You are on page 1of 2

IUMRS-ICA 2012 2nd Announcement

Paper Publication
After peer review, selected manuscript will be published in 4-5 Journals including the Journal of Nano Science and Nano Technology. Further information will be announced on the conference website. (


BEXCO, a landmark of world-famous port city-BUSAN, has emerged as the most competitive exhibition and convention center in Northeast Asia. Especially, BEXCO has been well known as the greatest exhibition convention center in northeast area after holding 2005 the APEC Summit.

Improtant Dates
Deadline for Abstract Notification of Abstract Acceptance Pre-registration Deadline Final Program Announcement IUMRS-ICA 2012 March 1, 2012 March 31, 2012 July 1, 2012 July 31, 2012 August 26 - 31, 2012

Registration Fee Category Regular Participant Student Participant Pre-registration USD 600 USD 350 On-site Registration USD 700 USD 450

How to get to Busan

Regular Registration Fee includes Opening/Closing Ceremony, Welcome Reception, Abstract & Program Book, Banquet Student Registration Fee includes Opening/Closing Ceremony, Welcome Reception, Abstract & Program Book

International Union of Materials Research Societies International Conference in Asia 2012

August 26 31, 2012
BexCo, Busan, Korea

About Busan
For the detail information, please refer to the official website. Busan is the second largest city in Korea. Its deep harbor and gentle tides have allowed it to grow into the largest container handling port in the country and the fifth largest in the world. The city's natural endowments and rich history have resulted in Busan's increasing reputation as a world class city of tourism and culture, and it is also becoming renowned as an international convention destination.

IUMRS-ICA 2012 Secretariat 5F, Daehan Bldg., #1018 Dunsan-Dong, Seo-Gu, Daejeon 302-120, KOREA Tel: +82-42-472-7461 / Fax: +82-42-472-7459 E-mail: Website:
. , , , .

Organized by Sponsored by

International Union of Materials Research Societies

IUMRS-ICA 2012 2nd Announcement

Welcome Message
International Union of Materials Research Society International Conference in Asia 2012 (IUMRS-ICA-2012) is to be held from August 26 to 31, 2012 at BEXCO in Busan, Korea. This meeting has become a fundamental ground to exchange quality results and ideas provided by the researchers and scientists in the related industry. Furthermore, it also provides a forum to present the cutting-edge research outputs for future collaborations which would help both students and researchers within their future research, studies and works to be conducted. The Committee of IUMRS-ICA 2012 truly considers that it will be an absolutely great opportunity for you to gain the academic insights. I do thank you for your participation and contributions in advance and look forward to seeing you in Busan, Korea. Yours truly,

August 26 31, 2012 / Bexco, Busan, Korea

International Union of Materials Research Societies International Conference in Asia 2012

Plenary Speakers
Antonio H. Castro Neto (Natl Singapore Univ., Singapore) Lorenz Kienle (Christian-Albrechts-Universitt zu Kiel, Germany) Nack J. Kim (POSTECH, Korea) Ke Lu (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China) Younan Xia (Washington Univ. in St. Louis, USA) Masafumi Yamaguchi (Toyota Technological Institute, Japan)

I. Electronic and Photonic Materials
Organizer Hyungjun Kim (Yonsei Univ., Korea) Ho Jung Chang (Dankook Univ., Korea) 1. Silicon Electronics: Materials for Logic and Memory Devices 2. Compound Semiconductor: III-V Semiconductors, Oxide Semiconductors, and Related Materials 3. Carbon-Based Devices: CNT and Graphene 4. LEDs: Materials, Processing, and Packaging 5. Flexible Electronics and Displays: Organic and Inorganic Materials 6. Nano Material-Based Devices

Invited Speakers
Raghu Bhattacharya (NREL, USA) Yuri Estrin (Monash Univ., Australia) Seokwoo Jeon (KAIST, Korea) Toshio Kamiya (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan) Tatsuya Kawaka (Tohoku Univ., Japan) Do Hyang Kim (Yonsei Univ., Korea) Hoon Kim (Applied Materials, USA)

II. Functional Materials

Organizer Hyoungsub Kim (Sungkyunkwan Univ., Korea) Bong Young Yoo (Hanyang Univ., Korea) 7. Materials for Bio Applications 8. Magnetic Materials and their Applications 9. Hybrid and Composite Materials 10. New Device Fabrication Process: Roll-to-Roll, Inkjet, Spray, etc.

Bo Young Hur
Chair of IUMRS-ICA 2012 Gyeongsang Natl Univ., Korea

Chair Bo-Young Hur (Gyeongsang Natl Univ.) Secretariat Dongjin Byun (Korea Univ.) organizing Committee Chair Hyeongtag Jeon (Hanyang Univ.) Members Ho Jung Chang (Dankook Univ.) Byung-ki Cheong (KIST) Woo-Gwang Jung (Kookmin Univ.) Namhyun Kang (Pusan Nat'l Univ.) Yang-Do Kim (Pusan Natl Univ.) Donghwan Kim (Korea Univ.) Taik Nam Kim (Paichai Univ.) Dojin Kim (Chungnam Natl Univ.) Hyungjun Kim (Yonsei Univ.) Jeon-Kook Lee (KIST) Jong-Lam Lee (POSTECH) Je-Hyun Lee (Changwon Natl Univ.) Yeong-Do Park (Dong-Eui Univ.) Hyung-Ho Park (Yonsei Univ.) Yong Ho PARK (Pusan Natl Univ.) Chang Kyu Rhee (KAERI) Tae-Yeon Seong (Korea Univ.) Chang-sik Son (Silla Univ.) Euijoon Yoon (Seoul Natl Univ.) Program Committee Chair Jae-Min Myoung (Yonsei Univ.) Members Hyo-Jun Ahn (Gyeongsang Natl Univ.) Hyoungsub Kim (Sungkyunkwan Univ.) Hyungjun Kim (Yonsei Univ.) Yang-Do Kim (Pusan Natl Univ.) Woong Lee (Changwon Natl Univ.) Eun Soo Park (Seoul Natl Univ.) International Advisory Board O. O. Adewoye (Africa-MRS) Carlos Schvezov (MRS-AR) J. S. Williams (A-MRS) Fernando Lzaro Freire Jr. (B-MRS) Boyun Huang (C-MRS) Francesco Priolo (E-MRS) Shefford P. Baker (MRS) T. Ramasami (MRS-I) Naoki Kishimoto (MRS-J) Pedro Hugo Hernndez Tejeda (MRS-Mexico) Nikolai Z. Lyakhov (MRS-R) B. V. R Chowdari (MRS-S) Tsong P. Perng (MRS-T) Soo Wohn Lee (MRS-K) Byung Tae Ahn (MRS-K) Hyeong Joon Kim (MRS-K) Jong Wan Park (MRS-K)

III. Advanced Structural Materials

Organizer Eun Soo Park (Seoul Natl Univ., Korea) Hidemi Kato (Tohoku Univ., Japan) 11. Advanced Technology for Steels 12. Magnesium Alloys (Processing and Alloy Development) 13. Bulk Metallic Glasses and Nanostructured Materials 14. Composites and Porous Materials

Jiyoung Kim (Univ. of Texas at Dallas, USA) Jinsang Kim (Univ. of Michigan, USA) Jeha Kim (ETRI, Korea) Sung-Joon Kim (KIMS, Korea) Noh-Jung Kwak (Hynix Semiconductor Inc., Korea) In Whan Lee (Chonbuk Natl Univ., Korea) Changhee Lee (Seoul Natl Univ., Korea) Naeeung Lee (Sungkyunkwan Univ., Korea) Jang-Ung Park (UNIST, Korea) Tsuyoshi Sekitani (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan) Heon-Cheol Shin (Pusan Natl Univ., Korea) Ji-Won Son (KIST, Korea) Bozhi Tian (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA) Guoxiu Wang (Univ. of Sydney, Australia) Euijoon Yoon (Seoul Natl Univ., Korea) Invited speakers will be added to the list.

IV. Materials for Energy and Environmental

Organizer Yang-Do Kim (Pusan Natl Univ., Korea) Hyo-Jun Ahn (Gyeongsang Natl Univ., Korea) Shigeru Niki (AIST, Japan) 15. Photovoltaics 16. Materials for Energy Storage/Supercapacitor 17. Fuel Cells 18. Ecomaterials

V. Modeling and Characterization

Organizer Woong Lee (Changwon Natl Univ., Korea) 19. Modeling and Computational Materials Science 20. Microscopy and Characterization