(The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation)

SAARC COUNTRIES Afghanistan Bangladesh Bhutan India Maldives Nepal Pakistan Sri lanka .

Its seven founding members are Bangladesh. Pakistan. meetings of foreign secretaries. Nepal. It is headquartered in Kathmandu. Afghanistan joined the organization in 2005. and cultural development emphasizing collective self-reliance. twice annually. founded in December 1985 and dedicated to economic. technological. social. . Meetings of heads of state are usually scheduled annually. Nepal. Bhutan.WHAT IS SAARC? The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is an organization of South Asian nations. the Maldives. India. and Sri Lanka.


To promote and strengthen collective self-reliance among the countries of South Asia. social progress and cultural development in the region and to provide all individuals the opportunity to live in dignity and to realise their full potential. To contribute to mutual trust. . understanding and co-operating to one another¶s problems.OBJECTIVES  To promote the welfare of the people of South Asia and improve their quality of life.  To accelerate economic growth.

technical and scientific fields. social. To strengthen cooperation among themselves in international forums on matters of common interest.OBJECTIVES (CONTD) To strengthen relationship with other developing countries. To promote active collaboration and mutual assistance in the economic. cultural. . To cooperate with international and regional organizations with similar aims and purposes.

SAARC Youth Volunteer¶s Programme (SYVOP).FUNCTIONAL COOPERATION SAARC Audio-Visual Exchange(SAVE) Programme. . SAARC Chairs. Fellowships and Scholarships Scheme. SAARC Documentation Centre (DSC). SAARC Scheme of Organised Tourism.

finds it too early to apply for full membership. and is supported by India. Iran.FUTURE MEMBERSHIPS During the 14th summit. announced their support for the membership of China. has traditionally enjoyed strong cultural. China seeks greater involvement in SAARC. Indonesia intends to become an observer as well. Nepal along with Pakistan and Bangladesh. Russia intends to become an observer as well. economic and political relationships with Afghanistan and Pakistan and has expressed its desire to become a member of the South Asian organization. and is supported by Sri Lanka. a state with borders to two SAARC members. . Myanmar will become the ninth member in the group. however. Myanmar has expressed an interest in joining as a full member. even though it is already a member of the ASEAN. If done so.


Master your semester with Scribd & The New York Times

Special offer for students: Only $4.99/month.

Master your semester with Scribd & The New York Times

Cancel anytime.