Enjoy this title right now, plus millions more, with a free trial

Only $9.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

The Bronze Knight (A Dance of Dragons #2.5)

The Bronze Knight (A Dance of Dragons #2.5)

Read preview

The Bronze Knight (A Dance of Dragons #2.5)

Length:
92 pages
1 hour
Publisher:
Released:
Jul 1, 2015
ISBN:
9781311831361
Format:
Book

Description

From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes the third companion novella to the thrilling A Dance of Dragons series--perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Kristin Cashore, and Tamora Pierce!

Princess Leena arrives in Rayfort with one thought on her mind—getting the information that might stop her father’s armies to Prince Whylrhen as soon as possible. But once there, she quickly realizes the situation is far more dire than she ever anticipated. Abandoned by Jinji and Rhen who were sent away by the king regent, Leena is left alone with an impossible decision to make. Stay in Rayfort and fight with the rest of the doomed city. Or risk a life on the run for the chance of survival.

Taking place parallel to the events in THE SPIRIT HEIR, read Leena’s side of the story as she takes fate into her own hands while the city of Rayfort crumbles around her.

Keywords: teens and young adult, sword and sorcery, action and adventure, fantasy romance, coming of age, fantasy, teen fiction, dragons, magic, 99cent, 99 cent, 0.99

Publisher:
Released:
Jul 1, 2015
ISBN:
9781311831361
Format:
Book

About the author

Meet Kaitlyn Davis!Kaitlyn Davis, a bestselling author with over a quarter of a million books sold, writes young adult fantasy novels under the name Kaitlyn Davis and contemporary romance novels under the name Kay Marie. Publishers Weekly has said, "Davis writes with confidence and poise," while USA Today has recommended her work as "must-read romance."Always blessed with an overactive imagination, Kaitlyn has been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to share her work with the world. When she's not daydreaming, typing stories, or getting lost in fictional worlds, Kaitlyn can be found playing fetch with her puppy, watching a little too much television, or spending time with her family. If you have any questions for her--about her books, about scheduling an event, or just in general--you may contact her at: KaitlynDavisBooks@gmail.comSign up for Kaitlyn's newsletter to stay up-to-date with all of her new releases, to receive exclusive subscriber bonus content, and more! bit.ly/KaitlynDavisNewsletterA Complete List of Books by Kaitlyn DavisMidnight Fire, a bestselling YA paranormal romance with over 200,000 copies sold! - Start this series for free today! amzn.to/1NAIBDUIgniteSimmerBlazeScorchBurnMidnight Ice, a brand new companion series to Midnight Fire!FrostFreezeFractureShatterOnce Upon A Curse, a USA Today "must-read" YA series of fairy tale retellings.Gathering FrostWithering RoseChasing Midnight - Coming Soon!A Dance of Dragons, a YA epic fantasy that was just selected as an SPFBO finalist! - Start this series for free today! amzn.to/1MuVm7VThe Golden Cage (novella)The Shadow SoulThe Silver Key (novella)The Spirit HeirThe Bronze Knight (novella)The Phoenix BornThe Iron Rider (novella)


Related to The Bronze Knight (A Dance of Dragons #2.5)

Read More From Kaitlyn Davis

Related Books

Related Articles

Related categories

Book Preview

The Bronze Knight (A Dance of Dragons #2.5) - Kaitlyn Davis

THE

BRONZE

KNIGHT

A Dance of Dragons #2.5

By Kaitlyn Davis

Smashwords Edition

Copyright 2015 Kaitlyn Davis

Cover Art: Manipulated by Kaitlyn Davis from attribution licensed flickr creative commons photos by Thomas Quine and Perfect Zero, and a DepositPhotos.com image by alexannabuts called Woman In Black Cape.

World Map: Illustrated by Sarah Faith Morris (Sylva Knight)

The right of Kaitlyn Davis to be identified as the author of this work has been asserted in accordance with the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988

This eBook is copyright material and must not be copied, reproduced, transferred, distributed, leased, licensed or publicly performed or used in any way except as specifically permitted in writing by the author, as allowed under the terms and conditions under which it was purchased or as strictly permitted by applicable copyright law. Any unauthorized distribution or use of this text may be direct infringement of the author's rights and those responsible may be liable in law accordingly.

This is a work of fiction and any resemblances between the characters and persons living or dead is purely coincidental.

ALL WORKS BY KAITLYN DAVIS

A Dance of Dragons

The Shadow Soul

The Spirit Heir

The Phoenix Born

A Dance of Dragons – The Novellas

The Golden Cage

The Silver Key

The Bronze Knight

The Iron Rider

Once Upon A Curse

Gathering Frost

Withering Rose

Chasing Midnight – Coming Soon!

Midnight Fire

Ignite

Simmer

Blaze

Scorch

To my family for their unconditional love,

my friends for their overwhelming support,

and my fans for their incredible enthusiasm.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

All Works by Kaitlyn Davis

Dedication

Table of Contents

World Map

Chapter One

Chapter Two

Chapter Three

Chapter Four

Chapter Five

Chapter Six

Chapter Seven

The Phoenix Born

Join the Newsletter

About the Author

(Back to Table of Contents)

ONE

For the twelfth morning in a row, Leena woke with the unmistakable urge to vomit. Slowly peeling her eyes open, she glanced from side to side, knowing that the feeling might subside if she just didn’t move. If she just waited it out. So, she completed her morning ritual—counting the wooden slabs on the walls around her. Fifteen up on the left. Twenty-five across the ceiling. Fourteen down on the right.

Leena closed her eyes, sighing, shaking her head just barely.

Fourteen. Why?

Twelve days on this ship, twelve days locked away in the first mate’s cabin, twelve days of seasickness, twelve days of traveling away from her homeland, and still, that little bit of asymmetry bothered her more than anything else. If there were fifteen wooden boards on the left wall, why weren’t there also fifteen on the right? Why fourteen? Why?

And just like that, the nausea subsided a little. But Leena knew better than to trust that slight sense of ease, because many a morning she had stood too soon, only to run to the nearest bucket and empty her stomach. Instead, she focused her gaze on the small circular window to her left, and the white stone wall waiting just out of reach.

Rayfort.

They had arrived almost two days ago. An eternity to Leena as she sat in this room, unable to leave the ship without the captain’s permission, something that was starting to seem impossible.

Twelve days ago, her dear friend Tam had given her stolen information, secrets revealing her father’s plan to destroy Whylkin, secrets revealing that Prince Whylrhen and his kingdom were in dire need of her help. Armed with that knowledge, Leena ran—barely escaping King Razzaq’s guards, fleeing to the depths of the ocean, pretending to drown in the harsh waters of the Dueling Sea. But in truth, she had used her ability to breathe underwater to hide at the base of a ship’s anchor. And only when the captain set sail, raising his anchor, was she found out. But by then, the docks of Da’astiku were barely in sight. A simple bribe was all it took, as Leena had suspected. She offered an entire bag full of jewels in return for safe passage. Well, that, and the knowledge that if the captain turned the boat around to bring her home, she would tell her father he was an accomplice. And one needn’t be Ourthuri to understand what that meant—death.

For once, King Razzaq’s cruelty had worked to her advantage.

Leena sighed, pushing away the frustration that came with thinking of her homeland and her situation. Instead, she stood and got dressed, fighting the woozy feeling tightening her insides just long enough to prepare for the day ahead. Not that anything would change. But still, she walked to the window, opened it to let the breeze in, and turned her eyes to the docks, searching for the captain to return, as he promised he would—with the Whylkin King by his side. Until that happened, she was stuck in this room, locked in by a key the captain carried around his neck.

But as soon as her eyes took in the scene outside, Leena gasped.

The ships were gone.

Almost all of them, vanished.

Leena blinked, sticking her head through the opening, glancing at the empty rows of piers. The warships that had been surrounding her a day before were all gone. Closing her eyes tight, she winced.

The Whylkin princes were falling right into her father’s trap. A trap she should have been able to warn them about two days ago, before they sent their ships to their doom. Why must she always be one step behind? Farther away from her father than she had ever been before, and he was still controlling her, still beating her, still winning. Cursing, she slapped the wooden wall, biting back the pain of the sting, welcoming it in a way.

And then Leena noticed something else.

A lone figure. A woman in a pale lavender dress. A woman with short hair and dark skin. Was it possible?

Leena leaned a little farther out the window, as though a few inches would make the image clearer. They didn’t. But a pinch in her gut urged Leena to believe. Was it possible that the woman was Jinji, the girl who weeks before had spoken the very words

You've reached the end of this preview. Sign up to read more!
Page 1 of 1

Reviews

What people think about The Bronze Knight (A Dance of Dragons #2.5)

0
0 ratings / 0 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews