Welcome to Scribd. Sign in or start your free trial to enjoy unlimited e-books, audiobooks & documents.Find out more
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Sree Current Affairs DECEMBER-32pages

Sree Current Affairs DECEMBER-32pages

Ratings: (0)|Views: 8,487|Likes:
Published by 9290010274
Sree Current Affairs DECEMBER-32pages
Sree Current Affairs DECEMBER-32pages

More info:

Published by: 9290010274 on Dec 05, 2012
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





Disclaimer : All Readers of this book undertake responsibility for the relevance and accuracy of its content. The Publisher cannot Guarantee the accuracy andReliability of Content.
Honours & Awards-2News Makers-5Science Snippets-7Defence-8Summits-9Space Science-12Environment-13Sports-14Deaths-15Economic Scenario-16NationalRound-Up-18International Round-Up-20Knowledge Capsules-23Banking Awareness-26(For Bank PO & Clerks Exams)Current MCQ Capsules-28
Current News & Events
Honours & AwardsBolt named World Athlete of the Year
Usain Bolt has won the IAAF World Athlete of the Year award for the fourth time over United States hurdler  Aries Merritt and Kenyan runner DavidRudisha. The Jamaican sprinter, whodefended his 100 and 200 meter goldmedals at this summer’s OlympicGames, had previously won the award in2008, 2009, and 2011.United States sprinter Allyson Felixwon the women’s World Athlete of the Year award. The other finalistswere Valerie Adams and Jessica Ennis. The awards were announcedon the final day of the IAAF’s 100th anniversary celebration.
Rashtrakavi RamdhariSingh ‘Dinkar’ SahityaRatna Samman
The President of India, ShriPranab Mukherjee 23rd November,2012 gave away RashtrakaviRamdhari Singh ‘Dinkar’ SahityaRatna Samman to 21 prominentwriters and social workers at afunction organized in RashtrapatiBhavan. On the occasion, thePresident recalled the contributionof Shri Ramdhari Singh ‘Dinkar’ inthe freedom struggle and hisservice to Hindi literature. He alsocalled upon the Indian writers tobring international laurels to thecountry through their writings.
Three Indian WritersShortlisted for DSC SouthAsian Literature Prize2013
Three Indian writers- UdayPrakash, Amitav Ghosh and JeetThayil were shortlisted for the USDollar 50,000 DSC South AsianLiterature Prize 2013. The namesof shortlisted candidates wereannounced on 21 November 2012in London. Others who wereshortlisted for the prize includePakistani novelists Jamil Ahmadand Mohammed Hanif as well asTahmina Anam of Bangladesh.Only contender from beyond theboundaries of Indian Subcontinentis Jason Grunebaum who is the American Writer, academic andtranslator. Amitav Ghosh has beenchosen for River of Smoke, JeetThayil for the debut novelNarcopolis and Uday Prakash for The Walls of Delhi.Well known litterateur K.Satchidanandan chairing the jurysaid that the list representeddiversity of the South Asian fictionin terms of idiom and theme. Theseworks, according to the jurymember were stylisticallyinnovative, thematically fresh andhave a definitive contribution to thegenre of novels. Another member of PrizeSteering Committee, ManhadNarula, described these novels aswell balanced and excellent whichrepresent finest writing of South Asian region.The winner of the prize isscheduled to be announced on 25January 2013 at DSC Jaipur Literature Festival.
Gavaskar conferred withCol. CK Nayudu LifetimeAchievement Award
Sunil Gavaskar, the Former Captain and legendary opener of Indian Cricket Team on 21November 2012 was conferred withBCCI’s prestigious Col. CKNayudu Lifetime Achievement Award at the BCCI Annual AwardsFunction 2011-12. SachinTendulkar, Virat Kohli and V.V.S.Laxman were also felicitated at theaward ceremony.The Lifetime Achievement Award given to Gavaskar carried acitation, trophy and a cheque for 25lakh Rupees and he received thisaward from the BCCI president N.Srinivasan.Sachin Tendulkar washonoured at the occasion with agold-plated bat for scoring thecentury of centuries in internationalcricket. Kohli was chosen as theBest Indian International Player of 

Activity (22)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 thousand reads
1 hundred reads
Gangadri524 liked this
Gangadri524 liked this
Gangadri524 liked this
jeravi84 liked this
Phani Krishna liked this
Sourav Dey liked this
arief2437 liked this
Sathish Kumar liked this

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->