02/10/2008

NSF 00119 NIRT Awards

#

Prop Id

Institution Name

PI Name E-mail Tel.

Proposal Title

(key words)

Awards with focus on Biosystems
1 2 3 4 5 0103447 0103473 0103174 0102662 0103002 Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Univ. Joseph Lyding of j-lyding@casper.beckman.uiuc.edu (217) 333-8370 Angela Belcher Texas - Austin, Univ. of belcher@mail.utexas.edu (512) 471-1154 Rice University Vicki Colvin colvin@rice.edu (713) 348-5741 California-Davis, Univ. of Ian Kennedy imkennedy@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-2796 Nadrian Seeman New York University ned.seeman@nyu.edu (212) 998-8395 Protein Logic Biologically Based Assemblies of Electronic Materials at the Nanoscale; Improving on Nature Protein Crystals: New Templates for the Construction of Nanostructured Solids Application of Quantum Dots to Environmental and Cell Biology DNA-Based Nanomechanical Devices

Awards with focus on Structures and Phenomena: Mechanical and Chemical Processing (a)
6 7 8 9 10 11 12 0103516 0103585 0103169 0103409 0103562 0103024 0103010 California - Santa Barbara, Univ. Matthew Tirrell of tirrell@engineering.ucsb.edu (805) 893-3141 Pennsylvania State Univ. Henry Foley hankfoley@engr.psu.edu (814) 865-2574 Minnesota, University of Steven Girschick slg@tc.umn.edu (612) 625-5315 David Johnson Rice University davej@oregon.uoregon.edu (541) 346-4612 California - Los Angeles, Univ. of Chang-Jin Kim cjkim@seas.ucla.edu (310) 825-0267 Massachusetts-Amherst, Univ. of Mark Tuominen tuominen@physics.umass.edu (413) 545-1944 Massachusetts-Amherst, Univ. of Peter Monson monson@ecs.umass.edu (413) 545-0661 Creating Functional Nano-Environments by Controlled Self-Assembly Control of Nanostructures via Metal-Carbon Interactions over Multiple Length Scale via Metal and Metal Carbide Nanojunctions and Nanowelds Superhard Nanostructured Films Synthesis of and Structure-Function Relationships in Heterostructures of Quasi-2D Materials NanoTurf and NanoPebbles: Toward Zero Flow Friction Surfaces Copolymer Templates: A Self-Assembling Route to High-Density Arrays of Functional Nanostructures An Interdisciplinary Approach to Understanding the Growth of Nanoporous Materials

Page 1 of 16

02/10/2008

NSF 00119 NIRT Awards

13 14 15

0102964 0103135 0103559

Alexei Efros efros@physics.utah.edu (801) 585-5018 South Carolina-Columbia, Univ. Harry Ploehn of ploehn@engr.sc.edu (803) 777-7307 California-Los Angeles, Univ. of James Stoddard stoddart@chem.ucla.edu (310) 206-7078

Utah, University of

Nanoscale Metalic Photonic Crystals; Fabrication, Physical Properties, and Applications Dendrimer-Stabilized Nanoparticles for Next-Generation Catalysts Artificial Molecular Machines and Devices

Awards with focus on Structures and Phenomena: Electronic, Magnetic and Optoelectronic (b)
16 17 18 19 20 21 22 0103248 0103034 0103009 0103068 0103455 0103302 0103354 Ohio State University Ohio University Washington, Univ. of Pennsylvania State U Texas A&M University Washington University Pennsylvania State U Paul Berger pberger@ieee.org (614) 247-6235 Victoria Soghomonian soghomon@helios.phy.ohiou.edu (740) 597-2528 Larry Dalton dalton@chem.washington.edu (206) 543-1686 Joan Redwing jmr31@psu.edu (814) 865-8665 Donald Naugle naugle@physics.tamu.edu (979) 845-4429 Jia Lu jgl@ee.wustl.edu (314) 935-4896 Darrell Schlom schlom@ems.psu.edu (814) 863-8579 Self-Aligned and Self-Limited Quantum Dot Nanoswitches Zeolitic Materials for Nanoscale Electronics and Quantum Computation Nanostructured Optoelectronic Materials: New Concepts in Theoretical Design, Synthesis, and Processing Semiconductor Nanowires: Building Blocks for Nanoscale Electronics Molecular Nanomagnets: Magnetic and Electronic Properties of Novel Magnetic Nanostructures and Nanostructured Materials Collaborative Research: Spin Transport and Dynamics in Nanoscale Hybrid-Structures Artificially Engineered Nanoscale Ferroelectrics

Awards with focus on Structures and Phenomena: Single Molecule (c)
23 0102950 Univ. of MD College Park Michael Fuhrer mfuhrer@physics.umd.edu (301) 405-6143 Michael Roukes roukes@caltech.edu (626) 395-2916 Virgil Percec percec@mail.sas.upenn.edu (215) 573-5527 Dynamics of Structure and Charge at the Molecular Scale

24

0103552

California Inst. Of Tech.

Single-Molecule Electrical Transport: Collaborative Nanoscale Research Bridging Chemistry & Physics Single Molecule Functional Nanostructures

25

0102459

Univ. of Pennsylvania

Page 2 of 16

02/10/2008

NSF 00119 NIRT Awards

26

0103290

New York University

Andrew Kent andy.kent@nyu.edu (212) 998-7773

Quantum Effects in Single Molecule Magnets

Awards with focus on Devices and System Architectures
27 0103175 Arizona State University Stuart Lindsay stuart.lindsay@asu.edu (480) 965-4691 Nanoscale Molecular Opto-Electronics

28 29

0103082 0103307

Carnegie Mellon Univ.

Mehdi Asheghi masheghi@andrew.cmu.edu (412) 268-2000 North Carolina Chapel Hill, Univ. Sergei Sheiko of sergei@email.unc.edu (919) 843-5270 Cornell University Christopher Ober cober@msc.cornell.edu (607) 255-8417 Arunava Majumdar majumdar@newton.berkeley.edu (510) 643-8199 Kathryn Moler kmoler@leland.stanford.edu (650) 723-6804 Dennis Deppe deppe@mail.utexas.edu (512) 471-4960 Weili Luo Luo@pegasus.cc.ucf.edu (407) 823-5855 Harry Atwater haa@daedalus.caltech.edu (626) 395-2197 Konstantin Likharev klikharev@notes.cc.sunysb.edu (631) 632-8159

Phonon Transport in Nanostructures with Application to Ultrathin Silicon-onInsulator (SOI) Transistors Molecular Brushes as Components for Nanomechanical Devices

30

0103297

On-Chip Molecular Scale Patterning and Assemblies

31

0103609

California-Berkeley, Univ. of

Novel Energy Conversion Devices Based on Nanowire Heterostructures

32 33 34

0103548 0103134 0103587

Stanford University Texas, Austin, Univ. of Central Florida, Univ.

Integration of Carbon Nanotubes, Magnetic Nanocrystals, and Silicon Microstructures for Ultra-High-Resolution Magnetic Force Microscopy Photonic Crystal Laser Technology Based on Nanostructured Active Material Self-Assembly of Magnetic Nanostructures and Related Enabling Technologies

35

0103543

California Inst. Of Tech.

Engineered Nanoparticle Electronic and Photonic Device Materials

36

0103059

SUNY Stony Brook

Nanoscale Single-Electron Switching Arrays for Self-Evolving Neuromorphic Networks (Partial NIRT award)

Page 3 of 16

02/10/2008

NSF 00119 NIRT Awards

Awards with focus on Environment
37 38a 38b 0103053 0123967 0123998 VA Polytechnic Inst & St U California-Berkeley, Univ. of California-Davis, Univ. of Michael Hochella hochella@vt.edu (540) 231-6227 Jillian Banfield jill@seismo.berkeley.edu (510) 642-9488 Alexandra Navrotsky anavrotsky@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-3292 Peter Cummings ptc@utk.edu (865) 974-0227 Moira Ridley moira.ridley@ttu.edu (806) 742-0627 Nanoscale Processes in the Environment: Nanobiogeochemistry of Microbe/Mineral Interactions NIRT Collaborative Research: Surface Reactivity of Nanocrystalline Oxides and Oxyhdroxides: Implications for Processes in the Environment NIRT Collaborative Research: Surface Reactivity of Nanocrystalline Oxides and Oxyhdroxides: Implications for Processes in the Environment NIRT Collaborative Research: Surface Reactivity of Nanocrystalline Oxides and Oxyhdroxides: Implications for Processes in the Environment NIRT Collaborative Research: Surface Reactivity of Nanocrystalline Oxides and Oxyhdroxides: Implications for Processes in the Environment

38c 38b

0124036 0124001

Tennessee-Knoxville, Univ. of Texas Tech U

Awards with focus on Theory, Modeling and Simulation
39 0103003 Duke University Harold Baranger baranger@phy.duke.edu (919) 660-2598 Randall Snurr snurr@northwestern.edu (847) 467-2977 Peter Cummings ptc@utk.edu (865) 974-0227 Peter Voorhees p-voorhees@nwu.edu (847) 491-7815 Guanshui Xu gxu@engr.ucr.edu (909) 787-2497 Mark Robbins mr@pha.jhu.edu (410) 516-7204 Coherence and Correlation in Electronic Nanostructures

40 41

0102612 0103399

Northwestern University Tennessee Knoxville, Univ. of

Design of Nanoporous Molecular Square Catalysts using Multiscale Modeling Multiscale Simulation of the Synthesis, Assembly and Properties of Nanostructured Organic/Inorganic Hybrid Materials The Evolution and Self-Assembly of Quantum Dots

42

0102794

Northwestern University

43

0103257

California-Riverside, Univ.

Mechanism-Based Modeling and Simulation in Nanomechanics

44

0103408

Johns Hopkins Univ.

Multiscale Modeling and Simulation of Adhesion, Nanotribology and Nanofluidics

Page 4 of 16

Propos al Title

Rankin Institut g ( # of ion (key 37) Prop Id Name PI Last Name Name Mnth Pi Frst words)
34 1 5 1/5 9811064 Virginia Bean Main Campus, Universit y of John Program med SelfAssembl y for Electroni c, Chemical and Biologica l Applicati ons Steven Selfassembli ng Nanostru ctures from An Expande d Genetic Informati on System (AEGIS) 36 36

16

1

5

1/5

9871880 Florida, Benner Universit y of

1

5

1/5

9834603 Tufts Goldberg Universit y School of Medicine / Harvard Universit y

36 Biomime tic carpentry of selfassembli ng functiona l protein nanostruc tures based on phage tail fibers David Hierarchi cally Ordered Nanopor ousMacropor ous Materials 36

9

1

5

1/5

9871970 Californi a-Santa Barbara, Univ. of

Pine

19

1

5

1/5

9871782 Massach usetts Amherst, Univ. of

TuominenMark Function al Nanostru ctures Based On Polymeri c Template s Shaw Montgomery Nanopha se Effects in Semicryst alline Polymers

36

13

6

6

9871965

Connecti cut, Universit y of

36

27

7

7

9871470 Polytech nic Universit y of New York

Ulman

Abraham Controlle d Engineeri ng of Nanopart icle Superlati ces by Function al SelfAssembl y SelfAssembl y Wiley Novel Supramol ecular Nanostru ctures

36

2

8

8

9834601 Akron, Youngs Universit y of

36

4

9

9

9871994 Baylor Brownell William College Computat of ional Medicine Modeling and Measure ment of Electroosmosis 9871842 Cincinnat i, Universit y of Beaucage Gregory Reinforce ment in Elastome rs by Function al Nanostructure d Powders

36

12

10

10

36

10

11

12

11/12

9871749 Californi a-Santa Cruz, Universit y of

Carter

Sue Develop ment and Character ization of Nanopart icle/Poly mer Composit e Materials and Photonics Devices

36

22

11

12

11/12

9834612 Michigan State Universit y

Pinnavaia Thomas Nanolaye r Reinforce ments in Engineeri ng Polymers

36

Panel Comme Conflic PD/Divi nts ts sion for keywor ds

Last Updt Tmsp Id Pgm Annc

Panel Rqst Dol Amt. Ratings Rec.
692,149 A (9871904 Fastlane) ### NSF 98-20

594,500

A

### NSF 98-20

700,777

618,939

A

### NSF 98-20

699,300

A

### NSF 98-20

698,389

A

### NSF 98-20

687,721

A

INT letter

### NSF 98-20

698,338

A

### NSF 98-20

700,000

A

### NSF 98-20

662,673

A

GOALI

### NSF 98-20

699,924

A

### NSF 98-20

699,610

A

### NSF 97-87

Interest in Co-Funding

Master your semester with Scribd & The New York Times

Special offer for students: Only $4.99/month.

Master your semester with Scribd & The New York Times

Cancel anytime.