Good Health Gone Viral™

Just one person out of millions feels alone in the crowd…

Melissa Carmel
• Chief Health Nut for 11+ years • Gluten/Dairy allergies • Active interest in fitness, health inspiration and natural living
.

But we all have health-related questions
And the process of easily finding trustworthy answers is fragmented…

Friends/Family Today, Melissa goes one of two ways for answers… Google

Millions of people have similar health interests and challenges…

…and the majority search the web to find health information and to purchase products
• 80% of internet users search for health-related information* • 9% of Amazon.com sales come from Health, Wellness, Beauty - 3rd most demanding line of business on Amazon (Internetretailer.com)

*Pew Internet and American Life Project - 02.24.12

In the future, Melissa will go to…
Her trusted hub for virtual health content, where Google and her friends/family will be combined.

The Health & Wellness Hub

A community where you can discover, curate, and share health media with your favorite people and brands.

The first of its vertical…

Specialized Content

The power of community & relevant health/wellness content

High Social Engagement

Business Model
• Health & Wellness Businesses pay subscription fee to have their own “Profile Page”
– Database directory for all Blumers to easily find new service providers that their friends/family use

Example – Acupuncturist, Allie Friedman, pays Blume $50 a month to promote her business: show health video clips/ share health content, include flash sale promotions

• Rev Share Model
– Example: Blumer sees an image he/she wants to purchase, he click on the image and it leads him/her to the marketplace to purchase and Blume takes a cut of that transaction

Business Model, Cont’d
Blumers Cost to Acquire a Blumer (CAC) Businesses Cost to Acquire a Business Owner (CAC)

$195,000/50,000 Blumers
= $3.90/Blumer Lifetime Value of Blumer(LTV) $10 * 3 months * 2 years = $80

$195,000/500 Business Owners
= $390/Business Owner Lifetime Value of Business Owner (LTV) $50 * 12 months * 2 years = $1,200

•CAC is always < LTV

Blume is building a team of visionaries
Melissa Carmel, Founder and CEO –
• • 3 years of sales experience, Salesforce.com 1.5+ years of sales experience, Birst, Inc., a Sequoia Capital backed Business Intelligence solution provider 11+ years, Chief Health Nut B.A. from University of Michigan, with an Organizational Studies degree, a competitive interdisciplinary program that dissects organizations from the psychological, sociological, and economic lenses.

• •

Ryan Pletzke, Co-Founder and COO •8 years of Operations, Program and Project management experience at Leo Burnett •Experience founding two different startups., one of which included a successful exit. •16 years of competitive running and keeping healthy all that time •Experience in building successful advertising and marketing campaigns and custom software for various industries including CPG, B2B, and health care.

Advisory Board
Joanna Rees, Advisor • • • • • Committed seed investor for Blume, Inc. Serves as an investor, board member, and senior advisor for several private high growth companies and non-profit organizations Mayoral Candidate of San Francisco in November 2011 Founder of VSP Capital, a San Francisco-based venture capital firm focused on early-stage companies combining technical innovation with market development B.A. from Columbia University and a B.S. from Duke University.

Richard Gross, Advisor –
• •

Serves as an angel investor, board member, and advisor to start ups Richard has 20+ years as a marketing and business development executive delivering successful partnerships, sales and corporate strategy for clients ranging from startups to Fortune 500 firms and nonprofits. Founder and CEO of Acceleron Technologies until it was acquired in 2007 by a publicly traded corporation. B.A. from Boston University and a Master degree in Public Policy from Harvard University.

What’s Next: Build and Test Beta

Hypothesis:
• The general public wants to share, discover, and organize quick health tips • Small businesses want to market their business on Blume

Target Market for Beta: Allergy prone individuals

• 12MM+ Americans have food allergies. That’s one in 25, or 4 percent of the population. –Food Allergy.org • The market for food-allergy and intolerance products is projected to reach $3.9 billion this year. -Packaged Facts, a New York research firm. • The number of kids with food allergies went up 18 percent from 1997 to 2007. About 3 million children younger than 18 had a food or digestive allergy in 2007. -U.S. Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention.

We expect 50,000 active Blumers after year one of launch
Blumers
60,000

50,000
40,000

30,000
20,000

Blumers

10,000
0

Q1

Q2

Q3

Q4

We expect 500 active small businesses after year one of launch
Businesses
600

500
400

300
200

Businesses

100
0

Q1

Q2

Q3

Q4

…and this is how we’ll attract them
• Viral: Word of Mouth
– (i.e. Social Media, Bloggers)

• Incentive Driven Marketing
– (i.e. Blumer/Small Business receives $10 coupon to use toward a service provider after he/she refers 10 friends)

• Re-engagement Emails
– (i.e. Automated email to Blumer when their FB friend joins Blume)

Funding Goals
Projected Expenses Build Private Beta: Develop, Design Cost $80k

Operations: Founders’ Salary, Analytics tool, Vertical Response, Travel Business Cards Marketing: Ads, Launch Video Legal Miscellaneous: Hosting, Bugs

$80k

$15k $10k

$15k

Total:

$200k

revolutionizing the way we think about health
Don’t just take our word for it…

Check out our Facebook page!

and we dare you to stop us!

Appendix

First testing Good Health Gone Viral™ on Facebook

Virality: Up and to the right!

…and we’re focused on a global reach

Proven by our Facebook page!

Over half of our followers are under the age of 35

and spread across genders!

Our success metrics are essential to becoming the health/wellness market leader
• # of Unique Visitors
• Customer-Centric • # of “ReBlumes” • # of monthly/weekly/daily purchases

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