Welcome to Scribd. Sign in or start your free trial to enjoy unlimited e-books, audiobooks & documents.Find out more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword
Like this
1Activity
0 of .
Results for:
No results containing your search query
P. 1
Pioneer Review, June 13, 2013

Pioneer Review, June 13, 2013

Ratings: (0)|Views: 119|Likes:
Published by surfnewmedia

More info:

Published by: surfnewmedia on Jun 12, 2013
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

07/18/2013

pdf

text

original

 
$
1
00
Includes Tax
A Publication of Ravellette Publications, Inc., Philip, South Dakota 57567. The Official Newspaper of Haakon County, South Dakota. Copyright 1981.
Number 42Vlume 107
June 13, 2013
Market Report
12 Pr Winter Wheat...................$6.93Any Pr.....................................$6.3314 Pr Spring Wheat...................$744Crn..............................................$6.37SFS Birdseed.............................$22.00NEW CRoP 201312 Pr Winter Wheat...................$6.8914 Pr Spring Wheat...................$734
Glf clinic
10
MidlandhstsSIMtruck
8
Legals in thisweek’s issue:
Prceedings -City f Philip
11 & 12
cntinued n page
2
by Bob WelchRegister-Guard columnistEugene, Oregon
Just before the “Heroes AmongUs” Memorial Day Service beganMonday at West Lawn MemorialPark and Funeral Home, he shuf-fled down the aisle to a spot in thefront row reserved for him.When 88-year-old William “Bill”Kunkle of Harrisburg was seated,Musgrove Family Mortuary Fu-neral Director Dee Harbison whis-pered to him: “Mr. Kunkle, at theend of the service, we’d like tohonor you with the ceremonialflag.”Kunkle wondered if there hadbeen some mistake, he said later. A guy who’d been sent home fromHawaii by the Navy because he’dbeen so emotionally wracked bywar?Kunkle looked at Harbison. Hiseyes glistened. His head noddedslightly.To his right, tucked into the nookreserved for families during funer-als, singers from Willamette High’sTopnotchers musical ensemble no-ticed Kunkle.“He had this sad lip quiver,” saidJarom Jenkins, a 16-year-old soph-omore. “He had this blank stare onhis face, as if thinking of all themen he’d met back then whoweren’t here.”Later, during a song, Jenkinshimself appeared on the verge of tears.“Some of the singers were gettingpretty choked up,” Kunkle noticed.As I sat beside him – I was one of the speakers – I’m not sure Bill un-derstood why the teenagers were soemotional, that it was largely be-cause of him.This is a column about a bridgemade of music, spanning thechasm between a generation leav-ing our world and a generationthat’s inheriting it.Since 2007, the Topnotchershave sung at the three MemorialDay services each year that Mus-grove puts on to honor vets. It’s aneight-hour time commitment on avacation day.“I’ve never heard a single stu-dent complain about doing this,”said Topnotchers Director MikeMcCornack.“It’s personal for me,” said seniorNicholas Silva, whose family treehas plenty of military leaves. “It’stouching to see these men hon-ored.”Earlier in the day, as a steadyrain fell on the Springfield Memo-rial Gardens chapel, the 16-mem-ber group – eight girls, eight boys – had opened the first ceremony with“The Star Spangled Banner.”When the group sang a militarymedley – a song for each majorbranch of service – vets were askedto stand during their respective an-thems. A few stood up with uneasylooks chiseled on their faces.“When I saw that, I just startedcrying,” said senior TopnotcherEllie Thompson. “I had to lookaway to compose myself. We’re soyoung and haven’t experiencedanything like what they did.”“It was like you were looking not just at people but the stories intheir eyes,” Silva said.At a second event, at Lane Me-morial Gardens’ much-smallerchapel on West 11th Avenue, theTopnotchers – the girls in sleeve-less dresses – had to stand outsidein a blustery wind until time fortheir three appearances.
Music connects oldest andyoungest generations
Bill Kunkle is given the ceremnial flag after a Memrial Day service at WestLawn Memrial Park & Funeral Hme. (Bb Welch/The Register-Guard)
by Nancy Haigh
Issues with a previously ap-proved plat, legal land descriptionsalong the Cheyenne River andgrader payments highlighted theJune 4 Haakon County Commis-sion meeting. At last month’s meeting theboard approved a plat for FredHoag for land north of Highway 14and east of Highway 73. Abuttinglandowners, Michael and JaniceSchofield, had concerns with theplat and the recently completedsurvey, stated Auditor PatriciaFreeman. “Michael said the marksare off. He is talking about hiring asurveyor and having it redone,” shesaid. “Michael has even said if boundaries are put where theyshould be, it would be advanta-geous to Fred. He just wants itdone right.”Don Jacobson, Ft. Pierre sur-veyor, and Haakon County Regis-ter of Deeds Traci Radway lookedat the plat and noticed that it hadbeen revised, with dates of revisionnoted on the plat. The revision tookplace after the commission ap-proved the plat at the May 7, 2013,meeting. Jacobson noted that asurveyor is not suppose to revise anapproved plat.The question of easements beingpart of the plat was discussed. Rad-way noted that easements are notsupposed to be on the plats.Jacobson suggested that theboard have State’s Attorney GayTollefson review the plat and therevision issues for legal status.Toni Rhodes, director of equal-ization, met with the board regard-ing land parcel legal descriptionsalong the Cheyenne River.She noted that over the past 100plus years the river has changed itscourse, in some areas a great deal.This has created issues with thelegal descriptions, which need to becorrected. Rhodes noted that theCentral South Dakota Enhance-ment District employees have of-fered to help with the project. Theestimated cost would be just over$2,000. Rhodes asked if her office’sbudget could be supplemented by$3,000, giving the project someextra funds if needed.Rhodes noted that there areabout 274 parcels along the riverthat are affected. Commissioner EdBriggs noted that the riverbed’schange does not affect the borderdesignation, that will always be theriverbed reflected on the 1891 map.Commission Chairman SteveClements noted the goal would notbe to gain taxes, but to have thelegal descriptions straightened out.The board approved the $3,000request with the funds coming outof the contingency fund.Judy Goldhammer, First West-ern Insurance, Wall, reviewedHaakon County’s policy for build-ings and their contents, vehiclesand other items. Goldhammernoted that while some areas showsome increase, it was typically dueto newer equipment and/or moreequipment.The board approved a requestfrom the Philip Arena Associationfor a special liquor license for thematched bronc ride, June 14. Thetabled approval of T-34’s liquor li-cense as the owner has not yet sub-mitted an application.Haakon County Sheriff FredKoester and Emergency ManagerLola Roseth were added as contactsto the rangeland fire protectionagreement the county has with thestate. Approved was a raffle request forthe Wall youth football league. Theleague has several Philip partici-pants who will also be selling tick-ets.The annual contract with Cen-tral South Dakota EnhancementDistrict was approved with a mem-bership payment of $5,618.50.Freeman reported that the SouthDakota Department of Game, Fishand Parks submitted that anamount of $4,349.92 was appropri-ated for 2014 animal damage con-trol for the county. Alex Kulesza, Butler MachineryCompany, Rapid City, finalized thepayments schedule for the threenew graders with the commission-ers. The yearly payments for fiveyears is $51,323.68. The board ap-proved the supplement of fundsfrom the road and bridge surplusproperty fund in the amount of $429,600, and $100,000 from eachof capital outlay and swap funds tothe road and bridge budget. The$429,600 is the monies receivedfrom the sale of the three surplusedmachines.Kenny Neville, highway depart-ment superintendent, updated thecommissioners on his department’sactivities. He was approved to at-tend the summer highway superin-tendent meeting in Pierre, June 12and 13. The board also approvedthe designation of Dwight Slovekas highway department foremanand also the corresponding wageincrease. Slovek replaces HughHarty, who recently retired.Reports reviewed included thesheriff’s report and the Extensionoffice report. Tabled reports werethe auditor/treasurer, veteran’sservice officer, treasurer, registerof deeds and county health nurse.The meeting minutes from May7, 2013, and last month’s warrantswere approved.The board entered into an execu-tive session to discuss personnel forapproximately one hour. No actionwas taken following the session.The board will meet Tuesday,July 2, beginning at 9:00 a.m. forbudget discussion with the regularmeeting to follow.
Commissioners discuss land issues
by Del Bartels
At approximately 12:35 p.m.,Tuesday, June 4, the 30-bed PhilipNursing Home facility was en-gulfed in a mock fire.Flames were detected in thenorth wing. The disaster was min-imalized through practiced proce-dures, assistance from multipledepartments, and the organizedevacuation of all residents and per-sonnel.Before emergency responderscould arrive, though all doors hadbeen closed immediately, smokehad billowed to the south hall.Eventually the injured list wouldinclude two smoke inhalation vic-tims and one resident with aburned hand.The exercise included nursinghome staff, Philip city police, theHaakon County Sheriffs Office,Philip Volunteer Fire Department,Philip Ambulance Service, HaakonCounty Emergency Manager LolaRoseth, disaster coordinator LindaSmith, and inspectors from thestate level.There were seemingly more peo-ple carrying clipboards and takingnotes than were actually involvedin the drill. Exclamations, made atcritical moments, included, “Smokein the south hall!,” “We need acount!,” “The firemen have ar-rived!,” “Smoke has infiltrated thewhole building!,” “Caroline is miss-ing!,” “Foot pedals on all wheel-chairs!,” “We’ve been around thebuilding twice!,” “We’ve foundher!,” and “The head count is good!”Personnel were with the resi-dents out on the neighboring lawn.Beds, wheelchairs and regularchairs were used. Attending to theresidents after the evacuationwould be part of the debriefing.At approximately 1:00 p.m., thefire was under control and the res-idents were being brought back totheir rooms. At approximately 1:15p.m. the debriefing began.Though the drill was supposed tobe as realistic as possible, PhilipHealth Services, Inc. Chief Execu-tive Officer Kent Olson admittedthat there was a degree of “artifi-ciality.” “It’s supposed to be a cre-ation of confusion,” he said, andadded, “We do internal fire drillsall the time.” People wearing iden-tifying vests helped direct the sce-nario, and they would be part of thedebriefing immediately followingthe disaster.Each year, the state of SouthDakota and Federal EmergencyManagement Agency require eachcounty emergency management tohave a preapproved full scale exer-cise, tabletop exercise, functionalexercise or a drill. Last year’s emer-gency management scenario was amock flooding in the county.This year the requirement was afull scale exercise. A scenario,which is decided by the capabilitiesthe organization wants to test, waswritten. Philip Health Services,Inc., also needed to conduct an ex-ercise, so PHSI and Roseth joinedforces for this year’s training. Thecapabilities tested were communi-cations, on-site incident manage-ment, citizen evacuation andshelter in place. The two liaisonsfrom the state were BradMaskovich, state exercise coordina-tor with the Department of PublicSafety, and Tyle Spomer, regionalcoordinator with the South DakotaOffice of Emergency Management.
Mock fire at Philip Nursing Home
Evacuatin was begun immediately. Head cunts f residents and persnnelwere repeatedly dne. All the while, drs were being clsed t limit the speedf the mck fire, first respnders were arriving, triage was dne n injured indi-viduals, and clipbards were filled with ntes fr the later debriefing n the mckemergency at the Philip Nursing Hme.
Photo by Del Bartels
The driveway was blcked with a vehicle s nninvlved visitrs wuldn’t causeany real danger t the residents r persnnel wh gathered utside the PhilipNursing Hme. The mck fire was this year’s cunty disaster training evaluatin.
by Del Bartels
The 71st annual session of the American Legion Boys State of South Dakota convened on thecampus of Northern State Univer-sity, Aberdeen, May 27 throughMay 31, with 360 young men be-tween their junior and senior yearsattending.Wheeler-Brooks American Le-gion Post #173, Philip, sponsoredGavin Brucklacher and Brian Pfei-fle to attend. The post’s auxiliarysponsored Madison Hand to attendthe South Dakota Girls State, May27 through June 1, at the Univer-sity of South Dakota, Vermillion.Midland’s American Legion #143sponsored Chauncey Trapp to at-tend Boys State.Hand did not really know whatto expect. “... all I knew was that itwould be a very different experi-ence for me. Once there, I wastaken back by how little I actuallyknew about the government,” saidHand.“Boys state was a great experi-ence, especially to kick-start mysenior year. I’d go back in a heart-beat if I had the chance,” statedBrucklacher. He was elected as acity alderman and chief of police forthe city of Washington D.C., countycommissioner, and was the partychairman for his city. He was alsoin the Boys State band.Pfeifle believed the best partwas, “all the people I met and howmuch fun I had there. It was amemorable experience and I’m gladI did it.” He added, “I learned aboutthe government. I didn’t know howmuch went into it. It’s a really bigprocess. I learned a lot there.”“It was enjoyable to spend aweek learning about our state gov-ernment, the federal government,the different court systems andeven law enforcement,” said Hand.She said that what made GirlsState most impressive was howreal they made everything seem.By splitting up all the girls intocities, counties, and then later sep-arating them into two different po-litical parties –Federalists andNationalists –it made the experi-ence very real. The studentsdrafted bills and presented them tothe House and Senate to try to getthem passed.Over 60 volunteer staff membersfrom local, county and state gov-ernment along with members of the South Dakota Army NationalGuard, colleges and universities,and associations in South Dakotaassisted the American Legion inpresenting the program. Activitiesincluded legislative sessions, courtproceedings, assemblies, law en-forcement, presentations, bands,chorus and recreational programs.“I think the funnest thing forme,” said Pfeifle, “was we werehaving a tug-of-war and were win-ning, when the three biggest guyswe had just fell down and we lost.It made me laugh.”Brucklacher was part of the band
American Legion Boys/Girls State
Gavin Brucklacher.
Courtesy photos
Madisn Hand with Suth Dakta Gv-ernr Dennis Daugaard.Brian Pfeifle.cntinued n page
8
RangeDaysand SilDays
3
 
E-MAIL ADDRESSES:ADS: ads@pioneer-review.comNEWS: newsdesk@pioneer-review.comSUBSCRIPTIONS: subscriptions@pioneer-review.com
Ravellette Publications is happy to receive letters concerning comments on any newsstory or personal feeling on any subject. We do reserve the right to edit any offensive ma-terial and also to edit to fill the allotted space. We also reserve the right to reject any or allletters.Our deadline for insertion in the Thursday issue is the preceding Monday at 5:00 p.m.Letters intended for more than one Ravellette Publications newspaper should be mailedor hand delivered to each individual newspaper office. All letters
must
bear the originalsignature, address and telephone number of the author.
POLITICAL LETTERS TO THE EDITOR:
No political letters are to run the two weeksprior to an election.The “Letters” column is intended to offer readers the opportunity to express their opin-ions. It is not meant to replace advertising as a means of reaching people.This publication’s goal is to protect the first amendment guarantee of free speech. Your comments are welcomed and encouraged.
The Pioneer Review • P.O. Box 788 • Philip, SD 57567-0788(605) 859-2516 • FAX: (605) 859-2410
Ravellette Publications, Inc.
Letters Policy 
Opinion / Community
Thursday, June 13, 2013 • The Pineer Review •
Page 2
P
ioneer 
eview 
Philip, SD U.S.P.S. 433-780
Subscription Rates
: For Haakon, Jackson,and Jones counties, Creighton, Wall, Quinn,Marcus, Howes, Plainview, and Hayes ad-dresses: $36.00 per year (+ Tax); Elsewhere:$42.00 per year.
South Dakota residents are required to pay sales tax.
Periodicals postage paid at Philip, SD.Postmaster, send change of address noticeto:
Pioneer Review,
PO Box 788, Philip, SD57567; or FAX to: 605/859-2410.
Website Subscription Rate:
$36.
E-mail address:
subscriptions@pioneer-review.com
website: www.pioneer-review.comEstablished in 1906.
The Pioneer Review, the official newspaper of Haakon County, the towns of Philip and Mid-land, and Haakon School District 27-1 is pub-lished weekly by Ravellette Publications, Inc.
Pioneer Review 
office is located at 221 E. OakStreet in Philip, South Dakota.
Phone: (605) 859-2516;FAX: (605) 859-2410;e-mail: ads@pioneer-review.comCopyrighted 1981:
Ravellette Publications,Inc. All rights reserved. Nothing may bereprinted, photocopied, or in any way repro-duced from this publication, in whole or in part,without the written consent of the publisher.
DEADLINES:
Display & Classified
Advertising:
Tuesdays at 11:00 a.m. (MT)
Legals:
Fridays at 5:00 p.m. (MT)
Publisher:
Don Ravellette
Gen. Mgr. of Operations/Ad Design:
Kelly Penticoff 
Editor/News Reporter:
Del Bartels
Reporter/Ad Design:
Nancy Haigh
Ad Sales:
Beau Ravellette
SouthDakotaNewspaperAssociation
Thursday:Partly cludy with a chance f athunderstrm and rain. Fg early. High f81F. Breezy. Winds frm the SE at 15t 20 mph. Chance f rain 20%. Thurs-day Night:overcast in the evening,then mstly cludy. Fg vernight. Lw f61F. Breezy. Winds frm the ESE at 15 t 20 mph.Friday:Partly cludy. Fg early.High f 79F. Breezy. Windsfrm the SSW at 10 t 20mph. Friday Night: Partlycludy. Fg vernight.Lw f 55F. Breezy. Winds frmthe Nrth at 10 t 25 mph.Sunday:Clear with a chance f a thunder-strm. High f 81F. Winds frm the ENE at5 t 15 mph. Chance f rain 20%. Sun-day Night:Partly cludy with a chance fa thunderstrm. Fg vernight. Lw f 55F.Winds frm the East at 10 t 15 mph. Chance f rain40% with rainfall amunts near 0.2 in. pssible.Saturday:Mstly cludy with a chance f athunderstrm. High f 81F. Winds frm theNNE at 5 t 10 mph. Chance f rain 30%.Saturday Night:Partly cludy with achance f a thunderstrm. Fg vernight. Lwf 57F. Winds frm the NE at 10 t 15 mph. Chance frain 50% with rainfall amunts near 0.2 in. pssible.
Get yur cmplete& up-t-the-minutelcal frecast:
pineer-review.cm
Lookin’ Around
by Syd Iwan
Is it possible to work too hard athaving fun? I suspect it might be.Take the RV that I passed on thefreeway the other day. Here wasthis huge brown RV rolling downthe road with a car hooked on be-hind. Two canoes were strapped tothe top of the car and three bicycleson the back of it. One more bikewas strapped to the back of the RV.“My goodness!” I thought. “Thesepeople are working really hard athaving a good time!”And, for them, it might be quitea lot of fun. I don’t know for sure.It would be a little tedious for me.There you are driving this smalltrain many miles to get to an inter-esting destination. Then you’dhave to find a place to park and getset up with electrical and plumb-ing connections after making surethe RV was fairly level. You’d prob-ably have to take down the canoesand bikes and get all settled in.This would take quite a bit of time.Naturally, you wouldn’t want tomiss anything so you might see if the park had a decent pool and gofor a swim. Other local attractionsshould really be checked out aswell.All in all, I had no envy at all forthe family or group that was trav-eling around in this mobile fun ma-chine. I maybe could handledriving to some resort, setting upand staying there for a week or so,but moving this rig to new loca-tions every day would soon try mypatience. I had a travel trailer fora while and pulled it from SouthCarolina back home to the ranchafter being in the Navy. It wassomewhat enjoyable, but nothingI’d care to repeat at this point inmy life. I think of the time some-where in Kentucky or Tennesseewhen I was going over some moun-tains, and my car vapor locked andwould barely move. “Now what amI going to do?” I wondered. I had vi-sions of being stalled out on asteep, winding mountain road witha defunct car pulling a trailer.Luckily, things righted themselvesafter a cool-down, and I could con-tinue on and arrive home with nomajor problems. I parked thetrailer at the ranch where it sat ayear or two until someone offeredto buy it. I sold it. My trailer dayswere over. I had some good timesin that camper and don’t regrethaving had it for a few years, butit was time to move on to otherthings. I figured there were easierways to have fun.Wife Corinne and I feel some-what similar when we watch therevelry going on in Times Squareon New Year’s Eve. Everyone islaughing, and shouting, and appar-ently having quite a grand time.Personally, Corinne and I have nodesire at all to stand around out-side all bundled up against the coldand waiting for some silly ball todrop, signaling the beginning of anew year. It always looks to us likethose folks in Time Square are try-ing awfully hard to have a goodtime. More power to them, butdon’t expect us to join them any-time soon.Part of my aversion to manufac-tured fun has to do with beingraised on a ranch. You simply haveto travel too far to find a party, andsometimes the roads are muddy orsnow covered to boot. It is easier tofind simpler things for entertain-ment such as walks on the prairie,a dip in the stock dam on a hot day,fishing, watching a sunset, and thelike.Additionally, seeking constantpleasure seems a bit shallow as alife’s goal. Isn’t it somewhat betterto accomplish useful things in life?It seems that way to me anyway.What is ideal is when your work isenjoyable. For many of us, ranch-ing often fills the bill. Being out-side tending critters has some badtimes, but also many good ones. Ialso find it satisfying to providemusic at church on Sunday, writedown various observations on life,and help take care of my young sonwho can’t do a lot of things for him-self. I also like fiddling with com-puters, practicing the piano,reading books, eating a tasty meal,and just enjoying life in general. Iseem to have no need to search forpleasure. It’s all around me. All Ihave to do is enjoy it.For instance, I’ve just finishedwriting this which took some con-centration, typing, and computerfiddling. Next I should practice thepiano in getting things ready forchurch tomorrow. After that, Ihave some shrimp needing to becooked up with pasta, tomatoes,mushrooms and cheese. Spongecake with cream-cheese frosting isavailable for dessert. Take a guess.Would I rather be right here lead-ing the simple life or traveling thecountry in a huge RV trailing a carwith attached boats and bikes? Yep, you’re right. Home is wherethe heart is, and right now myheart is glad to be at home.
HAAKON CO. PUBLIC LIBRARY …
will be open on Friday,June 14, from 10:00 to 5:00 during Scotty Philip Days.
DURING SCOTTY PHILIP (FESTIVAL) DAYS …
the Commu-nity Betterment Committee is sponsoring a food drive for the Coun-try Cupboard. If you can help, please place nonperishable fooddonations in the box at the Bad River Senior Citizen’s Center.
To have your NON-PROFIT meeting listed here, please sub-mit them by calling: 859-2516, or e-mailing to: ads@pioneer-review. com. We will run your event notice the twoissuespriortoyoureventat no charge. PLEASE KEEP IN MIND,if you charge for an event, we must charge you for an ad!
“We could have renamed thegroup The Popsicles,” McCornacksaid.Again, no complaints from thesingers.Afterward, those helping put onthe services – including Boy ScoutTroop No. 60 – gathered at WestLawn Memorial Garden for a quicklunch before the final service. TheTopnotchers serenaded with an im-promptu trio of light songs.“It was like we all needed anemotional release, to take a breathand lighten things up a bit,” Mc-Cornack said.But if the mood lightened, thatsoon changed when Bill Kunkleshuffled down the aisle and tookhis front-row seat for the finale.He had been featured in TheRegister-Guard’s World War II se-ries in December 2011. So anxiousto serve, he’d altered his birth cer-tificate before his interview withthe Marines so it looked as if hewere 18 instead of 16.By the time he was found out,Kunkle had joined the Navy.He became a medical corpsman atPearl Harbor Naval Hospital,treating mainly burn victims of Japan’s Dec. 7, 1941, surprise aer-ial attack.After 16 months, he was so shell-shocked and guilt-ridden about notbeing able to save dying men thatthe Navy sent him home and hon-orably discharged him. By his ownadmission, he has never recovered.“I would sit with these guys andwatch them die,” he said, “andthere was nothing I could do forthem.”When he saw an ad for the Me-morial Day service, despite a fearof large gatherings – and concernfrom his wife – something drewhim to West Lawn’s chapel. Andwhen Musgrove’s Harbison learnedwho he was, she escorted him, hisson and his daughter-in-law to thefront, about 10 feet from the off-to-the-side Topnotchers.“They were so professional,”Kunkle said. “As good a group asI’ve heard – and just high schoolkids.”The emotions built as the Top-notchers sang.“To us it’s just songs,” Jenkinssaid. “To them it’s memories.”The group’s final song was“America the Beautiful.”“Coming near the end of theservice, that song is like putting ona blanket after shivering throughsome difficult spots,” McCornacksaid.Honor guards Adam Knutsonand Jake Knutson, brothers withthe Oregon Army National Guard,unfolded and refolded the Ameri-can flag, then presented it to Kun-kle.He took it and held it to his chestlike a mother might hold a new-born.“It was one of the greatest daysof my life,” Kunkle later told me. “Iam so grateful.” Though unworthy,he added.I disagreed.With the service over, Kunklewas surrounded by well-wishers.Junior Kelsie Loomis, one of theTopnotchers, stepped in front of him.“Sir,” she said, eyes pleading,“can I get a hug?”And on this Memorial Day, twodisparate generations became one,melded by tears that neithershould have felt ashamed to shed.
Follow Welch on Twitter@bob_welch. He can be reached at541-338-2354 or bob.welch@regis-terguard.com.
Welch:
Students see“the stories in their eyes”
cntinued frm page
1
 
Make your opinion known … write a letter to the editor!
Fax signed copy to 859-2410or e-mail with your phone number to:newsdesk@pioneer-review.com
In so many ways
... by Del Bartels 
The list is endless of how we individually recall our fathers. Eventhe same memories can seem to run the gamut from smothering andvicarious to keeping an aloof distance. A curious combination of wordscan fly us back to our younger years, because that was how dad usedto say those words. A scent, be it of car oil, pipe tobacco or an after-shave, can put Dad right in front of us. The way the water blindinglyreflects the sun through the reeds, the three-toned car rumbling by onthe road, the worn easy chair at a yard sale, all make the eye blink andwe see Dad. The heat of a carpet burn from roughhousing in the livingroom, the slime of grease from a old engine, a dusty and gritty coat of dirt reminiscent of the ball park, all are touches of Dad.Remember being spanked? Or was the disappointment in Dad’s eyesover your behavior a far worse punishment? Was it a laugh and a chal-lenging “Oh, yeah?” or a quiet aging behind the eyes when you firstcalled him “Old man?” As a son, did you really have “the talk” aboutgirls with him? As a daughter, did your first few dates actually facethe traditional inquisition with him when the young men picked youup? Was it an unspoken truth that Dad could actually do the dishes if Mom asked or she had to be gone for a few days?“Daddy, Daddy, don’t let go of the bike!” And he had already let goand was trying to not gasp for air while jogging alongside.It was not Mom’s place, but was Dad’s duty to break the news to youabout your childhood dog. At the time, only Mom thought to suspectthat while Dad was digging the final resting place, he was crying, too.One day you found Dad’s wallet still on his dresser, and a photo of you was in it. Those silly pictures of you from grade school are hiddenaway in the albums, but guess who has them memorized? Mom finallybreaks down and takes some of your art work off of the refrigerator,and, mysteriously, someone puts them back up. Mom may be the onewho phoned repeatedly to check on you when they were gone that firsttime overnight, but you could hear her reporting to him as if he hadinsisted on the calls. You may be 75, but Dad still calls you kid.Who taught you the difference between a regular and Phillips screw-driver? Who didn’t care much for Monopoly, but once pressured intoplaying could beat you every time? You get up for a drink of water, andwho is still staring at the TV, and its a sob story movie?He may be almost perfect in your eyes, but it is Dad who alwayswants his kids to do better than he did. It’s one thing to see Mom hold-ing her newborn grandchild, it’s another to see Dad doing the samething. Everybody tells stories, but whose are listened to more intentlybecause those stories are of events seldom spoken of? It’s unsettlingthat, the older you get, the smarter your Dad was.And we who hold dear such memories of our fathers in these and somany other ways, we say back to them, “I love you, too, Dad.”Seeing so many friends, class-mates and former teacher connec-tions in Milesville several weeksago has brought back so many fondmemories.We thought that when we movedback to western South Dakota sev-eral years ago we would be able tospend more time in the Philip area.But following Sonny’s stroke wehaven’t been able to travel as muchas we’d like. However, we havekept in touch with the happeningsin the area and enjoyed readingabout so many of you through thePioneer Review.We will be moving to the SiouxFalls area sometime later this yearand hope we will be able to seesome of you and those we missedbefore we leave. However, if wedon’t, please know what a lastingmark you have made in our lives.It is obvious how much the Philiparea means to Sonny, since he wasborn and raised there. He loved thecustomers he served as if they werefamily. The time spent with formerclassmates was always a fun timeas I listened to all the stories andcame to know you in the commu-nity and at the reunions. However,it is the experience of coming toteach in the Milesville communitythat has left a lasting impressionon me.Leaving Sioux Falls nearly 40years ago and starting out on anadventure to teach at a countryschool was a life-changing event forme. I must admit that I was scaredand uncertain of what it would belike so far away from home. One of my family members said to me,“Philip, that’s out in the middle of nowhere.” I told them, “Well, I amgoing to teach 25 miles north of nowhere!” But the insecurity wassoon dismissed as I found myself immersed in a wonderful relation-ship of teaching some of the beststudents I would have the opportu-nity to work with through theyears. And far beyond the class-room the commitment of parentsand the hospitality of the commu-nity reached out and shared a wayof life that gave me a lasting appre-ciation for the people and the area.When I encountered difficult par-ents or troubling students in theyears to come, I would always re-member with fondness the years of teaching in those first years inMilesville.Far beyond a mere teaching ex-perience, I gained an appreciationof the beauty of the prairie and thedepth of character of the individu-als who worked the land. As I trav-eled north of Milesville on a clearday where the sky meets the earth,my thoughts would give way toemotions and I would marvel at thesimplistic beauty of God’s world.The words of the Psalms, “Howlovely is your dwelling place, OLord” come to mind as I thoughtthis must be a little bit of heavenon earth. The beauty of the coun-tryside and warmth of the commu-nity made my first years of teaching a memorable experience.Secondly, I would like to saythank you to the Pioneer Reviewand your area correspondents forbringing the news into our livesevery week. I must confess that formany years newspaper readingwas put behind work and family re-sponsibilities and I tried to findtime to read amidst the many de-mands of daily life. However, sinceI now read the paper to Sonnyweekly, it has become not only ameans of learning about commu-nity happenings but a reconnectionto the people we knew and loved.The news becomes a topic of con-versation throughout the week as Ihear, “Well, how about that ____ Iremember when ....”Thank you to the correspondentsfor your work in bringing the newsinto our lives each week. You arethe historians of today. For years tocome people will search the pagesof the Pioneer Review to find outabout their friends and familiesand the happenings of a time goneby.So we travel to the east to find ahome near family and medical fa-cilities, our hearts will always be inPhilip and surrounding areas, a bitof heaven on earth. Thanks for thememories!Sonny and Elsie (Ozzie) Baye/s/ Elsie BayeFaith, S.D.
Letter to the Editor
These yung entrepreneurs knw that a ht day and cld lemnade culd makefr a prfitable market niche. Still, the swimming pl was calling their names.Shwn, frm left, are Meghan Drury, Kamri Parsns, Autumn Parsns, MaysnDrury and McKennah Drury.
Photo by Del Bartels
Hot days and lemonade
Grssenburg Implement has dnated again t the Haakn/Jacksn Cunty 4-Hprgram. Shwn is Philip Manager Je Witte presenting a check fr $436.29 tCarrie Weller, 4-H advisr. Grssenburg’s Suth Dakta Fundatin dnates acertain amunt f funds fr each f its deceased members, instead f giving flw-ers, and the interest n that accunt is used t supprt 4-H and ccasinallyther endevurs. “We always have a need fr it,” said Weller. “This is a nice shtin the arm.” She explained that the lcal 4-H sends many kids t 4-H camps andleadership camps. This year’s participants in the Citizenship Washingtn (D.C.)Fcus will be Sam Stangle and Katie Haigh, wh will be in Washingtn, D.C. June15-22.
Photo by Del Bartels
Grossenburg donation
 
