You are on page 1of 8

Exploring Pentatonic Scales

All Music © Alan J Currie

We are going to explore pentatonic
music. “Penta” means five, as in
Pentatonic music is made up of
five different notes.
Here is a pentatonic scale. It can
begin on any note. Here we have F
sharp (#), so the scale is called F#
major pentatonic.

Listen Again
These five note scales are the basis
of many forms of music.
They use the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 5th and 6th
notes of the scale, for example:

Listen Again
We are going to learn three simple
pentatonic scales, these are C,F
and G.
C major pentatonic = C, D, E, G, A.

Listen Again
F major pentatonic = F, G, A, C, D.

Listen Again
G major pentatonic = G, A, B, D, E.

Listen Again
Time to get composing. Use
the C major pentatonic scale.
Don’t be afraid to experiment
and experiment with short
melodies. Listen carefully to
what you create.
Record your music!