Belson House William A. & Anne Kornemann House Arthur & Esther Warshauer House Arthur J. & Margaret Goetsch House Ira & Adele Safer House St. Monica School William Henry & Ruth Consaul House St. Monica Convent St. Monica Convent Garage William T. Consaul House Fred & Louise Consaul House M. T. Jr. & Elaine Heller House Thomas A. D. & Marjorie Jones House Elmer & Lucille Froehlich House George Jr. & Jeanette Ballhorn House John & Pauline Guiltre House Carl J. & Evelyn Meyer House Anna Zuerner Duplex Sheldon & Irene Kuhns House Albert A. & Ruhama Weiner House W. Hall & Amy Wallace House Dr. R. M. & Norma Stark House Richards School Earl J. & Esther D. Reddert House D. Coyne & Martha Callaghan House Roy F. & Leona Johnson House Henry W. Jr. & Loretta Bierman House Howard H. & Virginia H. Honaker House Victor & Helen Lichtensteiger House George & Maud Janisch House

1928 1926 1947 1928 1945 1939 1929 1930 1928 1928 1935 1939 1938 1926 1932 1928 1936 1928 1940 1939 1931 1935 1926 1928 1928 1930 1951 1928 < 1890 1950 c. 1895 c. 1893 1951 1930 1952 1952 1948 1926 1945 1926 1935 1946 1925 1927 1928 1928 1947 1947 1938 1945 1931 1935

311

5919 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5948 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5955 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 5962 & 5966 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6000 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6020 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6036 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6041 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6055 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6069 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6075 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6101 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6216 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6255 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6260 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6266 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6322 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6338 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6344 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6350 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 6401 N. Santa Monica Boulevard 301 E. School Road 331 E. School Road 407 E. School Road 4610 N. Sheffield Avenue 4629 N. Sheffield Avenue 4646 N. Sheffield Avenue 4700 N. Sheffield Avenue 4705 N. Sheffield Avenue 4714 N. Sheffield Avenue 4720 N. Sheffield Avenue 4721 N. Sheffield Avenue 4731 N. Sheffield Avenue 4736 N. Sheffield Avenue 4737 N. Sheffield Avenue 4742 N. Sheffield Avenue 4747 N. Sheffield Avenue 4751 N. Sheffield Avenue 4758 N. Sheffield Avenue 4772 N. Sheffield Avenue 4776 N. Sheffield Avenue 4782 N. Sheffield Avenue 4787 N. Sheffield Avenue 4816 N. Sheffield Avenue 4825 N. Sheffield Avenue 4845 N. Sheffield Avenue 4871 N. Sheffield Avenue 5000 N. Sheffield Avenue 5011 N. Sheffield Avenue 5019 N. Sheffield Avenue

Dr. Marshall & Jeanie Weber House L. C. & Mildred Borgeson House Thomas & Anna Mascari House Wagners Grocery Building Dave & Alfrieda Millner House Marvin & Ruth Sommers House William J. & Rosemarie Harley House Ellsworth & Harriett Klein House Dr. Leonard & Ann Gorenstein James C. & Nina Weir House Charles & Loretta Lurie House Russel L. & Marilyn Smith House Albert J. & June M. Hohberg House Milwaukee Country Day Junior School Leland & Mildred Baum House W. R. & Bernice Conaton House Samuel & Mary Margaret McMicken House J. R. Yanggen House Fred E. & Mary Zindler House John & Mina Heims House Milwaukee Country Day Senior School Norman O. & Louise W. Sorensen House

Richard L. & Sarah Jones House Roland A. & Lydia Rabe House O. F. & Christine Pedersen House Dr. Albert C. & Margaret M. Schmidt House Henry J. & Josephine Heiden House Erwin O. & Georgia Wengatz House John Douglas & Myrtle Edwards House John Douglas & Myrtle Edwards House Charles O. & Doris D. Caspar House Monroe W. & Mildred M. Mund House Elmer F. & Olga M. Abraham House Dr. Norbert & Mildred Wolf House

Roodell & Margaret Jane Holger House A. H. & Lillian Gauger House Elmer J. & Ella Knopf House William & Ann Schroeder House Thomas L. & Hazel Clarkson House Chester & Eunice Wangerin House

1950 1928 1947 1927 1953 1950 1937 1948 1951 1948 1947 1947 1937 1931 1947 1947 1938 1936 1936 c. 1875 1916 1947 1941 1941 1936 1939 1937 1939 1940 1936 1935 1938 1940 1939 1930 1936 1940 1931 1948 1939 1939 1930 1940 1940 1937 1940 1939 1941 1940 1940

312

5601 N. Shore Drive 5616 N. Shore Drive 5625 N. Shore Drive 5626 N. Shore Drive 5635 N. Shore Drive 5640 N. Shore Drive 5646 N. Shore Drive 5650 N. Shore Drive 5655 N. Shore Drive 5656 N. Shore Drive 5664 N. Shore Drive 5674 N. Shore Drive 5684 N. Shore Drive 5685 N. Shore Drive 5715 N. Shore Drive 5722 N. Shore Drive 5723 N. Shore Drive 5731 N. Shore Drive 5738 N. Shore Drive 5754 N. Shore Drive 5761 N. Shore Drive 5762 N. Shore Drive 5770 N. Shore Drive 5773 N. Shore Drive 5776 N. Shore Drive 5818 N. Shore Drive 5819 N. Shore Drive 5822 N. Shore Drive 5827 N. Shore Drive 5830 N. Shore Drive 5834 N. Shore Drive 5835 N. Shore Drive 5836 N. Shore Drive 5838 N. Shore Drive 5841 N. Shore Drive 5842 N. Shore Drive 5846 N. Shore Drive 5848 N. Shore Drive 5850 & 5852 N. Shore Drive 5851 N. Shore Drive 5859 N. Shore Drive 5862 N. Shore Drive 5866 N. Shore Drive 5867 N. Shore Drive 5960 N. Shore Drive 5961 N. Shore Drive 6001 N. Shore Drive 6009 N. Shore Drive 6010 N. Shore Drive

Robert H. & Nell Weaver House Ralph S. & Leona Roussy House A. Addison & Martha Wakeford House Gerald B. & Genevieve C. Athey House Joel & Susan Lee House

Horace V. & Mercedes Ballam House Clare H. Hall House Dr. Dexter H. & Margaret Witte House Henry S. & Margaret Wright House Howard J. & Viviane Beck House William G. & Elizabeth Pierce House Byron & Dorothy Heinemann House House Gerhard H. & Marjorie Kopmeier House W. Hackett Jr. & Bernice Emory House John G. Patterson House Petrofff & Margaret Slaby House Paul Stover House F. H. Miller House Max R. & Emma Schade House Arthur & Arline O'Conner House William G. & Louise G. Martin House Ignatz & Hilda Wetzel House John & Tillie M. Geerlings House Dr. Edwards H. & Katherine Mensing House William G. & Laura L. James House William G. James House Gerhard G. Fisher House

George J. & Hilda Roska House Erwin Stoekle House Edward J. & Alice Allee House Edward J. & Alice Allee House Frank A. & Lucille E. Pipkorn Duplex Carl H. & Johanna Landwehr House Julius E. & Adelaide J. Kranstover House Martin J. Brennan House N. H. Jack Dengel House Dr. Leon H. & Mrs. Thelma Guerin House George Jr. & Lucille M. Meyer House Willis E. & Hazel R. Gifford House Howard E. & Emma L. Kaufman House Howard & Mary Tobin House

1941 1947 1936 1939 1937 1939 1973 1939 1939 1950 c. 1921 1928 1925 1949 1928 1971 1928 1929 1949 1930 1948 1930 c. 1921 1927 c. 1921 1927 1927 1927 1927 1929 1929 1930 1930 1930 1927 1928 1927 1927 1928 1927 1927 1929 1932 1936 1934 1950 1949 1939 1924

313

4932, 4934, 4936, 4938, 4940, 4942, 4944, 4946, 4949, 4950, 4952, 4954, 4956, 4958, 4960 & 4962 N. Shoreland Avenue 4864, 4866, 4868, 4870, 4872, 4874, 4876, 4878, 4880, 4882, 4884, 4886, 4888, 4890, 4892 & 4894 N. Shoreland Avenue 4865, 4867, 4869, 4871, 4873, 4875, 4877, 4879, 4881, 4883, 4885, 4887, 4889, 4891, 4893 & 4895 N. Shoreland Avenue 4900, 4902, 4904, 4906, 4908, 4910, 4912, 4914, 4916, 4918, 4920, 4922, 4924, 4926, 4928 & 4930 N. Shoreland Avenue 4901, 4903, 4905, 4907, 4909, 4911, 4913, 4915, 4917, 4919, 4921, 4923, 4925, 4927, 4929 & 4931 N. Shoreland Avenue 5007 N. Shoreland Avenue 5008 N. Shoreland Avenue 5012 N. Shoreland Avenue 5017 N. Shoreland Avenue 5020 N. Shoreland Avenue 5040 N. Shoreland Avenue 5043 N. Shoreland Avenue 5049 N. Shoreland Avenue 5052 N. Shoreland Avenue 5053 N. Shoreland Avenue 5057 N. Shoreland Avenue 5063 N. Shoreland Avenue 5069 N. Shoreland Avenue 5070 N. Shoreland Avenue 5075 N. Shoreland Avenue 5100 N. Shoreland Avenue 5109 N. Shoreland Avenue 5110 N. Shoreland Avenue 5115 N. Shoreland Avenue 5121 N. Shoreland Avenue 5127 N. Shoreland Avenue 5148 N. Shoreland Avenue 5220 N. Shoreland Avenue 5221 N. Shoreland Avenue 5226 N. Shoreland Avenue 5232 N. Shoreland Avenue 5233 N. Shoreland Avenue 5238 N. Shoreland Avenue 5243 N. Shoreland Avenue 5244 N. Shoreland Avenue 5250 N. Shoreland Avenue 5253 N. Shoreland Avenue 5256 N. Shoreland Avenue 5259 N. Shoreland Avenue 5262 N. Shoreland Avenue 5268 N. Shoreland Avenue 5271 N. Shoreland Avenue

Nina Building Corporation Apartments Olympia Building Corporation Apartments Urania Building Corporation Apartments Patricia Building Corporation Apartments Rita Building Corporation Apartments Samuel & Ruth Klauser House L. A. & Myrtle Diesness House Granville R. & Mary Gibson House Nicholas K. & Virginia Delaney House Lloyd V. & Margaret Brovald House Paul & Rose Ann Just House Joseph A. & Ella E. Ries House Terese E. McNeel House H. & Sadie Hemman House Walter & Susan Majewsky House John T. & Hattie C. Conrardy House Arnold F. & Nelda E. Wegener House Joseph J. & Ella E. Hoffman House Felix F. & Beata B. Altenbach House Kurt C. & Catherine Tredupp House Sam & Betty Marsack House Harold & Florence Huelster House J. A. & Marie Binder House H. J. & Antoinette Willems House Walter C. & Edna Kluge House

1952 1952 1952 1952 1952 1945 1947 1947 1948 1948 1932 1936 1934 1936 1934 1931 1927 1929 1931 1936 1940 1950 1941 1938 1936 1939 1930 1938 1948 1936 1940 1946 1939 1936 1937 1936 1936 1946 1936 1940 1940 1940

Gilbert A. & Louise Lofye House James & Helane Sondel House Karl & Elizabeth E. Gimmler House Michael C. & Genevieve A. Frankard House Fenton & Betty McHugh House Walter R. & Verna Hall House I. W. & Doris Schoeninger House E. A. & Isabel Blonien House Russell A. & Eleanor M. Pratt House Dr. Henry & Harriet Blank House F. W. Knoll House George & Florence G. Masek House H. C. & Mae Gissel House

314

5274 N. Shoreland Avenue 5275 N. Shoreland Avenue 5282 N. Shoreland Avenue 5308 N. Shoreland Avenue 5312 N. Shoreland Avenue 5318 N. Shoreland Avenue 5324 N. Shoreland Avenue 5330 N. Shoreland Avenue 5335 N. Shoreland Avenue 5336 N. Shoreland Avenue 5341 N. Shoreland Avenue 5342 N. Shoreland Avenue 5347 N. Shoreland Avenue 5348 N. Shoreland Avenue 5353 N. Shoreland Avenue 5354 N. Shoreland Avenue 5400 N. Shoreland Avenue 5401 N. Shoreland Avenue 5406 N. Shoreland Avenue 5411 N. Shoreland Avenue 5412 N. Shoreland Avenue 5415 N. Shoreland Avenue 5418 N. Shoreland Avenue 5424 N. Shoreland Avenue 5427 N. Shoreland Avenue 5430 N. Shoreland Avenue 5436 N. Shoreland Avenue 5440 N. Shoreland Avenue 5445 N. Shoreland Avenue 5446 N. Shoreland Avenue 5449 N. Shoreland Avenue 5454 N. Shoreland Avenue 5459 N. Shoreland Avenue 5462 N. Shoreland Avenue 5506 N. Shoreland Avenue 5512 N. Shoreland Avenue 5516 N. Shoreland Avenue 5517 N. Shoreland Avenue 5522 N. Shoreland Avenue 5523 N. Shoreland Avenue 5527 N. Shoreland Avenue 5528 N. Shoreland Avenue 5532 N. Shoreland Avenue 5536 N. Shoreland Avenue 5540 N. Shoreland Avenue 5541 N. Shoreland Avenue 5546 N. Shoreland Avenue 5547 N. Shoreland Avenue 5550 N. Shoreland Avenue 5551 N. Shoreland Avenue

Dr. Carl A. & Emma Rohrbach House John A. & Pauline Pawlowski House Harold C. Gerbath House Ella Barnett House Paul J. & Illa Beck House Chester & Virginia Hochschild House Joseph M. & Verona Wirth House Stanley W. & Alice I. Grosskopf House Andrew & Mary Schildt House Barbara Goll House Gilbert & Evelym Meyer House Norbert W. & Lenore Hirschboeck House Donald & Ethel C. Booth House Niall R. & Lucille S. Schmidt House Frank & Martha Howell House A. Gram & Gertrude Woodford House Pauline Ehbets House Irvin J. & Harriette A. Ott House W. W. & Dorothy Higgins House A. W. & Edna Voss House Irvin J. & Harriett A. Ott House Alfred H. & Sylvia Jacobson House Benjamin G. & Margaret Getz House G. J. & Maryan Bergman House Dr. George C. & Elsie H. Janke House Joe N. & Marcella Lebow House Dr. George E. & Lee Ella Moore House Anton & Loretta Freihammer House Lewis A. Gordon House Walter J. & Vera McGuire House A. E. & Eleanor Stensby House Joseph M. & Lorene Duero House Fred & Catherine Reisweber House

Charles J. Maier House Fred J. & Gertrude Seitz House Alfred H. & Gertrude Noll House Link W. & Elsie Klocko House Charles A. & Alma Pagnucco House George H. & Gertrude Chamberlain House Theo P. & Jean Otjen House

1937 1939 1936 1935 1931 1935 1936 1931 1938 1930 1947 1936 1938 1934 1940 1937 1940 1945 1940 1938 1940 1938 1938 1931 1950 1935 1935 1935 1930 1935 1947 1937 1940 1936 1938 1936 1932 1937 1940 1930 1937 1941 1936 1935 1931 1926 1937 1938 1938 1938

315

5554 N. Shoreland Avenue 5558 N. Shoreland Avenue 5566 N. Shoreland Avenue 5569 N. Shoreland Avenue 5570 N. Shoreland Avenue 5574 N. Shoreland Avenue 5577 N. Shoreland Avenue 5578 N. Shoreland Avenue 5700 N. Shoreland Avenue 5701 N. Shoreland Avenue 5708 N. Shoreland Avenue 5709 N. Shoreland Avenue 5714 N. Shoreland Avenue 5715 N. Shoreland Avenue 5718 N. Shoreland Avenue 5719 N. Shoreland Avenue 5724 N. Shoreland Avenue 5725 N. Shoreland Avenue 5731 N. Shoreland Avenue 5732 N. Shoreland Avenue 5737 N. Shoreland Avenue 5740 N. Shoreland Avenue 5745 N. Shoreland Avenue 5748 N. Shoreland Avenue 5751 N. Shoreland Avenue 5754 N. Shoreland Avenue 5757 N. Shoreland Avenue 5760 N. Shoreland Avenue 5765 N. Shoreland Avenue 5768 N. Shoreland Avenue 5769 N. Shoreland Avenue 5775 N. Shoreland Avenue 5800 N. Shoreland Avenue 5801 N. Shoreland Avenue 5808 N. Shoreland Avenue 5809 N. Shoreland Avenue 5814 N. Shoreland Avenue 5815 N. Shoreland Avenue 5822 N. Shoreland Avenue 5823 N. Shoreland Avenue 5828 N. Shoreland Avenue 5829 N. Shoreland Avenue 5834 N. Shoreland Avenue 5835 N. Shoreland Avenue 5840 N. Shoreland Avenue 5841 N. Shoreland Avenue 5844 N. Shoreland Avenue 5845 N. Shoreland Avenue 5850 N. Shoreland Avenue 5851 N. Shoreland Avenue

Edwin N. & Gertrude Nelsen House Hans R. & Clara Gundersen House Dr. Arnold N. & Jane Elconin House Wilbur H. & Alma S. Otten House Laura Weber House M. T. & Emma Fenisyn House William & Cynthia Wagner House Katherine Jones House Joseph & Margaret Komoroski House Lewis P. & Bernadette Kiehm House R. L. & Margaret A. Osburn House Edward C. & Helen L. Berg House Clayton & Audrey Miller House Max A. & Goldie Katz House Herbert G. & Margaret M. Sullivan House Eugene J. & Wilma Stern House William F. & Mable M. Schanz House John & Clare Brunner House Norbert C. & Helen M. Baldus House Byron C. & Irene Sanders House Walter H. & Lydia Martini House S. A. & Martha Steen House A. R. Sleet House Clarence L. & Irene Komorek House Norbert & Empie Ellenbecker House Ferdinand Parsons House William E. & Marie Morris House Jack & Dora Spinelli House O. R. & Margaret Hackley House William A. & Alma Bellin House

Dr. Martin K. & Pearl Rosenbaum House John H. & Clarine Woida House Clark Elmer & Elgin Iva Miller House Harvey H. & Genevieve Sverdin House Otto & Anna Penske House Lawrence F. & Gladys B. Campbell House Leslie F. & Lucy G. Williams House Harry & Cora Gwaltney House O. L. & Lucille Waller House W. D. & Edith M. Farnum House George F. & Katherine M. Krause House Earl W. & Lucille Cornelius House James & Elizabeth Tate House Gerald J. & Mabel Murphey House Henry & Mary E. Foscato House Joseph & Carol Mandel House

1938 1928 1957 1937 1958 1940 1935 1937 1942 1928 1938 1947 1951 1947 1929 1947 1936 1947 1936 1936 1931 1928 1929 1935 1952 1926 1941 1951 1940 1927 1940 1941 1947 1936 1927 1948 < 1924 1928 1927 1935 1928 1927 1928 1928 1929 1955 1929 1941 1927 1945

316

5855 N. Shoreland Avenue 5856 N. Shoreland Avenue 5861 N. Shoreland Avenue 5862 N. Shoreland Avenue 5901 N. Shoreland Avenue 5919 N. Shoreland Avenue 5929 N. Shoreland Avenue 5938 N. Shoreland Avenue 5939 N. Shoreland Avenue 5948 N. Shoreland Avenue 5955 N. Shoreland Avenue 5968 N. Shoreland Avenue 5974 N. Shoreland Avenue 5975 N. Shoreland Avenue 6035 N. Shoreland Avenue 6039 N. Shoreland Avenue 6045 N. Shoreland Avenue 6054 N. Shoreland Avenue 6073 N. Shoreland Avenue 103, 105 & 109 E. Silver Spring Drive 111 & 121 E. Silver Spring Drive 120 E. Silver Spring Drive 127 & 133 E. Silver Spring Drive 160 E. Silver Spring Drive 160 E. Silver Spring Drive 160 E. Silver Spring Drive 177 E. Silver Spring Drive 205, 211 & 215 E. Silver Spring Drive 217, 219 & 227 E. Silver Spring Drive 302, 304, 308, 312, 314, 316, 318, 322, 324, 330, 334 & 338 E. Silver Spring Drive 342 E. Silver Spring Drive 400, 404 & 408 E. Silver Spring Drive 401, 403, 409 & 415 E. Silver Spring Drive 417 E. Silver Spring Drive 421, 423, 425 & 427 E. Silver Spring Drive 430 E. Silver Spring Drive 501, 505, 507, 509, 511 & 513 E. Silver Spring Drive 517 E. Silver Spring Drive 601, 615 & 621 E. Silver Spring Drive 629 E. Silver Spring Drive 721 E. Silver Spring Drive 812 E. Silver Spring Drive 834 E. Silver Spring Drive 841 & 843 E. Silver Spring Drive 847 E. Silver Spring Drive 871 E. Silver Spring Drive 880 E. Silver Spring Drive 900 E. Silver Spring Drive 105 W. Silver Spring Drive

R. L. & Dolly Buening House Jacob M. & Mary Ott House Winkler House John & Cora Casagrande House Marcus H. & Mildred E. Money House Glen & Mabel Trendel House Abe & Ruth Zitomer House Daniel E. & Marion Neja House A. J. & Ruth Herr House Howard & Mildred W. Thwaits House A. R. & Letitia J. Hase House W. G. Jr. & Harriet S. Cavanaugh House Alfred & Barbara D. Perego House Theodore E. & Alice Patricia Fajen House James R. & Dorothy Voss House John & Helen Henderson House Salvatore & Dolores Gucciardi House Nicholas & Rose Gagliano House Whitefish Bay Post Office Marcus Theater Building Addition Dominican High School Marcus Theater Building St. Monica Rectory St. Monica Catholic Church St. Monica Catholic Church Garage Whitefish Bay State Bank Bay Colony Building Fox Bay Building The Bay Liquor Shoppe Building Deutsch Shoe Store Building Berkley Building Village Fruit Market Building Powell Building Sterling Savings & Loan Assoc. Building Gotfredson Building National Tea Company Building Raydon Variety Store Building Hannahar Corporation Building First Church of Christ Scientist Lester Flaherty House Lyle & Arlene Kamradt House Albert E. Powell Duplex Theo O. & Martha F. Salzer House Adolph & Marie Dernehl House I. & Fannie Klafter House Harold J. & Mary Colton House Dr. Robert E. Wittig Dental Office

1926 1927 1930 1941 1926 1927 1926 1946 1926 1938 1926 1931 1937 1927 1949 1950 1950 1948 1950 1952 1978 1956 1952 1958 1954 1957 1951 1946 1948 1955 1956 1961 1946 1926 1962 1929 1932 1946 1950 1950 1953 1947 c. 1920 1936 c. 1920 1947 1947 1949

317

115 W. Silver Spring Drive 125 & 131 W. Silver Spring Drive; 5584 N. Lydell Avenue 700 E. Sylvan Avenue 701 E. Sylvan Avenue 709 E. Sylvan Avenue 712 E. Sylvan Avenue 715 E. Sylvan Avenue 716 E. Sylvan Avenue 721 E. Sylvan Avenue 722 E. Sylvan Avenue 729 E. Sylvan Avenue 730 E. Sylvan Avenue 734 E. Sylvan Avenue 735 E. Sylvan Avenue 741 E. Sylvan Avenue 742 E. Sylvan Avenue 801 E. Sylvan Avenue 802 E. Sylvan Avenue 809 E. Sylvan Avenue 814 E. Sylvan Avenue 817 E. Sylvan Avenue 820 E. Sylvan Avenue 823 E. Sylvan Avenue 826 E. Sylvan Avenue 829 E. Sylvan Avenue 832 E. Sylvan Avenue 837 E. Sylvan Avenue 933 E. Sylvan Avenue 941 E. Sylvan Avenue 942 E. Sylvan Avenue 1003 E. Sylvan Avenue 1006 E. Sylvan Avenue 1011 E. Sylvan Avenue 1012 E. Sylvan Avenue 1019 E. Sylvan Avenue 1020 E. Sylvan Avenue 1025 E. Sylvan Avenue 1026 E. Sylvan Avenue 1031 E. Sylvan Avenue 1032 E. Sylvan Avenue 1108 E. Sylvan Avenue 1116 E. Sylvan Avenue 1122 E. Sylvan Avenue 1128 E. Sylvan Avenue 1134 E. Sylvan Avenue 1142 E. Sylvan Avenue 1153 E. Sylvan Avenue 4610 N. Wildwood Avenue 4611 N. Wildwood Avenue

Rice Powell Company Building Bay Manor Apartments Robert & Carol White House Johnson M. & Blanche Nimlos House Richard & Ruth Lob House Edward M. & Anna Wagner House Val & Anna Schramka House Arthur E. & Hildegarde Trost House Arthur W. & Anna M. Friend House Max G. Jr. & Gertrude Belau House Walter H. & Anna Curtis House Arthur Z. & Lily Eberhardt House Adolph H. & Grace R. Weber House Frank G. & Emma Holbrook House Oscar J. & Helen Goelzer House Richard J. & Bertha Conell House Christian L. & Clara Schultz House Otto T. & Emma Paulson House Walter C. & Hilda Buenger House Jerre & Carole Allen House Harry E. & Blanche C. Roth House Michael J. Jr. & Eleanor K. Dunn House J. A. & Martha Bittner House Julius R. & Meta Hass House Roy L. & Florence King House H. A. & Lorraine M. Graf House Harry E. & Blanche Roth House William H. & Helen Scroggins House Harold & Amelia Levine House The Pines / Dr. Thaddeus W. & Alice J. Williams House Emmanuel Scheinfeld House Dale & Kathleen Wilson House James A. & Genevieve Wright House Eldred & Muriel Keays House Walter A. & Norma Belau House George A. & Elsa Logemann House Albert S. & Leah Ethridge House J. Gordon & Harriet Stowers House Carl & Gertrude Daun House Huntington & Beatrice Patch House J. E. & Evelyn Radomski House George Levin Jr. House R. C. & Harriet Robertson House David & Dorothy K. Resnick House Donald D. & Nina L. Barnes House Ray F. & Helen Beerend House Roy C. Pretzel House Lloyd House

1956 1949 1940 1925 1925 1925 1926 1928 1926 1928 1926 1929 1928 1926 1928 1929 1929 1925 1931 1964 1928 1926 1929 1925 1951 1948 1940 1952 1940 c. 1893 1939 1926 1937 1929 1936 1926 1929 1979 1949 1928 1927 1926 1949 1926 1937 1936 1926 1939 1939

318

4618 N. Wildwood Avenue 4619 N. Wildwood Avenue 4626 N. Wildwood Avenue 4627 N. Wildwood Avenue 4634 N. Wildwood Avenue 4635 N. Wildwood Avenue 4640 N. Wildwood Avenue 4643 N. Wildwood Avenue 4646 N. Wildwood Avenue 4652 N. Wildwood Avenue 4658 N. Wildwood Avenue 4815 N. Wildwood Avenue; 4810 N. Marlborough Drive 4825 N. Wildwood Avenue 4849 N. Wildwood Avenue 4901 N. Wildwood Avenue 4933 N. Wildwood Avenue 4947 N. Wildwood Avenue 4967 N. Wildwood Avenue 4975 N. Wildwood Avenue 4600 N. Wilshire Road 4604 N. Wilshire Road 4608 N. Wilshire Road 4612 N. Wilshire Road 4616 N. Wilshire Road 4617 N. Wilshire Road 4622 N. Wilshire Road 4628 N. Wilshire Road 4634 N. Wilshire Road 4635 N. Wilshire Road 4645 N. Wilshire Road 4646 N. Wilshire Road 4655 N. Wilshire Road 4656 N. Wilshire Road 4666 N. Wilshire Road 4667 N. Wilshire Road 4676 N. Wilshire Road 4677 N. Wilshire Road 4684 N. Wilshire Road 4685 N. Wilshire Road 4706 N. Wilshire Road 4707 N. Wilshire Road 4716 N. Wilshire Road 4724 N. Wilshire Road 4725 N. Wilshire Road 4732 N. Wilshire Road 4737 N. Wilshire Road 4742 N. Wilshire Road 4745 N. Wilshire Road 4748 N. Wilshire Road 4753 N. Wilshire Road

Ramon L. & Sara Hill Spears House Louis, Manthey House Alfred H. & Edna Zastrow House N. D. Helland House Morris R. & Rose Segal House J. Lubar House Ray Blumberg House Leslie & Jean Reder House Holy Family Catholic Church & Rectory Holy Family Convent Holy Family Parish School Bert & Ruth Collier House Fred & Emmy Sanders House Robert & Virginia Gallun House Meyer & Sylvia Palay House J. A. & Gertrude A. Keogh House Dr. Emil & Rose Franklin House J. J. & Erna Zwicky House Dr. J. S. Ackerman House Dr. Louis A. Bernhard House Sol. & Esther Blankstein House David & Teresa Kritzik House Fannie Grossman House Dr. Harry B. & Ann Sadoff House Julius & Esther Goodman House George F. & Janet Kasten House Harry A. & Fanny Watkins House Fred C. & Virginia Doepke House G. H. & Margaret Hunkel House George G. & Charlotte Schneider House Albert F. & Elizabeth W. Gallun House Wyeth & Lillian C. Allen House Walter & Meta Hoffmann House Erna Schweitzer House Herman & Anna Laabs House Melvin W. & Marion Andres House Whitney J. & Anna M. Eastman House E. A. & Anita Weschler House Edward Franz & Erna M. Pritzlaff House Bernard V. & Amybelle M. Brady House Dr. R. W. Roethke House Benjamin & Anna Rosenberg House Dr. H. E. & Vera Lando House

1940 1939 1939 1940 1941 1939 1940 1941 1939 1939 1941 1969 1960 1950 1950 1950 1950 1947 1947 1937 1952 1950 1938 1941 1950 1948 1949 1949 1950 1937 1952 1940 1953 1952 1937 1949 1929 1930 1954 1928 1927 1929 1929 1925 1936 1930 1930 1949 1923 1951

319

4756 N. Wilshire Road 4762 N. Wilshire Road 4770 N. Wilshire Road 4611 N. Woodburn Street 4614 N. Woodburn Street 4617 N. Woodburn Street 4620 N. Woodburn Street 4625 N. Woodburn Street 4628 N. Woodburn Street 4633 N. Woodburn Street 4634 N. Woodburn Street 4639 N. Woodburn Street 4640 N. Woodburn Street 4645 N. Woodburn Street 4648 N. Woodburn Street 4654 N. Woodburn Street 4657 N. Woodburn Street 4660 N. Woodburn Street 4665 N. Woodburn Street 4666 N. Woodburn Street 4671 N. Woodburn Street 4674 N. Woodburn Street 4677 N. Woodburn Street 4685 N. Woodburn Street 4700 N. Woodburn Street 4701 N. Woodburn Street 4706 N. Woodburn Street 4710 N. Woodburn Street 4711 N. Woodburn Street 4718 N. Woodburn Street 4721 N. Woodburn Street 4724 N. Woodburn Street 4730 N. Woodburn Street 4731 N. Woodburn Street 4737 N. Woodburn Street 4740 N. Woodburn Street 4745 N. Woodburn Street 4750 N. Woodburn Street 4751 N. Woodburn Street 4759 N. Woodburn Street 4760 N. Woodburn Street 4765 N. Woodburn Street 4766 N. Woodburn Street 4774 N. Woodburn Street 4777 N. Woodburn Street 4782 N. Woodburn Street 4783 N. Woodburn Street 4790 N. Woodburn Street 4791 N. Woodburn Street 4796 N. Woodburn Street

Ben J. & Norma Kraft House Markus & Rose Shapiro House Mayer & Sally Hiken House C. Herzberg House John J. & Margaret Lown House Dr. S. G. Weisfeld House K. Wiener House Tom & Margaret Sendik House Rose Tumanic House George & Amanda Kraemer House Hans & Gertrude Turrian House William C. & Antionia Mett House S. J. Grossman & Frances House Frank W. & Myrtle Eastwood House Lester A. & Viola Damitz House Dr. Donald C. & Mildred Ausman House Le Roy & Amanda Henze House Richard J. & Bernice M. Lawless House William F. & Violet Graebel House Fred A. & Josephine Gebhardt House David W. & Bernice Livingston House Ralph J. & Estelle Drought House Irving S. & Louise P. Bilty House Robert B. & Ethel A. Richards House William J. & Ottlie Kunz House E. C. Trumpf House Charlotte C. Pearson House

Harold L. & Grace E. Smith House

Samuel C. & Sarah Kops House Dr. Floyd C. & Leoneze A. Wilson House Joseph L. & Adela Columbo House Charles & Mildred Strauss House Walter J. & Bertha J. Bauer House George E. & Sarah Stetner House Richard & Mabel Baarth House Edwin C. & Erna Rockrohr House

1949 1949 1948 1940 1940 1940 1939 1950 1939 1941 1939 1937 1939 1936 1938 1938 1936 1953 1936 1937 1936 1940 1931 1929 1929 1933 1933 1929 1932 1929 1931 1936 1929 1930 1930 1929 1930 1936 1930 1929 1935 1929 1935 1930 1929 1935 1929 1935 1929 1936

320

4797 N. Woodburn Street 4800 N. Woodburn Street 4801 N. Woodburn Street 4808 N. Woodburn Street 4809 N. Woodburn Street 4816 N. Woodburn Street 4819 N. Woodburn Street 4824 N. Woodburn Street 4825 N. Woodburn Street 4830 N. Woodburn Street 4831 N. Woodburn Street 4836 N. Woodburn Street 4837 N. Woodburn Street 4842 N. Woodburn Street 4843 N. Woodburn Street 4848 N. Woodburn Street 4851 N. Woodburn Street 4856 N. Woodburn Street 4857 N. Woodburn Street 4863 N. Woodburn Street 4864 N. Woodburn Street 4868 N. Woodburn Street 4869 N. Woodburn Street 4874 N. Woodburn Street 4902 N. Woodburn Street 4903 N. Woodburn Street 4907 N. Woodburn Street 4908 N. Woodburn Street 4914 N. Woodburn Street 4915 N. Woodburn Street 4920 N. Woodburn Street 4923 N. Woodburn Street 4929 N. Woodburn Street 4930 N. Woodburn Street 4936 N. Woodburn Street 4937 N. Woodburn Street 4942 N. Woodburn Street 4943 N. Woodburn Street 4949 N. Woodburn Street 4950 N. Woodburn Street 4955 N. Woodburn Street 4958 N. Woodburn Street 4961 N. Woodburn Street 4964 N. Woodburn Street 4967 N. Woodburn Street 4970 N. Woodburn Street 4975 N. Woodburn Street 5003 N. Woodburn Street 5005 N. Woodburn Street 5019 N. Woodburn Street

George L. Thomas House Robert M. & Vivian Gill House William J. & Lydia Schaus House Dr. E. C. & Betty Meldman House John Clauder House Arthur J. & Clara A. Podawiltz House Wallace F. & Loraine C. Lanham House Hugh A. & Dorothy A. Sinclair House Walter & Adele Bieck House Irwin & Rose Weil House Richard F. & Jane L. Hoffmann House Clarence W. & Leona Smith House Oscar R. & Hilda Truettner House Alexander F. & Florence North House Jesse W. & Ada H. Johnson House Alvin A. & Bernice Gerlach House Louis E. & Lydia M. Bertane House Ralph B. & Miriam B. Ritter House Raymond C. & Kathleen Shank House Raymond W. & Dorothy D. Duff House Harry A. & Ilse I. Brown House Jack Allen & Eleanor Smith House

Frank E. & Mabel E. Dion House Fred C. & Hazel Christiansen House Louis J. Miller House Robert A. & Louise Curran House Dr. J. S. Walkley House Fillmore A. & Marion P. Frederick House Jay K. & E. Gladys Bond House Walter A. & Lillith S. Wadsworth House William F. & Olive H. Ragan House Clarence E. & Belle Long House Jerome C. & Julie Saltzstein House Earl & Irma Sedlmayer House Fred L. & Marion W. Good House Dr. Benjamin Urdan House William B. Faude House J. S. & Mary Cohn House Samuel & Fanny Zarne House Curtis & Elizabeth Marsell House Malcom E. & Florence J. Gregg House Walter H. & Gladys Hoffman House Arthur L. & Ruby Suddeth House Walter E. & Clare Weissinger House

1929 1951 1940 1951 1940 1930 1927 1929 1927 1930 1926 1927 1926 1931 1927 1929 1928 1947 1929 1927 1927 1929 1926 1938 1930 1930 1928 1931 1929 1929 1929 1927 1927 1927 1928 1926 1931 1928 1928 1931 1930 1931 1929 1931 1938 1931 1959 1936 1941 1939

321

5025 N. Woodburn Street 5026 N. Woodburn Street 5030 N. Woodburn Street 5031 N. Woodburn Street 5038 N. Woodburn Street 5041 & 5043 N. Woodburn Street 5045 N. Woodburn Street 5053 N. Woodburn Street 5059 N. Woodburn Street 5060 N. Woodburn Street 5067 N. Woodburn Street 5068 N. Woodburn Street 5074 N. Woodburn Street 5075 N. Woodburn Street 5103 N. Woodburn Street 5108 N. Woodburn Street 4639 N. Woodruff Avenue 4640 N. Woodruff Avenue 4725 N. Woodruff Avenue 4739 N. Woodruff Avenue 4742 N. Woodruff Avenue 4747 N. Woodruff Avenue 4758 N. Woodruff Avenue 4760 N. Woodruff Avenue 4767 N. Woodruff Avenue 4786 N. Woodruff Avenue 4817 N. Woodruff Avenue 4823 N. Woodruff Avenue 4824 N. Woodruff Avenue 4829 N. Woodruff Avenue 4841 N. Woodruff Avenue 4844 N. Woodruff Avenue 4850 N. Woodruff Avenue 4857 N. Woodruff Avenue 4917 N. Woodruff Avenue 4923 N. Woodruff Avenue 4929 N. Woodruff Avenue 4941 N. Woodruff Avenue 4947 N. Woodruff Avenue 4953 N. Woodruff Avenue 4961 N. Woodruff Avenue 4969 N. Woodruff Avenue 4975 N. Woodruff Avenue 5001 N. Woodruff Avenue 5007 N. Woodruff Avenue 5010 N. Woodruff Avenue 5013 N. Woodruff Avenue 5019 N. Woodruff Avenue 5026 N. Woodruff Avenue 5135 N. Woodruff Avenue

R. Libke House William E. & Kathryn Simons House Frank J. Edwards House Dr. Matthew Presion House Thorwald Mark Duplex A. Stumpf House Frederick E. & Katherine Luedke House Walter C. & Hedwig Schroeder House Adam E. & Rose A. Rauch House Hugo R. & Ora B. Vogel House August J. & Anna H. Jankowski House Edward G. Mackley House A.E. Law House John H. & Betty B. Healy House Harry & Janet Altman House

Holgar L. & Ellen Mitchell House Merriam Morgan House Donald W. & Alice M. Garber House H.L. Malm House Uri B. & Imo E. Worcheste House Fred & Rita Gordy House Walter J. & Alice S. Stahnke House Herbert & Lilliam W. Rost House Howard J. & Grace Pollock House John B. Taylor House Ralph W. & Loretta L. Schiefelbein House Chester & Mary Jane Urmanski House R. Paul & Alice Anderson House Herman & Eleanor Kuehl House Harry & Georgia Stewart-Moore House George Fick House Anthony & Rose Gentilli House Joe A. Lynn House Minnie Peterson House Irving Jr. & Agnes B. Brown House Herbert & Hilda Klemm House H. J. Halberstadt House Alfred C. Schardt House Donald & Polly Eaton House O. B. Dahlberg House Robert H. & Katherine Schmitz House Henrietta S. Trumpf House Lewis E. & Grace A. Sawyer House Ralph R. & Edna M. Van Horne House

1939 1941 1940 1939 1946 1926 1927 1924 1938 1938 1928 1936 1929 1950 1935 1935 1948 1942 1939 1938 1937 1938 1938 1938 1937 1948 1938 1937 1937 1937 1936 1940 1936 1938 1941 1940 1939 1941 1941 1939 1936 1936 1935 1935 1955 1939 1925 1939 1928 1928

322

5139 N. Woodruff Avenue 5147 N. Woodruff Avenue 5157 N. Woodruff Avenue

William J. & Phoebe Geenen House Albert E. & Pauline A. Pauk House Herman & Lucille Staeding House

1928 1928 1925

323

This page intentionally left blank.

324

17
Recommendations
Introduction The survey should serve as the first step in the creation of an overall historic preservation ethic in Whitefish Bay. It gives a brief history of the village, identifies historic resources, and can serve as a basis for decision-making activities regarding those resources. This report can be used to create interest and awareness and promote historic resources and preservation issues in Whitefish Bay. This chapter outlines the many benefits of and economic incentives for historic preservation and provides preliminary recommendations for future preservation actions in the village. Community Strategies for Historic Preservation A village-wide preservation program can be one of the most effective forms of economic development that a municipality can support. Preservation stimulates both public and private investment in the community and supports major components of the local economy: tourism, construction, and real estate. Historic buildings attract customers and are often sought after, desirable pieces of real estate. There are many benefits of historic preservation: Enjoyment of the communitys heritage Improved property values Increased property tax receipts Investment in older & historic properties Increased tourism Greater flexibility in meeting Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) in historic buildings More flexibility in meeting state building codes Greater community pride and an increased sense of belonging Increased attractiveness to new businesses Decreased crime and vandalism in historic areas Increased conservation of materials and natural resources Improved overall quality of life In order to achieve these benefits, many incentives for historic preservation have been developed. There are several different types of tax incentives. Property owners who undertake a certified historic restoration or rehabilitation of their property are eligible for income tax credits. Certain historic buildings are also exempt from property taxes, and tax deductions can be utilized

325

for historic faade easements. Additionally, there are several building code incentives. Buildings listed in the National Register of Historic Places or buildings that are eligible for listing qualify for the International Existing Building Codes Historic Buildings Chapter which is slightly more lenient than the standard building code. There is also a greater flexibility in meeting the building requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Further information regarding these incentives has been included in the Chapter 18 Appendix. Recommendation for the Registration & Protection of Resources Historic Preservation Ordinance Before any of the above mentioned benefits of preservation can continue in Whitefish Bay, it is imperative that a formal village-wide historic preservation program be established. In 1994, an act of the Wisconsin Statutes was passed that required cities and villages, such as Whitefish Bay, which have buildings listed in the National Register of Historic Places to enact an ordinance to regulate any place, structure or object with a special character, historic, archaeological or aesthetic interest, or other significant value, for the purpose of preserving the place, structure or object and its significant characteristics. Ordinances serve to protect extant historic resources and officially establish a Historic Preservation Commission. Such an ordinance has already been enacted by the Villages Board of Trustees. This was a great step forward in protecting Whitefish Bays historic structures. However, the ordinance is fairly weak and does not meet the standards set forth by the Wisconsin Historical Society. Now would be an excellent time to fine tune this ordinance to remove some of the voluntary, or opt-in, aspects to allow for Commission designation of individual buildings and districts. Historic Preservation Commission A group of individuals has been appointed for the commission, including teachers, local businessmen, and Village trustees. In the future consideration should be given during appointments to ensure commission members possess knowledge, experience, and interest in the areas of history, historic preservation, historic architecture, real estate, and law. This commission should be commended on their recent efforts to update the WHPD and provide plaques identifying locally landmarked buildings. They hold regular public meetings in order to tackle the tasks that lie ahead. It is their duty to establish planning policies, educate the community, and carry out the program. These tasks are imperative given the high profile threats and losses that the community has recently faced, such as the demolition of the Whitefish Bay Armory. If or when the budget permits, some consideration may be given to hiring a staff preservation consultant to keep the commission organized, set policies, and carry out the day-today operations of the program. Certified Local Government This survey was funded by a grant through the Wisconsin Historical Society. However, that same grant money that could be used for preparation of an official city preservation plan, public education, or National Register Nominations is not available to communities unless they have been declared a Certified Local Government. After the ordinance is revised, the Commission

326

should make an effort to be declared a Certified Local Government so that it may receive future grant monies. Several documents that discuss this matter are published by the Wisconsin Historical Society have been included in the Chapter 18 Appendix. Local Landmarking of Historic Resources The Whitefish Bay Historic Preservation Commission has locally landmarked many buildings in the past. It is hoped that this report will enliven their efforts to continue to identify and landmark historic resources in Whitefish Bay. National Register Nominations This report has outlined many individual historic properties and several historic districts that are potentially eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places. An effort should be made to follow through with National Register nominations for these properties and districts. After they become a Certified Local Government, the Historic Preservation Commission could apply for grants through the Wisconsin Historical Society. The information contained in this survey report will act as a springboard for further research for these nominations. Threats to Resources Ironically, the biggest threat to Whitefish Bays historic resources is the same this that made it a desirable location when it was founded: it location along Lake Michigan and proximity to downtown Milwaukee. This location has historically attracted residents of affluence and wealth, resulting in the villages status as one of Milwaukees elite historic suburbs. Today, the proximity to places of work, good schools, and established neighborhoods has contributed to the ongoing desirability of Whitefish Bay. Changes in modern conveniences and increasing public expectations have brought a great deal of pressure on older homes, especially those with lake frontage. This has resulted in the demolition of a number of buildings which have been replaced with new, larger ones and extensive remodeling and additions to hundreds of buildings. Because of Whitefish Bays location and status, these trends are expected to continue into the future. The largest threat to preservation in Whitefish Bay is razing of historic buildings. In recent years, a few homes, commercial buildings, and, most notably, the armory have been torn down. Other threats to Whitefish Bays architectural integrity include unsympathetic additions to buildings and the replacement of original windows and siding with more modern materials which obscure unique historic details. The Historic Preservation Commission should keep abreast of upcoming project at historic properties. With the current ordinance, there is little to prevent the types of threats mentioned above. Perhaps future losses could be minimized if the historic preservation ordinance had a bit more teeth. Any future demolitions need to be clearly and carefully examined. Demolition is forever!

327

Public Education In order to gain public support for preservation activities, it is important that the public be educated to the issues. It is also important to remind the community of the buildings that have already been lost as a means to protect historic buildings in the future. This can be accomplished in a variety of ways. Media, such as local television, radio, newspapers, and brochures, can spread the word to many. Displays in public buildings, such as in the Village Hall basement, can also bring awareness to the community. Tourism publications can educate visitors about Whitefish Bays history. Self-guided and guided walking tours and tours of historic homes are often popular and can showcase Whitefish Bays historic buildings to those within the community and interested visitors. Lectures and workshops on preservation issues can also be useful. Historically appropriate maintenance, window replacement, residing, painting, and porch replacement should be promoted at these types of events. A set of design guidelines for historic preservation can be developed and distributed to local architects, building owners, contractors, and others in the community. The City of Milwaukees series of guides: As Good as New: A Guide for Rehabilitating the Exterior of Your Old Milwaukee Home; Good for Business: A Guide to Rehabilitating the Exteriors of Older Commercial Buildings; and Living with History: A Guide to the Preservation Standards for Historically Designated Homes in Milwaukee are excellent resources for any community and any preservation project. Future Survey & Research Needs This is not a complete history of the Village of Whitefish Bay. It is hoped that this survey will be periodically updated and expanded upon. This report is subject to change. Additional research and clarifications should be incorporated and added to this report in the future. This is a living document and the beginning of an ongoing historic preservation effort that will continue for years to come in this community.

328

18
Notes
McDonald, Paula. Cherished. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: Cumberland PTA, 1978. Ibid. 3 Ibid. 4 Ibid. 5 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 9. Mimi Bird Collection, Whitefish Bay: Whitefish Bay Public Library. 6 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 3. 7 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 9. 8 McDonald, Paula. 9 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 13. 10 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 11 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 9. 12 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 13 McDonald, Paula. 14 Ibid. 15 Ibid. 16 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 17 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. On file at the Whitefish Bay Public Library, Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin. 18 Ibid. 19 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 20 Fehring, Thomas H. Images of America: Whitefish Bay. Charleston, South Carolina: Arcadia Publishing, 2010, pages 117-121. 21 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 22 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 23 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 26. 24 United States Postal Service website. <http://www.usps.com> 25 National Governors Association website. <http://www.nga.org> 26 Mertens, Maureen Dietzel. Storied Whitefish Bay Mansion For Sale. Milwaukee Journal Sentinel January 18, 1996. 27 Dictionary of Wisconsin History. Wisconsin Historical Society website. <http://www.wisconsinhistory.org> 28 The Political Graveyard website. < http://www.politicalgraveyard.com> 29 National Governors Association website. 30 Dictionary of Wisconsin History. 31 The Political Graveyard. 32 Ibid.
2 1

329

Ibid. Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 35 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: Village of Whitefish Bay Historic Preservation Commission, June 2011. 36 Silvers, Amy Rabideau. Case of the Missing Ex-Sheriff. Milwaukee Journal Sentinel September 17, 1983. 37 Fehring, Thomas H. Images of America: Whitefish Bay, page 120. 38 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 39 Whitefish Bay Building Building Permit Records. On file at Village of Whitefish Bay Village Hall, Whitefish, Wisconsin. 40 McDonald, Paula. 41 Ibid. 42 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 43 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 44 Ibid. 45 Ibid. 46 Ibid. 47 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 48 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 49 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 50 Village of Whitefish Bay website. <http://www.wfbvillage.org> 51 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 52 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 53 Whitefish Bay Then and Now. Milwaukee, Wisocnsin: League of Women Voters of the North Shore of Milwaukee County, Wisconsin, 1970. 54 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 55 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 56 Whitefish Bay Then and Now. 57 Ibid. 58 Village of Whitefish Bay website. 59 Whitefish Bay Then and Now. 60 A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: League of Women Voters of Whitefish Bay, 1964. 61 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 62 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 63 A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function. 64 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 65 Ibid. 66 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 26. 67 Whitefish Bay Then and Now. 68 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 69 Whitefish Bay Then and Now. 70 Ibid. 71 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 26. 72 A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function.
33

34

330

73
74

Whitefish Bay Then and Now. Greene, Howard and William T. Berthelet. The Milwaukee Cement Company. Wisconsin Magazine of History September 1949. 75 Ibid. 76 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 10. 77 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 78 Whitefish Bay Then and Now. 79 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 80 Ibid. 81 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 82 Herzog, Lewis W. Paths to the North Shore Suburbs. On file at the Whitefish Bay Public Library, Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin. 83 Village of Whitefish Bay Subdivision Plat Maps. On file at Village of Whitefish Bay Village Hall, Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin. 84 Herzog, Lewis W. Paths to the North Shore Suburbs. 85 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 86 Herzog, Lewis W. Paths to the North Shore Suburbs. 87 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 88 Ibid. 89 Herzog, Lewis W. Paths to the North Shore Suburbs. 90 Village of Whitefish Bay Subdivision Plat Maps. 91 Whitefish Bay Then and Now. 92 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 93 Herzog, Lewis W. Paths to the North Shore Suburbs. 94 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 95 Ibid. 96 Herzog, Lewis W. Paths to the North Shore Suburbs. 97 Ibid. 98 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 99 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 9. 100 Milwaukee County Transit System website. <http://www.ridemcts.com> 101 Blumenson, John J. G. Identifying American Architecture: A Pictorial Guide to Styles and Terms, 1600-1945. Second Ed. New York: W. W. Norton & Company, 1981, page 27. 102 Blumenson, John J. G., page 31. 103 Blumenson, John J. G., page 53. 104 Blumenson, John J. G., page 63. 105 Blumenson, John J. G., page 73. 106 Wyatt, Barbara, ed. Cultural Resource Management in Wisconsin: Volume 2, A Manual For Historic Properties. Madison, Wisconsin: Historic Preservation Division State Historical Society of Wisconsin, 1986, page Architecture 2-24. 107 Blumenson, John J. G., page 71. 108 Wyatt, Barbara, page Architecture 2-29. 109 Wyatt, Barbara, page Architecture 2-28. 110 Regency Architecture. Britain Express website. <http://www.britainexpress.com> 111 Wyatt, Barbara, page Architecture 2-29.

331

112 113

Wyatt, Barbara, page Achitecture 2-30. Fehring, Thomas H. The Vaulted Tudors of John Edwards Co.: The Studi-O-Homes. Application for listing on the Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: Whitefish Bay Historic Preservation Commission, 2009. 114 Wyatt, Barbara, page Achitecture 2-31. 115 Wyatt, Barbara, page Achitecture 2-32. 116 Ibid. 117 Hirschman, Jim. French Provincial Has Never Looked Better. Street Directory. Website: www.streetdirectory.com. 118 Wyatt, Barbara, page Architecture 2-35. 119 Blumenson, John J. G., page 75. 120 Ranch Style Architecture of the Twentieth Century. Antique Home website. <http://www.antiquehome.org> 121 Wyatt, Barbara, page Architecture 2-37. 122 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 123 Architect Files. On file at the Wisconsin Historical Society, Division of Historic Preservation & Public History, Madison, Wisconsin. 124 Weirick, David. W. E. Gifford Residence. Application for Listing on the Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: Village of Whitefish Bay Historic Preservation Commission, December 2009. 125 Obituary: Frances Marie F. Caraway. Wisconsin State Journal January 21, 2009. 126 Weirick, David. 127 Obituary: Frances Marie F. Caraway. 128 Architect Files. 129 Ibid. 130 Ibid. 131 Ibid. 132 Ibid. 133 Milwaukee City Directories. On file at the Milwaukee Public Library. Milwaukee, Wisconsin: Various dates between 1915 and 1960. 134 American Architects Directory. New York: R. R. Bowker Company, 1962. 135 Ibid. 136 Architect Files. 137 Ibid. 138 Ibid. 139 Ibid. 140 Ibid. 141 Ibid. 142 Whitefish Bay Villiage Directories. On file at the Whitefish Bay Public Library, Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin. Various dates between 1915 and 1960. 143 Palmer, Virginia. Ernest Flagg Stone Masonry Houses of Milwaukee County. National Register of Historic Places Inventory-Nomination Form. Washington, DC: National Park Service, United States Deparatment of the Interior, September 1985. 144 Flagg, Ernest, 1857-1947. Small Houses, Their Economic Design and Construction. New York: C. Scribners Sons, 1922.

332

145 146

Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. Architects Files. 147 Ibid. 148 Ibid. 149 Whitefish Bay Villlage Directories. 150 Architect Files. 151 Ibid. 152 Ibid. 153 Whitefish Bay Villlage Directories. 154 Architect Files. 155 Whitefish Bay Villlage Directories. 156 Architect Files. 157 Whitefish Bay Villlage Directories. 158 Architect Files. 159 Ibid. 160 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 11. 161 Architect Files. 162 Whitefish Bay Village Directories. 163 Milwaukee Historic Ethnic Architecture Resources Study. Section V-Ethnic Architects in Milwaukee. 164 Architect Files. 165 Ibid. 166 Ibid. 167 Fehring, Thomas H. Images of America: Whitefish Bay, page 61. 168 Milwaukee City Directories. 169 Fehring, Thomas H. The Vaulted Tudors of John Edwards Co.: The Studi-O-Homes. 170 Whitefish Bay Villlage Directories. 171 Ibid. 172 Ibid. 173 Ibid. 174 Ibid. 175 Ibid. 176 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 14. 177 Whitefish Bay Villlage Directories. 178 Ibid. 179 Ibid. 180 McDonald, Paula. 181 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 9. 182 Ibid. 183 Ibid. 184 Ibid. 185 Ibid. 186 Ibid. 187 Ibid. 188 Ibid.

333

189 190

Ibid. Ibid. 191 Ibid. 192 Ibid. 193 Ibid. 194 Ibid. 195 Ibid. 196 Ibid. 197 Ibid. 198 Ibid. 199 Ibid. 200 Ibid. 201 Ibid. 202 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 26. 203 Herzog, Lewis W. Paths to the North Shore Suburbs. 204 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 25. 205 A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function. 206 League of Women Voters of Milwaukee County website. <http://www.lwvmilwaukee.org> 207 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 25. 208 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 9. 209 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 25. 210 Lions Clubs International website. <http://www.lionsclubs.org> 211 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 25. 212 Kiwanis International website. <http://www.kiwanis.org> 213 A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function. 214 Ibid. 215 Ibid. 216 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 25. 217 Sertoma International website. <http://www.sertoma.org> 218 A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function. 219 Ibid. 220 Aurora Visiting Nurses Association of Wisconsin website. <http://www.aurorahealthcare.org> 221 A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function. 222 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 223 A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function. 224 Milwaukee County Council of the Boy Scouts of America website. <http://www.milwaukeeboyscouts.org> 225 A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function. 226 Girl Scouts of Wisconsin Southeast Council website. <http://www.gswise.org> 227 A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function. 228 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 9. 229 Ibid. 230 Ibid. 231 Ibid.

334

232 233

Ibid. Ibid. 234 Ibid. 235 Ibid. 236 Ibid. 237 Ibid. 238 Ibid. 239 Ibid. 240 Ibid. 241 Village of Whitefish Bay Building Permit Records. 242 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 9. 243 Ibid. 244 Ibid. 245 Ibid. 246 Ibid. 247 Harry & Rose Samson Family Jewish Community Center website. <http://www.jccmilwaukee.org> 248 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 14. 249 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 13. 250 Ibid. 251 Ibid. 252 Ibid. 253 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 13. 254 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 12. 255 Ibid. 256 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 257 Ibid. 258 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 13. 259 Village of Whitefish Bay Building Permit Records. 260 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 12. 261 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 13. 262 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 12. 263 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 264 Whitefish Bay Village Directories. 265 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 12. 266 Ibid. 267 Ibid. 268 Ibid. 269 Whitefish Bay Village Directories. 270 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 12. 271 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 13. 272 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 12. 273 Ibid. 274 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 14. 275 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 12.

335

276 277

Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 14. Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 3. 278 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 279 Rambadt, Donald C. Sequent Land Use in Wisconsins First Suburb. The Wisconsin Geographer. Milwaukee, Wisconsin: Wisconsin Geographical Society, 1991. 280 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 3. 281 Ibid. 282 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 283 Ibid. 284 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 3. 285 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 286 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 9. 287 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 288 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 21. 289 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 290 A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function. 291 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 292 A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function. 293 Whitefish Bay Then and Now. 294 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 14. 295 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 296 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 14. 297 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 298 A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function. 299 Ibid. 300 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 301 Village of Whitefish Bay website. 302 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 10. 303 Fehring, Thomas H. Images of America: Whitefish Bay, page 121. 304 Milwaukee County Parks website. <http://www.countyparks.com> 305 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 10. 306 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 18. 307 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 10. 308 Whitefish Bay Official Report 1956. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: Village of Whitefish Bay Village Board, 1956. 309 Whitefish Bay Official Report 1957. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: Village of Whitefish Bay Village Board, 1957. 310 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 18. 311 Whitefish Bay Official Report 1957. 312 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 313 Village of Whitefish Bay website. 314 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 10. 315 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 316 Milwaukee County Parks website. 317 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 10.

336

Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 21. 320 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 321 A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function. 322 Village of Whitefish Bay website. 323 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 9. 324 Village of Whitefish Bay website. 325 Ibid. 326 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 10. 327 Village of Whitefish Bay website. 328 Ibid. 329 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 12. 330 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 18. 331 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 332 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 9. 333 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 334 Shafranski, Nancy. Pabsts Whitefish Bay Resort. 1974. 335 McDonald, Paula. 336 Shafranski, Nancy. 337 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 338 Ibid. 339 Ibid. 340 Ibid. 341 Ibid. 342 Ibid. 343 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 18. 344 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 345 Herzog, Lewis W. Paths to the North Shore Suburbs. 346 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 347 Village of Whitefish Bay Building Permit Records. 348 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 12. 349 Fox Bay Cinema Grill website. <http://www.foxbaycinemagrill.com> 350 A Study of Whitefish Bay Government: Its Form and Function. 351 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 25. 352 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 353 Village of Whitefish Bay Building Permit Records. 354 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 355 Village of Whitefish Bay Building Permit Records. 356 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 357 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 1. 358 Ibid. 359 Ibid. 360 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 361 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 362 Ibid.
318

319

337

363
364

Ibid. Village of Whitefish Bay Building Permit Records. 365 Ibid. 366 Rambadt, Donald C. 367 Fehring, Thomas H. Whitefish Bay Homes of the Consaul Families. Application for listing on the Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin: Whitefish Bay Historic Preservation Commission, 2007. 368 Ibid. 369 Whitefish Bay Then and Now. 370 Fehring, Thomas H. Whitefish Bay Homes of the Consaul Families. 371 Whitefish Bay Then and Now. 372 Fehring, Thomas H. Whitefish Bay Homes of the Consaul Families. 373 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 374 Ibid. 375 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 376 Craig Counsell. Wikipedia website. <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Counsell> 377 The Political Graveyard website. 378 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 379 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 380 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 9. 381 Ibid. 382 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6 383 The Political Graveyard website. 384 Village of Whitefish Bay Building Permit Records. 385 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 386 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 387 Village of Whitefish Bay Building Permit Records. 388 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 389 Village of Whitefish Bay Building Permit Records. 390 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 391 Ibid. 392 Fehring, Thomas H. Images of America: Whitefish Bay, page 48. 393 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 394 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 395 Fehring, Thomas H. Images of America: Whitefish Bay, page 48. 396 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 397 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 398 Buckley, Kevin. Whitefish Bay Village President Profile: Kathleen Pritchard. Whitefish Bay Now website. February 5, 1998. <http://www.whitefishbaynow.com> 399 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 400 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 401 Ibid. 402 National Governors Association website. 403 Dictionary of Wisconsin History.

338

Mertens, Maureen Dietzel. Storied Whitefish Bay Mansion For Sale. Milwaukee Journal Sentinel January 18, 1996. 405 Dictionary of Wisconsin History. 406 The Political Graveyard website. 407 National Governors Association website. 408 Dictionary of Wisconsin History. 409 Plankinton Block/Julius Simon, Dry Goods, 331 W. Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Record #41857. Wisconsin Historical Society, Architecture and History Inventory website. <http://www.wisconsinhistory.org/ahi> 410 Shafranski, Nancy. 411 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 412 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 413 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 414 Silvers, Amy Rabideau. 415 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 13. 416 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 12. 417 Ibid. 418 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 13. 419 Ibid. 420 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 421 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 12. 422 Athletic Club Founder Dies. Milwaukee Journal September 18, 1930. 423 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 424 Athletic Club Founder Dies. 425 Fehring, Thomas H. Images of America: Whitefish Bay, page 120. 426 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 427 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 428 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 24. 429 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 10. 430 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 431 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 12. 432 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 13. 433 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 434 Ibid. 435 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 436 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 437 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 438 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 439 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 14. 440 Ibid. 441 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 442 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 443 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 444 Shafranski, Nancy. 445 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory.
404

339

446 447

Village of Whitefish Bay Building Permit Records. Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 448 Ibid. 449 Buckley, Kevin. 450 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 451 The Political Graveyard website. 452 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 453 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 12. 454 Ibid. 455 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 13. 456 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 9. 457 Ibid. 458 Fehring, Thomas H. Whitefish Bay Homes of the Consaul Families. 459 Whitefish Bay Then and Now. 460 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 461 Ibid. 462 Fehring, Thomas H. Whitefish Bay Homes of the Consaul Families. 463 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 464 Rumage, Jeff. Q&A: Village President Julie Siegel. Whitefish Bay Patch website. May 7, 2011. <http://www.whitefishbay.patch.com> 465 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 466 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 467 Herzog, Lewis W. Problems that Puzzle an Historical Sleuth. On file at the Whitefish Bay Public Library, Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin. 468 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 12. 469 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 13. 470 Herzog, Lewis W. Problems that Puzzle an Historical Sleuth. 471 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 472 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 14. 473 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 474 Garfield, Leonard T. and Thomas P. Wolfe. The Herman Uihlein House. National Register of Historic Places Inventory-Nomination Form. Washington, DC: National Park Service, United States Deparatment of the Interior, May 1983. 475 Ibid. 476 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 9. 477 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 478 Herzog, Lewis W. Notes on Whitefish Bay. 479 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 27. 480 Whitefish Bay Architecture and History Inventory. 481 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 2. 482 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 483 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 7. 484 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 485 Whitefish Bay Building Permit Records. 486 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 7.

340

Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 489 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 7. 490 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 491 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 492 Herzog, Lewis W. Problems that Puzzle an Historical Sleuth. 493 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 7. 494 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 495 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 7. 496 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 7. 497 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 498 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 7. 499 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 500 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 7. 501 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 502 Herzog, Lewis W. Problems that Puzzle an Historical Sleuth. 503 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 504 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 7. 505 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6. 506 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 7. 507 Herzog, Lewis W. Paths to the North Shore Suburbs. 508 Whitefish Bay Historical Research Project. Volume 6.
487 488

341

This page intentionally left blank.

342

19
Appendix

343

This page intentionally left blank.

344

Preservation Information
Division of Historic Preservation Public History

Historic Preservation Ordinances and Commissions in Wisconsin


Wisconsin communities have become increasingly aware of the need and the desirability to preserve and protect the architectural, historical, archaeological and cultural buildings and sites that contribute to their distinctive identity and that create a satisfying environment. As a result of this awareness, many cities and villages, and some towns and counties, have created historic preservation programs through the enactment of local historic preservation or landmarks ordinances, which establish historic preservation commissions for the communities. In the spring of 1994, the Legislature enacted the 1993 Wisconsin Act 471, which amended section 62.23 (em) of the Wisconsin Statutes, to require cities and villages that contain any property listed in the National Register of Historic Places or the State Register of Historic Places to enact an ordinance to regulate any place, structure or object with a special character, historic, archaeological or aesthetic interest, or other significant value, for the purpose of preserving the place, structure or object and its significant characteristics. Historic preservation commissions, established through local preservation ordinances, are responsible for designating significant historic properties, reviewing projects affecting those designated properties, and providing preservation services. In most instances, the project review responsibility is carried out through a mandatory review of all exterior alterations or changes. Municipal commissions also advise other governmental commissions or departments on the maintenance of community-owned historic properties or on projects that might affect significant architectural, historical or archaeological properties in the community. In addition, commissions often sponsor educational activities and the publication of educational and tourism materials. The benefits of local government historic preservation programs are becoming more widely recognized. Some of the benefits include improved property values of designated historic properties and properties within historic districts; increased private investments in downtown and neighborhood revitalization projects; development of community pride and commitment to community improvement; and an increased attractiveness to new businesses, new residents, and visitors. In addition, the entire community benefits from the knowledge, enjoyment and satisfaction associated with preserving and enhancing its historical heritage. Implementation of a local historic preservation program requires community awareness of the value of preserving its cultural resources and a commitment to protecting them. Such a program requires the energy and time of community volunteers, the leadership of elected officials, the support of municipal staff, as well as some modest financial resources. In order to conserve and protect the communitys historical, architectural and archaeological resources, historic preservation commissions may be established by municipal ordinance. The authority to do so for cities, villages, towns or counties is contained in subsections 62.23(7), 60.64, or 59.97(4) of the Wisconsin Statutes.

Summary of an Ordinance Creating a Historic Preservation Commission for a Municipality


Purpose To recognize, preserve and enhance areas, sites and structures that contribute to a municipalitys distinctive environment, through the creation of a Historic Preservation Commission with preservation responsibilities. The ordinance would establish a statutory commission which would provide a comprehensive preservation program, would coordinate preservation related activities undertaken by private organizations and municipal departments and would develop additional functions necessary for a serious local preservation program, including coordination with the state and federal preservation programs. The Commission The commission would consist of seven (or nine) members appointed by the mayor and confirmed by city council (or village board). A majority of the commissioners would be experienced as historians, architects, architectural historians, or historic preservationists, if possible, and have knowledge of historic preservation. The commission would be provided with staff by the planning department. Designations by the Commission The commission would have the power to designate, for preservation purposes, those areas, sites, and structures that are of historical, prehistorical, architectural or cultural value located in the municipality. Designations would be made according to the following categories: 1. Historic buildings or sites: any physical feature or improvement having significance to the city, state or nation. This category most often would be used for individual buildings, as well as archeological sites. 2. Historic district: an area containing physical features or improvements which are of significance to the city, state or nation and cause such area to constitute a distinctive section of the community. Process of Designation First, a report or nomination would be prepared that describes the significance of the building or area under consideration. If a historic district is nominated, the report describes boundaries and the standards and criteria for reviewing subsequent changes. A public hearing is held, following at least three weeks notice to all affected parties. Following the hearing the commission decides whether or not to make a designation. Additionally, the city council may or may not be required to approve the designation for districts. Regulatory Functions The commission would be empowered to review proposed changes including requests for building permits. The commission would be authorized to approve or disapprove, or at least delay, changes to the physical environment of designated buildings and districts. Changes to be reviewed by the commission could include: new construction, demolition, and alteration of exterior architectural features. No building permit would be issued for changes to designated properties unless the application for permit is accompanied by a Certificate of Appropriateness from the commission. Other Functions of the Commission The commission would assist with local preservation planning efforts, often in conjunction with the planning department. The commission would conduct or supervise an on-going survey to identify and evaluate properties of historical, prehistorical or architectural interest, prepare reports of its findings, and sponsor educational activities in the community. Historic Building Code Certification A municipality (city, village, town or county) may apply to have its historic preservation ordinance certified to allow use of the Wisconsin Historic Building Code by owners of locally designated historic buildings. This code, designed to facilitate the rehabilitation and restoration of historic structures, is administered by the Safety and Building Division of the Wisconsin Department of Commerce. Certification of local ordinances is done by the Division of Historic Preservation of the Wisconsin Historical Society. Certified Local Government Program A municipality with a historic preservation ordinance may apply for Certified Local Government (CLG) status, which provides eligibility to apply for special CLG grant funds to assist in carrying out the local preservation program. The requirements for the CLG program are described in Procedures for Certification of Local Governments in Wisconsin, which is available from the Division of Historic Preservation. CLGs are automatically certified for purposes of the Historic Building Code. The CLG program is a federal-statelocal partnership designed to recognize and assist grass-roots preservation programs. A model ordinance is available from the Division of Historic Preservation

Visit our Web site www.wisconsinhistory.org

Preservation Information
Division of Historic Preservation Public History

Procedures for the Certification of Local Governments in Wisconsin


The Certified Local Government program was enacted as part of the National Historic Preservation Act Amendments of 1980 and has been established in Wisconsin to further encourage and assist historic preservation by local governments. A Certified Local Government (CLG) is any city, village, county, or town that has been certified by Wisconsins State Historic Preservation Officer (SHPO) and the Department of the Interior as meeting the following basic criteria: 1. Enforces appropriate local ordinance for the designation and protection of historic properties. 2. Has established a qualified historic preservation commission by local ordinance. 3. Maintains a system for the survey and inventory of local historic properties. 4. Provides for public participation in the local historic preservation program. Once certified, a local government will: Be eligible to apply for matching subgrants from the federal Historic Preservation Fund allocation to the state, to be used for eligible CLG activities Be eligible to authorize the use of the Wisconsin Historic Building Code for locally designated historic buildings Be responsible for reviewing National Register of Historic Places nominations within its municipal boundaries before they are sent to the State Historic Preservation Review Board Submit an annual report of historic preservation activities to the SHPO

How to Apply for Certified Local Government Status in Wisconsin


The chief elected official of the local government submits a letter requesting certification to the State Historic Preservation Officer, Division of Historic Preservation, Wisconsin Historical Society, 816 State Street, Madison, WI 53706. The request must consist of the following: 1. Assurance that the local government will enforce appropriate state and local legislation for the designation and protection of historic properties and coordinate its activities with the State Historic Preservation Officer If all requirements are not presently met, a statement must be

included indicating how and when they will be fulfilled. 2. A copy of the local historic preservation ordinance, including any amendments. 3. A list of properties and districts designated under the local ordinance, including proper names and addresses. 4. A list of the local historic preservation commission members, including qualifications or expertise in fields related to historic preservation. 5. If the local preservation commission does not include professional members from the disciplines of history, architectural history, architecture, or archeology, a statement demonstrating that the local government has made reasonable efforts to appoint such members. 6. If the disciplines of history, architectural history, architecture, and archeology are not all represented on the commission, a proposal on how the local preservation commission will obtain such professional expertise to review National Register of

Historic Places nominations or take other delegated actions that will impact properties normally evaluated by professionals in these disciplines. 7. A copy of the local historic preservation plan, if available, or a brief statement describing the local preservation program. 8. If appropriate, a list of any additional duties, responsibilities or activities that the local government agrees to undertake if certified. The SHPO will respond to an adequately documented request for certification in less than 60 days. If the local government fulfills the requirements, the SHPO will approve the certification request and prepare a written Certification Agreement for signature by the chief elected official of the local government. It will list the specific responsibilities of the local government when certified. The Certification Agreement and the CLG application will then be sent to the Department of the Interior for review.

What Certified Local Government Activities are Eligible for Funding?


In general, activities that are eligible for CLG funding include: Survey projects to identify and evaluate significant historic properties Preparation of nominations to the National Register of Historic Places Review of nominations to the National Register of properties located within the CLGs jurisdiction Educational activities, such as workshops, production of slide or video programs, preparation of booklets, brochures or other publications that further the goals of historic preservation Development of municipal preservation plans Administration of municipal historic preservation programs

How Does a CLG Apply for Funding?


After becoming certified, a CLG may apply for matching subgrants during the annual application period. Application forms, annual state priorities for funding, and criteria for awarding subgrants are available from the SHPO. Local Governments may be certified and participate in review of National Register nominations and other activities whether or not they elect to apply for CLG funds.

For further information or for copies of the Procedures for the Certification of Local Governments in Wisconsin, contact Joe DeRose, Division of Historic Preservation, Wisconsin Historical Society, 816 State St., Madison, WI 53706, telephone 608-264-6512; email joe.derose@wisconsinhistory.org. Visit the Wisconsin Historical Society Web site:www.wisconsinhistory.org

WISCONSIN PRESERVATION INFORMATION

GUIDELINES FOR PLANNING HISTORIC PRESERVATION TAX CREDIT PROJECTS


WISCONSIN SUPPLEMENT TO THE SECRETARY OF THE INTERIOR'S STANDARDS FOR REHABILITATION
INTRODUCTION State and federal tax programs require that all tax-creditrelated work must meet the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation (or, simply, the Standards). The information contained in this pamphlet is designed to provide you with guidance about how the Standards are interpreted for various types of preservation work; however, because there are a wide variety of historic properties, it is impossible to provide a complete set of guidelines to address every situation. This pamphlet is directed to the most common preservation problems. To resolve issues not discussed here, you should refer directly to the Standards or to the brochures listed on page 10. It is important that applicants understand some underlying principles about how the Standards are applied to the tax certification program: 1. Many historic buildings have been altered unsympathetically in the past. Under these circumstances, there is no requirement that you remove these alterations. The tax credit program allows you to leave the alterations in place and to "work around them." For example, if your intention is to rehabilitate the interior, you are not required to restore the exterior as part of the project. On the other hand, if you do elect to remove any alterations, the Standards require that the work be designed to restore the building's original features to the extent practical. 2. The public should not be given a false impression of what is, and is not, historic. For that reason, if new features are to be added to a historic building or property, they should not be made to look historic; however, they should be sympathetic in design and materials to the historic property. (See page 7: Construction of New Additions) 3. The long and short-term structural effect of any proposed work must be taken into consideration. Some types of work performed commonly on older buildings, such as sandblasting, lead to accelerated deterioration and should not be performed.

NOTE This publication is not intended to be a substitute for the Secretary of the Interior's "Standards for Rehabilitation" and the suggestions below carry no legal authority. In planning work, you should refer first to the Standards and their guidelines. Copies of the Standards are available on request from the Division of Historic Preservation (a copy should be included in the packet in which you received this pamphlet.) The "Standards" are also available on the web at http://www.nps.gov/history/hps/tps/tax/rhb/stand. htm

SITE WORK
GENERAL DISCUSSION: Most types of site work are allowable, as long as: - the work does not destroy significant archeological remains or landscape features; - does not encroach on any historic buildings; and - does not introduce incompatible new features to the site. NOTE
The term "archeological remains" is used in this publication to denote any prehistoric or historic archeological deposits or features that may exist. These include not only burial sites and effigy mounds, but also a wide variety of prehistoric habitation sites, deposits of historic and prehistoric artifacts, cemeteries, rock art, and cave sites. Technically speaking, any federally funded or subsidized undertaking that involves ground disturbance should be analyzed for its effect on significant archeological remains, including, when necessary, archeological excavation and analysis. Under most circumstances, the tax credit program does not require you to conduct an archeological investigation unless your site contains archeological remains. However, if during the course of a project, archeological remains are discovered, you are required to cease work immediately and to contact the Office of the State Archeologist at 608/264-6496.

Evidence of whether a building is considered to be significant is often found in the National Register or State Register nomination for the property or district. You should contact Joe DeRose, staff historian, at 608/264-6512 for a determination of significance on any building proposed for demolition. NEW CONSTRUCTION ON-SITE OR ON ADJACENT PARCELS OF LAND All new construction must be described in the application. Even when new construction is to be carried out by someone other than the applicant, it will be considered part of the project if there will be a physical connection between the new structure and the historic building or if the new construction is to take place on property that has been divided from the historic property. SITE EXCAVATION Generally, no additional documentation is required for excavation work unless that work is to be performed at a known archeological site, in which case an archeological investigation will be required to determine that no significant remains will be disturbed as a result of the project. If the work is to take place in an area suspected to contain significant archeological remains, you may be required to conduct archeological testing before excavation can begin. If, during the course of the work you discover archeological remains, you will be required to cease work immediately and to contact the Office of the State Archeologist
at 608/264-6496. NOTE If human remains are discovered, state law requires that you cease work immediately and contact the Division's Burial Sites office at 608/264-6507 or toll-free in Wisconsin at 800/342-7834.

REGRADING, LANDSCAPING, AND CONSTRUCTION OF SIDEWALKS AND PARKING AREAS Regrading should be limited to areas away from, or at the rear of, the historic building. You should avoid changes in the ground level near the historic building. New plantings and sidewalks are usually not a problem as long as the character of the site is not changed. Parking areas should, to the extent possible, be located at the rear of a site and in most cases should not abut the historic building. If the site contains significant archeological remains or landscape features, any regrading, landscaping, or construction on-site should be designed to leave these features intact.

BUILDING EXTERIOR
GENERAL DISCUSSION: The extent to which you can change a building's exterior appearance depends on the visibility of the area in which the changes are to take place. Generally, the less visible the side of a building is, the more changes that can be made. For purposes of the discussion below, a primary facade is one that is highly visible and, in most cases, has significant architectural detailing. A secondary facade is one that is generally visible from public rights-of-way, but may not contain any distinguishing architectural features. A rear facade is one that is generally not seen by the public and contains no architectural decoration. As a rule, primary facades should be left as intact as possible, while rear facades can be altered more substantially.

DEMOLITION OF EXISTING BUILDINGS INCLUDING THOSE ON ADJACENT LOTS Buildings on, or adjacent to, the site of a historic building may be demolished if they do not contribute to the significance of the historic building or its context. On the other hand, just because a building or addition is not original to a property does not always mean that it can be demolished; it may be historically significant nonetheless.

3
EXTERIOR BUILDING CLEANING If you plan to remove paint or dirt from the outside of your building, the methods to be used should be specified in the application. Below are some things to be aware of are discussed. In most cases, removal or dirt or paint is unnecessary in order to preserve a building. Dirt and paint are rarely harmful to building materials and, in fact, may serve as a protective layer that shields the surfaces of the buildings from the elements. Also, because every method of exterior cleaning carries with it some risk of damage to the building materials, you should consider carefully whether to clean the building at all. If you do elect to remove dirt or paint, you should proceed very cautiously. The Standards specifically prohibit sandblasting in any form (except to clean cast iron, as discussed below). Sandblasting is sometimes referred to by other names, such as abrasive blasting or "featherblasting." When the sand is mixed with water, it is usually called waterblasting. If any of these methods are used, your project will be denied certification because of the damage that these methods cause. Equally damaging is high-pressure water blasting, even when no sand or other aggregate is added to the water. High water pressures can be damaging to most building materials. Older, softer material may be damaged at lower pressures. If you intend to use water to clean your building, you must specify that the pressure will be tested (see below). If you intend to chemically clean your building, please be aware that no chemical or chemical manufacturer is "preapproved" for use in this program. Building materials vary widely in composition and chemicals that may be applied safely to one building can result in severe damage to another. In addition, some chemical companies specify that the chemicals be washed from the building at high water pressures that, in itself, can damage the building. For these reasons, it is required that a cleaning test patch, typically four foot square, be performed on an inconspicuous part of the building prior to cleaning the entire building. This test patch should be inspected for possible damage to the building materials, including mortar joints, and should be used as a standard by which the rest of the cleaning is evaluated. In cleaning metal elements, you should determine whether the metals are ferric or non-ferric. Ferric metals contain iron and are prone to rusting. Non-ferric metals, such as brass, bronze, copper, and aluminum, are non-rusting. (The simplest way to determine whether a metal is ferric is to use a magnet. Ferric metals will attract a magnet; non-ferric metals will not.) If exterior metal elements are ferric (iron-based) it should be determined whether those elements are cast iron or coated metal. Generally, cast iron is used in storefront columns and trim; otherwise, any metal trim is likely to be terne or zinc coated steel. Cast iron may be sandblasted to remove dirt or paint but coated steel should be hand-scraped to remove only the loose paint before repainting. Sandblasting coated steel will remove the protective coating and will ultimately lead to severe rusting. In general, because most non-ferric metals do not corrode, they do not require cleaning and, in fact, can be damaged through the cleaning process. We recommend strongly that non-ferric metals not be cleaned. Regardless of the methods used to clean your building's exterior, they must be specified in the application along with your intention to apply and inspect a test patch. If you plan to clean all or part of your building, you must submit with the application clear, close-up photographs of the parts of the building to be cleaned before the cleaning takes place. When the test patch is applied, you should photograph it for submission with the Request for Certification of Completed Work.
Detailed information is available in "Preservation Briefs 1: The Cleaning and Waterproof Coating of Masonry Buildings" and "Preservation Briefs 2: Dangers of Abrasive Cleaning to Historic Buildings." To request a free copy, see page 10.

REPOINTING Repointing (also referred to as "tuckpointing") refers to the replacement of deteriorated mortar in brick and stone buildings. If done improperly, it can cause structural as well as visual damage. The method used to remove loose mortar is an important consideration. Hand chiseling of deteriorated joints is the method least likely to cause damage to the brickwork; however, it is sometimes difficult to find contractors willing to hand-chisel the joints. Cutting the mortar out with saws and removing it with power chisels can sometimes be performed without damaging the bricks, but when these methods are employed carelessly, they can cause permanent structural damage to the masonry. It is important in the case of saw-cutting that the bricks not be sawed into and in power-chiseling that the corners not be chipped away. Regardless of the method used to remove loose mortar, we recommend that a test patch be specified, as discussed below. In addition to the method used to remove the mortar, it is equally important that the composition of the new mortar match that of the building. Too often, especially in brick walls, mortar joints are repointed with Portland cement compounds that are harder than the bricks themselves. Then, when the building experiences thermal contraction and expansion, the faces of the bricks crack and fall off. New mortar should contain sufficient quantities of hydrated lime to make it softer than the bricks. A reasonably soft mortar should contain at least as much hydrated lime as

4
Portland cement, and preferably two or three times as much. (A useful rule of thumb is that mortar used in pre-1875 buildings should contain 3 times as much lime as Portland cement; buildings built between 1875 and 1900 should contain a 2 to 1 ratio of lime to Portland cement, and post1900 buildings should contain equal parts of lime and Portland cement.) Because of the potential damage that can result from any type of tuckpointing, it is strongly recommended that only those joints that are deteriorated be repointed. If done properly, the repointed joints will match those of the rest of the building. This is the most economical procedure, as well as the best historic preservation practice. It is extremely important that the appearance of the new joints match those of the rest of the building, especially when only the deteriorated joints are to be repointed. Mismatched mortar joints can result in the building taking on a "patchwork quilt" appearance. The primary concerns here are the color of the replacement mortar and the tooling. With respect to color, if the mortar mix contains Portland cement, we recommend that white Portland cement be used. This will better reproduce the color of the older high lime content mortars. Along with the use of aggregate (sand) in the mix that matches the original and appropriate coloring agents (if necessary), a good overall match can be achieved. Standard, gray Portland cement generally results in joints too dark to match the original color. In addition, if the tooling of the new mortar joints does not match the original, the new joints may appear to be wider than the rest. Ultimately, you will be responsible for the work of the contractor. If the completion photos that you submit show mortar joints that do not match the width, color, or appearance of the original joints, you may be denied final certification of your project. Therefore, we require that you specify in your contract with the mason that a test patch (a sample area of repointed joints, typically a four-foot square area,) be carried out. After the test patch is applied, it must be inspected to make sure that the appearance of the new joints matches that of the rest of the building and that the masonry units have not been damaged. The repointing contract should specify that all of the repointed joints will match the appearance of the approved test patch. Your description of the work in the application should indicate the mortar formula to be used, the method of removing loose mortar, and that a test patch will be performed. In addition, you should photograph the approved test panel before and after repointing and submit the photographs along with the Request for Certification of Completed Work.
Detailed information is available in "Preservation Briefs 2: Repointing Mortar Joints in Historic Brick Buildings." To request a free copy, see page 10.

WINDOW REPLACEMENT In many tax applications, the applicants propose to replace original windows with energy-efficient, "maintenance free" units. In most cases, these units do not duplicate the historical appearances of the windows they are designed to replace. The use of inappropriate new windows will result in denial of your project for the tax incentives. Inappropriate window replacement is one of the major reasons for project denial in the tax credit program. If you plan to replace windows as part of your project, please consider the comments below. In preparing your application, you should demonstrate that the existing windows have deteriorated beyond repair. If you claim that the existing windows cannot be saved, you should back that statement up with clear detail photographs of a number of the windows and a "window inventory" to indicate the conditions of all of the windows in the building.

If windows are to be replaced, the replacement windows must duplicate in every respect the appearances of the original windows, including the appearances of the muntins (dividing bars), the proportions of the original windows, the thickness of the sash elements, and the window finishes. The material of the old windows should be duplicated as well, if at all possible. To change materials, yo