You are on page 1of 32

2015 Annual Meeting


Welcome Chris Alvarado, Bike Cleveland Board President

2014 Review and Looking Forward Jacob VanSickle,
Executive Director
2014 Board of Directors Myron Bennett, Board
Governance Chair
-Confirmation of 2014 Board Slate
- Board Officer Confirmation
Volunteer Recognition Bike Cleveland Staff & Board
Committee Introductions Marvin Ranaldson, Outreach
and Volunteer Coordinator

Closing Jacob VanSickle


Music and Social


2014 Year in Review

Where it all began

Bike Cleveland Summit September 2011




(representing over 1100 employees)


2014 New Bike Facilities

8.41 miles Bike Lanes
2.08 miles Sharrows
1 mile new trail

Lorain Avenue Protected Bike Lane

Events and Programming

Forest City Fundo & NEOCycle

Central Bikes
Bike safety education, bike fix-a-thons, and bike safety

Brought the Rust Cup home to

1,600 Greater Clevelanders
logged over 710,000 this summer

in the National Bike Challenge burning 36,850,000 calories and

keeping 410,000 pounds of C02 out of the atmosphere

NEO Bicycle Friendly Businesses

2014 Year in Review

Advocated for the complete streets including the addition of bike lanes
on Puritas Avenue, Denison Avenue, Superior Avenue, E. 72nd Street and W.
44th/41st. In 2014 alone we increased the mileage of bike lanes by 150% when
compared to the past three years.
Worked with the City of Cleveland to align their street improvements to prioritize
safer streets with bike facilities, which will result in 70+ miles of new
bike lanes by 2017.
This year we saw the City ofClevelands first ever buffered bike laneand
started laying the groundwork forprotected bike lanesthrough our
Midway Plan.
Focused outreach in Clevelands Central Neighborhood, in partnership
with the Ohio City Bicycle Co-op.
Trained 26 police officers from across Greater Cleveland on how to
enforce laws to prevent bike crashes and save lives. We will be expanding and
training to reach more officers in 2015.

2014 Year in Review

Secured federal, state and foundation funding to implement a city-wide

Safe Routes to School Travel Plan in partnership with the City of Cleveland and
Cleveland Metropolitan School District.
Developed the Biking in Cleveland guide: an easy to understand guide for
beginner riders on how to incorporate bicycling into their everyday life.
Commitment to install 22 more miles of bike lanes in 2015.
Beat Pittsburgh in the Rust Belt Battle of the Bikes Over 1,600 people
logged over 710,000 miles this summer, saving over 410,000 pounds of CO2 from
being emitted into our air.
Showcased Clevelands neighborhoods on bike to over 600 people who
joined the inaugural Forest City Fundo, which took place during NEOCycle, a
festival aimed at showcasing Clevelands booming bike culture.
Organized dozens of events, including 1st Annual Bike to the Ballpark,
Cleveland Bicycle Month, Bike to Work Day, and the Forest City Fundo, which
brought people on bikes


All New Public Awareness

Campaign for 2015

Random Acts of Brightness

Safe Routes to School

2015 Events

Bike Share Cleveland

Privately funded
9 Stations, 54 bikes
Evaluate and grow bike
sharing in 2015

Vision Zero Regional

Vision Zero focuses
on 3 key points:

1.There is no acceptable level of death/injury on our

2. Traffic deaths and injuries are not accidents but
crashes that are preventable
3. The public should expect safe behavior on City
streets and participate in a culture change.

2015 City of Cleveland Bike Lane Priorities

East Blvd2.6
Community College --.88
West Blvd--.2.1
Quincy-- 2.2
Superior (E 18th to E 30) -- .59
W 14th street1.3
Fleet Ave1.06
East 22nd Street--.7
West 25th (Detroit to Lorain)1.4
Warner -- .73
TOTAL 21.79 miles

Regional Collaboration
Bike Cleveland Chapter Program: Developing structure
to coordinate and grow advocacy efforts among all
group across the region.
Goal: To build a unified region-strong advocacy voice.

2015 Board Member Confirmation

Myron Bennett, Board Governance Chair

2015 Board Member Slate

Chris Alvarado (2016)

Shelli Snyder (2016)

Michael Fleming (2016)

Mitch Thompson (2016)

Barb Clint (2016)

Mary Ellen Carney (2016)

Myron Bennett (2016)

Kevin Cronin (2016)

John McGovern (2016)

Andy Jones (2017)

Marie Kittredge (2016)

Jerry Pignolet (2017)

Steven Lovelace (2016)

Jeffrey Sugalski (2016)

Proposed Board Officers

Chris Alvarado: President

Jeffrey Sugalski: Vice President
Barb Clint: Secretary
Mary Ellen Carney: Treasurer

Volunteer Recognition

Committee Introductions


You might also like