You are on page 1of 2

1836 – Texas Revolution president Free Soil Party: “third party” in 

1837 – “Gag rule” in Congress 1857 – Dred Scott v.  Sandford election of 1848, supported idea of 

1841 – John Tyler elected 10th president          ­­ Lecompton Constitution popular sovereignty and wished to keep 
1842 – Webster­Ashburton Treaty 1859 – John Brown’s raid on Harper’s  slavery out of western territories
         ­­ Commonweatlh v. Hunt Ferry
1844 – James K. Polk elected 11th  1860 – Abraham Lincoln elected 16th  Compromise of 1850: created by Henry 
president  president Clay ­ (1) California entered as free 
         ­­ Oregon Dispute state, (2) popular sovereignty would be 
1845 – Texas annexed The Oregon Territory: Britain and  applied to New Mexico and Utah, (3) 
1846 – Oregon settlement United States worked out compromise  slave trade banned in nation’s capital, 
         ­­ Wilmot Proviso with treaty that gave United States  (4) Congress had no power to end 
1846­48 – Mexican War rights to land south of 49th parallel and  interstate slave trade, (5) strengthened 
1848 – Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo Britain the land north  Fugitive Slave Law, (6) settled border 
         ­­ Seneca Falls Convention dispute between New Mexico and Texas
         ­­ Zachary Taylor elected 12th  The Treaty of Guadalupe­Hidalgo: 
president  provided that the regions of Mexico  Kansas­Nebraska Act: repealed 
1849 – California Gold Rush (including New Mexico and California)  Missouri Compromise, stated each new 
1850 – Compromise of 1850 were ceded to the United States, Rio  state created from territory of Louisiana 
1851 – Maine banned manufacture *  Grande was fixed as southern boundary  Purchase would decide whether to be 
sale of alcohol of Texas  free or slave
1852 – Franklin Pierce elected 13th 
president Wilmot Proviso: no slavery in any  Dred Scott Case: Supreme Court 
1853 – Gadsden Purchase territory acquired from Mexico  decided that slaves were property that 
1854 – Republican Party concessions could be taken anywhere and that the 
         ­­ Kansas­Nebraska Act Missouri Compromise was 
1856 – James Buchanan elected 15th  unconstitutional