Start Reading

The Secret Goldfish

Ratings:
224 pages3 hours

Summary

An extraordinary collection of short stories from an author who is set to become one of America’s leading literary voices.

In the tradition of Raymond Carver or Tobias Wolff, these are all-encompassing stories of the American psyche, of love and loss and of the landscape and its people.

A goldfish circles in its bowl, refusing to die, becoming the silent focus of a difficult family life; a pianist loses his talents as he is forced to question the meaning of love and commitment. Through a blend of lyricism and humour, these stories of ordinary human dilemmas take flight and become mythical and universal. David Means is a rare writer who transports us to the heart of what it is to be human.

Read on the Scribd mobile app

Download the free Scribd mobile app to read anytime, anywhere.