You are on page 1of 14

Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian honour, given for exceptional service towards advancement of Art, Literature and

Science, and in recognition of Public Service of the highest order. The provision of Bharat Ratna was introduced in 1954.

Bharat Ratna Award

Bharat RatnAa ward Front side

Bharat Ratna Award Back side


first ever Indian to receive this award was the famous scientist, Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman. Since then, many people, each a whiz in varied aspects of their career, have received this coveted award.


person irrespective of race,gender,occupation,position,age is eligible for Bharat Ratna as long as this person renders exceptional service or performance of highest order in any field of human endeavour The recommendations for Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister of India to the President of India


no formal recommendations are made to the Prime Minister of India. Bharat Ratna is usually awarded to Indian citizens but it has been conferred on Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu - a naturalised Indian, Khan Andul Gaffar Khan - the pashtoon Freedom fighter who was part of Indian freedom struggle and Nelson Mandela - President of South Africa

Provision for Bharat Ratna was introduced in 1954 and the order was established on 2'nd January 1954 by the first President of Free India, Dr. Rajendra Prasad. The first Bharat Ratna was awarded to famous scientist, Chandrashekhar Venkat Raman. At the time of writing this hub ,in all 41 Bharat Ratna Awards have been awarded since its inception. In its original form, Bharat Ratna was not supposed to be awarded posthumously and that is the reason why Mahatma Gandhi was not conferred a Bharat Ratna. A Provision for posthumous Bharat Ratna was introduced in 1955 and since then 12 posthumous Bharat Ratna Awards have been given

Following is the list of Prime Ministers of India who have been awarded the BharatRatna 1. Jawahar Lal Nehru. 2. Lal Bahadur Shastri. 3. Indira Gandhi 4 . Rajiv Gandhi. 5. Morarji Desai. 6. Gulzari Lal Nanda

It is not necessary to award Bharat Ratna every year. The Republic of India can confer a maximum of three Bharat Ratna awards per year. The Prime Minister makes the recommendations for Bharat Ratna to the President of India. Bharat Ratna does not carry any monetary grant . The recepient of Bharat Ratna Award receives a medallion and a certificate signed by the President of India. The recepient of the award cannot use Bharat Ratna as a prefix or suffix to his/her name


Dr. Rajendra Prasad. 2. Dr. Zakir Hussain. 3. Shri V.V. Giri. 4. Shri (Dr.) A.P.J. Abdul Kalam


its original form the Bharat Ratna Award was supposed to be a 35 mm diamter circular gold medallion with sun embossed on it and Bharat Ratna inscribed in Devnagari script above the sun while a floral wreath below the sun. The reverse side of this medal or medallion would have state emblem and motto (Satyamev Jayate or Truth Alone Triumphs


design was altered after one year. In its current form the medallion of the Bharat Ratna Award is designed in the shape of sacred Banyan Tree Leaf with the 'Bharat Ratna' inscribed on it in Devnagri script . The reverse side carries the state emblem and motto like in the original design. As the award is supposed to be worn around the recepients neck there is a 51 mm wide ribbon attached to the award

Even though Bharat Ratna is the highest Civilian award awarded by Government of India, it has had it's share of controversie The controversies have not been any thing major . Here are three top controversies associated with Bharat Ratn award

Late Pandit Bhimsen Gururaj Joshi in 2008 : Karnataka Kumari Lata Dinanath Mangeshkar in 2001 : Maharashtra Late Ustad Bismillah Khan in 2001 for contribution in the field of Arts : Uttar Pradesh Prof. Amartya Sen in1999 for Literature & Education : United Kingdom Lokpriya Gopinath (posth.) Bordoloi in1999, for Public Affairs : Assam

Loknayak Jayprakash (Posth.) Narayan in 1999 for Public Affairs: Bihar

Pandit Ravi Shankar in 1999 for his contribution in the field of Arts : United States Shri Chidambaram Subramaniam in 1998 for Public Affairs : Tamil Nadu Smt. M.S. Subbulakshmi in 1998 for her contribution in the field of Arts : Tamil Nadu Dr APJ Abdul Kalam in 1997 for his contribution in the field of Science and Engineering : Delhi Smt. Aruna Asaf (Posth.) Ali in 1997 for her contribution in the field of Public Affairs : Delhi Shri Gulzari Lal Nanda in 1997 for his contribution in the field of Public Affairs : Gujarat Shri JRD Tata in 1992 for his contribution in the field of Trade & Industry : Maharashtra Shri Maulana Abul Kalam Azad in 1992 for his contribution in Public Affairs : West Bengal Shri Satyajit Ray in 1992 for his contribution in the field of Arts : West Bengal Shri Morarji Ranchhodji Desai in 1991 for his contribution in Public Affairs : Gujarat

Shri Rajiv Gandhi in 1991