The Constitution

The National Assembly

The Republic of Slovenia is a parliamentary representative democratic republic since 25 June 1991 The present Constitution of the Republic of Slovenia was adopted on 23 December 1991, following the results of the plebiscite on the sovereignty and independence of Slovenia on 23 December 1990, when Slovenes overwhelmingly voted for independence. Slovenia became an EU member on 1 May 2004 Slovenia adopted the euro on 1 January 2007

Head of state
The President of the Republic (elected for a maximum of two, five-year terms by direct elections) The current President is Dr Danilo Türk (elected in November 2007)

25 June 2011 - Slovenia Celebrates Twenty Years A thematic website, covering chronological and historical information, an abundance of interactive content, etc.

President of the Republic: Dr Danilo Türk Prime Minister: Janez Janša Government: Prime Minister, 11 Ministers, 1 Minister without Portfolio National Assembly: 90 deputies (88 elected representatives of the parliamentary parties and one representative each from the Italian and Hungarian national communities). National Council: 40 elected representatives of employers, employees, farmers, tradesmen and the self-employed, as well as from the non-economic sector and local interest groups. Conventional long/short form: Republic of Slovenia, Slovenia Local long/short form: Republika Slovenija, Slovenija

Legislative authority
The National Assembly (90 deputies). Political parties represented in Parliament (National Assembly), elections of 4 December 2011: Positive Slovenia - 28 Slovenian Democratic Party – 26 Social Democrats – 10 Gregor Virant's Citizens' List – 8 Democratic Party of Slovenian Pensioners – 6 Slovenian People's Party – 6 New Slovenia – 4 Representatives each of the Hungarian and Italian national communities – 2 The President of the National Assembly is Gregor Virant. The National Council performs an advisory role. Members are elected for a five-year term (40 members). The President of the National Council is Blaž Kavčič.

Executive authority
The Government consists of the Prime Minister and other Ministers. The government and the ministers are independent within the framework of their jurisdiction, and responsible to the National Assembly. The government is headed by Prime Minister Janez Janša. The current government coalition consists of the Slovenian Democratic Party, Gregor Virant's Citizens' List, Democratic Party of Slovenian Pensioners, Slovenian People's Party and New Slovenia.

Slovenian State Institutions Main portal giving access to all principal state institutions and their online information, services and resources. The Constitution of the Republic of Slovenia In June 1991 Slovenia became an independent, internationally recognized state. It introduced


Judicial power in Slovenia is implemented by courts with general responsibilities and specialised courts which deal with matters relating to specific legal areas.

State Prosecutor

There are 11 regional public prosecution offices, 4 higher public prosecution offices and the Office of the State Prosecutor General of the Republic of Slovenia.

its own currency, established control of its borders and passed a new Constitution on 23 December 1991. State Symbols All about Slovenian national insignia: the coat-of-arms, the flag and the anthem, including mp3, Real Player and the score. Decision making by citizens Website with data on elections in independent Slovenia. Former Governments - review

Ombudsman for Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms

The first Slovenian Ombudsman was elected in September 1994. The Ombudsman reports to the National Assembly on his work.

Constitutional Court

The Constitutional Court decides on the conformity of laws with the Constitution. The Constitutional Court is composed of nine judges - legal experts. They are elected for a term of nine years.


Capital: Ljubljana (272.220 (2011)) Other major cities: Maribor, Celje, Kranj, Velenje, Ptuj, Koper, Novo Mesto, Jesenice, Trbovlje, Nova Gorica, Murska Sobota


210 (11 of them have urban municipality status: Celje, Koper, Kranj, Ljubljana, Maribor, Murska Sobota, Nova Gorica, Novo Mesto, Ptuj, Slovenj Gradec, Velenje) © 2010 Government of the Republic of Slovenia. All rights reserved!