Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
4Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Ingredients Which Are HARAM for MUSLIMs

Ingredients Which Are HARAM for MUSLIMs

Ratings:

5.0

(1)
|Views: 423 |Likes:
Published by ather_88

More info:

Published by: ather_88 on Apr 30, 2009
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as DOC, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

07/28/2010

pdf

text

original

 
E- means EC (European communities) and E-Numbers are assigned to various food additives.Some E-Numbers are banned in some countries. In UK Numbers without E prefix are allowed butmay not be allowed in other country. We are getting lot of e-mails from our Muslims brother andsisters inquiring about Halal status of E-Numbers, so we decided to add to our web site. E-Numbers are divided into following category:E-Numbers Food Additives1.100-180 Colors2.200-252 Preservatives3.260-297 Acidities4.300-385 Antioxidant5.400-429 Thickeners6.430-499 Emulsifiers7.620-640 Flavor Enhance8.950-967 SweetenersHalal Status: The Halal status was given to the ingredients which are obtained from 100% Halalraw materials without use of alcohol. These are plant and chemical based material.Haram: Those are obtained from animal source or use of alcohol. All non-zabiha Halal animal by-products were considered as Haram because Allah’s name was not announced at the time of slaughtering the animal. Off course pork by product was considered 100% Haram. Some Muslimsmay differ with us about not accepting the meat slaughtered by people of the book as not Halalmeat.Mushbooh: Mushbooh status was given to those E-Numbers where source of raw material wasnot known, it could be from plant source or animal source and also lack of information of use of alcohol with based ingredients.Hidden ingredients: We have no knowledge of different food laws in different countries regardinghidden processing aid ingredients which may be Haram.HARAM E – NUMBERS:The following ingredients are considered as Haram:E 120: Cochineal (red color from insects) according to Ulema from UK and South Africa
 
E 441: GelatinE 542: Edible Bone PhosphateWe have carefully checked these ingredients based on our knowledge of US food industry but weare not familiar with different food laws in different European countries.
E-NumberName
DescriptionHalal StatusE100CurcuminColo
Halal if pure grindturmeric
E101Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)Colo
Mushbooh
 
(Haram if frompork liver & Kidney, Halalif 100% plant material
E102TartrazineColorMushboohE104Quinoline YellowColorMushboohE110Sunset Yellow FCF /Orange Yellow SColorMushboohE120Cochineal / Carminic AcidColo
Haram according toUlema from UK & SouthAfrica
E122Carmoisine / AzorubineColorMushboohE123AmaranthColo
Halal if 100% plantmaterial w/o alcohol
E124Ponceau 4R / CochinealRed AColor 
Mushbooh (synthetic)
E127Erythrosine BSColorMushboohE131Patent Blue VColorMushboohE132Indigo Carmine / IdigotineColo
Haram according toUlema from UK & SouthAfrica
E140ChlorophyllColo
Halal if not extracted withalcohol
E141Copper Complex of ChlorophyllColor 
Halal if not extracted withalcohol
E142Green S / Acid Brilliant Colo
Halal if the synthetic
 
Green BS
material are Halal
E150(a-d)Caramel Color/withchemicalsColor 
Halal
E151Black PN / Brilliant BlackBNColor 
Halal if the syntheticmaterial are Hala
E153Carbon Black / VegetableCarbon (Charcoal)Color 
Mushbooh, Halal if 100%vegetable derived
E160aAlpha, Beta, GammaColor - Carotene
Mushbooh,
E160bAnnatto, Bixin, NorbixinColor - Carotene
Mushbooh, may be mixedwith gelatin
E160cCapsanthin / CapsorbinColor- Carotene
Musnbooh, may be mixedwith gelatin
E160dLycopeneColor - CaroteneMushbooh, may be mixedwith gelatinE160eBeta-apo-8-carotenalColor - Carotene
Mushbooh, may be mixedwith gelatin
E160f Ethyl ester of Beta-apo-8-cartonoic acidColor - Carotene
Mushbooh, may beextracted with alcohol
E161aFlavoxanthinColo
Mushbooh, may beextracted with alcohol
E161bLuteinColo
Mushbooh, may beextracted with alcohol
E161cCryptoxanthinColo
Mushbooh, may beextracted with alcohol
E161dRubixanthinColo
Mushbooh, may beextracted with alcohol
E161eViolaxanthinColo
Mushbooh, may beextracted with alcohol
E161fRhodoxanthinColo
Mushbooh, may beextracted with alcohol
E161gCanthaxanthinColo
Mushbooh, Haram if fromanimal source(retinal)
E162Beetroot Red / BetaninColo
Halal if not extracted with

Activity (4)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 thousand reads
1 hundred reads
layingman liked this
layingman liked this

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->