You are on page 1of 3

Developing Levels of Consciousness

A Tract Book Essay


Anthony J. Fejfar

© Copyright 2006 by Anthony J. Fejfar

Previously, I have argued that human levels of consciousness exist

and operate. I argue that my schema is normative from a metaphysical

point of view. However, some might argue that they only experience one

level of consciousness, and thus that my approach to consciousness is in


My response is that it is possible for unilevel thinkers to develop

into multilevel thinkers. The easiest way to do this is to use your

imagination to help you. Start out by imagining that you simply have one

level of consciousness, your conscious mind. Next, imagine that your

unconscious mind has an upper unconscious mind. Imagine that there are

little bubbles coming out of your head which then connect up to a cloudy

sort of mind above you. Once this is done, imagine that you have a lower

subconscious mind. The subconscious mind is where your lower self

resides. In the subconscious you are selfish, or at least rationally self

interested. Now, go back to your unconscious mind and imagine that the

higher you is there. This is the good you, or better you. So, go with this as

much as possible. Now you can see that your mind has at least three levels:

Level Description

3. Unconscious Higher Good/Mind

2. Conscious Neutral Mind

1. Subconscious selfish or rationally self intereted mind

Keep working with this for a week or a month until it becomes a habit.

Now the foregoing can be described in this way:

Level Mode Description

1. reason judgment Unconscious Higher Mind

reflection intellect

2. understanding conscious mind

analytic understanding

1. experience body mind basic emotions

sensory experience

Once you have integrated this you can then add three more levels

in your imagination.


Level Mode Description

6. Intuition transpersonal feeling

5. Creativity artistic creativity

4. Being-Love formal operations

Now, with these levels you will need to do a little more work. Imagine

that you are at level 4 and work on logic. Imagine that you are at level 5

and draw or paint or write a poem to develop artistic expression. Finally,

imagine that you are at level 6 where you “feel” Being, or reality. Try to feel

relationships in the data of experience. Try to feel relationships between

ideas. Give it a try. Good Luck! By the way, this advice is given as

Spiritual Direction. Take your time. See a Spiritual Director if the process

seems to cause your mind to be less functional, rather than more functional.