Professional Documents
Culture Documents
Chapter 6
Learning
After studying this chapter, you should be able to:
LO1 describe the media planning process
LO2 explain the major variables that are used to segment
target audiences for the media strategy and the meaning
of reach, frequency, gross rating points, target rating
points, effective reach, recency and other media
concepts
LO3 discuss the logic of the three-exposure hypothesis and
its role in media and vehicle selection
LO4 describe the gross rating points (GRP) concept and
perform cost-per-thousand calculations
LO5 explain the three types of scheduling available when
allocating the marketing communication budget
LO6 explain the recency principle and illustrate the three
interrelated ideas that this principle is based on
LO7 Cost considerations
LO1: The Media planning process
Reach
Frequency Weight
Issues in Setting
Media Objectives
Continuity Recency
Cost
Weightage
0
20
80
60
40
200 GRP
Number of Effect
exposures
1 What is it?
2 What of it?
3 or more Recall
LO4: Weight
• Advertising weight is used to determine the required
advertising support to achieve the IMC objectives
• Three metrics can be used to determine advertising
weight
1. Gross rating points (GRPs)
2. Target audience rating points (TARPs)
3. Effective rating points (ERPs)
• Advertising weight is generally set by using past
historical records
Gross rating points
Source:
https://thinktv.com.au/how-tos-
resources/whats-a-tarp-and-
hows-it-measured/
TARP in action
Weightage
0
20
80
60
40
200 GRP
100 ERP
$25 million
193
$25 million
81
Differences:
• Pulsing schedule – some amount
of advertising dollars are spent in
every period of the campaign, but
the amount varies from period to
period.
• Flighting schedule – expenditure
is varied throughout the
campaign and in some months it
is zero.
LO6: Recency planning
• The recency principle challenges the idea behind the
effective reach (3+) criterion, which can lead to the
adoption of flighting scheduling.
• The recency principle is based on three interrelated
ideas
1. The first exposure to the brand message is most
powerful
2. The role of advertising is to influence choice
3. High levels of weekly reach, rather than heavy
frequency, should be the goal
The powerful first exposure
• Research evidence
suggests that the initial
exposure to a message
offers the highest degree of
utility
• Subsequent exposures
show diminishing returns
• Influencing brand choice:
recency planning and the
‘window of opportunity’
Optimising weekly reach
The recency principle suggests that media
schedules should be nearly continuous and
should:
▪ influence rather than teach consumers (contrary to
the three-exposure model)
▪ reach consumers when they are ready to buy
▪ budget to reach more consumers more often
▪ sustain 100% of the target audience (at least once
per week) and maintain this throughout the year
Selecting media
categories and
vehicles
Once media objectives
have been established,
the media planner must
consider the use of
various media and media
vehicles
33
LO7: Cost considerations
• Cost per thousand criteria (CPM): One of the most
important and universally used indicators of media
efficiency
• CPM measures total contacts exposed to the
advertisement
• CPM-TM measures only the target market exposed
to the advertisement
Cost Considerations
https://www.investopedia.com/terms/c/cpm.asp
Online cost per thousand (CPM)
Three metrics are generally used to calculate the CPM for online ads
1. Click-through rate (CTR): the number/proportion of visitors who clicked on the
advertisement
2. Cost-per-click (CPC): a fixed cost charged every time a person clicks on an
advertisement
3. Cost-per-acquisition (CPA): fixed cost charged every time a person clicks on an
advertisement and completes a desired action, such as purchasing or ordering a
product
Assumptions:
CTR average is approximately 1%
The average CPC is $0.09
The average CPM is $0.25 with a CTR goal of 1000
For 1000 clicks the advertiser will pay a CPC of $900 (1000 × $0.09).
Based on this number, CTR of 1%, the ad will have been displayed approximately 100 000
times. CPM will be $$25 (100,000/1,000 x $0.25)
CPM limitations
• CPM and CPM-TM can be useful for comparing the
efficiencies of different vehicles
• However, they should be used cautiously, as efficiency is
not the same as effectiveness
CPM limitations
• The roles of the different media
vehicles can be significant
• therefore, the comparability of
the CPM of the vehicles may
not be an appropriate measure
• Even within the same media
vehicle, a comparison may not be
appropriate
• Daytime television may have
a lower CPM than prime time
television, but may be less
effective for some products
An alternate approach:
the efficiency index procedure
• An alternative to the three-
exposure approach
Gross impressions =
Reach (1+) x target consumers x
frequency = 64.9% x 17,674,840 x
3.6 = 41,041,000