You are on page 1of 5



Chronological chart of the history of Bharatvarsh since its origination

Chronology of Bharatvarsh since its origination

Period (trillion years ago) 155.521972

(155.521971961600 in 1998)


Birth of Brahma, the first kalp called the Brahm kalp. Brahma meditates and conceives all the Vedas and Puranas with the Grace of Krishn. His homage to Krishn at that time is called the Brahm Sanhita.
The second kalp. Brahma creates the brahmand, produces the first ten Rishis. Devas and asuras (gods and demons) are created. They are called the celestial gods and the demons. The main abodes of the gods are: bhu, bhuv, swah (the abode of god Indra), mah, jan, tap and satya (the abode of Brahma). The general term for the abode of the demons is patal lok which is below the celestial abodes of gods and near bhu lok. All these abodes are in a separate space and dimension. Later on the ozone layer is formed on the earth planet. Brahma produces Swayambhuva Manu and Shatroopa, the Rishis on the earth planet conceive the Vedas and Puranas; and gradually the human civilization develops. (There are 14 manvantars in a kalp and in every kalp similar Divine historical events happen. Up till now 18,000 kalpas have already elapsed. One kalp along with Brahmas night is 8,640 million years.)


By hindudatabase

Page 1

(million years ago)

(The existing kalp)

1971.961600 Beginning of the existing day (kalp) of Brahma and (as in (as in 1998) 1998) first manvantar of Swayambhuva Manu and Shatroopa. Swayambhuva Manu had two sons and three daughters. Bhakt Dhruv was from his second son Uttampad, Bhagwan Kapil was from his daughter Deohooti and Bhakt Prahlad was in the family succession of his first son, Priyavrat. 1663.3902 Beginning of the second manvantar of Swarochish Manu. Beginning of the third manvantar of Uttam Manu. Beginning of the fourth manvantar of Tamas Manu. Beginning of the fifth manvantar of Raivat Manu. Beginning of the sixth manvantar of Chakchush Manu. Beginning of the seventh manvantar of Vaivaswat Manu.

1354.8188 1046.2474 737.676 429.1045 120.5331

(million years ago) 120.5331*

(The existing manvantar)

Beginning of the existing (seventh) manvantar of Vaivaswat Manu who had ten sons and one daughter. Surya Vansh starts from his elder son Ikchvaku and
Page 2

By hindudatabase

Chandra Vansh starts from his daughter Ela. Bhakt Ambarish was in the 3rd generation of his son Nabhag. 57.024 39.744 18.144 (BC) 3228** 3139 Emperor Mandhatas rule in Bharatvarsh. Descension of Parashuram. Descension of Bhagwan Ram. (From 3228 BC onward) Descension of Bhagwan Krishn. The Mahabharat war (lasted for 18 days). Beginning of Brihadrath dynasty of Magadh, and Yudhishthir dynasty of Hastinapur. (Brihadrath dynasty starts with Marjari so it is also called the dynasty of Marjari family.)

*The Puranas mention more than 50 important personalities of Surya Vansh who were between Ikchvaku and Bhagwan Ram in 102 million years. **According to the Surya Siddhant the astrologers have calculated that kaliyug started on the afternoon of 17th February, 3102 BC. In the Bhagwatam, Brahma tells in round figures that Krishn remained on this earth planet for 125 years.

Accordingly, if you add 125 years to February, 3102, it comes to February 3227 BC. But Krishns descension was in the Rohini nakchatra (asterism) of the 8th waning moon midnight of bhadon (August) which is about seven months earlier. Thus, His descension date is 3228 BC and He stayed on the earth planet for 125 years and about 7 months.


Ascension of Bhagwan Krishn and the beginning of kaliyug.

Page 3

By hindudatabase

2139 2139-2001 2001-1641 1894-1814 1641-1541

End of Brihadrath dynasty (21 kings for 1,000 years). Pradyot dynasty (5 kings for 138 years). Shishunag dynasty (10 kings for 360 years). Gautam Buddh. Nandas (Mahapadm Nand and his 8 sons for 100 years). Maurya dynasty (10 kings for about 300 years). Chandragupt Maurya (34 years). Bindusar (28 years). Ashokvardhan (36 years). Shung and Kanua dynasty (14 kings for 457 years). Andhra dynasty (30 kings for 456 years). Jagadguru Shankaracharya.
Gupt dynasty (7 kings for 245 years).

1541-1241 1541-1507 1507-1479 1479-1443 1241-784 784-328 509-477 328-83

Chandragupt Vijayaditya, 328-321 BC, and Alexanders invasion was 326 BC.)

By hindudatabase

Page 4
(Samudragupt Ashokaditya Priyadarshin, or Ashok the Great, 321-270 BC.)

102 BC-15 AD

Vikramaditya, established the Vikram era in 57 BC.



Shalivahan (ruled for 60 years), established Shalivahan Shak era in 78 AD. There were several kingdoms of Rajpoot kings all over India. They ruled for 1,107 years. In 1192, Mohammad Gori invaded Delhi (Hastinapur) the second time, defeated and killed Prithiviraj Chauhan, and became the king. Since then several dynasties of Muslims ruled India for 565 years, then, In 1757, English regime was established in Bengal. British ruled India for 190 years. In 1947, India got Independence.





By hindudatabase

Page 5