Professional Documents
Culture Documents
Chapter 2
Production
• Labor wages Labor hours
• Supervisory salaries Number of people supervised
• Maintenance wages Number of mechanic hours
• Depreciation of plant and machinery, Number of machine hours
supplies
• Energy cost Kilowatt hours
Marketing
• Cost of advertisements Number of advertisements
• Salaries of marketing personnel, Sales dollars
travel costs, entertainment costs
Distribution
• Wages of shipping personnel Labor hours
• Transportation costs including Weight of items delivered
depreciation of vehicles and fuel
Customer service
• Salaries of service personnel Hours spent servicing products
• Costs of supplies, travel Number of service calls
Step cost:
Mixed Cost:
A cost that changes
abruptly at different A cost that contains
intervals of activity elements of both
because the resources fixed- and variable-
and their costs come cost behavior
in indivisible chunks.
Step cost treated as a fixed cost Step cost treated as a variable cost
$150,000 A
Net Income
138,000 Sales C
120,000 Net Income Area
Dollars
D
90,000 Variable
Total Break-Even Point Expenses
60,000 Expenses 60,000 units
Net Loss
30,000 or $90,000
Area
18,000 B
Fixed Expenses
0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100
Units (thousands)
Sales
- Variable expenses
- Fixed expenses
Zero net income (break-even point)
Variable Fixed
Sales – Expenses – Expenses = net income
$1.50N – $1.20N – $18,000 = 0
$.30N = $18,000
N = $18,000 ÷ $.30
N = 60,000 Units
S – .80S – $18,000 = 0
.20S = $18,000
S = $18,000 ÷ .20
S = $90,000
Shortcut formulas:
Break-even = fixed expenses = $18,000 = 60,000
volume in units unit contribution margin .30
Variable + Fixed
Sales = expenses + expenses
$100,000 = $400N + $60,000
$400N = $100,000 – $60,000
N = $40,000 ÷ $400
N = 100 patients
Variable + Fixed
Sales = expenses + expenses
$90,000 = $400N + $60,000
$400N = $90,000 – $60,000
N = $30,000 ÷ $400
N = 75 patients
Copyright © 2014 Pearson Education, Inc. publishing as Prentice Hall 2 - 31
Operating Leverage
Where :
% change in EBIT = (EBITt1 – EBITt)/ EBITt
% change in sales = (Salest1 – Salest) / Salest
Per Unit
Selling price $1.50
Variable costs (acquisition cost) 1.20
Contribution margin and
gross margin are equal $ .30
Contribution Gross
Margin Margin
Per Unit Per Unit
Sales $1.50 $1.50
Acquisition cost of unit sold 1.20 1.20
Variable commission .12
Total variable expense $1.32
Contribution margin .18
Gross margin $.30
Copyright © 2014 Pearson Education, Inc. publishing as Prentice Hall 2 - 39
Learning Appendix 2A
Objective 8
6K = 180,000
K = 30,000
W = 4K = 120,000