ISSUE 8 / JANUARY-FEBRUARY 2011

United States

3DTotal Publishing is an independent publishing house specializing in books in the digital art industry. Launched in 2010, the company has gone from strength to strength and is rapidly developing a reputation as one of the most exciting up-and-coming publishers in the digital art field.

WHEN YOU ENTER PROMO CODE:

20% OFF

ceiga20jan

Beginner’s Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop
Beginner’s Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop is a brand new series dedicated to providing a truly comprehensive guide to the basics of digital painting in this versatile program.
ISBN – 978-0-9551530-7-5 | Softback / Slipcase – 297mm x 210mm | 224 full color premium paper pages | £29.99 / $49.99

All books available now from: www.3dtotal.com/shop
Get 20% off your order when you enter the promo code: ceiga20jan
This offer will expire at the end of February 2012

Digital Painting Techniques: Volume 3
Digital Painting Techniques: Volume 3 presents another collection of inspiring and motivational tutorials for artists of all levels. A range of top industry professionals share the benefits of their years of experience in the digital art industry and offer tips, tricks and advice intended to help the next generation of artists reach new heights.
ISBN – 978-0-9551530-4-4 | Softback – 216mm x 279mm 288 full color premium paper pages | £29.99 / $49.99

Digital Art Masters: Volume 6
Originally launched in 2005, the annual Digital Art Masters series continues to showcase the work of some of the finest 2D and 3D artists from around the world. The latest volume, Digital Art Masters: Volume 6 is our biggest book yet. It welcomes another 50 up and-coming and veteran artists, and follows the tradition of taking readers beyond the breathtaking images with detailed breakdowns of the techniques and tricks each artist employed while creating their stunning imagery.
ISBN – 978-0-9551530-5-1 | Softback – 216mm x 279mm 320 full color premium paper pages | £32.00 / $52.50

The Art of Atomhawk Design
Founded in 2009, Atomhawk Design has quickly developed a reputation for delivering exceptional concept art for the film, games and online industries. Boasting some of the most talented and cutting-edge artists in the industry, this young company has now teamed up with 3DTotal to bring together a collection of artworks that represent the very pinnacle of their work.
ISBN – 978-0-9551530-4-4 | Softback – 216mm x 279mm 224 full color premium paper pages | Sale Price: £19.99 / $32.00

www.3dtotal.com | www.3dtotalpublishing.com www.facebook.com/3dtotal | www.twitter.com/3dtotal

contents
JAN - FEB 2012

On the front Life Tastes Good The American Superhero War Never Changes The Big Apple Howdy Partner

08
14 24 32 44 56

ceiga.co.uk

Put us in your Circle
Or just give us a +1

on
https://plus.google.com/118346246836671454511/posts

All the great CG videos

on one channel

on
http://vimeo.com/channels/ceiga

AMERICA IS THE ONLY COUNTRY
TO DECADENCE WITHOUT

CIVILIZATION IN BETWEEN.

- Oscar Wilde

was included in it, so it’s been narrowed down to five sections, some incredibly relevant, other’s not so much. I know there are some sections you’d expected to see in this issue that haven’t been included, like American sports, that’s simply because we couldn’t find enough images to create a section out of, so it’s not exactly our fault. But I believe the best was done with the resources that were gathered. I really hope you enjoy this issue, and even though I’m not an American citizen, I’m going to end this letter with the famous three words, God Bless America.

W

ow issue eight already, it’ll be issue ten before you know it I’d have to think of something really big for that, oh bother. Back to this issue which is all about the United States of America, fifty states, a population of over 290 million and possibly the most powerful country in the world. This issue would have been a monster if everything America had done

Richard Bray Editor

R.Bray

ceiga.co.uk

THAT WENT FROM BARBARISM

Front
‘Uncle Sam’ by Vlad Costin (costin3d.com). Modelled in 3D Studio Max & sculpted in ZBrush.
This image is definitely a personification of America. The patriotism, the bravado, the tattoo on his left shoulder, I could go on. Vlad Costin did an amazing job with this image, great sculpture work on the anatomy and the creases on the clothes. The wrinkles on the face and the veins are spot on, and a really nice touch with the pocket watch. They really should make a toy of this model and sell it, or maybe a game, an Uncle Same game.

On The

I

t took an incredibly long time find the right cover image for this issue, (as it does for most issues). However for this particular issue, the majority of the time was spent deciding on images instead of searching for them. The images in question were this one, and one of Obama in front of an American flag. The Obama image was good but far too cliché, and as Ceiga is all about being different, ‘Uncle Sam’ won the cover page.

ceiga.co.uk

Sailin’ ‘round the worl Oh , to be back in the

ld in a dirty gondola land of C

Bob Dylan

Bottle of Coca-Cola . .
Yulia Goncharenko wpanterka.kiev.ua

3ds max

Coca Cola Bottle . .
Elmar Nieser elmarnieser.com 3ds Max

Coke
Rafael Mustaine

.

wix.com/refart/art

.

3ds Max

Vintage Store .
Eugenio García Villarreal

flickr.com/photos/artecnl/sets/72157603945789713

.

Lightwave 3D

20 Oz Coke Bottle . .
Edward Dye, Artistic Image artisticimage.com

3ds max

3rd person singular number . .
Imranul Haque whitescape.blogspot.com 3ds max

Robeo and Catet . .
Juan Carlos Jiménez Vadillo anypixel.com

3ds Max

Desert gas station .
Eugenio García Villarreal

flickr.com/photos/artecnl/sets/72157603945789713

.

Lightwave 3D

THE AMERICAN SUPERHERO

Tim Ness

Captain America . .
timness.carbonmade.com Maya, UDK

Captain America . .
Sanket Tanak tiger-1.cgsociety.org/gallery

Maya, ZBrush

Captain America . .
Roman Samakovskiy romans3d.ru

3dsmax, ZBrush

Pixologic Superhero . .
Jeff Miller thenewred.com 3ds max, ZBrush

ULTIMATES - Captain America . .
Diego Maia maia3d.blogspot.com 3ds Max, XSI, ZBrush

In my dreams I hear a the rattle of musketry, mutter of the battlefiel

Douglas MacArthur

gain the crash of guns, , the strange, mournful ld.

WAR NEVER CHANGES

Tsvetomir Georgiev

.

ceco.cgsociety.org/gallery

Soldier .
ZBrush

Gunnery Sergeant Thomas Highway . .
Stanislav Klabik slayercz.cgsociety.org/gallery 3ds max, Mudbox

Private Charlie . .
Daniele Orsetti dayno.it Maya, ZBrush

Soldier .
Paul Nelson

paul-nelson.com

.

3ds max, ZBrush

Soldier .
Cyril Verrier

quadpilot.com

.

3ds Max, ZBrush

Blackhawk UH-60 . .
Shuangyan Mike mikeshuangyan.cgsociety.org/gallery

Maya, BodyPaint

Tuskegee Airmen . .
Kurt Miller kmistudio.com

3ds max, Bryce

American soldier (USAF) . .
Raymond Yang bignanfer.cgsociety.org 3ds Max

Sgt. Johnson . .
Sven Juhlin daybreakcg.com

Maya, Zbrush

The General .
Teh Gene Erh

tenerh.cgsociety.org/gallery

.

Maya, Zbrush

Tank ( Merkava II ) . .
Eric Zhang cgeric.com XSI

Wings over Vietman (no. 1-3) . .
Anders Lejczak colacola.se Modo

THE BIG APPLE

New York street wintery scene
Peter Mayer

.

petermayer.webs.com

.

3ds max

Stefan Morrell

Urban Wonderland . .
stefan-morrell.com 3ds max

New York Street . .
Simone Vassallo vass.cgsociety.org/gallery

Ligntwave 3D

The Great Station . .
Dennis Latter latter.cgsociety.org/gallery

3ds max

Subway .
Benjamin Ziegler

bziegler.com

.

3ds max

Phone Booth . .
Nicolas Wirrmann nicolasw.com

3ds max

One Night In New York . .
Martin Klein mac-interactive.de 3ds max

“Get on, Ride hard,

and give it all you Cowbo

Proverb

, Hold nothing back, u’ve got! Thats the oy Way!!!

HOWDY PARTNER

Gennady Krimer

.

Revolver
igl3d.blogspot.com

.

Maya

We named the dog Indiana . .
Jon Berry sl0511.com 3ds max, ZBrush

Santiago . .
Kurt Miller kmistudio.com

Bryce

Sassafras Sam . .
Eric Lyman eric3d.com

Maya, Mudbox

Seth Bullock . .
Andrei Cristea undoz.com

3ds max, ZBrush

I shot the sheriff . .
Olivier Cannone in-poculis.cgsociety.org

3ds max, ZBrush

Wild 338. going California . .
Loïc e338 Zimmermann e338.com Maya, ZBrush

The Big Cowboy . .
Gustavo Federico eltavo.cgsociety.org/gallery

XSI, ZBrush

Duke - Carrot Crazy .
Dylan VanWormer & Logan Scelina

dylanvanwormer.com - loganscelina.com

.

Maya

Wilderness . .
Peng Bo aropa.cgsociety.org/gallery

Maya, ZBrush

Stanislav Shcherbakov

Take Your Best Shot . .
sshcherbakov.co.uk

Maya, ZBrush

May The Hunt Begin . .
Roumen Filipov Roumen Filipov he-3d.cgsociety.org

3ds Max, ZBrush

Jack Stern .
Patrick Beaulieu

squeezestudio.com

.

3ds max

Cowboy . .
Jason Hill jasonhillcg.com

Maya, ZBrush

On the watch .
Matej Hradsky

matoh.cgsociety.org/gallery

.

3ds max, ZBrush

Wyatt Earp Bust . .
Ryan Trammell riliancg.cgsociety.org/gallery

Maya, Mudbox, ZBrush

And now

There’s finally something
For you fans of print!

on
http://www.magcloud.com/browse/magazine/277943

Aardman www.aardman.com Absolute Post www.absolutepost.com

STUDIO LIST
Brandt Animation www.brandtanim.co.uk Bravo Games bravogames.com BreakThru Films www.breakthrufilms.co.uk Burrows Nvisage www.burrows.info Busty Kelp www.bustykelp.com Cinesite www.cinesite.com Climax Group www.climaxgroup.com Codemasters www.facebook.com/codemasters Colonel Blimp www.colonelblimp.com Criterion Games blog.criteriongames.com Darkhorse VFX www.darkhorsefx.com Darkside Animation www.dsanim.com Dinamo Productions www.dinamo.co.uk Distant Future Animation Studios www.distantfuture.co.uk Double G Studios www.doublegstudios.com Double Negative www.dneg.com Drive CGI www.drivecgi.co.uk Eggbox Studios www.eggboxstudios.co.uk Envy www.envypost.co.uk

(UK only)

Eurocom www.eurocom.co.uk Fluid Pictures www.fluid-pictures.com Foundation CGI www.foundationcgi.com Framestore www.framestore.com Full Moon Studios fullmoongamestudios.com Gameloft www.gameloft.co.uk Glassworks www.glassworks.co.uk Glowfrog Studios glowfrog.com Golden Square www.goldensq.com Hot Knife Digital Media www.hotknife.co.uk ICube www.icube3d.co.uk Ignition Entertainment www.utvignition.com I love Dust www.ilovedust.com Image Metrics www.image-metrics.com Infinite Realitites www.ir-ltd.net Ink Digital www.inkdigital.co.uk Jagex www.jagex.com Jellyfish Pictures www.jellyfishpictures.co.uk Jump Design www.jumpdesign.co.uk

Absolutely Cuckoo www.absolutelycuckoo.com Air CGI www.air-cgi.com AKQA www.akqa.com Animatic Media animaticmedia.com Annix Studios www.annix.com Artillery www.artillery.tv Atticus Digital www.atticusdigital.com Atticus Finch www.atticusfinch.tv Axis Animation www.axisanimation.com Barefoot VFX barefootvfx.com Base Black baseblack.com BE Animation beanimation.com Black Rock Studios www.disney.co.uk Blink Productions www.blinkprods.com Blitz Game Studios www.blitzgamesstudios.com Blue Bolt www.blue-bolt.com Blue Zoo www.blue-zoo.co.uk

Kazoo Creative www.kazoo-creative.com Kettle Studios www.kettlestudio.co.uk Keframe Studios keyframestudios.co.uk Kuro Dragon www.kurodragon.com Lab 10 Studios www.lab10.com Lionhead Studios lionhead.com LipSync Post www.lipsyncpost.co.uk Locomotion locomotionpost.wordpress.com Lola www.lola-post.co.uk Loose Moose www.loosemoose.net Mainframe www.mainframe.co.uk Man Vs Machine www.manvsmachine.co.uk Masquerade Digital www.masquerade-digital.com Matinai www.matinai.com MDI Digital www.mdi-digital.com Method Studios www.methodstudios.com Molinare www.molinare.co.uk Motion Imaging wearemi.com Monumental Games www.monumentalgames.com MPC www.moving-picture.com Munky www.munky.uk.com

Neon www.neon.tv Neoscape www.neoscape.com Nexus Productions www.nexusproductions.com Ninja Theory www.ninjatheory.com Not to Scale www.nottoscale.tv NSC Creative www.nsccreative.com Nvisible nvizible.com OG International www.og-international.net Passion Pictures www.passion-pictures.com Peanut FX www.peanutfx.com Peerless www.peerless.co.uk Pitbull Studio www.pitbullstudio.co.uk Plowman Craven www.plowmancraven.co.uk Prime Focus www.primefocusworld.com Quay Studios www.quaystudios.com Qurios www.qurios.com Realtime UK www.realtimeuk.com Realise www.realisestudio.com Relentless Software www.relentless.co.uk Rockstar North www.rockstarnorth.com Realtime Technology www.realtime-technology.com

Rumble Studios www.rumblestudios.com Rushes www.rushes.co.uk Saddington Baynes www.saddingtonbaynes.com Slide slidelondon.com Smoke & Mirrors www.smoke-mirrors.com Speed Shape www.speedshape.com/ Studio AKA www.studioaka.co.uk Sumo Digital www.sumo-digital.com Superglue www.wearesuperglue.com Taylor James www.taylorjames.com Ten 24 www.ten24.info Territory Studio www.territorystudio.com The Creative Assembly creative-assembly.com The Foundry www.thefoundry.co.uk The Mill www.themill.com The Senate www.senatevfx.com The Works www.worksltd.co.uk Tigrex www.tigerx.co.uk TT Games www.ttgames.com We Are Seventeen www.weareseventeen.com Zoo zoovfx.com

Beginner’s Guide to Digital Painting in Photoshop is a brand new series dedicated to providing a truly comprehensive guide to the basics of digital painting in this versatile program. The best way to learn from the pros is to watch over their shoulders as they create a masterpiece. The next best way is to read this book. An essential resource for beginners and veterans alike, the techniques I’ve picked up here show that you’re never too old to learn! Highly recommended. Ian McQue
ISBN – 978-0-9551530-7-5 | Softback / Slipcase – 297mm x 210mm | 224 full color premium paper pages | £29.99 / $49.99

available now from: www.3dtotal.com/shop
Get 20% off this book when you enter the promo code: ceiga20jan
This offer will expire at the end of February 2012

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful