plm1250

Reviews
More
Broken Harbor: A Novel

by

Another fine, original murder mystery by French. A family is slaughtered with only themother surviving the attack, suspicion falls on an ancient friend of the family, whose confession leaves the detectives convinced he did indeed commit the crimes but there are some holes in his version of events that makes one of them, the junior detective not 100% convinced leading to a continuing investigation. A surprising denouement. Well written, complex but followable.
Beach Music: A Novel

by

My least favorite of Conroy's book. Again the fractured extended southern family the strong, love-hate mother-sons relationship as the eldest son returns from self exile in Rome where he is raising his young daughter alone as his mother, a childhood friends commited suicide before his departure from his deep Southtown, leaving him estranged from his family(4 brothers) he returns to be at the bedside of his terminal ill mother. Once again the plot focuses on family rerelationship, dysfunctionalilty as the family relives their troubled youth, what drove his wife to suicide and the secret behind his close friend, the son of an Army general, joining the priesthood to escape/atone for a violent crime he committed at that same growing up time at the height of the Viet Nam war
The Brave: A Novel

by

A major disappointment. had much higher expectation after reading Horse Whisperer, Continental Divide ect...The plot is convulted yet simp[lisitic and rarely credible especially the court martial scene of the protagonist's son not to mention the conviction and execution of his mother for the death of her abusive husband (it turns out that er son the protagonist is the guilty party but shhe covers for him. from trial to execution it takes about 2-3 years...a fantasy has capital punishment crimes typically take 15-20 after appeals for the execution to take place.Was hoping for his forte, wildlife, animal and wilderness got Hollywood, unformed characters, nonsensical or unexplained threads to try and tie this story together.
In the Name of Honor

by

Another well written novel focusing on contemporary issues in the vein of Exile, Eclipse. A young lieutenant back from war duty in Iraq shoots his ex-commander,ex-best friend once returned state side, his motive is self defense but it turns out that he was having an affair with said friends' wife an old childhood friends. His lawyer attempts to introduce PTSD as in defense. The book provides intriguing glimpses into the military's legal system, the concept of honor and authority in the chain of command to maintain military morale and proper hierachal functioning. Great insights into the daily horrors, fear and bravery exhibited by the Army men as they fight a war most of them don't believe in.
South of Broad

by

My first novel by this author. As described in a blurb "reading Conroy" is akin to watching Michelangelo paint the Cistine Chapel" Beautiful lyrical, soaring similies, metaphors that brought aweAll this on top of a great epic story about a Southern bred privileged boy/man who befriends the two fraternal twins (the sister eventually becoming a great movie star, while the boy becomes an eccentric brilliant gay musician, bon vivant: Also at the time he befriends two orphans brother and sister from the mountains ("poor white trash" Add to that a black man/boy whose friendship in the troubled time of the Civil right movement is difficult to all. toss and miix with another even more priviliged boy who has a love, hate relationship with the group. Their friendship as they mature despite the great diversity of their background followed by their dispersal on adulthood only to bring them back together in the middle of their career and once again reaffirm their love,frienship and complexity of their lives under trying circumstances
The Prince of Tides

by

Great novel about two brothers and a sister raised in poverty in a violent, drunken shrimper household in Charleston NC. The girl becomes a troubled ,suicidal but successful poetess. Meanwhile the Oldest brother goes ion a crusade against the gov for wanting to move part of the town in order to built a nuclear plant there while the youngest serves his duty as the equiliabrator of the three marrying well but torn by his past, his ister's disease his borther's past actions. 'All the while being confronted by his white trash to Southern Belle ambitious , vindictive mother and an abusive alcoholic father. Great novel
The Lords of Discipline

by

While I skipped the middle part of the story of a young man four years at a private military academy in the South, the first and last part were vintage Conroy. Tense, dramatic as once again race comes into play as the first black cadet is admitted and is subjugated to a web of terror by his classmates all the while the protagonist is charged with making sure that nothing untoward happens to him due to the volatile time of ?Southern integration. A great book about discipline, honor, love and self respect.
Lone Wolf: A Novel

by

Read 3/10/12One of Picoult's better novel.A man who becomes famous for living with wolves leaves the pack to return to his family after two years. Upon is return his soon ot be 18 daughter who worships him and he get into a car accident that leaves him in a permanent vegetative state. His older, estranged son comes back from Thailand where he has been living upon nearing the news.Back home he engages in a legal battle for medical guardianship against his sister as she adamently refuses to accept all medical advice ttelling her that her dad will never recover and she should stop all life support so his organs can be harvested. The son on the other hand is more pragmatic and wants to get this draining and emotonally divisive affair terminated as he accepts the medical prognosis. Ultimately they end up fighting the issue in court. Each accuse the other of acting out of non altruistic value, she because she was partially responsible for the accident and her brother feels guilt is dictating her refusal to accept reality. The brother on the other hand has along Hx of estrangement from his father and she feels he is acting out of spite /hate.The chapters dealing w/ his life with the wolves are exceptional well written, informative and apparently factual, based upon a book by Shaun Ellis (The Man Who Lived with Wolves)
My Losing Season

by

an autobio of Conroy's years at the Citadel as a mediocre basketball player who made up for his lack of natural athletic ability with drive and desire. Interesting as it actually provides quite a bit of background on his family and growing up and how he used them as basis for his fictional characters in his novels.
Winter's Bone: A Novel

by

Ree Dolly's father has skipped bail on charges that he ran a crystal meth lab, and the Dollys will lose their house if he doesn't show up for his next court date. With two young brothers depending on her, 16-year-old Ree knows she has to bring her father back, dead or alive. Living in the harsh poverty of the Ozarks, Ree learns quickly that asking questions of the rough Dolly clan can be a fatal mistake. But, as an unsettling revelation lurks, Ree discovers unforeseen depths in herself and in a family network that protects its own at any cost.
scribd