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Digital Marketing

Basic Concepts:
Market: A market is a place where two parties can gather to facilitate the
exchange of goods and services. The parties involved are usually buyers and sellers.
The market may be physical like a retail outlet, where people meet face-to-face, or
virtual like an online market, where there is no direct physical contact between
buyers and sellers.

Marketing: Marketing refers to activities a company undertakes to promote the


buying or selling of a product or service. Marketing includes advertising, selling,
and delivering products to consumers or other businesses.

Digital Marketing: Digital marketing is the use of the Internet, mobile devices,
social media, search engines, and other channels to reach consumers. Some
marketing experts consider digital marketing to be an entirely new endeavor that
requires a new way of approaching customers and new ways of understanding how
customers behave compared to traditional marketing.
Evolution of Marketing Concepts
 Evolution of Marketing Concepts

Customer
Oriented
Sales Period
Oriented
Period
Production
Oriented
Period

Pre-
Industrial
Revolution
Period
Marketing Concept
Marketing Concept:

The The The Societal


The Product The Selling
Production Marketing Marketing
Concept Concept
Concept Concept Concept
Digital Marketing

Basic Concepts:
Digital:
Digital by definition involves storing and transferring data in machine-readable
language by conversion into binary values of ‘zero’ and ‘one’.

Digital Marketing:
The management and execution of marketing using electronic media such as the
web, email, interactive TV, wireless media in conjunction with digital data about
customers characteristics and behaviour.

Digital marketing is the use of the Internet, mobile devices, social media, search
engines, and other channels to reach consumers. Some marketing experts consider
digital marketing to be an entirely new endeavor that requires a new way of
approaching customers and new ways of understanding how customers behave
compared to traditional marketing.
Digital Marketing Process
Following is a 5 Step Digital Marketing Process, that can be used
for marketing anything on Digital Media.

Step 4:
Step 2: Analyze
Create

Step 3: Step 5:
Step 1:
Promote Optimize
Research
Digital Marketing Process
Step 1: Research

At this stage, you will collect all the information that will be required for decision
making in the next stages. Information collected during the research will become
your raw material to strategize & create your digital marketing campaign. This
stage can also be called as Digital Marketing Research. At this stage, you will
research 4 sets of information:

• About Business
• About Your Target Customers
• About The Product That You Want To Market
• About Online Competition
Digital Marketing Process
Step 2: Create

Once you collect information at the research stage, you can now start creating:

1 – Digital Marketing Objectives / Goals: These are the ultimate goals that
you want to achieve through your Digital Marketing Campaign. Every business is
unique, therefore their goals will also be unique. Campaigns without clear goals
will end up spending money without the assurance of achieving goals. What goals
you should set, can be answered after looking at information collected at the
Digital Marketing Research stage. Learn more about Digital Marketing Objectives
/ Goals.

2 – Digital Marketing Strategy: After you set the goals, it’s time to create a
strategy to achieve those goals. Your Digital Marketing Strategy will include
Positioning Strategy, Branding Strategy, Content Strategy, Digital Marketing
Channels Strategy. What strategy should be adapted/created, will be answered
from the information collected at the Digital Marketing Research stage.

3 – Digital Marketing Plan: At this stage, you will lay down a documented plan
that will include all your detailed Digital Marketing activities with timelines.
Digital Marketing Process
Step 3: Promote

After your primary digital identities are fully ready, you will start promoting them.
That means you want relevant people to start coming to your primary digital
identities. This is also called as generating relevant traffic. Relevant traffic is an
important word here.

The more you get relevant traffic to your website, the more the conversion you can
expect. Your options to promote your website/blog / app will be:

Search Engines
Display Network
Ecommerce Portals
Social Media
Email
Messaging
Affiliate
Digital Marketing Process
Step 4: Analyze

Once you create your primary digital identities & start promoting them through
various digital marketing channels, it’s time to start monitoring your performance.
Analyzing is like looking at the outcome of your digital marketing work. You will
receive analytics for your primary digital identities, as well as the channels
through which you have done the promotions.

The most important & ultimate analytics for any business is the analytics of your
website/blog / app. Google Analytics is widely popular to generate analytics of
your primary digital identities. The 4 major sections of Google Analytics are:

Audiences
Acquisition
Behavior
Conversion
Digital Marketing Process
Step 5: Optimize

At this stage, based on analysis & observations, you start making changes (fine-
tuning). The changes could be in your primary digital identities or digital
marketing channels.

Changes are also referred to as content & design of your identities & promotional
communication.
Digital Marketing Process
What is Visibility in Digital Marketing?
Visibility
What is Visibility in Digital Marketing?
Visibility
What is Visibility in Digital Marketing?
Digital marketing visibility is all about the
establishment of online presence, public
recognition and favorable reputation of a
particular company’s name and brand.

The concept and goal of digital marketing


visibility is concerned with getting a company’s
brand out into the public conscientiousness in a
manner that generates a positive, profitable
outcome, that contributes to company growth.

Basically speaking, digital visibility refers to


how visible your website is online. You need to
do more than simply have a live website. It is
important to ensure your website ranks well on
related search engine inquiries.
Visibility
Types of Visibility in Digital Marketing?
There are several platforms that will allow you to get the paid and organic
visibility that your business needs. These include:

• Social media
• Websites
• Links
• Reviews
• Landing pages

It’s important to invest in your online presence so that your potential


customers can find you. No matter what business you are in, you’ll benefit
from beefing up your presence.
Visibility
Ways to increase the Visibility in Digital Marketing?
• Establish Your Website
• Content Marketing
• Customer Engagement
• Post at the Right Time
• Create a Blog
• SEO
• PPC
• Social Media
• Email Marketing
• Engage with Online Influencers
Visitors Engagement
Basic understanding
Visitors Engagement
Basic understanding
• Engagement Marketing is all about building relationships together with
your customers. The visitor engagement is about boosting and
attracting customers to engage in the evolution of their brand or brand
experience. It’s known when brand and customer connect.

• The lack of visitor engagement will result in a lack of conversions as


you were hoping for when first posting and promoting new content.
Unfortunately, there are several different reasons visitors might not be
engaging together with your site
Visitors Engagement
Methods to increase the visitors engagement:
• Customer profiling:
Your audience is the foundation of your blog, they are the reason it exists.
So it makes sense that you would need to understand exactly who they are,
what they need help with and exactly how your blog can help them.
On a basic level, it’s essential to be able to answer this question:
My blog helps ____ who ________.
So an example for a B2B blog might be:
My blog helps small businesses who want to get more clients.

• Simple Navigation
Leverage a neat and easy layout with limited widgets, boxes, callouts and
pop-ups. Produce easy-to-understand navigation bars with collapsed
menus by theme or sections. Be conscientious of clutter use white space
where you’ll.
Visitors Engagement
Methods to increase the visitors engagement:
• Switch to HTTPS
First thing firsts, the most concern for users will always be the safety of
your website. it’s easy to know why. HTTP stands for Hypertext Transfer
Protocol. The HTTP in HTTPS is that the same, the extra S stands for
Secure. Therefore, switching to HTTPS lets users comprehend which your
website is secure. They’re going to stay your website and explore freely,
not having to stress about anything.

If your website is using HTTP, Google will show that your website isn’t
secure and warn users to not key in important and sensitive data like
password and credit cards on your website.
Visitors Engagement
Methods to increase the visitors engagement:
• Create a blog
User experience is everything and if you want people to come back to your
blog, improving that experience is extremely important.
Here are some tips to consider:

Deliver a clear message on why your blog exists and how it can help
people.
Consider removing any badges/widgets that don’t help you or your
readers.
Visitors Engagement
Methods to increase the visitors engagement:
• Publish quality content:
You’re already publishing great content, but how can you improve things
further? How can you make content that is so good that people can’t help
but tell the word about it?

This does mean investing more time into crafting blog posts but the
benefits of doing so are awesome.

And it’s these types of “pillar” posts that form the foundations for a lot of
blogs.
A pillar page is the basis on which a topic cluster is built. A pillar page
covers all aspects of the topic on a single page, with room for more in-
depth reporting in more detailed cluster blog posts that hyperlink back to
the pillar page.
Visitors Engagement
Methods to increase the visitors engagement:
• Publish different types of content
• Video
• Podcasts
• Infographics

• Optimize For Speed & Responsiveness

• Collect Email Addresses

• Use Notifications

• Make Sign-up Easy


Website Traffic
Basic Understanding

• Website traffic refers to the volume of users visiting a website. How


many people visit a website will depend on the website’s purpose, the
visitors’ own goals, and the way in which they discovered the site.
Website Traffic
How to Measure Website Traffic

Session Purchase
Channels
Numbers Percentage

Likes and
Bounce Rate Click to Call
Comments
Website Traffic
How to Measure Website Traffic

Session Purchase
Channels
Numbers Percentage

Likes and
Bounce Rate Click to Call
Comments
Outbound and Inbound Marketing
Outbound Marketing
Outbound marketing is when a marketer reaches out to people to see if
they’re interested in a product.

For example:
• Cold Calling
• Door to door visits
• Trade events/Trade Bazaars
• Email Blast
Outbound and Inbound Marketing
Inbound Marketing
Inbound Marketing is a strategy that focuses on attracting customer, or
leads, via company created internet content.

For example:
• Topical Blogs
• Social Media Campaigns
• E-books
• SEO
• Viral Videos
• Webinars
Outbound and Inbound Marketing
Inbound Marketing Outbound Marketing

Focuses on crafting high-quality Uses traditional non-digital


Focus content that organically attracts strategies and jargon-filled
people. messages to draw attention.

TV commercials, billboards,
Blogs, SEO strategy, keyword
Examples direct mail, newspaper and
targeting, social media, etc.
magazine ads, etc.

Interruption-based and often


Audience Engagement Permission-based and relevant.
disassociated.
Stand out or you won’t be seen at
Brand Positioning You’re always the main headline.
all.

Integrated, cross-channel Linear strategies with limited


Marketing Strategies
strategies. marketing avenues.

Messaging Educational, specific, useful. Broad, forced, complicated.

Distribution Continuous and iterative. Inconsistent and varied.

Data and Attribution All digital and quantifiable. Immeasurable and hard to track.
Outbound and Inbound Marketing
Inbound Marketing Outbound Marketing

Company’s
Outbound and Inbound Marketing
Inbound Marketing Outbound Marketing
Conversion
What is Conversion
A conversion is any meaningful action completed by a visitor on your
website. Something as simple as subscribing to your company blog,
downloading a whitepaper, or even viewing an important webpage on
your site can be tracked as a conversion.

A conversion occurs when a visitor to your website completes a desired


goal, such as filling out a form or making a purchase.
Conversion
Conversion Types
Depending on your site's or business's goals, conversion types
might include:

• Online sales
• Leads
• Email signups
• Form completions

In order to track conversions, conversion rate, and cost per conversion,


you need to make sure to use conversion tracking tools.
Conversion
Conversion Rate
A conversion rate records the percentage of users who have completed a
desired action. Conversion rates are calculated by taking the total number of users
who ‘convert’ (for example, by clicking on an advertisement), dividing it by the
overall size of the audience and converting that figure into a percentage.

For example, let’s say an advertiser runs a mobile ad campaign on Facebook


that reaches an audience of 10,000 people. Out of those 10,000 people, a total of
400 users have clicked on the ad (which is the conversion event in this scenario).
Therefore, the overall conversion rate for this campaign can be calculated as
follows:
400/10000 = 0.04, or a 4% conversion rate
With the knowledge that 4% of users who saw an ad converted, marketers now
have a metric upon which they can try to improve for further growth.
Conversion
Conversion Rate Optimization
Conversion rate optimization, or CRO, is the process of improving
your conversion rate. Split testing is one of the techniques used to test
and monitor the conversion performance of different landing pages or
ads. It helps to identify which elements on your ads and pages optimize
your online conversion rate.

For example, you might test different headlines, buttons, calls to action,
or images on your landing pages to see which variations lead to more
conversions.
Conversion
Conversion Process
Conversion
Conversion Process
Customer Retention
Meaning
Customer retention refers to a company’s ability to turn customers into
repeat buyers and prevent them from switching to a competitor. It
indicates whether your product and the quality of your service please your
existing customers.

Customer retention is different from customer acquisition or lead


generation. It focuses on customers who have already signed up for a
service or purchased a product from you.
Customer Retention
Customer Retention Benefits:
For any digital marketing strategy or digital communications plan,
defining a set of objectives and clear strategy behind your plan is essential
to the success. This focuses on creating an actionable online customer
retention plan, which by definition is maintaining or growing your
existing customer base loyal to your product offering.

Cost savings: Customer retention is generally more cost-effective than acquiring


first-time customers
Positive word of mouth marketing: Loyal customers are more likely to tell
their friends and family about your brand
A better bottom line: Increasing retention rates by just 5 percent can increase
revenue by 25 percent to 95 percent
Customer Retention
Few ways that digital marketing can assist with
retaining customers:
1. Personalized Content
2. Web Design and Mobile Applications
3. Marketing Automation
4. Data and Analytics
5. Send email campaigns with promotional offers
6. Create an SMS marketing campaign.
7. Introduce a customer loyalty program
8. Put together a customer referral program
9. Consistently gather customer feedback
Customer Retention
Few ways that digital marketing can assist with
retaining customers:
1. Personalized Content

In times before web-based commerce, buyers would often return to


businesses based on the way they were treated in-person at the store.
Nowadays people can make purchases without stepping foot in a store, or
even leaving their own house for that matter. This disconnect can make it
difficult to provide excellent service to customers and show them that you
care.

Personalized content is an excellent way to maintain a connection with


your customers. Presenting content to users based on their own unique
preferences is an effective way to show that you know your customers and
provide them with a positive experience. By offering tailored service, you
are much more likely to increase loyalty to your brand.
Customer Retention
Few ways that digital marketing can assist with
retaining customers:
2. Web Design and Mobile Applications

A strong web design and mobile app will encourage repeat business and
heighten retention. If the website or mobile app for a company is difficult
to use, or has a confusing setup, consumers will often make the switch to a
competitor that offers the same product/service purely because their web-
presence is more streamlined and user friendly.

Consistency and ease-of-use across your business’s web platforms allows


customers to know what to expect and a well-thought-out design will
make them want to return. The addition of chatbots to a website is just
one example of a design feature that enhances the user experience. By
quickly answering customer inquiries without requiring them to email or
call you, the process is made much simpler on their end. A positive web
experience will encourage repeat business from consumers time and time
again.
Customer Retention
Few ways that digital marketing can assist with
retaining customers:
3. Marketing Automation

Whether they be a one-time form submitter or a ten-year loyal customer,


you can always follow up and nurture that lead through marketing
automation. This form of digital marketing encapsulates several different
processes that automatically reach out to subscribers who have come in
contact with your business. This is important because a continuous flow
of content to your customers is imperative to maintaining a presence in
their mind.

While a consumer may not initially need your product or service, they will
remember you when the time comes. It is in this way that marketing
automation helps capture missed sales opportunities and encourages
repeat business.
Customer Retention
Few ways that digital marketing can assist with
retaining customers:
4. Data and Analytics

Gathering consumer data is an important step to learning why some users


become loyal customers and why others don’t. Tracking a user’s path
through your website that led them to either make a purchase or leave the
site allows you to monitor what is working for customer retention and
what may need some fixing.
Customer Retention
Few ways that digital marketing can assist with
retaining customers:

5. Send email campaigns with promotional offers


Your customers have already made an investment in your company.
Promotional offers and discount codes are an investment you can make in
your customers. The key is to make your customers feel like this is an
exclusive offer.

Encourage your customers to act quickly by including an expiration date


with the offer—82% of people will use their digital coupons within a week
of receiving them.
Customer Retention
Few ways that digital marketing can assist with
retaining customers:
6. Create an SMS marketing campaign.

It’s becoming more acceptable to use SMS marketing with customers


who’ve opted in. Text messages have open rates as high as 98%, but less
than 15% of companies use SMS marketing to connect with their
customers. You can stay ahead of competitors by adopting this strategy.

With the right digital marketing tools, you can put together a text message
campaign that drives customers to your website. Start by sending an email
with an SMS shortcode and a discount.
Customer Retention
Few ways that digital marketing can assist with
retaining customers:

7. Introduce a customer loyalty program

Customer loyalty and reward programs are an effective customer


retention strategy. They not only offer value to your customers through
cashback, discounts, or other perks, but, by including reward tiers, you
can encourage customers to spend even more with your brand.
Customer Retention
Few ways that digital marketing can assist with
retaining customers:

8. Put together a customer referral program

A customer referral program offers two benefits: One is that it encourages


new leads and the other is that it rewards your customers. That means it
can be exponentially more valuable than other forms of marketing, like
paid ads and phone calls.
Customer Retention
Few ways that digital marketing can assist with
retaining customers:
9. Consistently gather customer feedback

Customer feedback is one of the most valuable tools you have to increase
customer retention and reduce churn rates. If you want to know what is
and isn’t working for your customers, it helps to hear it straight from the
horse’s mouth.

Give customers a voice by conducting more surveys. Customer satisfaction


surveys can be as simple as asking for a “thumbs up or thumbs down”
after you resolve a ticket. But it is also useful to ask more specific
questions, such as:

How would you describe your experience with our product?


What isn’t working for you, and why?
Which of the following channels do you prefer using for customer
support?
Customer Retention
User Retention Types – Ways to Calculate It

Full retention

• How it is computed: which proportion of users come back every single


day to the app until D+N.

• Where and why is it used: full retention is extremely restrictive and not
so widespread, but it however gives an idea of the level of engagement
in the app.

• Day 28 example: only users who come back every single day from Day 1
to Day 28 are considered retained.
Customer Retention
User Retention Types – Ways to Calculate It

Classic retention

• How it is computed: which proportion of users come back to the app


on Day+N.

• Where and why is it used: classic retention is the easiest to compute


analytically and also the most widespread. It gives a general idea of
the overall retention level in the app.

• Day 28 example: only users who came back precisely on Day 28 are
considered retained. It doesn’t matter if and how often they came
back before that.
Customer Retention
User Retention Types – Ways to Calculate It

Return retention

• How it is computed: which proportion of users come back to the app at


least once within N days.

• Where and why is it used: return retention is often used in gambling as


it gives an idea of how many people didn’t drop out after the first open
(called retainers), which then also allow to retarget the others.

• Day 28 example: all users who came back at least once before Day 28
(eg on Day 5 or 16) are considered retained.
Customer Retention
User Retention Types – Ways to Calculate It

Rolling retention

• How it is computed: which proportion of users come back to the app on


Day+N or any day after that.

• Where and why is it used: rolling retention is for instance used by


Flurry as their default definition of retention, and allows publishers to
get an idea of the churn rate of their app (users who have not yet
definitely dropped out), as it is basically equal to 100% minus churn.

• Day 28 example: users who came back on Day 28 or any day after that
(such as on Day 50) are considered retained.
Internet
What Does Internet Mean?

The internet is a globally connected network system facilitating


worldwide communication and access to data resources through a vast
collection of private, public, business, academic and government
networks.

The terms internet and World Wide Web are often used interchangeably,
but they are not exactly the same thing; the internet refers to the global
communication system, including hardware and infrastructure, while the
web is one of the services communicated over the internet.
Internet
What Does Internet Mean?

• The internet originated with the U.S. government, which began


building a computer network in the 1960s known as ARPANET. In
1985, the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF) commissioned the
development of a university network backbone called NSFNET.

• The system was replaced by new networks operated by commercial


internet service providers in 1995. The internet was brought to the
public on a larger scale at around this time.
Internet
Services facilitating through Internet
Since then, the Internet has grown and evolved over time to facilitate
services like:

• Email.
• Web-enabled audio/video conferencing services.
• Online movies and gaming.
• Data transfer/file-sharing, often through File Transfer Protocol (FTP).
• Instant messaging.
• Internet forums.
• Social networking.
• Online shopping.
• Financial services.
Internet And Web
Internet And Web

• Most of us use the words web and internet to mean the same thing but
they're actually quite different.

• The world wide web, or web for short, are the pages you see when
you're at a device and you're online.

• But the internet is the network of connected computers that the web
works on, as well as what emails and files travel across.

• Think of the internet as the roads that connect towns and cities
together. The world wide web contains the things you see on the roads
like houses and shops.

• And the vehicles are the data moving around - some go between
websites and others will be transferring your emails or files across the
internet, separately from the web.
Internet And Web
Internet
• A global network of networks and computers.

• Information travels via network protocols.

• Can access through a variety of ways

• The network infrastructure.

Web
• A collection of information accessed through the internet.

• Information travels primarily through HTTP.

• Uses browsers to access documents and web pages.

• Navigation to other pages occurs through hyperlinks.


Internet And Web
Internet
WWW (World Wide Web) Internet

The World Wide Web is the common The internet is a public network of
system for navigating the internet. It is network with a maze of wired and
not the only system that can be used for wireless connections between separate
such access, but it is by far the most groups of servers computers and
common one. countless devices from around the world

The World Wide Web is distinguished Along with Internters, there also exist
from other systems through its use of the Intranets, which is the same type of
HTTP (Hypertext Transfer Protocol). It information network but more
can be safely said that the HTTP is the privatized in order to control access.
language of the World Wide Web

WWW is more software-oriented as Internet is primarily hardware-based.


compared to the Internet
Internet And Web
Internet
WWW (World Wide Web) Internet
The HTTP along with being the language The internet is governed by a set of rules
of the World Wide Web also governs it by and regulations collectively known as
dealing with linking of files, documents Internet Protocol (IP). The IP deals with
and other resources data transmitted through the internet.

The invention of the World Wide Web can The first workable prototype of the
be credited to Sir Tim Berners Lee. During Internet was the ARPANET (Advanced
his work at the European Organization for Research Project Agency Network) in the
Nuclear Research in 1989, he had late 1960s. After its adoption on January
developed the basic idea of the WWW to 1st 1983, researchers began to develop a
merge the evolving technologies of “network of networks” which evolved into
computers, data networks and hypertext the modern form of the Internet
into a powerful and easy to use global
information system.

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