You are on page 1of 2

CODEX: SPACE MARINES FAQ

A “A n d T h e y S h a l l K n o w N o F e a r ” The “And They Shall Know No Fear” special rule refers to the Universal Special Rules in the main rulebook. This rule is no longer there, so is reprinted here for reference. Space Marines automatically pass tests to regroup, and can take tests even if the squad has been reduced to less than 50% by casualties, though all other criteria apply. If Space Marines are caught by a sweeping advance, they are not destroyed and will instead continue to fight normally. If this happens then the unit is subject to the No Retreat! rule in this round of close combat and may therefore lose additional casualties. Usually troops that regroup may not move normally and always count as moving whether they do or not, but these restrictions do not apply to models with this special rule. Note that units which include Servitors are still subject to this rule as long as the unit contains at least one Space Marine. Land Raiders The Land Raider and Land Raider Crusader should have the following special rule added: Assault Vehicle: Models disembarking from any access point may launch an assault on the turn they do so. Company Banner? A. Yes, throughout the book the words ‘standard’ and ‘banner’ are used interchangeably. Q. If I upgrade a Company Banner to the Sacred Standard or the Chapter Banner, do the effects of the new banner stack up with those of the Company Banner or do they replace them instead? A. The effects of the Company Banner are replaced by those of the new banner, so the banner loses the effect of a Company Banner, but will have the effects of either the Sacred Standard or the Chapter Banner. Q. What are the ‘Furious Assault’ and the ‘Expert Rider’ special rules? A. Whoops! They are the ‘Furious Charge’ and the ‘Skilled Rider’ universal special rules respectively (as described in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook). Q. Heed the wisdom of the Ancients trait – does it allow taking Dreadnoughts both as Heavy Support and as Elites (Venerable ones) or must I choose to have them as either Elites or a Heavy Support? In other words, can I have six Dreadnoughts in my army? A. Both as Heavy Support and as Elites! So, you can have up to three Dreadnoughts as Elites – which must be Venerable – and up to three as Heavy Support, any of which can be upgraded to Venerable.

FAQ Q. In the Terminator armour description on page 25, it says that models with Terminator armour may deep strike only if the mission allows it, but then the Terminator squad’s entry says that they can deep strike even in missions that do not allow this special rule to be used. Which one is it? A. All models in Terminator armour may always choose to start in reserve and deep strike onto the battlefield, regardless of the mission being played. Q. Is a Company Standard the same as a

Q. Does a Techmarine’s twin-linked plasma pistol on the servo-harness give an extra attack in close combat? A. Yes. Q. What are the conventions for the Libarian’s familiar? Is it a separate model with its own base or just modelled onto the Libarian? And, if he has a bike/jump pack is he slowed down by the familiar? A. It’s a separate model, but it always moves at the Librarian’s speed.

© Copyright Games Workshop Limited 2005. Permission is granted for a single copy of this PDF to be downloaded, stored temporarily on a single PC and printed once for personal, non-commercial use and only for the purposes of playing the Warhammer 40,000 tabletop hobby wargame. All other Rights Reserved. Games Workshop, The Double-Headed/Imperial Eagle device, the Games Workshop logo, Chapter Approved, Eye of Terror, Citadel, Citadel Device, Chaos, the Chaos factions, the Chaos faction logos, Space Marine, Space Marine chapters, Space Marine chapter logos, Codex, Eldar, Eldar symbol devices, Ork, Ork devices, Tau, the Tau caste designations, Kroot, Necron, Tyranid, the 'In the Grim Darkness of the Far Future' tagline, Battle for Macragge, Cityfight, Warhammer, the Warhammer 40,000 device and all associated marks, logos, names, races and race insignia, vehicles, locations, units, characters, illustrations and images from the Warhammer 40,000 universe are either ®, TM and/or © Games Workshop Ltd 2000-2005, variably registered in the UK and other countries around the world.

Q. No. Does Fury of the Ancients need to pass through a model in the unit in order to count as hitting the unit? A. just through the unit (including gaps between models). . It affects every model in the army. are any immobilised hits on them counted for the purposes of weapon destroyed results? A. No. Q. Yes and yes. or just ONE of ANY of those listed? A. Any and all! Q. Do Drop Pods count as immobilised (and hence worth 15VP) the moment they touch down? Also. Psychic Powers Q. Does the Commander’s Rites of Battle special rule affect only squads or does it also affect other independent characters? A. the area of effect is doubled. Does the Veil of Time Librarian power allow re-rolls on ALL of the listed tests. Does the Fury of the Ancients Librarian power require line of sight to a target? A. Yes. Q. Q. Does the Hood of Hellfire affect the Fear of Darkness psychic power? A.