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G10487 EC - Intermediate Management Accounting Primer PDF
G10487 EC - Intermediate Management Accounting Primer PDF
Management
Accounting
Primer
PRIMER
INTRODUCTION
Cost classifications
Management accounting has its own terminology that is used for more effective and
concise communication. Knowledge of these terms is also essential in this course, as
they are used throughout.
• Cost terms used in costing system design
o Product (or inventoriable) and period costs: A distinction is made between a
cost incurred to produce a product (product cost) and all other operating costs
(period costs).
o Cost object: A cost object is anything to which a cost can be traced, such as a
product, a part of the organization (division or department), a project, a client, an
event or even the entire organization.
o Direct and indirect costs: A direct cost is any cost that can be uniquely and
unambiguously traced to a cost object in an economic and convenient way. All
other costs are indirect.
• Cost terms used to describe and predict cost behaviour
o Fixed cost: A cost that does not change in total over the relevant range of
activity.
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Cost flows used in manufacturing systems and the schedule of cost of goods
manufactured
The following diagram illustrates the flows of costs through the various accounts used in
a manufacturing system. Note the key accounts used to record these costs and the
financial statements on which each account appears.
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A summary of the activity in the work-in-process (WIP) account is called the schedule of
cost of goods manufactured. The following is a simple version of this schedule:
Cost estimation
As discussed above, management accounting consists of using historical costing data
to make predictions about the future. The first step is to estimate the cost. This is the
basic cost function:
Y = a + bX
Where:
Y = cost to be estimated
a = vertical intercept or fixed cost
b = slope or variable cost
X = level of activity (for example, number of units produced)
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There are a number of cost estimation methods including judgment and data
approaches. Judgment approaches include engineering estimates, account analysis
and the conference method, while data approaches include the high-low method, visual
fit and statistical regression analysis. You may have covered many of these in your
introductory course, so this primer will only touch on the statistical regression approach.
The data is entered into a software package such as Microsoft Excel. The software then
analyzes the data by applying regression analysis.
The summary output provided by this tool consists of the following key regression
statistics:
• The adjusted R-square (R2), which is a “best-fit” criterion also known as a goodness-
of-fit measure (called the coefficient of determination). This measures the amount of
variability in the dependent variable (Y) that is explained by changes in the
independent variable (X).
• The estimated coefficients consisting of the intercept or fixed cost and the X variable
or variable cost.
• The t-statistic, which is a formal statistical test of the hypothesis. For this course it
can be assumed that, if the absolute value of the t-statistic is 2.00 or greater, a
statistically significant relationship exists between the independent variable and the
dependent variable.
There are several limitations of using historical costing data when making cost
estimates. These limitations will be covered in the course.
Cost-volume-profit analysis
Managers use cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis to assist in making decisions based on
the relationship between costs and revenues and how changes in either affect the
bottom line.
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Where:
P = selling price per unit
V = variable cost per unit
F = total fixed cost
x = number of units produced and sold
OI = operating income
This equation allows the decision maker to answer a number of questions relating to
profitability. One of these is the ability to identify the number of units (x) that must be
made and sold to cover fixed costs (break-even point) and/or provide a target operating
income.
Contribution margin is the term used to identify how much revenue remains after
deducting all variable costs. It is calculated as follows:
• Contribution margin (CM) per unit = P – V
• Contribution margin ratio = CM/P
Example
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Solve for x:
$1.5x – $150,000 = $100,000
$1.5x = $250,000
x = $250,000 / $1.5x
x = 166,667 units must be sold to earn a pre-tax operating income of $100,000.
Additionally, the break-even point or point to achieve desired income can be solved in
dollars. Besides simply multiplying the break-even units by the selling price per unit, the
CVP formula can be rewritten as follows:
Example
How many units must be sold to earn an after-tax net income of $100,000?
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Example
Product A (200 units) Product B (100 units)
Per unit Total Per unit Total Firm total
Revenue $100 $20,000 $ 250 $ 25,000 $ 45,000
Variable cost 40 8,000 100 10,000 18,000
Contribution $ 60 $12,000 $ 150 $ 15,000 $ 27,000
margin
Fixed cost 21,600
Operating income $ 5,400
The sales mix based on the sales volume is: two units of Product A are sold for
every unit of Product B. 200:100 = 2:1
Then use the F/CM equation to arrive at the break-even bundles: $21,600 / $270
= 80 bundles.
Each bundle consists of two units of Product A and one unit of Product B.
(2 × 80) = 160 units of Product A
(1 × 80) = 80 units of Product B
Practice questions
1. Multiple-choice questions:
i. The following selected data from April were taken from Elfin Inc.’s financial
statements:
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a) $5,000
b) $10,000
c) $15,000
d) $44,000
Solution
Option d) is incorrect. This is the sum of direct materials used, direct labour and
manufacturing overhead less the beginning WIP inventory. Cost of goods
manufactured was not taken into account.
ii. In which of the following lists of costs would all costs be classified as direct
costs when manufacturing ice cream?
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Solution
Option c) is correct. Plastic pails and vanilla flavouring are direct ingredients
and the wages of the worker who runs the assembly line is direct labour.
Option a) is incorrect. Both the supplies to clean the mixing tanks and the
wages of the shift supervisor are manufacturing overhead costs.
2. ALF Inc. is starting to manufacture metal desks. It has been determined that the
market demand can be 7,000, 8,000 or 9,000 units. To start up, ALF obtained a $3
million term loan at 6%. Other information is as follows:
Required:
Solution
b) CPA Way steps: Analyze Major Issue(s) and Conclude and Advise
An additional loan of $1,500,000 at 6% annual interest will require $1,500,000 ×
0.06 = $90,000 in additional profits to pay the interest.
Thus ALF must operate at a minimum level of 8,000 units to pay the loan
interest.
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3. Shirley owns a small factory that manufactures hot tubs. Shirley sells two distinctive
hot tubs: the Great Little Spa and the Majestic. She sells most of her products to one
discount retailer and ships the products by truck to the stores. She is planning for the
coming quarter and has the following data on revenues and costs per product:
She gathers the information and prepares a regression analysis which generates an
Adjusted R2 of 0.989865 and a cost function of 0.976x + $9,466 where x is the
shipping weight.
Required:
a) What would be the estimated cost if the expected shipping weight was 5,100 kg?
b) Does the Adjusted R2 indicate a good fit?
c) Calculate the break-even point in units for the two hot tubs for the coming quarter
assuming no change in the sales mix.
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Solution
c) CPA Way steps: Analyze Major Issue(s) and Conclude and Advise
Contribution margin calculation:
The Great The
Little Spa Majestic
Selling price $1,500 $2,850
Variable unit cost
Direct materials 385 705
Direct labour 245 360
Variable overhead 165 410
Shipping cost $ 97.60 (100 kg × $0.976) $ 390.40 (400 kg × $0.976)
Total variable cost $892.60 $1,865.40
Contribution margin $607.40 $ 984.60
Break-even analysis:
Contribution margin per bundle:
The Majestic 23
× hot tub per bundle 1
Total hot tubs per month 23
× 3 months 69
To break even for the quarter, 207 Great Little Spa and 69 Majestic hot tubs must
be sold.
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PART 2: CAPACITY
Manufacturing capacity is the constraint on the amount of resources that are available
to manufacture a product or provide a service. Actual, normal, theoretical and practical
capacity are some of the ways of valuing capacity. Typically, the greater the capacity,
the greater the related fixed costs. Managing the use of capacity, therefore, allows
companies to manage related fixed costs.
Three different methods can be used to allocate support department costs to production
departments.
Allocation methods
The simplest of the three, the direct method, writes off the support departments’ costs
directly to each of the production departments.
Example
The Janitorial and Human Resources departments provide a service to the
Machining and Assembly departments. Janitorial costs are allocated based on
the square metres of each of the production departments, and Human Resources
costs are allocated based on the number of employees working in each of the
production departments.
Human
Janitorial Resources Machining Assembly Total
Costs incurred by department $250,000 $750,000
Service units provided from 160 190 900 1,500 2,750
Janitorial (square metres)
Service units provided from 4 8 10 20 42
Human Resources
(employees)
Under the direct method, costs are allocated to each of the production
departments directly without taking into consideration service that these support
departments also give to other support departments.
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Total costs
to allocate Machining Assembly Total
Allocate Janitorial costs $250,000 $93,750 $156,250 $250,000
900 / (900 + 1,500) × $240,000
1,500 / (900 + 1,500) × $240,000
Allocate Human Resources costs $750,000 $250,000 $500,000 $750,000
10 / (10 + 20) × $750,000
20 / (10 + 20) × $750,000
Total allocated $343,750 $656,250 $1,000,000
The other two methods are the step method and the reciprocal method. They will be
covered in detail in the Intermediate Management Accounting course.
The denominator activity chosen is one that attempts to reflect the underlying cost
behaviour of manufacturing overhead cost. In a labour-intensive company, the direct
labour hours are often chosen as the denominator-level activity, whereas in an
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automated company, machine hours are usually chosen. Common choices for activity
level are historic actual, estimated, average, and practical capacity of the cost driver.
The amount of manufacturing overhead applied to a job will equal the manufacturing
overhead rate multiplied by the actual denominator activity specific to the job.
Example
Consider the following job that records the costs for manufacturing a chair:
Cutting Assembly Finishing
Chair Item department department department
Job 2945 Materials costs $95.00 $3.00 $6.00
Labour hourly rate $18.00 $12.00 $15.00
Labour hours 3 5 0.5
Machine hours 4 1 1
Using a plant-wide rate of $39.22 per direct labour hour results in the following
costs:
Cutting Assembly Finishing
Chair Item dept. dept. dept. Total
Job 2945 Materials costs $ 95.00 $ 3.00 $ 6.00 $104.00
Direct labour costs:
Labour hourly rate $ 18.00 $ 12.00 $15.00
Direct labour hours 3 5 0.5
Direct labour costs $ 54.00 $ 60.00 $ 7.50 $121.50
Manufacturing overhead
allocation:
Cost driver quantity — DLH 3 5 0.5
Cost driver rate $ 39.22 $ 39.22 $39.22
Overhead allocation $117.66 $196.10 $19.61 $333.37
Total manufacturing costs $558.87
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Alternatively, if the overhead costs in each of the departments had different cost
drivers, the overhead costs could be applied as follows:
Cost driver Estimated
average manufacturing Manufacturing
Department Cost driver activity level overhead overhead rate
Cutting Machine hours 5,000 $400,000 $80.00/MH
Assembly Direct labour hours 12,000 $250,000 $20.83/DLH
Finishing Number of chairs 7,000 $150,000 $21.43/unit
$800,000
The application of overhead costs above would have the following effect on
costs:
Cutting Assembly Finishing
Chair Item dept. dept. dept. Total
Job 2945 Materials costs $ 95.00 $ 3.00 $ 6.00 $104.00
Direct labour costs:
Labour hourly rate $ 18.00 $ 12.00 $15.00
Direct labour costs $ 54.00 $ 60.00 $ 7.50 $121.50
Manufacturing overhead
allocation:
Cost driver quantity 4 5 1
Cost driver rate $ 80.00 $ 20.83 $21.43
Overhead allocation $320.00 $104.15 $21.43 $445.58
Total manufacturing costs $671.08
Underapplied Overapplied
As the rate is usually based on estimates, a residual balance is common at year end. A
debit balance means insufficient overhead was applied during the year, while a credit
balance means too much overhead was applied to the jobs. Two methods used to write
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off this amount are the direct charge to cost of goods sold method and the prorating
based on ending balances method.
COGS
Some of the practical reasons to allocate joint costs include external reporting, transfer
pricing, and costing the product for insurance-related purposes.
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Practice questions
1. Multiple-choice questions:
a) When activities of each of the various departments in the plant are not
homogenous
b) When all products passing through various departments require the same
manufacturing effort in each department
c) When most of the overhead costs are fixed
d) When all products passing through the various departments require a
different amount of direct materials in each department
Solution
Option c) is incorrect. If the overhead costs are fixed, they will not vary based
on the different drivers used by departmental overhead rates.
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Based on the information above, what value will be debited to the WIP account
regarding manufacturing overhead?
a) $177,000
b) $182,000
c) $191,000
d) $205,000
Solution
Option c) is incorrect. This is the total of indirect factory materials, indirect office
wages, factory depreciation, factory supervisors’ salaries and factory supplies
costs, not the amount applied. In addition, indirect office wages would not be
part of the manufacturing overhead.
Option d) is incorrect. This is the total of indirect factory materials, indirect office
wages, factory depreciation, office depreciation, factory supervisors’ salaries
and factory supplies costs, not the amount applied. In addition, indirect office
wages and office depreciation would not be part of the manufacturing
overhead.
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2. Renaissance Wood Products Ltd. manufactures wooden knife blocks. The marketing
manager wants to set the selling price of these blocks.
There are two distinct designs. The simpler design is the curve block, which holds
four knives. The more complicated design is the square block, which holds eight
knives. The production manager has just completed a production run of 350 of the
curve blocks. The following data pertain to this run of curve blocks:
Opening inventory, direct materials $500
Purchases of direct materials $1,000
Ending inventory, direct materials $625
Direct labour to make the blocks was 52.50 hours at $25/hour
Machine hours is the cost driver for the indirect costs. The budgeted machine hours
for the year are based on the production of 4,200 curve blocks at 0.30 hours each
and 3,600 square blocks at 0.50 hours each. The machine hours used to produce
the 350 curve blocks are the same as the budgeted level.
Required:
b) CPA Way steps: Analyze Major Issue(s) and Conclude and Advise
Advise management on the appropriate selling price for the curve block product.
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Solution
a)
i) Direct materials $ 875.00 ($500.00 + $1,000.00 – $625.00)
Direct labour 1,312.50 (52.50 × $25.00)
Manufacturing overhead 787.501
Total cost $2,975.00
1 To calculate the manufacturing overhead, the first step is to determine the
predetermined rate by dividing the total budgeted indirect costs by the total
machine hours for the year.
Next, determine how many machine hours were used to manufacture the 350
curve blocks:
350 × 0.30 = 105 hours
The overhead applied to the production of curve blocks was 105 hours ×
$7.50/hour = $787.50.
b) Based on Renaissance’s pricing policy, the selling price of each curve block
should be $8.50 × 1.5 = $12.75.
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3. Steppe Co. has two production departments, Stamping and Painting. There are
three support departments: Administration, Maintenance and Cafeteria. The
Administration costs are allocated based on direct labour hours. The Maintenance
costs are allocated based on square metres. The Cafeteria costs are allocated
based on number of employees. The following data describe the costs incurred in
each department and the cost driver consumption:
Production Support
Stamping Painting Admin. Maintenance Cafeteria
Direct labour costs $1,950 $2,050 $90 $80 $87
(in ’000s)
Direct materials costs $3,130 $950 $0 $65 $91
(in ’000s)
Overhead costs $1,650 $1,850 $70 $55 $62
(in ’000s)
Total (in ’000s) $160 $200 $240
Required:
Applying the direct method, allocate the support department costs to the production
departments.
Solution
Allocated costs
Costs Driver Stamping Painting Total
Administration $160 Direct labour 562.5/1,000 × $160 437.5/1,000 × $160 $160
hours = $90 = $70
Maintenance $200 Square 88/160 × $200 72/160 × $200 $200
metres = $110 = $90
Cafeteria $240 Number of 280/480 × $240 200/480 × $240 $240
employees = $140 = $100
Total allocation received $340 $260 $600
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The following highlights three basic processing steps taken to produce soft drinks:
Each step takes place in a separate division or department. Because each can of soft
drink is homogeneous, costs are assigned by department instead of job. As the diagram
below illustrates, each department has its own WIP account to accumulate the product
cost. When the product is complete in one department, the costs are transferred to the
next department, where more direct materials and conversion costs are added as
required.
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The two most widely used process costing approaches in Canada are the weighted
average method and the first-in, first-out (FIFO) method. The main difference between
the two is that the weighted average method does not separate the cost of the work
done in the previous period from the work done in the current period, whereas FIFO
separates the costs and units of each period.
Using the soft drink example and focusing on the Syrup Production department, four
steps are required to determine how the following costs in that department are
assigned. This illustration uses the weighted average method of allocating costs. The
second method, called first-in, first-out (FIFO), will be discussed in the Intermediate
Management Accounting course.
First, note that in this example there are two cost pools: one is the direct materials
(direct ingredients) costs; the second is the conversion costs pool comprising all direct
labour and manufacturing overhead costs.
Percentage
Item Units complete
Cans in beginning inventory 1,000 80%
Cans of soft drink started during the month 50,000
Cans of soft drink completed in the month 49,500
Cans in ending inventory 1,500 40%
Item Costs
Cost of ingredients in beginning inventory $1,500
Conversion costs in beginning inventory $200
Cost of ingredients added this month $6,150
Conversion costs added this month $12,325
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It is also important to understand the flow of costs in each department (that is, when the
costs are incurred in the process). For example, in the Syrup Production department,
direct materials are added at the beginning of the production process, and conversion
costs are added evenly throughout. Understanding when costs are added in the process
will be vital in calculating the equivalent units in Step 2.
1Note that where inspection takes place, units that do not pass inspection are classified as spoiled units
and are also considered in this step. This will be covered in detail in the Intermediate Management
Accounting course.
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Equivalent units
Physical Direct Conversion
units materials costs
Units transferred out 49,500 49,500 49,500
Ending inventory 1,500 1,500 600
Total 51,000 51,000 50,100
Step 3: Calculate the cost per equivalent unit for each cost category
The equivalent units calculated in Step 2 are then used to calculate the cost per
equivalent unit. Under the weighted average method, costs incurred from the previous
period, which accumulated in the beginning WIP, are not separated from the costs
incurred in the current period. The total costs incurred to date would be assigned to the
units based on the work completed to date — that is, the equivalent units.
Costs assigned
Direct Conversion Total
materials costs costs
Units transferred out:
49,500 × $0.15; DR WIP of Bottling/Canning dept.
49,500 × $0.25 $7,425 $12,375 $19,800 CR WIP of Syrup Production dept.
Units in ending inventory:
1,500 × $0.15;
600 × $0.25 225 150 375 Amount left in WIP
$7,650 $12,525 $20,175
The journal entry to record this would be a debit to the WIP account of the next
department (Bottling/Canning) and a credit to the WIP account of the Syrup Production
department.
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Spoilage
Spoilage is identified at a point of inspection and can be classified as either abnormal or
normal. Abnormal spoilage is spoiled units above the number that is expected or normal
for the process. Normal spoilage contributes to the cost of the good units produced,
whereas abnormal spoilage is reported as a period cost in the period incurred. The cost
of spoiled units is based on the percentage of completion at the point where the units
were inspected.
Transferred-in costs
When production is complete in one department, the direct materials and conversion
costs incurred in that department are transferred with the units to the next department.
Thus, in subsequent departments, costs will consist of the costs accumulated in all
previous departments and the addition of conversion and direct materials costs in the
current department.
For example, if the costs of indirect resources are grouped together into a single indirect
cost pool and allocated in proportion to one single quantity measure (such as units
produced, machine hours or labour hours), the high-volume products tend to pick up
more than their fair share of costs if resources used are not proportional to the single
volume measure. It would lead to product cost cross-subsidization: one product is
under-costed and the other over-costed.
To improve the accuracy of assigning indirect costs, a cost allocation system for indirect
costs can be designed by identifying activities as the fundamental cost objects. Under
this approach, the indirect cost pool is expanded into groups of activities each carrying
the same cost driver. The cost drivers are selected based on a causal relationship with
the costs in the cost pool. Each cost pool will then have an individual cost driver rate to
apply the costs to the products.
This approach to cost allocation recognizes that it is the activities the organization
undertakes to produce goods and services that create costs. This focus on using
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activities as the cost driver for indirect costs is called activity-based costing (ABC).
Under a carefully constructed ABC system, the actual use of the resources will be
reflected, thus improving the accuracy of cost allocation.
ABC systems
In ABC, an activity is any event that causes overhead costs to be incurred. The costs of
performing these activities are accumulated in an activity cost pool. There must be a
cause-and-effect relationship between the activity measures and the costs of the
activities. Any of the cost estimation methods discussed in Part 1 can be used to
establish and measure the relationship between the costs of an activity and the activity
measure.
In this case, indirect costs per unit are the same for Product 1 and Product 2.
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Now consider that indirect costs consist of costs for setting up machines and for
materials handling. Cost pools are set up for both activities with the following costs, cost
drivers and usage of cost driver for each product:
Total Cost per unit
Cost Product 1 Product 2 activity of activity
Activity driver usage usage driver Total cost driver
Machine setups Setup 100 200 300 $120,000 $400.00
Materials handling Kilogram 50,000 50,000 100,000 20,000 $0.20
$140,000
Note the differences in activity for both products. Product 1’s batch size is 1,000 units
(100,000 units / 100 batches), while Product 2’s batch size is only 375 units (75,000
units / 200 batches). Setup costs are not dependent on batch size. The smaller the
batch size, the higher the number of batches for setup to produce the same number of
units. Therefore, higher setup costs are absorbed by Product 2. Then consider materials
handling costs. Each unit of Product 1 requires the handling of 0.5 kilograms of
materials (50,000 kilograms of materials / 100,000 units), whereas each unit of
Product 2 requires the handling of 0.667 kilograms of materials (50,000 kilograms of
materials / 75,000 units). As a result, Product 2 will absorb more materials handling
resources and costs.
These differences in indirect cost consumption result in the following unit product costs:
Apply costs to products Product 1 Product 2
Machine setups 100 × $400 $ 40,000 200 × $400 $80,000
Materials handling 50,000 × 0.2 10,000 50,000 × 0.2 10,000
Total cost $ 50,000 $90,000
Units produced 100,000 75,000
Cost per unit $ 0.50 $ 1.20
The following is a comparison of the differences in unit cost using a single allocation
rate and using ABC:
Difference in unit cost
Using Using
Comparison single rate ABC Difference
Product 1 $0.80 $0.50 $0.30
Product 2 $0.80 $1.20 ($0.40)
Using a single rate method would result in over-costing Product 1 and under-costing
Product 2. Companies setting selling price based on a markup of cost would have
overpriced Product 1 and could have potentially sold Product 2 at a loss.
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Practice questions
1. Multiple-choice questions:
i. Which of the following best describes the calculation of equivalent units for a
period?
Solution
Option a) is incorrect. This only covers the units of the finished products.
Partially completed units should be converted into equivalent units based on
the amount of work that has been done.
Option c) is incorrect. This describes the physical units of the finished units and
the units in WIP. Partially completed units should be converted into equivalent
units based on the amount of work that has been done.
Option d) is incorrect. This calculates the physical units started and finished.
ii. Using ABC, how would the costs of inspecting the quality of the product be
accounted for?
a) As an organization-sustaining activity
b) As a product-level activity
c) As a batch-level activity
d) As a unit-level activity
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Solution
2. Clyde’s Cleaning Supplies makes a liquid industrial cleaner for the shipbuilding
industry. The ingredients for the liquid cleaner pass through the Mixing department
and the Finishing department, where the cleaner is put into containers. The
information for the Mixing department for March is as follows:
Beginning WIP 4,000 litres
Units started 18,000 litres
Units completed 19,000 litres
The company uses the weighted average method of process costing. Beginning
WIP was 20% complete as to conversion. Direct ingredients are added at the
beginning of the process. All conversion costs are incurred evenly throughout the
process. Ending WIP was 60% complete.
Before the cost accountant had a chance to prepare the production report, the
company president added up all of the costs for the month and divided by the units
transferred. This resulted in a unit cost of $3.828 for the month. The president is
concerned about rising costs because the original budget for the month was a unit
cost of $3.40.
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Required:
a) What was the total cost of one unit of production for March?
b) What was the total cost of goods transferred to the Finishing department during
the month of March?
c) Provide a brief response to the president explaining the difference between the
actual unit cost and the unit cost that the president calculated.
Solution
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c) CPA Way steps: Analyze Major Issue(s) and Conclude and Advise
The president’s calculation of unit cost did not take into consideration the 3,000
units in ending inventory. The ending inventory consists of 3,000 additional
equivalent units for direct materials and 1,800 (3,000 × 60%) additional
equivalent units for conversion costs. When this is taken into consideration, the
equivalent unit cost is $3.39, which is closer to the budgeted cost of $3.40.
3. A furniture manufacturer makes two different tables: a dining table and a coffee
table. Data related to the two products are as follows:
Dining Coffee
table table
Annual production in units 5,000 10,000
Direct materials costs $75,000 $60,000
Direct manufacturing labour costs $25,000 $20,000
Direct manufacturing labour hours 1,000 500
Machine hours 11,000 13,000
Number of production runs 20 5
Inspection hours 190 30
Machine setups per run 4 1
Number of purchase orders per run 100 20
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Required:
a) Calculate the unit cost for dining tables and coffee tables using a single overhead
allocation rate based on machine hours.
b) Calculate the unit cost for dining tables and coffee tables using ABC.
Solution
Dining Coffee
table table
Direct materials $ 75,000 $ 60,000
Direct labour 25,000 20,000
Indirect costs 57,124 67,511 $5.1931 × 11,000; $5.1931 × 13,000
Total costs 157,124 147,511
Units produced 5,000 10,000
Unit cost $ 31.42 $ 14.75
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Allocate to products:
Dining Coffee
table table
Direct materials $ 75,000 $ 60,000
Direct labour 25,000 20,000
Indirect costs:
Machining 27,610 32,630 11,000 × $2.51; 13,000 × $2.51
Setups 18,800 1,175 80 × $235.00; 5 × $235.00
Inspection 22,040 3,480 190 × $116.00; 30 × $116.00
Purchasing 18,000 900 2,000 × $9.00; 100 × $9.00
Total costs 186,450 118,185
Units 5,000 10,000
$/unit $ 37.29 $ 11.82
c) CPA Way steps: Analyze Major Issue(s) and Conclude and Advise
The manufacturer should consider using ABC as its costing method. Its current
costing system is not providing the correct information to price its coffee tables
competitively. Consequently, it appears that a required reduction in selling price
is reporting a loss of contribution margin. However, this is incorrect because the
contribution margin does not accurately reflect the consumption of manufacturing
costs.
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The following is a summary of the treatment of various costs under all three costing
methods:
Absorption Variable Throughput
Cost item costing costing costing
Direct materials Product cost Product cost Product cost
Direct labour Product cost Product cost Period cost
Variable manufacturing overhead Product cost Product cost Period cost
Fixed manufacturing overhead Product cost Period cost Period cost
Variable non-manufacturing overhead Period cost Period cost Period cost
Fixed non-manufacturing overhead Period cost Period cost Period cost
The following example highlights the differences between operating income using
absorption and variable costing.
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The unit product cost under variable and absorption costing are as follows:
Variable costing
Direct materials $3.75
Direct labour 4.50
Variable overhead 1.47
$9.72
Absorption costing
Direct materials $3.75
Direct labour 4.50
Variable overhead 1.47
Fixed manufacturing overhead ($1,000,000/500,000 units) 2.00
$11.72
Carlysle Inc.
Variable costing income statement
Carlysle Inc.
Absorption costing income statement
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Note that the variable costing income statement only considers variable manufacturing
costs as product costs. Fixed manufacturing overhead is expensed in the period
incurred, making it a period cost. In contrast, absorption costing considers all
manufacturing costs to be product costs. As such, fixed manufacturing costs of unsold
inventory are carried as an asset in the inventory account until the product is sold. In
this example, because all inventory produced is sold, there is no difference in operating
income between both options.
In this example, Carlysle produces 500,000 units and sells only 475,000 units. Assume
that there is no beginning inventory.
Carlysle Inc.
Variable costing income statement
Sales (475,000 × $15.00) $7,125,000
Variable cost of goods sold
Variable cost of goods manufactured (500,000 × $9.72) $4,860,000
Less: ending inventory (25,000 × $9.72) 243,000
Variable cost of goods sold 4,617,000
Variable selling (475,000 × $1.16) 551,000 5,168,000
Contribution margin 1,957,000
Fixed costs 1,900,000
Operating income $ 57,000
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Carlysle Inc.
Absorption costing income statement
The income reported under absorption costing is $50,000 higher ($107,000 – $57,000)
than the income reported under variable costing. The variable costing approach
expenses all fixed manufacturing costs in the period incurred ($1,000,000), and the
absorption costing approach only expenses the amount of fixed manufacturing
overhead related to the goods that were sold [($1,000,000/500,000 units × 475,000
units sold) = $950,000]. The difference between these two numbers ($1,000,000 –
$950,000) represents the amount of fixed costs recorded in the ending inventory
account. The difference in ending inventory will flow to opening inventory in the following
period.
The following method can be used to reconcile the difference between both methods:
Income under absorption costing $107,000
+ Fixed costs in opening inventory 0
– Fixed costs in ending inventory (25,000 × $2/unit) (50,000)
Income under variable costing $ 57,000
Performance evaluation
Absorption costing can lead managers to increase operating income in the short run by
increasing the production volume regardless of demand, which is undesirable for the
long-run interests of the company. To monitor this situation, the company can choose to
use variable costing for internal performance evaluation.
Budgeting
A budget is the quantitative expression of an organization’s plans for a set future period
of time. Budgets are used to help control an organization’s use of resources. The
planning role of the manager involves setting objectives and preparing budgets that will
achieve those objectives. The control role involves regularly comparing the budget to
actual results achieved and taking actions to address any significant differences.
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For manufacturing companies, details of the production plan trigger the activities
needed to support production. These activity triggers may include the need to acquire
additional machinery or to hire or lay off employees and the amount and timing of raw
materials for production.
The sales budget can also be used to estimate selling and administration expenses to
complete the budgeted income statement. Cash collections estimated based on the
sales budget, together with cash disbursements, will be used to develop the cash
budget and the balance in accounts receivable/payable for the statement of financial
position.
The following diagram summarizes the components and interrelationships of the master
budget components for a manufacturing company.
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Master budget
Sales budget
Desired ending
inventory budget Production budget
Selling and
administrative expenses
budget
Budgeted income
statement
Cash
Capital Budgeted balance budget
budget sheet
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The following example illustrates how to develop a production plan from a sales budget.
GardenPlus manufactures lawn mowers. The company has estimated sales for March,
April, May, June and July as follows:
March 12,000 units
April 20,000 units
May 50,000 units
June 30,000 units
July 25,000 units
At the end of each month, the company wants to have 20% of the next month’s
budgeted sales in inventory. Therefore, the following is the production budget for
GardenPlus:
Production budget
March April May June
Budgeted sales units 12,000 20,000 50,000 30,000
Add: desired ending inventory 4,000 10,000 6,000 5,000
Total needs 16,000 30,000 56,000 35,000
Less: beginning inventory 2,400 4,000 10,000 6,000
Production requirement 13,600 26,000 46,000 29,000
All remaining budgets then flow from the production budget. The remaining budgets,
along with the cash budget and pro-forma financial statements, are covered in the
course.
Pricing
The three main considerations in pricing decisions are customers, competition and
costs. Customers have a range of prices they will be willing to pay, up to a maximum
price. Competition affects price, as companies compete to substitute or replace each
other’s products. The costs the company incurs in operating and in producing its
products need to be considered to ensure the company obtains a high enough return to
remain in business.
Short-term pricing
One of the approaches to short-term pricing is to set a price that at least meets the
variable cost plus any opportunity cost of supplying the product or service. Because the
price does not consider fixed costs, this type of pricing is sustainable only for the short
term.
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Long-term pricing
The three main choices for long-term pricing are market pricing, cost-based pricing and
cost-plus pricing. Market pricing is used in a competitive environment; a business
examines the market and its customers to determine what the market will pay for its
product. In cost-based pricing, a business factors in fixed costs as well as variable costs
when setting a long-term price for a product. The most widely used approach is cost-
plus pricing, whereby a markup is added to the cost base. This approach reflects a
stable, long-term equilibrium price that supports both demand and supply.
The following example illustrates how a selling price is set using the estimated costs of
a product over its lifetime.
TubZone is developing a new solar-powered hot tub called the SolarSpa. The company
predicts that customers will be willing to pay a higher price for this product because the
solar cells used to heat the tub will produce constant, even heat in areas that receive
little direct sunlight. Marketing expects to sell an average of 2,500 SolarSpa tubs per
year and expects demand to last for eight years.
To appropriately price this product, the cost accountant worked with the development
team to arrive at the following prospective costs. TubZone marks up its products by 30%
of the lifetime costs to provide a satisfactory return on investment.
Total for
Annual product life
SolarSpa — Lifetime costs Per unit (2,500 units) (8 years)
Unit costs
Direct materials cost $1,300
Direct labour cost 840
Variable manufacturing overhead cost 960
Variable selling, general and administrative costs 500
Total variable costs $3,600 $9,000,000 $ 72,000,000
Annual costs
Fixed manufacturing 2,500,000 20,000,000
Fixed selling, general and administrative 450,000 3,600,000
Cost of quality 160,000 1,280,000
One-time costs
Product development costs 10,000,000
Product abandonment costs 1,520,000
Total product-related costs $108,400,000
Total lifetime unit sales (2,500 × 8 years) 20,000
Total product cost per unit $ 5,420
Prospective selling price (30% markup) $ 7,046
Other factors should be considered when using cost-based prices. Prices are subject to
factors such as fluctuating demand and competition. Some companies, such as airlines,
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practice price discrimination because they know that certain customers are willing to
pay higher prices than others. Additionally, peak-load pricing is used in the hotel
industry — higher prices are charged during months when tourism is high.
Practice questions
1. Multiple-choice questions:
Solution
Option b) is correct.
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Absorption Variable
cost cost
Sales (80,000 × $45) $3,600,000 $3,600,000
Option a) is incorrect. You did not include the variable selling costs in total
variable costs when calculating the net operating income using variable costing.
Option d) is incorrect. This amount is the difference between the cost of goods
manufactured under each method.
ii. Which of the following budgets is the first to be prepared when developing the
master budget?
a) Production budget
b) Cash budget
c) Direct materials budget
d) Sales budget
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Solution
Option a), b) and c) is incorrect. All other budgets flow from the sales budget,
which determines the levels of production.
iii. Pan Co. purchases and resells water bottles at a price of $8/bottle with a gross
margin of 40%. During the month of April, Pan plans to sell 5,000 water bottles.
In May, it plans to sell 6,000 and in June, 5,500. If the company plans to have
inventory on hand at the end of each month at 10% of the following month’s
sale, what would be the planned purchases in units for April?
a) 5,100
b) 5,600
c) 5,950
d) 6,550
Solution
Option a) is correct. The purchase of the water bottles should meet the sales
target and be adjusted for the inventory level.
Option b) is incorrect. This is the number of units required for sales plus ending
inventory. You did not adjust for the beginning inventory.
Option d) is incorrect. This is the number of sales units plus the ending
inventory units for May.
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2. Alarums Ltd. produces Wi-Fi home security alarms. The company had the following
results for January 20X1: .
Units: January
Beginning inventory 0
Production 1,000
Sales 900
Ending inventory 100
Costs:
Variable manufacturing costs per unit:
Direct materials $10
Direct labour 5
Variable manufacturing overhead 3
Variable marketing costs per unit 2
The president has heard that there are alternatives to the inventory costing and
wonders if management control might be better using an alternative.
Required:
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Solution
Alarums Ltd.
Variable costing income statement
For the month ended January 31, 20X1
Alarums Ltd.
Absorption costing income statement
For the month ended January 31, 20X1
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CPA Way steps: Analyze Major Issue(s) and Conclude and Advise
Alarums’ management should use the variable costing method to reduce the
potential overproduction of inventory. Because the absorption costing method holds
back fixed costs of unsold units in inventory, operating income is increased even
though sales have not increased. A production manager whose bonus is based on
operating income may be tempted to increase production to increase the bottom
line. The variable costing method expenses all fixed costs in the period incurred.
The financial manager on the development team has budgeted the following costs:
Unit costs
Direct materials cost $2,100
Direct labour cost 650
Variable manufacturing overhead cost 860
Variable selling, general and administrative costs 450
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Annual costs
Fixed manufacturing 2,500,000
Fixed selling, general and administrative 450,000
Marketing and distribution 540,000
Cost of quality (including warranty costs) 360,000
After-sales service 420,000
One-time costs
Research and development 13,000,000
Production line setup 5,000,000
Required:
Using the CPA Way, calculate the selling price using the cost-plus method and
advise management on whether the selling price should be set using market pricing
or cost-plus pricing.
Solution
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CPA Way steps: Analyze Major Issue(s) and Conclude and Advise
The Audiocuisine is a unique product with little competition in the market. As such,
customers would be willing to pay a higher price for the product, and there is less
concern over costs. Market-based pricing is used in a competitive environment
where sales are based on a price that is better than the competition. In this situation,
management should set the price using cost-plus pricing.
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One of the main benefits of standard costing is that it allows management accountants
to focus on any deviations from the standards, called variances. Looking at a summary
of the variances in cost and usage for a period helps direct the management
accountant’s attention to areas that may require investigation. In addition, standards
provide employees with benchmarks for individual performance.
Parker applies overhead based on direct labour hours. Estimates at the beginning of the
year were for production and sales of 1,500 sofas and fixed overhead costs of $52,500.
Thus, the fixed overhead application rate was set at $52,500 / (1,500 sofas × 5 direct
labour hours) = $7 per direct labour hour.
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Now consider the following, which compares the actual results with the static budget
results:
Actual Variance Static budget
Volume (sofas) 1,300 200 U 1,500
Revenue $617,500 $57,500 U $675,000
Variable costs:
Direct materials 180,000 9,000 F 189,000
Direct labour 139,750 10,250 F 150,000
Variable overhead 61,750 4,250 F 66,000
Total variable costs 381,500 23,500 F 405,000
Contribution margin 236,000 34,000 U 270,000
Fixed manufacturing costs 61,500 9,000 U 52,500
Gross margin $174,500 $43,000 U $217,500
This basic static budget variance analysis compares actual results with the static
budget. By convention, management accountants compute variances by subtracting the
budget amount from the actual amount. Variances that have a favourable impact on
income are labelled F, whereas variances that have an unfavourable impact on income
are labelled U.
The problem with this analysis is that it provides few insights into how well costs were
controlled, because the budgeted and actual costs reflect different activity levels. For
example, Parker’s direct materials variance is $9,000 favourable, meaning that it spent
less on direct materials than budgeted. A misinformed manager might be led to believe
that the variance was due to efficient production or the use of lower-cost direct
materials. Instead, the fact that 200 fewer sofas were produced and sold than planned
should also be taken into consideration.
To resolve this issue, Parker could develop a flexible budget to show expected
revenues and costs at the actual level of activity. The flexible budget is calculated using
the per-unit costs and quantities from the standard cost card at the actual level of
activity. Parker’s standard cost card indicates that each sofa should have $126 of direct
materials. Whereas the static budget multiplies $126 by 1,500 sofas to get $189,000,
the flexible budget multiplies $126 by 1,300, the actual number of sofas produced, to
arrive at $163,800. It is also important to note that fixed costs do not change in a flexible
budget because they are not affected by units produced and sold.
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Flexible Sales
budget Flexible volume Static
Actual variance budget variance budget
Volume (sofas) 1,300 — 1,300 200 U 1,500
Revenue $617,500 $32,500 F $585,000 $90,000 U $675,000
Variable costs:
Direct materials 180,000 16,200 U 163,800 25,200 F 189,000
Direct labour 139,750 9,750 U 130,000 20,000 F 150,000
Variable overhead 61,750 4,550 U 57,200 8,800 F 66,000
Total variable costs 381,500 30,500 U 351,000 54,000 F 405,000
Contribution margin 236,000 2,000 F 234,000 36,000 U 270,000
Fixed manufacturing costs 61,500 9,000 U 52,500 — 52,500
Gross margin $174,500 $ 7,000 U $181,500 $36,000 U $217,500
$ 43,000 U
Static budget variance
The sales volume variance, which compares the difference between the flexible budget
and the static budget, is simply the change in profit that results from a change in volume
when all the per-unit standard prices and the standard usage of direct materials, direct
labour and variable overhead are held constant. On the other hand, the flexible budget
variance, which compares the difference between the actual budget and the flexible
budget, is derived from changes in unit price, unit variable costs and fixed costs when
the sales units are held constant at actual.
The following is an overview of some of the flexible budget variances using the Parker
example:
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Using Parker’s standard cost card, 10 kg of materials at a cost of $12.60 per kg should
have been used per sofa.
Therefore, the flexible budget allowance for direct materials will be 13,000 kg (1,300
sofas × 10 kg) at total cost of $163,800 (1,300 sofas × 10 kg × $12.60). The actual
amount of materials purchased and used was 14,400 kg. The actual price paid per kg
was $12.50. The following calculations explain the $16,200 unfavourable flexible budget
variance:
Standard quantity
Actual quantity of Actual quantity of inputs allowed for actual
inputs × Actual price × Standard price output × Standard price
Direct 14,400 × $12.50 14,400 × $12.60 13,000 × $12.60
materials $180,000 $181,440 $163,800
$1,440 F $17,640 U
Direct materials price variance Direct materials quantity variance
$16,200 U
Flexible budget variance
Note that the direct material quantity variance should be determined for the amount of
materials purchased instead of the amount used. In this example, the amount of
materials purchased is the same as the amount used.
Parker’s standard direct labour use is five hours per sofa. Therefore, the flexible budget
allowance for direct labour will be 6,500 hours (1,300 sofas × 5 hours per sofa) at a total
cost of $130,000 (1,300 sofas × 5 hours × $20/hour). While the standard rate for direct
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labour is $20 per hour, the actual rate paid for direct labour was $21.50 per hour. The
actual direct labour hours were 6,500. Note that because actual hours (6,500) and
standard hours allowed for 1,300 sofas are the same (1,300 sofas × 5 hours = 6,500),
there is no direct labour efficiency variance. The following calculations explain the
unfavourable flexible budget variance of $9,750:
Standard quantity
Actual quantity of Actual quantity of allowed for actual
inputs × Actual price inputs × Standard price output × Standard price
Direct 6,500 × $21.50 6,500 × $20.00 6,500 × $20.00
labour $139,750 $130,000 $130,000
$9,750 U $0
Direct labour rate Direct labour efficiency
variance variance
$9,750 U
Flexible budget variance
Variable manufacturing overhead variance is treated much like the other variable cost
variances and will be covered in detail in the course.
In the case of Parker, fixed manufacturing overhead is applied to production using direct
labour hours. Parker’s standard direct labour hour use is five hours per sofa. The fixed
overhead allocation rate is budgeted at $7 per hour. Therefore, the fixed overhead
applied for the 1,300 sofas would be $45,500 (1,300 sofas × 5 hours × $7/hour). The
fixed overhead budget cost is $52,500. The fixed overhead actual cost is $61,500.
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$16,000 U
Underapplied fixed overhead
Note that the model used here is different from the model used to calculate variable cost
variances. This model provides evidence of the reason for underapplied or overapplied
overhead in the manufacturing overhead account.
In this example, the analysis explains the reason for the $16,000 of underapplied
overhead illustrated in the following T-account. $9,000 of the underapplied overhead
was due to spending more than planned and $7,000 was due to producing 200 fewer
sofas than planned (200 × $7 × 5 hours).
Fixed
manufacturing overhead
Actual $61,500 $45,500 Applied
(1,300 × 5 × $7)
Underapplied $16,000
Additional variances that will be covered in the course are the mix and yield variances
and the revenue variances consisting of sales mix, sales quantity, market share and
market size variances.
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Practice questions
1. Multiple-choice questions:
i. Balto Co. budgeted for production and sales of 63,000 units of Xeron in June,
but produced and sold only 60,000 units. Actual direct labour costs of $125,000
were incurred during this period. Direct labour cost was budgeted at $2.25 per
unit. What is the flexible budget variance for the direct labour cost?
a) $10,000 F
b) $10,000 U
c) $16,750 F
d) $16,750 U
Solution
Option b) is incorrect. Balto’s actual direct labour costs are $10,000 less than
the budgeted cost. This is a favourable variance.
Option d) is incorrect. The actual cost of $125,000 was compared to the static
budget cost instead of the flexible budget cost. Additionally, the actual cost is
less than the budgeted cost. This means that the variance would have been
favourable.
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ii. Jasper Co. makes a single product. Its standard costs per unit are as follows:
*Based on normal capacity of 50,000 units. $7 per direct labour hour is variable.
At the beginning of the year, there were no inventories. During the year, the
following events occurred:
• Direct labour was $790,750 for 151,000 direct labour hours worked.
• Variable overhead incurred was $1,046,000.
• Fixed overhead was $490,000.
• Jasper produced 48,000 units. There were no unfinished goods or WIP at
the end of the year.
What was the fixed manufacturing volume variance for the year?
a) $18,000 U
b) $18,000 F
c) $40,000 U
d) $58,000 U
Solution
Option a) is correct. Jasper produced 2,000 fewer units (50,000 – 48,000) than
planned. The overhead application rate is $3 ($10 – $7) per direct labour hour
and the standard hours per unit is three. Thus, the volume variance is 2,000 × 3
hours × $3 = $18,000 unfavourable.
Standard hours allowed
Actual Budgeted for actual output ×
fixed overhead fixed overhead Standard rate
Fixed ($10 – $7) × 3 hours ($10 – $7) × 3 hours ×
manufacturing $490,000 × 50,000 units 48,000 units
overhead $450,000 $432,000
$40,000 U $18,000 U
Budget variance Volume variance
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Option c) is incorrect. This is the budget variance, not the volume variance.
Option d) is incorrect. This is the total of the budget and volume variances, as
well as the amount of underapplied overhead. This amount must be split into
the budget variance and the production volume variance.
2. Valley Co. uses a standard cost system to control production costs. The following
information is available for the past year:
Actual Budget
Production 22,000 units 20,000 units
Direct materials:
Quantity 100,000 kg 5 kg per unit of output
Cost $185,000 $160,000 at $1.60/kg
Direct labour:
Hours 10,500 hours 1 hour per unit of output
Cost $160,000 $240,000 at $12/hour
There were no direct materials beginning and ending inventories for the year.
Required:
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Solution
i.
Actual quantity Standard quantity
of inputs × Actual quantity of inputs allowed for actual output
Actual price × Standard price × Standard price
Direct $1.85 × 100,000 $1.60 × 100,000 5 kg × 22,000 × $1.60
materials $185,000 $160,000 $176,000
$25,000 U $16,000 F
Direct materials price Direct materials
variance quantity variance
ii.
Actual quantity Actual quantity Standard quantity
of inputs of inputs allowed for actual output
× Actual price × Standard price × Standard price
Direct 10,500 × $15.24 10,500 × $12 1 hour × 22,000 × $12
labour $160,000 $126,000 $264,000
$34,000 U $138,000 F
Direct labour rate variance Direct labour efficiency variance
b) CPA Way steps: Analyze Major Issue(s) and Conclude and Advise
While these observations are not conclusive, it does provide management with a
starting point to determine whether it was worth the additional direct materials
costs. If this is the case, the additional cost of $25,000 is far surpassed by the
favourable variance of $154,000 ($16,000 + 138,000).
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The concept of a sunk cost is a key focus in decision-making. Sunk costs (past costs
that have been incurred and are irreversible) are not relevant according to the relevant
cost approach. Management accountants should ensure that sunk costs do not affect
current managerial choices.
When making decisions, managers must consider both quantitative and qualitative
factors. Qualitative factors, such as laying off long-time, loyal personnel when
eliminating a department, must be considered along with quantitative figures relating to
profits and losses.
Four basic relevant costing models are illustrated here; a fifth will be covered in the
course.
Make-or-buy decision
Businesses often need to decide whether to produce a product (or part of a product
needed in production) or purchase it from an external supplier. Relevant costs in this
decision often include, but are not limited to, the costs saved from not producing the
item internally, revenue that can be earned if the space is used for other purposes, and
of course the cost incurred to purchase externally. Below is an example of such a
decision.
Calvin’s SUP Ltd. makes 30,000 stand-up paddleboards each year. One of the
paddleboard components is a fin that aids the stability of the board. Currently, the fins
are made by Calvin’s SUP at the following cost:
Direct materials (unit) $25.00
Direct labour (unit) $20.00
Variable manufacturing OH (unit) $4.80
Fixed manufacturing costs (total) $950,000
An outside supplier has offered to sell Calvin’s SUP all the fins it requires to
manufacture its paddleboards for $58 each. If the company decides to purchase all of
its fins from the outside supplier, it would lay off one plant supervisor who currently has
an annual salary of $66,000. All other fixed costs relate to plant and equipment shared
by all product lines and cannot be avoided.
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The first step is determining which costs are relevant. If the fin manufacturing is
outsourced to the supplier, all costs that can be eliminated are relevant to the decision.
For Calvin’s SUP, it consists of the following:
Direct materials (unit) $25.00
Direct labour (unit) $20.00
Variable manufacturing OH (unit) $4.80
Usually fixed costs are not easily eliminated as they tend to be allocated to divisions
and are based on company-wide costs. However, in this situation, the salary of the laid-
off supervisor is relevant. The cost of the salary per unit is $2.20 ($66,000 / 30,000).
Qualitative factors that should be considered in these types of decisions include the
quality of the supplier’s products and the ability of the supplier to provide timely
deliveries.
Add-or-drop decision
Organizations are constantly faced with decisions relating to whether to keep or
abandon products or divisions whose profitability is declining. These types of decisions
involve complex considerations of the interactions among strategic, cost-cutting and
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Management is considering closing the Halifax Division; however, 60% of the division’s
fixed costs are common to all divisions and cannot be saved.
The relevant costs in this decision are those that will be eliminated if the Halifax Division
is closed. First, it is important to note that not only will all of the variable costs be
avoided, but all of the associated revenue will also be lost. Therefore, the entire
contribution margin of the Halifax Division will be eliminated. Furthermore, 40% (100% –
60%) of the fixed costs will be eliminated — that is, 60% of the fixed costs will still be
incurred by the company even if the division is eliminated. This results in the following:
In this situation, the decision would be to keep the Halifax Division running. Closing the
division would result in a total decrease of $6,000. This is because of the $32,000 the
Halifax Division is still providing to cover the $26,000 (40% × 65,000) in fixed costs
attributable to the division.
If an organization does not have capacity to meet the special order, then it would have
to forfeit sales from its existing customers. This is referred to as the opportunity cost of
the special order, and it has both qualitative and quantitative effects on the organization.
Finally, fixed costs are usually not considered in the special order, as they are fixed and
would be incurred regardless of if the order is taken or not. The only fixed costs relevant
to special orders are additional fixed costs caused by the new order.
Consider a company that manufactures water bottles with a total manufacturing cost of
$7.50 per bottle, of which $5 is variable. The normal selling price of the water bottle is
$15. The company has a capacity of 20,000 water bottles per month and is currently
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producing 12,000 water bottles per month. A local sports retailer is organizing a bicycle
race and would like to purchase 6,000 water bottles for $6 each. The water bottle
company will be responsible for putting the sports retailer’s logo on the bottle for $0.40
each. Should the water bottle company take the offer?
A key factor for this order is that the company has idle capacity to produce an extra
8,000 (20,000 – 12,000) water bottles. This indicates there would be no opportunity cost
to accommodating the 6,000 bottles for the special order. That is, the company will not
have to forfeit any of its current sales to meet the requirements of the special order.
Furthermore, since the fixed costs are already covered by the sales from existing
customers, the only relevant costs for the special order would be the variable costs and
the logo printing costs.
Unit Total
Revenue $6.00 $36,000
Costs
Variable manufacturing cost $5.00 $30,000
Logo cost 0.40 2,400
Total cost $5.40 $32,400
Incremental profit $0.60 $ 3,600
Because this results in an incremental profit of $3,600 (6,000 × $0.60), the water bottle
company should take on the special order.
Consider a company that produces Gidgets and Widgets with the following contribution
margins and production times:
Contribution margin Machine hours
Gidgets $20 2
Widgets $24 3
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If the company’s machine hours are restricted and there is unlimited demand for both
Gidgets and Widgets, which product will allow the company to maximize its contribution
margin?
Solving this problem relies on determining the contribution margin each product will
produce per machine hour (constrained resource):
Contribution margin / Machine hour = CM per MH
Gidgets $20 2 $10
Widgets $24 3 $ 8
In this case, the company should focus on producing Gidgets. Even though its
contribution margin per unit is less than Widgets, its ability to be completed in two hours
allows the company to make $10 per machine hour. On the other hand, the production
of one unit of Widgets takes three hours, resulting in an hourly contribution rate of $8
per machine hour. Given the limited amount of machine hours, the more profit
generated per hour the better. Thus, producing Gidgets maximizes profit for the
company.
Transfer pricing
The primary role of the profit centre approach is to promote an entrepreneurial spirit in
managers who are held accountable for the profit of the unit they manage, thus
improving the organization’s overall performance. In other words, a profit centre helps
ensure that the goals of the division are congruent with those of the organization.
Transfer pricing involves valuing the transfer of a good or service between two
responsibility centres.
These two perspectives can cause conflict in the organization, especially when a
manager of a division behaves in ways that will make their own centre’s profit as large
as possible at the risk of the organization’s total profit being reduced.
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The minimum transfer price is the price that would make the selling division as well off
as it was before the transfer. It is generally expressed as:
Variable cost + Opportunity cost of lost sales = Minimum transfer price
The maximum transfer price is the price that would make the purchasing division as well
off as it was before and is generally equal to the price the purchasing division would pay
on the external market.
If the maximum transfer price exceeds the minimum transfer price — that is, the cost to
purchase the product from the external market is higher than the cost to make the
product internally (in another division) — then making a transfer will benefit the
company and the two divisions.
Consider two divisions of a bicycle manufacturing plant: the Seat Division and the
Assembly Division. The Seat Division manufactures bicycle seats at a variable cost of
$75. It can sell the seats for $125 on the external market. The final assembly of the
bicycles takes place in the Assembly Division, where an additional $650 of variable
costs are incurred before adding the cost of a seat. The bicycles are then sold for
$1,200. The Assembly Division can purchase the seats from the external market for
$115. Consider the minimum and maximum transfer prices in the following scenarios:
1. The Seat Division has enough capacity to satisfy the Assembly Division’s need for
seats. Using the general pricing model, the following illustrates the calculation of the
minimum transfer price, the maximum transfer price, and the resulting profits:
Maximum transfer price = $115 (what the Assembly Division pays the external
supplier).
The idle capacity in the Seat Division means there is no opportunity costs from
lost sales for the external market. Furthermore, no additional or incremental fixed
costs will be incurred. Since it costs the corporation less to produce the seats
internally than to purchase them externally, the transfer should happen between
the divisions. The corporation as a whole will save $40 ($115 – $75) on each of
the seats produced and transferred internally.
If the transfer price is set at $110 between the two divisions, the Seat Division will
generate an additional $35 ($110 – $75) per unit for each of the seats
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transferred, and the Assembly Division will save $5 ($115 – $110) per unit for
each of the seats purchased internally.
2. Now assume that the Seat Division is operating at capacity and will have to forgo
outside sales to satisfy the Assembly Division’s need for seats.
As the Seat Division is operating at capacity for the external market, each seat
transferred internally will mean one seat sale to external customers is lost.
Therefore, the contribution margin lost on the external customers should be included
as the opportunity cost. Contribution margin = Selling price – Variable costs = $125 –
75 = $50/seat.
Maximum transfer price = $115 (what the Assembly Division pays the external
supplier).
Note that the minimum transfer price will equal the external selling price that the
Seat Division is charging.
Under this scenario, the minimum transfer price exceeds the maximum transfer price,
so it is better to purchase externally. The transfer should not happen.
Practice questions
1. Multiple-choice questions:
i. Michelangelo Co. makes a single product. Cost information for the product is as
follows:
Direct materials $12
Direct labour 8
Variable manufacturing overhead 6
Variable selling expenses 5
Fixed manufacturing overhead 1
The fixed overhead cost per unit is based on a normal volume of 20,000 units.
Fixed selling and administrative expenses are $40,000 regardless of the
number of units produced and sold.
Michelangelo has an opportunity to buy this product at a cost of $28 per unit. It
is expecting to sell 18,000 units in the upcoming year.
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a) Continue to make the product because buying the product will incur $36,000
of incremental costs.
b) Buy the product because it will save the company $54,000.
c) Buy the product because it will save the company $72,000.
d) Continue to make the product because buying the product will incur
$144,000 of incremental costs.
Solution
Option a) is correct.
Per unit Total 18,000 units
Make Buy Make Buy
Direct materials $12.00 $216,000
Direct labour 8.00 144,000
Variable manufacturing
6.00 108,000
overhead
Variable selling expenses —
Fixed overhead —
Fixed manufacturing overhead —
External purchase price $28.00 $504,000
Total $26.00 $28.00 $468,000 $504,000
Difference in favour of making $2.00 $36,000
Option b) is incorrect. Variable selling costs are not relevant. The company will
continue to incur selling costs whether the product is made or bought.
Option c) is incorrect. You included all product costs and variable selling costs
as relevant. Only direct materials, direct labour and variable manufacturing
overhead are relevant in this situation.
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ii. Gamma Co. has two divisions: Division A and Division B. Division A’s practical
capacity is 750,000 units of component FF2517 per year. Component FF2517
can be sold at a market price of $325. Division B needs 150,000 units of
component FF2517 to manufacture its product. Last year, the cost of
manufacturing component FF2517 in Division A was:
Cost Per unit
Direct material $67
Direct labour $55
Variable manufacturing overhead $21
Fixed manufacturing overhead $102
What is the minimum transfer price that Division A would be willing to accept for
the 150,000 units sold to Division B if Division A has enough excess capacity to
take on the order? Round to the nearest dollar.
a) $123
b) $143
c) $245
d) $325
Solution
Option c) is incorrect. This is the total of all manufacturing costs. Only the
variable manufacturing costs are relevant.
Option d) is incorrect. The selling price would be the minimum transfer price if
Division A was operating at capacity.
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2. Anvil Co. is operating at 80% of its maximum capacity of 50,000 units. The company
.
makes a single product and is selling all of its regular production, and it anticipates a
surge in demand in the foreseeable future. The company is considering a proposal
to supply 10,000 units to a customer as a special one-time order. The proposed
price per unit is $14.50. The regular selling price for this product is $22.50. The per-
unit variable costs are as follows:
Variable cost Per unit
Direct materials $2.50
Direct labour (1/4 hour) $6.00
Variable manufacturing overhead $1.50
Sales commission $0.50
Required:
a) Should the company take on the proposed special order for 10,000 units at a
selling price of $14.50 per unit? Provide calculations.
b) The customer requesting the special order called the next day and asked Anvil to
engrave its logo on each unit. This would require an additional 10 minutes of
direct labour per unit and the purchase of a special etching tool that would cost
$7,500. Anvil would have no use for the tool after the project and it would not
have any resale value. What effect would this have on the profitability of the
special order?
c) Review the results from parts (a) and (b) and provide a recommendation to
management. The answer should discuss the alternatives and provide
management with a revised price that takes into consideration the cost of the
additional labour and etching tool and allows Anvil the choice to either break
even or ensure the same incremental income as the part (a) proposal. Discuss a
qualitative concern relevant to the revised proposal.
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Solution
If the company takes on the special order at a selling price of $14.50 per unit, the
incremental profit is $45,000. This is calculated as follows:
Unit Total
Revenue $14.50 $145,000
Costs
Direct materials $ 2.50 $ 25,000
Direct labour (per 1/4 hour) 6.00 60,000
Variable manufacturing overhead 1.50 15,000
Total cost $10.00 $100,000
Incremental profit $ 4.50 $ 45,000
There is no opportunity cost for the special order as there is idle capacity of 20%
× 50,000 = 10,000 units.
If Anvil takes on the additional customer requests, its profits will decrease by
$2,500.
Unit Total
Revenue $14.50 $145,000
Costs
Direct materials $ 2.50 $ 25,000
Direct labour (per 25 minutes) 10.00* 100,000
Variable manufacturing overhead 1.50 15,000
Etching tool 0.75 7,500
Total cost $14.75 $147,500
Incremental loss $ (0.25) $ (2,500)
*$6.00/15 × 25 = $10.00
c) CPA Way step: Analyze Major Issue(s) and Conclude and Advise
Taking on the project with the initial parameters in part (a) at $14.50 per unit is a
good use of Anvil’s available capacity as it provides the company with an
increase in profits of $45,000. Anvil’s management would have to consider if it is
willing to take a loss on the project by satisfying the customer’s additional
requirements of etching its logo on the product. Alternatively, Anvil could revise
its selling price to one that breaks even or one that provides the same
incremental profit based on the initial parameters.
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If Anvil wants to break even on the project, the new selling price would be $14.75
to cover all the costs.
If Anvil wants to make a profit equal to the return on the first proposal, the new
selling price would be $19.25 ($14.75 + $4.50).
It should also be noted that by taking on the additional 10,000 units, the plant
would be operating at capacity. Management should take into consideration if the
additional 10 minutes per unit would even be possible if it measured capacity in
direct labour hours.
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