You are on page 1of 22

Thoughts to ponder

The most predominantly Catholic country in Asia and it chooses a mason and anti-cleric to be its national hero. Either the Filipino is a split personality or the greatest practioner in the art of uniting opposites. What a nation! Voltaire de Leon 31 May 2008 at 1pm

Web source:

Thoughts to ponder


Roland Lorenzo M. Ruben Social Sciences Department De La Salle University - Dasmarias

Komisyong Taft (1901)

The Second Philippine Commission, from left: Dean C. Worcester, Henry Clay Ide, William Howard Taft, Bernard Moses and Luke Wright. PHOTO was taken in 1900.

On March 16, 1900, United States President William McKinley appointed the then Judge William Howard Taft to head the second Philippine Commission, which would also be known as the Taft Commission. Taft would become Governor-General of the Philippines and later, the president of the U.S.

Komisyong Taft (1901)

The Philippine civil government was inaugurated on July 4, 1901, with William Howard Taft as its first governor, the powers and duties of a governor were passed on to Taft. The Taft Commission continuing functioning as legislative body. Cayetano Arellano was the first Filipino to hold a high position of government he was named Chief Justice of the Supreme Court on May 28, 1899. Gregorio Araneta was appointed as Secretary of Justice and finance. Trinidad Pardo de Tavera, Benito Legarda, and Jose Luzuriaga were selected as members of the Philippine Commissions.

Komisyong Taft (1901)

Governor-General William Howard Taft: kinakailangang magkaroon ang Pilipinas ng Pambansang Bayani. Ang pambansang bayani na ito ang magiging pambansang huwaran ng mga mamamayang Pilipino.

Ide (at right) along with two fellow Philippine Commissioners Luke Edward Wright (left), and William Howard Taft (centre), in 1901

Komisyong Taft
1. 2. 3. 4. 5. William Howard Taft Morgan Shuster Bernard Moses Dean Worcester Henry Clay Ide

Komisyong Taft
William Howard Taft (September 15, 1857 March 8, 1930) was the 27th President of the United States and later the 10th Chief Justice of the United States. He is the only person to have served in both offices.

Komisyong Taft
William Morgan Shuster (23 February 1877 in Washington, D.C. 26 May 1960 in New York City), American lawyer, civil servant, and publisher

Komisyong Taft
Bernard Moses

Komisyong Taft
Dean Conant Worcester, D.Sc., F.R.G.S. (October 1, 1866 - 1924) was an American zoologist, public official, and authority on the Philippines. From 1899 to 1901 he was a member of the United States Philippine Commission; thenceforth until 1913 he served as secretary of the interior for the Insular Government of the Philippine Islands. In 1910, he founded the Philippine General Hospital, which has become the hospital for the poor and the sick.

Komisyong Taft
Henry Clay Ide (September 18, 1844 June 13, 1921) was a U.S. judge, colonial Commissioner, ambassador, and Governor-General.

Komisyong Taft
6. 7. 8. 9. Trinidad Pardo H. de Tavera Gregorio Araneta Cayetano Arellano Jose Luzurriaga

1. Isang Pilipino 2. Yumao na 3. May matayog na pagmamahal sa bayan 4. May mahinahong damdamin

Mga pinagpilian

Marcelo H. del Pilar

Graciano Lopez Jaena

Jose Rizal

Antonio Luna Emilio Jacinto

Graciano Lopez-Jaena (1856-1896)

Jaro, Iloilo Filipino journalist Orator Revolutionary from Iloilo Founder, editor of La Solidaridad Died of tuberculosis on January 20, 1896 in Barcelona, Spain

Marcelo H. del Pilar (1850-1896)

Born on August 30, 1850 in Cupang, Bulacan, Bulacan Filipino writer, journalist, satirist Revolutionary leader Died of tuberculosis in Barcelona, Spain on July 4, 1896

Jose P. Rizal (1861-1896)

Born in June 19, 1861 in Calamba, Laguna Filipino polymath Foremost Filipino Patriot Wrote the Noli and Fili Founder of La Liga Filipina Executed by the Spanish on Dec 30, 1896 in Bagumbayan

Emilio Jacinto (1875-1899)

Born in Trozo, Tondo on Dec 15, 1875 Filipino revolutionary The Brain of the Katipunan Studied in San Juan de Letran College then in UST Writer Dimasilaw Contracted malaria and died in Magdalena, Laguna in April 16, 1899

Antonio Luna (1866-1899)

Born October 29, 1866 in Urbiztondo, Binondo, Manila Filipino pharmacist Wrote for La Solidaridad revolutiionary Brigadier-general who fought in the PhilippineAmerican War Killed by fellow Filipinos on June 5, 1899

Si Rizal ang napili dahil

1. Siya ang kauna-unahang Pilipino umakit na magkaisa ang bansa laban sa Kastila 2. Huwaran siya ng kapayapaan. 3. Ang mga Pilipino ay sentimental o maramdamin.

Maraming Salamat!
Mabuhay ang mga Kabataang Para sa Bayan!

Salamat kina: G. Jely A. Galang , Bb. Janet S. Reguindin at G. Bernard Esternon