Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4119 Filed02/21/12 Page1 of 12

1080 Marsh Road Menlo Park, CA 94025 T 650.326.2400 F 650.326.2422 Theodore G. Brown III 650 324 6353 tbrown@kilpatricktownsend.com

February 21, 2012

VIA E-FILE AND HAND DELIVERY
The Honorable Ronald M. Whyte United States District Court Northern District of California, San Jose Division Courtroom 6, 4th Floor 280 S. First Street San Jose, CA 95113 Re: Rambus v. Hynix, et al., U.S.D.C. N.D. Cal., Case No.: CV-00-20905 RMW

Dear Judge Whyte: In its January 11, 2012 Order Taxing Costs Pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 39(e); . . . (Dkt No. 4115), the Court (among other things) lifted Hynix’s obligation to maintain the supersedeas bond posted as security for the Court’s Judgment of March 9, 2009. However, the sureties for the bond, Zurich American insurance Company and Fidelity Deposit Company of Maryland, were unwilling to discharge the bond unless they were assured that no party could seek any recourse against the sureties under the bond. Until the bond is fully discharged, Hynix remains obligated to collateralize the bond; as the Court is aware, this entails significant expense, as well as impairment of Hynix’s assets. To that end, and in order to effectuate the purposes of the Court’s January 11, 2012 Order, Hynix and Rambus entered into a Stipulation and [Proposed] Order Regarding Discharge of Supersedeas Bond Posted by Hynix Semiconductor Inc. The entry of this [Proposed] Order would be sufficient to satisfy the sureties such that the bond, and Hynix’s underlying obligations, would be discharged. The Stipulation and [Proposed] Order was filed February 9, 2012 (Dkt. No. 4117); a copy is attached for your convenience. To date, this Stipulation and [Proposed] Order has not been entered by the Court; as a result, both the bond and the attendant collateral for the bond remain in place. It would be

ATLANTA AUGUSTA CHARLOTTE DENVER DUBAI NEW YORK OAKLAND RALEIGH SAN DIEGO SAN FRANCISCO SEATTLE SILICON VALLEY STOCKHOLM TAIPEI TOKYO WALNUT CREEK WASHINGTON, DC WINSTON-SALEM

Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4119 Filed02/21/12 Page2 of 12
February 21, 2012 Page 2

greatly appreciated by the parties and the sureties if the Court would enter the Stipulation and [Proposed] Order at its earliest convenience. If the Court has any questions or concerns, counsel for the parties would be available at the Court’s convenience. Very truly yours, KILPATRICK TOWNSEND & STOCKTON LLP

Theodore G. Brown, III Counsel for Hynix Semiconductor Inc.. et al.

TGB:amc Enclosure cc: Gregory P. Stone (via e-mail: Gregory.Stone@mto.com) Dale E. Gorsuch (via e-mail: dale.gorsuch@zurichna.com)

63989300 v1

Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4119 Filed02/21/12 Page3 of 12 Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4117 Filed02/09/12 Page1 of 5

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

Parties listed on signature page

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA SAN JOSE DIVISION

HYNIX SEMICONDUCTOR, INC., et al., Plaintiffs, vs. RAMBUS INC., Defendant.

CASE NO. CV 00-20905 RMW STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER REGARDING DISCHARGE OF SUPERSEDEAS BOND POSTED BY HYNIX SEMICONDUCTOR INC.

Judge: Ctrm:

Honorable Ronald M. Whyte 6

WHEREAS, the Court entered Final Judgment against Hynix Semiconductor Inc., Hynix Semiconductor America Inc., Hynix Semiconductor U.K. Ltd., and Hynix Semiconductor Deutschland GmbH (collectively “Hynix”) on March 10, 2009; WHEREAS, Hynix filed its Notice of Appeal to the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit from the Final Judgment on April 6, 2009; WHEREAS, on May 14, 2009, the Court Ordered that execution of the Final Judgment be stayed pending the appeal in this action, on condition that, inter alia, Hynix post a supersedeas bond in the amount of $250 million within 45 days of its May 14, 2009 Order; -1STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER REGARDING DISCHARGE OF BOND CASE NO. CV 00-20905 RMW

Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4119 Filed02/21/12 Page4 of 12 Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4117 Filed02/09/12 Page2 of 5

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

WHEREAS, on June 26, 2009, Hynix posted a supersedeas bond, Bond No. CGB 8960181 issued by Fidelity and Deposit Company of Maryland and Zurich American Insurance Company, in the amount to $250 million in accordance with the Court’s Order of May 14, 2009; WHEREAS, on September 17, 2010, the Court ordered that Hynix post a supersedeas bond in the full amount of the Final Judgment within 30 days in order to maintain the stay of execution; WHEREAS, on October 18, 2010, Hynix posted a supersedeas bond, in the form of a Rider to Bond No. CGB 8960181, issued by Fidelity and Deposit Company of Maryland and Zurich American Insurance Company, in the full amount of the Final Judgment, together with post-judgment interest through October 18, 2010 in accordance with the Court’s Order of September 17, 2010 (hereinafter, Bond No. CGB 8960181 and the Rider to Bond No. CGB 8960181 are collectively referred to as “the bond”) ; WHEREAS, on May 13, 2011, the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit vacated the Final Judgment against Hynix and remanded for further proceedings; WHEREAS, on January 11, 2012, the Court ordered that Hynix’s obligation to maintain a supersedeas bond in respect of the judgment of March 10, 2009, was released; WHEREAS, Hynix and Fidelity and Deposit Company of Maryland and Zurich American Insurance Company have requested that Rambus Inc. (“Rambus”) enter into this stipulation clarifying certain aspects of the scope of this Court’s January 11, 2012 Order; WHEREAS, Rambus understands that the import of paragraph (2) on page 13 of the Court’s Order of January 11, 2012, is that the bond is released and exonerated; and WHEREAS, Hynix and Rambus each acknowledges and agrees that Rambus’s and Hynix’s agreement to this stipulation is without waiver of any and all rights that either Rambus or Hynix may have with regard to the judgment of March 10, 2009, and the subsequent remand proceedings, including Hynix’s and/or Rambus’s rights, if any, to appeal or otherwise challenge the Court’s Order of January 11, 2012, save and except for Rambus’s right to seek reconsideration of or appeal from the release and exoneration of the bond,

-2-

STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER REGARDING DISCHARGE OF BOND CASE NO. CV 00-20905 RMW

Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4119 Filed02/21/12 Page5 of 12 Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4117 Filed02/09/12 Page3 of 5

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

NOW, THEREFORE, SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF THE COURT, IT IS HEREBY STIPULATED AND AGREED, by and among the undersigned counsel for Hynix and Rambus, that the below Order may be entered by the Court. DATED: February 8, 2012 MUNGER, TOLLES & OLSON LLP By: /s/ Gregory P. Stone Gregory P. Stone Counsel for Rambus Inc. DATED: February 8, 2012 KILPATRICK TOWNSEND & STOCKTON, LLP By: /s/ Theodore G. Brown, III Theodore G. Brown, III Counsel for Hynix Semiconductor Inc.; Hynix Semiconductor America Inc.; Hynix Semiconductor U.K. Ltd.; and Hynix Semiconductor Deutschland GmbH

ORDER In furtherance of the Court's Order of January 11, 2012, and for the reasons set forth therein, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that: (1) The Supersedeas Bond posted in this case, Fidelity and Deposit Company of

Maryland and Zurich American Insurance Company Bond No. CGB 8960181, and the Rider thereto, are hereby unconditionally released and exonerated and Fidelity and Deposit Company of Maryland and Zurich American Insurance Company are hereby released from all liability under the terms of the Supersedeas Bond and the Rider; (2) (3) The clerk is directed to release the original bond(s) to counsel for Hynix; and Any and all rights that Rambus and/or Hynix may have with regard to the

judgment of March 10, 2009, and the subsequent remand proceedings, including Rambus’s and/or Hynix’s rights, if any, to appeal or otherwise challenge the Court’s Order of January 11, 2012, are

-3-

STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER REGARDING DISCHARGE OF BOND CASE NO. CV 00-20905 RMW

Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4119 Filed02/21/12 Page6 of 12 Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4117 Filed02/09/12 Page4 of 5

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

preserved and are not waived, save and except for Rambus’s right to seek reconsideration of or appeal from the release and exoneration of the Supersedeas Bond and Rider referred to above. IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: February ___, 2012

Honorable Ronald M. Whyte United States District Court Judge

63969953 v1

-4-

STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER REGARDING DISCHARGE OF BOND CASE NO. CV 00-20905 RMW

Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4119 Filed02/21/12 Page7 of 12 Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4117 Filed02/09/12 Page5 of 5

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28
63969953 v1

Filer’s Attestation: I, Theodore G. Brown, III, am the ECF User whose identification and password are being used to file this Stipulation and Proposed Order Regarding Discharge of Bond Posted By Hynix. In compliance with General Order 45.X.B., I hereby attest that Gregory P. Stone concurs in this filing. DATED: February 3, 2012 By: /s/ Theodore G. Brown, III Theodore G. Brown, III

-5-

STIPULATION AND [PROPOSED] ORDER REGARDING DISCHARGE OF BOND CASE NO. CV 00-20905 RMW

CAND-ECF Page 1 of 5 Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4119 Filed02/21/12 Page8 of 12

Stipulations
5:00-cv-20905-RMW Hyundai Electronics, et al v. Rambus, Inc. APPEAL,ARBITRATION,PROTO,REFDIS,RELATE,REOPEN U.S. District Court California Northern District Notice of Electronic Filing The following transaction was entered by Brown, Theodore on 2/9/2012 at 2:14 PM PST and filed on 2/9/2012 Case Name: Hyundai Electronics, et al v. Rambus, Inc. Case Number: 5:00-cv-20905-RMW Filer: Hynix Semiconductor America Inc. Hynix Semiconductor Deutschland GmbH Hynix Semiconductor Inc. Hynix Semiconductor U.K. Ltd Document Number: 4117 Docket Text: STIPULATION WITH PROPOSED ORDER REGARDING DISCHARGE OF SUPERSEDEAS BOND POSTED BY HYNIX SEMICONDUCTOR INC. filed by Hynix Semiconductor America Inc., Hynix Semiconductor Deutschland GmbH, Hynix Semiconductor Inc., Hynix Semiconductor U.K. Ltd. (Brown, Theodore) (Filed on 2/9/2012) 5:00-cv-20905-RMW Notice has been electronically mailed to: Aaron Bennett Craig Allen Ruby aaroncraig@quinnemanuel.com, aaroncraig@quinnemanuel.com

Allen.Ruby@Skadden.com, marilyn.garibaldi@skadden.com andrew.song@mto.com, gigi.ruegsegger@mto.com bvega@omm.com, rdelarosa@omm.com, tbecerra@omm.com Burton.Gross@mto.com, Julie.Lunsford@mto.com

Andrew Winston Song Belinda Martinez Vega

Burton Alexander Gross , Esq Carolyn Hoecker Luedtke Catherine Rajwani Christina E. Rios Craig N. Tolliver

carolyn.luedtke@mto.com, erika.eberline@mto.com

crajwani@sidley.com, kcollins@sidley.com criosemail@yahoo.com ctolliver@mckoolsmith.com

https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/Dispatch.pl?565365955293773

2/9/2012

CAND-ECF Page 2 of 5 Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4119 Filed02/21/12 Page9 of 12

Craig R. Kaufman David J. Healey

ckaufman@ftbklaw.com Healey@fr.com, baginskie@fr.com, jbonilla@fr.com Edward.Reines@weil.com, danielle.delorio@weil.com,

Edward Robert Reines karen.gotelli@weil.com Erin C. Dougherty Eugene S. Litvinoff Fred Anthony Rowley Geoffrey Hurndall Yost Grayson Seyichi Taketa

erin.dougherty@mto.com, anthony.levintow@mto.com elitvinoff@mwe.com fred.rowley@mto.com gyost@thelenreid.com taketalaw@jps.net, mtaketa2@earthlink.net

Gregory P. Stone gregory.stone@mto.com, candace.yun@mto.com, Lindsay.McCaskill@mto.com, michael.lamb@mto.com, Ramona.Salgado@mto.com Jan Ellen Ellard jellard@co.sanmateo.ca.us, klyssand@co.sanmateo.ca.us, mjames@co.sanmateo.ca.us Jared Bobrow jared.bobrow@weil.com, Libia.Busalacchi@weil.com

Jason Sheffield Angell jangell@ftbklaw.com, gphillips@ftbklaw.com, marlantico@ftbklaw.com, mhanhan@ftbklaw.com Jeannine Yoo Sano Jeffrey Y. Wu John D Beynon John J. Feldhaus jsano@whitecase.com, tmiller@whitecase.com

Jeffrey.Wu@mto.com, Jeffrey.Wu@mto.com john.beynon@weil.com, libia.busalacchi@weil.com jfeldhaus@foley.com Kate.Anderson@mto.com keith.hamilton@mto.com, cynthia.soden@mto.com

Kathryn Kalb Anderson

Keith Rhoderic Dhu Hamilton , II Kelly Max Klaus

kelly.klaus@mto.com, shari.lorand@mto.com knissly@omm.com, ddiaz@omm.com, dloffredo@omm.com, korourke@omm.com, tbecerra@omm.com

Kenneth Lee Nissly sroeder@omm.com

Kenneth Ryan O'Rourke Linda Jane Brewer May Lee Heye

lindabrewer@quinnemanuel.com

may.heye@usdoj.gov, SanFran.ATR@usdoj.gov

https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/Dispatch.pl?565365955293773

2/9/2012

CAND-ECF Page 3 of 5 Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4119 Filed02/21/12 Page10 of 12

Miriam Kim

Miriam.Kim@mto.com, Patrick.Odell@mto.com Niall.Lynch@lw.com, sarah.bergmueller@lw.com, sfdocket@lw.com

Niall Edmund Lynch Patrick Lynch Peter A. Detre

plynch@omm.com detrepa@mto.com, patrick.odell@mto.com, steven.uhrig@mto.com

Pierre J. Hubert phubert@mckoolsmith.com, aboals@mckoolsmith.com, lterrell@mckoolsmith.com, mfields@mckoolsmith.com Robert E. Freitas rfreitas@ftbklaw.com, marlantico@ftbklaw.com robertbecher@quinnemanuel.com rransom@sidley.com rose.ring@mto.com, steven.uhrig@mto.com

Robert Jason Becher Rollin Andrew Ransom

Rosemarie Theresa Ring , Esq Scott W. Hejny Sean Eskovitz

shejny@sidley.com, kcollins@sidley.com sean.eskovitz@mto.com

Steven McCall Perry steven.perry@mto.com, eunice.ikemoto@mto.com, kate.anderson@mto.com Susan Gregory van Keulen dloffredo@omm.com Tharan Gregory Lanier svankeulen@omm.com, ddiaz@omm.com,

tglanier@jonesday.com, snakanomcswain@jonesday.com

Theodore G. Brown , III tbrown@kilpatricktownsend.com, acameron@kilpatricktownsend.com Thomas N Tarnay ttarnay@sidley.com, eychen@sidley.com, jburris@sidley.com, mpriddy@sidley.com Tomomi Katherine Glover Vickie L. Feeman tglover@littler.com, lvargem@littler.com

vfeeman@orrick.com, hrupert@orrick.com wbaumgartner@sidley.com, efilingnotice@sidley.com

William Hans Baumgartner , Jr

Yonaton M Rosenzweig yoni.rosenzweig@kattenlaw.com, dana.thompson@kattenlaw.com, patrecia.formeca@kattenlaw.com 5:00-cv-20905-RMW Please see General Order 45 Section IX C.2 and D; Notice has NOT been electronically mailed to: Brian C. Riopelle

https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/Dispatch.pl?565365955293773

2/9/2012

CAND-ECF Page 4 of 5 Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4119 Filed02/21/12 Page11 of 12 McGuire Woods LLP One James Center 901 East Cary Street Richmond, VA 23219-4030 David C. Radulescu Weil Gotshal & Manges LLP 767 Fifth Avenue 32nd Floor New York, NY 10153-0119 Kevin S. Kudlac Weil,Gotshal & Manges LLP 700 Louisiana, Suite 1600 Houston, TX 77002 Lynn Healey Scaduto Munger Tolles & Olson LLP 355 South Grand Avenue 35th Floor Los Angeles, CA 90071-1560 Michelle B. Goodman Sidley Austin LLP 555 West Fifth Street, Suite 4000 Los Angeles, CA 90013-1010 Peter Ivan Ostroff Sidley Austin Brown & Wood 555 West Fifth Street Suite 4000 Los Angeles, CA 90013-1010 Susan Dana Roeder Thelen Reid & Priest LLP 225 West Santa Clara Street, 12th Floor San Jose, CA 95113-1723 V. Bryan Medlock Sidley Austin LLP 717 North Harwood, Suite 3400 Dallas, TX 75201 The following document(s) are associated with this transaction: Document description:Main Document Original filename:H:\e-filing\Rambus I\20120208 Stipulation & Proposed Order Re Discharge of Supersedeas Bond.pdf Electronic document Stamp: [STAMP CANDStamp_ID=977336130 [Date=2/9/2012] [FileNumber=8279826-0] [

https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/Dispatch.pl?565365955293773

2/9/2012

CAND-ECF Page 5 of 5 Case5:00-cv-20905-RMW Document4119 Filed02/21/12 Page12 of 12 673c13bb205ec021de3cc81b7a7ca750de5de8f247d01fcf65c62cf93d7fec0e55b0bc a167191ddec72113b92291a15e92c7ef81471d4dbd0dd968916660e57d]]

https://ecf.cand.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/Dispatch.pl?565365955293773

2/9/2012

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful