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Contents
• Introduction
• Entering US Market
• Core needs of Target Market
• Value Adds
• Advertising and Promotions
• Pricing Options
Introduction
• Portfolio of more than 200 corporate entities -
History of Brand extensions
• First to adopt the MVNO model in the UK
• Focus on understanding and meeting
customer needs
Entering the US Market
Advantages:
o Easy to promote
o Better of peak hours and fewer hidden
fees
Dis advantages:
o Hard to attract the target market
o Limited value adds
Option 1 – Pricing Structure
Option 2 - Analysis
Advantages
o Cheaper, plan and simple
o Better off-peak hours and fewer hidden fees
Dis advantages
o Less profit per customer
Option 2 – pricing structure
Option 3 - Analysis
Advantages:
o Attracts the target market because of
elimination of contracts for prepaid customers
o Cheaper handset subsidies
o Reduced hidden cost and off peak hours
Option 3 - Analysis
Disadvantages:
o Risk of Increase in customer churn rate from
2% to 6%
o Difficult to recoup customer acquisition cost
o Prepaid customers would require new
mechanism to add minutes.
LTV for option 3
o LTV = ∑ (Ma ra-1)/(1+i)a – AC
(from a=1 to N)
Where
o Churn rate 6%
r = 1-0.06 = 0.94
CCPU = 45% of ARPU
M = ARPU – CCPU
Contd..
Contd
Estimated total revenue = $30 billion
No. of. Subscribers = 130 million
Market share of target segment = 45%
ARPU = 30b /(130*0.45*12) = $43
M = $23
AC = $100
LTV = 23/(1+0.05-0.94) – 100 = $113.6
conclusion
o Prepaid service plan with pricing based on
option 3 provides positive LTV
o Virgin would be able to create customer
loyalty with the youth market.
Thank You