You are on page 1of 2

Hannah Cheng Hcheng6@ucsc.

edu (408) 823-7668 June 10, 2012 Dear Profesor Bhalla, I am starting my third year at the University of California, Santa Cruz. I have a declared major in Psychology and minor in Education. I was on the premed path, but realized, during my 2nd year, that medicine wasn’t my passion; teaching was. I saw this lab assistant listing (#4920) on the UCSC employee request system and I am more than interested in this position. I would love an opportunity to participate with and assist you in your lab. I may not be a MCD major, but I have experience in working in psychology research for Professor Dom Massaro. I have worked with Dom Massaro in UCSC’s psychology department. I helped his research on how we can help children as young as infants learn how to read and speak faster. Not only was I assisting his research, I was one of his office assistants. I organized books in his library, worked in databases, and revised information and books in his folders for him to input them into his systems. Most of the time, I worked alone. But I was part of a team of 5 associates. I have taken chemistry, chemistry lab, and biology courses. So I am familiar with the chemistry labs on campus and what equipment is used for what. I believe I am qualified to assist in anyway, and if not, I am a quick learner that can accomplish anything. I have also enclosed my resume on the next page, which provides additional information about my past and current work experiences. I really hope I get the opportunity to meet with you to discuss how my education and experiences would benefit your needs. If you have any questions, please feel free to email at hcheng6@ucsc.edu or to call my cell phone at (408) 823-7668. Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely, Hannah Cheng

HANNAH CHENG
OVERVIEW

2nd year at the University of California, Santa Cruz. I have extensive experience in teaching and administrative assisting. In previous work, I have worked with people as a team leader, and with kids as an instructor. My objective is to pursue a career, which I would also enjoy. I have a major in Psychology, and minor in education. My main aspiration is to become a high school teacher, and then eventually work in healthcare.
KEY STRENGTHS

    
EDUCATION

Two years of experience in teaching and customer service. Excellent ability to work with people of all ages. Excellent teamwork. Strong leadership qualities. Strong will to help others.

[ 2006 – 2010 ]

Milpitas High School

GRADUATED WITH HONORS

[ 2010 – Present ] University of California, Santa Cruz
MAJOR: PSYCHOLOGY MINOR: EDUCATION

EXPERIENCE

[Mar 2012 – Present] Lab/ office assistant UCSC Professor Dom Massaro  Acquire and proofread children’s books and enter text into applications.  Find articles, and adjust text documents  Assist Professor Massaro in approving his research [Sept 2011 - Present] American Medical Student Association  Active AMSA member. Medical education is our main purpose, but volunteering and participating in community service are monthly activities. [Jun 2011- Present] Santa Clara Valley Medical Center, Santa Clara CA   Volunteer Cashier at the hospital gift shop.

[Jun 2011 - Present] Piano teacher, Milpitas CA [Sept 2010 - Present] President of UCSC Wushu Club  UCSC’s first wushu team. I teach members martial arts and train for competitions nation and statewide.
[Jun 2008 – Sept 2010] California Wushu Academy, Fremont CA

  

Instructor of martial arts for ages 4-12 Products imputer Administrative assistant

[Jun 2008 – Sept 2010 Summers] Samsung Semi-Conductor, South SF CA