You are on page 1of 4

The Pictorialist

April 2012 Newsletter of the Photo Pictorialists of Milwaukee Established 1904 Affiliated with the Photographic Society of America Wisconsin Area Camera Clubs Organization And the Wisconsin Print Circuit Richard Yehl, President; Sandra Weber, Vice President Dixie Lowin, Treasurer; Bert Hartinger, Secretary-Editor Meetings are held the first and third Thursdays of each month from September thru May at 7pm, in the Luther Manor Conference Room, 4545 N. 92nd St., Wauwatosa, Wisconsin Recap of March Programs John Lowin talked to us about plug-ins at the first March meeting. Since then several of us have started to use TOPAZ De-Noise. At the second meeting we judged photos from the Wisconsin Print Circuit, which was a good chance to compare our photos to those from other clubs. April Programs April 5 being Holy Thursday, our first meeting will be April 12. This should be a fun program. Bring in 10 photos, prints or digital (if digital either send them to Richard Yehl,, or bring them on a memory stick). The photos can be of anything you want, but include a selection from the February and March outings. April 19 is our business meeting. There will be weighty matters to discuss and vote on. Also bring in any pictures you plan to enter in our annual PPM competition. Rules for the competition are included at the close of this newsletter, along with information about competition judging. First Annual WACCO Photograph Exhibition Several PPM club members will have prints on display in the WACCO exhibition, which opens April 20, at 6pm, in the Reuss Building (the Milk of Magnesia building). The exhibition will run through April and May. Mary Dumont, who is organizing the show, sent out a draft catalog to participating photographers, and it looks like it will be a spectacular exhibition. Good News Richard and Sandra Yehl visited Sr. Joelise at Franciscan Woods recently, and report that she is doing well, to the point where she propels herself around the hallways in her wheelchair, and has been, or soon will be, moved to the School Sisters of Notre Dame residence in Elm Grove. Also we have heard that Rob Lauer has undergone successful surgery and we hope to see him at our meetings again soon. Photo Display in the LM Welcome Center Be sure to stop in at the Luther Manor Welcome Center to see the display of photos put up by Pauline Beck. The Mystery Photo panel also has new photos, also put up by Pauline, who has been very busy indeed.

Tony Oberbrunner Wins PSA Honors As reported in the March PSA Journal, Tony continues his winning ways in photo journalism competition. In the Quarterly Digital Competition for August 2011, in the PJ General-Basic category, Tony won 2nd for Inbound, and HMs for Hanging On and Bikes at #3. To see his images go to htm. Wisconsin Circuit Exhibition of Photography Judging for the Milwaukee and Wisconsin Exhibitions will be Sunday, April 15, at 8:30 am, in the Waukesha State Bank, located at I94 and Highway 67 North, Oconomowoc. Some of our club members will assist in judging and recording scores, and anyone can come in and see all the outstanding photographs submitted. Treat List April 12 Jerry Harders April 19 James Krivitz May 3 Bring your own snacks and beverages for the long competition evening May 17 Banquet night Pot Luck About the Competition As previously mentioned, bring images and entry forms for the competition to the April 19 meeting. Richard will bring copies of entry forms to the meeting April 12. Repeated efforts to find judges for the competition have been unsuccessful, so it is suggested that we self judge the photos, just as we self judged the Wisconsin Print Circuit photos. Each of us should score our own photographs as 10, so no one has an unfair advantage. Score the rest of

the photographs according to your best evaluation as to their quality. See the following two pages for detailed information about the rules of entry and the awards to be given.

Conditions of Entry for the Year-End Competition Regular members and life members may enter up to six images in each category. An image may be entered only once (not in one category and again in another category). No image that won in a previous year can be entered again. Categories and Codes Digital color D-C Digital nature D-N Digital photo-journalism D-PJ Print color P-C Print monochrome P-M Print photo-journalism P-PJ Digital images must be jpegs, sized to a maximum of 1024 horizontal and 768 vertical at a resolution of 100. Make a folder for each category with your name and category code on it. Inside the folders the images must be in order of image no. (1 to 6), title, and category code. Prints must be mounted on matte board no larger than 16 by 20, with no writing on the face of the print or on the front of the matte board. Mark the back of the board with image no., (1-6), photographers name, image title, and category code. In the Nature category, no hand of man must show in the image. Animals and flowers must be wild, not domesticated. The story telling value of the images should be weighed more than the pictorial quality. Titles should be descriptive. The images are to depict observations from all branches of natural history. Manipulations that alter the truths of the photographic statement are ineligible. Photo-journalism consists of storytelling images or sequences such as are seen in the news media and periodicals. It may include images that document life, news, and human interest. P-J prints may have more than one image on a mount to tell a story. More than one digital image may be used in a series but must be marked as such. Awards In each category a Photo of the Year award will be given, and a Proficiency award given, based on the total of scores in the category. In addition, three honorable mention awards will be given for each category. Proficiency Awards Digital Color Casper Award Digital Nature Pagel Award Digital Photo-journalism Tamms Award Print Color Certificate Award Print Monochrome Langlad Award Print Photo-journalism Certificate Award Photo of the Year Awards Certificate Award Grote Award Certificate Award Certificate Award Laatsch Award Farber Award

Langlad Award: awarded since the very early days of the club to honor Benjamin Franklin Landglade, a charter member whose outstanding contributions firmly established the Photo Pictorialists of Milwaukee. Casper Award: to honor Edwin F. Casper, a charter member and the first elected Life Member of the club. Edwin made many outstanding contributions to the club. Pagel Award: to honor Victor E. Pagel, APSA, for the long years of service he rendered to the club and for the excellence of his photography. Laatsch Award: to honor Ted Laatsch, APSA, for many years of service to the club and for the excellence of his photography, in particular is pictorial prints and stereo slides. Grote Award: to honor Fred C. Grote for the excellence of his photography, in particular nature slides of wildflowers and for his many years of service to the Pictorialists. Farber Award: to honor Edward R. Farber, photo-journalist, inventor of the portable electronic flash, and forty year member of the club. Tamms Award: to honor Jeff Tamms, FPSA, EPSA, for his years of dedication to the club and excellence in photo-journalism.

You might also like