Created by UChicagoPress

Phoenix Poets series from UChicagoPress

Phoenix Poets was founded in 1982 by Robert von Hallberg and the Press, and began in 1983 to publish books by individual American and British poets. After the initial years, culminating with Donald Davie’s Collected Poems (1990), the series shifted its focus to American poets. Phoenix Poets continues to publish books distinguished by keen awareness of the history and possibilities of poetry. Quality of feeling underscored by quality of thought, the mind in motion, the eye and ear attentive, formal ingenuity in the service of important subjects—these are some of the qualities that the series embodies as we look to publish the best books of poetry being written, regardless of fashion. Books in the series have repeatedly won major prizes, including the National Book Critics Circle Award, the William Carlos Williams Award, the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, the Kingsley Tufts Award, the Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry, the Rome Prize in Literature, the John C. Zacharis First Book Award, and many others. The Phoenix Poets series is edited by an anonymous board of editors and coordinated at the Press by managing editor Randolph Petilos. The series is closed to unsolicited submissions. “For the past several years, the University of Chicago has been publishing some of the finest books by the younger American poets. No other press, in New York or anywhere, is doing any better. In fact, I can’t think of one that’s done as well.” Philip Levine “In my opinion, the Phoenix Poets list is second to none.” Richard Wilbur “Some of my favorite poets are published in Phoenix Poets.” Thom Gunn