Society of Ethnobotany Medal Awards Society of Ethnobotany, CSIR-NBRI, Lucknow – India Society of Ethnobotany was established during

1980 for the promotion of multifarious potentialities and prospects of Ethnobotany. Prof. E. K. Janaki Ammal Medal: The medal is awarded to a senior and active Ethnobotanist for long and distinguished services, research and promotion of Ethnobotany. Its open to all countries. 1992 - Prof. R. E. Schultes (USA), Orchidologist and Director of the Harvard Botanical Museum and author of The Plants of the Gods: Their Sacred, Healing, and Hallucinogenic Powers (1979), coauthored with chemist Albert Hofmann, the discoverer of LSD. Winner of 1. Gold Medal from the Linnean Society of London (1992), the most prestigious prize in botany; 2. Gold Medal from the World Wildlife Fund. 1993 – Prof. B. Berlin (USA), 1994 – Prof. Richard Irving Ford (USA), Recipient of many honours like Oberlin Honor Roll, Oberlin Top Ten, ComfortStar Award (for outstanding achievement in Sociology-Anthropology, Oberlin College), High Honors in Anthropology, Sigma Xi Society, 1963 (Associate), 1972 (Member) Phi Sigma Scholarship Award, Phi Sigma Society, Phi Kappa Phi …… (more) 1995 – Prof. Sir G. T. Prance FRS (UK), A prominent British botanist and ecologist extensively published on the taxonomy. He is actively involved on environmental issues, a trustee of the Amazon Charitable Trust, and a Vice-President of the Nature in Art Trust. A biography of Prance was written by Clive Langmead. The foremost public office he held was as director of the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (1988–1999). He was knighted in 1995. Since his retirement he has remained very active, notably involving himself with the Eden Project. Prance, a devout Christian, is currently the chair of A Rocha[16] and president of Christians in Science. 1996 – Prof. M. D. Merlin (Hawaii) Professor of Botany, University of Hawai'i at Manoa, working for Ethnobotany, Plant Ecology, Environmental History, Natural History of Remote Oceania, Human Impact on Hawaiian and other Tropical Pacific Islands 1997 – Dr. Gary J Martin (France) He has been responsible for developing field activities, workshops, networks and publications during the first phase (1992-1996) of People and Plants' work in Southeast Asia and Latin America, and has worked as international coordinator of interdisciplinary projects in Kinabalu Park (Sabah, Malaysia), Beni Biosphere Reserve (Beni, Bolivia) and the Sierra Norte (Oaxaca, Mexico). In these field projects, his approach has been to encourage the formation of multicultural, interdisciplinary teams responsible for addressing the opportunities and conflicts that arise from use of biological resources around protected areas. With other colleagues from People and Plants, Martin has participated in the organization of international training workshops in the Dominican Republic, India, Mexico, China and Thailand.

1998 – Dr. M. J. Balick (USA) Vice President for Botanical Science, Director and Philecology Curator Institute of Economic Botany, The New York Botanical Garden 1999 – Dr. D. D. Soejarto (USA) Professor of Pharmacognosy, Department of Medicinal Chemistry and Pharmacognosy. 2000 – Prof. Paul Alan Cox (USA) Dr. Paul Alan Cox is an ethnobotanist whose scientific research focuses on the ecology of island plants and the uses of plants by island peoples. He is the author of over 170 scientific papers and reviews, and was chosen by TIME as one of eleven “Heroes of Medicine” for his search for new medicines from plants. In 1997 he received the Goldman Environmental Prize for the conservation efforts described in his book Nafanua: Saving the Samoan Rainforest. In 1988, he was bestowed a matai chief title by Falealupo in honour of his work. 2001 – Prof. Norman R Fransworth (USA) Department of Medicinal Chemistry and Pharmacognosy, Director, Program for Collaborative Research in the Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Illinois at Chicago 2002 – Dr. A. B. (Tony) Cunningham (Australia) An ethnoecologist/applied ecologist working on links between natural resources, local livelihoods and conservation. Over the past 25 years, he has worked in East Africa (Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania), southern Africa (Botswana, Malawi, Namibia, Zimbabwe, South Africa), West Africa (Cameroon, Cote d'Ivoire), Asia (Nepal, India, Indonesia) and to a lesser extent, Oceania (Australia, Fiji) in habitats from desert to tropical rainforest. His main interest is the links between people and conservation, centred on the resource values (economic, medicinal, nutritional, utilitarian) of natural resources to people and conflicts between conservation areas and local communities. 2003 – Prof. Walter H. Lewis (USA) Professor Emeritus, Department of Biology, Washington University in St. Louis. Professor Walter H. Lewis' research emphasizes medical ethnobotany in South America among the Jivaro peoples of the upper Amazon basin. This involves learning their traditional medicine by understanding about the many plants used as therapeutics to treat a wide range of diseases. Extracts of these targeted plants are then tested in specific biodirected assays and those found active are fractioned and chemically characterized in search of new compounds effective in treating malaria, tuberculosis, and other diseases. 2004 – Prof. James A. Duke (USA) Duke was ecologist with the USDA (Beltsville, Maryland), joining Battelle Columbus Laboratories (1965-71) for ecological and ethnobotanical studies in Panama and Colombia. During this formative period, Duke lived with various ethnic groups, closely observing their deep dependence on forest products. 2005 – Prof. Paul A. Minnis (USA)

Deptt of Anthropology, The University of Oklahoma. Research Interests: Archaeology, cultural ecology, ethnobotany, prehistory biodiversity, sociocultural evolution, North America, southwest U.S., northern Mexico. 2006 – Dr. Nancy Turner (USA) Associate Professor, Texas A&M University - Department of Nutrition & Food Science, Dr. Turner's research program focuses on determining the impact of dietary constituents on regulatory processes that may protect against carcinogenesis and inflammation in the colon. 2007 – Prof. Daniel F. Austin (USA) Research Associate at the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, Tucson, and of the Fairchild Tropical Garden, Miami, Florida. He is also Adjunct Professor, Department of Plant Sciences, University of Arizona, Tucson; Research Associate at the Department of Biological Sciences, Florida International University, Miami; Research Associate at the Desert Botanical Garden, Phoenix; and Emeritus Professor at Florida Atlantic University, Boca Raton. 2008 – Dr. Elvin Memory Lewis (USA) Professor, Department of Biology, Washington University in St. Louis 2009 – No Award 2010 – Dr. James S. Miller (USA) Dean and Vice President for Science, and Rupert Barneby Curator for Botanical Science. The Dean and Vice President for Science at the International Plant Science Center of The New York Botanical Garden leads strategic positioning, planning, and administration for all areas of science at the Botanical Garden. Dr. Miller holds an endowed chair, the Rupert C. Barneby Curatorship, named in honor of the legendary New York Botanical Garden scientist, scholar, and humanist who made enduring contributions to the field of botany during a career spanning nearly half a century. 2011 – Prof. Prabha Y. Bhogaonkar (India) Former Director, Government Vidarbha Institute of Science and Humanities, Amravati.