F

reemasonry in the H awaiian Islands

From “The Establishment of Masonry in the Hawaiian Islands” compiled by Cletus Francois Chaussee, Past Master, Hawaiian Lodge No. 21.

Early on a Sunday morning, on January 18, 1778, Captain James Cook, in command of the British ships, Resolution and Discovery, sighted Oahu and thus discovered the Hawaiian Islands. He named the islands “Sandwich,” in honor of Lord Sandwich, his patron, and they were henceforth known as the Sandwich Islands. Driven from Oahu by adverse winds, the Resolution dropped anchor the next morning in Waimea Bay, Kauai, where a landing was effected and the first contact between the Islanders and newcomers took place. The events of those days, pregnant with momentous consequences both for the Hawaiian’s and the white man are clearly set forth in the pages of Captain Cook’s Journal. Few may remember that Captain Cook was a Mason, and little did that famous circumnavigator dream that less than one hundred years from the time he discovered the Islands there would be represented thereon working Lodges, conferring the degrees and spreading the light of Freemasonry. Perhaps, he did not foresee at all that the principles of our craft would so appeal to the Islanders that many of them, including their principal officers and rules, would become brothers of the mystic tie. The year 1843 was a momentous year in the history of the Sandwich Islands; indeed, it was momentous for the entire Pacific area, for on April 8, 1843, the first Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons was established there and it can justly claim the honor of being the first Lodge of Free Masons to be established anywhere in the Pacific hemisphere, including the American mainland from west of the Missouri River! First, let us have a glimpse of Honolulu as it appeared about this time. It was a village, consisting of scattered groups of

habitations, chiefly the native grass house mingled here and there with adobe buildings after the Spanish style. There were a few buildings of hewn coral stone and a gradually increasing number of wooden residences built mostly of lumber brought around Cape Horn. Some of these latter buildings were already framed before shipment. In the harbor, the whaling ships rode at anchor by the hundreds, their decks so close that it was possible to step from one to another. King Kamehameha III, called “Kauikeaouli,” ruled over the Sandwich Island group, which, only twenty-four years before that time, were made up of people so pagan that they worshipped idols and were “a people without a God.” With the advent of the pioneer New England missionaries in 1820, the Islands speedily became an outpost of civilization and Christianity; the pagan idols were destroyed and the people turned to a devout belief in God. California, some 2,400 miles distant, was then but little known and important chiefly for its products of hides and tallow which were among the chief products of the Spanish missions. Since there were no settlements there excepting those consisting of Indians and a few Spanish soldiers and priests at the missions, it was the last place on earth one would seek should he propose returning to civilization. Hence, the Sandwich Islands assumed a prominence in world trade routes which compelled almost every ship in Pacific commerce to make them a regular port of call. This prominence continued well into the 1850’s when most ships, charted by their course “by way of the Sandwich Islands!” The few vessels trading between these Islands and California generally made the Bay of Monterey their object-point, with occasional stops at the village of Yerba Buena, in the Bay of San Francisco. Such was the Sandwich Islands, when, on March 30, 1843, there sailed into the harbor of Honolulu the barque, Ajax, out of Le Havre, France, captained by Monsieur Le Tellier. In his sea chest were documents that commissioned him “to set up (Masonic) Lodges in the Pacific Ocean and elsewhere in his voyages; to issue warrants, to call upon the Supreme Council for charters; to make Masons at sight; to forever be given the grand honors upon his appearance in any Lodge of his creation.”

2

Captain Le Tellier was styled “the Grand Deputy of France,” spoke in French only, and was always interpreted. The port records contain no mention of any previous visit of the Ajax, prior to March 30, 1843. According to the Journal of William Paty, the third Harbor Master, the barque, Ajax, put in on that date for repairs, it having collided with “the whaleship, Ann Maria, of New London, Connecticut, and sunk her at sea, vessel and cargo of whale oil total loss, crew saved,” (twenty-eight in number and landed at King George’s Sound, New Holland).

CAPTAIN M. LE TELLIER Organizer of Le Progres de l’Oceanie Lodge at Honolulu in 1843

Le Tellier found at Honolulu a conglomeration of men from America, England, Ireland, Scotland, France, Germany, Italy,
3

and South and Central America, among whom many were Masons. Calling a chosen few of them to a meeting, he disclosed his credentials. They proved that he was a Grand Deputy of the Supreme Council of France of the Scottish Rite with retention of supervision over both the Blue Lodge degrees and the Scottish Rite degrees which the Supreme Council of France conferred, although in the United States the Scottish Rite then, as now, started their work at the so-called “4th” degree. The American Masons were convinced there was entire propriety in this arrangement and accepted it. Their decision was vindicated when communication was opened with bodies in the United States and this first Lodge, which was then to be formed at Honolulu and called “Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie,” was recognized as a regular working Lodge. On April 8, 1843, Le Tellier organized the Lodge, Le Progres de l’Oceanie, Under Dispensation (U. D.), at a meeting aboard the barque, Ajax, lying in Honolulu Harbor. He issued the warrant and sent for the charter. Present at this meeting on the Ajax were Robert C. Janion, John Meek, Robert W. Wood, William Paty (the third Harbor Master), John Paty, Robert Davis, William H. Davis, Frederick W. Thompson, John R. Von Pfister, Jules Dudoit, and Joseph O. Carter, Sr. Little is known of this meeting or subsequent meetings of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie until January 17, 1846, as these records were destroyed by fire along with the original warrant and charter. However, the parent organization in France has certified these facts and duplicate copes of the dispensation and charter bear the original date of April 8, 1943. The dispensation is of interest and reads as follows: “A. L. G. of the Grand Architect of the Universe “In the name and under the auspices of the Supreme Council for France and its Dependencies, the Illustrious, Protectors, Chiefs, and Conservators of the order A. & A. S. Rite. “Under the Celestial Vault of the Zenith of 21°, 12’, 15” north Latitude, and 160°, 21’, 15” East Longitude of the Grand Meridian of Paris. “Orient of Honolulu the 22nd day of the moon year of the year of Light 5843.
4

“To all Masons, wheresoever dispersed throughout the Globe Greetings, Union, Prosperity “We Sovereign Prince Rose Croix 18° Special Inspector of the Supreme Council, by virtue of the power to us given by the Supreme Council of France at its session of April 18, 1842, “Having created and constituted the Lodge of St. John of Scotland, Orient of Honolulu (Sandwich Islands) under the distinctive title of “Le Progres de l’Oceanie,” the 22 day of the moon of year, A. L. 1843 – Vulger Style, April 8, 1843. “Now Be it known: “That Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie not as yet being in possession of parchments for Diplomas, nor of ‘Seal of Lodge,’ we have authorized said Lodge to deliver to all Brothers in need thereof, certificates instead of diplomas, until such time as said Lodge can procure the necessary diplomas, etc. “The Officers of Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie, having sworn, before us, to direct the working of said Lodge with calm, wisdom, and moderation, and to oppose by every means in their power all political and religious discussions; to maintain unity, friendship and concord, which are the main principles of all Masonic institutions, and to have no other aim but the welfare of the Order, and strictly to conform to the statutes and regulations of the Supreme Council, as well as to the Regulations of said Lodge le Progres de l’Oceanie. “Copy of these presents as also of the oaths of the Officers having been delivered to us to be deposited in the Archives of the Supreme Council. “We deliver these presents to be used if required the year and month above mentioned. “(signed) Le Tellier 18°” Thus was Freemasonry introduced to the Sandwich Islands and to the whole Pacific hemisphere, on board the barque, Ajax, in a room lighted only by the sputtering wicks of whale oil lamps.
5

A word or two here about the men who were the charter members of Le Progres de l’Oceanie is not out of place, although several of them are treated at much greater length in another chapter of this book: Captain John Meek was born at Marblehead, Massachusetts, on November 24, 1791. He doubtlessly knew and was on friendly terms with men who participated in the Revolutionary War. He first visited the Sandwich Islands in 1809, eleven years before the first missionaries arrived there and only thrity one years after the discovery of the group by Captain Cook. During the War of 1812, he came to Honolulu harbor as master of the vessel bearing him, which was built by Mr. Astor and in which he probably had an interest. He remained in the Islands, becoming a business man there of enterprising nature and impeccable character. He saw Honolulu grow from grass huts to modern buildings, and assisted in the construction of many buildings on the waterfront as well as in the residence sections. Captain Meek was already a Mason when he came to the Sandwich Islands, being the first Mason of record, after Captain Cook, to set foot there. He remained a member of Le Progres de l’Oceanie from the time of its inception until his death, in Honolulu, in 1875. He was elected Senior Warden on January 18, 1848, and served Le Progres de l’Oceanie in a number of stations, excepting that of Master. Jules Dudoit was a merchant and shipping factor and the most prominent man in the French colony. Joseph O. Carter, Sr., was a many-sided man, familiar with commerce and all its branches and esteemed the soul of honor to his dying day. He was the trusted confidant of rulers and princes. Captain John Paty, called commodore in his later years, was a lovable character, a man who left the impress of good deeds and an exemplary life upon the community. Robert C. Janion was an Englishman and a clever merchant. His business subsequently became the great house of Theo. H. Davies & Co., Ltd. Of the others, not a great deal is known. They were, aside from their conduct in the character of masons, loyal citizens, and of course of good repute.
6

There is, in the archives of Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie and stored in the vaults of the Hawaiian Trust Company, a record of the founding of this Lodge. It was compiled on July 15, 1879 by Nestor Urbain, Deputy of the Supreme Council for France, and entitled, “Livre d’Or” or “Book of Gold,” and contains copies of the following documents taken from the archives of the Supreme Council of France of the A. & A. S. R.: The dispensation issued by Captain Le Tellier, dated April 8, 1843. A copy of the charter issued to Lodge Le Progres on July 24, 1850. Copies of various proceedings of that period of the Supreme Council as being accurate and bona-fide. A copy of the Masonic commission of M. Le Tellier, dated April 18, 1842, authorizing him to institute Lodges in the Pacific.

After this first meeting on April 8th, several other meetings were held aboard the Ajax, and when the time came for her departure the meetings were held at the residence of John Meek on the upper side of King Street, at a place where many years ago Smith or Konia Street was cut through. From Captain Meek’s residence the Lodge moved and became regularly established in a two-storied frame building on the lower side of King Street and opposite to Captain Meek’s. He, as owner, donated the use of this building for Lodge purposes. The upper floor was fitted for Lodge and anterooms and the lower floor made a spacious and convenient banquet hall. As this building stood back from the street and was surrounded by a high board fence, it was in every way well fitted for Lodge purposes in those days. The early minutes of the Lodge prior to January 18, 1846, were destroyed by the fire which burned the home of Henry Sea, later Secretary for Lodge Le Progres. However, one entry was found regarding the early tribulations of the Lodge in the Journal kept by Stephen Reynolds, under date of March 9, 1844, now in the vault of the Hawaiian Mission Children’s Society. “Evening Masonic Brethren met at Mansion House at 8 o’clock to see would could be done to get a place to hold meeting.
7

Oahu Charity School dwelling house. John Meek and R. G. Davis chosen a committee to see to getting everything prepared.” The first record of minutes begins January 18, 1846, but the minutes for Wednesday evening, March 25, 1846 are of interest: “The Lodge was addressed by the worshipful Master regarding the duties and obligations of officers. It was voted to have the following articles procured at the expense of the Lodge and also voted that each member be assessed the sum of three dollars to defray the expense thereof: One nine-inch square, one Holy Bible, seven candlesticks one piece duck for carpet, canvas for sack, one pair large dividers, two swords, one box candles, one half dozen aprons.” That “nine-inch square” and “one pair large dividers,” of course, were the Square and Compass, and a borrowed Bible had been used to this date with some makeshift furniture always resting upon it. It is believed that the work of the first and third degrees of the Supreme Council of France varied markedly from that of the Ancient York system of Freemasonry, which might account for the extra sword. Surmise might also account for the “canvas for sack.” The seven candlesticks were for Scottish Rite ornamentation. The first recorded applications for the degrees were read at the meeting of Wednesday evening, April 22, 1846, although there were applicants and candidates for the degrees prior to this, since the Lodge had been operating for over three years. The applicants were: David P. Penhallow Thomas Cummins Charles W. Vincent They were balloted on Wednesday evening, April 28, 1846 and elected. On Wednesday evening, May 6, 1846, all three were initiated as Entered Apprentice Masons. Thomas Cummins was passed on July 15, 1846, and raised on January 30, 1847. Charles W. Vincent was passed on February 6, 1847 and raised on March 20, 1847. David P. Penhallow was passed on February 6, 1847 and raised on March 31, 1847. It was voted to meet once weekly, which they did for a period of time. During these meetings in 1846-47, the usual
8

business of a Masonic Lodge was conducted in addition to the initiating, passing and raising of candidates. They voted to draft suitable bylaws; they listened to a number of addresses by the Master on their duties and responsibilities as officers and as Masons; they listened to instructions in the work; differences between J. R. Von Pfister and Porter, a sojourner, were amicably settled in open Lodge, Porter taking a “seat in the columns.” At times, work was exemplified and it was voted that, circumstances barring, candidates would be required to wait a year before “being made a Mason.” Exceptions to this rule were freely made for seafaring men and others about to undertake journeys. Lodge was opened in the Entered Apprentice Degree and it was in this degree that all business was transacted until the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie transferred its affiliation to the Grand Jurisdiction of California in 1905. Several references are made in the minutes to the semi-annual celebration of St. John’s Day for which a suitable committee was appointed on arrangements. June 24, 1846, saw this celebration which was doubtlessly the first such celebration to be held in the Pacific basin. The minutes of these early meetings always showed the names of everyone present, not leaving this recording to the “the Tiler’s Register”; fines were levied for tardiness at meetings, according to the bylaws, which occasioned some slight demur. Absences of members were also noted in the minutes and the spotty attendance of G. Pelly occasioned some discussion regarding his apparent want of interest in the Lodge. It was voted to address a letter to him to learn if he intended to take any further interest in the Lodge as an officer. November 4, 1846, Captain Le Tellier was present, having returned from a short cruise. He is recorded as admonishing the resident officers and members, “that they ought not look for perfection in the character of a candidate. Had a man reached that desirable plane he had no need of Masonry. The object of the institution was the improvement of all men, to make them better members of society, better fathers, better brothers, but to begin with they must enjoy clean reputations and be vouched for amply.” On November 10, 1846, Captain Le Tellier was again present. During the meeting there was a sharp discussion between
9

Stephen Reynolds, the master, and John Paty, over the interpretation of the bylaws. The Grand Deputy, Captain Le Tellier, expressed much anguish of spirit at the apparent want of real fraternal feeling between two brothers, and cited the example of “Joseph’s extreme forbearance and affection towards his offending brethren when ruler of Egypt as being worthy the imitation of all true Masons. At the request of the Grand Deputy “the Worshipful Master and Brother Paty mutually advanced and embraced each other.” An interesting side light on the year 1846 in the history of this Lodge is noted when, early in 1846, Stephen Reynolds was elected as Master although he was not then a member of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie. On June 3, 1846, during his term as Master, he was regularly elected to membership. Under the laws of the Supreme Council of France, any Master Mason was allowed all the privileges of any Lodge in which he might sit including that of holding office or balloting. On Wednesday evening, January 27, 1847, Robert C. Janion was regularly elected Master for the ensuing year; Meek and Wood were made the Wardens along with Paty as Treasurer. During 1847, the business of the Lodge went on in the usual manner. “Joining fees were left to the liberalty of the candidate”; Vincent and Penhallow were raised; Bain of New Bedford, Massachusetts, U. S. A., who was proficient in the craft expressed himself as being highly gratified at seeing the business of the Lodge so well conducted; it was decreed that hereafter only Master Masons should ballot on candidates, business still being conducted in the first degree. It was voted to subscribe to a Masonic magazine, published in Boston; preparation were again made to celebrate St. John’s Day; two valuable Masonic volumes from China were presented to the Lodge by Sewerkrap; a banquet was held at the Mansion House; Whiting was ill and de Prarie was in distress; numerous petitions were received for membership; the Master cautioned the brethren to refrain from discussing Lodge affairs “within possible hearing of the profane.” Mr. Benjamin E. Stark, who was about to depart for China, was initiated, passed and raised on December 22, 27, 29, and it was voted on the 29th to loan

10

out the reserve fund of the Lodge on “good commercial paper at a fair rate of interest.” On January 18, 1848, A. H. Fayweather was elected Master and John Meek and R. W. Wood as Wardens. G. W. Punchard was made Secretary, and Coxborough, Tiler. In March, 1848, on the 22nd, Janion A. Mott and C. W. W. Mott made voluntary contributions to a fund for the purchase of jewels for the officers. On March 27, 1848, Captain Le Tellier was again present and this time addressed the Lodge, reading from a prepared manuscript, and in his native tongue. His speech opened with felicitations from the Supreme Council in France and concluded with admonishments on Masonic conduct and a rigid adherence to the precept of Brotherly Love. The speech was short and to the point. St. John’s Day was celebrated this year at the “country residence of John Meek in due and Masonic form.” Various visitors were received during the year and their certificates signed by the Secretary. The deaths of John R. Von Pfister and Bashtian were announced to the Lodge on January 3, 1849; on the 5th a second degree was conferred on two candidates, and on January 9th a third degree was conferred. The regular election of officers was held on January 10, 1849, and Fayweather was again elected as Master. The year 1849 brought new problems to the Lodge Le Progres. The Sandwich Islands had assumed a new and greater importance as the crossroads of the Pacific. They were the first port of call for ships bound out of California and the last port of call for ships bound to California, now laden with thousands of gold-seekers. Honolulu became a bedlam of confusion; people were anxious to be on their way and chafed at the delay occasioned by calling there. Stories of the gold fields, exaggerated many times, flew from mouth to mouth. As in the gold camps of California, disease was rampant with no hospitals, doctors, nurses or Red Cross to care for the suffering. Florence Nightingale and the Red Cross was then unheard of, not coming into being until the American Civil War, some ten years or more later. The gold fever infected people in the Hawaiian Islands, as they were then becoming known, the same as it did people all over the globe. Men deserted their posts, their ships, their families, and their friends to
11

take passage on the first ship that would take them to California. The membership of Lodge Le Progres dwindled and drifted out of the Islands along with others. Meetings during 1849 were poorly attended and infrequent. At the meeting of October 8, 1849, Captain Le Tellier was again present during which he mildly reprimanded the members for the offense of non-attendance and want of energy as Masons. On the evening of October 18, only three members were present. At the few meetings held in December and January the chief subject seemed to be the question of relief for the distressed; the case of the sojourning wife of a brother Mason en route from New Zealand to California to join her husband; remarks of appreciation for aid rendered, etc. On the evening of February 5, 1850, the regular election of officers was held and Fayweather was elected as Master. Two more meetings were held in February during which payment for medical aid was voted and the thanks of a brother receiving assistance was tendered. Finally, on the 1st of March, 1850, Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie was opened for the last time and W. Wond and A. J. Cartwright were made Master Masons, after which the Lodge was closed in due and ancient form. No record exists of any subsequent meetings and all the evidence points to the fact that there were no more meetings held by this Lodge for any purpose whatsoever for over four years, until August 8, 1854, and then not another meeting until November 21, 1855. For the purposes of historical accuracy it may fairly be stated that insofar as the Grand Jurisdiction of California is concerned, the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie ceased to exist as of March 1, 1850 and until May 10, 1860. Its acts in the interim were declared irregular and the Lodge itself treated as clandestine. Before narrating the history of this period, however, it is necessary to introduce the history of the beginnings of a new Lodge at Honolulu which shortly came into being and which was to be known as Hawaiian No. 21, F. & A. M., of the Grand Jurisdiction of California. The Grand Lodge of California officially opened and came into existence at the City of Sacramento, California, on April 18,
12

1850. Jonathan Drake Stevenson was elected its first Grand Master. The history of the events leading to its founding are to be found elsewhere in this volume, but it is of historical importance to the introduction and existence of Freemasonry in the Hawaiian Islands in that its founding date, by coincidence, begins with the cession of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie at Honolulu and that the Lodge, Hawaiian, F. & A. M., of the Grand Jurisdiction of California became the 21st Lodge of this Jurisdiction. It was, therefore, one of the very earliest Lodges of California and then not on the American mainland, but 2,400 miles away, out in the Pacific Ocean! The Proceedings for the years 1845-55 of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Ancient Free and Accepted Masons of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, reads as follows: “A petition for a Dispensation for a Lodge at Honolulu, Sandwich islands, was received from sundry brethren, residing at that place, and referred to Smith, Huntoon, and Lewis, Jr. “Boston, Sept 13, 1848. – The Committee on the petition for a Dispensation for a Lodge at Honolulu, Sandwich Islands, offered the following report, which was accepted: “The Committee to who was referred the petition of certain brethren in Honolulu, Sandwich Islands, have attended to the duty assigned them and beg leave to report. “That having made all possible inquiries as to the character and standing of the petitioners, some of whom are known to individuals of the Committee, we are satisfied of their respectability and fitness to receive the privileges prayed for. But circumstances render it impossible for them to comply with the regulations relative to Charters, at present; your Committee recommend that a Dispensation be issued under which they may work till a Charter be regularly granted.” The Grand Lodge of Massachusetts, through its Secretary, reported that although the “Committee recommended that a Dispensation be issued, there is no record that such action was ever taken.” Although the records do not so state, the brethren in Honolulu must have grown weary after apply to the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts and not having received a favorable reply, or any
13

reply, or the dispensation they sought. Also, it is not know who these petitioners were. The Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie was, in 1848, fully alive, working, prospering, growing, and investing surplus funds “in good commercial paper at a fair rate of interest.” In any event, this action to found a Lodge in Honolulu was abortive. Surmise alone would lead one to believe that the main stalwarts of Le Progres, from circumstances not apparent in the minutes but existing in the internal structure of the Lodge itself, saw the handwriting on the wall as early as 1848 and determined to do something about it. On the evening of December 8, 1851, a meeting of Master Masons was held at the residence of Captain John Meek, in Honolulu, to take into consideration the practicability of forming a regularly constituted Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons in the City of Honolulu. Those present were: Lemuel Lyon, Charles W. Vincent, Alex. J. Cartwright, Andrew C. Mott, Thomas W. Russom, Jacob Brown, John Meek, F. W. Thompson, D. P. Penhallow, William Wond, C. B. Chappel, E. Low and Calvin Bradley. Of these, Captain John Meek, Charles W. Vincent, Alex J. Cartwright, Andrew C. Mott, F. W. Thompson, D. P. Penhallow and William Wond were on the membership roster of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie when last it met and was regularly working. Lemuel Lyon presided and, after a full discussion, it was resolved that a petition be addressed to the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of California praying that a charter be granted to the petitioners for a Master Mason’s Lodge in Honolulu. At a meeting on the succeeding evening, Lyon was recommended to the Grand Lodge as Master of the proposed Lodge, with John Meek as Senior Warden and Charles W. Vincent as Junior Warden. The form of petition was read and approved and it was resolved that the word “Hawaiian” should be inserted as the name of the Lodge. As Lyon and Penhallow were about to visit California, they were appointed a committee to wait upon the Grand Master with the petition and were given full power to exercise their own judgment in the furtherance of the wishes of the brethren at Honolulu. The next meeting was held February 11, 1852, at the residence of John Meek, when the names of Joseph Irwin and J. G.
14

Sawkins were added to the original roll. At this meeting, Lyon, having just returned from California, presented the dispensation granted by Benjamin D. Hyam, Deputy Grand master of the Grand Lodge of California, to Hawaiian Lodge, to work on probation as a Lodge of Master masons. This dispensation was dated January 12, 1852. It was voted to accept thankfully John Meek’s kind offer of the room previously occupied by the brethren of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie as a Lodge room. Thus was Hawaiian Lodge U. D., provided with a home. The first regular meeting of Hawaiian Lodge U.D. was held in that Lodge room on the evening of February 18, 1852, at 7 o’clock, p.m. Here an election for membership was held and the following brethren were declared as forming Hawaiian Lodge U. D.: Lemuel Lyon, D. P. Penhallow, F. W. Thompson, John Meek, William Wond, A. J. Cartwright, Charles W. Vincent (all formerly of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie), J. G. Sawkins, Joseph Irwin and F. M. Stokes. Officers were elected to serve as follows: Lemuel Lyon, Master; John Meek; Senior Warden; Charles W. Vincent, Junior Warden; Joseph Irwin, Treasurer; A. J. Cartwright, Secretary; William Wond, Senior Deacon; F. W. Thompson, Junior Deacon. Petitions for degrees were received at this first meeting from men who became well known in business and Masonic circles of the community. They were Michael Harvey, Henry Macfarlane, Richard Coady, James Dean and John Montgomery. At the second meeting, held on March 18, 1852, two of these applicants, Michael Harvey and Richard Coady, had the distinction of being the first to be initiated into Hawaiian Lodge U. D. On the 5th day of May, 1852, the Grand Lodge of California granted the charter which authorized Hawaiian Lodge to work as a regularly constituted Lodge under its jurisdiction, becoming Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, Free and Accepted Masons, and the first Lodge created beyond the territorial limits of the United States by the Grand Lodge of California. The first annual election of officers under charter was held at a special meeting on Friday evening, December 31, 1852. Those elected were Charles W. Vincent, Master; William Wond, Senior Warden; F. W. Thompson, Junior Warden; A. J. Cartwright, Senior
15

Deacon; M. R. Harvey, Junior Deacon; R. Coady, Treasurer; Joseph Irwin, Secretary. It will be noted that some of the officers, now appointed, were then elective. The Lodge immediately went to work and appointed a standing committee to care for the sick and destitute, with discretionary powers as to expenditure. They further authorized the purchase of a burial plot in Nuuanu Cemetery and gave an order for a substantial iron fence to enclose the same. Both these acts give ample evidence that the Lodge was fully alive to the duties imposed by its Masonic obligations, and the brethren were quietly but diligently endeavoring to soothe and alleviate the calamity, misfortune, and sorrow that was everywhere about them during this critical period. The burial plot was secured for the interment of such brethren as might have no burial place of their own, and whose life journey ended here at this crossroads of the Pacific, strangers in all but the fact that they were brother Masons. In time, as occasion required, the plot was enlarged to accommodate others who wished to be buried there and, in the centerline of this plot, placed equi-distant, are the monuments of the sixth and seventh Masters, Henry F. Poor and Benjamin F. Durham. From the minutes of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21: “Friday evening. June 10, 1853. The Secretary read the petition of Prince Lot Kamehameha (later Kamehameha V) and A. J. McDuff, petitioners for the degrees, which were ordered to lie over until next meeting, or at the will of the W. M. “Monday evening. June 13, 1853. Ballot having been duly taken on the case of Lot Kamehameha, the W. M. announced the Ballot was clear, and the candidate elected. “Wednesday Evening. June 15, 1853. The fees for the Degrees on Petition of L. Kamehameha and A. J. McDuff ommitted [sic] last meeting were received and placed to the credit of the petitioners. The M. M. Lodge was called off and a Lodge of E. A. opened for the purpose of initiating Lot Kamehameha. Lot Kamehameha, being in attendance, was in due form initiated an Entered Apprentice Mason.

16

“Thursday Evening. December 8, 1853. The M. M. Lodge was closed and Lodge of F. Crafts opened for the purpose of passing Lot Kamehameha. “Monday Evening. February 27, 1854. Lot Kamehameha being in attendance was in due form raised to the Sublime Degree of M.M.” Thus, was Prince Lot Kamehameha the first Hawaiian to be admitted into the Masonic fraternity in the Hawaiian Islands! He was a man of stern character and although his younger brother, Kamehameha IV, became King before him, he never resented the ascension. In the meantime, he became Minister of the Interior and exercised great control over all departments of state, holding many other responsible government positions. His admission into the Masonic fraternity marked the beginning of Masonic influence in matters of Island government.

KING KAMEHAMEHA IV OF THE HAWAIIAN ISLANDS Master of Le Progres de l’Oceanie Lodge, 1859, ’61 and ‘62

17

In due course of time, the Masonic fraternity numbered among its members three of Hawaii’s seven kings; Kamehameha IV, Kamehameha V, Kalakaua I; also the Prince Consort, John O. Dominis, husband of the only reigning Queen. Three Governors of Hawaii were also Masons: Lawrence McCully Judd, Joseph Boyd Poindexter and Wallace Rider Farrington; five Chief Justices: Abraham Fornander, Charles Coffin Harris, Alred Francis Judd, Emil Cornelius Peters and James Leslie Coke. On St. John’s Day, December 27, 1854, the first presentation of a Past Master’s jewel was made by the Lodge. The recipient was Past Master Charles W. Vincent who had modestly declined the proposed honor in view of the already heavy tax upon the brethren for purposes of charity. His objections were finally overruled.

KING KALAKAUA I OF THE HAWAIIAN ISLANDS Master of Le Progres de l’Oceanie Lodge, 1876

Previous to this St. John’s Day began an episode which was to embarrass and plague the Masonic brethren of Honolulu for the
18

next six years. There seems to be no explanation for what occurred and apparently it all came about innocently enough, without malice or envy aforethought: Past Master Charles W. Vincent, John Meek and R. G. Davis tendered their resignations in order to resume work in the name of Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie under the French jurisdiction! Even so, the brethren of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 though enough of their Past Master, Charles W. Vincent, and loved him to the extent that they would “tax themselves,” when they were already overtaxed by the demands of relief and charity, to give him a Past Master’s jewel as a memento of service to Hawaiian No. 21, after he had resigned from the Lodge on the previous September 4th!

PRINCE CONSORT JOHN O. DOMINIS OF THE HAWAIIAN ISLANDS Husband of Queen Liliuokalani and Master of Le Progres Lodge, 1863, ’64 and ’68.

The minutes for Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, for Monday evening, Sept 4, 1854, noted this fact. However, some of the brothers were dubious as to the legality of this movement and,
19

among them, Cartwright, moved that the Secretary be instructed to inform the Grand Lodge of California that certain brothers demitted for the purpose above-mentioned. It went on to say that Le Progres de l’Oceanie had been instituted by the Supreme Council of France in 1843 by the Deputy Grand Master, Le Tellier, and that the members of Hawaiian No. 21 knew these Masons to be good men, not actuated by unworthy motives, “and will recognize them as such, unless the Grand Lodge of California shall otherwise determine.” [Italics, the author’s.] The notice to the Grand Lodge obviously was to put in on record as to what was transpiring. After some discussion, the motion passed with an amendment “that the demitting brethren should be made acquainted with and approve of the letter to be addressed to the Grand Lodge on the subject.” Apparently, some of the brethren felt that the demitting brothers would not view the notice to the Grand Lodge from the same perspective as did the members of Hawaiian No. 21. To be fair to Meek, Vincent and Davis, it must be remembered that under the laws of the Supreme Council for France, and under which both Meek and Vincent had Masonically worked, it was perfectly proper and legal for a Master Mason to enjoy and to be entitled to all the rights and privileges of that degree, whithersoever dispersed around the globe, including the right to hold office and to ballot in a Lodge, even though not a member of that Lodge. Undoubtedly, it was their philosophy, shared by some at the time, but not by all, that once a Master Mason, a brother could come and go as he pleased so long as he brought no dishonor to the Craft, and could take an active part in the affairs of Masonry wherever he found himself. This view was not shared by the Grand Lodge of California. At the Communication of the Grand Lodge held in Sacramento, in May, 1856, the Grand Master, Wm. H. Howard, presented, on May 7th, a communication from Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, which read, in part, as follows: “Honolulu, Hawaiian Islands, “February 11, A. L. 5856. “To the M. W. Grand Master of Masons in California: --

20

“At the stated meeting of our Lodge, Hawaiian No. 21, held on the 4th February, 1856, the undersigned were duly appointed a committee to address you, and ask your advice and direction on a matter of vital importance to the peace and to peace and prosperity of the Craft on these Islands. “. . . For some years this Lodge (Le Progres de l’Oceanie) prospered and added to its lists of members the names of many of our first and most estimable citizens; being considered a legitimate Lodge and legally constituted, which, indeed, it undoubtedly was. “Around the year 1850 and 1851, several causes combined to break up the Lodge and it ceased to work or to meet; the warrant lay neglected in the Lodge chest, and the Lodge was considered extinct. This state of things continued for nearly two years, when in 1852, a number of the old members of the Lodge ‘Le Progres’ together with a few recent comers, met and agreed to ask for the jurisdiction of the State of California over these Islands. For this purpose they applied to the M. W. Grand Lodge of California for a disposition to open a Lodge, which was granted, and the following year they received a charter under the name of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, which is our present flourishing body. At the time of its formation, the old members, then surviving, of ‘Le Progres,’ formally made over the jewels and appurtenances of that Lodge the new one, and themselves became active members, to a man, of Hawaiian Lodge. “. . . Now for the point at issue. About a year ago, several members of Hawaiian Lodge, for reasons best known to themselves, withdrew from that body and, rescuing the old Le Tellier warrant from oblivion to which it had seemingly been consigned, organized themselves into a Lodge under it, bearing the old name of ‘Le Progres de l’Oceanie.’ As they did no work at first, but gave out that they had applied to the proper authorities in France for a new charter, or an endorsement of the old one, our Lodge continued to regard them with fraternal and kindly feelings. Of late, however, our fears have been excited by the fact that they have commenced work and conferred degrees on several persons, some of whom could not have been received in our Lodge; and, feeling it our duty at least to inquire into their authority, our Lodge,

21

. . . appointed a committee to visit the Lodge ‘Le Progres’ and examine their warrant or charter.” There following the report of the committee in which they outlined the detailed steps they took in visiting “Le Progres” Lodge to inquire into the status of the warrant or charter under which they were operating. They were shown most of the old papers under which the former “Le Progres” had worked, but were entirely unsatisfied as to the legitimacy of the newly established “Le Proges.” They conclude their report with the statement, “. . . . No such letters or papers were shown us, and we were left to conclude that none such had been received, and that no sign of recognition had been obtained since the resumption of work by ‘Le Progres’.” The report to Grand Lodge of Hawaiian No. 21 continued: “On the reading of this report our Lodge at once passed the following resolution: -“Resolved, that the brethren of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, be requested to cease visiting the Lodge, ‘Le Progres de l’Oceanie,’ until the decision of the M. W. Grand Master, as to its regularity, be received . . . . “. . . . [we hope] the Grand Lodge will parentally bear in mind the local peculiarities of our position, and the inevitable excitement attendant upon an open rupture between ourselves and the ‘Progres de l’Oceanie,’ an occurrence which would be eminently injurious, we fear . . . [to the Fraternity here] . . . and painful to most of us individually, who recognize among the officers and members of ‘Le Progres’ men of the highest character and standing in this community – some of whom are members of our own Lodge, and connected with us by ties of friendship and the closest business relations.” The report concluded by stating that should the Grand Lodge condemn or check fraternal intercourse with “Le Progres” that they at the same time suggest means of reconciliation or compromise. The report of the Grand Master was referred to the Committee on Masonic Jurisprudence. Five days later, on May 12th, the Jurisprudence Committee gave its report. In it, they paid tribute to the “spirit of Masonic courtesy and fraternal forbearance which Hawaiian Lodge No. 21
22

exhibited toward a matter not of their choosing which placed them in a position of antagonism.” There follows a careful analysis of the situation as it existed according to the report and ended with the statement, “. . . That Lodge did not simply remain dormant and inactive, with its list of membership remaining unaltered; but all its members left it and enrolled their names under another organization, held under authority from a different jurisdiction. It would be an absurdity to assert that a Lodge can exist without a single member upon its register; and thus the Lodge, ‘Le Progres de l’Oceanie’ could not be considered even as a dormant, it having absolutely committed a political suicide, and ceased to exist by its own voluntary and unanimous act. Its existence thus having terminated, no power other than that of a Grand Lodge could revive it; and thus far it does not appear that any such exercise of power has been successfully invoked.” The Jurisprudence Committee then recommended the following resolution, which was adopted by the Grand Lodge of California: “RESOLVED, that this Grand Lodge approves the action of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, relative to the organization at Honolulu, known as the Lodge ‘Le Progres de l’Oceanie,’ and hereby interdicts all Masonic communication with those who remain members of that body, until it shall be made evident that it is acting under a lawful Masonic authority.” Thus, by this action of the Grand Lodge of California, the Lodge “Le Progres de l’Oceanie” was on May 12, 1856, declared irregular and clandestine insofar as the Masons of this jurisdiction were concerned; but it is also to be noted that doubtlessly, because of the high personal regard in which some of its members, at least, were held by the members of Hawaiian No. 21, “Le Progres” was not entirely left without hope, it being incumbent upon them, however, to make the necessary and proper showing which would heal them. The situation, however, was not soon to be made regular again. In fact, it apparently went on to degenerate for, in 1857, at the communication in May, Grand Master Howard, referred to the situation in his message as being “unchanged” and that communications had been exchanged during the year with Hawaiian
23

No. 21 regarding the matter. He referred to “Le Progres” as being “an irregular association” and taking the position “that the interdiction of Masonic intercourse must of necessity continue.” Matters continued to lag until the communication of May, 1858, wherein Grand Master N. Greene Curtis, in his message, described matters thus: “The continuance of the difficulties which still surround and embarrass our brethren of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, in the Hawaiian Islands, demands careful consideration at your hands, and that some means be adopted to relieve them from the annoyances which constantly disturb their harmony and peace, in consequence of the existence of the so-called Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie, at that place.” The Committee on Masonic Jurisprudence, to which Grand Master N. Greene Curtis’ comments on the situation were referred, came back with the recommendation that all of the correspondence between Hawaiian No. 21 and the Grand Secretary, “relative to the publication of the previous action of this Grand Lodge regarding [these matters],” and apparently in reply to a request of the officers of Hawaiian No. 21, authorized the Grand Master, through the Grand Secretary, to publish in Honolulu, “all which has heretofore been published in the proceedings of the Grand Lodge, together with such other matter connected with the differences between said Lodge and the Lodge ‘Le Progres de l’Oceanie,’ as might in their Masonic discretion, seem proper for publication.” This report was adopted. Again, at the communication of May, 1859, Grand Master Curtis mentioned the difficulties between the two Lodges as still existing; the Grand Secretary later presenting a memorial from Hawaiian No. 21, “relative to a certain publication by the Master of the so-called Lodge, Le Progres de l’Oceanie, at Honolulu.” It appeared that a former Master of “Le Progres” had published, in Moore’s Freemason’s Monthly Magazine for May, 1858, an article “wherein sundry misrepresentations occur in regard to the relative positions of Hawaiian Lodge and that pretended Masonic body” and the memorial was intended to correct those “erroneous statements.” The Jurisprudence Committee again supported Hawaiian No. 21, and commended them for their forbearance in

24

the circumstances. The report was concurred in by the Grand Lodge. Finally, at the Grand Lodge Communication of May, 1860, Grand Master N. Greene Curtis, in his message, said, “It is with much pleasure that I feel enabled to announce to you’re the termination of the disagreeable relations which our subordinate at Honolulu, in the Hawaiian Islands, Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, has been compelled to hold, or rather not to hold, with the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie in that place, the Supreme Council of France having at last evinced its recognition of that body as one of its subordinates. All has been satisfactorily adjusted, and the most fraternal relations now exist between those Lodges. Our brethren of Hawaiian Lodge seem to have acted strictly in accordance with the instructions of this Grand Lodge, which authorized them to establish Masonic communications with the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie, whenever they should become satisfied of the lawful existence of that Lodge as Masonic body . . . [it is hoped] that the terms of the settlement may fully meet your approbation.” It did, and on Thursday, May 10, 1860, the Grand Lodge of California signified its approval, thereby healing a breach which officially existed for over four years. In order to have correctly recorded the early history of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie, it has been necessary to introduce the beginnings of the Lodge Hawaiian No. 21, since the two Lodges were intermingled both as to membership and interests. At some point in history the story would have to appear. As set down here it appears chronologically, as the events themselves transpired, evern though it has meant that our History of Freemasonry in the Hawaiian Islands has had to be interrupted by introducing the history of one subordinate Lodge before completing the history of the first one. We therefore, now approach that period in the life of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie which we shall call “The Middle Period,” it being a sketch of the activities of that body during the ten-year period, 1850-1860, when it was declared “irregular” by the Grand Jurisdiction of the California and banned to all Masons of this jurisdiction. It must be remembered, however, that when the difficulties of between that body and Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 were officially healed at the communication of May 10, 1860, all the acts of Le Progres de l’Oceanie in the intervening period, including the
25

initiating, passing and raising of candidates, were also approved and declared legal, even though illegal and irregular at the time the work was done.

THE MIDDLE PERIOD We have seen that the last official act of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie occurred on March 1, 1850, when they raised W. Wond and J. H. Cartwright to the sublime degree of Master Mason. The next meeting of record was on August 8, 1854, and the minutes briefly state that the “Official approval of work and proceedings sent from the governing body in France, read.” However, according to the report of the committee from Hawaiian No. 21, they were not satisfied that these papers, read at this August 8th meeting, were anything new, but simply a resurrection of the old. In any event, no subsequent meeting were held and there is no record of any regular meeting for a year, until August 13, 1855. The Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie started working in earnest in August, of 1855, by electing P. C. Jones to membership and reading the petition of John L. Rives. There is no record that John L. Rives ever was elected to receive the degrees. On November 21, 1855, M. Brown and L. Fanconi were elected to receive the degrees. On September 10, 1856, a committee was appointed to “draft a letter to make corrections in a report which had been sent to the Grand Lodge of California.” This was undoubtedly in reference to the report of Hawaiian No. 21, which Grand Master Howard had introduced in Grand Lodge the previous May. As is only natural in a disagreement, the other side was unable to agree that the complaining side to the disagreement was right. The letter was quite probably drafted and sent but, as we know, the “corrections” failed to arouse much enthusiasm for the cause of Le Progres in the Grand Lodge. On October 15, 1856, the Lodge voted “thanks” to Mrs. Cody and Mrs. Jones, wives of members, for an altar cushion which they presented to the Lodge.
26

At the meeting of December 10, 1856, Janion reported that “from the beginning of last July he had sent after each meeting an account of the proceedings to his father, a Mason, then resident at Paris, and had also written directly to the Secretary of the Supreme Council.” We must agree this was a most unusual procedure for a Masonic Lodge, and can only surmise that Janion had enlisted his father’s help in establishing the regularity of the resurrected Le Progres de l’Oceanie with the Supreme Council of France. Early in 1857, on January 7th, a petition was received by the Lodge from His Majesty, Kamehameha IV. Three years previously, his brother, Lot Kamehameha had been raised in Hawaiian No. 21, and still retained his membership therein. The petition was acted upon at once, without investigation, the ballot being taken with the unanimous consent of the brethren present. McDuff cited a precedent for so doing from the Grand Lodge of Germany. The circumstance cited was not an exact parallel since it involved a son of the King who was three years under the required age and since petition was submitted, voted upon, and the lad initiated, passed, and raised, all on the same occasion. In this instance, Kamehameha IV simply was voted upon, favorably, to receive the degrees without prior investigation. The initiation of Kamehameha IV took place one week later, on January 14, 1857, and quite naturally was a singular and outstanding event. The visitors were the top men of the Kingdom, as would be expected. What they lacked in numbers they made up in quality. Considering the fact that members of the California jurisdiction, which included the members living in Honolulu, of Hawaiian No. 21, who were interdicted from having Masonic intercourse with Le Progres, it is of interest that nonetheless several were present. The minutes show the following being present as visitors: Prince Lot Kamehameha (member of Hawaiian No. 21); Robert Crichton Wylie, Minister of Foreign Affairs; Hon. D. L. Gregg, United States Consul; R. W. Wood, M.D.; Captain Lawton; G. C. Reners, consul for Prussia; Lieut. Squire, Royal Navy; R. F. Bolles; T. B. C. Rooke, M. D., and father of Queen Emma (member of Hawaiian No. 21); H. A. Neilson; Joseph Irwin (member of Hawaiian No. 21).
27

With the attendance of three members of Hawaiian No. 21, it is interesting to note that all three, during this year of 1857, demitted from Hawaiian No. 21, two of which joined Le Progres de l’Oceanie. During the previous year, 1856, one of the very first candidates for the degrees in Hawaiian No. 21, R. Coady, demitted. His name appears among the members of Le Progres in 1857. The minutes of Le Progres, for this initiation meeting of King Kamehameha IV, show that the second degree was also conferred upon him that evening. The minutes of February 8, 1857, disclose the following: “Brother Kamehameha was examined by Brothers Vincent and Rook (Rooke, still a member of Hawaiian No. 21) as to his proficiency in Masonic knowledge in the first and second degrees, in which he showed much knowledge in the first and second degrees, in which he showed much knowledge and reflected credit upon himself as well as on his instructors.” The examination was held at the residence of John Meek. Adjournment was then taken to the Lodge room where his Majesty, the then monarch of the Hawaiian Kingdom was “duly raised to the sublime degree of a Master mason.” Kamehameha then “invited the brethren to his palace to partake of a cold collation.” The brethren availed themselves of the honor. On February 11, 1857, a petition was read from an applicant. The membership requested his “recommender” to withdraw the petition, which was done. His Majesty, Kamehameha IV, on September 9, 1857, was elected and installed as Junior Warden of the Lodge. The place was vacated when Franconi left for California. It is interesting to observe that, despite the efforts of the various officers to keep the existing unpleasantness between Le Progres and Hawaiian No. 21 out of the records, there are occasional undertones which show the estrangement. On December 28, 1957 [sic], the minutes state that the demit “of T. B. C. Rooke from another Lodge was deposited and he was made a member of Le Progres.” The words “another Lodge,” of course, meant Hawaiian No. 21.

28

Aside from the raising of Kamehameha IV, the year 1857 was busily spent in initiation, passing, and raising various candidates, as well as conducting the regular affairs of the Lodge. At the meeting of January 10, 1858, on a Sunday, His Majesty, Kamehameha IV was elected Master and T. B. C. Rooke and M. Brown were chosen as Wardens. They were regularly installed two days later, on January 12th. In March, two of the brethren became involved in a financial dispute. The matter was referred to the Lodge and an amicable settlement was reached. “Kamehameha” was presiding. At the April 30th meeting, 1858, the petition of John Dominis, the Prince Consort, husband of Princess Liliuokalani, was received. An insight into the Masonic character of Kamehameha IV can be obtained by a reference in the minutes of May 26, 1858, as follows: "Resolved that this Lodge, in view of the promptitude with which the Worshipful Master responded to the call of a sick brother confined at a distant part of the Island by dispatching the government steamer Pele, hereby record our expression of deep appreciation on the correct Masonic example displayed whereby the exalted rank of the sovereign became merged in the more humble but impressive and worthy character of a Master Mason, and that the brother secretary be requested to place this resolution as a matter of record upon the minutes of the meeting. The Master thanked the brethren, but at the same time remarked that he had only responded to the call of duty and had only gone the length of his cable tow. Kamehameha had an active year as Master. When unable to attend, which was on not more than two occasions, he sent a nicely-worded written excuse. At the meeting of July 21, 1858, it was decided to start a fund-raising campaign for the erection of a new Masonic Temple on a piece of land that had been given for this purpose by the Canton of Geneva. Also, at this meeting, the death of Coady was announced and appropriate resolutions were adopted. It was voted “that all should attend the funeral, the address for which will be given by Rev. E. J. Beckwith.” On August 15, 1858, J. O. Dominis was raised.
29

In September, it was voted that all Master Masons and Past Masters of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie should have their “ambrotypes taken and placed in the Lodge, the brothers paying for the same.” Further, that an ambrotype be taken of Le Tellier, the founder of the Lodge, to be paid for by the Lodge. Vincent and Dominis were appointed a committee on ambrotypes. The fees for joining the Lodge were set at $35. In October, a notation occurs that brethren voted to run the sum of $17.50 to Carter, inasmuch as the regulations of the Lodge provided that when the son of a member joined he should be charged but onehalf the regular fee. In November, at a meeting held on the 17th, John S. Walker affiliated from Yuba Lodge No. 39, of Marysville, California. Walker was Treasurer of Yuba Lodge No. 39, in 1854, and demitted in 1856. At this meeting, the Master, Kamehameha IV, “regretted that he felt quite unable to serve the Lodge another year as Master.” Officers were elected for the ensuing year and R. G. Davis was elected as Master, with M. Brown and Alex. McDuff as Wardens. John Dominis was appointed to serve as Senior Deacon; A. Burnham, Junior Deacon; and S. P. Ford, Tiler. At a meeting held on December 15, 1858, the death of T. B. C. Rooke was announced and resolutions adopted. The funeral was announced for the 28th of December and all the brethren were urged to attend. St. John’s Day was observed on December 27th. After the officers were installed for the ensuing year, the brethren sat down to a banquet “where the greatest of good feeling and brotherly love were shown.” In January, an application for the degrees was received by D. Kalakaua, the brother of the Princess Liliuokalani. He later was destined to become the “constructive King of the Islands,” Master of the Lodge and well known around the world as a man and as a Mason. The Entered Apprentice Degree was conferred upon him on the following March 25th, 1858, with Past Master Kamehameha officiating. By April, some of the ambrotypes were ready. Pictures of Capt. Le Tellier and R. Coady had been procured at a cost of $15.00
30

Kamehameha was pleased to present to portrait of the deceased T. B. C. Rooke. During the balance of the month, the meetings were given over to the regular order of business. Finally, on the 4th of May, 1859, ten years of uncertainty and the dark shadows of irregularity were dispelled! From the minutes: “Brothers Guillon and Adams were admitted as a committee from Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, bearing a message of friendship and brotherly love. After reading the resolutions passed by their Lodge, they retired.” The overture for a settlement of differences was received in the spirit in which had been proffered and a special committee was appointed “to adjust the business or financial transactions pending, wait on Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 and inform them of our acceptance of their overture.” As we have seen, the Grand Lodge of California, at its next communication on May 10, 1860, approved the action of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, which approval officially healed the breach.

After the interchange of visiting committees between Le Progres de l’Oceanie and Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, there followed an act of brotherly love which demonstrated to the world the friendly feelings which had for the other. A year or two previously, Kamehameha IV, impressed with the necessity for some action to induce his people to adopt methods of the foreigners in caring for the sick, conceived the idea of establishing a general hospital at Honolulu. A temporary hospital and dispensary was established, but to accomplish his main object, the King himself went from house to house among the business section of the community, book in hand, to solicit subscriptions. A plea of this nature met with prompt response, all the more liberal perhaps because of the earnest and manly plea of the royal solicitor. Funds rapidly accumulated, and in July 1860, all was ready for the laying of the cornerstone of what His Majesty designated as “Queen’s Hospital,” in honor of his much loved consort, Queen Emma. Accordingly, on the 17th day of July 1860, the members of Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie and Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 assembled at Kawaiahao Church. They
31

escorted the acting Grand Lodge to the grounds, which were a gift of Queen Emma, and proceeded to lay the cornerstone. The original hospital, whose cornerstone was thus laid, still stands, with additions. The King, as Past Master of Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie, officiated as the acting Grand Master. He was assisted by Hon. Robert G. Davis, of Le Progres, as Deputy Grand Master; Benj F. Durham, of Hawaiian Lodge, Senior Grand Warden; A. J. Cartwright of Hawaiian Lodge, Junior Grand Warden; John Meek, of Lodge Le Progres, Grand Treasurer; Abraham Fornander, of Hawaiian Lodge, Grand Secretary; Rev. Lorrin Andrews of Hawaiian Lodge, Grand Chaplain; Chas. W. Vincent of Lodge Le Progres, Grand Architect. Her Majesty, the Queen, graced the occasion with her presence, surrounded by many of the Ladies of the Court and many of the foreign population. Following the laying of the cornerstone, the King gave an address which emphasized the precepts of charity and relief, as extolled by the Fraternity. On October 11, 1862, His Lordship, Bishop Staley, and other clergymen of the Church of England, arrived at Honolulu. Shortly afterwards, he received the King and Queen in communion of his church. The Bishop must have enjoyed the beauty and climate of Hawaii for he stayed there over the winter. On November 5th, he paid a visit to the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie where, according to the minutes the Master invited “His Lordship, Bishop Staley, to a seat in the east.” “November 30, 1863. It becomes our painful duty to announce the death of our beloved sovereign and brother, Worshipful Past Master, His Royal Highness, Kamehameha IV, who died this morning at nine and ¼ o’clock.” There follows in the minutes of Lodge Le Progres amost beautiful, touching and eloquent letter of condolence to her Majesty, Queen Emma. In it, the members of Le Progres poured out their very genuine and sincere feelings about the man who, although occupying the highest station in the Kingdom, had for a time moved amongst them as a friend and brother.
32

Although the King died on November 30th, the funeral was not held until the following February 3, 1864. As has been customary with Kings, he was buried amid much and ceremony in the mausoleum in Nuuanu Valley. The body was committed with the burial service of the Episcopal church, after which Colonel Dominis read the Masonic burial service. Upon the death of Kamehameha IV on November 30th, his brother, Prince Lot Kamehameha, became Kamehameha V, and ruler of the Kingdom of Hawaii. In the several years which followed, the Lodge went about its business which, for the most part, was the usual routine of a busy and growing Lodge. There were many occasions when the brethren of both Le Progres and Hawaiian No. 21 exchanged visits and it seemed that whenever the members of Le Progres could find occasion to bring members of officers of “their sister Lodge” into their program they would do so. The bonds of friendship and fellowship never were stronger or more firmly cemented. In 1871, the movement for a new palace to house the ruler of Hawaii in a manner befitting the growing importance of the Islands was launched. Plans were drawn by an Austrian architect, which were elaborate for that day, but designed to give ample accommodations for state and private apartments. The building was to be used as a Government Building where the departments were to be established and the Legislature to hold its sessions. However, it was never used as a royal abode. The cornerstone of this building, at Mililani, now styled the “Judiciary Building,” was laid in the presence of His Majesty, Kamehameha V, at this time an unaffiliated Mason, Monday, February 19, 1872, with Masonic ceremonies. A procession was formed on King Street, in front of Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie, and marched to the grounds. A. J. Cartwright, P.M., officiated as Acting Grand Master and the various officers of the acting Grand Lodge were filled by Past Masters John O. Dominis, P. C. Jones, and H. A. P. Carter – all of Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie – and Wm. F. Allen, John A. Hassinger, Rev. G. B. Whipple and C. S. Bartow, of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21. The Acting Grand Master, Cartwright, then read a letter in which the King, Kamehameha V, requested that the cornerstone be
33

laid by the Masonic fraternity. The ceremony then proceeded in due and ancient form according to the custom of the craft. A casket containing various objects was placed in a place provided beneath the stone. The Grand Architect, Robert Sterling, then presented the working tools to His Majesty the King, who, with the assistance of the Acting Grand Master, spread the cement beneath the cornerstone while the band played “God Save the King.” The stone was then let down into its place by three gradual motions, while the band played the Hawaiian National Anthem. The stone, having been tried with the plumb, square and level, the Acting Grand Master then said, “I have tried and proved this stone by the plumb, square and level, and pronounce it to be well formed, true and trusty.” The benediction then followed by the Chaplain, G. B. Whipple. An impressive and eloquent address by His Excellency, S. H. Phillips, then concluded the ceremonies. In 1872, Kamehameha V passed on to the Celestial Lodge and his successor in office was Lunililo who reigned but little over a year when he, too, died. The responsibility of electing a sovereign devolved constitutionally upon the Legislative Assembly. Prince David Kalakaua was elected. King Kalakaua was a Master Mason, having been raised in Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie on July 28, 1859. One of the most events which occurred during the reign of Kalakaua was his visit to the United States, where he was received by President Grant with the highest honors. He was the first monarch to visit the Congress. While in the United States, he brought about the passage of the Reciprocity Treaty which was, without doubt, the greatest achievement of his reign. This gave to both Hawaii and the United States, duty-free trade and at once brought about an era of prosperity never before known in the Islands. In return for this treaty, he ceded Pearl Harbor to the United States which marked the beginning of America’s interest in the Pacific and an epoch of friendly relations. “January 30, 1875. A special meeting was called by the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie for the purpose of attending the funeral of Br. John Meek. Lodge was called to labor at 2 o’clock P.M. by the Master’s gavel.
34

“In memory of Capt. John Meek, our late brother and one of the founders of Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie No. 124, A.&A.S.R, born A.D 1791, Nov 24, at Marblehead, Massachusetts, U.S.A., died at Honolulu, January 29, 1875, aged 83 years, 2 months, and 5 days. By his deed do we know him.” The brethren of Lodge Le Progres and of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, with the officers and members of other Masonic bodies, after the usual Lodge ceremonies, formed in procession and proceeded to the residence of Brother Meek. From there, they escorted the remains to their last resting place. Upon returning, the Lodge was closed in peace and harmony. On November 29, 1875, “His Majesty, Brother David Kalakaua, was elected Worshipful Master for the ensuing Masonic year.” On February 26, 1877, the minutes show that a discussion was had relative to the feasibility of changing the jurisdiction from the Supreme Council of France to the Supreme Council of the Southern Jurisdiction of the United States. No action was taken. The minutes of Le Progres for Sept. 24, 1877, reveal a bit of human interest which reflected the polyglot composition of the members of all the Island Lodges: “The committee on Entered Apprentice, L. Aseu, recommended that the fees of the degree which he had not yet taken be returned to him, because he was inefficient in the English language and could not understand the work. This was agreed to by vote.” L. Aseu, a Chinese of means, prominence, and influence, had been elected and initiated two years before. The matter rested for twenty-one years. “October 31, 1899. L. Aseu, after several years declares that he is sufficiently skilled in the English language to take degrees ‘above entered apprentice.’ The committee spoke kindly of him, but no action was taken and here the matter ended. On the 31st day of December, 1879, Lodge Le Progres received an invitation from His Majesty, King Kalakaua I, to officiate in the laying of the cornerstone of Iolani Palace which now is the Capitol of Hawaii. All the local military and civic bodies took part in the grand procession. Also present were representatives of foreign powers, officers of war vessels in port, Government
35

officials and their ladies, and the officers and members of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 who were also invited to participate in the ceremonies. David Dayton, Past Master of Lodge Le Progres served as the Acting Grand Master, assisted by William B. Wright, Deputy Grand Master, also of Lodge Le Progres. The acting Grand Officers from Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 were: William F. Allen, Senior Grand Warden; C. S. Bartow, Junior Grand Warden; John A. Hassinger, Grand Treasurer; D. K. Fyfe, Grand Secretary; Reverent Alexander Mackintosh (Master), Grand Chaplain; Lewish Way, Grand Architect. An address in English was delivered by Associate Justice McCully, and one in Hawaiian by John M. Kapena, of Lodge Le Progres. Honorable A. Fornander, Past Master of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, delivered the oration. At the conclusion of the oration, Past Master John A. Hassigner, of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, advanced to the cornerstone and, at the request of His Majesty, presented to Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie, through its Master, James S. Lemon, the working tools of massive silver which had been wrought expressly for use upon this occasion. These implements are on display in the Masonic Temple. There followed an address by His Excellency, J. M. Kapena, Minister of Foreign Relations, which concluded with the following remarks: “. . . For myself, being a member of the Masonic Fraternity, I am reminded of the sovereigns of the Kingdom who have become members of the same and have devoted their energies to forwarding the interests of that benevolent Order whose object is to combine all good men in one sacred bond of brotherhood. Today, the honorable duty devolving upon that Order is the laying of the cornerstone of the Royal Palace, here to be erected. So also was awarded to that Order the honor of laying the foundations of the world-renowned Temple of Jerusalem.” Brother Kapena then went on to point out how the three great Kings of Hawaii, i.e., Kamehameha IV, Kamehameha V, and Kalakaua I, all were members of the Masonic fraternity and how all
36

three were true exemplars through their deeds of all that Freemasonry advocates and stands for. They accredited themselves, as Masons, with honor, and the Masonic Fraternity in Hawaii may forever point with pride to them as objects of veneration and esteem. The minutes of Lodge Le Progres for January 28, 1883, reveal that “An invitation from the committee on the coronation was read and the invitation was accepted.” This was the magnificent ceremonial by which Kalakaua and Kapiolani, his Queen, were crowned King and Queen of the Hawaiian Islands. The pavilion for the occasion still stands as the ornate bandstand on the grounds of the Capitol, which at the time was the Royal Palace. The coronation occurred on February 12, 1883, and the Master called a special meeting of the brethren at 10 o’clock A. M. for the purpose “of attending the coronation of their Majesties, the King and Queen.” Although the minutes do not specifically reveal it, the members of Lodge Le Progres and of Hawaiian No. 21 were invited by Kalakaua I to a grand banquet at Iolani Palace to celebrate St. John’s Day, on Wednesday, December 27, 1882. An account of this event is of particular historical interest in that it represents a situation wherein was displayed the ideal of brotherhood and fraternalism between Masons on a level of equality marking well the true objectives of the craft. First of all, on this particular St. John’s Day, both the Lodge Le Progres and Hawaiian No. 21, in their respective Lodge Halls, held their ceremonies of installation for their officers for the ensuing year. At the Lodge Le Progres, F. J. Higgins was reinstalled as Master and at the same time presented with a Past Master’s jewel. At the hall of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, George E. Howe was installed as Master. Following installation of the Masters, the other officers, elected and appointed, were likewise installed in their respective offices. At the conclusion of the ceremonies, all the brethren, numbering 120, assembled at the Hall of Lodge Le Progres, where they formed in line and, headed by a band, marched in a body to the Palace. His Majesty, accompanied by Governor Dominis, received the brethren in the Throne Room, they passing by and saluting him
37

as their Sovereign, after which he and the Governor took their places in the procession as Past Masters. With the brethren, they all sat down to partake of the good things provided. The head of the table was occupied by Higgins and Howe. On their immediate right, were His Majesty, Kalakaua I and R. M. Dagget, A. Fornander, A. S. Cleghorn, and J. A. Cruzan. On the left were J. O. Dominis, W. B. Writhg, Alex. Mackintoch, J. A. Hassinger and D. Dayton. The banquet was spread in the dining room of the new palace. The tables were laden will all the good things obtainable and the wines were of the finest character. Before sitting down, a blessing was asked by Brother Mackintosh. After doing justice to the repast Past Master Dayton, of Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie, called the brethren to order for toasts of the evening. An account of the affair was printed on silk, one or more for each member, one to be sent to the deputy at Paris and one to the Grand Central Lodge of the Supreme Council of France. A few copies of this handsome souvenir remain. One was presented to the Lodge by Honorable A. G. M. Robertson, having been owned by his late brother, James Robertson. During the next few years, no particularly outstanding events transpired. The lodge went on much as usual. Applications were received and acted upon in due form; Past Master’s jewels were presented; officers were called together at practice meetings “to brighten up”; brothers went on to join the Great Architect of the Universe in the Celestial Lodge above, amidst Masonic honors; the Dowager Queen Emma died and the brethren were invited to her funeral. In 1890, King Kalakaua, in an effort to regain his health, made a trip to California aboard the U. S. S. Charleston. The trip, however, had little effect for, on the 20th of January, 1891, in the City of San Francisco, he passed on to join his borbears. At a meeting of the Lodge on February 6, 1891, resolutions “on the death of His Majesty, Brother Past Master Kalakaua, were adoped.” On Sunday, February 15, 1891, the brethren of Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie and others gathered together to pay their last respects to Kalakaua I, Past Master. The procession formed at the
38

Palace and proceed to the Royal Mausoleum, where the Bishop of Honolulu performed the last rites of the Church of England. After the Anglican service, all but the chief mourners and Kahili bearers retired from the mausoleum. A few moments later, the Masons marched in and a very impressive funeral service was performed. Past Master David Dayton read the service, after which the brethren present moved in procession past the body, each depositing a sprig of evergreen on the coffin. After a benediction by the Chaplain, Reverend Alex Mackintosh, the services ended by the singing of the funeral dirge, “Solemn Strikes the Funeral Chimes.” Again the years passed without singular event. However, on Feb. 22, 1896, a petition was received from Clarence Mortimer White. He was duly elected, initiated, passed and raised. To this accomplished brother is very largely due the new birth of Lodge Le Progres. He was a scholar, poet, orator and “friend of man.” He dignified and ornamented every position he occupied in the Lodge and left his individuality, his faith and his ideals indelibly stamped upon his mother Lodge as well as upon the Craft in the Islands. It is said that his was the strongest personality since the days of Captain Le Tellier and John meek. He not only made Masons, but he gave them a Masonic education. His standing in the community was high and he occupied always positions of trust and responsibility. His many addresses upon Masonic occasions were gems of literature and broad Masonic doctrine and practice. On August 5, 1898, Benjamin F. Dillingham, being present, was raised to the sublime degree of Master Mason. This man’s name was sufficient to honor any station he might assume, but he continued a modest worker “in the columns” the remainder of his life. It was he whose genius fashioned the Island of Oahu into an industrial empire. His splendid vision conceived the Oahu Railway, which he constructed in the face of almost insurmountable difficulties, creating or making possible at the same time the chain of great sugar plantations to be developed by modern transportation. So long as the islands exist, the memory of this man will be respected as one who found delight in laboring for his community and whose standards of life, both business and fraternal, were truly exalted.
39

On September 26, 1904, there commenced a movement among the brethren of Lodge le Progres, which, viewed from any angle, possessed elements of uncertainty for the Lodge. “The Worshipful Master announced that there would be a summoned meeting next Saturday evening, October 1, 1904, to consider the proposal of withdrawal from the Grand Lodge of France and the Supreme Council of France, and transfer to some Grand Lodge of the United States, preferably that of the State of California.” The Orator, Ed. Towse, Past Master, on October 1st, was directed by the Master to state the cse, read the correspondence and draw his conclusions on the proposal for which the meeting was called. Thereupon, Past Master White offered and Past Master Farrington seconded the following resolution, which was adoped by unanimous vote: “That it is the sense of the Lodge that its best interests and the best interests of Masonry in Hawaii would be served by changing our jurisdiction to the Grand Lodge of California.” On May 23, 1905, Towse, about to leave for a trip to California, was empowered to represent the Lodge in negotiation for the change of jurisdiction. The proper credentials were furnished him. Accordingly, he placed the matter in the hands of the Honorable Frank W. Angelotti, Past Grand master, Chairman of the Committee on Jurisprudence. At the time, Angelotti was on the bench of the Supreme Court of California. By July 31, 1905, Towse had returned and laid a very full report, concerning the change of jurisdiction, before the Lodge. At a meeting on the 31st of August, 1905, the transfer to the Grand Lodge of California was effected. All the members of Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie, except eight, demitted. Those eight remained “to hold the old charter as a precautionary measure and to protect the interests of the Grand Lodge and Supreme Council of France, and to avoid possibility of the charter falling into designing hands.” The brethren who remained were: W. R. Farrington as Master; Ed. Towse and George Campton, Wardens – all Past Masters; Charles H. Pfeiffer, P.M., C. J. DeRoo, George Andrews, Gaston J. Boisse, William L. Eaton. Roll call upon the resolution
40

making the changes of jurisdiction was then had and each brother arose and voted in the affirmative, whereupon Master Bockus obligated all to the course that had been agreed upon and to the protection of those who “remained to hold the old charter.” The application was laid before the annual communication of the Grand Lodge of California in October, 1905. It was acted upon favorably and a Charter issued in the name of “Oceanic Lodge No. 371.” Meanwhile, pending action before the Grand Lodge, the Lodge Le Progres continued on as before. On September 25, 1905, further demits were granted and work which was pending, together with new petitions, was referred to “the new Lodge,” Oceanic No. 371. However, as a special mark of friendship, the third degree was conferred upon Harry Armitage, a well known stock broker. The winding up of affairs of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie took several months as it was necessary to communicate with the mother bodies in France. Accordingly, on November 27, 1905, the minutes show that “the sitting officers of the ‘old Lodge’ were re-elected.” On December 25, 1905, Christmas Day, a meeting was held – the last one – in the minutes of which appears the following: “The Worshipful Master read a letter from the Grand Secretary of the Federal Council agreeing got our release from the French jurisdiction and expressing friendly appreciation of the reasons given for that step.” It was then voted that “we assume charge and care of all property and moneys and in due time turn the same over to the body of succession, Oceanic Lodge No. 371, subject to the rights and claims of the Grand Lodge of the Supreme Council of France and that it be recommended that the Grand Lodge of California be requested to have Oceanic Lodge resume the name of Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie. There being no further business, the Lodge (which had been in existence since the year 1843) was closed and pronounced dissolved in due and ancient form.” At the bottom of this page of the minute book, C. J. DeRoo significantly wrote “Pau” which is Hawaiian for “finished” or “the end” and which truly marked the end of the glorious history of
41

Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie No. 124, of the Supreme Council of France, and the beginning of her equally interesting and successful history under the jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of California, Free and Accepted Masons. The Lodge went along its Mason way as Oceanic Lodge No. 371 until 1916, when, on May 29th of that year Ed. Towse, P. M., offered the following resolution: “Whereas, this Lodge was instituted April 8, 1843, by a Deputy of the Supreme Council of 33° A. & A. S. R. of France, under the name of Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie No. 124, and continued and worked under that style until it entered the jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of California as Oceanic Lodge No. 371, and “Whereas, it was and is desired by all the members to retain the former name of this body, be it “Resolved, that the Grand Lodge of California is hereby respectfully petitioned to permit and instruct this Lodge to resume its former name with its present number.” At this meeting, Past Master Bockus announced that he was contemplating a trip to California that summer. Since a portion of the work done by the Lodge Le Progres under the Supreme Council of France differed somewhat, especially in the third degree, Bockus was authorized to take up with the Grand Lodge officers in California the question as to whether or not they might continue this work according to their French-taught usage. On November 10, 1916, the Lodge was convened for the purpose of considering a communication from Thomas J. Baker, Grand Lecturer of the Grand Lodge of California. An extract from the Summary of Proceedings held at San Francisco, October 10-13, 1916, was then read, as follows: “(1st) That the name of Oceanic Lodge No. 371 was changed to Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie (No. 371). “(2nd) Amendments to Constitution: Section 121 was amended by adding a proviso as follows: “Provided, however, anything in the section to the contrary notwithstanding, that the Lodges in the jurisdiction whose long
42

established ritualistic work is in part a departure from the uniform ritual of this jurisdiction may continue to perform such work as the same is now being performed, in so far as the same may not be disapproved by the Grand Master and the Grand Lecturer.” The Lodge was so grateful that its prayers, respecting resumption of the old name and the continuance of work according to the French style were granted that they directed that a letter of appreciation be sent to Grand Master Keesling and the Grand Lecturer, Thomas J. Baker. The remaining minutes for this Lodge, to the present writing, show a close relationship between it and its sister Lodges in the Hawaiian Islands. The public works of these Island Lodges, during these past latter years, seem to merge into one perfect and complete whole wherein the identity of the individual Lodge is lost and Freemasonry as a society of friends and brothers seems to emerge. The history of the Craft in the Islands since they came under the jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of California appears as a solid body of Freemasons. When public functions are held at which the Craft appears, such as the laying of a cornerstone, the masons are identified as Masons without respect to the particular Lodge of which each may be a member, so that each public function becomes a truly Masonic function, not a Lodge function! It appears that this is good and that our brethren in the Hawaiian Islands have heeded well the lessons taught us in our three degrees of speculative Masonry.

HAWAIIAN LODGE NO. 21 In the history of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie No. 371, we have already learned of the manner in which Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 was formed by Captain John Meek and others when they met at his house on the evening of December 8, 1851, to discuss the matter. We have seen that the outcome of this meeting resulted in the Grand Lodge of California being petitioned for a

43

charter with L. Lyon as Master; John Meek, as Senior Warden, and C. W. Vincent as Junior Warden. A dispensation was granted by the Grand Lodge of California, on January 12, 1852, by Benjamin D. Hyam, Deputy Grand Master; the charter followed, being issued on the 5th day of May, 1852. Since the early history of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 ran concurrently with that of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie until Thursday, May 10, 1860, there is little more to add that was included in the history of Le Progres up to that time. It should be remember that this Lodge was instituted during a time when the Western world was completely topsy-turvey, its economy and way of life severely upset by one of the greatest mass migrations known to man, caused by the discovery of gold in California. The year in which the Lodge received its dispensation, 1852, saw the height of the crisis and placed the Lodges then existing in California in a precarious position because of the tremendous relief load they were called upon to bear. No less was Hawaiian No. 21 affected, at Honolulu, which was known as the Pacific crossroads. The brethren there not only had poured down upon them emigrants to the gold fields of California but thousands of seafaring men who were following the whaling industry, which, at the time, was enjoying a tremendous boom. Cries for assistance went forth from the California Lodges, through the Grand Lodge, to all the jurisdictions in the United States and Canada. The City of Sacramento, being the hub of activity for outfitting for the mines, was the Mecca of all emigrants. There, the calls for financial aid for the distressed reached agonizing proportions. Such a call was heard as far off as Honolulu. Despite the fact that Hawaiian No. 21 had just started and was herself freighted with the demands for assistance, the Lodge found within its hear the spirit of Charity and sent to the Grand Lodge in time for its communication in May, 1852, a “donation of $48 to the Sacramento Relief Committee.” Perhaps the brethren of Hawaiian No. 21 were all the more sensitive to the nature of the appeal because of their own position. Whatever the motives, it was a truly remarkable demonstration of lessons well learned through the
44

teachings of Masonry. The returns for 1852 show a membership of 11 Master Masons, 4 Fellow Crafts and 1 Entered Apprentice. The Lodge carried its responsibilities well and the work went forward. In 1853, the returns show that the membership rolls had increased to a total of twenty-eight Master masons, two Fellow Crafts and one Entered Apprentice remaining after four had withdrawn. In piecing together the story of the difficulties between this Lodge and the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie, referred to previously, an attempt has been made to ascertain the causes which led to the resurrection of Le Progres in 1854 by the very same brethren who had caused its demise and formed Hawaiian No. 21 in 1852. Unquestionably, something existed which impelled them to retrace their steps. Whatever it was, it so far has failed to come to light. Possibly the following had a bearing. “Friday, May 5, 1854. (In the Grand Lodge, at Sacramento) “To the M.W. Grand Lodge of California: – “The committee to whom was referred the memorial of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, at Honolulu, report that said Lodge committed an error in failing to elect its officers at the regular meeting ‘Next preceding St. John’s Day’ (as required by the Constitution), which error they corrected, so far as laid in their power, by electing at the next regular meeting, which fell on St. John’s Day. It seems however, that notwithstanding the efforts to remedy this error, dissatisfaction has been evinced on the part of two or three of the brethren, which threatens to disturb, if not destroy, the peace and harmony of the Lodge. In order, therefore, that no further mischief may be don, or evil consequences result to our brethren of Hawaiian Lodge, arising out of this unintentional omission of duty, the committee recommend the adoption of the following resolution: – “Resolved, that the officers elected by the members of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, at their regular meeting on St. John’s Day, be and are hereby declared by this Grand Lodge the proper and legal officers for the ensuing Masonic year.” When this election took place, L. Lyon was Master; John Meek was Senior Warden and C. W. Vincent was Junior Warden.
45

At the disputed election, C. W. Vincent was elected Master and John Meek was not elected to any office. Meek was one of the original founders of the Lodge Le Progres, as well as of Hawaiian No. 21, and was one of those who left Hawaiian No. 21 to resurrect Le Progres. Since the minutes of Hawaiian No. 21 show no single specific cause, during this time, that would explain their act in demitting, it may be that the cause lay in a series of incidents such as this, which, however, failed to find their way into the minutes. As we have seen, the brethren who re-formed Le Progres held their first meeting for the purpose on August 8, 1854, but a few months after the flames from the incident f the annual election of officers had seared by the Grand Lodge. Bye this time the heavy drain upon their charities began to be felt and at the communication for May, 1856, a petition from Hawaiian Lodge was read requesting a remission of dues for the past year. The committee report on the petition read as follows: “It seems, from their peculiar situation in respect to the whale fisheries of the Pacific, that they are constantly under the necessity of making extraordinary exertions to meet those transient calls for charity with which we became so painfully familiar in the years 1849 and 1850 . . . for the purpose of fostering our distant brethren of the Sandwich Islands, we respectfully submit the following resolution: – “Resolved, that the dues of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, to this Grand Lodge to date, be, and the same are hereby remitted.” This began a parade of years, until 1891, whereupon it was the annual custom of the Grand Lodge to remit the dues of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 for the same substantial reasons. As was noted in the history of the Lodge Le Progres, the King, Kamehameha IV received his Entered Apprentice degree in that Lodge on the evening of January 14, 1857. Despite the interdiction of the Grand Lodge, forbidding Masonic intercourse with Le Progres, his brother, Prince Lot Kamehameha, a member of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, visited the Lodge Le Progres on that evening. On Monday evening, February 2, 1857, charges were preferred against Lot Kamehameha and two other brethren,
46

members of Hawaiian Lodge, for visiting Le Progres in violation of the interdict imposed by the Grand Lodge. Lot Kamehameha was tried on February 25, 1857, and, although found guilty, was upon due consideration excused from punishment. This no doubt rankled the royal personage because on March 2, 1857, a dimit [sic] was received from him by Hawaiian Lodge and, on motion, was accepted. Lot Kamehameha from that time on never again affiliated with a regular Lodge, becoming thereby an unaffiliated Mason. He was always treated as a Mason, and upon his passing, the funeral service of the Craft was read over his remains. The minutes of January 18, 1873, show that the Master of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 invited the brethren and officers of the Lodge Le Progres to assist in the funeral of Kamehameha V. When the breach between Hawaiian No. 21 and the Lodge Le Progres was healed in 1859, there remained the matter of settling the claim of Le Progres for the $174.13 which they had paid over to Hawaiian No. 21. Committees from each Lodge were appointed and, after due deliberation and several conferences, the Lodge le Progres on December 5, 1859, formally renounced and disowned “any claim to the money in question.” On the 17th day of July, 1860, the two Lodges acted together for the first time in a public ceremony when the joined to assist in the laying of the cornerstone of the Queen’s Hospital, with the King, Kamehameha IV, a member of Lodge Le Progres and one of its Past Masters, acting as the Grand Master. The account of this joint ceremonial is recorded in the history of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie, preceding this section. Again, on Monday, February 18, 1872, the two Lodges joined in laying the cornerstone of the Judiciary Building, an account of which is to be found also in the previous section. In the minutes for 1872, we find that on Monday, December 16th, the Master informed the brethren that “our Brother, His Majesty Kamehameha V passed away on December 11.” A committee was appointed to draft a suitable resolution and letter of condolence to His Royal Highness, R. Keelikolani, and to report the same at the next meeting of the Lodge.
47

The St. John’s Day banquet, scheduled for December 27th, was cancelled in deference to the memory “of our late Brother, His Majesty Kamehameha V.” At the meeting for January 16, 1873, the Master informed the Lodge that he had invited the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie to assist in the funeral of Kamehameha V, which had been held on January 7th. The brethren met at the Hall of Hawiian [sic] Lodge No. 21 at 10 o’clock A.M. and together with the brethren of the Lodge Le Progres had proceeded to the Palace Grounds to join in the funeral procession. This took place about 11:30 A. M. and wound its way through the streets to the Royal Mausoleum where the burial service of the English Church was conducted by the Right Reverend Bishop of Honolulu. Following this, the Masonic brethren filed into the tomb and conducted the impressive ceremonies of the Craft. The Reverend George B. Whipple acted as Chaplain. In the course of the ceremony Kamehameha’s Masonic apron, which he had received at his initiation, was placed on the coffin. The next time the two Lodges joined in a public ceremony was on the occasion of the funeral of Captain John Meek, cofounder of both the Lodge Le Progres and Hawaiian No. 21, on January 30, 1875. The first official visit from a Grand Master was made by John Mills Browne when he visited Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 in 1878. On that occasion, he made a careful examination of all matters pertaining to the condition and work of the Lodge and paid the brethren some very pleasant compliments and congratulated them upon their devotion to the interests of the order and the prospects of soon having a Lodge Hall of their own. On Saturday, January 4, 1879, the cornerstone of the first Masonic Hall, at the corner of Fort and Queen streets, was laid. At the time the only survivor among those who were upon the original role in 1852 was A. J. Cartwright. He was authorized by special dispensation to represent the Grand Master in conducting the ceremonies, in which he was assisted by Past Masters and members of Hawaiian Lodge in the subordinate offices of the Acting Grand Lodge as follows: C. S. Bartow, Deputy Grand Master; William F.
48

Allen, Senior Grand Warden; John A. Hassinger, Junior Grand Warden; Charles T. Gulick, Grand Treasurer; D. K. Fyfe, Grand Secretary; L. Way, Grand Architect. His Majesty, Kalakaua, was present at these ceremonies, wearing his jewel as a Past Master of Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie, and accompanied by Queen Kapiolani and the heir apparent, Liliuokalani. All the Cabinet Ministers also were in attendance. The members of the two Lodges joined in procession, escorting the Acting Grand Lodge. The Orator of the occasion was Past Master Albert Francis Judd. By September 30, 1879, the Hall was finished and ready for dedication and on that Tuesday evening there assembled all the brethren of both the Lodge Le Progres and Hawaiian No. 21 for the purpose of conducting the dedication ceremonies. This was, without doubt, the first Masonic dedication ceremony to held in the Islands in the first building erected for Masonic purposes. The Hall was owned solely by Hawaiian Lodge No. 21. The brethren convened for the last time in the old Lodge room in the Makee Block at 7:30 P. M., where they were joined by the members of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie and numerous visiting brethren. They then marched in procession to the new Hall, escorting the Acting Grand Lodge, the officers of which were as follows: A. J. Cartwright, Grand Master; William F. Allen, Deputy Grand Master; C. S. Bartow, Senior Grand Warden; John A. Hassinger, Junior Grand Warden; A. F. Judd, Grand Orator. A choir of young Hawaiians under the leadership of the Reverend Alexander Mackintosh, rendered the appropriate anthems and hymns. A. F. Judd, as the Acting Grand Orator, delivered the oration. With the passing of the years, Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 took on a new degree of brightness. The Lodge was busy and the roster was growing. The relief load which they had been called upon to bear since their inception still continued to be financially oppressive. The Grand Lodge still was being asked to remit their annual dues which was done at each communication. By 1890 the Lodge had grown to about a hundred members, who were, however, plagued by still another problem.

49

Following the dedication of their Hall in 1879, the City of Honolulu began to expand in its development toward the east, west and north, leaving the Hall in the evening hours in a silent and deserted part of the lower end of town. The members began to realize that the Lodge location was not as desirable as could be wished and the conviction was forced upon them that if they expected to progress and grow, a change would have to be made to a more desirable location. When a fair offer was made for the building at Fort and Queen streets, a more central and convenient location was sought. Finally, the choice of a site was made at the corner of Hotel and Alakea streets which was where the old Derby Theater had stood. On Tuesday, December 27, 1892, the cornerstone of the new Masonic Temple was laid. By this time, A. J. Cartwright, had passed on and William F. Allen, as the oldest Past Master, was delegated to act as Grand Master. Queen Liliuokalani was present. The other stations of the Acting Grand Lodge were filled by the following Past Masters of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21: John A. Hassinger, Deputy Grand Master; Theodore C. Porter, Senior Grand Warden; William M. Graham, Junior Grand Warden; James M. Monsarrat, Grand Treasurer; John Phillips, Grand Secretary. Paul Newmann delivered the oration upon this occasion. A few days previously workmen had cut the cornerstone from the original building at Fort and Green streets and removed the contents. A new copper casket was provided and to the contents of this casket were added those from the stone under the first building. On the evening of Monday, November 27, 1893, the Temple was solemnly dedicated to Masonic usage. The members of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 again met for the last time in the old hall at Fort and Queen streets. They were joined here by the brethren of the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie where the two Lodges formed an escort to the Acting Grand Lodge in a procession to the new Temple. Seats were reserved for the wives and children of the brethren and a choir from the Central Union and Anglican churches rendered the appropriate anthems for the service, under the direction of Wray Taylor, organist.
50

The following Past Masters officiated as the Acting Grand Officers: William F. Allen, Grand Master; Theodor G. Porter, Deputy Grand Master; John Phillips, Senior Grand Warden; James M. Monsarrat, Junior Grand Warden; the Reverend Alexander Mackintosh, Grand Chaplain; John A. Hassinger, Grand Orator. In 1888, just previous to the movement for acquiring this new property, the financial affairs of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 had improved to the point that an Inspector reported to the Grand Lodge that because of extra revenue which the Lodge was deriving and their improved position it would not be necessary much longer for the Grand Lodge to remit their dues. A resolution was therefore passed requiring the Lodge to “comply with the constitution of Grand Lodge in this requirement as in all others.” However, the dues were finally remitted for 1888-89-90-91. In 1892, Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 started paying the Grand Lodge dues and has continued to do so ever since. An indication of the unique position of this Lodge at the Pacific crossroads is to be found in a letter from john A. Hassinger, to the Lodge, under date of March 2, 1900, in which he offered to donate to the Lodge a private mausoleum, “which is of good architectural design, built of solid concrete with heavy iron doors.” In making the offer, he pointed out that the Lodge was oftentimes called upon to preserve the body of a deceased brother and to give it temporary entombment until other permanent arrangements could be made, especially in the case of those “who came from other lands.” He continued, that in former years the Lodge had met this problem by soliciting the use of private tombs or vaults whose owners allowed the temporary use of the same. By owning its own vault, the Lodge would no longer have to depend upon private assistance which was becoming a problem in itself due to the decreasing amount of space in these facilities. The mausoleum which he offered to donate was located in Makiki Cemetary. At a subsequent stated meeting, the motion was made and passed, accepting the gift of the mausoleum. The Secretary was instructed to notify Hassinger of the acceptance in writing and that “the letter tendering the gift be spread upon the minutes.” On the evening of Monday, May 5, 1092, Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of its members in
51

attendance; the occasion was full of meaning for everyone. In looking back, the Lodge found upon its roster the names of a king, ministers, professional men, magnates, clerks, and toilers in humbler fields. The filled room and the close attention to the historical features of the program reflected the deep interest and significance of the event. “May 27, 1901. – It was voted that the delivery of meeting notices to members, with the exception of officers, cease from this date.” Until this time, it had been the custom for the Secretary or Tiler to serve “written notice” of each meeting upon every member in Honolulu. Once again the Lodge entered upon a period in its life wherein the weeks and months slipped by without anything particularly outstanding transpiring. The brethren were busy and the first World War period present them with frequent opportunities to display the beauties of the craft. However, on the evening of Tuesday, April 13, 1920, a most unusual and noteworthy event took place wherein Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 received a visitation from the Grand Master Charles Albert Adams and the Prince of Wales, who later became Edward VIII, King of England, and after his abdication from the throne, the Duke of Windsor. On this occasion, all of the officers were present. The Master extended the courtesy of Acting Senior and Junior Wardens to Herbert G. Purcell, Master of Honolulu Lodge No. 409, and to Charles F. Merrill, Master of Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie No. 371, respectively. The Grand Master was announced and escorted into the Lodge room. Upon accepting the gavel, with the usual appropriate remarks, he announced that “our brother, the Prince of Wales, was to be expected at any moment.” He then instructed the Lodge on how the Prince was to be received. At 8:45 o’clock, the Prince of Wales, accompanied by Admiral [Lionel] Halsey, Senior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge of England, requested admission. They were escorted in seats in the East by the Acting Marshall, James F. Fenwick, Inspector of the 66th Masonic District. The Grand Master addressed them with a
52

few words of welcome in which he emphasized the fact that outside the Lodge, because of the dignity of his station, and because he was heir apparent to the throne of a powerful nation, it was necessary, if they came in contact at all, to address the prince with much formality. Within the Lodge, however, they met on the level as men and Masons. On behalf of the Fraternity in Hawaii, the Grand Master then presented to the Prince a silver trowel, with a few felicitous words, to which the Prince of Wales made a brief but suitable acknowledgement and response. The close schedule that the Prince was maintaining prevented his remaining very long with the Lodge, so he withdrew at an early opportunity. form. The Lodge was then closed by the Grand Master in due

The Diamond Jubilee Celebration of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 was held on the evening of May 6, 1927. In planning the celebration, the brethren had to give up the idea of having it in the Lodge Hall at Hotel and Alakea streets. In spite of sentiment, the fact remained that the Masonic Fraternity had grown so large during the past 25 years that it would haven impossible to accommodate them all in the Lodge room. Plans were therefore made to hold the celebration in the Scottish Rite Cathedral, at the corner of Wilder Avenue and Kewalo Street, Honolulu. The auditorium was filled almost to capacity with masons and their immediate families. It was a gala event, featured with beautiful music and interesting talks and addresses. Adjourning to the banquet room, a splendid orchestra played while delicious refreshments were served, and very pleasant social hours were enjoyed by all. The Masonic Hall at Hotel and Alakea streets, owned by Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 was indeed no longer adequate to best serve the interests of the Craft. In addition to Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, the Hall was regularly being used by Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie No. 371, Honolulu Lodge No. 409, Pearl Harbor Lodge No. 598, together with numerous other affiliated bodies. The Lodge room itself was too small and unsafe for large gatherings
53

which, in themselves, ordinarily constitute outstanding yearly events in the life of a Lodge. The metropolitan area of Honolulu had grown all around the building and again they found themselves in the center of a congested area. Parking facilities were hard to find and the attendance records had begun to drop. In addition, the City Planning Commission had authorized a fifteen foot setback for the widening of Hotel street which would have made the property unprofitable as an investment and render it unusable at all as a Masonic hall. To rebuild on the spot would have been too great an undertaking for the Lodge to bear. In 1936, Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 purchased a piece of property on the corner of Kinau and Makiki streets, once occupied by the old Kapiolani Maternity Home. It was far enough removed from the business district to present no parking problems and offered a place where the brethren could pursue their labors undisturbed for many years. Architects drew plans for the building and, on July 10, 1937, at a Special Communication of the Grand Lodge, at 2:30 o’clock in the afternoon, the Acting Grand Officers opened Lodge in the old Hall at Hotel and Alakea streets for the purpose of laying the cornerstone. The following brethren were duly appointed as Acting Grand Officers: Walter C. Shields, Grand master; Alexander D. Potts, Deputy Grand Master; John A. Madden, Senior Grand Warden; Lester Petrie, Junior Grand Warden; Irwin Spalding, Grand Treasurer; James R. MacLean, Grand Secretary; Ellwood C. Wilder, Grand Chaplain; Gordon C. Ross, Grand Marshal; Frank E. Thompson, Grand Orator. The Acting Grand Master opened the Lodge in due form, after which it was called to refreshment and proceeded to the site of the new Temple, where the cornerstone was laid in due and ample form. The new building was officially dedicated on July 31, 1937, at a special ceremony in which the District Inspector, Alexander D. Potts, acted as Grand Master. Thus, in eighty-five years, the labors of the brethren of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 were culminated in the
54

completion of their third Masonic Hall. Contemplate the difficulties with which this Lodge was faced almost this entire time, it can truthfully be said that the completion of this third Temple epitomized the results of their labors and demonstrated to the world, as well as the Fraternity at large, that their spiritual temple was not only built upon a rock, but also wisely and according to the precepts laid down in the teachings of the Craft. Had it been otherwise, Hawaiian Lodge No. 21 would never have survived. In reviewing the minutes and archives of the Craft in the Hawaiian Islands and of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, one is impressed by the fact that the brethren there learned early and took to heart the teachings of Freemasonry whereby brethren are adjured to “dwell together in unity” and to cement their labors with the cement of friendship and fellowship “which unites us into one sacred band or society of friends and brothers, among whom no contention should ever exist, but that noble contention, or rather emulation, of who best can work and best agree.” In the many years that Freemasonry was growing in the Hawaiian Islands, many public buildings were constructed. Almost always the Craft were designated to lay the cornerstone. While the invitation usually went to a particular Lodge, the Master of that Lodge invariable invited representatives of the other Lodges to act with him in the ceremonies, it thereby becoming a truly “Masonic” affair in the strictest sense. During the years 1911 to 1940, the following cornerstones were laid by Masons in the Hawaiian Islands, acting in the capacity of Officers of the Grand Lodge of California: streets. October 21, 1911: Library of Hawaii, Likelike and King

Friday, October 22, 1925: Territorial Office Building, Honolulu Friday, March 25, 1927: M. M. Scott Memorial Auditorium of McKinley High School, Honolulu. Thursday, December 27, 1928: City and County Municipal Building, corner King, Punchbowl and Hotel streets, Honolulu. Tuesday, March 26, 1929: Kapiolani Maternity Home, Bingham and Punahou streets.
55

Monday, April 21, 1931: Maui Territorial Office Building, Island of Maui. Monday, June 14, 1937: Wailuku, Maui National Guard Armory, with Rollie W. Miller, Grand Master of California, acting in his official capacity. Saturday, May 4, 1940: School, Wailuku, Island of Maui. Henry Perrine Baldwin High

World War II began in Europe in September, 1939. Two years later came “the day of infamy” when the ruffians represented by hate, greed, and intolerance accosted the peaceful people of Hawaii on Sunday, December 7, 1941. The attack, by the Japanese, began shortly before eight o’clock in the morning, when most people were still abed. When nightfall came, and with it the full impact of the day’s events, martial law had been proclaimed. The army had taken over all the functions of civil government. A complete curfew was imposed between sunset and sunrise. “Blackout” orders were issued and stringently enforced. All public gatherings and meetings of more than twenty-five persons were entirely forbidden. It was not until early January, of 1942, that permission could be obtained from the Military Governor to hold Masonic meetings. Such meetings were finally permitted, but could be held in the daytime only as, to conform with curfew regulations, all persons had to be off the streets, and at home, by nightfall. On January 10, 1942, the Lodges of Honolulu held a joint installation ceremony during which the officers elected before the war were duly installed. For the first year and a half, while these conditions prevailed, the meetings were conducted after working hours in the afternoon so that the brethren could reach home before dark. While this imposed hardships on the brethren, they carried on and raised an average of 40 candidates per Lodge per year. In the early part of 1943, the curfew was extended to 10 P.M. which permitted an early evening meal with one’s family before opening Lodge for labor. This easing of regulations was greatly appreciated by the
56

overworked officers of the various Lodges, because it had some semblance of pre-war freedom. Once more, as during the days of the California gold rush and when the whaling industry thrived, the Islands of Hawaii assumed tremendous importance as a crossroads of the Pacific. During the war, several million persons were on duty throughout the Pacific theatre. Of these, probably two-thirds were funneled through the Pacific command stationed in Honolulu. A great number of these were brother Masons and it was no unusual event to examine one hundred visiting brethren before a Lodge meeting. This alone was a big task and required the assistance of every brother that could turn out for the meetings. As was the case on the mainland, and following the first World War, the Lodges had submitted to them a large number of applications for the degrees. This condition was aggravated by a flood of requests from other Grand Jurisdictions for courtesy degrees on members of the armed forces stationed or passing through Honolulu. These requests reached such proportions by 1943 that the Honolulu Lodges were forced to ask the Grand Lodge for relief by curbing the demands made upon them. This request was granted and the number of courtesy degrees was regulated by the District Inspector. Each Lodge was allowed to determine the amount of courtesy work it could accept. Although, as is indicated, the Lodges undertook and performed a prodigious amount of work they still found time to display some of the virtues of Freemasonry as taught by the craft. The Honolulu Lodges joined in forming and financing a social and recreational center for those brethren in the armed forces. A recreation and game room was set up in the banquet hall of the Masonic Temple which was open all day and almost every evening. Parties and dances were arranged for their entertainment, and it is estimated that probably ten thousand sojourning brothers took advantage of these facilities. In addition, the Lodges played host to a large number of visiting brethren at each of the special meetings at which degree work was done. We record here that the brethren of Hawaii not only undertook their responsibilities with credit to themselves and honor to the fraternity during these war years, but look back upon them
57

with gratitude for the many happy and pleasant memories which were invoked and which remain with them despite the drains made upon their time and energy. Each and every Lodge feels with justifiable pride that the brethren of Hawaii have earned an honorable and favorable place in the annals of Masonic history.

LODGE MAUI NO. 223 (NOW EXTINCT) The third Lodge to be formed in the Hawaiian Islands was that which subsequently became Maui No. 223, at Wailuku, on the Island of Maui. On July 10, 1872, a dispensation was granted by Grand Master Leonidas E. Pratt of the Grand Lodge of California. The following brethren were named in the petition: The Reverend George B. Whipple, Master; Daniel F. Sanford, Senior Warden; George Miller, Junior Warden; Eugene Bal, Treasurer; E. W. Tallant, Secretary; M. E. Newton, Senior Deacon; C. Farden, Junior Deacon; Samuel E. Ford, Tiler; James Anderson and Wesley Burnham, as members. The charter was granted by the Grand Lodge on October 18, 1873, and the Lodge was designated as Number 223 on the rolls. The membership of Maui Lodge was somewhat scattered, many of the brethren coming from a distance of twenty miles or more to attend meetings, which necessitated their absence overnight from their homes on distant plantations and ranches. After working in harmony for several years, until 1878, some of the brethren removed from the Island and, it being difficult to obtain the necessary officers from among the scattered membership, it was regretfully voted to surrender the charter. The affairs of the Lodge were creditably closed and its books, seal, and charter transferred to the Grand Secretary. All balances of dues were fully paid up and the cash balance forwarded to the Grand Lodge, whereupon Lodge Maui was declared extinct. Most of its remaining members immediately affiliated with Honolulu Lodges.
58

The cash balance forwarded to the Grand Lodge amounted to the sum of $417.10. Grand Lodge, at its annual communication in October, 1878, in reporting the demise of Maui Lodge No. 223, stated that this money should be donated to Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, at Honolulu, which Lodge “was sorely pressed to provide means for the assistance of the many destitute brethren who apply for aid at that distant and somewhat isolated locality.” The failure of Lodge Maui No. 223, as with some of the Lodges in the California gold fields, was probably caused, so far as we know now, by the unsettled condition of the times and the absence of a stable economy which was as yet underdeveloped in the islands. KILAUEA LODGE NO. 330 As the islands began to develop economically, a need began to be felt for Masonic intercourse on islands other than Oahu, where Masonry was flourishing in Honolulu. Accordingly, on the evening of Thursday, December 3, 1896, an informal meeting was held at the home of William Whitmore Goodale, at Papaikou, on the Island of Hawaii. The needs were discussed and it was decided to take the necessary steps towards obtaining a dispensation from the Grand Lodge of California, for a Masonic Lodge on the Island of Hawaii. On motion of Robert More, Wm W. Goodale was made Chairmain, and L. F. Turner, Secretary. After the object of the meeting was announced and recorded, it was decided the next step was to select a name for the proposed Lodge. On motion of Elmer E. Richards it was unanimously agreed that the name should be “Kilauea.” Next, Robert More was elected Master; Robert B. Williams, Senior Warden, Elmer E. Richards, Junior Warden. Robert More, a Past Master of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, O. B. Braddick of the same Lodge, and John T. Moir of St. John’s Lodge No. 65, of Stonehaven, Scotland, were appointed a committee to prepare the petition for a dispensation.
59

The application which these brothers prepared followed the usual form for such documents, was dated December 3, 1896, and concluded with a list of names of the petitioners, totaling sixteen in number. On December 26th, Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, through its Master, recommended to the Grand Master that the petition be granted. The District Inspector, Andrew Brown, certified that the officers chosen were fully competent to properly conduct the affairs of the Lodge. On February 4, 1897, the Grand Master of Masons in California, Thomas Flint, Jr., issued a dispensation to open and hold a Masonic Lodge to be called, “Kilauea Lodge, U. D., F. & A. M.” Following the issuance of the dispensation, the Lodge proceeded to elect its officers for the term of dispensation and the following brethren were named: Robert More, Master; Robert Baker Williams, Senior Warden; Elmer Ellsworth Richards, Junior Warden; Axel F. Linder, Treasurer; Lewis F. Turner, Secretary; Harold V. Patten, Senior Deacon; John T. Moir, Junior Deacon; Wm. E. Goodale, Marshal; John Fitzgerald, Senior Steward; Frederick W. Thrum, Junior Steward; William S. Bohm, Tiler. The Lodge, with a membership of 16, was granted its charter on October 15, 1897, and was constituted as Kilauea Lodge No. 330, F. & A. M. HONOLULU LODGE NO. 409 The first organizational meeting of this Lodge was held on the evening of April 9, 1895, at Honolulu, when it was decided by a group of Masons that another Lodge there was desirable in that city. On this date they addressed a petition for a dispensation to the Grand Master of the District Grand Lodge of Queensland. The leader in this movement was Henry E. Cooper, who had received a Bachelor of Laws degree at Boston University and his Masonic degrees in San Diego, California. Cooper was a man who had made an indelible mark upon the pages of Hawaiian history, not only as a leader in Masonry, but
60

as leader of men and a force for good in the community. He was intensely American and was one of young business men who were abreast of the times. The closing years of the nineteenth century found the Hawaiian Islands torn by conflicting ideas and factions. The monarchy had become decadent and the feeling was widespread that the time was ripe for a change in the form of government. The revolution of 1893 presented an opportunity for civic leadership which Cooper grasped. The men of that time have said that he was the only man who dared, on January 17, 1893, to prepare and read the proclamation which abrogated the monarchy and established a provisional democratic government in Hawaii. Had the revolution failed, Cooper would have been hanged as a traitor. Following the revolution, Cooper was called on to serve in numerous public offices. From 1893-95, he was Judge of the First Circuit Court of Hawaii; Minister of Foreign Affairs in 1895 and in 1899; Minister of Public Instruction 1896-1899; Acting President of the Republic of Hawaii during 1898; President of the Board of Health and Attorney General in 1899; Minister of Finance and the first Secretary of the Territory to be appointed by President William McKinley. At this first organization meeting, the name “Pacific” was adopted and a motion made and carried “that our color shall be blue.” Also, the following men were named as officers in the petition for a dispensation: Henry E. Cooper, Master; James A. King, Deputy Master; Clinton B. Ripley, Substitute Master; John T. Phillips, Senior Warden; Frank B. Auerback, Junior Warden; Charles L. Lodge, Senior Deacon; Edwin Hughes, Junior Deacon; Edward D. Tenney, Treasurer; Henry H. Williams, Secretary; Robert F. Lange, Chaplain; Henry Smith; Inner Guard; John M. Angus, Tiler. It further was decided that the initiation fee should be $60, and that the affiliation and charter fee be $10. All officers of the Lodge were required to wear full dress clothes at all meetings and all members would be required to wear gloves.

61

Early in June, the dispensation arrived, and on the evening of June 10, 1895, the petitioners met for the purpose of instituting Pacific Lodge U. D. under the authority of the District Grand Lodge of Queensland. Henry Cooper was deputized to conduct the institution proceedings which were held according to the ceremonies and laws of the Grand Lodge of Scotland. Cooper appointed John T. Phillips to install him as Master and then Cooper installed the other officers. Following the institution, the District Grand Lodge, having completed its labors, adjourned and the first stated meeting of Pacific Lodge U. D. followed, at which seven petitions were received and accepted. The first candidate raised to the sublime degree of Master Mason was William H. Hoogs, at a special meeting held on August 21, 1895. The Senior Deacon, Charles L. Dodge, died of cholera on September 7, 1895. The cholera epidemic delayed further degree work and it was not until the following spring that interest in Lodge work was renewed. During this period, Cooper was asked to serve as President of the Board of Health. The last meeting of the Pacific Lodge U. D., under the Grand Lodge of Queensland, was a special meeting held on October 23, 1895. A few days later the charter arrived and on October 31, 1895, the first meeting of Pacific Lodge No. 822, under the jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of Scotland, was held. It was a special meeting and Faxon Bishop was raised to the sublime degree of Master Mason. At the annual meeting and election of officers, held on December 8, 1895, Cooper was re-elected as Master, along with practically the same officers as served under dispensation. Alexander Mackintosh, Past Master of Hawaiian Lodge No. 21, was the installing officer. A gift of a gavel, made by Thomas Dick of Mare Island Navy Yard, out of an oaken timber from the U. S. S. Hartford, was presented to the Lodge on that occasion by E. Cedge. Pacific Lodge No. 822 labored conscientiously for nearly twenty-five years. In 1909, the members thought it advisable to conform with the actions of the other Lodges in Honolulu and
62

applied to the Grand Lodge of California for admission into its jurisdiction. On January 21, 1910, the Lodge received a dispensation from the Grand Lodge of California which was followed by a charter. However, the California jurisdiction numbered among its Lodges Pacific Lodge No. 136, in San Francisco, which had been a working Lodge since 1860. It therefore, was necessary to change the name of Pacific Lodge in Honolulu, and the charter was issued in the name of “Honolulu Lodge No. 409.” This Lodge, while actually being the third Masonic Lodge to be organized in the Hawaiian Islands, became the fourth Lodge to join the Grand Lodge of California and is so numbered among the Lodges. SCHOFIELD LODGE NO. 443 The Army Post at Schofield Barracks had grown considerably after the Islands became an American possession, and thousands of officers and troops were permanently quartered on the plains outside Wahiawa, Oahu, about twenty-five miles outside the City of Honolulu. Among the officers and enlisted men were many members of the Masonic Fraternity who found it very inconvenient to travel the distance to Honolulu to attend Lodge. In 1913, the Grand Lodge of California was petitioned for a charter. On December 8, 1913, a dispensation was granted to form a Lodge at Schofield, followed by a charter granted on October 15, 1914, officially founding Schofield Lodge No. 443, F. & A. M. The meetings were first held in the old village of Leilihua, but shortly thereafter moved onto the Post in a building constructed for its use. The first World War and the subsequent enlarging of the Post made these quarters inadequate. In 1932, a Masonic Temple was erected at the edge of the reservation, which is still being used by the Lodge.

63

LODGE MAUI NO. 472 Although the old Lodge Maui No. 223, under the California jurisdiction, was forced to surrender its charter because its limited membership were unable to adequately carry on the work, many Masons resided on the Island of Maui. They never gave up the idea of having their own Lodge. Time and hindsight have proved that the founding of the old extinct Maui Lodge No. 223 was premature. As the years passed, more Masons came to live and work on Maui Island and the need for a Lodge became increasingly apparent. Early in 1904, the Masonic fraternity on the Island of Maui was represented by fourteen members, among whom was a Hawaiian, Auwai Noa Kepoikai. These Masons were affiliated with some eight or ten different Lodges, under various Grand jurisdictions. On the evening of May 25, 1904, the brethren were invited to the home of Doctor and Mrs. Dinegar for what proved to be a banquet and to discuss the feasibility of organizing a Masonic Lodge. Before the banquet, there may have been some minor differences as to the timeliness of organizing a Lodge on Maui, bus such differences rapidly disappeared as the evening progressed. Before the evening was over, and assuming that a dispensation would be forthcoming from some source, they proceeded to choose officers and appoint committees to investigate and make reports upon location, Lodge home, furniture, jewels, etc. While those who were instrumental in the organization of Lodge Maui were familiar with Masonic degree work in general, not one of the proposed officers knew the ritual well enough to confer a degree or to open or close Lodge. Instruction in Masonic law and the ritual were, therefore, imperative. An appeal was made to John Kidwell, Past Master of Pacific Lodge No. 822 (now Honolulu Lodge No. 409), and, splendid Mason that he was, he willingly laid aside his personal and business interests at home, came to Maui, and gave his undivided time and attention as instructor for approximately six weeks.

64

As a temporary meeting place, Kepoikai generously tendered his beach place at Kahulus, known as “The Fisheries,” and here the brethren, under the leadership of Kidwell, spent every weekday night and Sunday afternoon for six weeks and more, perfecting themselves in Masonic work. It was at “The Fisheries,” on Sunday, August 7, 1904, that the name, “Lodge Maui,” was chosen. Lodge furniture, regalia, clothing and jewels were selected and their purchase authorized. A decision was then made in favor applying to the Grand Lodge of Scotland for a dispensation. Here also, each brother who intended becoming a charter member of the proposed Lodge pledge the sum of $75 toward meeting expenses incident to launching the new venture. The Knights of Pythias Hall in Wailuku had been secured as a meeting place. Thursday, September 22, 1904, was a memorable day in the history of Lodge Maui. The expected dispensation from the Grand Lodge of Scotland had arrived and Henry E. Cooper, of Honolulu, as Acting District Grand Master for the Territory of Hawaii, and other prominent Masons delegated to assist him, were present for the purpose of consecrating the new Lodge and installing those who were to serve as officers for the first year. The first stated meeting of Lodge Maui No. 984 was held on September 24, 1904, at which four petitions for membership were received, read, and referred to proper committees. Also, the bylaws were considered and adopted. Work, for Lodge Maui, really began in earnest. At the very next meeting, held on the 4th of October, there was presented and referred to committees twenty-one applications for membership! Almost all of these received favorable consideration. Several of the petitioners are still living, each of whom has rendered valuable and faithful service to the fraternity. Meetings followed in rapid succession, not only during the remainder of 1904, but throughout the year 1905. Rarely was a stated meeting held that at least one application or more were received. The conferring of degrees became the principal order of business rather than the special business of the Lodge.

65

In the month of April, 1905, a resolution was introduced, and supported by a large number of members, petitioning the Grand Lodge of Scotland for permission to change the permanent place of meeting from Wailuku to Kahului; the actual removal, however, not to take place until a suitable place had been acquired and a Temple built. Before 1905 had ended, Lodge Maui was called upon to perform funeral services for two brothers: Percy Aiken and W. P. L. Bett. In 1906, Lodge Maui continued to lay the foundation for a well organized and healthy Lodge. Provision was made and there was elected a Board of six Trustees, designated to hold and manage the Lodge property other than the general funds of the Lodge. On April 28, 1906, the cornerstone of the present Temple at Kahului was laid. Lodge was first opened in the temporary quarters in Wailuku, whereupon the officers and members adjourned to Kahului where the ceremonies of laying the cornerstone took place. In this ceremony, Henry E. Cooper, acting as District Grand Master, along with Joshua D. Tucker and other Masons of Honolulu, joined with the members of Lodge Maui in the ceremonies, which were public. A program of music and addresses followed. In October, a deed from the owners of the property was formally delivered to the board of trustees, covering the land upon which the Temple was erected. The deed was in the nature of a perpetual lease, good so long as the property is used for Masonic purposes. By November 10, 1906, the building was ready for occupancy and, on that date, with much ceremony the dedication was held, which was according to the ritual of the Grand Lodge of California. Bishop Restarick, of Honolulu, delivered an address on the history and aims of Masonry. The building has been used as a Masonic Hall by the brethren of Lodge Maui ever since. As the years passed, the fraternal ties between the Grand Lodge of Scotland and Lodge Maui were of a character that left a train of pleasant memories. However, it became increasingly evident that the Lodges of the Hawaiian Islands would be the better
66

to display the beauties of Freemasonry were they united under one Grand Lodge. It was this thought that actuated the members of Lodge Maui to decide upon a change of jurisdiction. Among the thousands of visitors coming each year to the sunny shores of Hawaii, there came in the spring 1918, Judge William Rhodes Hervey, Grand Master of Masons in California. It was the privilege of Lodge Maui to entertain him while he was within its jurisdiction. Hervey was too well grounded in Masonry and too courteous to so much as suggest the subject of a change in jurisdiction, but to those of the local fraternity the hour seemed to have arrived when some definite step might very properly be taken toward the change which had been under consideration for so long a time. Inspiring and instructive talks were given by Judge Hervey on a number of occasions, some of which were made in public. Upon his departure, Judge Hervey was declared to be an honorary member of Lodge Maui and was commissioned by the Lodge to use his influence and efforts in having the Grand Lodge of California favorably consider the proposed petition for a change of jurisdiction. On the 22nd of July, 1918, a resolution was introduced and unanimously adopted by the Lodge, ordering a petition to be presented to the Grand Lodge of California at its next annual communication, praying that the Grand Lodge receive Lodge Maui into its obedience and that a charter be granted. This petition briefly set forth what had been accomplished by the brethren of Lodge Maui following its formation under the guidance of the Grand Lodge of Scotland. At the same time, the Grand Lodge of Scotland was asked to relinquish its jurisdiction. In due time, the following telegram was received: “Edinburgh, Scotland, October 1, 1918. Grand Lodge Scotland approved transfer jurisdiction Lodge Maui. “Reid, Secretary.” A letter, which followed, courteously offered upon receipt of the original charter, to make proper endorsements thereon and to return this charter to Lodge Maui as a memento of past pleasant relations. Needless to say, the Lodge availed itself of this kind and gracious offer.
67

The last meeting of Lodge Maui No. 984, under the Grand Lodge of Scotland, was held on December 7, 1918. Frank W. P. Peacock presided as Master. One week later, there was held the first meeting of Lodge Maui No. 472 under jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of California. James Fenton Fenwick opened Lodge as Acting Grand Master. The new charter was read at length. Peacock was formally declared to be Master, and the other officers of the Lodge assumed their respective stations. The usual routine of the business of Lodge Maui No. 472 proceeded and they have creditably worked at Masonry for the common good ever since. The old Lodge Maui began its labors in 1872 as the third organized Masonic body in the Islands and, had it been able to continue working without lapse, would have held one of the earliest numbers, as well as the distinction of being third. Lodge Maui became the sixth Lodge in the Islands to join the California Grand Lodge. KAUAI LODGE NO. 589 The first meeting of record of Freemasons on the Island of Kauai was held at the residence of E. Strehz, Postmaster of Koloa, at Koloa, on December 27, 1886, at which six Masons were present. Of these six, one was a merchant, one a sea captain, one a plantation manager, two were school administrators, in addition to the Postmaster, Strehz, already mentioned. Three meetings were held at intervals down through the years, the last one on record being held at the Waimea Public Hall on December 17, 1921. At this meeting, it was proposed to form a Masonic Club to further the interests of Masonry on Kauai. Committees were formed for the purpose and within six months the club took shape. From its inception on June 10, 1922, the Masonic Club of Kauai was received with enthusiasm by the brethren of Kauai and became the stepping stone which led to the establishment of Kauai Lodge U. D., a little less than three years later. On that June 10th, J. H. Coney called a meeting at the Tip Top Building where a delightful banquet was served. The brethren
68

listened to a very interesting Masonic talk by Walter Coombs, of Honolulu. The advisability of forming a Lodge on Kauai was discussed and, with Coombs acting as Chairman, it was decided that the first step should be the regular organization of the Masonic Club. This was done and a set of officers were elected. Meetings of the club were held regularly and, by letter dated March 20, 924, the members of this Club petitioned Arthur S. Crites, Grand Master of Masons in California, for a dispensation to open a regular Lodge at the town of Lihue, to be called “Kauai Lodge.” On Friday, May 16, 1924, a group of thirteen Masons, including Grand Master Crites, the Grand Standard Bearer, Lester Petrie, and the Grand Organist, George H. Taylor, arrived at Ahukini, bringing with them a dispensation for Kauai Lodge U. D., F. & A. M. That evening, the first officers of Kauai Lodge U. D. were regularly installed, with William R. Hobby as Master. A charter was granted at the annual communication of the Grand Lodge on October 16, 1924, empowering Kauai Lodge No. 589 to work at Masonry. With that charter, it became the westernmost Lodge of Freemasons on American territory. Of its original twenty-five charter members, sixteen different Lodges belonging to eleven jurisdictions were represented. PEARL HARBOR LODGE NO. 598
addition to Kauai Lodge No. 589, Pearl Harbor Lodge came into being.

The year 1924 is significant to Hawaii in that it saw the regular establishment of two Masonic Lodges, for in that year, in

On May 1, 1924, there was held the first meeting of what later became known as the Naval Masonic Association which had as its objective the establishment of a service Lodge in Honolulu to meet a decided need of men in the naval and civil service attached to the Pearl Harbor Navy Yard. After the close of World War I, the reaction against anything military was such that it was most difficult for a member of the naval or civil service to gain membership in one of the Honolulu Lodges. Grand Master Arthur H. Crites, of the California Jurisdiction, who was making his official visit to the Islands, attended a meeting on May 14, 1924, at which the subject of a naval Lodge was discussed. His
69

words of approval and encouragement were such as to strengthen the determination of this small group of masons to further pursue the matter. These men represented Lodges covering half the earth. After months of careful planning, a request for a dispensation was forwarded to the Grand Lodge of California, which contained the names of those who were to become charter members. Their request for a dispensation was acted upon favorably and, on the evening of September 25, 1924, Lester Petri, Inspector of the 88th Masonic District assembled the petitioners and instituted “Navy Lodge U. D.”, and installed its first officers. They were: Fred J. Master, P.M., Master; George W. Bigler, Senior Warden; Henry J. Mulhall, Junior Warden; Albert Blatt, Secretary; Fred G. W. Cooper, Treasurer; William Steward, Chaplain; Harry W. Smith, Senior Deacon; Walter E. Thorton, Junior Deacon; Nathan T. Russell, Marshal; Duncan S. Ellis, Senior Steward; Arthur Townsend, Junior Steward; William T. Hart, Tiler. At the annual communication of the Grand Lodge in October, a charter was issued in the name of “Pearl Harbor Lodge No. 598, F. & A. M.” It is presumed that the name selected by the brethren, “Navy Lodge,” was too closely associated with that of Naval Lodge No. 87, at Vallejo, or that it might lead to a supposition that it was under direction of the Navy. On December 15, 1924, the Lodge was constituted at the Scottish Rite Cathedral in Honolulu with Lester Petrie acting as Grand Master. The growth of Pearl Harbor Lodge No. 598 may well be likened to that of an oak tree, which, during its first years of life, builds a strong root system in order that the tree when grown to maturity may withstand the strong winds and storms of life. Although this Lodge is the eighth and latest Lodge to be formed in the Hawaiian Islands, it has grown at the time of writing to be the second largest Lodge, in point of membership, being exceeded only by the Lodge Le Progres de l’Oceanie No. 371. The strength and health of this Lodge is due in large measure to the efforts of Frederick G. W. Cooper, the first Treasurer of the Lodge and its real “father” who did much to bring it into being and who was known to all as “Dad” Cooper. It was he who stood firm when others, tired of opposing winds, faltered. It was his faith that brought the dream of a service Lodge to fruition. Cooper was raised in Union Lodge No. 280 of London, Ontario, in 1882. On July 13, 1932, he was presented with a gold button by the Grand Lodge of California, to commemorate fifty years of service to Freemasonry. On July 6, 1935, he passed on to that “Supreme Lodge, from whose bourne no traveler returns.”
70

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful