Welcome to Scribd, the world's digital library. Read, publish, and share books and documents. See more
Download
Standard view
Full view
of .
Look up keyword or section
Like this
4Activity
P. 1
2011-2012 Program of Studies

2011-2012 Program of Studies

Ratings: (0)|Views: 1,264|Likes:
Published by Patrick Larkin
Burlington High's new Program of Studies
Burlington High's new Program of Studies

More info:

Categories:Types, Brochures
Published by: Patrick Larkin on Feb 07, 2011
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

11/14/2011

pdf

text

original

 
 
1
123 Cambridge Street
 Patrick M. Larkin
Burlington, MA 01803
 
Principal
(781) 270-1838
March, 2011Dear Parents and Students,It is a pleasure to share with you the
 Burlington High School
 
Program of Studies
for2011-2012. This Program of Studies has been developed so that our students will haveaccess to a well-rounded four-year educational program. As you review the content, Ibelieve that you will be impressed by the academic strength of the curriculum and thediversity of the curricular offerings. The courses offered at Burlington High are designedto foster the scholastic achievement, responsible citizenship and social skills necessaryfor success after high school.In addition to describing classes, the Program of Studies provides information aboutgraduation requirements, credits, grades, course levels, weighted grades, AdvancedPlacement courses, and special programs. The Program of Studies also identifiesparticular Student Learning Expectations that are focused on in each course.Students are expected to select classes that are academically challenging and providerewarding learning opportunities in areas of interest. It is important that students andparents review the course offerings for each department before completing theregistration forms.
 
Teachers, guidance counselors, department heads, and administratorsare available to assist students and parents in making these selections.The scheduling process begins in February and will be completed in June. Studentschedules will be mailed home over the summer. During the later part of the registrationprocess, honoring requests for changes becomes increasingly difficult. Therefore, it isessential that students complete the registration process as early as possible, making thebest choices available to them.Please contact me at 781-273-7662 if I may be of assistance to you during the registrationprocess.Sincerely,Patrick M. LarkinPrincipal
 
 
2
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
 Introduction 1Table of Contents 2School Organization 3Mission and Student Expectations 4State College Admission Requirements 5Planning for College 5-8Graduation Requirements and Promotional Policy 9MCAS Graduation Requirements 10Class Rank 11Explanation of Course Levels 12Advanced Placement Courses 12Explanation of Course Listings 13English Program 14-18Social Studies Program 19-22Mathematics Programs 23-26Computer Technology and Application Courses 27Science Program 28-31Foreign Language Program 32-39Interdisciplinary Courses 40-41Business Program 42-44Family and Consumer Science Programs 44-45Field Studies Program 45Virtual High School Program 46Dual Enrollment 46Art Program 47-51Special Education Program 52English Language Learners Program 52Music Program 53-55Physical Education and Health Programs 56-57Clubs, Activities, Athletic Teams 58-59National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) 59Release of Information and Equal Education Opportunity Statement 60
Burlington High School Web-Site:www.burlington.mec.edu/hs/ 
Cover Art by Allison Cambell (Class of 2013)With thanks to George Ratkevich BHS Art Department
 
 
3
BURLINGTON SCHOOL ORGANIZATION
 School Committee
Christine M. Monaco, ChairStephen Nelson, Vice Chair Thomas F. Murphy, Jr.Michael DeSimone John L.Vanella
District Administration
 Superintendent of Schools ...................………………………………………………….. Eric Conti, Ph.DDirector of Finance/Operations………………………………………………………….. Craig RobinsonPupil Services ......................................................………………….................................. Cathleen E. Estep, Ed.DHealth, Physical Education & Athletics ........………………………………………….... Edward L. GillisMusic…………………………………………………………………………………….. John Middleton
Burlington High School Administration
Principal: Patrick M. Larkinlarkin@burlington.mec.edu781-270-1838Associate Principal: Richard T. Sheehan, Jr.rsheehan@burlington.mec.edu781-270-1837Associate Principal: Mark Sullivansullivan@burlington.mec.edu781-270-1844Support Services Coordinator: Joseph Attubatoattubato@burlington.mec.edu781-270-1856System Data Manager: Josh Murphy jpmurphy@burlington.mec.edu781-238-6868
Department Chairpersons
Art: George Ratkevichratkevich@burlington.mec.edu781-273-2912English: Robert Conceisonconceison@burlington.mec.edu781-270-1874Math: James Curtin jcurtin@burlington.mec.edu781-238-5641Library/Media: Susan DiSantodisanto@burlington.mec.edu781-270-1878Social Studies: Jeffrey Hoyt jhoyt@burlington.mec.edu781-273-7087World Languages: Rita DeBellisdebellis@burlington.mec.edu781-238-5644Science: Peter Nassiff nassiff@burlington.mec.edu781-270-2923Special Education: Christina Cicolinicicolini@burlington.mec.edu781-270-2932
Guidance Counselors
Stephanie Diozzidiozzi@burlington.mec.edu781-270-1852Molly Learyleary@burlington.med.edu781-270-1849Emily Mintyeminty@burlington.mec.edu781-270-1854Leisel Smithlsmith@burlington.mec.edu781-270-1848Gloria Wojtaszek wojtaszek@burlington.mec.edu781-270-1843Mary Clare Hayes, School Psychologistmchayes@burlington.mec.edu781-270-2922

Activity (4)

You've already reviewed this. Edit your review.
1 hundred reads
1 thousand reads

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->