You are on page 1of 3

)National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health (NEBOSH

NEBOSH Award in Health and Safety at Work



* :
_1 .
_2 .
_3 .
_4 .
_5 .
_6 .
_7 .
_8 .
_9 .
_10 .

: Managers

HSE Officers
HSE Supervisors
HSE Deputy Managers
HSE Advisors
HSE Technical
Team Works .10


NEBOSH Award in Health and Safety at Work

The NEBOSH Award in Health and Safety at Work provides a good basic
understanding of health and safety and is ideal for individuals wanting a
solid introduction to the subject, as well as organisations wanting to
improve their safety culture. It will equip your workforce to identify and deal
with hazards at work, helping to reduce accidents and achieving cost
savings for the business.
The NEBOSH Award in Health and Safety at Work is based on
international standards, and is aimed at anyone who needs to understand
the principles of health and safety as part of their job. The types of people
who would benefit from this qualification include:

Team leaders and supervisors.

HR professionals.
Facilities managers.
Those working with young people in a training environment.

The course is available in English or in Arabic (including Arabic


The NEBOSH Award provides the perfect grounding for progression onto a
NEBOSH Certificate.
The NEBOSH Award in Health and Safety at Work course is split into two
units of study, each of which is assessed separately:

Unit HSW1: Workplace Safety Foundations

The Foundations of Health and Safety

The Responsibility for Health and Safety
Health and Safety Risk Assessment and Control
Hazards and Controls Associated with Work Equipment,
Working with Electricity, Manual Handling and Repetitive
Movement, Hazardous Substances, the Working Environment
Transport Safety
Fire Safety
Unit HSW2: Workplace-based Risk Assessment Activity


Unit HSW1 is assessed by a one-hour multiple choice exam. Unit

HSW2 is assessed by a short workplace-based risk assessment
Exams are held monthly. All of our courses contain plenty of exam
practice to ensure you are fully prepared for the exam. Many of our
trainers are also NEBOSH examiners, so they're well placed to
provide advice and guidance throughout your course.
How will I be assessed?
The course is divided into 2 units Workplace Safety Foundations
(HSW1) and a Workplace Risk Assessment (HSW2). Candidates are
assessed via a multiple choice exam (HSW1) and practical risk
assessment in the workplace (HSW2).