Moderation  Tools  Cheat  Sheet  

Archive:
Does not send a moderation notification email to the topic author A message is posted at the top of the page indicating that the topic has been archived Contributions can still be made to the topic Users who are following the topic (whether implicitly or explicitly) will still receive notifications of new replies Prevents topic from showing up in community search results and from being indexed by search engines. Prevents topic from showing up in the Highlights view of the community home page Prevents topic from showing up in the All Topics view of the community Removes topic from the Recent Activity view of the community home page Prevents topic from bumping to the top of the Recent Activity view new actions are taken on the topic Prevents the topic from showing up in the Management View Action is logged in the Change log with the reason given by the Moderator Can be undone

Merge:
-

-

-

Sends a moderation notification email to the topic author with a link to the “authoritative” topic. Includes the Moderator’s reason for merging. Moderator can opt to add the topic title & description as a reply to the “authoritative” topic o This will be treated like a reply and will send a notification to all followers of the authoritative topic o “Votes” from merged topic will be added to “votes” on authoritative topic Topic disappears if there were no replies Topic remains if there were replies but includes a note at the top indicating it’s been merged with a link to the authoritative topic o Best practice is to archive after merging Author still receives notifications if a new reply is added to merged topic Action is logged in the Change log (but Moderator’s reason is not posted) Can not merge into a Closed topic Can NOT be undone. Not by anyone. Really. Moderator has to click a verification button before action is final.

Redirect:
-

Does not send a moderation notification email to the topic author A message is posted at the top of the page indicating that the topic has been redirected and including a link to the new URL In all other ways this continues to behave like a normal topic Action is logged in the Change log with the reason given by the Moderator Can be undone Note: this feature is generally useful if you want to point customer to an external source or if you think it’s similar to another topic but you’re not certain enough to merge them.

7/20/2011 v1.0

Close:
-

Does not send a moderation notification email to the topic author Moderator can opt to add the topic title & description A message is posted at the top of the page Replies and Comments can no longer be added to the topic Tags can no longer be added to the topic Other topics can not be merged into Closed topics Users can still +1 (vote on) the topic Users can still star any replies that were on the topic before it was closed Product associations can still be added to the topic Topic is still indexed by GS search and external search engines Topic is still viewable in the community Action is logged in the Change log Action can be undone

Move:
-

Sends a moderation notification email to the topic author with a link to the new topic location Sends a New Topic notification to the employees of the community the topic was moved into Action is logged in the Change log Can not be moved into private communities Can NOT be undone. Moderator has to click a verification button before action is final. (Super Admins can reverse this by moving the topic again)

Remove:
-

Sends a moderation notification email to the topic author. Includes Moderator’s reason for removal. Moderator chooses a drop-down reason for removal and can add an additional explanation. Topic no longer shows up in community and is closed to further activity Topic no longer indexed by GS search or search engines Topic does not show up in Management View Action is logged in the Change log with the reason given by the Moderator Can be undone

Reply Removal:
-

Sends a moderation notification email to the reply author. Includes Moderator’s reason for removal. Note is left in place in the topic thread indicating the reply was removed. Action is logged in the Change log with the reason given by the Moderator Can be undone

7/20/2011 v1.0

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful