DIGITAL
MARKETING
FOR
BEGINNERS
By: Janet Valentina
Hello, I’m Janet!
Digital Marketing
Education Professional
S1 Teknik Informatika
Binus University
MSc. Marketing
The University of Manchester
TABLE OF CONTENTS
01 02 03 04
Types of Digital How to learn Career in
What is Digital
Marketing Digital Digital
Marketing?
Marketing Marketing
Let’s Talk
about
Digital
Landscape
DID YOU KNOW...?
4.54 B
Internet users in 2020
3.8B
Social Media users in 2020
6H 43M
Average daily time spent
using the internet
Source: WeAreSocial …globally
HOW ABOUT INDONESIA?
13th 3rd
Fastest growing internet Largest internet growth in
users in the world the world (2020)
7H 59M 1st
Average daily time spent Highest % of mobile e-
using the internet commerce adoption (2020)
(2020)
Source: WeAreSocial
…wow.
Drastic Change in Our Media Consumptions
BEFORE AFTER
E-commerce activities.. globally
80% 90%
Searched product for a Visited an online retailer
product or service to buy store on the web
74% 52%
Purchased a product online Made an online purchase via
a mobile device
Source: WeAreSocial, people age 16 to 64 who report performing each activity in the past month
…wow.
E-commerce activities.. in Indonesia
93% 90%
Searched product for a Visited an online retailer
product or service to buy store on the web
88% 80%
Purchased a product online Made an online purchase via
a mobile device
Source: Global Web Index (Q3, 2019), people age 16 to 64 who report performing each activity in the past month
…wow.
What is Digital Marketing?
“ The component of marketing that utilizes
internet and online-based digital technologies
to promote products and services.”
Source: Wikipedia
ONLINE CONSUMER JOURNEY
awareness
First contact with the brand
CONSIDERATION
Learn more about the
products/services
CONVERSION
“Buy now!”
LOYALTY
Drive repeat purchase
WHY DIGITAL MARKETING?
Benefits of using digital marketing
Hyper-targeted Measurable Two-way Cost-effective
interaction
We can track, store We get direct and Digital marketing is
We can ensure that
and analyze digital actionable feedback more affordable,
we’re targeting the
marketing data to from the audience especially for small
right audience or
help brands improve we communicate businesses – we can
potential customers.
and reach business with spend as little or as
objectives. much as we need.
TYPEs OF
SEARCH
DIGITAL
MARKETING PAID ADS/PPC
SOCIAL MEDIA
EMAIL
CONTENT
Identify your Digital
Marketing Channels
Owned Paid Earned
Channels that your The channels which you The online coverage of
business has created. pay for – to market your your business – generated
products/ services. by other people.
You are responsible for
the contents that exist in You spend money to Word-of-mouth that you
the channels. advertise on certain digital cannot control
------------------------------------ media channels.
------------------------------------ ------------------------------------
Examples: Examples: Examples:
- Website - Digital ads - Online review and
- Social media channel - Boosted social media ratings
- Email newsletter posts - Media coverage on
- Blog online publishers
- E-books - Social media posts from
- White papers others
Search Engine Optimization
(SEO)
What is it?
The process of optimizing website organically to rank higher in the search engine results page
Objective:
Driving traffic to blog/website
How does it work?
SEO focuses on the quality and relevance of
website/blog content.
• On-Page SEO: focusing on the content that
exists on the website
e.g. Keywords research
• Off-Page SEO: focuses on activity that takes
“off the page”
e.g. Inbound links
• Technical SEO: focuses on backend of website
e.g Website loading speed
optimization, code optimization
Search Engine Marketing
(SEM)
What is it?
The process of optimizing website to rank higher in the search engine results page through paid search
ads
Objective:
Driving traffic to blog/website
How does it work?
• Auction-based ads
• Ad Rank/our position on search
result page is influenced by:
Cost-per-click Bid
Ad Rank Threshold
Context of Query
Ad Extension Impact Ad Relevance Key metrics:
Cost-per-click (CPC)
Auction time ad quality Ad Landing page experience Clickthrough rate (CTR)
Expected Clickthrough rate
Social Media Marketing
What is it?
A marketing practice of promoting brands, contents, products/services on social media channels
Objectives:
Increase brand awareness
Drive engagement (like, click, comment, share)
Drive traffic to website
How does it work?
• Relies on quality of content and
copywriting
• Builds and maintain relationship with
the target audience
Key metrics:
Impressions
Reach
Clicks
Engagement Rate
Content Marketing
What is it?
A marketing practice of creating and promoting content assets for the purpose of generating brand
awareness, website traffic, leads, and customers.
Objectives:
Increase brand awareness
Drive traffic to website
Generating leads
How does it work?
Blog posts
Ebooks & whitepapers
Infographics
Social media contents
Key metrics:
Impressions
Reach
Clicks
Engagement Rate
Source: [Link]
Email Marketing
What is it?
A marketing practice of using email to promote content, discounts and events, and direct people toward
the business’ website.
Objectives:
Drive traffic to website
Drive in-site conversion/product purchase
How does it work?
Blog subscription newsletters
Follow-up emails and notifications
Promotions
Loyalty programs
Key metrics:
Open rate
Click-through rate (CTR)
Conversion rate
Unsubscribe rate
PPC Marketing
& Programmatic Ads
What is it?
A method of driving traffic to website by paying a publisher every time the ad is clicked.
Objectives:
Build brand awareness
Drive traffic to website
Drive in-site conversion/product purchase
How does it work?
Paid social media ads
(Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, LinkedIn, etc)
Display/video/audio ads on online publishers
Key metrics:
Reach & Impression
Cost-per-click (CPC)
Clickthrough-rate (CTR)
Cost-per-mille (CPM)
Cost-per-view
Other types of digital marketing
Influencer Affiliate
ONLINE PR
Marketing marketing
So… How do I apply
these digital
marketing tactics?
The Role of Digital Marketing
in Consumer Journey
● Blog + Social
awareness
01 media
Description
● Search Ads
CONSIDERATION
02
Video Ads
(Youtube)
Description
● Display Ads CONVERSION
03 ● Automation Description
LOYALTY ● Social media,
04 ● Email marketing
Description
3 Steps
to create a Digital Marketing Campaign Strategy
The What The Who The How
Choose Target Choose Channels
Set an Objective
Segments and KPI
Awareness? • Demography Where do you
Consideration? want to promote
Conversion? • Location your brand/
Loyalty? product/ service?
• Media Consumption
What do you want
• Their wants, needs, to achieve with
and problems we this campaign?
want to solve
Example: Create a digital Marketing Strategy
Healthy Instant noodle Digital Marketing
Channels
Search marketing:
Target Segments Product website/ blog
Search ads (SEM)
Social media (organic):
Instagram, Twitter, Tiktok
KPI:
Type of campaign:
Product launch
Paid ads:
Instagram Ads
Objective:
Youtube Ads
Awareness
Male and Female, 21-25 years old Influencer marketing
College student/ First-jobbers Food vlogger/ blogger
Urban cities in Indonesia
Interested in starting a healthy lifestyle
Digital savvy and active on social media
Measure your campaign
1. Set your Budget and KPI
Example:
Facebook Ads Campaign
• Objective: Traffic/ click to website
• Budget: IDR 100,000,000
• KPI:
Clickthrough-rate (CTR) = Click / 2. Don’t forget to test,
Impressions
e.g. 1%
measure, and optimize!
You can optimize your:
CPC = Cost-per-click = Cost / Click
- Bids
e.g. IDR 1,000
- Creative
- Copywriting/ Call-to-Action
Target
- Targeting
Clicks = 100,000,000/1,000 = 100,000 clicks
- Budget
Impressions = 100,000 clicks x 100 =
10,000,000 impressions
Now.. Where do I
start learning?
How To Start Learning
Online
Resources
• Facebook and
Google Resources
• Online learning
platform (Coursera,
Udemy)
• Digital marketing
blogs (e.g. Hubspot)
How To Start Learning
Learn from
People
• Connect with
people online
• Engage in online
conversations
(e.g. Quora, digital
marketing
webinars)
How To Start Learning
Observe and
Absorb!
• Read digital-
marketing related
books
• Observe digital
marketing
practices around
you
Career in Digital Marketing
Content Marketing Social Media Email Marketing
Manager Manager Manager
Skills: Skills: Skills:
Content writing/ SEO Socmed content Email design (UI and UX)
Multimedia content management Marketing Automation
production Copywriting
PPC/Paid Marketing
Specialist
Digital Strategist Business Owner
Skills: Skills: Skills:
Ads platform operation Online media Everything applies!
Data analysis planning
Campaign planning
How can you become the best digital
marketer?
1. Stay curious and be resourceful
2. Stay updated with the latest digital
marketing trends
?
3. Test and Learn -- Don’t be afraid to
try!
THANKS!
Do you have any questions?
Janet Valentina
janetvalentina@[Link]
[Link]/in/janetvalentina
@janet_val
CREDITS: This presentation template was created by
Slidesgo, including icons by Flaticon, and infographics
& images by Freepik.
Links and References
Digital Marketing Made Simple | HubSpot
[Link]
Digital 2020 – We Are Social
[Link]
Google Skillshop
[Link]
Facebook Blueprint
[Link] ?
Flaticon
[Link]
Slidesgo
[Link]
Digital Strategy Guide | HubSpot
[Link]