You are on page 1of 5

Started in 1974

This program encourages recreational reading of popular literature among the people of our state

CYRM is supported by the California Reading Association, the California Association of Teachers of English, California Library
Association, and the California School Library Association
Winners 2019

The book must be an original work of fiction published within the last four years by a living author

California Young Reader Medal Award

Newbery Award
The Newbery Medal was
named for eighteenth-century
British bookseller John The winner for 2019
Newbery. It is awarded
annually by the Association for
Library Service to Children, a
division of the American Library
Association, to the author of
the most distinguished
contribution to American
literature for children.

The Caldecott Medal was
named in honor of nineteenth-

The Caldecott Medal century English illustrator

Randolph Caldecott. It is
awarded annually by the
Association for Library Service
● The American Library to Children, a division of the
Association's most American Library Association,
to the artist of the most
distinguished American distinguished American picture
Children’s book published book for children.
the previous year
● Most distinguished picture
2019 Medal winner
● Author must be a citizen of
Hello Lighthouse,
illustrated and the U.S.
written by
Sophie Blackall,
published by
Little, Brown and
Company, a
division of
Hachette Book
Group, Inc.
The award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. The Pura
Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work
best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for
children and youth. It is co-sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of
the American Library Association (ALA), and REFORMA, the National Association to Promote Library and
Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-Speaking, an ALA affiliate.

Pura Belpre Award

The 2019 Author Award winner 2019 Illustrator Award Winner


Award Selection Committee - 2020",
American Library Association,
November 30, 1999.
(Accessed May 21, 2019)
Document ID: 70bd9984-7b76-b7d4-

The award is now given annually. It was given as a biennial award from 1996 through 2008.
The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award recognizes the author(s) and illustrator(s) of a book for beginning readers who,
through their literary and artistic achievements, demonstrate creativity and imagination to engage children in reading.
● One award announced in January
● Authors and illustrators are US citizens
● Directed readers pre k-2
● Illustrations with clue to the text
● Subject matter that motivates the child from beginning to end
● First awrd was given in 2006
● The president of the Association for Library Service to Children appoints the committee of six members
● Entry deadline is December 31

2019 Honor Books

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award