Thursday, June 13, 2013 • The Pineer Review •
Page 3
Rural Livin’
Farm Safety and EmployeeManagement
It was a bit of a coincidence thatone day when I was reflecting onthe HOSTA (Hazardous Occupa-tion and Safety Training in Agri-culture, or “Tractor Safety” School)that was recently held in Winner,I read an interesting entry in the journal type book by Ryan Taylor,“Cowboy Logic Family Style”.The theme of Ryan Taylor’sentry in the book was the virtue of his fathers’ management skills,and how he tries hard to treat peo-ple the same way, helped of courseby his upbringing. At least on afarm or ranch, one of the chal-lenges of a good manager (thatwould usually be the owner) iswhen employees (including theirchildren) have “farm wrecks.” For-tunately for the operator, most“farm wrecks” involve various de-grees of severity of damage to thepiece of farm machinery beingused, but not to the person at thecontrols. I can attest to this as Ihad several “farm wrecks” whilegrowing up and working for neigh-bors in my college years, yet re-mained relatively unscathed interms of personal injury.I can also agree with Ryan’s ob-servation of his father’s lack of yelling, screaming, chewing outand belittling of the “wrecker”, inthat such actions were about as ef-fective as yelling at cattle. I knowI deserved a good tongue lashingafter some of my wrecks, anddreaded how bad I might get itwhen the manager assessed thedamage. I don’t recall any severebelittling for my casualties, but doremember a variety of reactions. Ididn’t enjoy any of them, but theones farthest from the yelling,screaming and belittling end of thespectrum motivated me to do bet-ter in the future much more thanthe agitated ones.Unfortunately, too many “farmwrecks” do involve personal injuryor much worse. While the farmmanager/owner cannot control allof the unsafe acts their employeesdo, they can remove stress bytreating their help fairly and withrespect, maintain their equipmentand facilities with safety in mind,provide safety instruction and en-courage safe work habits.Four good ideas to control or re-duce accidents are: 1. If possible,remove the hazard, 2. If you can-not remove the hazard, guard it, 3.Educate the worker, and 4. Protectthe worker.Nic Uilk, Instructor in the Agand Biosystems Engineering De-partment at SDSU, coordinatedand taught the HOSTA programand did a great job of informingthe eight youth in attendanceabout the potential perils of work-ing on a farm or ranch. Nic plansto hold a series of HOSTA pro-grams next year at various loca-tions around the state. Fourteenand fifteen year old youth whoplan to work on a farm other thanfor their parents need to completethe requirements for a HOSTA certificate. Somewhat younger andolder youth, and those who will beworking for their parents are alsowelcome to attend. For more infor-mation on the HOSTA program,contact Nic Uilk at Nicholas.uilk@sdstate.edu or (605) 688-5675.
Extension News
by Bb FanningField Specialist, WinnerReginal Extensin Center
 

    
  
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
FirstNational Bank
859-2525 • Philip, SD
Since 1906www.fnbphilip.com
Member FDIC
That ’ol pickup had it?
Get PRE-APPROVED hereBEFORE you SHOP. You’ll make abetter “CASH” deal on thevehicle of your choice.


.(/)(%'!,*,%%*()*%
('*!)'*('*()-%)))#&#&
      
(()+,'",$()+,'
“The purpose of rangeland judg-ing is to provide an understandingof rangeland resources and a senseof stewardship in natural resourcemanagement,” noted Dave Ollilaon a South Dakota State Uni-veristy iGrow Web page.The 30th annual RangelandDays and ninth annual Soil Daysis set for June 25 and 26 atKadoka. Youth between the ages of eight and 18, as well as adults, willtest their rangeland knowledgeduring the two days. Youth are bro-ken up into four groups, basedupon their ages. Learning activitiesare designed for a variety of agegroups and expertise – startingwith plant morphology and identi-fication on up to judging habitatsuitability for cattle or grouse.The first day is spent on theprairie, learning about the proper-ties of rangeland resources andmanagement practices to employ.The second day the youth andadults apply this newly foundknowledge through scenarios cre-ated in a contest format.In addition, students have theopportunity to compete in cate-gories including informative dis-plays about rangeland, exhibitingstudent developed range plant col-lections and a speech contest onrange related topics. The studentparticipant with the highest cumu-lative score in each age divisionwill be award a “Top Hand” beltbuckle.The age divisons break out as fol-lows: New Rangers –eight to 10year olds, Wranglers –11-13 yearolds, Scouts –14-18 year olds withno previous range judging experi-ence and Go-Gettters 14-18 yearolds who have previous range eval-uation experience.The participants in 14-18 yearold (high school youth forum)speech contest will be competingfor the privilege to represent SouthDakota at the International Societyfor Range Management Conven-tion to be held in Orlando, Fla., inFebruary 2014. All travel expensesfor the student will be sponsored byS.D. Rangeland Days and theSouth Dakota Section of the Soci-ety for Range Management.The top placing 4-H range teamand 4-H soil team will representSouth Dakota at the NationalRange and Land judging contest inOklahoma City, Okla., the firstweek of May 2014.The Livestock Industry TrustFund, through the state 4-H organ-ization, sponsors a significant por-tion of the travel costs for thesestudents to attend.“Rangeland is a kind of land, nota land use. Rangeland is fragile,yet durable and resilient. Manage-ment profoundly impacts the simi-larity index, a measure of range-land condition that reflects itsvalue for livestock, wildlife and hu-mans. The purpose of rangeland judging is to provide an under-standing of rangeland resourcesand a sense of stewardship in nat-ural resource management,” saidOllila, an Extension sheep special-ist and technical contributor in or-ganizing the Rangeland Daysevent. Available on the Internet athttp://igrow.org/up/resources/07-2001-2012.pdf is a digital versionof the “Judging South DakotaRangelands for Livestock andWildlife Values manual.” “Thismanual describes a contest withcomponents that have a strong bi-ological basis for habitat manage-ment of both beef cattle and prairiegrouse. Beef cattle have been cho-sen because they are the most com-mon livestock species grazed onSouth Dakota rangelands. Oncestocking rates are determined forbeef cattle, conversions can bemade to determine stocking densi-ties of other grazing animals, suchas horses, sheep and goats. Prairiegrouse represent wildlife becausethey are affected by managementand have the potential to occurthroughout the state. There arethree primary species of prairiegrouse that inhabit the state: sharptailed grouse, prairie chicken, andsage grouse. Management canachieve many desired rangelanduses. Vegetation, livestock, andwildlife respond in a predictablemanner to range managementpractices,” said Ollila.Soil Days is an opportunity tolearn more about one of the mostimportant South Dakota resources.Students will learn how to deter-mine soil texture, soil depth, pasterosion, slope and stoniness. Theywill also learn how to interpret per-meability, surface runoff and limit-ing factors. From this informationthey will determine the land capa-bility class. This will allow them tomake recommended treatments forvegetation and mechanical erosioncontrol. Fertilization recommenda-tions will also be determined. Stu-dents will also learn about homesite evaluation. Adults who wish to receive eitheran undergraduate or graduatecredit for participating in the SoilDays portion should contact Ollilaat david.ollila@sd state.edu for asyllabus of the course expectations.Competition is individual andteam for all age groups. Teamsmay consist of three or four mem-bers from the county 4-H programor FFA chapter. A program commemorating the30th anniversary of RangelandDays, along with recognition of in-dividuals and organizationsthatwere instrumental over thepast 30 years, will be held justprior to the Tuesday evening mealat the Kadoka City Auditorium.The event is hosted by JacksonCounty Conservation District,Haakon County Conservation Dis-trict, SDSU Extension and NaturalResources Conservation Service.For more information contactMayola Horst, Jackson CountyConservation District manager at837-2242, ext. 3, or email mayola.horst@sd.nacdnet.net; or SheliaTrask, Haakon County Conserva-tion District manager, 859-2186,ext. 3 or email hccd@goldenwest.net.
Range and soil knowledge gained at event
 Yuth frm acrss Suth Dakta tk part in the 2012 Rangeland Days and SilDays near Philip.
Photo by Nancy Haigh
Arund Philip there are many architectural elements n buildings as well as ther items thatwe see n a daily basis. But, can yu identify them when given just an upclse snapsht?Here’s ne fr yu t try. The answer will be in the next week’s Pineer Review. (This is NoTa cntest and n prizes will be awarded!)
Photo by Nancy Haigh
Where is it? Look around town!
As the weather warms up andthe risk of mosquito bites in-creases, now is the time for SouthDakotans to get in the habit of using insect repellent to preventWest Nile Virus.“Just as we prepare for flu sea-son each fall, we need to be pre-pared for the West Nile Virus everysummer,” said Dr. Lon Kightlinger,state epidemiologist for the SouthDakota Department of Health.“West Nile Virus can be a serious,even fatal, illness but the goodnews is we can all reduce our riskwith a few simple precautions.”Kightlinger said people can pre-vent mosquito bites and reducetheir risk of West Nile by usingmosquito repellents (DEET, pi-caridin, oil of lemon eucalyptus, orIR3535) and limit exposure by cov-ering up. Limit time outdoors fromdusk to midnight when culex mos-quitoes are most active. Culex arethe primary carrier of West Nile inSouth Dakota. Get rid of stand-ing water that gives mosquitoes aplace to breed. Support local mos-quito control efforts.These precautions are especiallyimportant for people at high riskfor complications from West Nile.This includes individuals over 50,pregnant women, transplant pa-tients and people who have dia-betes, high blood pressure or ahistory of alcohol abuse.Since its first human West Nilecase in 2002, South Dakota has re-ported more than 2,000 cases, in-cluding 29 deaths. South Dakotacases have occurred as early asJune, but peak transmission isJuly through early September.Learn more about preventingWest Nile at the department’s web-site westnile.sd.gov, or the SouthDakota State University Extensionsite www.sdstate.edu/sdces/issues/wnv.cfm.
Prevent West Nile Virus

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->