You are on page 1of 28

50TH ANNIVERSARY 1958-2008

Campaign
CND Review 2007
I would like to support the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament with a regular gift of:
„ £3 „£5 „£10 „ Other amount: £__________
Frequency (Please delete as appropriate): Monthly / Quarterly / Annually
Please debit my account on the: „ 1st „ 15th day of the month
Name(s) of Account Holder(s) Originator’s Identification Number

9 7 3 6 8 5

Instruction to your Bank or Building
Society Please pay the Campaign for Nuclear
Disarmament Direct Debits from the account
Bank/Building Society account number
detailed in this Instruction subject to the safeguards
assured by the Direct Debit Guarantee.
I understand that this Instruction may remain with
Branch Sort code the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament and, if so,
details will be passed electronically to my
Bank/Building Society.
Name and full postal address of your Bank or
Building Society
To the Manager Bank/Building Society Signature(s)

Address

Postcode Date

Banks and Building Societies may not accept Direct Debit Instructions for some types of account 08CR

Front cover photo: Sheila Velez
CAMPAIGN REVIEW 2007

Campaign for Nuclear

T
Disarmament
HIS year we mark the 50th anniversary of
CND campaigns non-violently to
CND. We have achieved much as a
achieve British nuclear
movement, and we must recognise and
disarmament – for scrapping the
celebrate that. Above all, this year we
Trident nuclear weapons system
must build on our achievements and look to the
and preventing its replacement.
future, for public opinion – nationally and globally –-
is moving increasingly in our direction. CND works to secure a Nuclear
Weapons Convention which will
Our work over the decades has contributed to
ban nuclear weapons globally, as
many significant achievements. The public pressure
chemical and biological weapons
that we generate contributed to achieving the Partial
have been banned. We also work
Test Ban Treaty and the nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty. It helped bring about to end Britain’s participation in
the INF Treaty in 1987, removing the missiles from Greenham and disarming the US Missile Defence system
thousands of nuclear weapons. Our campaigning helped prevent the and – with other campaigns
introduction of the Neutron bomb, and US campaigners persuaded Nixon not internationally – against missile
to nuke Vietnam; time and again, it is our action that has prevented the worst defence and weapons in space.
happening, and has shaped the increasing demands for peace and genuine
Other current campaigns include
human security. the prevention and cessation of
This past year has been a very positive one – the majority of public opinion wars in which nuclear weapons
opposed the government’s plans to replace Trident, parliament saw a huge may be used, opposition to
backbench rebellion on the issue, and even Cold Warriors like Henry Kissinger NATO and its nuclear policies,
added their voices internationally to demands for fresh initiatives on and to nuclear power.
disarmament. CND itself has attracted thousands of new members, and the
CND is funded entirely by its
generosity of our supporters has enabled us to step up our campaigning activity. members and supporters, and
This is a strong endorsement of CND’s increasing effectiveness. Much of our our policies are decided upon by
work is covered in this Review, but there has been so much going on it has been our annual national delegates’
impossible to include everything. Thank you to everyone who was made this conference, where our national
increasing success possible. leadership is also elected. Details
The next steps in Britain this year are focused on Aldermaston. As we also of our national offices, and our
mark the 50th anniversary of the first Aldermaston march this Easter, we are network of regions and local
bringing the spotlight onto – and vigorously opposing – Aldermaston’s groups can be found at the back
continued role as Britain’s nuclear bomb factory. We will be gathering at of this Review.
Aldermaston at 12 noon on Easter Monday, 24th March, to surround the base,
and tell the government, ‘The Bomb Stops Here’. This will be an event of great
significance – please join us there. We are planning to have a full page statement
in the national press on Easter weekend, so please use the leaflet enclosed to
add your signature to the call for nuclear disarmament.
Let’s celebrate our history this year, let’s remember the commitment of those
who have given so much and made our movement strong – and let’s make that
a springboard to move forward towards a nuclear weapon-free Britain, and a
nuclear weapon-free world. CND
Mordechai Vanunu House
162 Holloway Rd • London N7 8DQ
Tel: 020 7700 2393
Fax: 020 7700 2357
membership@cnduk.org
Kate Hudson, Chair CND www.cnduk.org

1
CAMPAIGN FOR NUCLEAR DISARMAMENT

No Trident Replacement
No Trident Replacement

T
HE key focus of CND’s
campaigning continues to be UK
nuclear disarmament and the
prevention of a replacement for the
Trident nuclear weapons system. The
first part of 2007 saw a huge campaign,
both in parliament and across the
country, to oppose the government’s
determination to force a pro-nuclear
decision through parliament. In the run
up to the parliamentary vote on 14th

Photo: Sheila Velez
March, CND groups and other
supporters were holding public meetings
across the country on an almost a daily
basis, as popular opposition mounted.
The national ‘No Trident’ demonstration
on 24th February was a major
Vivienne Westwood, Annie Lennox, Bianca Jagger and MPs Katy Clark and Joan
campaigning focus, with up to 100,000 Ruddock support CND on Trident replacement vote day
people participating. Public opinion
shifted substantially against replacement.
A week before the vote, an opinion poll
showed that 72% did not think the
government should go ahead with the
decision. On the day of the vote we held
an emergency lobby of parliament
followed by a large rally in Parliament

A week before the vote,
an opinion poll showed
that 72% did not think
the government should
go ahead with the
decision.
Populus/More 4 Survey, February 2007

Square. Whilst the government won the
vote in Parliament, it suffered the largest
backbench rebellion on a defence issue
since 1924.
In the meantime, over the start of the
year, we gained nearly 1,500 new
Photo: Rick Wayman

members. The fantastic response to our
No Trident Replacement appeal,
launched in late 2006, continued well
into 2007. In total, members donated
over £75,000 to support the campaign.

2
CAMPAIGN REVIEW 2007

24 February 2007: No Trident, Troops out of Iraq demonstration Photo: Sue Longbottom

The next steps and will continue to do so in the year multilateral disarmament. CND has been
In the course of the debate, the ahead. This year is the 50th anniversary pressing the government to support the
government had to admit that the of the first Aldermaston march so we draft Nuclear Weapons Convention,
decision was not irreversible, and - will be bringing the spotlight onto which is lodged at the UN. The majority
building on the breadth of the anti- AWE Aldermaston on Easter Monday of states voted last year in the UN to
Trident alliances that have been built 24th March, to surround AWE and say begin immediate negotiations to achieve
up during campaigning – we are well No to new nuclear warheads. We hope this Convention, banning nuclear weapons
placed to achieve that. The ‘'concept’ many of you who gave such great as chemical and biological weapons are
phase is currently underway. Once this support to the Faslane 365 initiative banned. In spite of clearly stating that
has been completed, the issue will come over the last year will help to mobilise disarmament must be pursued, the
back to parliament – in 2009, according at Aldermaston. Please join us. government has not yet agreed to support
to Des Browne. This is the first the Convention and does not appear to be
significant opportunity to reverse the The alternative to taking any alternative steps. We will be
decision. We are also pressing for rearmament pressing for this in the year ahead,
interim reports, as mentioned – but not We have made it clear in our campaigning particularly at the time of the nuclear Non-
guaranteed – by the Defence Secretary. – ever since our Alternative White Paper Proliferation Treaty Conference in Geneva
Decisions are also expected in the next in December 2006 – that the government this spring. Last year we had a strong
parliament on missiles and warheads. must pursue constructive alternatives, in delegation in attendance, and we intend to
line with its stated commitment to make a similar impact this year.
Aldermaston 2008
Aldermaston continues to be an
important focus for our work. Action
Government funding is pouring into
this nuclear bomb factory, and anyone „ Lobby your MP to sign EDM 72 supporting
who has been there recently will have a Nuclear Weapons Convention.
seen the massive scale of the building „ Sign the CND/Medact petition and get as
work taking place. We have been many people you know to do so too – you
working with Block the Builders and can sign online and download copies from
the Aldermaston Women’s Peace Camp our website or order hard copies from the
over the past year to oppose the
CND office.
development of new nuclear warheads,

3
CAMPAIGN FOR NUCLEAR DISARMAMENT

ICAN
We are very pleased to be working with
other anti-nuclear groups in ICAN (the
International Campaign for the Abolition
of Nuclear Weapons), initiated by
physicians worldwide. ICAN is raising the
profile of the Convention. In the UK, a key
campaigning tool is our petition, saying No
to Trident Replacement, Yes to a Nuclear
Weapons Convention.

Global Summit for a Nuclear
Weapon Free World
Working internationally is vital, in
campaigning for global abolition. CND is
in regular communication with peace
groups in the US, Europe and all across the
world. There is much experience which
needs to be shared. To contribute to this,
CND is marking its 50th anniversary by
hosting a Global Summit in London on
16/17th February 2008. Experts and
activists from across the world are
gathering to raise awareness of the Nuclear
Weapons Convention and to discuss the AWPC activist, Juliet McBride tests the new SOCPA legislation outside the Orion laser
practical steps needed to achieve it. site at Aldermaston

Regions and Birmingham Stop the War Coalition presence was featured in the local paper.
jointly. Speakers included Bruce Kent and They aim to form an affinity group, with
CND groups campaigned exceptionally Clare Short MP. support from Student CND, to plan for
hard against Trident Replacement in early Also in February, Lancaster further actions.
2007, organising public meetings and District CND arranged for Bruce Kent In February Exeter CND arranged
debates with prestigious speakers; running to speak at a United Nations Association both for the No Trident Replacement
street stalls and lobbying their MPs. Over event in Kendal on: ‘Prepare for Peace – leaflet to be distributed to 45,000 homes in
the year, they also had a major presence at Redirect Trident Money’. Exeter via the local free paper, and for a
Faslane 365, and even managed to fit in In September, Greater half-page advert to be printed in the local
some of the following work too: Manchester & District CND Express & Echo.
In October, East Midlands CND, organised a one day Teach-In at the In December they joined with the
supported by South Cheshire and University of Manchester with Rae Street Woodcraft Folk to demonstrate in the
North Staffs CND campaigners, and Jeremy Corbyn speaking on Trident, High Street, to gather petition signatures
demonstrated with Trident Ploughshares and Jenny Clegg running a workshop on and encourage people to write their
against the Rolls Royce Marine Reactor site the global context. 150-200 people (mainly Christmas wishes – what they would rather
in Derby (where Trident's nuclear reactors students) attended. As a result of this the government spent the money on rather
are made). This action was widely covered Teach-In, a new University of Manchester than Trident replacement – on cards to
in the local media. CND group is forming. attach to a big Christmas tree. All these
In February, 100 people attended a day Kent Area CND members wish-cards collected are to be presented to
of workshops on Trident replacement continued to support Aldermaston Exeter MP, Ben Bradshaw.
organised by West Midlands CND blockades and in November their Plymouth CND continues to be a

4
CAMPAIGN REVIEW 2007

strong source of local opposition to the
refitting of Trident submarines in the
Devonport dockyard. For the third year,
CND was deemed ‘too political’ to be
allowed a float on the Lord Mayor’s
Procession. But Plymouth CND activists
took part anyway, marching with a
banner and a mock-up model of a
Trident submarine. This ‘insurgence’
gained excellent publicity with a quote
and a colour photo in the local Evening
Herald.
The Nuclear Free Coalition was
reconstituted in October as a formal
organisation in order to ensure
affiliations and generate income for
activities against the Dockyard. It will
bring together representatives from as
many regional and local peace
campaigns, environmental groups and
trade unions as possible.
Gtr Manchester & District CND’s blockade at Faslane

Around 200 delegates at NUS annual conference took part in a No Trident Replacement photo stunt, sending a clear message
from the student movement to add their voice to calls against Trident. Photo: Ben Soffa

Specialist sections Lent in 2007, with encouraging press Labour CND organised a Labour
coverage. Movement Conference in February to
Christian CND’s major event in 2007 Student CND designed modern new oppose Trident replacement. It was held
was an inter-faith dialogue on the theme campaigning materials bearing the slogan, at Trades Union Congress headquarters
‘Trident Replacement – a Moral Question’. ‘Invest in Education – Not Trident’ and with speakers from across the trade
There were distinguished speakers from held numerous meetings on campuses. union and labour movement. This
many different faiths including the Rt. Rev. To this end they secured the active Conference and the fringe meeting held at
Tony Dumper, a retired Anglican Bishop support of the National Union of the Labour Party conference in
and Dr Daud Abdullah, from the Muslim Students (NUS) for CND’s campaign, September, with Katy Clark MP and
Council of Britain. Members also held getting to help promote CND’s events Fabian Hamilton MP speaking, were well
weekly vigils at Aldermaston throughout and appear on platforms. attended and aroused much interest.

5
CAMPAIGN FOR NUCLEAR DISARMAMENT

No US Missile Defence
Opposing US Missile Defence
and Weapons in Space

L
AST year we had a big increase in
our campaigning activity against US
Missile Defence (MD). UK
government agreement – without any
parliamentary consultation – to hand over
Menwith Hill spy base for the MD system,
plus US determination to locate new sites
in central Europe, has increased
international concern and raised the profile
of this issue. There has been talk of a new
Cold War, and a new nuclear arms race
being triggered. In August, just after the
Menwith Hill decision we organised a
written response in national newspapers
from 27 MPs demanding that any decision
relating to Britain’s role in the US
Bruce Gagnon’s tour included a visit to Fylingdales with Dave Webb and Jackie
programme be decided by ‘Parliament Fearnley (Fylingdales Action Group) to meet the Base Commander
rather than Ministerial announcement.’

68% of the British
public believe that
Britain’s role in US
Missile Defence should
be decided in
Parliament, and not
behind closed doors.
YouGov poll, August 2007

We have been actively working with
new campaigns in Poland and the Czech
Republic and organised a highly successful
conference in London in September. We
were privileged to welcome Jan Neoral, Ivona Novomestska, co-ordinator of ‘No to Bases in the Czech Republic, and Jan
Mayor of Trokavec – the village where the Neoral, Mayor of Trokavec at the conference organised by CND in September
US plans to build a radar base for MD.
This year we are building on those links in Action
Europe and lobbying in the European
Parliament, to win broad opposition to the „Lobby your MP to sign Early
scheme. Here in the UK we will be Day Motion 65 calling for a
working to raise public awareness and democratic debate in the UK
focus on campaigning at Fylingdales, a key parliament on the issue of US
base for the US Missile Defence Missile Defence.
programme, and Menwith Hill. Strong
„Send one of our new
concern from the parliamentary Foreign
postcards to your MP –
Affairs Committee, about the
government’s failure to consult on the
enclosed with your Review.
Menwith Hill decision will be followed up.

6
CAMPAIGN REVIEW 2007

Specialist sections

Youth & Student CND greatly
publicised the Keep Space for Peace
week actions in schools and universities,
as well as organising a short speaking
tour of a young member of the Czech
Peace Movement.

Student CND saw the issue of US
National Missile Defence become an
important and growing focus for their
activities in 2007. Members worked with
the NUS to organise a mailing to all
student unions on the issue, and
organised meetings to raise awareness.
The UK government has agreed – without any parliamentary consultation – to hand
over Menwith Hill for the US Missile Defence system

Regions

Yorkshire CND is responsible for
No to NATO
R
considerable campaigning to oppose AISING public awareness about
Missile Defence having both Menwith the continued location of
Hill and Fylingdales bases within its hundreds of US nuclear
area. In June, convenor Dave Webb weapons under the guise of NATO, at
gave expert evidence at a European Lakenheath air base in East Anglia,
Parliament sub-committee on ‘Does remains a priority. With the expansion
Europe need a Missile Defence Shield?’ of NATO into Eastern Europe, plans to
During the international Keep Space develop a NATO missile defence
for Peace week initiative in October the system, and increasing NATO
group organised both a protest outside involvement in Afghanistan, NATO is
Fylingdales, which gained good local and having a higher profile than it has had
national press coverage, and a nation- for many years.
wide speaking tour for leading In December 2007, we made a
campaigner, Bruce Gagnon, the co- submission to the Defence Select
ordinator of the Global Network Committee Inquiry on NATO,
Against Weapons and Nuclear Power in emphasising opposition to NATO
Space. Yorkshire CND’s newest local nuclear policy. Given NATO’s nuclear
group, Calderdale CND, also hosted first strike policy this is a matter for
Bruce at a very successful public grave concern, and we are increasing our
Lindis Percy speaking at the Croughton
meeting. Both the Menwith Hill and picnic and rally links with other anti-nuclear
Fylingdales bases will see a number of campaigning groups across Europe who
planned stunts in 2008. The Croughton US communications wish to see an end to NATO nukes in
Two Yorkshire CND activists, Helen base in Northamptonshire supports their own countries.
John and Sylvia Boyes have been many US military operations including We will be working to support
challenging the so-called anti-terrorism the war in Iraq, and is believed to have protest at Lakenheath, working with
legislation being used to suppress links to the US Missile Defence system. Eastern Region CND, in the year
peaceful protest. During 2007, the two The 2007 annual Croughton Picnic and ahead – this has been given particular
activists were engaged in a lengthy trial Rally, organised by the Oxfordshire significance because of reports in the
process after they were found guilty of Peace Campaign as part of Keep press that Lakenheath could be a
criminal trespass under this legislation at Space for Peace Week, was attended by location for US interceptor missiles for
the Menwith Hill spy base. Their court many more picnickers than usual who the US Missile Defence system.
case has received lots of local press listened to speakers, Lindis Percy, Peter
attention. Tatchell and the Rev. David Platt.

7
CAMPAIGN FOR NUCLEAR DISARMAMENT

Not one more death
End the occupation of Iraq: Don’t attack Iran

W
E have continued to support
the withdrawal of British
troops from Iraq, and
welcome progress towards this. But full
withdrawal is necessary and we will
continue to make that case until all the
troops are pulled out. We will be
participating in a national demonstration
to that end in London on March 15th;
this event is part of a global day of action
against the continuing occupation of Iraq.
We also work to oppose any attacks on
Iran, and welcome the recent intelligence
reports from the US indicating that Iran
does not have a nuclear weapons
programme. In summer, Chair, Kate
Hudson addressed a conference at the
European Parliament on Iran’s nuclear
programme. We do not believe that
military interventions, which
Troops Home from Iraq demonstration, October 2007 Photo: Davinder Kaur
overwhelmingly affect innocent civilians,
are the right way to deal with complex
regional problems, or with anxieties With lots of media attention, Eastern in Iraq had affected her son. He had
about potential nuclear proliferation. We Region CND members marked the been ordered to fire on a crowd, killing
support UN resolutions – over many 6th anniversary of the bombing of a child whose corpse he had to hand
decades – calling for a nuclear weapons Afghanistan in October by blockading back to the father.
free zone in the Middle East. Gate 1 at Lakenheath for 3½ hours In order to reach out to a wider
holding a banner saying ‘Stop the War audience, London Region CND
Regions Crimes not the Protests’. The 48th opened up the guest speaker slot of its
fighter wing had just returned from council meeting to the public. This
Sussex Peace Alliance members dropping thousands of bombs on proved to be extremely successful, with
have concentrated on opposing military Afghanistan. Lakenheath also hosts up a well-attended public forum against the
action against Iran with letter writing, to 110 US B61 nuclear bombs. Legal threat of a military attack on Iran,
vigils and meetings. One such candlelit charges have resulted and the trial (26,27 addressed by Professor Abbas Edalat.
vigil at a busy roundabout by and 28th March at Bury St Edmunds The event attracted a number of new,
Eastbourne activists with an enormous court) will be alongside the Lakenheath younger activists and produced a
banner saying, ‘Don’t Attack Iran’ 8 who will be on trial for SOCPA and vibrant, extremely useful discussion, out
attracted supportive hoots from passing criminal damages for the action in 2006 of which came concrete steps for
traffic. to stop the loading of cluster bombs. further activities, including the lobbying
In May the Hereford Peace (Court support for these dates would be of MPs.
Council organised Voices Against the greatly appreciated!) Merseyside CND has shown
War, an evening of poetry and music with South Somerset Peace anti-war artist Emily Johns’ exhibition
poet Adrian Mitchell. In November they Group held meetings throughout the Drawing Paradise on the ‘Axis of Evil’
held an Alternative Remembrance Day year on various peace issues with inspired by her visit to Iran at two city
with Martin Bell, former BBC war prominent speakers. They included Dani centre venues with two more booked
correspondent and Independent MP and Hamilton of Military Families against for 2008. Members also worked with
Reg Keys, founder member of Military the War who moved the audience Emily Johns to hold a public meeting
Families Against the War. greatly with her account of how service and slide show of her visit.

8
CAMPAIGN REVIEW 2007

No nuclear power

Eastern Region CND activists protest at Sizewell nuclear power station

W
E have continued to campaign distributed to all delegates.
Regions
against the building of new Eastern Region CND joined
nuclear power stations, and forces with The Climate Camp to stress
to raise awareness of the dangers of Eastern Midlands CND was that nuclear power is not the answer to
nuclear waste, and the inability of among several CND groups which climate chaos. Activists dressed in white
nuclear power to adequately address the challenged the UK government's with radioactive symbol masks blockaded
problems of climate change. Working consultation process on the future of Sizewell, gaining vast local, and some
together with other NGOs, we nuclear power. East Midlands members national media coverage. This action went
supported an initiative from Greenpeace presented arguments against nuclear power on getting reported in the media: the group
to withdraw, at a national level, from the to the biased presentations of the pro- returned for a further blockade, and
government's consultation on nuclear nuclear lobby at both the consultations recently it challenged the Director of
energy, given the evidence produced held in Nottingham, and in the Plaza Sizewell nuclear power station to an open
that it was not a genuine consultation. Hotel, London. There was also a protest at debate on his recent claims about nuclear
Members of local CND groups who the Nottingham consultation. The power. Watch this space!
participated in some of the consultation group then submitted a critical
sessions were concerned about the lack response in October.
of opportunity to make the case against Further work included the

le a r p o w e r
nuclear power. We also work to make
clear the links between nuclear power
and nuclear weapons.
production of a pamphlet
outlining the links
between nuclear power
Nuc– not worth the risk!
and weapons, which was

9
CAMPAIGN FOR NUCLEAR DISARMAMENT

Festivals, fairs and conferences
T
O help get our message over as
widely as possible we have
participated at a number of
summer festivals this year, including at
Glastonbury, where, amongst things, we
gave out thousands of a special Glasto
Campaign magazine. We have also
participated at the Labour Party
Conference, the Trades Union Congress,
and a number of national trade union
conferences, having successful fringe
meetings at many of these events. We are

Photo: Jean-Pierre Magloire
delighted to report an increasing number
of trade union affiliations to CND, and
have seen increased trade union
participation in our events.
If you are able to help us out in a
voluntary capacity at any of our events, we
would be very grateful. Please let us know if
you can help – email enquiries@cnduk.org Merseyside CND’s Gina Shaw enjoys the success of their Peace and Ecology festival
or call 020 7700 2393
the centre of Liverpool. Around 2,000
Regions people visited the festival and, with stalls
from around 20 local campaigning groups
Eastern Region CND had stalls and and lots of live music from folk and rock
workshops on nuclear issues at many musicians, feedback was very positive.
festivals, fairs and local events including Oxford CND entertained people
Latitude, Eastern Haze, Ipswich Peace from all over the region with a battery of
Festival and the Greenpeace Fair. They some of Britain's finest jazz musicians at
were a great success, with a continuous their Jazz Concert in February.
flow of interested people and lively
discussion. a Borderlines Film Festival day in
Specialist sections
A stall run by Eastern Region Hereford to celebrate 25 years since the
members at the University of East first Greenham march. Jenny Maxwell, By volunteering to serve drinks at festivals
Anglia's Freshers' Fair helped encourage a Chair of the group, was also on the all over the country through the Workers
new CND society to form. So far they evening debate’s panel. Beer Company, many Youth &
have held debates, film showings, stalls Kent Area CND has been giving Student CND activists raised valuable
and a CND Week. The enthusiastic new lots of encouragement and practical campaigning funds. When not working,
group has many ideas for the coming support to a new Student CND group they handed out leaflets and badges and
year. formed at the University of Kent. The distributed a special festival edition of
Sussex Peace Alliance members students are meeting regularly and their Disarm, their activist magazine, which was
joined with a wide spectrum of Sussex activities have included taking part in distributed at Glastonbury, Leeds and
peace and human rights groups to stage a blockade at Aldermaston and attending Reading festivals and which roused much
'Freedom Days' meeting in October. Juliet the parliamentary rally and lobby in interest.
McBride, a political and legal academic London. More recently, they held a stall at
and dedicated Nukewatch and AWPC the Freshers’ Fair, then in November a Student CND
activist, plus others spoke on: The Right public meeting addressed by Caroline In the autumn, Student CND held
to Protest, a Right under Threat. Part of Lucas MEP. Freshers’ Fair stalls all across the
the problem is that no such formal right is Merseyside CND marked the country, and produced a special
enshrined in English law. International Day of Peace with a hugely newsletter and stickers for their groups
West Midlands CND took part in successful Peace and Ecology Festival in to distribute

10
CAMPAIGN REVIEW 2007

50
1958 –2008

Global Summit for a Nuclear
Weapon-Free World
Sat 16th & Sun 17th February,
2008 – City Hall, London
Experts and activists from a number of
different arenas, nationally and
internationally, will discuss how nuclear
disarmament can be achieved. Places are
limited. To ensure a place, CND group
delegates should register now.
A reception at City Hall on the Saturday
evening after the conference will honour
our early members.

Available for events
History of CND exhibition
The London School of Economics has
organised a special CND anniversary
exhibition on the history of CND.
Consisting of three portable banners
(approx 1m x2m) using photos, leaflets
and other images from the collections,
two sets will be available for CND
groups to display from Easter. Book by Aldermaston 2008: The Bomb Stops Here, Surround the base
Easter Monday 24th March, 2008 at 12 noon
Get mobilising now for a day to remember on the 50th anniversary of the
CND Annual Conference & first Aldermaston peace march. Each of the gates of the site will be linked
AGM 18/19 Oct 2008 at to a different decade in this lively, colourful event – dress up according to
Westminster University, the decade or chose a theme to make your own unique demonstration!
London With speakers and entertainment, and designed to highlight the continued
Nominations 9 July
role of Aldermaston as a nuclear bomb factory, this is an event not to be
(directly elected)
missed.
Please supply email contact for
your nominee; your name will A mobilising pack, flyers, background information, details of coaches and
also be published other resources are available from www.cnduk.org/aldermaston or e-mail:
Resolutions 14 July info@aldermaston2008.org or call 0845 3370282
Groups will receive a mailing in
early April; all members will contacting Rebecca: 020 7700 2393 about CND’s history and the anti-
receive full details in the summer or officemanager@cnduk.org nuclear movement. It will cover
edition of Campaign developments from Hiroshima to the
„ All correspondence to: CND Documentary present day and will be completed by
‘Conference’ at the CND office or MADD (Make a Direct Difference) June 2008. Copies will be available for all
e-mail office@cnduk.org
Movies are producing a documentary CND groups.

11
CAMPAIGN FOR NUCLEAR DISARMAMENT 1958-2008

12
13
CAMPAIGN FOR NUCLEAR DISARMAMENT

Scottish CND
2
007 was a significant year for the
campaign in Scotland. It saw not only
the majority of Scottish MPs voting
against the plan to replace Trident, but also
the Scottish Parliament taking a similar
stance. Since May, Scottish CND has been
encouraging the new Scottish government
to explore what effective action it can take
to help achieve disarmament.
We have deliberately worked with major
Scottish institutions to build the campaign.
The churches, other religious groups, trade
unions and peace organisations have
worked together in the Scotland’s for Peace
initiative. Scotland’s for Peace organised a
Bin the Bomb roadshow in February,
culminating in a march and rally attended
by around 3,000 people in Glasgow. The
speakers included First Minister, Alex
Salmond and Cardinal Keith O'Brien.
During the year Scottish CND worked 3000 people marched through Edinburgh in the People and Parliament against
with other organisations in the campaign, Trident event
including Faslane 365 which sustained
effective protests throughout the year, and ‘We desire that Scotland The event was effective in showing public
Greenpeace, which organised a high profile support for the stance taken by Holyrood.
should be known for its
campaign in February. Scotland’s for Peace launched the
contribution to peace and Scottish Covenant for Peace which states:
More jobs without Trident justice rather than for ‘We desire that Scotland should be known
One of the main arguments used in favour waging war’. for its contribution to peace and justice
of nuclear weapons in Scotland is that jobs rather than for waging war’. This was
From the Scottish Covenant for Peace
would be at risk if Trident were cancelled. signed by Alex Salmond, religious leaders
Early in 2007 Scottish CND and the and MSPs on 1st November. Thirty
Scottish Trade Union Congress (STUC) overwhelmingly passed, with 71 voting for, illustrated Covenant books have been
gathered together a small group of experts 16 against and 41 abstaining or not voting. printed.
who drafted a detailed report on the After the May election, Scottish CND During 2008 we will work to ensure
economic implications of cancelling the held a conference to discuss with politicians that there is a good turnout from
Trident programme. This showed that the and representatives of civic Scotland how Scotland at the Aldermaston
number of jobs at risk was far less than to move the campaign forward. A key task demonstration on Easter Monday. Events
often claimed and that more jobs would be has been to identify what a Scottish in Glasgow and Edinburgh will mark
created if the money was reallocated to government can do within its devolved CND’s 50th anniversary. The year’s main
other projects. The report proved to be an powers. The Scottish National Party (SNP) focus will be encouraging grassroots
effective and timely piece of research. administration has taken this on board, and, activity with a series of meetings across
in October, they organised a National Scotland in March and later in the year.
Strong political lobbying Conversation on Scotland's Future Without The major event will be a large protest at
Scottish CND members wrote to their Nuclear Weapons. Following this the Faslane in June. We will also host a
MPs and MSPs, sent them emails and Scottish government is setting up a conference on Trident Replacement in
visited them in their local surgeries. In Working Group to explore future options. the Autumn, assist Nuclear Free Local
March, 33 of the 59 Scottish MPs voted In November, 3,000 people marched Authorities with a seminar in April, take
against the government. In June, a motion through the centre of Edinburgh in the part in the Scottish government’s working
calling on the UK government not to go People and Parliament against Trident group on nuclear weapons and promote
ahead with its proposals at this time was event organised by Scotland's for Peace. the Scottish Peace Covenant.

14
CAMPAIGN REVIEW 2007

CND Cymru
I
T was that Strathclyde police station Elections
phone call on January 8th 2007 from Following the Assembly elections in May,
CND Cymru Chair Jill Evans (and Wales now has a coalition government
Wales MEP), letting us know that she and (Labour and anti-nuclear Plaid Cymru);
Leanne Wood (Assembly Member) had most, if not all, of whom have at some
been arrested for blockading Faslane, that time personally supported CND Cymru or
launched another action-packed year for its aspirations.
CND Cymru. On that day, elected
representatives showed how they too are St Athan Military Academy
excluded from decisions made on our A British government decision to site a
behalf about weapons of mass destruction privately funded military training
and war. ‘academy’ (built and run by a consortium
If our elected representatives feel led by arms manufacturer Raytheon) at St
unable to directly influence such decisions Athan, in South Wales, caused quite a stir.
and war plans, then we in Wales must Many local politicians are keen to cash in
continue to use our imagination, brains, on the professed number of well-
and hearts to the best of our ability to get subsidised jobs to be (or not to be)
the world and future we want. 'created'. Others are deeply disturbed by
the further militarisation of Wales, and by
David Morris the principles behind an institution set up
In January too, following the death of to train any ‘security’ force from Britain or
David Morris, a former CND Cymru elsewhere with the ready cash to pay.
Chair, we were reminded of his words, CND Cymru is playing a central part in
‘we in the peace movement are always the campaign to stop the academy and to
optimistic; never despondent; never present positive alternatives.
cynical’. As an Aberystwyth student in
1957, David had been involved in the first European Youth Event and
anti-nuclear weapons demonstration in Peace Boat
Wales. Later, having served as a Labour Part funded by CND Cymru, Cynefin y
MEP for 15 years, he was deselected, he Werin and British CND, BANg (Ban All
felt for ‘taking a stand and speaking out Nukes generation) representatives,
against Trident’. He was certainly not including Georgia Coles Riley and Emily
alone in his party and would have been Freeman from Wales, organised a week-
proud to know that our February anti- long youth event in Scotland. Some
Trident demonstration in Cardiff was led participants joined the New York bound
by Labour MP Julie Morgan, Independent ‘Peace Boat’ – a ship from Japan
MP Dai Davies, Labour Councillor Ray dedicated to the cause of disarmament,
Davies and Plaid Cymru MEP Jill Evans. peace and international understanding. At
Nuclear disarmament will only be won a Nagasaki Day commemoration held in a
with cross party support. New York street they read out a ‘Youth
Appeal’ which was presented to the UN
Red Dragon at Faslane Head of the Office of Disarmament
At least 70 people from Wales were Affairs.
arrested over the Faslane 365 year; many CND Cymru would like to pay tribute
more taking part. Wales will be watching to and express admiration for fellow
closely to see what happens next as the workers and activists in Wales, and to
Scottish Parliament rejects having British our comrades, brothers and sisters
nuclear weapons in its country. CND Cymru’s No Trident Replacement throughout Britain and the rest of the
Y Ddraig Goch (the Welsh flag) is demonstration in Cardiff with (top) Jill world.
Gough and Ray Davies, CND Cymru and
frequently seen outside AWE Dai Davies MP and (middle) Jill Evans Diolch yn fawr a chariad i ti gyd –
Aldermaston and Burghfield, and our MEP Heddwch a Chyfiawnder!

15
CAMPAIGN FOR NUCLEAR DISARMAMENT

CND in the media
In the papers and on the
television
The first three months of the year were
dominated by the run-up to the Trident
replacement decision, with both
broadsheets and tabloids running
photographs of the projection of our No
Trident Replacement logo on to the
Houses of Parliament.
More4 News devoted a whole television
programme to a debate between CND
Chair Kate Hudson, Defence Secretary
Des Browne and others, with an audience
of young people voting against
replacement after the opposing cases had
been presented. Later in the year, Kate
was interviewed on Newsnight when it was
revealed that Britain’s nuclear weapons
are not protected by electronic security
codes from unauthorised use – as other
nuclear weapon states do.

Big band and celebrity
support
Our anti-Trident replacement statement
was signed by over 50 British big-name Sizewell nuclear power station. CND supporters have made the news,
bands and musicians, such as In August, the press reported on our Eileen Daffern’s interview on Woman’s
Babyshambles, Thom Yorke, Damon opinion poll gauging opposition to US Hour being typical of the many fascinating
Albarn, Kaiser Chiefs, Massive Attack and Missile Defence. A letter we organised, tales from activists.
the Chemical Brothers. The statement was signed by several dozen MPs, was also Getting stories in the regional media is
printed in the popular music press and printed in both the Independent and vital in presenting the issues with a local
reported in the London free newspapers Guardian. International press covered our context. Local CND groups do an
and beyond. September 1st conference. November saw excellent job of generating coverage of
Dozens of photographers mobbed us widely quoted on the Foreign Affairs their events and views. Regional groups’
our celebrity supporters – Annie Committee report on Missile Defence. coverage has been particularly prolific
Lennox, Bianca Jagger and Vivienne during the year with numerous
Westwood – at a stunt organised outside Individual and local news appearances on regional television and
Parliament on the day of the vote. Later, Throughout the year individual stories of radio.
national television and radio reported on
the direct-action protests during the day
and transmitted live coverage of our
D o you have a story the media might be interested in?
In this anniversary year we would particularly like to hear from
evening rally in Parliament Square. members with a personal story to tell about their involvement with
CND. Are you part of a multi-generational family of campaigners?
Nuclear Power and US Missile
Do your relatives hold greatly differing views to yours? Do you
Defence
During the second half of 2007, the
come from a background generally seen as atypical for a CND
press heard our opposition to nuclear supporter? If you have a story that you think might make an
power and UK involvement in US interesting magazine feature or article, please get in touch with Ben
Missile Defence. We were quoted in Soffa, CND's Press Officer on 0207 700 2350 or e-mail:
relation to parliamentary developments pressoffice@cnduk.org
on nuclear power and blockades at

16
CAMPAIGN REVIEW 2007

Peace Education
2
007 has been a truly amazing year
for CND’s Peace Education
Programme; it is continuing to
develop its network of speakers, school
workshops and resources. The programme
will continue to grow as more people
become involved in 2008.

‘What was the Cold War?’
Teenagers in schools today were born in
the early to mid 1990s and many do not
know that Britain has nuclear weapons.
Even more are unaware of their
devastating effects. It is crucial that young
people are empowered with enough
knowledge to make informed decisions Bruce Kent talks to school students in Bootham
and that they know, if they decide to
oppose nuclear weapons, there is An updated edition will include a CD conflict. Many questions were asked, from
something they can do to object. Most of with images to complement the lessons. the realities of disarmament – to Bruce’s age!
all, young people should be presented with In another such lecture planned for
accessible, balanced and interesting ‘I’d never work in a nuclear March 2008, the Mayor of Cambridge,
information to engage and educate them. bomb factory – it might accompanied by Bruce Kent, will address
explode whilst I ate my lunch!’ school students and explain why she signed
Hundreds of packs distributed Workshops in schools have also taken off the Mayors for Peace pledge. Hopefully in
Our new Peace Education Pack is based since the summer, with school visits all over our 50th Anniversary year we will see
on co-operative learning methods and is the country. As you can see from the above Schools’ Peace Lectures throughout the
designed to satisfy a range of different quote – the young people involved were country.
learning styles. It has five different always keen to add their opinions to
activities appropriate for the classroom or discussions about peace and nuclear Interested? Get involved!
youth group and is suitable for teenagers weapons! CND Peace Education is always looking
aged 13 to 18. The effects of a nuclear Requests for workshops are still coming for enthusiastic people to become
explosion are examined, as are the key in and hopefully more will be occurring involved. People in education, both
concepts in the debate surrounding such throughout the anniversary year. teachers and school students, are invited to
weapons. The history of the peace symbol get in touch. You can also join the panel of
is explored and students are encouraged to 'I was really impressed people reviewing our materials. We can
think up their own designs. Other nuclear- with the pack. It is very arrange workshops or speakers for your
related issues, such as the story of teacher friendly and school and send you a copy of our
Mordechai Vanunu, and the Chernobyl makes a complicated education pack.
disaster, are investigated. We are recruiting speakers to join our
topic engaging and
Hundreds of copies of the pack have School Speakers’ network. If you feel you
been distributed at teachers’ conferences
thought provoking. have the knowledge and confidence to
and meetings, and lots of good feedback Rowan Walker, a teacher in speak in schools, then please contact me.
has been received from teachers and Coalville, Leics Prior experience is not essential as training
students alike. One teacher commented will be provided where necessary. All
that the students really enjoyed the Schools’ Peace Lectures: 800 enquires to Anna Liddle at
activities and were ‘engaged and York students hear Bruce Kent peaceeducation@cnduk.org
interested’. A 15-year-old student also Another successful initiative was the Let us spread the knowledge of nuclear
praised the pack, saying, ‘students aren’t establishment of the Schools’ Peace weapons and disarmament further in our
told what to think and so they can make Lectures. Our first lecture, in York, had anniversary year by educating the young
their own decisions and form their own almost 800 students listening to Bruce Kent people who may carry on the campaign in
opinions.’ speak on nuclear weapons, peace and the future.

17
CAMPAIGN FOR NUCLEAR DISARMAMENT

Resources
Campaign materials petition on the CND Other leaflets
A range of CND campaign materials, website. Hard copies and briefings
including leaflets, reports and postcards can also be Other leaflets are
will help ensure you have robust downloaded or available, to oppose
arguments when you lobby and inform ordered from the government spin on
your MP, write a letter to the local press office. nuclear power,
and build awareness within your local inform about
community. Hiroshima and
No US Missile present the case
No Trident replacement Defence against nuclear
Our new report, Trident and Employment: A range of new No US Missile Defence weapons, help scrap our current Trident
The UK’s industrial and technological network materials has been produced, a leaflet, system, and give general information
for nuclear weapons comprehensively briefing, and Q&A will ensure informed about CND’s work.
argues for UK opposition along with a special new In addition, we have a wide range of
defence lobby postcard to send to all MPs. different briefings to give more detailed
diversification and
examines the
economic benefits Join the letter-writing team
of employing 2007 saw CND’s letter-writing team
people outside of concentrate on UK nuclear disarmament,
the nuclear writing about Trident replacement to Tony
weapons industry. Blair, the Defence Secretary, Des Browne, and
It was written by
the Defence Select Committee. We also wrote
Dr Steven Schofield, an expert on the
related letters about the 2007 nuclear Non-
subject, and was funded by UNISON.
Proliferation Treaty Preparatory Committee
A Q&A and updated No Trident
Replacement briefing and leaflet are also meeting to Margaret Beckett, (when she was
available. A new briefing Foreign Secretary), and Gordon Brown (on
with the latest becoming Prime Minister). In autumn, we
information on lobbied the UK Ambassador to the UN to vote
warheads and missile for a resolution about the alert status of nuclear weapons.
developments related to Later in the year, we objected to the planning application for new
Trident replacement buildings at Burghfield.
will be available in early
In May, we wrote to the peace movement in the Czech Republic
2008.
supporting its opposition to a planned radar base as part of the US missile
Our new
defence system.
information sheet,
No to Trident Replacement: Yes to a Nuclear As usual, we ended the year by sending Christmas cards to Mordechai
Weapons Convention compliments the Vanunu
CND/Medact petition which calls on Although the replies we get are usually unsatisfactory, and we often
the UK government wonder whether the authors believe what they are writing, it is crucial
to support negotia-
that we make our voices heard and our letters inform, encourage and
tions towards a
present our point of view. Many of our letter-writers send copies of the
nuclear weapons
letters to their MPs – a good way of passing on useful information.
convention and
recognise its We provide background information and a list of points to make eight or
commitment to nine times a year. Not everyone can write every letter but even one a year
multilateral disarm- helps. To join our team, please contact Katy, SystemsOfficer@cnduk.org,
ament by not or call the national office, indicating whether you want to receive
replacing Trident. information by e-mail or post.
Get everyone you know to sign the

18
CAMPAIGN REVIEW 2007

information on topics including US
nuclear weapons in Europe, Nuclear
Power and Iran’s nuclear programme.
CND Personnel
CND briefings, Q&As and reports Officers Ben Folley: Campaigns Officer
are available to download from the Chair: Kate Hudson Sue Longbottom: Print & Website Designer
Briefings and Information pages of our Vice-Chairs: Jeremy Corbyn MP, Mell Harrison: Regional Campaigns Worker
website. Leaflets and postcards can be Sophie Bolt, Dave Webb Michael Hindley: Membership
ordered from our online webshop. Treasurer: Linda Hugl Development Worker (until June 07)
Alternatively call the CND office on 020 Davinder Kaur: Campaigns Officer
CND National Council
7700 2393 Anna Liddle: Peace Education Officer
Directly elected
Jon Nott: Fundraiser
Pat Arrowsmith, Jenny Clegg, Tom
Keep up to date! Dawn Rothwell: Campaigns Research and
Cuthbert, Sue Davis, Joan Horrocks, Peter
•CND’s E-Campaign bulletins Information Officer
Leary, Gawain Little, Caroline Lucas MEP,
Sign up to CND’s regular e-mail Rebecca Sage: Office Manager
Alice Mahon, Pat Sanchez, Tom Shelton,
Tom Shelton: Campaigns and Office
bulletins for the most up-to date details Tony Staunton, Rae Street, Carol Turner,
Admin (until June 07)
on our events and activities by signing Hannah Tweddell
Ben Soffa: Press Officer
up with your e-mail address on our
Nations, Regions and Areas Rick Wayman: Press Officer (until April 07)
website home page www.cnduk.org
CND Cymru: John Cox, David Bradley, Katy West: Membership and Database
Jill Gough Systems Officer
ecampaign
Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament
Scottish CND: Adam Beese, Eileen Cook,
Jim Taggart
Many thanks and good luck to Michael Hindley,
Tom Shelton, and Rick Wayman
Cumbria & N. Lancs: Chris Prettyman
National and Regional staff
East Midlands: Ian Cohen,
•Campaign magazine CND Cymru: Jill Gough (volunteer)
Richard Johnson, Geoff Lawrence
With opinion pieces, news articles and Scottish CND: John Ainslie
Gtr Manchester: Joan Abrams
Gtr Manchester CND: Jacqui Burke,
information on the latest CND events, Kent Area: Pam Brivio
Doug Weir
keep informed London Region: Pat Allen, Jim Brann,
London Region CND: David Polden
by subscribing Nicholas Russell
Yorkshire CND: Sarah Cartin,
free of charge Merseyside: Gina Shaw
Denise Craghill
to CND’s Southern Region: Graham Allen,
Other regional offices are run by volunteers
Campaign Anna Chaplin
magazine. All South Cheshire & N. Staffs: Jason Hill Specialist sections
members South West Region: Peter Le Mare, Christian CND: Claire Poyner (part-time).
receive the Tom Milburn Other specialist sections are run by
Membership Sussex Peace Alliance: Anna Rehin volunteers from home.
edition in West Midlands CND: Sandra Gardner, Volunteers at Holloway Road
summer, but you can also Joe Sturge Pat Allen, Pat Arrowsmith, Dorothea
subscribe to the spring and autumn Yorkshire CND: Helen John, Miriam Moss Baker, Jim Brann, Kitty Cooper, Marco
issues by e-mailing Specialist sections Cosimiro, Pam Cowan, Sue Davis, Dave
membership@cnduk.org Christian CND: Bob Russell Esbester, Jen Jousiffe, Gina Mackenzie,
Labour CND: Daniel Blaney Eileen Maclean, Stuart Minto, Luba
•Get political Student CND: George Woods Mumford, Mary Ogbogoh, Jill Poller,
Strategic political lobbying is essential to Youth and Student CND: Catherine Crick, Becky Ridgewell, Rosemary Rogers,
CND’s campaigning. For keen and Brendan Lee, Joanne Stevenson Annette Russell, Ellen Sheffield, Aby
budding lobbyists, CND’s Simons, Stuart Stephenson, Jean Taylor,
Vice-Presidents
quarterly Lobby newsletter Jim Thomas, Marjorie Trevor, Ian Triggs,
Tony Benn, John Cox, Joan Horrocks,
provides important Tony Watkins, Matt West, Muriel Wood,
Bruce Kent, Alistair Mackie,
information to help you Killian Zumpe
Paul Oestreicher, Walter Wolfgang
lobby your MP Interns
Staff and volunteers
effectively. To subscribe Amanda Cassiday, Roderick Cobley
Staff at Holloway Road
please email Thank you to all those who volunteer their valuable
Sam Akaki: Parliamentary Officer
sama@cnduk.org or call time and energy
Joy Annegarn: Membership, Finance
the CND office on 020 Goodbyes
Eve Cuthbert: Finance and Network
7700 2393 Many thanks and good luck to all
Manager

19
CAMPAIGN FOR NUCLEAR DISARMAMENT

Support us
CND launches Direct Debit
Now you can give regularly to CND
using Direct Debit. This flexible and
secure payment method allows you to
choose the amount you give and the
frequency, while providing protection via
the Direct Debit guarantee. You can set
up a Direct Debit on our website or use
the form on the inside front cover.
Payment via Direct Debit cuts CND’s
administrative costs and allows us to
invest more in the future of the
Campaign.
Please note that a Direct Debit will
not cancel any standing orders you may
have with CND and you will need to
cancel these with your bank.

CND Membership Rates
£24 Waged Individual
£8 Concessionary
caption
Merchandise
Our range of No Trident Replacement
campaigning materials, including a t-shirt CND legacy income as a percentage of total income
designed by Peter Kennard, sell extremely 35
well. Many members help raise awareness 30
by wearing our t-shirts and badges. A
25
catalogue of our new materials, including
20
several reproductions to mark CND's
anniversary, is included with this mailing. 15
10
Legacies 5
Our ability to respond to government's 0
plans for a new generation of nuclear 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007
weapons was greatly enhanced by
generous legacies left to the campaign by
CND legacy income
life-long supporters.
Money pledged to CND by members 90000
in their wills enabled us to employ extra 80000
staff and run national newspaper 70000
advertising campaigns at this crucial time.
60000
During 2007, over 60 members
50000
informed us that they had added CND to
40000
their wills – many in response to our new
information pack A Legacy for Peace. If 30000
you would like a copy please email 20000
legacies@cnduk.org or call 020 7700 10000
2393 and ask for Jon. 0
Legacies have generally increased in 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007
value since 2003 (see Chart 1). In 2007, „ Total income „ Other income „ Legacies

20
CAMPAIGN REVIEW 2007

legacies contributed to approximately
30% of our income (see Chart 2),
(although 2007 figures are very
preliminary).
If inheritance tax is payable on any
legacy that CND receives, CND is able to
revert part of the legacy in favour of the
Nuclear Education Trust. Although this
means that this part of the legacy can only
be used for CND's educational work, the
remainder can be used for CND's vital
campaigning work.

Nuclear Education Trust
The Nuclear Education Trust (NET)
received charitable status in March 2007
after a long period of discussion with the
Charity Commission. CND has
unsuccessfully tried to form a charitable
arm on several occasions in the past, so
this was great news.
At present NET is mainly funded by a
generous legacy to CND which was
signed over to NET (120K), enabling
inheritance tax to be reclaimed (£77K). In
2007, NET contributed over £27,000 to
CND. This was mainly used for CND's
peace education work and preparing the
No Trident Replacement briefing. NET
also funded the London School of
Economics' CND's archives work - archives much more accessible to a Disarmament Summit. Other grants have
enough to prepare for the 50th general and academic audience. been made to Scottish CND, the
anniversary exhibition; this is the NET will contribute over £50,000 to Movement for the Abolition of War and
beginning of a much larger project CND's peace education work in 2008 and Christian CND for planned conferences
between LSE and CND to make CNDs over £30,000 to CNDs Global discussing the role of nuclear weapons.

21
CAMPAIGN FOR NUCLEAR DISARMAMENT

Autonomous sections
CND supports and gives grants to the work of the following autonomous campaigns.
bylaws introduced in June, we all enjoyed and Green Man music festivals.
our celebration of being there and not From September we were back in the
giving up. office helping organise the annual ICBUW
conference. Held at the UN Church
Taking our 'Knickers to the Centre in New York, it welcomed activists
Bylaws' challenge to the High and scientists from across the US and
Court beyond.
Our application for a Judicial Review of During the now obligatory post-event
the bylaws will now be heard in the High lobbying, it emerged that our draft
Court on February 1st, and, if agreed, will resolution was to be submitted to the UN
be heard immediately. Please come and First Committee, and if passed, to the UN
Aldermaston Women’s Peace support the court challenge - relevant to General Assembly in December. Although
Camp(aign) everyone who is committed to the right to the final wording was somewhat weaker
'Concrete in a wheelie bin' peaceful protest. Come and join us at the than we would have liked, the resolution
blockades Peace Camp – second weekend of every passed both by a landslide, with 122 and
During the lead up to the Trident vote month at the Tadley roundabout. We 136 votes respectively. The five states that
we lobbied and protested by all means camp there to give a loud, protracted and voted against it were the US, UK, Israel,
possible, including giving evidence to the determined NO to Trident, its replacement, Czech Republic and the Netherlands.
Defence Select Committee and an 'on all nuclear weapons and all war. Meanwhile, CADU launched the UK
top of the fence protest' which led to an „ www.aldermaston.net part of a divestment campaign against
arrest under the new Serious Organised Barclays and RBS after it emerged that
Crime and Police Act 2005 (SOCPA). they help finance three uranium weapons’
On vote day March 14th, we organised manufacturers.
with Block the Builders and brought The next year will be of great
London's Parliament Square to a grinding importance to the international campaign.
halt with a successful and visually In particular CADU is very aware of the
arresting blockade in which nine people Campaign Against Depleted challenge we face from the UK
were arrested. Risking back injury and Uranium (CADU) government. We welcome the support of
hypothermia, blockades involving CADU’s 2007 activities revolved around its CND members and groups!
increasingly impressive concrete role as the international office for the „ www.cadu.org.uk
constructions have continued at International Coalition to Ban Uranium
Aldermaston, attracting widespread Weapons (ICBUW). With more than 90 Faslane 365
publicity on the disgusting new bomb- members worldwide, CADU believes A year of mobilising against
making facilities that are being built in ICBUW is the best initiative yet to achieve Trident
front of our eyes. a ban on all conventional weapons From 1st October 2006, thousands of
containing uranium. people from all over the world took part
The Women's Cocktail Party In February, CADU organised a well- in a year of almost-
of the Century attended UK parliamentary lobby and continuous
Maintaining our monthly camp in the public meeting. Soon after, we went to nonviolent actions
face of evictions and arrests relating to Geneva for a UN seminar, followed by at the Faslane base.
the new military by-laws is, in itself, an some intense diplomatic lobbying. In May, Some 1,150 people
achievement, and we celebrated women's we helped organise a DU photo exhibition were arrested,
strength and sense of fun in June when in the European Parliament, sponsored by including survivors of
about 50 women gathered for a fabulous the Europe-wide Green political group. We the atomic bombing of
cocktail party on a grass verge near then returned to Geneva for more Nagasaki and Hiroshima, elected members
Burghfield. Undeterred by spending the lobbying. of the European and Scottish parliaments,
previous night in Reading police station, The summer was spent out on the road, hospital workers, trade unionists, teachers,
having been arrested under the new fundraising at the Glastonbury, Big Chill students – a wide cross-section of civil

22
CAMPAIGN REVIEW 2007

society from Scotland, England, Wales and Overnight nuclear convoys get TP and members heavily involved in the
beyond. Most blockaders were charged lost support structure); at the HQs of
with ‘breach of the peace’ and held In 2007 Nukewatchers drew attention to Trident manufacturers and suppliers in
overnight in police cells. However, only 55 two occasions when convoys got lost. An London (Serco; Lockheed Martin;
– usually repeat ‘offenders’ – were actually overnight convoy Raytheon; BAE; Rio Tinto); joining the
prosecuted. Some trials are still pending, so monitored out of Lord Mayor's parade in Plymouth, and
please give support, especially to activists AWE Burghfield at Rolls Royce Derby.
from your area. in May was
Faslane 365 was conceived as a yearlong tracked to the M1. In court
blockade rather than an open-ended From there it left Various alleged misdemeanours meant
campaign. The aim was to intensify political the motorway at a appearances in many courts across the
pressure and provide impetus for Scotland junction signed as land, including Ayr, Stratford in London,
to reject the illegal imposition of nuclear ‘closed’- onto the and Helensburgh, for trying to collect
weapons. By bringing autonomous groups A52 Derby/Nottingham road. At road- evidence of illegal transfer of weapons
to Faslane to challenge Trident directly works, the support convoy separated from through Prestwick Airport, going into
we've helped to build a broader, stronger the load carriers and drove up and down AWE Aldermaston, blockading Faslane,
community of activists to share ideas and the dual carriageway several times, ending and imaginately re-decorating the
strengthen nonviolent activism on peace, up in a residential area at 5am. After several entrance to RNAD Coulport. All these
justice and environmental issues. During noisy turns in side streets the vehicles appearances were marked by a failure on
this intense year of blockading, Faslane 365 regrouped at a local barracks before heading the part of the accused to hold their
achieved its main objectives, including the off to Scotland. In November, a heads down or show any contrition, and
election of an anti-Trident majority in the southbound convoy got lost around Stirling. a parallel failure on the part of the
Scottish Parliament committed to making In both cases the convoy was separated courts to show a scintilla of
Scotland nuclear free. Though we chose to from its support units for half an hour. understanding about international law.
disband Faslane 365 after 1st October The MoD admits there is a risk of a
2007, when hundreds of protesters closed nuclear explosion in a serious crash or as In jail
the Faslane and Coulport gates for hours in the result of a terrorist attack, yet can't Phill Jones did time in Barlinnie in
a celebration of people power, the even ensure that drivers take the correct Glasgow when an unpaid fine dating
campaign against Trident renewal is far route and that the safety equipment is from a blockade of Rolls Royce in 2005
from over. kept with the convoy. Perhaps the crew eventually caught up with him. Marcus
In 2008 it will be important for the should be issued with a simple map Armstrong spent 14 days in Kilmarnock
movement to grow and carry on rather than relying on technology that is jail after refusing to pay a fine related to
campaigning in different ways – against not up to the job! Nukewatch believes the citizens’ inspections of Prestwick
the nuclear convoys; to strengthen the that no further warheads should be Airport in August 2006, when it was
Scottish government’s nuclear free taken into service and those in Scotland being used to transfer bombs from the
policies; highlight the illegality and should be returned to AWE for US to Israel. Marcus said: ‘I acted to
immorality of nuclear weapons; and also decommissioning in as safe a way as protect my brothers and sisters in the
to oppose the upgrading of warhead possible: in daylight, at reduced speed Lebanon. It is the only way I know how
facilities at Aldermaston and Burghfield. and with the road ahead cleared. to live.’
Make the government see sense, cancel Thank you to the valiant
Trident and pursue disarmament. Nukewatchers who track these convoys In reflection
„ www.faslane365.org day and night – without them, such And the future? The public and political
incidents would go unreported and the climate in Scotland at present is uniquely
Nukewatch MoD policy to sacrifice safety for favourable for getting rid of Trident - an
Military convoys carrying Trident nuclear secrecy would continue unchallenged. opportunity that may be temporary and
warheads regularly travel by road between „ www.nukewatch.org.uk cannot be missed. At the same time
the south of England and Scotland, there is Aldermaston, the heart of
tracked by citizen ‘weapons inspectors’ Trident Ploughshares (TP) proliferation, as well as Derby,
from Nukewatch. The convoys transport In the works Devonport, the WMD industrial nexus,
their deadly cargo for regular maintenance This year we have again been active at and Whitehall itself.
and inspections to and from Atomic various places where the workings of „ www.tridentploughshares.org
Weapons Establishment (AWE) at Trident are tangible: at Aldermaston
Burghfield in Berkshire and the Coulport with the Block the Builders blockades; at
weapons store at the Clyde Submarine Base Faslane and Coulport mainly with
in Scotland. Faslane 365 (five days of blockading by

23
CAMPAIGN FOR NUCLEAR DISARMAMENT 1958-2008

Contacts
CND groups are essential in getting our message heard across the country. Contact your local or
regional group to find out how you can get involved.

Regions and areas Mid Somerset CND West Midlands CND fax: 020 7700 2357
Cumbria & N Lancs CND 12 Neales Way 54 Allison Street sama@cnduk.org
34 Trafalgar Street, Evercreech, Shepton Mallet Birmingham B5 5TH
Denton, Carlisle CA2 5XY Somerset BA4 6LA tel: 0121 643 4617 Labour CND
tel: 01539 723020 tel/fax: 01749 830 741 wmcndall@gn.apc.org 11 Pembury Road
msomcnd@aol.com www.wmcnd.org.uk Worthing BN14 7DN
East Midlands CND info@labourcnd.org.uk
43 Cobden Road Norwich CND Yorkshire CND www.labourcnd.org.uk
Chesterfield S40 4TD Forge Bungalow 2 Ashgrove
tel: 01707 643768 The Street, Stotesham Bradford BD7 1BN Student CND
matthews@greenbee.net Norwich NR15 1YL tel: 01274 730 795 28 Grove Road
tel: 01508 550446 info@yorkshirecnd.org.uk London E17 9BN
Eastern Region dwhiggin@dhiggin.fsnet.co.uk www.yorkshirecnd.org.uk tel: 07814 434939
The Anchorage, Low Road studentcnd@yahoo.com
Bungay NR35 ITT Southern Region CND National offices yscampaigns@cnduk.org
0845 337 0282 Flat 12, Eliot House CND Cymru
mellcndeast@cnduk.org 483 Portsmouth Road Y Drain Gwynion, Heol yr Youth & Student CND
www.easterncnduk.org Southampton SO17 2TH Eglwys, Talywaun Mordechai Vanunu House
tel: 023 8032 8335 Pontypool NP4 7EF 162 Holloway Road
Kent Area CND tel: 01495 773180 London N7 8DQ
78 Priory Hill, South Cheshire & North heddwch@cndcymru.org tel: 0207 607 3616
Dover CT17 0AD; Staffs CND info@youthstudent.org
tel: 01304 225078 PO Box 2127 Scottish CND www.youthstudentcnd.org.uk
pambrivio@btinternet.com Stoke on Trent ST1 1LY 15 Barrland Street
tel: 01782 280 998 Glasgow G41 1QH Peace Camps
London Region CND www.scanscnd.org.uk tel: 0141 423 1222 Aldermaston Women’s
Mordechai Vanunu House fax: 0141 423 1231 Peace Camp
162 Holloway Road South West Region CND scnd@banthebomb.org Second weekend of every month.
London N7 8DQ The Peace Shop www.banthebomb.org tel: 07969 739 812
tel: 020 7607 2302 31 New Bridge Street info@aldermaston.net
david.lrcnd@cnduk.org Exeter EX4 3AH Irish CND www.aldermaston.net
tel: 01392 431447 P.O. Box 6327, Dublin 6, Eire
Gtr Manchester tel/fax: 00 353 1 872311944 Faslane Peace Camp
& District CND Surrey Peace Action irishcnd@ireland.com Permanent.
Bridge 5 Mill, Network http://indigo.ie/~goodwill/ A814, Shandon, Helensburgh
22a Beswick St, Ancoats 27 St Mary’s Road icnd.html Dumbartonshire G84 8NT
Manchester M4 7HR Reigate RH2 7JH tel: 01436 820901
tel: 0161 273 8283 tel: 01737 223003 Specialist sections faslanepeacecamp@hotmail.com
fax: 0161 273 8293 Christian CND
gmdcnd@gn.apc.org Sussex Peace Alliance Mordechai Vanunu House Menwith Hill Women’s
www.gmdcnd.org.uk 67 Summerheath Rd 162 Holloway Road Peace Camp
Hailsham BN27 3DR London N7 8DQ 3rd weekend of every month
Merseyside CND tel: 01323 844 269 tel: 020 7700 4200 PO Box 105
50-54 Mount Pleasant geowcpuk@gn.apc.org fax: 020 7700 2357 Harrogate HG3 2FE
Liverpool L3 5SD christians@cnduk.org tel: 01535 603 240
tel: 0151 702 6974 Tyne & Wear CND www.cndyorks.gn.apc.org/
mcnd@care4free.net 1 Rectory Avenue, Gosforth Parliamentary CND mhs/wpcmhs.htm
www.mcnd.org.uk Newcastle upon Tyne, NE3 1XS Mordechai Vanunu House
tel: 0191 285 7260 162 Holloway Road
gvickers@broadgate47.freeserve. London N7 8DQ
co.uk tel: 020 7700 2393

24
CAMPAIGN REVIEW 2007

Local Groups Hackney & Islington CND Medway CND Saddleworth Peace Movement
020 8533 5838; medwaycnd@blueyonder.co.uk 01457 876013;
Abingdon Peace Group patrick@allen3664.fsnet.co.uk Mid-Herts Peace Group steve.roman@btopenworld.com
01235 526265 Hall Green CND 01707 331643; Saffron Walden Peace Group
sallyreynolds@btinternet.com 0121 778 2672 v-weston@hotmail.com 01799 527449
Haringey CND Mitcham CND Salisbury CND
Bath CND 01225 312574; 0207 607 2302; 0208 648 9037 01722 321865
monica_cnd@hotmail.com david.lrcnd@cnduk.org Musicians Against Nuclear Sheffield CND
Bedford CND Headingley & Kirkstall CND Arms (MANA) 0114 296 7596;
bedfordcnd@yahoo.co.uk 0113 2741011; 0208 455 1030 sheffieldcnd@hotmail.com
Birkenhead CND dave@webbjeff.free-online.co.uk admin@mana.org.uk Southampton CND
0151 677 6896 Hemel Hempstead CND 02380 229363
Blackpool & Fylde CND 01442 230285 North Cumbria CND Southend and District CND
01253 899742; Hereford Peace Council 01228 524351 01266 682820
mail@doskachess.co.uk 01432 342623 Northumbrians for Peace irene.willis@tiscali.co.uk
Brentwood CND brianrands@btinternet.com 01434 604747 St Albans CND
jilldimmock@hotmail.com Horsham Peace Alliance northumbrians_for_peace 01727 863 911;
Bristol & West Region CND 01403 251276; @hotmail.co.uk mgt.harris@btinternet.com
0117 9714112; lhugl1@btinternet.com Nottingham CND Sydenham & Forest Hill CND
bristolcnd@mac.com Huyton CND enquiries@nottinghamcnd.org.uk 0208 699 8597
Bromley & Beckenham CND 0151 4894242;
0208 4601295 huyton.cnd@merseymail.com Orpington CND Tavistock Peace Action Group
01689 837848; 01822 617457
Central Manchester CND Isle of Wight CND sheilatriggs1@btinternet.com ginnydavies@onetel.com
0161 6961724 01983 855359; Oxford CND Tower Hamlets CND
Cheltenham CND vectispax@gn.apc.org 01865 242919; 0208 981 6871;
01242 582985 suecnd@googlemail.com
Chesterfield CND Kettering CND Penzance CND
01246 455178 01536 481392 01736 787056; Wallasey CND
Chippenham CND b.mccraith@clara.co.uk pete@plumpeace.nildram.co.uk 0151 6383967
01249 651565 Kingston Peace Council/CND Peterborough CND Waveney CND
Coventry Peace House 020 8399 2547 01733 233047 01986 896189
01203 663031 rosemaryadd@aol.com Plymouth CND West London CND
01752 318625 0208 743 4189;
Durham Peace Campaign Lancaster District CND plymouthcnd@fsmail.co.uk griggshampan1@ukonline.co.uk
peace_durham@yahoo.co.uk; 01524 33991 Prestwich & Whitefield CND West Norwood CND
www.peaceactiondurham.org.uk r.allwright@lancaster.ac.uk 0161 733 0868 0208 670 0622
Leicester CND 01162 705 604; Wimbledon Disarmament
East Lancashire CND acheetham@beeb.net Quaker Peace and Social Coalition 020 9543 0362
01254 887017 Lewes & District CND Witness 020 7663 1000 info@wdc-cnd.org.uk
michael.hindley@pop3.poptel. 01273 473912; qpsw@quaker.org.uk Woking Action for Peace
org.uk susan2.murray@virgin.net 01483 768228;
Enfield Peace Campaign Lewisham & Greenwich CND Reigate & Redhill CND mary.holdstock@ntlworld.com
0208 364 2606 020 8857 1095 info@lgcnd.org.uk 01737 248487
Exeter CND Lutterworth CND reigateandredhillcnd@hotmail.co.uk
01392 431447; 01455 552949 Rickmansworth &
exetercnd@amserve.net Chorleywood CND
Faringdon Peace Group Maghull and Lydiate CND 01923 777754
01367 710308 0151 526 7293 Rochdale & Littleborough
Maidenhead & Cookham CND Peace Group
01628 522 331 01706 370712;
Marple and District CND philipgilligan@lineone.net
0161 427 1191
CND
Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament • Mordechai Vanunu House • 162 Holloway Rd • London N7 8DQ
Tel: 020 7700 2393 • Fax: 020 7700 2357 • membership@cnduk.org
www.cnduk.org
Company Registration 3533653