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GROUP 8

CHAPTER 13
E-MARKETING
COMMUNICATION:
PRESENTED BY

Laorden, Gerald

PAID MEDIA Soriano, Shaina Queenie


Suan, John Elmer
Tamayo, Mary Rose

PCBET-19-601P
CHAPTER 13

E-Marketing Communication:
Paid Media
Outline the characteristics, benefits, and limitations of paid media.
List the most important paid media techniques and discuss how and
when advertisers use each.
Explain the three unique aspects of social networks that attract
advertisers to paid social media.
Describe some of the advertising tactics offered by the most popular
social media sites, virtual worlds, and online video sites.
Discuss the various ways in which marketers can reach target
audiences through mobile advertising and paid search.
Highlight how paid media can move B2B prospects through the
marketing purchase funnel.
Identify some key metrics used by advertisers to determine the
effectiveness and efficiency of paid media.
PAID MEDIA
Paid media are properties that are paid by an
organization to carry its promotional
messages. It is generally used to build
awareness, move users to owned media, and
ultimately engage them in earned media. Paid
media can engage target markets, moving
them to owned media and resulting in social
media conversation (earned media).
TRUST IN PAID MEDIA
Globally, consumers trust earned media
the most, followed by owned media, and
then paid media. The most trusted digital
media include branded Websites, opt-in
emails, coupons (owned media), and
recommendations from like-minded
people and social network contacts Exhibit 13.1 shows the Proportion of Consumers
(earned media). Expressing Trust in Media displays the results of
several studies that put most paid media at the
bottom of the trust scale.
INTERNET ADVERTISING TRENDS
Online display ads improved online and offline sales and Web
site visits even if people didn't click on the ads. This means
that the online brand communication effects increased sales
in the absence of positive direct response metrics. Most
advertisers realize that the internet is an important medium
for reaching their target markets.
PAID MEDIA FORMATS

Print ads are one of the most traditional forms of paid


media: newspaper ads, magazine ads, billboards, flyers,
etc. Although it's hard to measure the effectiveness of a
print ad, they are still widely used. Another example
includes Google Ads, and social media ads.
Display Ads

Display advertising is a method of attracting


the audience of a website, social media
platform or other digital mediums to take a
specific action. These are often made up of
text-based, image or video advertisements
that encourage the user to click-through to a
landing page and take action (e.g., make a
purchase).
Rich Media Ads
Some rich media display ads enhance the interactivity
by sensing the position of the mouse on the Web page
and animating faster as the user approaches. Other ads
have built-in games or videos. Still others have drop-
down menus, check boxes, and boxes to engage and
empower the user.
All of the following formats can be rich media:
In-banner video ad
Expandable/retractable ad
Pop-up
Pop-under
Floating ad
Interstitial ad
Wallpaper ad
Trick banner
Map ad
Contextual Advertising
Contextual advertising occurs when an ad system scans
a Web page for content and serves an appropriate ad,
such as an ad for tickets to a concert on a music site.
Microsoft adCenter and many others offer this service
and pay site owners when the ad appears on their sites.
Behavioral advertising is another form of contextual
advertising, but follows user behavior instead of Web
page text.
E-mail Advertising

Email advertising is a type of marketing


performed via email whereby the recipient has
consented to receive promotional messages
from a brand. In this form of advertising,
marketers seek to gain permission from their
prospective customers by giving them an
option to opt-in before sending emails.
Text Link Ads
These are ads that are simply a hyperlink placed in
specific text in a blog post or other owned media
content-including content downloaded by mobile phone
users. The goal of these ads is to raise a site's rankings
in the search engines.
Sponsored Content
Sponsorships integrate editorial content and paid media
based on either underwritten (someone else's content) or
advertiser-created content. Most traditional media clearly
separate content from advertising. This practice pleases
advertisers because it gives them additional exposure and
creates the impression that the publication endorses their
products. Companies also can pay bloggers directly to
endorse products by writing positive reviews.
Classified Ads
Classified ads are placed both by individual
consumers and by companies. These usually
use text, but may also include photos. The ads
are grouped according to classification and
tend to be an inexpensive format.In many
cases, posting regular-size classified ads is
free, but placing them in a larger size, in color,
or with some other noticeable features is done
for a fee.
Product
Placement
Product placement is a
marketing technique in
which a product or
service is showcased in
some form of media,
such as television
shows, movies, music
videos, social media
platforms, or even ads
for other products.
Social Media Advertising
Advertisers used social media to introduce new
products, build databases, and gain feedback
from users. Thus, paid social media are for
building awareness, creating positive brand
attitudes, collecting valuable information about
customers, and motivating actions such as
joining a community, clicking through to a site,
and purchase.
Social networks have
three unique aspects:
# 1 Personal profile
Social networks contain personal profiles data, including the member's
name, image and other pictures, demographic information, interests,
career/ student status, and membership groups.

# 2 Social data graph


Companies can make a map or list of all the connections between
individuals to discover the network size for like-minded people.

# 3 Interpersonal interaction data


Marketers can capture information about the amount and timing of
interactions among network friends.
Paid media on Facebook
Facebook ads can include interactive
features, link to other brand content, and
are very easy to create. Advertisers simply
upload an image and type the text right into
the Facebook template. Facebook offers
excellent metrics to see how many people
were presented the ad, and whether or not
they took an action, like clicking on a link.
Furthermore, advertisers can set a
maximum daily budget.
FACEBOOK
SPONSORED
STORIES

As Facebook builds its ads business and gives The social network has invented terms like
advertisers more ways to reach different Sponsored Stories, Page Post Ads and Promoted
audiences, a new lexicon has emerged. Posts.
Several types of sponsored
stories.

APP USED/
DOMAIN PAGE LIKE CHECK-IN PAGE POST
SHARED GAME
STORIES STORIES STORIES STORIES
PLAYED


STORIES
Happen when a Are similar, Occur when users Allow marketers to Are shown to the

user “likes” a web however the news checks in via turn favorable post friend who also use
site while on site feed post occurs Facebook at a retail on their own apps or games.
when a users “like” location. Facebook page into

a product
Ads.
Facebook page.

SOCIAL ADS
Social advertising is a type of digital
marketing that utilizes social networks
such as Facebook, Twitter, and
Instagram to deliver paid ads to your
target audience. Social media ads are a
quick and effective way to connect with
your consumers and boost your
marketing campaigns.
TWITTER “PROMOTED
TWEETS”, TRENDS AND
ACCOUNTS.

Promoted Ads are ordinary Tweets purchased by


advertisers who want to reach a wider group of users
or spark engagement from their existing followers.
All Promoted Ads are clearly labeled as "Promoted"
when an advertiser is paying for their placement on
Twitter. In every other respect, Promoted Ads are just
like regular Tweets and can be Retweeted, replied to,
liked, and more

LINKEDIN ADVERTISING

LinkedIn Ads is a paid marketing tool that offers access to LinkedIn social
networks through various sponsored posts and other methods. Linkedin Ads is a
powerful marketing tool for B2B companies to build leads, online recognition,
share content, and more.
Issues to Consider
MOBILE
PAID MEDIA ADVERTISING
ON ONLINE

Companies advertise on
ADVERTISING VIDEOS these devices through text
IN SECOND
ads via SMS or
refers to external marketing
LIFE efforts that involve a paid
through banner
advertisements that appear

One way to advertise is by


placement, such as pay-per-
embedded on a mobile
click advertising, branded
simply creating a presence in website. They may also be
content and display ads It is
Second Life and publicizing it. found through downloaded
an essential component of
Many Second Life Residents apps including mobile
revenue growth and brand
are active in blogs and other games.
awareness for online
Internet activities.
businesses.
.

Pixelast | Design and Tech


PAID RESEARCH
Advertisers can buy keywords that appear as sponsored links on
mobile search engine research link.

DISPLAY ADS
Users pull content from mobile websites and banners,
flash, or other types of ad formats come along for the ride.

FULL SCREEN TAKE OVER


Publishing offer a mobile display and platform involved an AD
image taking over the entire mobile screen.

MESSAGING
Short Messaging Service (SMS) have broader reach than many
others formats because even the lowest end phone can receive
message
LOCATION BASED ADS
These are often text based, relaying on GPS.

VIDEO
These ads are slowly growing area because they take up a
lot of bandwidth and thus are lengthy to download.

VOICE
While still quite rare, voice ads can play before or after a
voicemail conversation.

APPS
The iPhone and IPod put mobile apps on the map. Advertising
can use apps as a sampling of products.
Paid Search
Paid search occurs when an advertiser pays a
search engine a fee for directory submission,
for inclusion in a search engine index, or to
display its ad when users type in particular
keywords.

3 TACTICS IN PAID SEARCH


KEYWORD ADVERTISING
PAID INCLUSION
DIRECT SUBMISSION
KEYWORD ADVERTISING
Keyword advertising is a form of
digital marketing in which an
advertiser pays to have an
advertisement appear in the results
listing when a person uses a
particular phrase to search the Web,
typically by employing a search
engine.
PAID INCLUSION
Paid inclusion is a search engine
marketing model in which a website
pays a fee to a search engine that
guarantees that the site will be
displayed in the returned search
results for specifically named search
terms.
DIRECTORY SUBMISSION
Directory submission is when an
organization pays to be included in a
searchable directory and it is a
process of submitting your website
URL to various web directories
(websites) with the aim of building
backlinks thus increasing business
growth.
WHICH MEDIA TO BUY?
Media planners want both effective
and efficient media buys.
Effectiveness means reaching and
gaining the attention of the target
market, and efficiency means doing
so at the lowest cost.
EFFECTIVE INTERNET BUYS
Once a company decides to use paid
media, it faces the question of which
vehicle or individual paid medium to
use. Advertisers trying to reach the
largest number of users through
keyword targeting will buy
space with search engines.
EFFICIENT INTERNET BUYS
If the audience for certain media
vehicles matches the firm's target
(effective buy), advertisers examine THREE IMPORTANT METRICS
particular metrics to determine the CPM - cost per thousand impressions
most efficient buy. To measure
CPA - cost per action
efficiency before buying advertising
CPC - cost per click
space, media buyers use three
important metrics
CPM - Cost Per Mille

a full banner ad at MediaPost.com,


Formula
an advertising and media internet
N = (Cost/Audience)x1000
portal, received 2.4 million

impressions and cost $168,000 a


168,000/2.4M = 0.07
month for a CPM of $70
0.07 x 1000 = 70
CPM = 70

THREE Cost per action is a digital

IMPORTANT advertising payment model that


allows to charge an advertiser

METRICS
CPA - Cost Per Action
only for a specified action taken
by a prospective customer.
Action Basis(Sales/Leads)

Cost Per Click (CPC) refers to the


actual price you pay for each click in
CPC - Cost Per Click
your pay-per-click (PPC) marketing
campaigns.
PAID MEDIA
PERFORMANCE
METRICS
IS A MEASURE USED TO EVALUATE
A PAID MEDIA CAMPAIGN’S
PERFORMANCE AGAINST ITS
STRATEGIC OBJECTIVES.
Effectiveness
Evidence
ACCORDING TO RESEARCH,
WHEN DISPLAY ADS ARE
CONSIDERED AS BRANDING
MEDIA, THEY INCREASE BRAND
AWARENESS AND MESSAGE
ASSOCIATION, AND THEY BUILD
BRAND FAVORABILITY AND
PURCHASE INTENT
GROUP 8

CHAPTER 14
E-MARKETING
COMMUNICATION:
PRESENTED BY

Laorden, Gerald

EARNED MEDIA Soriano, Shaina Queenie


Suan, John Elmer
Tamayo, Mary Rose

PCBET-19-601P
CHAPTER 14

E-Marketing Communication:
Earned Media
Describe the five levels of user engagement and explain what each
means for earned media .
Explain the role of trust in earned media and its implications for
consumer behavior.
List some key techniques for engaging users and discuss the
importance of each .
Outline the marketing benefits of engaging consumers in
collaborative content creation .
Highlight seven ways in which companies can attract users and move
them up the engagement ladder.
Discuss how a company can build, maintain, monitor, and repair its
reputation online.
Identify specific metrics used to monitor, measure , and refine
earned media activities.
EARNED
MEDIA
Earned media is coverage or
promotion of your brand through
organic means. It's a very effective
form of content marketing and is
also the toughest media type to
get.
USER
ENGAGEMENT
LEVELS
ENGAGING INDIVIDUALS TO
PRODUCE EARNED MEDIA
ENGAGEMENT OCCURS WHEN INTERNET
USERS CONSUME, CONNECT, OR
COLLABORATE WITH BRANDS, COMPANIES,
OR EACH OTHER.
TRUST IS A KEY COMPONENT OF WORD-OF-
MOUTH COMMUNICATION RESULTING FROM
CUSTOMER ENGAGEMENT.
WHO SHOULD A
COMPANY ENGAGE?
It is not effective, efficient, or likely possible to get the entire
internet universe talking about an organization and its
products. In addition to consumers and prospects, many
companies target influential bloggers and social network
members, such as Arianna Huffington' s Huffing ton Post
internet newspaper/blog, with its 9,000 contributing bloggers
and over 29 million page views per weekday (according to
quantcast.com).
Social Media Influencers
A Social Media Influencer is a user on social media
who has established credibility in a specific industry.
These content creators have access to a large
audience and can share information to persuade
others through their authenticity and reach.
Traditional Journalists
The traditional press release is a typed document that
includes the "what, when, where, who, and why" of
something newsworthy the company sends to
journalists for possible inclusion in print or online media
(e.g., a new product announcement). Traditional media
includes all outlets that existed before the internet, such
as newspapers, magazines, TV, radio and billboards.
TECHNIQUES FOR VIRAL MARKETING
ENGAGING USERS
Most social media, and many Web sites and mobile Viral marketing is a bad name for a great technique.
apps, provide space and tools for earned media When individuals forward e-mail to friends or share
content. Facebook newsfeed posts or YouTube videos, they
are using what we like to call word-of-mouse. Viral
marketing is the online equivalent of word-of-
mouth and sometimes referred to as word-of-
mouse, which occurs when individuals forward
content to each other through e-mail or social
media sharing.
Viral Blogging
Viral blogging is when bloggers conduct viral marketing activities.
Viral blogging can be very effective with the use of tools such as
Twitter. Many retailers entice Word-of-Mouth (WOM) marketing
by bloggers. Companies can pay bloggers directly to endorse
products, or do so via an intermediary, such as PayPerPost.
Multimedia Sharing

Users upload many types of media for others to view, rate, and
comment on, or build channels of other people's media.
Following are the main types of sites used for this purpose,
along with examples:
Multimedia Sharing
Photos and art - Flickr (with 4 billion photos), Photobucket, and deviantArt.
Video - YouTube (with nearly 75% market share and serving 1 billion videos a day),
Vimeo, and traditional news sites.
Live casting - Live casting enables live audio or video streaming directly from a mobile
phone, tablet internet device, PC, or Mac to a Web site for viewing by others. Examples:
Skype, Justin.tv, and LiveCast.
Music - Here we are referring to sites that allow users to share and comment on music
playlists or original music, not copyright protected music files. Examples: MySpace Music,
Pandora, and ShareTheMusic.
Presentations - These are uploaded, usually from PowerPoint, MS Word, or PDF
documents, and then freely shared and commented upon. Examples: SlideShare and
Scribd.
Wikis
Wikis are Web sites that allow users to post,
edit, and organize multimedia content. This is
closely related to crowd-sourcing and user-
generated content. Examples include
Wikipedia (encyclopedia), Wikihow (how-to-do
site), and Wikispaces (education). Wikis are
important because a consultant can edit
definitions and add material to a site like
Wikipedia or Wikihow and become known as
an expert.
Ratings and Reviews
Ratings and reviews in social networks facilitate
commerce, both online and offline. With peer-to-
peer engagement through social media and high
consumer trust in acquaintances, retailers
recognize that their customers' voices can be an
extremely strong marketing tool for building
sales and improving products.
A variety of tools is available to engage
shoppers online:
Customer ratings and
1
reviews
5 Sponsored reviews
Expert ratings and
2
reviews
6 Consumer conversations
3 Business reviews

7 Customer testimonials
Community questions
4
and answers
Social Recommendations
and Referrals
Social recommendations and referrals are personal
endorsements designed to realize value for customers and
advocates. Social recommendations take the form of online
versions of traditional customer-get-customer and referral
rewards programs, but can also use syndication tools via Twitter
and Facebook to share recommendations with friends, fans, and
followers. These are closely related to ratings and reviews, and
are sometimes integrated with them.
Social Recommendations and Referrals
Sometimes social shopping portals that bundle ratings and
reviews with recommendations also provide shopping tools.
Common recommendation methods follow:

# 1 Social Bookmarking
Social bookmarking sites allow users to share their favorite Web sites and
comments on them online. Social bookmarking is powerful because users
can click through to other users who have bookmarked the same articles
to see what else they are reading on the same topic.

# 2 Referral programs
These involve financial rewards for customers and partners who refer new
customers. These programs give social media sites the opportunity to
make money when a user clicks from the site to the retailer and purchases
a product.
Social Recommendations and Referrals

# 3 Social recommendations
Personal shopping recommendations are based on profile similarities with
other customers.

# 4 Social news
Users submit links to online news stories on social news sites and then
readers vote or comment on which are the best ones.

# 5 Other innovative methods


Companies automate personal recommendations based on algorithms,
comparing similarities between customer purchasing histories and
profiles.
E-mail
Facebook and other social sites require valid e-mail addresses
when users sign up. The task for marketers is to integrate e-
mail and social media, and many studies show that the majority
of marketers plan to do this. For example, Yahoo!, Gmail, and
Outlook.com allow integration with Facebook contacts.
Social Media Site Discussions
The social media are full of comments from users, and many
relate to products, companies, and brands. As well, users share
images and videos, pin images on Pinterest, and upload product
images from instagram and to Flickr. Another form of earned
media occurs when users submit a link to an online news story
and it appears on digg.com. On this site, additional readers can
"Digg" the story, and the more who do so, the higher on the
page the story appears (this is similar to a Facebook "like").
Community Discussions/Forums
Online forums, also called bulletin boards, are areas
where users can post e-mail messages on selected
topics for other users to read.
Widgets and Social Apps

FACEBOOK TWITTER INSTAGRAM

Marketers use widgets and social applications to engage social media users.
Widget content can include brand information in contests or games, be
sponsorships or calls for action, or be user generated. Apps are not only for
smartphones and tablets-they appear on Web sites and social media as well.
FACEBOOK MESSENGER

WIDGETS AND allows users to send messages to friends' mobile


phones anytime, from a phone, tablet, or computer.
SOCIAL APPS
PINTEREST
has grown astronomically since its inception. We've
mentioned this several times already as a site where
users can "pin" images and make collections for
others to see

INSTAGRAM
allows users to take photos, add filters, and upload
to the Instagram site. People then can share the
photo on Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr. This aids
commerce because people often take images while
Foursquare.
With over 10 million users, Foursquare works via a smartphone

Location-Based
1 app or its mobile Web site. Using GPS, Four square identifies the
user's location. Friends, also on Foursquare, can see the users'

Services (LBS)
locations once they have "checked in."

Yelp.
Just 8 years old, Yelp had 84 million visitors in 19 countries in
LBS is a business model for m- the third quarter of 2012. Business owners (from retailers to
commerce (mobile-commerce). It dentists) set up Yelp accounts that allow site visitors to review
2
is based on knowing where the company and to respond to user posts. Yelp's mobile app
also allows users to check into local businesses via their
customers are located via a global
smartphones.
positioning system (GPS) chip in
their smartphones. A basic idea is
that users who have a GPS-enabled Facebook places.
smart[1]phone can let their friends Users can easily add a location to their Facebook text-based or
photo posts. This can either be a specific business or event or
know their location. 3
just be a general city location. They can decide which friends will
see the location and also receive notification when tagged by a
friend.
COLLABORATIVE CONTENT
CREATION BY CONSUMERS 40

30

In the process, the company gains market research 20

about the behaviors and preferences of its markets.


At the simplest level, when you visit an automobile
company's Web site and click around to change the 10

color of the car and give it leather seats and other


options, you are helping the company learn about
consumer preferences as it captures your online click
stream-and this will guide its future product design.
0
Item 1 Item 2 Item 3 Item 4 Item 5

Collaborative content creation is crowdsourcing at its


best.
HOW DO COMPANIES ENTICE
ENGAGEMENT?
This involves creating content and promotions that
encourage people to interact with the brand and then
tag, bookmark, or rate the content and share opinions
with others via comments and recommendations in the
social media. Because they can reach millions of
people when they share, it is like the old-fashioned
word-of-mouth on steroids. As with all effective
promotions, three basic criteria must be met-delivering
the right message to the right messengers in the right
media.
HOW DO COMPANIES ENTICE
ENGAGEMENT?
CREATE MAKE AN
OFFER APPEAL TO
ENTERTAINING EXCLUSIVE
COMPETITIONS ALTRUISM
CONTENT OFFER

love to
Many people

Consumers
will watch compete and win prizes.
Presentations are The social
psychology
and share video communication tools that can principle of "scarcity" often
For example, the Microsoft
commercials and other be used as demons . Instead of motivates people to take
Windows 7 launch included
company-created providing the paper sticker for action immediately. For
a "School Pride" sales
content that is the donor's clothing ("I gave example, sales promotion
promotion campaign,
entertaining, irreverent, blood"), the Red Cross made a discounts and free sample
asking site visitors to vote
interesting, or unusual. virtual status badge that product offers with expiration
on videos created by

people could share on their dates often engage recipients.
middle or high school
social networks, encouraging Artists and movie producers
students who hoped to win
friends and followers to make often release songs or trailers
a computer lab makeover
blood donation appointments. for viewing by their fan bases,
trations, lectures, speeches, prior to release to the general
reports, and more. public.
HOW DO COMPANIES ENTICE
ENGAGEMENT?

REWARD INFLUENTIALS INCENTIVIZE GROUP


BEHAVIOR
AND FANS
A key principle of enticing engagement is to
make it easy for users. For instance, most social
Rewards of appreciation can take
media and many Websites provide one click
the form of exclusive information, buttons for "liking," tagging, bookmarking (e.g.,
first chance at breaking news, or offering a delicious button), subscribing via an
RSS feed button (which can rapidly spread the
a free gift-such as the chance to content), and sharing content on social networks.
review a new product that they Many sites also allow users to register with one
click, using their Facebook, or other social
get to keep, an exclusive offer, or
network profile.
a special discount.
REPUTATION
MANAGEMENT ONLINE
Brands and companies must have a great deal
of control over their images and reputations,
and must now monitor, engage, and
participate in social media conversations or
pay the consequences.
In order to be trusted, an entity must be
reliable, of high quality, authentic,
transparent, and follow through on its
promises.
Which Reputations
Matter?
Brand and company reputations are very
important. Sixty-three percent of a company's
market value is attributable to reputation,
according to a global survey conducted by PR firm
Weber Shandwick ("Safeguarding Reputation,"
2006).
Build, Maintain, Monitor,
Repair, Learn
Your online reputation as a company or brand
defines how users perceive you on the
internet. While a strong reputation can be the
key to success, a weak one is likely to deter
potential new clients that haven’t done
business with you yet. The reputation
management process includes five steps:
Build
Maintain
Monitor
Repair
Learn
Reputation Management
Systems
Reputation management systems use
various criteria and technologies for
monitoring and protecting reputations. This
is a solution that helps companies initiate
and monitor reputations.
EARNED MEDIA
PERFORMANCE METRICS
A company specifies which metrics
will be used to measure marketing
communication success, and then
uses these measures as feedback to
(1) see if the campaign objectives
were met and (2) continually refine
the strategies and tactics to enhance
performance. Following is a summary
of additional metrics that apply to
earned media:
General earned media metrics
Actions taken by users
Social Media Dashboard
It is software that pulls in company, brand,
or any keyword mentions from any social
media and displays them all in one place.
This makes it easy for companies to monitor
conversations and also displays selected
metrics.
Do you have
any questions?
Send it to us! We hope you
learned something new. Thank you!

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