You are on page 1of 13

Facts about United Kingdom?


Where is United Kingdom?

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is a country located off the north-western coast of continental Europe. The country consists of the island of Great Britain, the north-eastern part of the island of Ireland and many other smaller islands.

What is the capital of United Kingdom?

London is the capital city of the United Kingdom. Covering an area of 607 square miles, it is the largest metropolitan area in the United Kingdom. It is located on the River Thames.

How big is United Kingdom?

The United Kingdom covers a total area of 94,060 square miles. The country has a coastline of 11,073 miles. As estimated in 2010, the country had a population of 62,262,000.

What are the ethnic groups in United Kingdom?

o The majority of the population of the United Kingdom is composed of whites. o The minority ethnic groups in the country include South Asians, Blacks, and Chinese.

What are the administrative divisions of United Kingdom?

The United Kingdom comprises four countries: England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales; and fourteen overseas territories. Each country has its own system of administration.

Who are the political leaders of United Kingdom?

The United Kingdom is a unitary parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy. The Prime Minister is the head of the government. Monarch - Elizabeth II Prime Minister - David Cameron

What is the official currency used in United Kingdom?

The pound sterling denoted by the ISO 4217 code GBP is the official currency of the United Kingdom. It is commonly called the pound and is the currency of the Crown dependencies and the British Overseas Territories of South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands. It is subdivided into 100 pence.

What is the official language of United Kingdom?

o English is the official language of the United Kingdom. o Scots, Welsh, Irish, Scottish Gaelic and Cornish are the other languages spoken in the country.

What is the official religion of United Kingdom?

Christianity is the dominant religion of the United Kingdom. The Anglican Church of England is the established church in the country. The other major religions in the country include Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism, and Buddhism. The Presbyterian Church of Scotland is the national church of the country.

When is the national day of United Kingdom celebrated?

The United Kingdom does not have any official national day, though proposals have been made for the same. Presently, the Queen's Official Birthday is celebrated as a national day. The four countries of the United Kingdom have their own national days, including St George's Day in England, St Andrew's Day in Scotland, St Patrick's Day in Northern Ireland and St David's Day in Wales.