Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 1 of 51

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA
THE STEAK UMM COMPANY, LLC, 520 Caroll Street
Reading, Pennsylvania 19601

Plaintiff,
v.

CIVIL ACTION NO.

STEAK 'EM UP, INC.,
2600 S. 11 th Street

Trial By Jur Demanded

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19148
Defendant.

COMPLAINT
Plaintiff, The Steak Umm Company, LLC ("Steak Umm" or "plaintiff'), by and through
its attorneys, Stradley, Ronon, Stevens & Young, LLP, for its complaint against defendant Steak

'Em Up, Inc. ("Steak 'Em" or "defendant") alleges and states as follows:

NATURE OF THE ACTION
1. This action arses under the trademark laws of

the United States, namely,

Title 15 of

the United States Code, for infrngement ofplaintifts federal registered trademarks

STEAK UMM(l, U.S. Registration Nos. 1,033,176 (for meat products); 1,116,446 (for rolls);
and 2,375,933 (for frozen food sandwich kits) (the "Steak Umm Marks") by the defendant. This
action also arises under state common and statutory law relating to trademark infrngement and
dilution.
2. Steak Umm has continuously used the Steak Umm Marks in connection

with the advertising, promotion and commercialization of the Steak Umm meat products and rolls since at least 1977, and has continuously used the Steak Umm Marks in connection with the

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 2 of 51
-2advertising, promotion and commercialization of

the Steak Umm frozen food sandwich products

since 1998. See Exhibits A, B, and C showing the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office trademark
registration information for the three Steak Umm Marks.
3. This action is compelled by defendant's continuing and expanded use of

trademarks confsingly similar to the Steak Umm Marks, including "steak 'em up," "steak ur
up," and "steak ur," in connection with Steak 'Em's advertising and promotion of

its restaurant services, which such services include the sale of steak sandwiches, hoagies, and pizza.
4. Defendant has continued this intentional and actual infringing use of the

improper marks "steak 'em up," "steak ur up," and "steak ur" even after being put on notice of
the infngement of

the Steak Umm Marks.

THE PARTIES
5. Plaintiff Steak Umm is a limited liability company duly created and

existing under the laws of the State of Delaware, and having a principal place of business in
Reading, Pennsylvania.
6. On information and belief, defendant Steak 'Em is a corporation created
and existing under the laws of

the Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania, having a principal place of

business at 2600 South 11 th Street, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

JURISDICTION AND VENUE
7. This Cour has jurisdiction over the subject matter of

this action pursuant

to the provisions of28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1338 and 15 U.S.C. §§ 1114 through 1118, and §
1125, in that this action arises under the trademark laws of

the United States; and

8. Defendant Steak 'Em advertises and promotes its restaurant services and
commercializes its steak sandwich products to the citizens of Pennsylvania, and conducts its

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 3 of 51
-3infnging activity within Pennsylvania, as shown, for example by the Steak 'Em website, see

Exhbit D, and as shown by the results of a Google search for "steak ur up." See Exhibit E.
9.
U.S.C. § 1391.
Venue within the Eastern District of

Pennsylvania is proper under 28

PLAINTIFF'S STEAK UMM TRADEMARKS
10. Plaintiff is the owner of

United States Registration Nos. 1,033,176;

1,116,446; and 2,375,933, for the marks STEAK-UMM(l.
11. The' 176 registration was issued in February 1976, noting use of

the mark

STEAK-UMM(l since at least Februar 1975 for steak food products. A copy ofPlaintifts
'176 STEAK-UMM(l trademark registration information is attached hereto as Exhibit A.
12. Steak Umm has used its mark STEAK-UMM(l substantially continuously

in commerce throughout the United States for steak food products, as part of developing

company goodwil since at least as early as Februar 1975.
13. The '446 registration was issued in April 1979, noting use of the mark

STEAK-UMM(l since at least Januar 1977 for rolls. A copy ofPlaintifts '446 STEAKUMM(l trademark registration information is attached hereto as Exhibit B.
14. Steak Umm has used its mark STEAK-UMM(l substantially

continuously in commerce throughout the United States for rolls, as par of developing company
goodwill since at least as early as Januar 1977.
15. The '933 registration was issued in August 2000, noting use of

the mark

STEAK-UMM(l since at least August 1998 for frozen sandwich food kits. A copy ofPlaintifts
'933 STEAK-UMM(l trademark registration information is attached hereto as Exhibit C.

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 4 of 51
-416. Steak Umm has used its mark STEAK-UMM(l substantially

continuously in commerce throughout the United States for frozen sandwich food kits, as par of
developing company goodwill since at least as early as August 1998.
17. Each of

the Steak Umm Marks are all valid, continuing and incontestable.

18. Steak Umm has advertised and continues to advertise and promote its
products, including Steak-Umm(l steak sandwich meat, and Steak-Umm~ hamburgers, through
nation-wide television and radio media, and print advertising, as well as through the Internet and

its website (ww.steakumm.com).
19. Steak Umm has invested substantial creative resources, manpower, and
money in developing and maintaining the goodwill associated with the Steak Umm Marks, the
Steak Umm brand, and the Steak Umm products commercialized under the Steak Umm Marks.
20. Through such efforts, work and expenditues, Steak Umm has created and

acquired substantial and very valuable goodwil that is symbolized by the Steak Umm Marks.

21. Because of its advertising, marketing, and retail sales success, Steak U mm
has developed a substantial

level of success in the marketing and commercialization of its meat

products sold under the STEAK-UMM~ Marks, and has created a strong following of repeat
and loyal customers for such food products.

22. Because of its advertising, marketing, and retail sales success, the Steak
Umm Marks have developed a strong secondar meanng and have become distinctively

associated with the Steak Umm food products.
23 . Word of mouth advertising and promotion from customer to customer is a
vital element of

the Steak Umm brand development and the Steak Umm company goodwil.

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 5 of 51
-5-

24. The Steak Umm Marks are widely known throughout the United States

and indeed, throughout the world.
25. By way of example, Steak Umm commercializes the sandwich steak
products and hamburger products in each of

the 50 United States, and in more than 100 stores

throughout the United States. See Exhibit F.

DEFENDANT'S INFRINGING CONDUCT
26. On information and belief, and no earlier than 2006, Steak 'Em begun to

use, and is continuing to use the mark "steak 'em up" or similar varations thereof (the

"Infinging Marks") as par of its advertising, promotion, and marketing of its sandwich steak
restaurant services in Pennsylvania.
27. Such use of the Infringing Marks stared more than thirt years after Steak

Umm began using its trademark and name for steak sandwich meat.
28. Defendant is advertising and promoting its services of sellng steak

sandwiches, among other food products, through varous commercial media, including
television, radio, internet, brochures, flyers and restaurant signage.
29. An example of

the Steak 'Em restaurant menu, showing sale of steak

sandwiches, and cheese steak sandwiches by defendant, as printed from defendant's website is
shown as Exhibit G.
30. Defendant's use of

the Infringing Marks, including without limitation,

"steak 'em" or "steak 'em up" are colorably similar to Steak Umm's Marks, STEAK-UMM~.
31. The Infringing Marks sound identical to the Steak Umm Marks.

32. The Infinging Marks appear substantially identical to the Steak Umm
Marks.

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 6 of 51
-6-

33. Defendant has used and is continuing to use the Infringing Marks to

promote its sandwich steak products, which such products are essentially identical to the
sandwich steak products commercialized by Steak Umm.

34. An Internet search engine request for the terms "steak ur up," shows that
at least the top six "hits" are for "Steak Urn Up" located 2600 South 11th Street, Philadelphia. See
Exhbit E.

35. Several of

the Internet search engine "hits" show specific advertising by

Steak 'Em of its restaurant as "Steak Urn Up" located at 2600 South 11 th Street, Philadelphia.
See Exhbits H through K.

36. The confsion of

trademarks and names is apparent because defendant's

Steak 'Em Up restaurant is located at 2600 South 11th Street, Philadelphia.

37. Defendant has used and is continuing to use the infringing marks "steak

'em" and "steak ur" without the permission, consent or authorization of Steak Umm.
38. On June 11, 2009, counsel for plaintiff sent a "cease and desist" letter to
defendant Steak 'Em Up advising of Steak Umm's concern regarding the infringing use of

the

"steak 'em" and "steak ur" marks by Steak 'Em. A true and correct copy of

this letter is

attached hereto as Exhbit L.
39. In the June 11, 2009 letter, in case defendant did not know of

the Steak

Umm Marks, defendant was advised of Steak Umm's intellectual property rights and its United
States Trademark Registrations for STEAK-UMM(l, and was asked to cease fuher use of

the

infringing "steak 'em" and "steak ur" marks.

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 7 of 51
-740. Following receipt of the June 11

letter, defendant Steak 'Em has continued

to promote its sandwich steak products and restaurant under the Infringing Marks without any
change or alteration.
41. As par of

initial discussions between the paries, defendant Steak 'Em has

only proposed to refrain from radio advertising of its infinging name.
42. Defendant Steak 'Em's improper use of

the Steak Umm Marks is likely to

cause confusion, mistake, or deception of purchasers as to the affiliation, connection, association,
origin, sponsorship, or approval of

Steak 'Em's goods, services, or commercial activities.

43. Purchasers are likely to purchase defendant's goods commercialized under

the Infrnging Marks, including "steak 'em," believing that such goods, including steak

sandwiches are made using plaintifts goods or are plaintifts sandwich steak products.
44. Plaintiff Steak Umm has no control over the quality of defendant's goods

advertised or sold in association with the infrnging "steak 'em" marks.
45. If defendant Steak 'Em continues to use the infinging "steak 'em" marks,

then Steak Umm's goodwil and other intellectual property rights will be in the hands of
defendant Steak 'Em without Steak Umm's consent or approval, and Steak Umm's goodwill and
intellectual property in its brand wil be tarished and diminished.

46. Given the initial contacts and discussions with Steak 'Em, the infringing

conduct by defendant Steak 'Em is knowing, wilful and deliberate.
47. On information and belief, the infringing activity of

Steak 'Em has been

designed to take advantage of

the goodwil and products association that Steak Umm has built

over many decades through its use of its registered trademarks and common law trademarks.

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 8 of 51
-8-

TRADEMA INFRINGEMENT
(Federal Law)
48. Plaintiff

COUNT ONE

repeats and re-alleges each allegation contained in paragraphs 1

through 47 of this Complaint as if fully set forth herein.
49. The use and advertising of

"steak 'em up" or "steak 'em" or "steak ur

up," or other confusingly similar marks by defendant constitutes trademark infrngement under

the Lanam Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1114 through 1118 and causes a likelihood of confsion,
deception, and mistake.

50. Steak 'Em has adopted, used, marked, and promoted its restaurant services
using the Infrnging Marks in bad faith in an attempt to trade on plaintiffs valuable reputation

and substantial goodwil.
51. Steak 'Em's infrngement of Steak U mm' s Marks has or wil cause actual

confsion among customers, potential customers, members of the trade, and the general public.
52. Steak 'Em's acts have caused irreparable damage and injur to Steak

Umm and are likely to continue and cause irreparable injur to Steak Umm unless Steak 'Em is
enjoined and restrained by this Cour from fuher improper use of

the words "steak 'em" to

identify its restaurant services including the sale of steak sandwiches.

COUNT TWO UNFAIR COMPETITION / FALSE DESIGNATION OF ORIGIN (Federal Law)
53. Plaintiff repeats and re-alleges each allegation contained in paragraphs I

through 52 of this Complaint as if fully set forth herein.

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 9 of 51
-954. Plaintiffs federal registered trademarks have become uniquely associated

with and identified with Steak Umm and its steak sandwich and hamburger meat products.
55. Defendant Steak 'Em's use in commerce of

the trademark "steak 'em up"

and/or "steak ur up" in connection with its restaurant services including the sale of steak
sandwiches, and hamburgers constitutes a false designation of origin and a false description in representation, which falsely suggests and indicates that the Steak 'Em sandwich and hamburger
products originated from, or are affiliated with, or are endorsed, or are supplied by Steak Umm.
56. Steak 'Em's use in commerce of

the trademark "steak 'em up" and/or

"steak ur up" in connection with its restaurant services including the sale of steak sandwiches,
and hamburgers may cause damage to Steak Umm's business reputation, representation, and

goodwil.
57. Steak Umm has no abilty to control the quality of goods and services
provided, advertised, and promoted by defendant Steak 'Em, which wil irreparably har the

reputation and substantial goodwil of plaintiff Steak Umm in its Steak Umm Marks.
58. Steak 'Em's acts constitute unfair competition, false designation of origin

and are a violation of 15 U.S.C. §1125(a).
59. Steak 'Em's acts have caused irreparable damage and injur to Steak

Umm and are likely to continue and cause irreparable injur to plaintiff

unless defendant is

enjoined and restrained by this Cour from fuher use of

the words "steak 'em" and/or "steak

ur" to identify the defendant's restaurant products and services.

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 10 of 51
-10-

COUNT THREE DILUTION -- ORIGIN

(State and Federal Law)
60. Plaintiff repeats and re-alleges each allegation contained in paragraphs 1

through 59 of

this Complaint as if

fully set forth herein.

61. Plaintiffs Steak Umm Marks are famous within the United States and

within the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.
62. Defendant's prior and threatened continued use of

the Infringing Marks

causes injur to the goodwill and business reputation of Steak Umm, and impairs and diminishes
the value of

plaintiffs Steak Umm Marks that the public associates with the plaintiffs goods and

brand.

63. Defendant's intentional conduct has directly injured and diluted, and

continues to injure and dilute the distinctive quality of the Steak Umm Marks in violation of 54
Pa.Cons.Stat. § 1124.

64. Defendant's conduct has caused and wil continue to cause irreparable

har and damage to Steak Umm if defendant is not preliminarly and permanently enjoined from

such improper conduct by the Cour.
65. Without such an injunction against defendant's wrongful conduct, Steak

Umm has no adequate remedy at law.

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 11 of 51 -11-

PRAYER FOR RELIEF
WHEREFORE, plaintiff, Steak Umm demands judgment in its favor and against
defendant as follows:
A. For judgment that plaintiffs Steak Umm trademarks have been infringed by

defendant.

B. For judgment that the acts of defendant constitute unair competition.
C. For judgment that the acts of defendant constitute false designation of origin.
D. For an accounting of defendant's profits and an assessment of

plaintiff's damages

to compensate plaintiff

for the infrngement, unfair competition and/or false designation of origin

by defendant.

E. For preliminar and permanent injunctive relief against defendant, its officers,
agents, servants, employees, attorneys, successors, assigns and all other persons in active concert
or paricipation with any of them, (i) from any use of

"Steak Umm" "Steak 'Em" "Steak 'Em

Up" "Steak Urn Up" or other marks confusingly similar to plaintifts registered trademarks in
connection with any of defendant's restaurant products or services, (ii) from infringement of

plaintifts U.S. Registration Nos. 1,033,176; 1,116,446; and 2,375,933, (iii) from infringement of
plaintiffs common law trademark rights, (iv) from unfairly competing with plaintiff, and (v)
from engaging in deceptive trade practices.
F. For an Order that defendant immediately recall all advertisements, promotional

materials, and destroy any remaining inventory of such infrnging advertisements, all at
defendant's cost and expense.
G. For an assessment of

treble damages against defendant due to the deliberate,
its infringement of the trademarks of

wilful and knowing nature of

Steak Umm.

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 12 of 51
-12-

H. For an award to plaintiff of its reasonable attorneys' fees incured in bringing and
litigating this matter.

L For an award to plaintiff of its costs in this action plus interest on all monetar
damages awarded.
1. For such other and fuher relief as this Cour deems just and fair.

Respectfully submitted,

Dated: June 25, 2009

Kevin W. Goldstein (PA LD. No. 61385) Katie M. Gaughan (PA J.D. No. 91351) Stradley, Ronon, Stevens & Young, LLP 30 Valley Stream Parkway Malvern, PA 19355 (610) 640-5800 kgoldstein~stradley .com
kgaughan~stradley .com

_r~~~

Attorneys for Plaintiff The Steak Umm Company, LLC

B # 960341

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 13 of 51

EXHIBIT A

Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS) Page Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 14 of 51 1 of2

United States Patent and Trademark Offce
Home I Site Index I Search I FAQ I Glossary I Guides I Contacts I eBusiness I eBiz alerts I News

I Help

Trademarks;: Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS)

-----~-------TESS was last updated on Thu Jun 11 04:01 :28 EDT 2009

I Logout I Please logout when you are done to release system resources allocated for you.
"-Start I List At: '
: OR I Jump

I

to record: ' '

Record 11 out of 11
( Use the "Back" button of the Internet

TARR Status

ASSIGll Status

¡ TT AB Status

Browser to return to TESS)
Typed Drawing
Word Mark Goods and

Services
Mark Drawing

STEAK-UMM IC 029. US 046. G & S: MEAT PRODUCTS-NAMELY, STEAK. FIRST USE: 19750228. FIRST USE IN COMMERCE: 19750228
(1) TYPED DRAWING

Code
Serial Number

Filng Date Current Filng Basis
Original Filing

73058021 July 17,1975
1A

Basis Registration 1033176 Number Registration Date February 10,1976 Owner (REGISTRANT) GAGLIARDI BROS., INC. CORPORATION PENNSYLVANIA 700 N. FIVE
POINT ROAD WEST CHESTER PENNSYLVANIA 19380

1A

(LAST LISTED OWNER) STEAK-UMM COMPANY, LLC, THE L TD L1AB CO DELAWARE 520 CARROLL STREET READING PENNSYLVANIA 19611

Assignment Recorded
Attorney of

ASSIGNMENT RECORDED
Kevin W. Goldstein
TRADEMARK PRINCIPAL SECT 15. SECT 8 (6-YR). SECTION 8(10-YR) 20070507. 2ND RENEWAL 20070507

Record
Type of Mark

Register
Affidavit Text Renewal Live/Dead

http://tess2.uspto.gov/binlshowfeld?f=doc&state=4006 :hkcm98.2. I 1

6/11/2009

Page Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS) Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 15 of 51 2 of2

-----~-------Indicator LIVE
I.HOME I SITE INDEX

I SEARCH I eBUSINESS I HELP I PRIVACY POLICY

http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/showfeld?f=doc&state=4006:hkcm9 8.2.11

6/11/2009

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 16 of 51

EXHIBIT B

Page Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 17 of 51 1 of2 Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS)

United States Patent and Trademark Office
Home I Site Index I Search I FAQ I Glossary I Guidesl Contacts I eBusinessl eBiz alerts I News

I Help

Trademarks;: Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS)

-----~-------TESS was last updated on Thu Jun 1104:01:28 EDT 2009

¡ Lo~out I Please logout when you are done to release system resources allocated for you.
OR I Jump I to record: .

I Start I List At: .

Record 7 out of 11

TARR Status

ASSIGll Status

Typed Drawing
Word Mark

Goods and

STEAK-UMM IC 030. US 046. G & S: ROLLS. FIRST USE: 19770124. FIRST USE IN COMMERCE:

Services
Mark Drawing

19770124
(1) TYPED DRAWING

Code
Serial Number

73164926
April 3, 1978

Filing Date

Current Filng 1A Basis Original Filng 1A Basis Registration 1116446 Number Registration Date April 10, 1979 Owner (REGISTRANT) GAGLIARDI BROS., INC. CORPORATION PENNSYLVANIA 700 N. FIVE
POINT ROAD WEST CHESTER PENNSYLVANIA 19380

(LAST LISTED OWNER) The Steak-Umm Company, LLC LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY DELAWARE 520 Carroll Street Reading PENNSYLVANIA 19601

Assignment Recorded
Attorney

ASSIGNMENT RECORDED
Kevin W. Goldstein

of Record Prior Registrations

1033176
TRADEMARK PRINCIPAL SECT 15. SECT 8 (6-YR). SECTION 8(10-YR) 20080925.

Type of Mark

Register
Affidavit Text

http://tess2 . uspto.govlbinlshowfeld ?f=doc&state=4006 :hkcm98.3. 7

6/11/2009

Page Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 18 of 51 2 of2 Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS)

-----~.._-----LIVE
I.HOME I SITE INDEX

Renewal LivelDead Indicator

2ND RENEWAL 20080925

I SEARCH i eBUSINESS I HELP I PRIVACY POLICY

htt://tess2. iiSptO.gov Ibin/showfeld ?f=doc&state=4006 :hkcm98.3. 7

6/11/2009

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 19 of 51

EXHIBIT C

Page Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS) Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 20 of 51 1 of2

United States Patent and Trademark Office
Home I Site Index I Search I FAQ I Glossary I Guides I Contacts

I eBusiness I eBiz alerts I Newsl Help

Trademarks;: Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS)

ii_____miii____ ----TESS was last updated on Thu Jun 1104:01:28 EDT 2009

I Logout I Please logout when you are done to release system resources allocated for you.
I Start I List At: .

OR I Jump I to record: '

. Record 6 out of 11
( Use the "Back" button of the Internet

TARR Status

ASSIGll Status

nAB Status

Browser to return to TESS)
Typed Drawing
Word Mark Goods and

Services
Mark Drawing

STEAK-UMM IC 029. US 046. G & S: frozen foods, namely, sandwich kits consisting primarily of meat and also containing one or more of the following items - vegetables, cheese, tomato sauce, other sauces, and other sandwich ingredients sold as a unit. FIRST USE: 19980829. FIRST USE IN

COMMERCE: 19980829

Code
Serial Number
Filng Date

(1) TYPED DRAWING

75521528 July 20, 1998
1A

Current Filng Basis Original Filng Basis Published for Opposition Registration Number Registration
Date Owner

18

June 1,1999
2375933

August 8, 2000
(REGISTRANT) Steak-Umm Company, LLC, The L TD LIAS CO DELAWARE 520 CARROLL STREET READING PENNSYLVANIA 19611

Assignment Recorded
Attorney of

ASSIGNMENT RECORDED
Kevin W. Goldstein

Record Prior Registrations
Type of Mark

1033176;1116446;AND OTHERS
TRADEMARK

htt://tess2. uspto.gov/binlshowfield ?f=doc&state=4006 :hkcm98.4. 6

6/11/2009

Page Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS) Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 21 of 51 2 of2

Register
Affidavit Text Live/Dead Indicator

PRINCIPAL SECT 15. SECT 8 (6-YR).
LIVE

-----~-------I.HOME I SITE INDEXI SEARCH I eBUSINESS I HELP I PRIVACY POLICY

http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/showfeld?f=doc&state=4006 :hkcm98 .4.6
i

6/1112009

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 22 of 51

EXHIBIT D

Steak'em Up

htt://www.steakemup.com/ Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 23 of 51

~

I'laicCOlJme.n:ial Autoplav. ON

~ ~,~~e~~'~~r~E

y
HOME

y
MENU

y
HISTORY

y
LOCATIO N

y
PHOTOS

,~ '" ~
:(~~ "~\~~~i

9£_~
. WE
·

81l ..i.qn
Copyright ~ Sleak'Em Up

. WELCOME hJ OLL' ",¡'¡cLic~itG:
Best food in phiy. Check out our huge menu! Çfik.h.eIe to let us
know what you thnk.

OPEN 7 DAYS

DELIV
.',. :.:~ ¡;

ZI.5a467ai2llOO
:.~.~'.l'''.' ~.=".i"'~'l&';'""~~:-.r,,,'';,''::.ó:'~'''',,~;.,-''''''_~'_..,'_..~.' ..,-'...+.'o."V,.."i~,.::.-. h ~. ," .....\..:~. :

. BUSINESS r:e..vs 8.. ':'".isnt';i
February 26, 2009 lsßoJ9.DS on,tIP~Q!l n .s.tey~bQW .!!.3lMJ

11TH & SHUNK ~,;~... -:.",' .'::.;:.' '..: : .....:...,:..:::.. :'.. ._,.. .:...~. ,~.__~.;_,..);J! ....; ,V~.'. ,...', ..'~ or.... ", ,'.:;' r....r ,'.,;":

L1

OUR STRATEGY
i Here at Steak 'Em-Up we stre to put out the best

January 13, 2009
l:ey_ç!~ QutJ!LI;S1ixerçjal QumgJIy.ei:_ary-S.!.e-i .wm~sJ

product around. From our moutwatemg steaks,

hoagies and pizza to our Breyers ice cram
sundaes. If you're not happy then we're not

happ.

:'.-I'~ r:~ r., ~ ....':..

.)g,-.

OUR QUALITY
.¡ Our qually of food 5 to notch. Remember one
t Stak 'Em-Up we do v.t we
i thii, you get v.at you pay for. So f you want

¡ chep food then you are gong to have to ord

do bet. That's put out the best

i fr somevere else. If you want the best n
. ¡South Phi then we are your plcel

cod ii the cly at a reasoable prie.

Home I Menu I Hisory I Loatin I Photos I Contact

1 of 1

6/11/2009 11:5 AM

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 24 of 51

EXHIBIT E

Case "steak ui up" - Google Search

5:09-cv-02857-LS Documenthtt://www .google.corrsearch?h1=en&cIientrefox-a&rls=org.mozi I I... 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 25 of 51

Web ImaQes Video Maps News ShoppinQ Gmail more T

.....

wilrnarnac~gmaii.com I Web History I My Account I SiQn out

um Google "stk

up"

1;. Seã~ch -- hlvanced Search
L,~.__.--.__...... Preferences

Web Show options...

Results 1 - 10 of about 202 for "steak urn !!". (0.34 seconds)

Steak Urn Up - Philadelphia. Pennsvlvania CPA) I Company Profile .,,¡ 1i~- Jun 11

Steak Urn Up company profile in Philadelphia, PA. Our free company profile report for Steak Urn Up includes business information such as contact, ... ww.manta.comicoms2/dnbcompanyjvfjvm - Cached - Similar -' ~:.,
Steak Urn UP. Philadelphia, PA 19148 I MenuPix Philadelphia ')l w~.š

Steak Urn Up - View the menu for Steak Urn Up as well as maps, restaurant reviews for Steak Urn Up and other restaurants in Philadelphia, PA and Philadelphia. ww.menupix.comiphiladelphialrestaurants/3822826/Steak-Urn-Up-PhiladeIphia-P A Cached - Similar - .

Steak UM Up I Food Delivery I GrubHub.com ',:j 1.fl?1
View menus, reviws, and coupons for Steak UM Up in Central South Philly in Philadelphia.

Order delivery online or by phone from GrubHub.com.
www.grubhub.com/phily/steak-urn-up/ - Cached - Similar - .,,~',

Steak Urn Up - Philadelphia. PA. 19148 - Citvsearch ",: lîirxl
Apr 1. 2009 ... Steak Urn Up in Philadelphia. Come to Citysearch: to get information, directions, and reviews on Steak Urn Up and other Restaurants in ... philadelphia. citysearch. comiprofile/43691668/philadelphia -palsteak_ urn _up. html Cached - Similar - ' ,;

Steak Urn UP. Philadelphia. PA : Reviews and maps - Yahoo! Local 'it ¡1-:j)(
Steak Urn Up, Philadelphia, PA: Reviews and maps - Yahoo! Local, 215.467.2100. Get
Ratings, Reviews, Photos and more on Yahoo! LocaL.
locaL. yahoo. comiinfo-31 000627 -steak-urn-up-philadelphia - Cached - Similar - ,:';

Steak Urn UP I Steakhouse. Restaurant I Places to Eat in .. 'Ii el-iR¡
Read reviews and learn more about Steak Urn up and other Restaurant in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Travel at Disney Family.com makes vacation planning easy.. family. go.com/travellplaces-to-eat/pennsylvania/philadelphia/poi-313931-steak-um-upl -

:,.t

Cached - Similar - -

Steak Urn UP. Philadelphia. PA - Steak Urn UP. restaurants - Steak ... ';,l (î1iK
Steak Urn Up, Philadelphia, PA - Use LikeMe to get information about Steak Urn Up, restaurants, and discover Philadelphia, PA businesses and servces that are ...

lof2 6/12/200912:03 PM

"steak ur up" - Google Search Case

htt://www .google.convsearch?hl=en&c1 ient=refox-a&rls=org.mozi i i... 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 26 of 51

www.likeme.netlplaces/steak-um-up-philadelphia - Cached - Similar - ..: .

Steak Urn Up in Atlantic City - S.JerSey, NJ - AOL City Guide ':il ¡-sirg
AOL City Guide has the latest information for Steak Um Up, located in Atlantic City S.Jersey, NJ.

cityguide.aol.com/atlanticcity/business/steak-um-up/v-120741654/- Cached - SimilarSteak Urn Up in Baltimore, MD - AOL City Guide '-i ~1I( AOL City Guide has the latest information for Steak Um Up, located in Baltimore, MD. cityguide. aol.com/baltimore/busiriss/steak-um-up/v-1207 41654I?query=&area= Cached - Similar -' ,'.. More results from citVQuide.aol.com ))
Write a Review for Steak Urn Up, Philadelphia, PA.. it G~Oig.l

PHILADELPHIA Restaurants, Steak Um Up on S 11th St, Philadelphia, near Shunk St W & 11th St S, Hours of operation, photo, . Steak house . PAi philadelphiarestaurant.netlsteak-um-up?ratethisgo=1 - Cached - Similar - ":d'

1 i ~ ~ § Q Next
Personalized based on your web history. More details

æAdd a result - See all mv SearchWiki notes - See all notes for this SearchWiki - Learn more

"steak um up"

r Sea~ëh"

Search within results - language Tools - Search Helo - Dissatisfied? Helo us imorove - Try Gooale Exoerimental

Gooale Home - Advertisina Proarams - Business Solutions - Privacy - About Gooale

20f2

6/12/200912:03 PM

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 27 of 51

EXHIBIT F

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 28 of 51
Where To Find Steak-um

htt://www.steak.comlwhere.htm

Sit' I~.: r-i¡di, ! mj ,!l?-~ - ,
Steak-umm Burgers and Sliced Steaks are currently available at these stores. Simply click on one of the links to find a store

~ _!' " :, -l.llil _J~i U -~

location near you. We also
recommend calling the store to verify that they currently stock Steak-umm Burgers or Sliced

Steaks.
A&P Acme

AWl Beit Bros, B~Rile

A&P Acme Adams Afliated Foos

Bi M ~ Bigg's Bilo Byer1y's
Camella Chanatrys Comet County Market

~G Man-e New England

Dierbergs Donelan's Drug Mart Eagle Farm Fresh

Arold Bole's Associd Slores
Avanza AWl AWG ~ Bigg's BiLo

AG South A1bertsons

Farmer Foos Foo King Foo Lion Foodland Foomaster Fei

Bover's Brookshire's Bruno's ~
Carnival Foods Cash Wise Cobern's Cooke's Copps Cub D'Agastinos Dave's Demolas Dlerbergs Dilon's Dominick's Econofoods
Family Thri Cenler Farm Fresh

Fresh Pride ~ Geissler's Giat Binghaton Giant Foo
Giant PA Gorett's Grand lJeat Valu Haggen Hannaford Harris Teeter Heinen's IGA Iriles IRG Jewel Jubilee Kina Kullen Klein's Kmar lowes lunds Marc's Mars P&C Pathmark

Foo Giant Foo Lion

Foodlad Fooown-ier f!
Genuardi's Giant Eagle Giant Food

- PrieM¡æ Price Chopper Quality Rednes
Remke's Riverside Roche Bros,

Groce;t Hãaford Harris Teeter
H-E-B Heinen's Hoeland IGA Ingles Jewel Jain Foos Karns Kev Foo Kinii Kullen Kinii Soopers Kings Klein's Kroger

Giant PA Goub Grand Union

Scott's Sentr Shaw's
Shop n Baa Shop'n Save Shoppers

ShopRite Shurfne Southvi
Stop & Shop SuperFresh
Super Kmart Super One SuperValu

Laurel Groery Lowes Lunds Marc's Mars Martn's Mi Montain Olean P&C Pathma-rn Traffc Pick'n Save

Sweetbay ~ Trucchi's
Ukrop's Wakefern Weis Wino-Dixie Woodman's

Pi~1y Prairie Markel Publix

QFC Quality Rainbow Raley's Ralph's
Randalls Red Apple RMG Roche Bros. Safeway Save Mart Schnucks Scolari's Scolt's
Sentry Sha's Shop n Bag Shop'n Save Shoppers

ShopRite Smith's Sobey's (Ontari) Son's Foos Spartan
Stater Bros. Stop & Shop Sun Mart SuperFresh Super Kmart
Super One SuperValu

Super Target Sweelbay

Thrifay Tom Thumb ~
Trucchi's Tusco Ukrop's Vons

W Lee Flowers Wakefern
Waldbaum's WalMart Weis WinCo

Winn-Dixie WOodiñ'S-

lofl

6/24/2009 3:05 PM

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 29 of 51

EXHIBIT G

Case Steak'em Up - Menu - Specials

htt://www.steakemup.comlmenu 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 30 of 51

~

~ ... t;:stc t;10 diffc;n:'n::'~ STEAK'EM UP ~~

Play" CQmroe(clal

y
HOME

..
MENU

.. .
HISTORY

y
LOCATION

..
PHOTOS

TASTE THE DIFFERENCE

SPECIALS
2 Large Pizzas, One with Free Topping
Free topping does not include steak, chicken, egg plant, meatball, ncott
Plus tax & Del-ery

$12.99

3 Cheese Steaks or 3 Mixed Hoagies
Ham, turkey, Italian, tuna (pickles, peppers, cheee all exra)

$13.99
Plu tax & Del-ery

BREAKFAST. LUNCH. DINNER. ICE CREAM

Sam - i1pm
We also deliver Groceries & Lunchmeat, Daily

Hot Soup (Winter months only) OPEN Monday through Sunday

..

Please select a cat~g9iy..
ii'i~~.~ ___.~:_~___,_u_~_:.! __~i_~~_

Pries are subject to change wtout notte.

ll~
-n8~"Bc.1I ..

Home I Menu I Hisory I Locatin i Photos I Contact

Copyright (! 2008 steakemup.com

loft

6/11/2009 i i : i 6 AM

Steak'em Up - Menu - Pizz

htt://www.steakemup.com/rnenu?genre=pizz Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 31 of 51

~...;;,~..STEAK'EM- UP .', . r' .. .J- -I' t -....

PIa.y,Commeiiiai'

:, ." ... t..I-:t:. t.l. ~lf.cr"i;II..I_

y
HOME

y
MENU

y
HISTORY

y
LOCATION

y
PHOTOS

PIZZA
PLAN
TOMATO PIE

10"
$4.25
(no cheese)
Provolone, mozzarela wth gari sauce

16"
$7.95 $7.95 $8.95

$4.25

WH

$5.25 $6.25 $6.25 $6.95 $6.75 $6.95 $6.75 $6.75 $6.75 $6.75 $6.75 $6.75
$6.75 $6.75 $6.75

PIZ
RICOTrA PIE

5&ed tomato, Amerian cheese, gari sauce
provolone, mozzareDa, riott wt gari sauce

$10.95 $10.95 $13.95

ROASED PEPPER & PROSCIUlTO
VEGGIE PIE
LOADED

Provolone, mozzareJa, riott, rosted peppers freshli sied proscutto

Brocoi, owes, mushrom, onio, green pepper, tomato
Pepperoni, sausage, owes, mushrom, onion, green pepper
Grid chicken B.B.Q. sauce, mozzareBa
Grid chicken, hot sauce, mozzarela & bleu cheese

$11.95
$12.95 $12.95

B.B.Q. CHICKEN BUFFALO CHICKEN
MEAT LOVERS

$12.95
$11.95 $12.95 $11.95 $12.95
$12.95

Meatba~ sausge, pepperoni

HAWAIIAN
BACON CHEESEBURGER

Ham, piiapple mozzareBa (v.le or red)
Bacon, burger, mozzareDa cheese & gravy

SPINACHIO
CHICKEN CORDON BLEU

Amerin cheese, sked tomato & spinach
Ham, Swis cheese, bleu chese & griled chicken

CHEESE5EAK
CHICKEN CHEESESTEA

Amerin cheese, 16oz. of beef steak & gravy (pizza sauæ optioaO
Oiicn cheesestak & Amerin cheese
wlo Toppiig ; $1.5, w/Topping = $1.75

$11.95
$12.45
$1.75

PIZ BY TH SLICE

$1.25

TOPPINGS
- 16" whole $1.5 n 16" half $1.00 n 10" whole $1.5 -- 10" half $.75 -

pepperoni, sausage, ham, onions, broccli, mushrooms, olives, green peppers, spinach,
- 16" whole $4.00 -- 16" half $2.00 -- 10" whole $2.00 -- 10" half $1.00 steak, chicken, broccoli rabe, meatball, eggplant,

Pizza

View

Next:-

Home I Menu i Hisory i Locatin i Photos i Contact

Copyright (9 2008 steakemup.com

lof!

6/112009 11: 16 AM

Steakem Up - Menu - Calzones & Inide Outs Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS

htt://www.stealemup.comlmenu? Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 32 of 51 genre=calzones

Æ"~ STEAK'EM UP ~ ... t~l$tC' t~e ;jiffG:rr~I-:=I::

P.JayCoi:mercial

..
HOME

..
MENU

..
HISTORY

..
LOCATION

..
PHOTOS

CALZONES
MOZZELLA &. RICOTTA
STEA OR CHICKEN

$9.95

$12.95 $11.45

PEPPERONI
SAUSAGE
HAM

$11.45
$11.45 $11.45 $11.45 $11.45 $11.45

BROCCOLI
MUSHROOM

SPINACH
GREEN PEPPER &. ONION

INSIDE-OUTS
CHEESE &. SAUCE

$4.25
$4.95
(see piza)

STEAK, CHICKEN, MEATBALL OR RABE

ADDmONAL TOPPINGS

$.75

+:.~

~~~:~ .~.'.___...dJ . V'ew

N~&~

Home I Menu I History I lOcatbn I Photos I Contact

Copyright ~ 2008 steakemup.com

I of I

6/11/200911:17 AM

Steak'em Up - Menu - Hoagies Case

htt://www.steakemup.com/menu?genre=hoagi 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 33 of 51

es

~ ST~e~~~~J!lc

~lay_çQmroercial

..
HOME

..
MENU

..
HISTORY

..
LOCATION

..
PHOTOS

HOAGIES
CHEESE HOAGIE
MIXED CHEESE
PROSCIUTTO Be PROVOLONE

All Hoagies made with Lettce, Tomatoes, & Onions

Your choic: Amerbm, Provobne, or sws

$4.75 $5.25

Amerian, Provolone, Swis

$6.50
(Homemade)

CHICKEN SALA
HAM

$5.45 $4.95 $4.95 $4.75
$5.75

TURKEY

BOLOGNA

ROAST BEEF

CORNED BEEF
GENOA SALAMI

$5.50 $5.50
Made wö mayo

TUNA FISH
ITALIAN ADD CHEESE

$5.25 $5.25
$.75

':_li:_1!

Piza

,I yew,

NJ!~_::

Home I Menu I Hisry I Locaoon I Photos I Contct

Copyright (g 2008 steakemup.com

lof!

6/11/2009 11: 17 AM

Case Steak'em Up - Menu - Wraps

htt://www.steakemup.com/menu?genre=wraps 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 34 of 51

~" '.~..'. STEAK'EM UP . '..'~

.Gi&,l¡.'"

~lay-çomrier:ial

.'..,

,,"'

... r.;:~tci" t~C' :jiffcrc~lì::~

."
HOME

."
MENU

y
HISTORY

."
LOCATION

y
PHOTOS

WRAPS
TURKE CLUB
TUNA

All Wraps include Coleslaw, Chips, & Pickles

Lettuce, tomato, bacon, mayo
Lettuce, tomato

$5.95 $5.95 $6.95 $6.95 $6.95
$6.95 $6.95

ROAST BEEF
CHICKEN CAESAR
CHICKEN ITALIAN

lettuce, tomato, honey mustard

Romaiie lettce, croutons, sharp, caesar drssiig
\M roasted peppers, rabe, sharp
Grid chlckenwlh Romaiie lettuce, tomatoes, hot sauce & bleu cheese
Grid chicen, ham, Sw5S, bleu cheese

BUFFALO CHICKEN
CORDON BLEU

VEGGIE
. CORNED BEEF SPECIAL

Eggplant, rosted peppers, sharp, brocoi rabe

$6.95

Colelaw, 1000 islands dressing

$6.95
$6.75 $7.25

CHEE5ESTEAK

CHICKE CHEEE5TEAK
CHICKEN SALAD
RANCHO

(Homemade) Lettce, tomato
Grid chicen, bacon, lee, tomato & ranch dressing

$5.95
$6.95 $6.75

CHEESEBURGER WRAP

(2 burgers) wl lettce & tomato

,,;, Prey

Pizza

V'ew

N_eX1~

Home I Menu I History ILDcatb I Photos I Cotact

Copyright ~ 2008 steakemup.com

i of!

6/ll2009 11:18 AM

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 35 of 51

EXHIBIT H

Steak Urn Up - Plúladelphia, Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS PA, 19148 - Citysearch

Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 136 of ladel phi htt://plú ladelphia.citysearch.comfprofile/4369 668/plú 51

a -pal ste...

PHILADELPHIA. PA METRO :-

Sign In Using Facebook i Sign In I Sign Up

PHilADELPHIA by \§Citysearch
BEST OF CITY

WE'RE ALL NEWI Tell us what you think

HOME RESTAURANTS BARS & CLUBS HOTEL.S SHOPPING SPA & BEAUTY MOVIES EVENTS DIRECTORY & SERVICES
SEARCH
Near Phßadelphia, PA

Search What are you looking for?

GO Change CUy or Neighborhood
Advertise Wrth Us

Philadephia. P A Metro' Philadelpia' Resturants' Steak Un Up

(215) 467-2100 2600 S 11th 5t Philadelphia, PA 19148
Get Map & Directins.

t¡ .~ '¡" W 'i-i 1 review
Read reviews

EXPLORE PHIL.ADELPHIA

NEIGHBORHOODS
. Allegheny West

NEARBY CITIES
. Camden
. Colwyn
. Darby
. Folcroft

Neighbort: Soulh Philadephia.

Wrlle a review

. Bala Cynwyd
. Bella Vistal

Soulh Philadelphia East

Southwark

You might also like...
Meme
2201 Spruce 51

Philadelphia, PA 19103

..
Own this business? .
La updated 4.01.09

Print

Send to Share
Sponsred
T .A. Flannery's ~: -. "i ,.j.~
11 SOU1h 21st St

. Belmont

~ Ek on ticket ge'
,j:\oH'lI wi ¿-...;,

Philadelphia, PA 19103

on'fr we an .CaCl,

View the menu

OVERVIEW

USER REVIEWS(1)

MAP & DIRECTIONS

,

WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING ABOUT STEAK UM UP
USER REVIEWS

Advertisement
L.ISTS IN PHlLADEL.PHIA

Anonymous
December 14, 2007

Steak Em Up is a great business and the employee try to make your food as bet and as clean

Girls Night Out
by Tara Nurin

as they can, You can't just cook steaks on a dirty grill, Especially whe it does get really busy
read full review
See more reviews

Kid-Approved Philadelphia
by Tara Nurin

5 to Try: Summer Drinks
THE DETAILS ON STEAK UM UP
by Tara Nurln

Category: Restaurants
Payment Methods:
Visa, MasterCard

BEST OF CITYSEACH

Best Nightlife
Philaelphia

Cuisine: Steakhouse

J'", ~:'" .' . M.';-' -.'1 II'''.''''''... -:~.ll.

",- -, "", ..6.-'ir' . ~"'.
. '. ~
:: .', ".:~; . :.. :..
6/12/2009 12: 1 1 PM

..,. " .

lof3

Steak Urn Up - Philadelphia, Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS PA, 19148 - Citysearch

Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 37 of 51 htt://phi i adel phia.citysearchcomlprofile/ 43691668/pruladel prua -pa/ste..,

Cheap haircuts. Beefy hamburgers. Sexy bartenders! Discover the best finds in the city.

Best Sport Bar
Best OJtdoor Bar

Best

Best LiI.e I\sic Venue Irish Pub

Best Martni

Best Hotel Bar

view more polls & winners

RECENT REVIEWS IN PHILADELPHIA

Pub & Kitchen :''",,, ,. ""
1946 Lombar S~ Philadelphia, PA
'. La Veranda Ristorante'-", '¿'.... 3 N Columbus Blvd Pier Three,

. Philadelphia, PA

Chart House Restaurant - .., ~ ~..
555 S Columbus Blvd, Philadelphia, PA

'. AnjouRestaurant ;",,:,:..,;;
, 206-0 Marlet St, Philadelphia, PA

Advertisement

\! Citysearch
MORE PHILADELPHIA NEIGHBORHOODS
Allegheny West
Bala Cynwyd

MORE INFO

Abut Citsearch
TO DO IN PHILADELPHIA

T eni of Use
Help
U,S. Clly Guides

PHILADELPHIA SERVICES
Beauty Salons

Press Center
Privacy Poficy

Restaurants
Bars & Clubs Bars & Pubs

Best or Citysearc
CONTACT
Contact Us

Catering
Heallh & Medical Services

Bella Vistal Southwarl Belmont

Shopping
Nightclubs

Spas
Manicures & Pedicures

Careers
Advertise Wrth Us

Bridesburg
Bustleton
more

Travel
more

Community & Social Services

more

Site Feedback Merchant MyAcount

Citsearch is a registered trdemark of Bluefoot Ventures Inc" and is used under license. c¡ 2009 Citysearch.com. All rights reserved.

200

6/12/200912:11 PM

Steak Urn Up - Pruladelphia, Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS PA, 19148 - Citysearch

Document 1 ladelprua.ci tysearch.conÝprofi lei38 of 51 I adelprua -lai ste... ht://pru Filed 06/25/09 Page 43691668/pru

mOO9 MapQuest Inc. Map Data ~2009 NAVTEQ or TeleAtlas,
Partner Sites: Evite - Insider Pages - Expedia - Hotels,com - Hotwire - lendingTree - MerchantCircle - Match - Pronto - Urban spoon

3 on

6/12/200912:11 PM

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 39 of 51

EXHIBIT I

Steak Urn Up, Pluladelplua, Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document PA : Reviews and maps - Yahoo! Local

1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 40 of -steak- in up-pluladel plua htt://iocal.yahoo.com/info- 31000627 51

Yahool My Yahoo! Mail More

Make VI My Homepage

H~ Robert

Sign Out Help
WEB SEARCH

Y.AHOOr~ LOCAL
(2 ratings)

Search

Steak Um Up
(215) 467-2100
2600 S 11th SL Philadelphia, PA 19146 I Cro Streets: Near the intersetion of S 11th St and W Shunk St

~I~ ii. f.l 1://1 ....~ll I: ~ .1' ~_~=II: . :l~'D-i'"II.;
f:'. i I ~~ ViHARTCN ,I,:,!,;

io

'-~i r~:::.:--rp.ll"!l ~ : ~ENNSPORT

Share your photos of
Steak Urn Up.

::;;!H~vie~ , ~-r t:::sifdiJf~~ii_u_ .i.
'~LIIL ." i .)N~..'i-"Ve. 11'1"
¡Ul' ..". . .b..... .ul4tt~~9~inll .

,GiRARD EStfS;X' "'" f1------:

Upload no,

--_17..~'l. '--v./L- ./1I!I: .. l ':Vi~~..__ , /. 611 ,--"- ---:w'I" '. '
Business Overvew Add info
Categories: Restaurants

/r--/ ':1 .' ,----., i ¡;~~~-_. ,

.,.,~ 9 ~'.:r MAR'-'.f/.

r-. ii!

,!

Kno more details about this business? Click here to share them with your neighbors.
Be the f~st on your block to write a review of this business.
Rate

_~'~-'1Ti.;t:ir;,L~~~ONA

it

Write a Review

Not sure v. to say? Take a look at Oll Revi Guidelnes

befor you bein.
, Remrr these review tips

Write as II you're tellng a friend abo

,.
;

U_"_~~:ris~N! "m,,,.
Ads by Act; Stuent gaine 10 lbs, of muscle by obeyin this one rule. .

Learn more '

. YOl e:irience.

Wrile fairly abo th busines or sece

(dont incke pesonainloron abo
the ..r or eslblishmenl). Do no us profarty

..'.

. ~'.';, '
.'1' ,,:

Do teeh whieners work? You'U : be shoked at what we foundl Learn more

lIi ~~. .,',,~

-'

learn how a stay-aI-home mom:

,"
L__,______
You Might

cur her wrinkles for les than :
$10 Learn more

4000 characters left (Iirrt4000 characters)

About R..ew: Yahool rese""s th right to reus or
, rer.. any reew that do not corr ,

~

You will be seen as:

, Yoth th Glldeines or the Yahoo! Term or SeNce an lerrnate your Yaiool

Also like

b",~j Robert M
Change Im . Change Name

accout (Incli!ng emlJ) lor a violaton,
Yahoolls no resnsble or iable In any VM for ratings and r..ew posted by its users.
Learn nie abt relÂew Reoort mlssina information

Reading Terminal Market N 12th St & Arch SI, Philadelphia, PA
Saad's Halal Place 4500 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA
la Viola

An Update about your revi wil be shared via Yahoo! Updates

Manage who sees your Updates

253 S 16th St, Philadelphia. PA

. , Get comments on your revis by email. Learn More

John's Roast Pork 14 Snyder Ave, Philadelphia, PA

lombardls Speclatties Hogies
1226 W Ritner St, Philadelphia, PA
CATEGORY SPONSORS

Restaurant Menu
ww.Dominos.com - Pizz, Breadsticks, Wings, Drinks & More Now Available. Order Online.

More Serch Options
Search the web for Steak Urn Up in

Italian Restaurants ww.seamlessweb.com-Orderltalianfoodfromlolrestaurantsonline.ll.s fast and easy.
Restaurant Menus
ww.GrubHub.comJPhiladelchla - Browse restaurants that deüver. Order online or by phone.
See your message here
Philadelphia City Glide ~ Foo & Dining' Reslaurants ~ All Resurants ~ Steak Um Up

Philadelphia, PA

Reviews of Philadelphia Restaurants on

Yelp,com

lof2

6/12/200912:11 PM

Steak Urn Up, Philadelphia, Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document PA : Reviews and maps - Yahoo! Local

1 Filed 06/25/09 Page i41 of 51 htt://local.yahoo.comlinfo- 3 000627-steak-um up-philadelphia

Some busines information pro\ided by !no-l.SA~, Omha, Neras Copyright (120, Some busnes information pro'ded by ',!;i-ie§ & Plsç.o!o(Q!~tCOI1 Copyright (120, All rlghls reserv
Copyright C 200 Yahoo! Inc, AU rights resrw, C9PligbJf' ~o!içy' Er~y P9li,cy I Ie(!l"La-tS-,i(\otc.e I Md(Edit,a, El~S¡Qes I yai:! MaRs, T!lH!lLofUs Il:lp IlIditi,al1 J:eo:.~t~¡\ce

2of2

6/12/2009 i 2: i i PM

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 42 of 51

EXHIBIT J

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Steak OM Up i Food Delivery I GrubHub.com

Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 htt://www.grubhub.comlphi i Iy/steak-um upl Page 43 of 51

1..QS~,~"~9~1 J

Adl'' Reslaurant : Map

~ DISCOVER WHO DELIVERS

~ GrubHub.com
ø My MENUDRAWER Qi
There are 119 restaurants delivering near this restaurant

i Enter your street address

i nl 19148

i.
Food Op-llverv iD Phlladel nhla Fond Delivery :t Steak UM Up

ONLY SHOW RESTAURANTS THAT...

L: Are delivering now
r: Allow online orders

i:1 Accept credit cards
i. Have coupons

Serve I Ar Cuisine

U Don't use delivery services (1)

Key Pi & Gri
Pizz, Sandwiches...

215-551-7111

Steak UM Up

215-467-2100
2600 S nth St, Phildelphia, PA

Stea UM Up
Pizza, Sandwiches...

215-467-2100

t
Info Order Online

Reviews

Stdium Pi & Grill
Pizz, Sandwiches...

215-755-5411

Menu
Pizza, Sadwches, Italian, America, Healthy, Saads, Subs ,
Wraps, Ice Cream, Wings, Hamburgers, Hoagies
,-..~'-,-~-,_.. --~~ ,.-..~.~,.-'-- _.~ -~~~.._~. -~.- -'-~'-_, "'._-'-".
~ ,

Criti Pizeria & Resurant
Italian
215-465-7750
.... n______. ,

Raph & Rickey's Pi
Piz, Sandwiches..

;

!

Brekfst,

~
r:.""
.;'....1

E
Strboli
Calzii
Pi2,

Appeti
Salads

Plaite
Sandwiehe

IJ

8t.~ ~ l:c "

'"

Hoagies.

215-271-6622

Sandwicles Roger

Milie's Luncheonete
Sandwiches, Brealdast...

.;:; ;; (jr-:.
Exs, Ice

215-467-8553
QQ Chinese Restaurant

-~--"--'-------' .._._----_..__.._~ -_...~_._~.- -._.._.... -_."-_.._-.." ".- .

Asian, Chinese 215-463-1698

(~~)

Crm, Specia

Piza Shack
Pizz, Sandwiches...

Delivery Fee Fre
Delivery Hours
SUN 8:00 am - 11:00 pm MON 8:00 am - 11:00 pm TUE 8:00 am - 11:00 pm WED 8:00 am - 11:00 pm THU 8:00 am - 11:00 pm FRI 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
SA T 8:00 am - 11:00 pm

215-463-3455

Gianfranco Pizza Rustica
Pizz, Sandwiches...

215-551-2300

lof2

6/12/200912:11 PM

Steak UM Up I Food Delivery I GrubHub.com Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS

Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 ht://ww.grbhub.comlphi Ily/steak- ur up/ Page 44 of 51

Golden Szechuan Resturat
Asian, Chinese... 215-336-5310

Taqueri La Esperana 1,IYOrk I Philadel phia I
Mexican

,u-",¡Chicago I San Francisco I Boston I Washington DC '1 I New

I bOr
.J I Gift Cards I Tell a Friend

¡About ~Sd I Bloa! I ~~n~act I ll--I-~re~ I L~~al & priva~ I care~r: I Advertise I Green

-~ekgw~~_~~-551_51~~__'-'--1¡
Asian, Chinese

215-339-8300 ¡
i

Is-A-bella Piza
Pizz, Sandwiches...

215-551-1212

Mal'ra's

Starts Delivery 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM Ceebre Piera
Pizza, Sandwiches

215-467-3255

Orenta Chinese Restaurant
Asian, Chines...

215-463-9222

Barel's Fie Food
Sandwiches, American... 215-389-6010

El Zarape
Mexican 215-336-1293

J C Chinese Retaurant
Asian, Chinese... 215-334-1056

Mr Wong's Chinese Restaurat
Asian, Chinese...

~

i i

215-339-8004

'4 PREY 20

81-100 of 119 MOO 10"

20f2

6/12/200912:1 I PM

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 45 of 51

EXHIBIT K

Steak Ur up I Steakhouse, Restaurant I Places to Eat in Philadelphia, Penn... Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Documenthtt://family.go.comltravellplaces-to-eatlpennylvania/phi ladelphia/poi _... 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 46 of 51

,!ll ,illl

~~I;!~~~j0i~;.
".' -i ;:1.. ! .1.. t::(: Iili: 0 r&¡. m fZ'~ !:i:ii,i.i
IUI) _ ¡ T~;;XII;J. I
I:.! -i i
please login

Disney Family.com Home food parenting travel games coupons community video

Login Reiste
Search:
Family Vacations

Travel Deals

Travel Tips

Video

Family Travelers

My Wishlist

Family.com Family Tra'l Family Vacatons Pennslvia Philadelphia Vacation Pla to Eai Stek Um l.

Se to a Frien I Boork

Steak Urn up
Se Philadelphia, Pennsylvnia family vaation
.:..~ni!:~mi!nr

Steak Urn up
South Philly

Goo-for-Kids Rating

. Sleakhouse
. Restauranl

Ba

26005 11th 51 Philadelphia, PA 19146

Toder & Pre-K

SchooAg Kid
Pre-Tees & Tees

215-47-2100

Raie It i Add yOU Reew

What's Nearby?

1 Caring People Alliance Fels . Rereaon Cente

2 Philadelphia Phlliles

. Staum

3 . Sladium Philles

i of2

6/12/2009 12: 12 PM

Case I Places to Eat in Philadelphia, Penn... Steak Urn up I Steakouse, Restauran 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 47 of 51 htt://fam Iy.go.comitravel/places- to-eatlpennylvania/philadelphia/poi-...

20f2

6/12/2009 12: 12 PM

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 48 of 51

EXHIBIT L

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 49 -~./.. ,Zf. - q-;:): l~ of 51

I~ATTORNEYS AT LAW

.RONON
Kevin W. Goldstein
K Goldstein(itradley .com
6 i 0-640-58 I 0

STRDLEY

Strey Ronan Steven & Youg, LLP

Grear Valey Corprate Center
30 Valey Strea Parkway
Malvern, PA 19355-1481

Telephone (610) 640-580
Fa (610) 640-1965

ww.sirdley.com

June 11, 2009

Via email

and Federal Express
Mr. Michael Lane President Steak Um Up Steak Em Up 2600 South 11 th Street Philadelphia, PA 19148
Re: The Steak Umm Company, LLC Intellectual Propert Rights; Registered U.S. Trademarks STEAK-UMMiI

Dear Mr. Lane:

We have been retaned by The Steak Umm Company, LLC ("Steak Umm") to advise Steak Umm's various intellectual property rights, and to more specifically advise you of your company's violation of those Steak Umm rights.
you of

Steak Umm owns and extensively uses several federal registered trademarks for the mark STEAK-UMMiI (U.S. Registration Nos. 1,033,176; 1,116,446; and 2,375,933) (the "Steak Umm Marks") each used as part of the Steak Umm business operations. More paricularly, the Steak Umm Marks have been used in connection with the commercialization
of Steak Umm' s steak products, sandwich steak products, and sandwich rolls since at least
1975. You surely know of these facts based upon your vantage point as operating a food business in the Philadelphia, Pennsylvania region.

Indeed, the STEAK UMMiI marks and brand have been used extensively in the Philadelphia region, and indeed thoughout the entire United States, for the sale of steak products and sandwich steak products for at least 30 years. As par of such use, Steak Umm

Philadelphia, PA · Harriburg, PA · Mavern, PA · Cherry Hil, NJ · Trenton, NJ · Wilmington, DE . Washington, DC

..

A I'lvu. UIl Libilty PartenbJp

ii MERITAS LAW FIRMS WORLDWIDE

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 50 of 51
Mr. Michael Lane June i i, 2009
Page 2

has invested a considerable amount of time and money towards the publicity and the marketing
of its brand, its marks, and its company name, all towards the creation and building of the goodwil associated with the Steak Umm Marks and STEAK UMM~ products. Through such use, marketing and publicity, the Steak Umm Marks are well-known, are unquestionably famous, and have achieved a level of distinction and fame, especially in the Philadelphia region, reserved for very few brands and trademarks.

the great effort which has been made by our client in building its nghts in the Steak Umm Marks and the relating branding, along with the substantial goodwill and value associated with this intellectual property, the STEAK UMMQD trademarks and name have become an important and valued asset of Steak Umm. Steak Umm zealously guards those intellectual property nghts, including the trademark rights, against encroachment, infingement, improper usage, and unfair competition.
In view of We, and our client, have noted your and your company's use of the marks and names "STEAK UM UP" and "STEAK EM UP" as a restaurant name and mark for serving, among other products, steak sandwich products. These names are without doubt confusingly similar to these marks are a direct infingement of the Steak Umm Marks. This misuse by you of our client's intellectul property is actionable at least as trademark infringement, and false designation of affliation or sponsorship under federal law. the Steak Umm Marks. As such, the use of Furer, given the famous nature of

the STEAK UMMQD marks, federal and state dilution

claims are also at issue. If such findings of trademark infringement are found to have been undertaken intentionally by you and your company, such a finding could result in treble damages and attorneys' fees being assessed against you based upon ajudicial enforcement of
these claims.

On behalf of our client, we advise that you and your company must take immediate steps to discontinue use of any and all improper advertising and references using any names, marks or brands which are confusingly similar to the Steak Umm Marks. Such improper use includes, without limitation, any use of the "STEAK UM UP" and "STEAK EM UP" names and marks in any written, electronic, or verbal media, including any websites, any radio and television commercials and advertsing, and any and all menus, brochures, and flyers.
You must contact the undersigned before 12:00 noon on Friday. June 12,2009 to

the issues raised in this letter, and to provide us with written assurance that you have taken immediate steps to comply fully with the above demands. If do not contact us by 12:00 noon on Friday. June 12.2009, we will
acknowledge receipt of this letter and your understanding of

advise our client to undertake any and all alternative means to protect its famous intellectual property rights.

Case 5:09-cv-02857-LS Document 1 Filed 06/25/09 Page 51 of 51
Mr. Michael Lane June i i, 2009
Page 3

We strongly recommend that you immediately provide a copy of counsel to advise you accordingly about the implications and risks of

this letter to your legal

your and your company's

infringing conduct.

KWG/je
cc: The Steak Umm Company, LLC

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful