Walter "Big Train" Johnson Award Recipients (Established 1890

One Cy Young, But No "Big Train" Vern Law Mike McCormick Mike Cuellar Mike Marshall Randy Jones Sparky Lyle Bruce Sutter Rollie Fingers Fernando Valenzuela Pete Vuckovich Steve Bedrosian Orel Hershiser Doug Drabek Jack McDowell Barry Zito Bartolo Colon Zack Greinke 1960 * 1967 * 1969 1974 1976 1977 1979 1981 1981 1982 1987 * 1988 1990 1993 2002 * 2005 2009 * Unrewarded Hall of Famers Chief Bender Bert Blyleven John Clarkson Red Faber Rollie Fingers Goose Gossage Clark Griffith Waite Hoyt Catfish Hunter Ted Lyons Juan Marichal Phil Niekro Herb Pennock Eddie Plank Eppa Rixey Bruce Sutter Hoyt Wilhelm 71 Total Pitchers in the Hall of Fame (Inducted as Players) Did Not Qualify: Pre-1890 Pud Galvin Old Hoss Radbourn Mickey Welch Negro Leagues Ray Brown Andy Cooper Leon Day Martin Dihigo Bill Foster Jose Mendez Satchel Paige Joe Rogan Hilton Smith Joe Williams
2 1
2 1

Recipient Breakdown Total Number of Awards: Right-Handed: T Left-Handed: Role Starters: Relievers: Hall of Fame Winners: Total Eligible HOF Pitchers: Highest Pitcher Rating: Year: Lowest Pitcher Rating: Year: 233 169 64 227 6 139 40 57 125.19 1908 43.15 1960

Tim Keefe

Total Number of Pitchers:

Only HOF players whose stats were predominantly compiled after 1890; Does not include Negro League pitchers Not counting a strike-shortened season

* Only season in the career receiving Cy Young votes

Biggest Cy Young Award Snubs, Rewarded as "Big Train" Winners Sam McDowell Nolan Ryan J.R. Richard Mariano Rivera 1970 1973 | 1974 | 1977 1978 | 1979 2005

The Question That Started It All: How Many Cy Young Awards Would Cy Young Have Won? The "Big Train" Award places the greats of the game, those that predate the inception of the Cy Young Award, into their proper historical context--creating more compelling comparisons between contemporary pitchers and the past. Greatest Individual Season?

Cy Young vs. Walter Johnson: How Often Do Voters Get It "Right"? 74% of Cy Young winners won the "Big Train" Award in the same year 30 of the last 36 "Big Train" winners swept both postseason pitcher awards

In 1984, Willie Hernandez posted a PR of only 53.4 points (a 62.8%, adjusted with the curve) but won the Cy Young, "Big Train," MVP, and the World Series Greatest Pitching Franchise in Baseball History? In 111 years of baseball in the American League, the Cleveland Indians have won a record 19 "Big Train" Awards (17%); 21 total wins by the city of Cleveland
Hall of Fame Inductees Denoted in Blue

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful