You are on page 1of 6

IJBIT/ISSN 0974-5874/V12/02/255

A comparative study of application effectiveness between digital and social


media marketing for sustainability of start-ups
Natika Poddar1 Dipti Agarwal2

ABSTRACT:
Technology is progressing and the digital marketing landscape is ever progressing. Social media marketing plays an
important role for any Start-up companies to grow and sustain. Start-up companies are expanding rapidly and increasing.
Social media marketing is one of the best platforms to create a brand loyalty and increase the ROI. Start-ups have played
and continue to play a significant role in the growth and development. Start-up companies are always associated with
innovation. It is said that biggest pain point in digital marketing are the advertising which is done with the help of Social
media marketing tools, web flexibility and integrating the digital tools with Legacy. Also, digital marketing helps in lowering
the marketing cost by paying cost per click or visit. And the most popular tool used for spent on advertisement is cost per
click. It is also cost effective for the start-ups to promote their business as well as launch of the product or service. Also,
it could be helpful to analyse your reach to target audience as well as how effectively you spent for marketing. Digital
marketing tool is a perfect marketing tool for start-ups. As compared to traditional marketing digital marketing is cheaper
as well as give better results. Although as a start-up entrepreneur, it’s important to focus on digital marketing and social
media marketing through implementing the marketing strategies and find out what will work better for the business. And
should always be open to adapt the changes and reap the benefits. Now a days Consumer prefer unique product and
spend most of their time on social sites. They keep looking up for good quality of product and service on multiple device,
locations and languages. Even for improving customer support various technology can be used by Start-ups. Digital
marketing and social media marketing are evolving and will bound to pose with the new challenges and opportunities.

The purpose of the study is to examine the sustainability and effectiveness of start up’s through comparative study of
social media marketing and digital marketing. Primary study is based on 100 sample size was considered for survey.
Hypothesis was tested through CHI Square and T-test.

Keywords: Digital Marketing, Social media marketing, Sustainability, Technology, Effectiveness

INTRODUCTION There are more than 2.46 billion active users of social media
With the motivation of Start-up India there has been a significant network out of which 2 billion people are frequently online in
increase in the number of Start-up companies in the nation. the network. Earlier people were attracted to use a particular
Debjani Ghosh president of NASSCOM said “India is becoming product or service by seeing the advertisement that aired on
a start-up hub. Opportunity for growth is enormous, which we television. Similarly, due to such a large increase in the people
had never seen in our lifetime,” and as per NASSCOM, Start- connecting to social media, there is a creation of the platform
up in India saw a 108% growth in total funding from USD 2 for developing of businesses through social media marketing.
billion in 2017 to USD 4.2 billion in 2018. There are various Also, attracting consumers through social media marketing
factors that lead to the growth of Start-ups in India in which helps to reduce the marketing cost. Thus, Start-up companies
major share is taken by their marketing strategies to attract the find it as a platform to reduce the marketing cost and at the
consumers and increase the sustainability of Start-up. same time increase their sales and revenue.
Thus, conclusion can be made that digital marketing and social
Digital marketing is the use of the internet and digital devices, media marketing plays a vital role in cost effectiveness and
search engines, display advertising and other digital media increasing the sales as well as revenue exponentially. Hence,
to reach the audience. Digital marketing involves Short providing sustainability and growth to the start-ups.
Message Service (SMS), Simple Notation Services (SNS),
Search Engine Optimization (SEO) and other online ads to Comparison of social media marketing & Digital marketing
promote product and services. Use of digital marketing has 1. Digital marketing means creating awareness as well as
increased the company visibility on the internet. Also, it helps promoting brand or product or services online by using
to study the customer behaviour with the website and based various digital channels. Digital marketing consists of
on that analysis it provides the customer desired service to Internet marketing i.e. SEM includes Pay per click etc and
the consumer. Social media marketing is one of the aspects Non – Internet marketing is through Television, Radio etc.
of digital marketing which also plays an important role in whereas social media marketing is promotion of a business
increasing the company profit and revenue exponentially. brand by using social media platforms like Facebook, Twitter,
Instagram etc.

1
Natika Poddar, PhD, Associate Professor-Fin, St. Francis Institute of Management and Research, Mumbai
2
Dipti Agarwal, Researcher, St. Francis Institute of Management and Research, Mumbai

IJBIT / Volume 12/ Issue 2 / April-September 2019 50


Natika Poddar and Dipti Agarwal A comparative study of application effectiveness between digital and social media
marketing for sustainability of start-ups

2. Digital marketing is more affordable than the traditional might have a great product with funding but will end up with
marketing, but it is costlier than the social media marketing. no users (Google+). If capital is ignored, then you might have
Social media is a platform openly available to everyone to good product with a lot of users but no way to make money
promote their business for free of cost. The other advantage (Facebook faced it for few years).
of digital marketing is to spend as per the click or visit or
impression. It’s a cost-effective tool for the business to grow So, it is crucial to understand the importance of each pillars and
and sustain in the market. focus on building the start up for the long tug. It states that, the
3. Further can be explained through a case study of Zomato: paid service should be less for the initial stage as customers
Zomato is an application that connects the foodies with are least bothered to know from where they came to know
various restaurants. The start-up has been a great success about your product or services. Even it doesn’t matter how you
within a short span. While studying the marketing strategy of reach to them through email marketing or paid services, but
the company, found that Zomato has extensively invested a they will try to use it, if they want too. So, start-up companies
lot over SEM, SMO and also has worked a lot to improve its should use less paid services till they reach to 100 customers.
UI and make it more user interactive. On the other side they
have also invested in TV ads to spread globally. Zomato Syed Sirajuddin (2015) -A blog by Syed Sirajuddin (2015) for
used various social media platform to engage with their role of digital marketing in growth of Start-up. He talks about
customers Like Facebook, Twitter, Blog, and Pinterest. how digital marketing is important for the Start-ups. Many start-
4. Nowadays every company, having an online presence up companies think only digital marketing is important, but that
demands their application developer to add a Search engine fact is that it should be a part of your business plan from the
optimization to their webpage but not every company desire beginning. He states that many start-up companies fail due to
to have a social presence. poor marketing even though the product is good. In blog Syed
5. To sum up, Social media marketing is a part of digital says, the power of digital marketing is nothing but the future
marketing. Through the various techniques the marketer of marketing. A few start-ups like Bewakoof.com, apparels
can track the impressions, through a number of visits or and mobile cover seller has become India’s topmost socially
clicks etc. engaged brand with 1.5 Million fan pages on Facebook. And
now they have started selling through instant messaging
Comprehensive Online marketing cost i.e. WhatsApp and they claim that 15% of his sale is from
• The three largest online marketing platforms are Google WhatsApp itself. He says all company cannot work in a same
AdWords, Instagram, and Facebook Ad. Following are the manner with same strategy. And for growth and to sustain
online marketing cost. in competitive market, is possible only if winning marketing
• The average cost of an advertisement on Google Ads strategy is generated.
(AdWords) is $2.32 per click on the search network. The
average cost per click of an ad on the Display Network is However, all the start-up company need to focus on
under $0.58. effectiveness of digital marketing and social media marketing
• The average cost per action (CPA) in a Google advertising by executing different marketing strategies which work best for
search campaign is $59.18. the business. And should always accept the changes as it’s an
• The most expensive keywords in Google advertising and on growing.
Bing Ads cost $50 or more per click. These are generally
highly competitive keywords in industries that have high Jigar Zatakia (2017) – An article on Digital Marketing for Start-
customer lifetime values, like law and insurance. up by CEO of First Economy Pvt Ltd. He talks about how difficult
• The average small business using Google advertising is running your own start-up. For start-up entrepreneurs, it’s
spends between $9,000 and $10,000 per month on their must to plan and then execute. Jigar Zatakia says that many
online advertising campaigns. That’s $100,000 to $120,000 entrepreneurs ignore digital marketing due to high cost and
per year. feel it’s a liability. But digital marketing is a back bone for the
• The average cost per click of an online Facebook ad is $1.72. start-up entrepreneurs to sustain in the competitive market. If
The average cost per action on Facebook Ads is $18.68. digital marketing is done correctly, then it can create a huge
• The typical CPM on Facebook Ads is around $10. impact for a long term. Your content plays a major role for start-
• The typical CPM for an Instagram ad is closer to $5, but up.
Instagram ad costs are rising as the platforms gains in
popularity Garvit Bafna – An article by Garvit Bafna on 7 Must – Have
Online Marketing tools for Start-up. As per the article she talks
REVIEW OF LITERATURE about start-up has to face a greater challenge to be successful
Rajeev Pandey (2016): In Rajeev Pandey article on 17th in the long run. An ease availability of tools and resources it
November 2016, states that key pillars can turn start-ups leads to success of Start-up. Here is an internet who plays a
into sustainable company. The article says that most of the major role for start-up. As it provides an unlimited number of
company focus only on raising funds and marketing, ignoring the resources as well as tools. She says, it’s a cost-effective
product development which leads to high traffic and do to way for establishing brands to target the audience as well as
which website goes down. And to build their start up new to market their products or services. Also, digital marketing
founders and co-founders need to understand the framework. strategy is must for the start-up’s needs an implementation
This article states that we need to include product, capital and for more bang of their buck. It helps to implement, analyse,
marketing all three to sustain. If only product development is calibrate, monitor and evaluate a campaign. She explains how
ignored, then it may lead to site crash and the same mistake these tools can help a start-up to run a ship and merrily sail
was done by the Flipkart when they first launched the Big into the sunset.
Billion Day Campaign. And if marketing is ignored then you

IJBIT / Volume 12/ Issue 2 / April-September 2019 51


A comparative study of application effectiveness between digital and social media Natika Poddar and Dipti Agarwal
marketing for sustainability of start-ups

OBJECTIVES OF THE STUDY For Examples:


1. To study an application effectiveness between Digital 1. CPC – CPC means Cost per click is one of the most popular
Marketing and Social media marketing for Sustainability of model in online advertising. The company will pay as per the
Start Up’s clicks as they are concerned with the clicks. E.g.: If a campaign
2. To determine the success and failure of the Start-up’s in as a banner at CPC of Rs.120 and the number of clicks the ad
India. has got is 1000, calculate what advertiser has to pay.
3. To understand the challenges, face by start-up for sustaining. Formula: CPC = Cost of an advertiser / number of clicks.
4. To find out the strategy to sustain for longer period. Cost of advertiser: CPC * No. of Clicks.
Thus, Cost to an advertiser = 120*1000 = Rs.120000/-
RESEARCH METHODOLOGY So, Rs.120000 need to be paid by the advertiser.
A thorough literature survey had been done to find out the
factors for sustainability of start-up. The study will be based 2. eCPC - eCPC is known as Profitable per click. To calculate
on survey method where we will be collecting data from the the effectiveness of the online campaigns is used by the
start-ups, which will be termed as primary data. A study is internet marketers. E.g. If you want to calculate for single Ad
descriptive in nature. Secondary sources will be taken from the and if money spent is like Rs.10,00,000 and clicks generated
articles published online and from few research papers. Both are 10,000 with actual CPC set Rs.180
qualitative and quantitative approach would be considered for Formula: eCPC = Total spent / Clicks
the study. Net Profit = CPC – eCPC

Sampling Technique: Thus, eCPC = (10,00,000/10,000) = 100


Non – probability sampling technique which is also known as So, Net profit = (180-100) = Rs.80
purposive sampling method. Rs. 80 is the profit per click.

Sample Size: 3.CTR – CTR means Click-through rate. The effectiveness of


This will be divided into two parts i.e. experienced and an advertisement is measured through CTR. E.g. If a campaign
inexperienced Businesses. Based on the responses exact Ad has served 10,000 impressions and generated 100 clicks.
sample size was 100. Responses received 77 within the nation. Calculate CTR.
The data collected for the period, November 2018 to December Formula: (Number of clicks / Number of impressions) * 100
2018. So, CTR = (100/1000) * 100 = 1%
Therefore, it means there is one click on each and every 100
Test: impressions.
Chi-square and T- Test is used to test the hypothesis.
4.CPV – This is commonly used by various companies. CPV is
Overview of Cost Effectiveness between Social media known as Cost per visit. E.g. If the total cost is Rs. 1000/- and
marketing and Digital Marketing: the visit increased from 50 – 250, visit is equal to 200.
Digital marketing and Social media marketing paid, and unpaid Formula: Total cost of Campaign / Number of total visits after
services are used by most of the Start-up’s but we need to the campaign started.
understand the effectiveness of cost. For any business, So, CPV = 1000/200 = Rs.5/- Each visit cost.
digital marketing has helped to lower the marketing cost but
also important to understand the money spent on marketing 5.Conversion Rate – CR is a simple formula.
for generating new lead to generate revenue. The cost Formula: (No. of conversion / Impressions) * 100
effectiveness analysis will help you to understand your reach
as well as how effectively and wisely you spent. 6. Return on Investment – Return on Investment (ROI) is
The digital marketing is must not only for the growth of start- an important metrics. It cannot be miscalculated. It helps to
up but also for the survival. Like how OLA, UBER, FLIPKART understand how much return a business is getting on a specific
etc, have flourished through digital marketing. The mode of ad campaign. Also the percentage figure represents how a
payment for digital marketing helps in lowering the marketing campaign is performing.
cost.
For example, cost for running a ten seconds’ advertisement Formula: [(Revenue – Cost) / Investment cost] * 100 (For %)
on Television goes around more than 3 lakhs whereas using
social media marketing platform like Facebook who offer host So, from the above metrics we can conclude that digital
ad’s in hundred. marketing helps to save the marketing cost. In other words, its

Further can be determined through various formulas which


help to calculate the effectiveness are:
Basic Formulas
CPC Cost Per Click Cost/Clicks
CTR Click-Through Rate Clicks/Impressions
CPV Cost per visit Cost of Campaign/Visits
Conversion Rate Conversion Rate Conversion/Clicks
Return On Investment ROI (Gain from Investment – Cost of Investment) / Cost of Investment
Percent Change % Change (Old – New) / Old

IJBIT / Volume 12/ Issue 2 / April-September 2019 52


Natika Poddar and Dipti Agarwal A comparative study of application effectiveness between digital and social media
marketing for sustainability of start-ups

cost effectiveness. Every business has different goals but also, they require a different marketing methods or varying budgets.

DATA ANALYSIS
Chi-Square Test
In order, to analysis the significance association between the digital marketing and social media marketing for sustainability of
start-up, chi-square test was used.

Null Hypothesis: There is a no significance association between the choice of parameter of importance and the choice of social
media marketing for sustainability of Start-up.
Alternate Hypothesis: There is a significance association between the choice of parameter of importance and the choice of social
media marketing for sustainability of Start-up.

Table1a: Observed Data


Media Platform
Parameter of Importance
Google Yahoo Facebook Instagram YouTube Total
Lead generation 53 19 40 44 38 194
Helps to reduce the marketing cost 48 22 34 32 32 168
Increase in sales 42 22 56 23 28 171
Right Content 39 23 42 39 36 179
Right Feedback 44 9 48 41 31 173
Total 226 95 220 179 165 885

Table1a: Observed Data


Media Platform
Parameter of Importance
Google Yahoo Facebook Instagram YouTube Total
Lead generation 50 21 48 39 36 194
Helps to reduce the marketing cost 43 18 42 34 31 168
Increase in sales 44 18 43 35 32 171
Right Content 46 19 44 36 33 179
Right Feedback 44 19 43 35 32 173
Total 226 95 220 179 165 885

Alpha Value – 0.05 Table 2:


P Value – 0.028
t-Test: Two-Sample Assuming Equal Variances
Interpretation:
Since the Chi-square test P-Value for the variable is 0.028 Case1 Case2
which is less than the Alpha Value 0.05. Hence, we reject the Mean 3.830952381 3.711904762
null hypothesis.
Variance 0.571768707 0.652017756
Conclusion: There is a significance association between the Observations 60 60
choice of parameter of importance and the choice of social Pooled Variance 0.611893232
media marketing for sustainability of Start-up.
Hypothesized
0
T – Test Mean Difference
T test was applied to understand the significant difference df 118
between the tools of digital marketing and social media t Stat 0.833572765
marketing.
P(T<=t) one-tail 0.203102971
Null Hypothesis: There is a significant difference in the rating t Critical one-tail 1.657869522
provided to social media marketing and digital marketing. P(T<=t) two-tail 0.406205942
Alternate Hypothesis: There is no significant difference in the
rating provided to social media marketing and digital marketing. t Critical two-tail 1.980272249

IJBIT / Volume 12/ Issue 2 / April-September 2019 53


A comparative study of application effectiveness between digital and social media Natika Poddar and Dipti Agarwal
marketing for sustainability of start-ups

Alpha - 0.05 RECOMMENDATIONS


P Value - 0.406205942 • Should create more awareness for the growth of start-up.
Interpretation: • Improve Expertise to increase the income as many start-ups forget
about the growth
As the P-Value is more than Alpha Value, we will accept the
• The start-up who do not prefer using social media marketing or
null hypothesis. digital marketing should start using as it will help to be into market
as well as revenue may increase.
Conclusion: • Should always market first and then sell the product.
There is a significant difference in the rating provided to social • Should encourage a collaborative idea from other people.
media marketing and digital marketing. • Start-up companies should invest more to earn future return.
• Business must use at least unpaid services of social media
FINDINGS marketing if they are enable to go for paid.
• Also, multiple sites should be used to increase the sale, to lower the
• Social media marketing and Digital marketing has a measure
marketing cost and also it helps to create a brand loyalty among the
role in promoting the brand name. customers.
• Increase in the number of users of social media marketing • Maintain your services as consumer’s looks for best services.
has provided a platform for the brand promotion.
• Start-ups with less capital investment can cut their cost of REFERENCES
marketing by adapting the digital & social media marketing 1. “Importance of Social Media for your start-up” https://www.tgdaily.
strategies. com/enterprise/startups/importance-of-social-media-for-your-
• Major entrepreneur claimed that social marketing has helped startup.
2. “How Businesses use Social Media: 2017 Survey” https://clutch.
them to sustain their business at the start or the beginning
co/agencies/social-media-marketing/resources/social-media-
of their business survey-2017.
• 46% of the non-users of social media marketing & digital 3. Reasons start-ups fails ”https://www.cbinsights.com/research/
marketing are unable to do it because of the lack of startup-failure-reasons-top/
awareness, data privacy gets compromised. 4. ”Start-ups in India sees 108% growth: NASSCOM” https://
• 42% claimed that with the help of digital and social media economictimes.indiatimes.com/small-biz/startups/newsbuzz/
marketing the business are easily able to reach to the target startups-in-india-see-108-growth-in-funding-in-2018-nasscom/
audience. articleshow/66365422.cms
5. ”Role of Digital Marketing in Start-up growths and success” by
• 78 % agreed that Search Engine marketing & social media
Syed Sirajuddin https://digitalready.co/blog/the-role-of-digital-
marketing are important aspects while choosing digital marketing-in-startup-growth-and-success
marketing for business sustainability & growth. 6. “Importance of Digital Marketing for start-ups” by Jigar Zatakia
• 78% agreed that digital marketing increases the business https://www.entrepreneur.com/article/296856
revenue. 7. “digital marketing for start-ups” https://yourstory.com/2016/01/
• 45 % start-up entrepreneur has claimed that Social media startups-digital-marketing/
marketing and digital marketing has played a great role in 8. ”Why an effective Social Media marketing important” https://www.
sustainability & growth of the start-ups. lyfemarketing.com/blog/effective-social-media-marketing-strategy/
9. ”Why social media is a cost effective marketing tool ”http://www.
• Even few matrix helps to evaluate whether the promotion or
faceitsocialmedia.com/2010/08/why-social-media-is-a-cost-
advertisement on social sites is functioning or not. effective-marketing-tool/
• It also helps in reducing marketing cost through pay per click 10. ” How to determine an effective social media marketing strategy”
or impressions or visit where you need to pay as per view. https://www.inc.com/brent-csutoras/how-to-determine-roi-of-your-
• Most of the start-ups use this technique to advertise or social-media-marketing-strategy.html
promote themselves. 11. “sustainability of start-ups” through Rajeev Pandey https://
• Cost per click is the most popular tool used by most of the yourstory.com/2016/11/sustainable-startup-company/
businesses. 12. ”7-must have online marketing Tools” by Garvit Bafna https://
www.business2community.com/online-marketing/7-must-online-
marketing-tools-startups-01800735
CONCLUSIONS 13. “Zomato successfully leveraged digital marketing to generate
The sustainability & growth of any organization depends on funding” https://www.digitalvidya.com/blog/zomato-successfully-
the popularity of their work and product for which they work. leveraged-digital-marketing-to-generate-funding/
Popularity and recognition can be gained by marketing. The 14. ”The comprehensive guide to online advertising cost. https://www.
most popular way is using social media marketing and digital wordstream.com/blog/ws/2017/07/05/online-advertising-costs
marketing to promote their product and services. From the
above study and analysis conclusion can be made as Digital Acknowledgment: We would like to acknowledge time and efforts of
Dr .G. Ramesh for his critical suggestions provided to improve quality
marketing & social media marketing has increased the sales
of paper. Also, our respondents for supporting us in execution of our
and revenue of start-ups. Increase in the number of the user
paper.
of social media marketing & internet will proportionately
increase the sales which will further increase the growth and
sustainability of the Start-ups. Search Engine optimization &
Search engine marketing are important aspects while choosing
digital marketing for business sustainability & growth. Digital
marketing increases the business revenue as well as reduce
the cost. Social media marketing and digital marketing has
played an effective role in sustainability & growth of the start-
ups.

IJBIT / Volume 12/ Issue 2 / April-September 2019 54


Copyright of International Journal of Business Insights & Transformation is the property of
International Journal of Business Insights & Transformation and its content may not be
copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder's
express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for
individual use.

You might also like