Start Reading

African American Heritage Super Pack #2: Courage and Perseverance

2,189 pages37 hours


This is the second entry in our important African American Heritage series. The history of African Americans is a long, grim history full of injustices and brutality. But it is also filled with courage and perseverance. Gathered here in this omnibus edition are ten books that exemplify courage and a willingness to fight against all odds and at any cost for what is right. These books shed light on a proud people who have been mistreated for hundreds of years, a people who have refused to give up and who continue to demand respect and their rightful place in our society.

Included in this edition are:
'My Larger Education' by Booker T. Washington;
'Narrative of Sojourner Truth' by Sojourner Truth;
'Character Building' by Booker T. Washington;
'Life and Times of Frederick Douglass' by Frederick Douglass;
'The Interesting Narrative of the Life of Olaudah Equiano' by Olaudah Equiano;
'Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave' by Frederick Douglass;
'Quicksand' by Nella Larsen;
'The Heroic Slave' by Frederick Douglass;
'The History of Mary Prince, a West Indian Slave' by Mary Prince; and
'The Souls of Black Folk' by W. E. B. Du Bois.

Read on the Scribd mobile app

Download the free Scribd mobile app to read anytime, anywhere.