You are on page 1of 1

 The Archaeplastida (or kingdom Plantae sensu lato) are a

major group of eukaryotes, comprising the red

algae (Rhodophyta), the green algae, and the land plants,
together with a small group of freshwater unicellular
algae called glaucophytes.[4] The chloroplasts of all these
organisms are surrounded by two membranes,
suggesting they developed directly
from endosymbiotic cyanobacteria. In all other groups
besides the amoeboid Paulinella chromatophora, the
chloroplasts are surrounded by three or four membranes,
suggesting they were acquired secondarily from red or
green algae.