P. 1
How Do I Pray With a 7

How Do I Pray With a 7

|Views: 2|Likes:

More info:

Published by: Krystal Yvez Beverino Cruz on Oct 13, 2013
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial


Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as DOCX, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less





How do I pray with a 7-decade Rosary? What is the Franciscan Crown?

The Mysteries As with the Dominican Rosary, the Franciscan Crown is prayed while meditating on special events in the life of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. In the case of the Franciscan Crown, the mysteries used are the Seven Joys of Mary. The First Joy: The Annunciation – The angel Gabriel visits Mary to announce to her that she is to conceive by the Holy Spirit and bear a son, Jesus, who will become the Savior of the world. The Second Joy: The Visitation – Mary goes to the hill country to visit her cousin, Elizabeth, who is also with child. The Third Joy: The Nativity – Jesus is born. The Fourth Joy: The Adoration by the Magi – The Wise Men, recognizing that the newborn Jesus is the long-awaited Savior, come from the East to do Him homage. The Fifth Joy: The Finding of Jesus in the Temple – After three days of frantic searching, Mary and Joseph find the young Jesus in the temple of Jerusalem. The Sixth Joy: The Resurrection – Jesus is raised from the dead. The Seventh Joy: The Assumption and Coronation – Mary is assumed into Heaven, body and soul. She is crowned Queen of Heaven.

A set of Franciscan Crown Rosary beads contains seven decades, one for each Joy of Mary. The crucifix may be of the San Damiano design. If you don’t have a set of special Crown Rosary beads, you can pray without using beads, or you can use a set of five-decade beads, and start around again for the sixth and seventh decades.

The San Damiano Crucifix: Begin with the Sign of the Cross: In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

Optional: Some people pray the Apostles' Creed following the Sign of the Cross. I believe in God, the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth. I believe in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord. He was conceived by the power of the Holy Spirit and born of the Virgin Mary. He suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried. He descended to the dead. On the third day he rose again. He ascended into heaven, and is seated at the right hand of the Father. He will come again to judge the living and the dead. I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Catholic Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and life everlasting. Amen. __________________ The Seven Sorrows of Mary are sometimes used in personal practice as alternative meditations when praying the Franciscan Crown Rosary.

A little history

Although the meditations on the Seven Sorrows of Mary do not constitute a Franciscan devotion (and they have their own special set of Rosary beads). these men left their comfortable lives to begin leading lives of holy poverty and penance. The Fourth Sorrow: Mary meets Jesus as He makes His way to Calvary . The Fifth Sorrow: Mary stands at the foot of the cross . carry His cross on the way to Calvary.Mary and Joseph must flee their home to protect the child Jesus. Mary hears the prophetic words of Simeon. Mary experiences sorrow as she sees her Son dying on the cross.Mary.Once again. Mary is grief-stricken as she receives Him into her arms.About the same time that St.com/showthread.During the Presentation. The Seven Sorrows: The First Sorrow: The Prophecy of Simeon . Francis was starting his order. __________________ http://forums." The Second Sorrow: The Flight into Egypt . Italy as part of a religious society intended to honor the Blessed Virgin Mary.catholic.php?t=168542 . The Third Sorrow: The Child Jesus is Lost in Jerusalem . places the body of her beloved Son into the tomb. in total sorrow.Mary experiences absolute sorrow as she sees her Son. and is unable to minister to Him. The Seventh Sorrow: Mary places Jesus in the tomb . The Sixth Sorrow: Mary receives the body of Jesus . and for the resurrection of many in Israel. a group of prosperous men were meeting in Florence. The Servites originated a special devotion based on seven sorrowful events in the life of our Blessed Mother. they are sometimes used in personal practice to pray the Franciscan Crown Rosary during penitential seasons such as Lent. or Servites. "Behold this child is set for the fall.Mary experiences grief when Jesus disappears in Jerusalem for three days. Like Francis.When Jesus is taken down from the Cross. defiled and bruised. They eventually became known as the Friar Servants of Mary. and for a sign which shall be contradicted.

You're Reading a Free Preview

/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->