You are on page 1of 11


The Land Of The Free


Form of government: Constitutional Monar

Capital City: Bangkok
Population: 67, 200, 000 (2014 est.)
Land Area: 514,000km2
Language(s): Thai (official), English
Currency: Thai Baht

Thailand(formerly known asSiam) is a country

inSoutheast Asia. The country comprises 76
provinces that are further divided into districts,
sub-districts and villages
Bangkok is the capital city and centre of political,
commercial, industrial and cultural activities. It is
also the seat of Thailand's revered Royal Family,
with His Majesty the King recognized as Head of
State, Head of the Armed Forces, Upholder of the
Buddhist religion and Upholder of all religions.
Thailand is a constitutional monarchy with His
Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej, or King Rama
IX, the ninth king of the Chakri Dynasty, the
present king

The King has reigned for more than half a

century, making him the longest reigning Thai
monarch. Thailand embraces a rich diversity of
cultures and traditions.
The kingdom of Thailand lies in the heart of
Southeast Neighboring countries:\
Myanmar - west and north
Lao P.D.R. - north and northeast
Cambodia - southeast
Malaysia - south
Thailand is one of the most strongly Buddhist
countries in the world. The national religion is
Theravada Buddhism, a branch of Hinayana
Buddhism, practiced by more than 90 % of all
Thais. The remainder of the population adheres to
lslam, Christianity, Hinduism and other faiths all
of which are allowed full freedom of expression.

Brief History Of Thailand:

Throughout its 800-year history, Thailand can
boast the distinction of being the only country in
Southeast Asia never to have been colonized. Its
history is divided into five major periods.
First was the Nancaho Period wherein Thai people
founded their kingdom in Southern part of China,
many people migrated south and settled down
under the rule of the Khmer Empire. Founded their
independent state of Sukhothaai that started the
second period, Sukhothai Period where Thai
people emerge and seek independence from
Khmer rule and successfully influenced by the
state of Ayuthaya and took over leading to the
third, the Ayuthaya Period but during this period,

Ayuthaya extend its rule over neighboring Thai

principalities that caused conflict, and a Burnese
invasion took placed but General Phya Taksin
ended it that came into the fourth period. The
established a new capital in Thon Buri and
reunited the provinces. Lastly, Rattanakosin
Period which is still the period up to now, General
Chakri became the first king of the Chakri
Dynasty after Taksins death and transferred the
royal capital from Thon Buri to Bangkok. Followed
by Rama II up to the present Rama IX, Bhumibol
Adulyadej. They opened relations to other
countries, made treaties and economic trades,
changed the name Siam to Thailand and
established a modern Thailand.

The Government Of Thailand

TheGovernment of Thailand, or formally
theRoyal Thai Government(RTG) is the
unitary government of the Kingdom of Thailand.
democracysystem since 1932. The country has
existed in someformsince the 13th century, but
the country emerged as a modern nation state
after the foundation of theChakri Dynastyand
It iscity
up of three
branches: the executive,
the legislative, and the judiciary, the system of
government is modeled after theWestminster

It is made up of three branches: the executive,

the legislative, and the judiciary, the system of
government is modeled after theWestminster
Since May 2014 Thailand has been ruled by
amilitary junta, theNational Council for Peace
and Order which has partially repealed the2007
constitution, declared martial law and nationwide
curfew, banned political gatherings, arrested and
imposedinternet censorship and taken control of
the media.

The Monarchy

King Bhumibol

The King of Thailand, KingBhumibol

Adulyadej(or Rama IX), is the world's
longest reigning monarch. He has
reigned since 1946.
- The symbol of the nation
- head of the armed forces
- Power to grant pardon and appoint
- Head of the House of Chakri (ruling
house of Thailand)

The Executive: Prime Minister

- Head of the government
- Main spokesperson of the
- Leader of the largest party in
the House of Parliament
PM Yingluk Shinawatra
(first female PM)

The Cabinet of Thailand or the Council of Ministers

of Thailand is a council composed of 35 ministers of
state and deputy ministers, who run thecabinet
ministriesof the kingdom. There are currently 20
cabinet ministries, The cabinet is responsible for
the formulation and execution of policies of the
government. The Legislative: National Assembly
It is a bicameral legislature and is composed
of two houses: the Senate and the House of
Representatives. The legislative branch took
its current form in 2007. The national
assembly has 630 members.
The House of Representatives and the Senate
were abolished after the 22 May 2014 coup
by the NCPO. Currently, according to the
interim Constitution of Thailand imposed by
NCPO, there is no House of Representatives.
Legislative power is vested in the National
Legislative Council, appointed by the NCPO.

The Judiciary
The judiciary of Thailand is composed of three distinct
1. Court of Justice System - is the largest of the court
system and makes up the majority of courts in the
kingdom. They are composed of three tiers: the Court
of First Instance, the Court of Appeals, and the
Supreme Court of Justice of Thailand.
2. Administrative Courts Sstem - is made up of two tiers:
The Administrative Courts of First Instance and the
Supreme Administrative Court. The court's main
jurisdiction is to settle litigation between the state and
private citizens.
3. Constitutional Court System - was created solely as a
high court to settle matters pertaining to the constitution.
Thailand'slegal system blends principles of traditional
Thai and Western laws. The traditional "Thai" laws are the