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KPIs HANDBOOK

STEP 1 STEP 2 STEP 3 STEP 4 STEP 5 STEP 6 STEP 7 STEP 8

Understand the Apply formula Result Compare with Industry Risk assessment
Set KPIs Goals Gather the data
meaning of the for calculation interpretation last period and comparison and action plan
and objectices
ratio budget

PROFITABILITY KPIs EFICIENCY KPIs


Provides insights into a company's ability to generate operating Average account
EBITDA MARGIN EBITDA / DAYS SALES Measures of how long it takes for a company to collect its
profits from its core operations, excluding the impact of accounts receivable (sales made on credit) from customers. receivables /
financing decisions, tax regulations, and non-cash expenses. Revenues OUTSTANDING Revenues * 365
Measures the profitability of core operations by examining the Evaluates the average number of days it takes for a company to sell Average
GROSS PROFIT Gross profit / DAYS INVENTORY its entire inventory. It is also known as "Days Sales of Inventory"
proportion of revenue remaining after deducting the direct
(DSI). DIO is essential for assessing how efficiently a company inventories / COGS
MARGIN costs associated with producing or delivering goods or services. Revenues OUTSTANDING * 365
manages its inventory.

Measures a company's overall operations by examining the Metric used to measure the average number of days it takes a Average account
NET PROFIT Net profit / DAYS PAYABLE company to pay its accounts payable (the amount the company
proportion of revenue remaining after deducting all expenses, payables / COGS *
MARGIN including COGS and indirect costs (operating expenses, taxes, etc.) Revenues OUTSTANDING owes to its suppliers and vendors for goods and services purchased
on credit) 365
Measures the profitability and efficiency of a company in Measure the time it takes for a company to convert its
RETURN ON Net profit / CCC DAYS investments into cash inflows from sales. It helps assess the DSO+DIO-DPO
generating profits from its shareholders' equity. It indicates the
EQUITY return earned by shareholders on their investment in the company Equity efficiency of a company's working capital.

RETURN ON Measures the profitability and efficiency of a company in Net profit / (Equity + ASSETS Measures a company's efficiency in generating sales revenue Revenues /
generating returns from both its equity and debt capital. relative to its total assets. It helps investors and analysts assess
CAPITAL EMPLOYED Long term debt) TURNOVER how effectively a company utilizes its assets to generate sales. Average assets

FIXED ASSETS Revenues /


RETURN ON Measures the profitability and efficiency of a company in Net profit / Total Measures the same as asset turnover just related to fixed assets.
generating profits from its total assets. It indicates how TURNOVER Average fixed
ASSETS effectively a company utilizes its assets to generate earnings. assets assets
A higher revenue per employee indicates that employees are EBITDA TO Assess a company's ability to cover its interest expenses with
EBITDA / Interest
REVENUE PER Revenues / EBITDA. It helps investors, creditors, and analysts evaluate a
generating more revenue for the company, which suggests INTEREST company's financial health and its capacity to meet its interest expenses
EMPLOYEE higher efficiency and effectiveness in utilizing human resources. Employee number COVERAGE obligations.
Indicates how effectively the company's employees contribute to TOTAL COST PER Measures the average cost incurred by a company for each of its
EBITDA PER generating operating profits before accounting for financing
EBITDA / Employee employees over a specific period. It provides valuable insights into
Total costs /
EMPLOYEE decisions, tax regulations, and non-cash expenses number EMPLOYEE the company's workforce management and operational efficiency. Employee number
Measures the average overhead expenses incurred by a company
NET PROFIT PER Net profit per employee reflects the efficiency and productivity Net profit/ OVERHEAD COSTS for each of its employees. Overhead costs are indirect costs that Overhead costs /
of a company's workforce in generating profits. PER EMPLOYEE are not directly attributable to a specific product but are necessary Employee number
EMPLOYEE Employee number
for the overall functioning of the business.

LIQUIDITY KPIs FINANCIAL STRUCTURE KPIs


It represents the amount of capital available to fund a company's Account receivable Equity ratio compares the company's total equity to its total
NET WORKING day-to-day operations. A positive NWC indicates that a company
+ Inventories – EQUITY RATIO assets, expressing the proportion of assets funded by equity and Equity / (Total Equity
CAPITAL has sufficient current to cover its short-term obligations. indicating the company's financial leverage and stability. and Liabilities)
Account payable
CURRENT ASSETS – Measures the absolute amount of surplus of liquid assets that Debt ratio assesses the proportion of a company's total debt
Current assets - DEBT RATIO Debt / (Total Equity
CURRENT can be used for payment of coming liabilities. Still high amount relative to its total assets, providing insight into the company's
LIABILITIES means the company does not apply right investment policy. current liabilities financial risk and dependency on debt financing. and Liabilities)

The current ratio measures a company's ability to cover its short- Current assets / INTEREST EXPENSE Measures the cost of borrowing funds from lenders or financial Interest expense /
CURRENT RATIO term liabilities with its short-term assets. Benchmark: 1 up to 3. institutions. It represents the interest that a borrower pays on
current liabilities IN LOANS the principal amount of a loan over a specific period. Loan amount

The quick ratio (also known as the acid-test ratio) evaluates a (Current assets – Measures structure of gross profit. Higher share of COGS in
QUICK RATIO company's ability to meet short-term obligations using its most TOTAL COGS IN COGS / Revenue
inventories) / Revenue means the gross profit is lower.
liquid assets. Benchmark: at least 1 REVENUE
current liabilities
Measures how much current liabilities can be paid by cash at the Cash / current Measures structure of gross profit. Higher share of variable
CASH RATIO VARIABLE COGS COGS in Revenue means the gross profit is lower, but breakeven Variable COGS /
moment of consideration, without need to convert receivables
or inventories to cash firstly. liabilities IN REVENUE point is lower too. Revenue x 100

WORKING Measures the relationship between a company's net working (Current assets – Measures structure of gross profit. Higher fixed costs indicate
FIXED COGS IN Fixed COGS /
CAPITAL capital and its total assets. current liabilities) / higher breakeven point.
REVENUE Revenue x 100
TURNOVER Total assets

CASH KPIs INVESTOR / VALUATION KPIs


Market price per
OPERATING CASH Cash generated/spent in company's core business activities, (Net Income + D&A – PRICE-TO- Measures the relationship between a company’s stock price and
share / Earnings
excluding financing and investing activities. its earnings per share (EPS)
FLOW NWC increase EARNINGS (P/E) per share
Market capitalization
FREE CASH Cash you can use for new investments, dividends or debt PRICE-TO-SALES Measure the relationship between a company’s value and its
repayments. To be more precise, this is cash available after FCF = OCF + CFI revenues or Valuation / Total
FLOW operating expenses and investments are covered (P/S) RATIO revenue
CASH Average number of days between moment of paying for PRICE-TO-BOOK
liabilities and moment of collecting receivables
Measure the relationship between a company’s stock price and Market capitalization
CONVERSION DSO + DIO + DPO (P/B) RATIO its book value per share
/ Book value
CYCLE

FREE CASH FLOW Percentage of sales available for new investments, dividend or ENTERPRISE Measure the relationship between a company’s enterprise value EV/EBITDA ratio =
debt repayments, after covering operating expenses and FCF/Sales and its EBITDA.
RATE VALUE-TO-EBITDA Enterprise value /
investments.
EBITDA
FREE CASH FLOW Ratio which shows you how well you are capable of converting PRICE-TO-CASH It is a measure of how much investors are willing to pay for each Market capitalization
profit into cash flow FCF/Net Income dollar of cash flow generated by the company. / Cash flow from
REALIZATION FLOW (P/CF) RATIO
operations
CASH RATIO With how many dollars of cash you cover each dollar of Cash/Total Dividend yield is a financial ratio that represents the percentage Annual dividend per
liabilities? DIVIDEND YIELD of a company’s stock price that is paid out in the form of
liabilities dividends. share / Stock price

Bojan Radojicic Bojanfin.com Repost


Repost
50 SALES PER SQUARE
FOOT
KPIs FOR 10
INDUSTRIES
INVENTORY
TURNOVER
GROSS MARGIN ON
INVESTMENT
RETURN ON EQUITY
BY BOJAN RADOJICIC

CONVERSION RATE
RETAIL

Efficiency of the retail space Return on investment for the


Tracks how quickly inventory Assesses the profit return Percentage of visitors to a
in generating revenue, shareholders, indicating how
is sold and replaced over a on the money invested in store or website who make a
indicating how well the retail effectively the company uses equity
specific period inventory purchase
space is utilized investments to generate profit
SOFTWARE

MONTHLY RECURRING CUSTOMER CUSTOMER LIFETIME LEAD-TO-CUSTOMER


CHURN RATE
REVENUE ACQUISITION COST VALUE CR
SAAS

Tracks the total predictable Measures the rate at which Calculates the average Estimates the total revenue a Efficiency of the sales funnel by
revenue generated by the customers cancel their cost incurred to acquire a business can expect from a tracking the percentage of leads
business every month subscriptions, new customer single customer account that become paying customers
throughout their relationship
MANUFAC-

OVERALL EQUIPMENT
CYCLE TIME SCRAP RATE ON-TIME DELIVERY GROSS PROFIT
EFFECTIVENESS
TURE

Effectiveness of manufacturing Tracks the time required Measures the percentage of Tracks the percentage of Measures how much profit
equipment by combining to complete a production materials wasted or scrapped products delivered to stays after substracing cost
metrics for availability, process from start to finish during the manufacturing customers on time of produced goods from
performance, and capacity process revenue from sales
CONSULTING

BILLABLE UTILIZATION CLIENT RETENTION AVERAGE REVENUE EMPLOYEE TURNOVER


PROJECT MARGIN
RATE RATE PER CLIENT RATE

Measures the percentage Tracks the percentage of Calculates the average Assesses the profitability of Measures the rate at which
of time consultants spend clients who remain with the revenue generated from individual projects by employees leave the firm
on billable work versus firm over a given period each client comparing revenue generated
non-billable activities, to the costs incurred

AVERAGE RENT PER GROSS RENT CASH ON CASH


OCCUPANCY RATE CAPITALIZATION RATE
SQUARE FOOT MULTIPLIER RETURN
ESTATE
REAL

Measures the percentage of Calculates the average Return on investment for a Evaluates the value of a Measures the cash income
properties or units that are rental income received per property by comparing the net property in relation to its earned on the cash
rented out versus the total square foot operating income to the gross rental income invested in a property
available property's current market value.
CREATORS HEALTHCARE

PATIENT AVERAGE LENGTH OF STAFF-TO-PATIENT MEDICAL ERROR


READMISSION RATES
SATISFACTION SCORES STAY RATIO RATES

Level of satisfaction reported Calculates the average Measures the number of Track the frequency of Track the percentage of
by patients, reflecting the duration of a patient's stay healthcare staff members errors in medical patients who are readmitted
quality of care and patient in the hospital available per patient treatment or medication to the hospital within a
experience specific period after discharge

AUDIENCE GROWTH REVENUE PER


ENGAGEMENT RATE CONTENT REACH CONVERSION RATE
RATE CONTENT PIECE

Rate at which the creator's Calculates the level of Tracks the number of Measures the percentage of Calculates the earnings
follower base is growing audience interaction with unique viewers or readers audience members who generated per content
on various platforms the creator's content that the content reaches take a desired action item
AUTOMOTIVE

CUSTOMER AVERAGE TIME TO


PRODUCTION VOLUME VEHICLE DEFECT RATE EBITDA
SATISFACTION INDEX MARKET

Measures the total Calculates the percentage Assesses buyer satisfaction Measures the average Measures a company’s
number of vehicles of vehicles with defects or with their vehicle and the duration from vehicle operating performance by
produced within a specific requiring recalls purchasing experience design to launch calculating its revenue
period minus expenses

DAYS SALES DAYS PAYABLE INVENTORY


AGRICULTURE WHOLESALE

GROSS MARGIN FREE CASH FLOW


OUTSTANDING OUTSTANDING TURNOVER

Average number of days it Average number of days a Tracks how frequently Percentage of total sales revenue The amount a cash that
takes for a company to company takes to pay its inventory is sold and replaced that the company retains after company make after
collect payment after a bills and invoices over a specific period incurring the direct costs associated capital exepnitures
sale with producing the goods it sells

FARM LABOR
YIELD PER ACRE CROP PROFITABILITY NET PROFIT MARGIN SOIL HEALTH
PRODUCTIVITY

Measures the amount of crop Calculates the profit Assesses the percentage of Assesses the condition and Measures the output per
produced per acre of farmland generated from each type of revenue that remains as fertility of soil labor hour or employee
crop profit after deducting all
costs and expenses

Bojan Radojicic Bojanfin.com Repost


21 PRICE-TO-EARNINGS RATIO
INVESTMENT
INDICATOR
EARNINGS PER SHARE RETURN ON EQUITY

A measure of a company's current share The portion of a company's profit allocated Measures a corporation's profitability by
price relative to its per-share earnings, to each outstanding share of common revealing how much profit a company
indicating how much investors are willing to stock, indicating profitability on a per-share generates with the money shareholders
pay per dollar of earnings. basis. have invested.

DIVIDEND YIELD BETA MARKET CAPITALIZATION

A financial ratio that shows how much a Measures the volatility of an investment The total market value of a company's
company pays out in dividends each year relative to the market, with a beta above 1 outstanding shares of stock, used to
relative to its stock price, indicating the indicating more volatility than the market determine the company's size.
income generated from an investment. and below 1 indicating less.

DEBT-TO-EQUITY RATIO PRICE-TO-BOOK RATIO OPERATING MARGIN

Indicates the relative proportion of


Compares a company's market value A margin ratio used to measure a
shareholders' equity and debt used to
to its book value, indicating if a stock company's pricing strategy and
finance a company's assets, assessing
is undervalued or overvalued. operating efficiency.
financial leverage.

FREE CASH FLOW QUICK RATIO ASSET TURNOVER RATIO


A measure of financial performance
calculated as operating cash flow minus Measures a company’s ability to meet its The ratio of the value of a company’s sales
capital expenditures, indicating the cash a short-term obligations with its most liquid or revenues generated relative to the value
assets. of its assets.
company generates after accounting for
cash outflows.

GROSS PROFIT MARGIN INTEREST COVERAGE RATIO ROA

The proportion of money left over from An indicator of how profitable a company is
A measure of a company's ability to meet its relative to its total assets, measuring how
revenues after accounting for the cost of
interest payments. efficient management is at using its assets to
goods sold.
generate earnings.

VOLATILITY ALPHA PRICE-TO-SALES RATIO

Indicates the price variability of an asset A measure of an investment's performance


on a risk-adjusted basis relative to a A valuation ratio that compares a
over time, with higher volatility indicating
benchmark index company’s stock price to its revenues.
greater risk.

CASH FLOW PER SHARE BOOK VALUE PER SHARE PEG RATIO

The amount of cash a company generates The equity available to common A stock's P/E ratio divided by the growth
and distributes to shareholders on a per- shareholders divided by the number of rate of its earnings, providing a more
share basis. outstanding shares. complete picture than the P/E ratio alone.

Bojan Radojicic Bojanfin.com Repost


EBITDA NET FREE CASH
VS PROFIT
VS FLOW
MARGIN
MARGIN MARGIN

WHAT DOES EACH RATIO MEASURES?

Provides insights into a company's Measures a company's overall Shows the percentage of free cash
ability to generate operating operations by examining the flow (FCF) relative to sales
profits from its core operations, proportion of revenue remaining after (revenue). It indicates how
excluding the impact of financing deducting all expenses, including efficiently a company converts its
decisions, tax regulations, and non- COGS and indirect costs (operating sales to free cash after accounting
cash expenses. expenses, taxes, interest, etc.) for all operating expenses and
capital expenditures.

FORMULAS

EBITDA NET INCOME FREE CASH FLOW


X 100 X 100 X 100
REVENUES FROM SALES REVENUES FROM SALES REVENUES FROM SALES

PROS

Get a sense of a company's


Incorporates all expenses, Measures how effectively a
operational profitability
including operational, company converts its sales
without the impact of
financial, and tax-related costs into actual free cash.
financing, taxes, and non-cash
items.
Give a complete picture of Insight into its cash generating
profitability. ability.
Provides a way to compare the
operational profitability of
Widely used profitability Indicates the cash available for
companies across different tax
metrics. dividends, debt repayment,
jurisdictions and capital
and reinvestment.
structures.

CONS

By ignoring interest, taxes, Can be significantly affected


depreciation, it can paint an Items like one-off gains or by capital expenditure
overly optimistic picture, losses, changes in tax laws, or decisions, which can vary
especially for capital-intensive restructuring costs can distort greatly year-to-year.
businesses. the net profit margin.
Requires a deeper
Companies with a lot of debt Different financing structures understanding of the
or significant capital and tax jurisdictions can make company’s cash flow
expenditures might appear comparisons between statement, especially
healthier than they really are. companies trickier. discerning between
operational cash flows and
capital expenditures.

Bojan Radojicic Bojanfin.com Repost


ROCE VS ROE VS ROA VS ROIC
BY BOJAN RADOJICIC

WHAT DOES EACH RATIO MEASURES?

Measures the profitability Measures the profitability Measures the profitability


and efficiency of a and efficiency of a and efficiency of a
company in generating company in generating company in generating
returns from both its profits from its profits from its total assets.
equity and debt capital. shareholders' equity. It It indicates how effectively
indicates the return earned a company utilizes its
by shareholders on their assets to generate
investment in the company earnings.

FORMULAS

NET OPERATING PROFIT


(SALES – COGS) CON NET INCOME AFTER TAX
X 100

SALES SALES SALES EQUITY + LONG TERM DEBT


- CASH

WHEN IS EACH SUITABLE FOR APPLY?

Most suitable when


comparing the Most useful for comparing
performance of companies Best used for companies companies in the same
in capital-intensive sectors, where equity financing is industry. Different
like manufacturing or dominant, making it ideal industries use assets
utilities, where large for sectors like services, differently. Good for use
investments in assets are finance or IT. when compare the results
common and where vs. last year or vs. budget.
investments are finance Good for real estate
from loans. companies.

WHO USES THESE RATIOS MOST?

Used by investors and Preferred by shareholders Widely used by


analysts when assessing and equity analysts to see management teams and
companies in sectors how well their investments operations analysts to
where the capital are performing in terms of determine if the
employed is a key net income generation. company's assets are
determinant of success. being deployed efficiently.

Bojan Radojicic Bojanfin.com Repost


FINANCIAL BY BOJAN RADOJICIC

HEALTH SCORECARD
CAPITAL EFFICIENCY
Total Score Re t u rn on Invested Capital 10%
< 8%

69%
8 % t o 1 2% 2
> 12%

Re t u rn on Assets 7%
< 5% 1
5% to 9%
> 9%
Re t u rn on Equ ity 15%
OPERATIONAL MARGINS < 12%
1 2 % t o 1 7%
EFFICIENCY > 17% 3
M A R GINS B E NCHMARK SC O RE
O PE RATIONAL EFFICEINCY B E NCHMARK SC O RE Re t u rn on Capital Employed 12%
Gross P rofit Margin 45% < 10%
Da ys Sales O utstanding 60 < 40% 1 0 % t o 1 4% 2
< 50 4 0 % t o 5 0% > 14%
5 0 t o 70 2 > 50% 3
> 70

Da ys P ayables Ou tstan ding 40


E BITDA Margin 20% SOLVENCY
< 17%
< 35 1 F I N ANCI AL HEALTH B E NCHMARK SC O RE
3 5 t o 45 1 7 % t o 2 3%
> 45 > 23% 3
De bt Rat io 45%
> 55%
Da ys In ventory Ou tstan ding 50 O pe rating Margin 15% 3 5 % t o 5 5% 2
< 40 1 < 13% < 35%
4 0 t o 60 1 3 % t o 1 7%
> 60 > 17% 3 A s sets t o Equity 5
> 6.5
A s set T urnover 2 P re -Tax P rofit Margin 12% 3 . 5 t o 6.5 2
< 1.7 < 10% < 3.5
1 . 7 t o 2.3 2 1 0 % t o 1 4% 2
> 2.3 > 14% Lon g-term Debt t o Assets 25%
> 30% 1
Fixe d Asset Turnover 4 2 0 % t o 3 0%
N e t Profit Margin 10%
< 2.5 < 20%
< 8%
2 . 5 t o 5.5 2
8 % t o 1 2% 2
> 5.5 In t an gibles t o T otal Assets 15%
> 12%
> 20%
C a pEx t o OCF 15% 1 0 % t o 2 0% 2
> 18% Fre e Cash Flow M argin 9%
< 10%
1 2 % t o 1 8% 2 < 7%
< 12 % 7 % t o 1 1% Goodwill / A ssets 10%
> 11% 3 > 15%
C a pEx t o Reven ue 10% 5 % t o 1 5% 2
> 12% O C F / Sales 14% < 5%
8 % t o 1 2% < 10%
<8% 3 1 0 % t o 1 6% 2 De bt / Equity 100%
> 14% > 120%
LIQUIDITY 8 0 % t o 1 20% 2
O C F / Net Income 150% < 80%
C u rrent Ratio 2
< 120%
< 1.5 Lon g-Term Debt / Equity 30%
1 2 0 % t o 1 80%
1 . 5 t o 2.5 2 > 40%
> 180% 3
> 1.5 2 0 % t o 4 0% 2
< 40%
Q u ick Rat io 1 FC F / Net Income 120%
< 0.8 1 < 100%
N e t Debt / EBITDA 120%
0 . 8 t o 1.2 1 0 0 % t o 1 40% 2
> 140%
> 1.2 > 140%
1 0 0 % t o 1 40% 2
< 100%
C a sh Ratio 0.25 FC F / EBIT 130%
< 0.2 1 < 110% E BITDA / Interest Expense 10
0 . 2 t o 0.3 1 1 0 % t o 1 40% 2 <5 1
> 0.3 > 140% 5 to 15
> 15

Bojan Radojicic Bojanfin.com Repost


NET FREE CASH
EBITDA VS INCOME
VS FLOW
DEFINITION & PURPOSE
A measure of a company's overall financial The cash a company generates after accounting
The total profit of a company after all expenses,
performance and is used as an alternative to for cash outflows to support operations and
including taxes and interest, have been
simple earnings or net income. The purpose maintain capital assets. The purpose is to To
deducted from revenue. The purpose is to
is to provide a clear view of the operational understand how much cash is available for
gauge the overall profitability of a company,
profitability of a company, excluding the reinvestment in the business, debt reduction,
including all its expenses.
effects of financial and accounting decisions dividend payments, or other uses.

CALCULATION

NET INCOME + DEPRECIATION + NET INCOME + DEPRECIATION +


TOTAL REVENUES - TOTAL EXPENSES
-
AMORTIZATION + INTEREST + AMORTIZATION +/- CHANGES IN NWC

TAX CAPEX

KEY RATIOS
EBITDA margin -insights into a company's Net margin - Measures a company's overall operations FCF rate - Percentage of sales available for new
ability to generate operating profits from its by examining the proportion of revenue remaining investments, dividend or debt repayments, after
core operations, excluding the impact of after deducting all expenses, including COGS and covering operating expenses and investments.
financing decisions, tax regulations, and indirect costs FCF Realization - shows you how well you are
non-cash expenses. Return on Equity - Measures the profitability and capable of converting profit into cash flow
efficiency of a company in generating profits from its
shareholders' equity

APPLICABILITY
Useful for comparing companies within Applicable for overall profitability analysis Vital for assessing the liquidity and financial
the same industry and for companies with and is crucial for investors and stakeholders. flexibility of a company, especially for
significant debts or tax structures. investors and creditors.

ADVENTAGES
Get a sense of a company's Incorporates all expenses, including Measures how effectively a company
operational profitability without the operational, financial, and tax-related converts its sales into actual free cash.
impact of financing, taxes, and non- costs
cash items. Helpful in evaluating a company's
Give a complete picture of ability to generate cash and manage its
Provides a way to compare the profitability, Widely used in earnings capital structure.
operational profitability of companies reports and is a key determinant of a
across different tax jurisdictions and company’s share price. Indicates the cash available for
capital structures. dividends, debt repayment, and
reinvestment.

DISADVENTAGES
By ignoring interest, taxes, depreciation, Items like one-off gains or losses, Can be significantly affected by
it can paint an overly optimistic picture, changes in tax laws, or restructuring capital expenditure decisions, which
especially for capital-intensive costs can distort the net profit margin. can vary greatly year-to-year.
businesses.
Different financing structures and tax Requires a deeper understanding of
Companies with a lot of debt or jurisdictions can make comparisons the company’s cash flow statement,
significant capital expenditures might between companies trickier. especially discerning between
appear healthier than they really are. operational cash flows and capital
May not accurately reflect the cash expenditures.
Not under GAAP so it can be subject of position of a company.
speculations

WINNER

FREE CASH FLOW


Bojan Radojicic Bojanfin.com Repost
VERTICAL HORIZONTAL
ANALYSIS VS ANALYSIS

By Bojan Radojicic

Use in single period DEFINITIONS Used in mulitple periods

Involves expressing each item on a particular financial Evaluates changes in financial statement numbers
statement as a percentage of a base figure. across multiple periods or budget.

For example, on an income statement, each line item (like It looks at the amount and percentage change from
Cost of Goods Sold or Operating Expenses) can be one period to the next.
presented as a percentage of total revenue.

Salaries share in Revenue EXAMPLES Revenue growth vs LY

Vertical analysis 2024 2025 2026 2027 2028 Horizontal analysis 2024 2025 2026 2027 2028
$ $

Revenues 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% Revenues 8% 11% 11% 11% 11%
COGS variable 60% 60% 60% 60% 60% COGS variable 8% 11% 11% 11% 11%
COGS fixed 2% 2% 2% 2% 2% COGS fixed 8% 11% 11% 11% 11%
COGS 62% 62% 62% 62% 62% COGS 8% 11% 11% 11% 11%

Gross profit 38% 38% 38% 38% 38% Gross profit 8% 11% 11% 11% 11%

Overhead - variable 9% 12% 12% 12% 12% Overhead - variable -2% 41% 13% 13% 10%
Overhead - fixed 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% Overhead - fixed 9% 14% 10% 10% 10%
Overhead costs 19% 22% 22% 22% 22% Overhead costs 4% 26% 12% 11% 10%

EBITDA / Operating profit 18% 15% 14% 15% 16% EBITDA / Operating profit 16% -8% 5% 20% 15%

Depreciation and amortization 2% 3% 3% 3% 3% Depreciation and amortization 95% 92% 11% 12% 6%
Interest and financial expenses 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% Interest and financial expenses -21% 18% 15% 13% 12%
Financial income 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% Financial income -50% 0% 0% 0% 0%
EBT 16% 12% 11% 12% 13% EBT 12% -19% 4% 22% 18%

Tax 2% 2% 2% 2% 2% Tax -8% -19% 4% 22% 18%

Net income 14% 10% 9% 10% 11% Net income 16% -19% 4% 22% 18%

More control PURPOSE Trends

Provides insights into the structure of assets, liabilities, Helps to identify trends over time, by comparing histriocal
and equity OR the composition of revenues and expenses. of future results in a row.
Helps in understanding the relative proportion of each
component. Aids in determining if certain financial metrics are
improving or deteriorating over the periods. For examples
Based on results it helps management to make business it can measure revenue growth rate, or salary growth rate
decisions based on share one category into main in past of projected period. Aslo it could be useful to
category. For example, business policy is to keep costs of dompare actual with budgeted or forecasted figures.
rent at at the level of 5% of revenues as maximum.

UTILITY

Useful for comparing companies of different sizes. Since Useful for analyzing a company's growth and predicting
percentages are used, it standardizes figures and makes future performance. By spotting trends, management and
comparative analysis more meaningful analysts can make informed decisions.

Bojan Radojicic Bojanfin.com Repost


HOW TO CREATE SIMPLE
MANAGEMENT REPORT
Align data if needed,
Create management Lookup TB data with Create graphs, and
report layout (tables, Upgrade your CoA – Management
Export trial balance calculate KPIs based
lines, graphs, KPIS, more simplicity and reports, so GL data to
of GL with defined on pre-defined
adding functional
actual, FCST, cost/revenue centers be imported in formulas, and ull PPT
budget...) cost/revenue centers reports
presentation

Bojan Radojicic Bojanfin.com Repost


STARTUP & SAAS
METRICS IN EXCEL BOJAN RADOJICIC

TRAFFIC Month 3 Month 4 Month 5


Show total unique visitors Sdflj adsfl jdf
at website Total Traffic 13,033 14,015 12,460

Organic 9,797 9,103 9,674

Direct 2,087 1,723 1,356

Referred 180 180 180


Show structure of visitors ,
in this case - organic Paid 755 2,709 1,000 Sdflj adsfl jdf
LEADS AND CLIENTS Month 3 Month 4 Month 5
visitors.
New Leads (sign ups) 138 152 138

Existing Leads 3,826 3,964 4,116

Total Leads 3,964 4,116 4,254

Sdflj adsfl jdf New Customers 24 12 25


Sdflj adsfl jdf
Existing Customers 53 75 86

Churn 2 1 3

Total Customers 75 86 108

Sdflj adsfl jdf ARPU 46 42 35 Sdflj adsfl jdf


REVENUES AND MARGINS Month 3 Month 4 Month 5

New MRR 566 194 197


Existing MRR 2,932 3,458 3,587

Churn MRR 40 65 31

Sdflj adsfl jdf Total MRR 3,458 3,587 3,753 Sdflj adsfl jdf
CAC 3,816 3,816 3,816
Gross Margin (358) (229) (63)

RATIOS AND RATES Month 3 Month 4 Month 5


Traffic Growth Rate 11% 8% -11%
Organic traffic growht rate 6% -7% 6%

Sdflj adsfl jdf Revenue Growth Rate MoM 18% 3.7% 5%


Sdflj adsfl jdf
Gros Maring Rate -10% -6% -2%
CARG Revenue MTD 17% 12% 10%
Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) 159 318 153
Lead Acquisitoin Cost (LAC) 28 25 28

CONVERSION FLOW Month 3 Month 4 Month 5

Sdflj adsfl jdf Logged-in leads 126 140 126 Sdflj adsfl jdf
1 task created 69 65 55

10 tasks created 37 28 100

2 users created 16 75 120

5 users created 1 2 1
Sdflj adsfl jdf Sdflj adsfl jdf
Qualified leads (2u+10t or 20t) 48 49 50
New customers 24 12 25

CONVERSION RATES Month 3 Month 4 Month 5


Leads/ Trafic 1.06% 1.08% 1.11%
Logged-in leads / New leads 91% 92% 91%
Qualified leads / Logged-in 38% 35% 40%
Sdflj adsfl jdf New customers / Logged-in leads 19.05% 8.57% 19.84% Sdflj adsfl jdf
New customers / Qualified leads 50% 24% 50%
Customers / Leads 19.05% 8.57% 19.84%

DEMOs Month 3 Month 4 Month 5

DEMOs 8 5 9
DEMOs/Traffic 0.06% 0.04% 0.07%
Sdflj adsfl jdf Sdflj adsfl jdf
DEMO customers 3 1 1
DEMO customer conversion rate 38% 20% 11%
DEMO customers / Total New Customers 13% 8% 4%

CHURN Month 3 Month 4 Month 5


Churn Rate 3.75% 1.33% 3.48%
Churn revenue 1.36% 1.88% 0.86%
Sdflj adsfl jdf Sdflj adsfl jdf
LTV Month 3 Month 4 Month 5
Lifetime Value (LTV) -349 -141 -67
LTV : CAC -2.19 -0.44 -0.44

Bojan Radojicic Bojanfin.com Repost


CUSTOMER LIFETIME VALUE
EXPLAINED
WHAT IS CLV
Understanding CLV can guide businesses in
CLV is a metric used to estimate the total revenue a deciding how much they should invest in
business can expect from a single customer account retaining existing customers and acquiring
throughout the business relationship. The concept of CLV is new ones.
significant because it helps businesses focus on long-term
customer engagement, rather than short-term sales.

FORMULA OR

Average number of sales Average sales per customer


X (ARPU)
CLV = Number of repeat transactions CLV =
X
Average retention time Churn rate

EXAMPLE
Assume the following for a subscription-based service:
Let's assume the following for a hypothetical coffee Average Monthly Revenue per User (ARPU): $20
shop: Churn Rate: 5% per month (0.05 as a decimal)
Average Value of a Sale: $5 per order Using the formula:
Number of Repeat Transactions: 2 orders per week CLV=$200.05CLV=0.05$20
(approximately 8 per month) CLV=$400CLV=$400
Average Retention Time: 3 years In this example, the CLV of a customer for this subscription-
Using the basic formula: based service would be $400. This means that, on average, each
CLV=$5×8×12×3CLV=$5×8×12×3 customer is expected to contribute $400 in revenue before they
CLV=$5×96×3CLV=$5×96×3 churn.
CLV=$1,440CLV=$1,440

1. Sensitivity to Churn Rate: This formula demonstrates how sensitive CLV is to


the churn rate. A higher churn rate significantly reduces CLV.
2. Long-Term Focus: Businesses use this calculation to emphasize the importance
KEY POINTS of reducing customer churn for long-term profitability.
3. Applicability: This method is particularly useful for subscription-based
businesses or industries where churn rates are a critical metric, such as
telecom, SaaS, or streaming services.

Bojan Radojicic Bojanfin.com Repost

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